Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 119 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 5
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Sat, Sep 26, 2020, 11:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

I'm sorry but thats an awful comment not in the spirit of IDIC.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Thu, Sep 17, 2020, 4:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

@Trent

I would bet on the Omega molecule. Hopefully having one showrunner for a full season will give some consistency to the show. I really liked the concept of the red angel in season 2, but it fell apart in the middle and didn't really recover.

"You just don't feel like this Discovery crew - and Kurtzman Trek in general - is an actual collection of highly trained scientists and navy-persons."

Its funny, but this is one reasons I can't fully immerse myself fully in The Orville. I know its part of the nature of the show but it bugs me. On Discovery, I don't feel like the crew lacks competence, but it feels like they lack discipline, which also irks me at times.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Wed, Sep 16, 2020, 10:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

@flipsider

I don't care much for seasons 1,2, or 7 of TNG. However, 100% agree about the soundtrack of the early seasons. Its fairly incredible.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KYub8A9suIQ
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Sun, Sep 13, 2020, 11:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

@Booming

This is true, though fortunately, Worf's decline in hairstyle prowess seemed to have an inverse effect on the quality of DS9.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Sun, Sep 13, 2020, 3:31am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

Well, I'm just hoping the show evolves through hairstyles much like TNG's did through Worf. The better his hair, the better the season.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Sun, Sep 13, 2020, 3:04am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

I don't find the show mean spirited at all, although of course, ymmv.

@Mertov

I'm actually kind of excited for season 3 of Discovery as well. I thought they were so close to figuring it out with the first half of season 2 before it kind of fell apart at the end.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Fri, Sep 11, 2020, 4:11am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

JG Hertzler!

@Escechapp

I think the weapons going out was just a gag on Shaxs finally getting his number called to fire away after being rejected, ala how Worf's mostly aggressive course of action suggestions in TNG were continually shot down by Picard and RIker.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Thu, Sep 3, 2020, 5:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

@Yanks

I agree. I thought it was much better than last weeks episode, which although it had its moments, I thought the first 5 minutes or so were almost painfully unfunny. This one was way more enjoyable throughout.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Tue, Aug 18, 2020, 8:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

" I suppose there's still time to bring in Jonathan Frakes to have Riker doing a kegstand on the bridge, but we'll see."

You know you'd at least chuckle at that.

I think the show has some charm, though the comedy has not really resonated with me for the most part. I think I actually enjoy being back in the look of TNG the most, which I didn't really expect.

And I agree, Q would be perfect. But this feels like a Wesley Crusher cameo coming.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Tue, Aug 18, 2020, 7:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

Since its the best of Trek, DS9 should be required viewing for all :)

This show takes a lot of cues from TNG, and I think its poking fun at its problematic portrayal of the Ferengi, and then dismissing that portrayal at the end when Mariner contacts the Ferengi, who is a friend. I just took the bar scene as Boimler having his day, but we as the audience know he still has lot to learn outside of his by the book mentality.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Tue, Aug 18, 2020, 5:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

Its taught at the Academy, according to Harry Kim.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Sat, Aug 15, 2020, 7:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

@Nolan

June definitely feels like a longer time ago than it actually is.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Sat, Aug 15, 2020, 4:35am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

The deal in Canada was announced in late June, maybe six to eight weeks ago.

I'm sure there's plenty of PR and spin to every show on every network, but the idea that our current situation with the pandemic may have altered some of the plans in regards to premier dates and distribution deals is certainly plausible and not necessarily indicative of productivity or success or a lack thereof.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Fri, Aug 14, 2020, 5:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

From what I have read apparently Discovery S3 was supposed to air first but due to the pandemic was pushed back and Lower Decks was moved up a couple months. So they're behind on the International deal due to bouncing the schedule.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Fri, Aug 7, 2020, 2:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

https://www.tor.com/2020/08/06/about-60-of-a-good-episode-star-trek-lower-deckss-second-contact/

Krad has always given fair Trek reviews.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Fri, Aug 7, 2020, 3:41am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

I do love the ship. I hope they release it in STO or at the very least I wouldn't mind a Hallmark Ornament.

Yes, I collect those :)
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Thu, Aug 6, 2020, 6:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

If Gene Roddenberry would have hated this then it has a punchers chance at coming out okay.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Wed, Aug 5, 2020, 8:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

@CaptainMercer

I watch Evil, mostly because I still view Michael Emerson as Harold Finch.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Wed, Aug 5, 2020, 8:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

https://arstechnica.com/gaming/2020/08/star-trek-lower-decks-review-comfort-food-with-a-comic-twist/?comments=1

A generally positive (spoiler free) review of the first two episodes.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Fri, Jul 31, 2020, 1:08am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

@CaptainMercer

I thought your response was fair. I've never much been into the humor of McFarlane so a lot of that trailer fell flat for me. Bortus, however, is definitely comic gold.

Luckily, I went back on Hulu and gave it a shot. Overall its much better than the trailer showed, even if I still find a lot of the humor still makes me cringe. And while I don't think the stories or world has a ton of depth, I think the cast and characters are pretty good. Episodes like "Lasting Impressions" are where I think its at its best.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Fri, Jul 31, 2020, 12:38am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

@CaptainMercer

I will say that Bortus' deadpan response to Ed in the cargo bay was funny. But I also think Bortus is the best character in the show.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Thu, Jul 30, 2020, 11:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

@Omicron

I hope you're being facetious here. Otherwise this is the ultimate version of the pot calling the kettle black.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Thu, Jul 30, 2020, 3:34am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Take Me Out to the Holosuite

I can only add a personal note, I have played baseball on the field used in this episode, though I did not cry out "Death to the opposition". Not that anyone would have understood anyway. Long story short, I've been taken to the holosuite.

So, 4 stars.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Tue, Jul 28, 2020, 11:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

YMMV, but who leaves the Moclan toilet seat up and anti banana ray jokes don't really whet my appetite in a trailer, regardless of the nostalgic look or feel. The pilot episode didn't help either. If we're talking about being turned off by a morons in space vibe, thats exactly what that trailer showed me.

And yet eventually, it becomes a pretty good show overall.

Will the same happen with Lower Decks? I don't know, but I'm not going to actively root against its success, even if its not really my thing either. I very rarely watch animated television as it is.

"It got me totally excited about a new TV show, in a way that I haven't felt since Enterprise."

It all becomes clear now ;-)
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Tue, Jul 28, 2020, 8:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

If thats truly the case, my apologies to you individually, Dave. However, I'm skeptical of a lot of the criticism for this show, not that it looks great mind you. When I see posts invoking The Orville, whose trailer was basically as you described, Morons in Space, it raises questions in my mind what goes into evaluating a show as watchable before an episode ever airs.
Next ►Page 1 of 5
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.