Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 334 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 14
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Thu, Jun 11, 2020, 11:18am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

I would totally love a remaster of Skyward Sword if only because I'll likely never pull out the Wii or Wii-U from storage ever again, and the remote that came with the special edition stopped working.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Thu, Jun 11, 2020, 4:07am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Glom

I didn't take it as anything other than an observation.

However, I think its a reasonable stance to be critical of something and still find value or entertainment in it. I think Jammer's review makes this point well. I feel more than comfortable discussing some of the criticisms of Picard because I know it won't make me enjoy it any less.

I ordered that book from Amazon. Can't guarantee I'll get around to it soon, but eventually I will. The depth of that kind of discussion is probably not something I could contribute a ton to. However, for those who play video or PC games, "SOMA" is a game I would recommend along the same lines.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Tue, Jun 9, 2020, 11:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Sen-Sors

Unfortunately a lot of this is explained in the companion novel, which although pretty good is problematic as one shouldn't be expected to read the novel to understand parts of the show.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Tue, Jun 9, 2020, 3:49am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

In all seriousness, I would call the writing on Picard uneven. I think there a few standout scenes and interactions, along with some good ideas (I was very disappointed not to find out more about the creators of an octonary star system, among some other things). Then there is other stuff that either falls flat or is just bad decision making. I can understand if it makes for a frustrating view, even if I personally found it enjoyable overall.

At the same time I think the writers do a decent job of weaving some elements of TNG into the story. Data's hand of 5 queen of hearts in the opening is a nice callback to "Measure of a Man" , as the queen of hearts is his hole card in the poker scene, in which he's bluffed out of 3 of a kind by Riker, who has a broken flush draw (that its the queen of hearts should be one the reasons that Data calls the bluff, as Riker has a heart flush draw). Data's wish to have the quantum simulation deactivated is also a callback to the same episode, where Data tells Maddox that merely having memories of an existence is not the same as physically being there. It was a nice touch in what I thought was a great scene.

Maybe I'm a little too kind to the current iterations of Trek, but I also had some unkind feelings towards the end run of VOY and ENT so maybe it all evens out.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Mon, Jun 8, 2020, 11:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

I disagree because since you admittedly did not view Picard, its possible that its only only 87% true "the Trek writers of today have no imagination and go straight to the gutter of the lowest common denominator". ;)
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Mon, Jun 1, 2020, 12:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Watched the first episode of Space Force. Less than mediocre. Maybe I'll try and pick it up at a later time.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Tue, May 26, 2020, 6:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Personally loved Mr. Robot. Thought the acting and direction were awesome. Only missteps in my mind were a dragging of the 2nd season and the ending, which while still good wasn't quite the payoff I had hoped for.
Set Bookmark
Tomalak
Tue, May 26, 2020, 5:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Jetrel

Great post above from Skeptical (years ago now). I could easily come up with better arguments from Jetrel than the scriptwriters - the analogy with Hiroshima is interesting but fails because anyone actually involved in Hiroshima would have pointed out that nuking it saved millions of lives (compared to a land invasion of Japan). Instead from Jetrel we get absurd straw men arguments about how you should always pursue scientific progress even if it means mass destruction.

I think Star Trek's ability to consider complex moral arguments is probably overrated, honestly. With the exception of Deep Space Nine, these kind of straw men on one side of the argument were the norm for the show. Similarly you sometimes get liberals not understanding why conservatives like Star Trek. Can't conservatives see themselves in the straw man villains who keep losing the argument? Um, no, that's not what we believe so it's really not very troubling to see those points defeated.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Wed, May 20, 2020, 3:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@OmicronThetaDeltaPhi

Understood.

With regards to RLM, they're probably fine overall. But I really don't get the Plinkett thing. YMMV
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Mon, May 18, 2020, 7:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
My intitial response was to this:

"But hey! Don't let a bunch of old whiners stop you! Just imagine all the murder and eye-gouging and dystopian sh*t you'll be depriving yourself of, had you listened to the naysayers. After all, it has the words "Star Trek" in the title, so it has to be good, right?"

You made a snarky implication about people who enjoy "Nu-Trek" (implying sheep mentality, also I don't enjoy eye gouging), so I responded with a snarky comment of my own (implying sheep mentality), and then you doubled down with more snark as a response (implying sheep mentality), and I responded to that claim. There's really no more to it than that.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Mon, May 18, 2020, 5:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Here's a shocking revelation about your shocking idea, something I posted before Picard aired:

"Think I’m going to do this the old school way. I’ll watch it, then formulate my opinion.

Then I’ll read Jammer’s review 🙂"

In fact, you have a comment right below mine.

https://www.jammersblog.com/2019/07/20/latest-picard-trailer-reveals-familiar-faces/#comments
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Mon, May 18, 2020, 4:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

I think I'm going to need a Red Letter Media video or Plinkett Review on the reveal to tell me how I should feel about this new Pike era show.

"But hey! Don't let a bunch of old whiners stop you! "

Not to worry, because we won't.
Set Bookmark
Tom
Fri, May 1, 2020, 7:14am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Q Who

Latex Zebra - I wouldn't be so sure it would be against their will. The desire to be joined to others is the motivation for a lot of what we do. Work, sex, communication, our social life. You might as well say you could never understand why someone would get married. I would also hope that to an advanced scientist the notion of individuality would be seen as archaic myth.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Mon, Apr 27, 2020, 2:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

I tend to agree that smaller scale conflict in terms of ships works best on screen in Trek, my favorite being the battle at Khitomer in The Undiscovered Country. The Borg being an unstoppable force in a single ship is an intimidating sight. Though, I also think larger fleets made more sense in DS9, so I agree with @Dom there.

In Picard, the only reason the size of the Romulan (Zhat Vash) fleet would make sense is as a last stand in case they're unsuccessful in destroying the beacon, and the admonition comes to pass. I'm not sure the size of the federation fleet makes any sense given the information they have.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Mon, Apr 20, 2020, 8:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Or we can consider "Measure of a Man" (an episode directly related to this series), where Picard tries to use circumvention to interfere with a direct order from Starfleet to hand over Data to Maddox by having Data resign, only to then have to challenge the finding by the JAG that Data is indeed the property of Starfleet and cannot resign or refuse to cooperate with Maddox. There are some other interesting points from "Measure of a Man" that relate to Picard;

- Data points out to Maddox in his quarters that although his memories would be intact, the substance and essence of them in the moment would be lost by the procedure. He would no longer have that which makes him Data. Which is the position he is in while in the quantum simulation in Picard.

- Capain Philipa Louvois refers to Picard as still a "pompous ass". Admiral f***ing Clancy just upped the in universe ante.

- The poker scene. I can't decide if its genius or silly. Its obviously a set up for the events of the episode, but its a hand I have a hard time seeing anyone so mathematically inclined as Data ever folding, given the size of the bet relative to the pot, the strength of his hand ( 3 of a kind, while his full hand also contains two hearts, blockers to Riker's flush possibility, while Riker has no straight or higher pair possibilities)( *only the audience knows Data has 3 of a kind*). Thats without even being able to discern what face cards the other players were holding, which could have also contained hearts. Maybe its both.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Mon, Apr 20, 2020, 6:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Redemption pt. 1 - Picard rejects Gowron's request for Starfleet aid based on non interference.

Redemption pt. 2 - Picard convinces a fleet admiral to allow him to set up a blockade near the Klingon/Romulan border to expose Romulan supply ships, based on no other evidence other than Gowron being on the losing end of the war at this point, and the logic supplied by Worf that he rejected in pt.1.
Set Bookmark
Tom
Wed, Apr 8, 2020, 12:20am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

"Comparing Stargate to Firefly is ridiculous, just watch it".
-Firefly fan in 2003.

Do you get what I'm saying? How many sci-fi shows of the 60s, 70s 80s were hailed as "the best EVER" of "fucking amazing" and are now forgotten? Maybe they were never essential? Now, I'm not saying The Expanse is in that category, but I'm constantly being bombarded with music, movies and shows that are "fucking amazing". The best ones will stand the test of time, the worst won't. If people are still raving about it in 10, 20 years then maybe it's worth a look.
Set Bookmark
Tom
Tue, Apr 7, 2020, 10:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Dexter,

With all due respect, the same was said about Firefly (which I don't hear anyone talk about these days). I didn't like that show much at all. My policy is now to wait until a good number of years have passed before watching a hyped-up show.
Set Bookmark
Tom
Tue, Apr 7, 2020, 10:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Here's a question: What would people consider "essential" sci-fi TV? Would any of the newer shows (post-nuBSG) count? I know most people would say classic Trek, TNG, DS9, Babylon 5, first few Doctor Who seasons maybe.

The reason I ask is because I wonder why I watch something as "inessential" as ST: Picard when I haven't seen much of classics like Twilight Zone, or Quantum Leap, The Outer Limits or classic BSG. I haven't watched all of X-Files. I haven't watched the Expanse, Westworld, Orphan Black. And if I'm going to watch television, then spending time on watching crap when I haven't seen something far better - even if it's older - is not a good use of my time. I'm hoping it's not just me, and I suspect it's not because Jammer hasn't reviewed most of these shows either.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Fri, Apr 3, 2020, 4:37am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@OmicronThetaDeltaPhi

I think you are conflating two thoughts from the same comment. You asked if current Star Trek could cross a line to where I would say no more, and I said I don't know. This is in regards specifically to the Trek universe, Discovery, Picard, and whatever else is in the pipeline for the future. My second thought about The Orville is independent of that question, as The Orville doesn't fall under the Star Trek universe, so I didn't consider it under the premise of your original question.

As far as making the distinction of Trek/Not Trek regarding The Orville, it is something I say I should have not have said because it does something I dislike, it implies that whatever is "not Trek" or what have you is either bad or not enjoyable. I think thats too binary an outcome for discussing Trek, and that can make those discussions meaningless. But by saying that I fell into the same trap I would usually avoid. So yes, I do feel that was a mistake on my part, because despite my criticisms of it, I do enjoy it for the most part, and its a mistake to imply otherwise.

"Unless you want to argue that ST:P is more Trekkish then the Orville, which I think we'd both agree to be a ridiculous statement."

I won't argue this point, I'll only say I'll be there for both shows 2nd and 3rd seasons, respectively. :)
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Wed, Apr 1, 2020, 12:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@OmicronThetaDeltaPhi

"Everyone? No.

I most certainly ain't going to watch it. There are others here who already stated that they've dropped out mid-season and/or they won't be watching any further.

Besides, what kind of madness is declaring in advance that you'll watch something regardless of its content? That sounds awfully like a cult member speaking, rather than an intelligent consumer of entertainment."

Perhaps thats why I observed that you may have a line that has been crossed. But we'll see of course. Time and time again folks will say they won't watch anymore, only to return, if only to have their opinion heard.

"Why "manipulative"?

Seth McFarlane is a hard-core Trekkie. Did you know that he made a Trek fan-film when he was a teenager?

The Orville is a show created by a Trekkie for like-minded people. How on earth is that "manipulative"?"

You're right. Manipulative was a harsh choice of a description and perhaps an incorrect one. Yes, I know these things about Seth. I find that the show tugs on a lot of the strings of the nostalgia of 90's Trek, which is part of the draw, but I find it unoriginal. Again, thats not to say I don't enjoy it, because I have.

"DIdn't you just say that no kind of content will make you say "this isn't Star Trek"? Are you now telling me that THE ORVILLE, of all things, is the series that managed to be the exception that crossed that line?

Please direct me to where I made that statement. This is now twice you've done that.

"The Orville is a million times Trekkier than ST:P or Discovery. How can anybody say that the latter two shows are Star Trek while the Orville isn't? Sounds like a contradiction to me."

The contradiction there is fueled by your own statement, not mine.

Unless we are - once again - resorting to classifying shows by their name while ignoring their content?"

I probably should not have written that to be honest. The What is Trek argument isn't a particularly meaningful one. As I've said before, I do enjoy The Orville, and I guess in part because it does riff on so many of the Trek elements from the past, and at times does it well. Does that make it Trek? Perhaps its something I should reconsider.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Tue, Mar 31, 2020, 9:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

^^^
" And I enjoy it for the most part. But in my mind, thats not Star Trek either"

That should read " Its not Star Trek either"
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Tue, Mar 31, 2020, 9:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@OmicronThetaDeltaPhi

Are there ANY circumstances at all, which will cause you to say "Nope. They've crossed the line this time. I cannot accept this as Star Trek"?

I'm seriously asking. And if your answer is "yes", then I'd love to hear a concrete example of what would cross that line in your view."

Interesting question. The best answer might be, I don't know. I never finished watching Voyager or Enterprise during their original runs (I finished them much later). But that was more due to personal taste and timing rather than crossing a line.

Does anyone have a line? Perhaps you do, but then, even amid all the criticism we all know everyone will be watching Discovery S3 and Picard S2 for whatever reason suits them.

As for writing for the show, I don't know how much freedom Kurtzman and CBS give them. Maybe I'm looking at it through the lens of the fanbase and not as a writer would. Consider that I watch Westworld, and in 2+ seasons I don't think I've read once that the writers are desecrating Michael Crichton's vision or what have you. And that show has its own issues at times. It just doesn't come with the kind of constraint that Trek does.

While people are talking about it, I find The Orville to be a manipulative derivative of 90's Trek. Its familiar, comfortable, and even smart at times. And I enjoy it for the most part. But in my mind, thats not Star Trek either.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Mon, Mar 30, 2020, 6:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Dom

"By contrast, BSG and Expanse - and Westworld and Altered Carbon etc - didn't have the benefit of a popular brand name like "Star Trek.""

I think you can argue thats actually a blessing for those shows. They have a little more freedom to take their show in certain directions if they choose, without the looming shadow of what came before.

Also, I rate TNG low, not because every episode is bad, but because I didn't find the cast any fun to watch at that point.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Mon, Mar 30, 2020, 1:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Mine is similar to a couple others.

1) TOS
2) DS9
3) PIC
4) VOY
5) DSC
6) TNG
7) ENT
Next ►Page 1 of 14
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.