Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 159 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 7
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Sat, Dec 19, 2020, 1:27am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 2

San is likely a reference to a character in the Discovery novel "Die Standing".
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Fri, Dec 18, 2020, 11:55pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 2

I love this show. I hope it goes on forever.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Mon, Dec 14, 2020, 12:34am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 1

@Artymiss

I see. I actually don't like blades (or guns) all that much either. So I can relate.

I was thinking more in context of the show, as a gym like that is probably necessary for a lot of reasons, from practicing combat to stress relief.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Mon, Dec 14, 2020, 12:03am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 1

@Artymiss

" I think it's some kind of alarming martial arts gym"

I'm curious as to why this is alarming.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Sun, Dec 13, 2020, 12:02am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 1

@MidshipmanNorris

"Drawing on expanded universe material would be nice. It would at least show that one writer on this staff is doing some reading up."

Off the top of my head I can think of a couple of books that could have possibly made for a couple great episodes or films. " The Q Continuum" is one of them, an interesting villain in 0 (who also speaks in riddle and rhymes), and some tie ins to the Trek universe that could make for some compelling visuals.

The other is "Federation". It wouldn't have been possible given the age of the actors, but this would have been a great first film that bridged the gap between TOS and TNG, while also including backstory on Zefram Cochrane and other players in the Eugenics Wars.

And now I'm off to look for my books.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Sat, Dec 12, 2020, 3:26pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 1

@Quincy

"There are at least two different Star Trek apocrypha that have associated Q with the Guardian of Forever. In one of the apocrypha, Q encounters a being called 0 shown to him by the Guardian of Forever. 0 is apparently in another dimension, inhabiting a cold, snowy, barren world, similar to Rura Penthe, when he's invited to the Star Trek Milky Way. He seems harmless, well dressed, and mischievous, but he is actually malevolent. He has Q like abilities, but his power has been crippled (he can no longer travel at warp speed- sound familiar?). After causing a civil war that fails to destroy the TKon Empire, he ends up prematurely triggering the supernova that the TKon Empire was trying to escape from. He was subsequently banished from the galaxy and the galactic barrier was erected by the Q to keep him out"

Yes. This is the Greg Cox "Q Continuum" trilogy I was referencing. Really cool story.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Fri, Dec 11, 2020, 3:35pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 1

Pretty much loved it. The scene with Burnham, Georgiou, and Carl somewhat reminded me of a scene in one the Q trilogy novels by Greg Cox, where Q first meets 0 on an icy world ( or something like that its been years since I have read the trilogy). Either way I really enjoy the imagery of the Carl and the door.

I thought SMG and Michelle Yeoh were very good in this episode, especially in the mirror universe. Doug Jones as well. I also enjoyed the the interior of mirror discovery and the costume designs. Cool stuff.

I think my only real complaint would be the pace seemed to drag a little at times with a lot of the dialogue.

3 stars
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Fri, Dec 4, 2020, 12:13am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Unification III

@Booming

"Three questions. Why do you think that? Why do you find that odd? And why does that not surprise you?"

I want to answer this, but my work schedule is kicking my behind. I will try this weekend.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Tue, Dec 1, 2020, 12:08am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Unification III

@dave

Personally, I prefer that the writers don't write for "us". Writing for "us" eventually sank the Trek ship the first time.

@Booming

TWD best season is 2. Yes. Darabont's vision :)

@Skye Francis-maidstone

"People often rip DSC a new one then end with 2 out of 4 stars. Rather odd."

Criticism is probably the cheapest and most effective commodity on the Internet. I think people are actually more uncomfortable with pointing out things they liked vs being critical, which I find somewhat odd, but not unsurprising.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Sun, Nov 29, 2020, 4:41pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Unification III

@MidshipmanNorris

I should have written that I'm very familiar with Metal Gear, its probably one of my favorite franchises in gaming. I used to have every series 1 McFarlane figure (and all variants) and I think I still have close to the full set of comics from IDW.

I have the MSX version on multiple platforms, I was just curious as to whether the fan version you had played was more of a "definitive" sort.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Sun, Nov 29, 2020, 12:32am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Unification III

@MidshipmanNorris

"I just finished replaying a certain fan-translated version of Metal Gear for the MSX"

Off topic but I'm curious about this if you don't mind sharing.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Fri, Nov 27, 2020, 5:58pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Unification III

@Booming

At the very least, Tilly is an actual Starfleet officer, who has been through the academy and has at least some training. Wesley Crusher has little to none, and yet is on screen engaging evasive maneuvers vs. The Borg and towards the end being asked to engage a suicide maneuver. This is on a Galaxy class ship with likely hundreds of officers. Being the lowest officer on the bridge is still being considered in the top 1% of crew members. Its very silly in retrospect, even though it takes nothing away from the enjoyment of the story or episode.

That said, Tilly wouldn't be my number one choice either, I'm just not going to do any hand wringing over it in a a universe where the plot dictates these actions more than logic.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Fri, Nov 27, 2020, 4:46pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Unification III

I wont be too torn up about Saru choosing Tilly as a temporary XO as this is the same universe in which Wesley Crusher is at the helm during wartime in BOBW, on the flagship of the Federation no less.

I'm guessing most often it would have been Nhan chosen, if she were still aboard.

As for the episode, another 2.5 stars. I feel like they've hit a slight rut in the middle here and gone back to some old habits.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Fri, Nov 27, 2020, 2:41am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Scavengers

I have to agree with Jammers 2.5 stars. I really enjoyed this episode to a point, then it kind of fell flat for me. And I have to admit I rolled my eyes at the kiss in the turbolift scene.

Also, I don't know much about reshoots or film editing, but on first view the conversation that Booker and the Andorian are having in the scrapyard while crouched behind cover looks awkward towards the end.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Fri, Nov 27, 2020, 12:59am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Scavengers

FWIW, Wikipedia has filming of season 3 as running 8 months, from July 2019 to February 2020. This is in line with seasons 1 and 2, whose filming ran 10 and 8 months, respectively.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Tue, Nov 17, 2020, 8:41pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Die Trying

@Quincy

Spot on.

And 3 stars for the episode.

Carry on.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Sat, Nov 14, 2020, 1:18am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Die Trying

I think that the commanding officer going on away missions is relatively common in the era that Discovery is originally from.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Wed, Nov 11, 2020, 7:08pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Forget Me Not

@Slackerinc

I almost fully agree, except I think Voyager buried the Borg.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Sat, Nov 7, 2020, 4:17pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Forget Me Not

@Booming

I think part of it is a byproduct of writing in powerful adversaries such as the Borg (and later The Dominion). Once they engage with the Borg, I think Starfleet would have no choice but to oversee the development of dedicated combat ships.

After all, you can't expect to force all your enemies to take a nap and hope they self destruct :)
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Sat, Nov 7, 2020, 5:06am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Forget Me Not

@Booming
The Defiant is a warship, created in response to the threat of the Borg. Its classified as an Escort, but its meant to be a warship.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Fri, Nov 6, 2020, 4:21am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Forget Me Not

I also have to agree about the comments on Wilson Cruz. He's been awesome when given the time.

Also have to agree with @Nick on Georgiou. Its a good observation on the character,
and one I never really thought about. I do think the writers could stand to giver her just a bit more depth, but perhaps thats coming down the line.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Thu, Nov 5, 2020, 1:59pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Forget Me Not

4 stars. I think the best episode of Discovery thus far without Pike and co. Probably the best Trek episode in quite a while. I think the 55 minute runtime really helped pace the story. And I thought just about all the performances were excellent, highlighted by Blu del Barrio. Really amazing.

I like the structure of the episodes this season so far. A little more resolution and less cliffhanger, while moving the overall story forward.

@Mal

Although I find ENT to be fairly terrible, I enjoyed what you call the Vulcan trilogy. I just rewatched it not long ago and its probably the longest ENT ever held my attention.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Sat, Oct 31, 2020, 5:33am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: People of Earth

@Booming

I think that sounds plausible, but recall in "Balance of Terror" that Spock described the both the weaponry and ship technology in the Earth Romulan war as "primitive" and Scotty describes their capabilities as "simple impulse power" in 2266.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Sat, Oct 31, 2020, 12:14am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: People of Earth

@Henson

Yeah I agree I don't think it would hurt. I guess I was reading into it being implied it would come from someone on the Discovery, which wouldn't make sense to me.

You can also add the Hirogen to the singularity drive list.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Fri, Oct 30, 2020, 11:52pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: People of Earth

@Henson

My question though is how would anyone aboard Discovery know about the singularity if Starfleet only found out about it in the 24th century? I guess maybe someone could have told Burnham in the year she was ahead of Discovery, but its not something I would expect the crew to know about. Did Discovery encounter any Romulans in the 1st two seasons? I can't remember, but I don't think they should have at that point in time before they jumped forward.
Next ►Page 1 of 7
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.