Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 234 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 10
Set Bookmark
Atomguy
Thu, Nov 14, 2019, 4:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Encounter at Farpoint

Ah, thanks
Set Bookmark
Atomguy
Thu, Nov 14, 2019, 12:07pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Encounter at Farpoint

Hey, I'm looking for a review for a TNG episode. It's the one where Picard lives out another life on that one planet and loves the flute afterward. If anyone could tell me the season or episode number, that'd be awesome.
Set Bookmark
Atomguy
Wed, Nov 6, 2019, 1:25pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Threshold

What? There's no episode called "Threshold"
Set Bookmark
Atomguy
Wed, Nov 6, 2019, 1:21pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Shades of Gray

When I read the title of the episode, I did not remember the plot, but when I saw the summary, I had Vietnam flashbacks of this episode. Needless to say, I shuttered very hard.
Set Bookmark
Atomguy
Wed, Nov 6, 2019, 12:00pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S1: Caretaker

Ah, the last great Star Trek. Hopefully, though, Star Trek Picard is good enough to change that though.
Set Bookmark
Atomguy
Wed, Nov 6, 2019, 9:40am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Tomorrow Is Yesterday

"I'll put you in the slammer for 200 years."
"That sounds about right"
Perfection
Set Bookmark
Atomguy
Wed, Nov 6, 2019, 9:36am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: The Man Trap

*His being Kirk*
Set Bookmark
Atomguy
Wed, Nov 6, 2019, 9:35am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: The Man Trap

Wow can you imagine this happening on the Enterprise-D or Voyager? Picard and Janeway would divert so many resources trying to rescue both people here. I'm sure that Sisko would hesitate but eventually shoot it, but Bones doesn't even hesitate to killed her once she transforms and tries to take his salt.
Set Bookmark
Atomguy
Wed, Nov 6, 2019, 9:31am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Homestead

I watched every episode of Voyager, from The Caretaker to Endgame, from Threshold to Living Witness, and I never had a problem with Neelix. I also liked Harry, the Forever Ensin, Can't Get A Lock Harry, Read Me Like A Book Harry, and I'm glad that they gave Neelix a respectable sendoff. He desperately needed one to dignify his character, and he deserved a happy ending, so I'm glad he got one.
Set Bookmark
Atomguy
Wed, Nov 6, 2019, 9:26am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Seventh Season Recap

People are always saying that Voyager wasn't very good, but it miles ahead of shows like Enterprise or Discovery. I never watched them, but from what I heard, their best episodes were just good, compared to Voyager's best of episodes like "Living Witness" or Tinker Tenor. Or maybe it's just that the Doc is awesome.

Another complaint is that it has little to no episodic qualities. While that is true in the first couple seasons, once you hit seasons 7 and, to a lesser extent, 6, you get a lot more overarching story, and the series definitely ends on a high note with "Endgame", whereas Enterprise ends with the mediocre "These are the Voyages..."
Set Bookmark
Atomguy
Wed, Nov 6, 2019, 9:15am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Random Thoughts

@Ari Paul

I guess that in the case of B'elanna, since she was with a foreign ship, they didn't like that she was being punished for a rule she didn't know about and didn't have the training to suppress. However, the guy that was selling the thoughts knew about the rules and punishment, had a lifetime to train (which was successful, he couldn't think brutal thoughts like we can) and was native to the planet, they couldn't do much to stop them from punishing him.
Set Bookmark
Atomguy
Wed, Nov 6, 2019, 9:05am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: The Return of the Archons

@Peter G

Then many are ignorant, or trying and failing to help, and few are evil. I suppose that if you keep trying to help and it is only making things worse, then they are ignorant, but the computer eventually seems to realize in its last moments that it was in fact the problem.
Set Bookmark
Atomguy
Wed, Nov 6, 2019, 8:54am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: A Taste of Armageddon

They seem to care about not hurting people not involved and only try to kill the crew once it was listed as a casualty, and even then they seem regretful. While we don't ever see the other faction involved, they seemed similar. But you raise fair points. Also, another thing I noticed later on, what is stopping one side from just bombing the other with thousands of tricobalt devices? If it's all virtual, then someone could probably just design one of those drone thingies to constantly bombard the surface with as many weapons as they like, essentially decimating the population.
Set Bookmark
Atomguy
Tue, Nov 5, 2019, 7:59am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: A Taste of Armageddon

How, in 500 years of fighting, has collateral damage against people not in the war never come up?
Set Bookmark
Atomguy
Fri, Nov 1, 2019, 10:36am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: The Return of the Archons

I find this episode to be slightly sad. In my opinion, to be evil is to knowingly and consciously take the free will from a living, sentient being against their own will. So by that logic, the computer was not evil, it was just doing wht it thought was right.
Set Bookmark
Atomguy
Wed, Oct 30, 2019, 1:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek III: The Search For Spock

Can we admit that Star Trek III: The Search for Spock is a stupid name, though?
Set Bookmark
Tom
Thu, Oct 3, 2019, 1:01am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: Paradise

Started DS9 from the beginning on Hulu recently. I watched TNG back in the 90s and just didn't get into DS9 then. I had been watching each episode without skipping any...until this one. Stopped this episode halfway through and started to skip around more selectively after taking a break for a few days. The Alixis character just ruined it with the overbearing overacted cult-leader nonsense. IMO worst episode of the series up to that point.
Set Bookmark
Tomalak
Sat, Aug 24, 2019, 1:09am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: The Begotten

"But I agree, to hell with Shakaar. He's not particularly good at his own job, it seems... Yet he barges in and tells O'Brien he can't even witness his own baby being born"

Yes, so many problems with the B plot. But the most glaring was that it only worked at all because Shakaar temporarily lost 50 IQ points for an episode, started acting bizarrely, and then unbelievably all the women - even Keiko - decided Miles was equally to blame for wanting to witness his baby's birth in the face of TempMoron-Shakaar's protests. It was like the writers didn't even try to make their own script make sense.
Set Bookmark
Tomas
Tue, Aug 20, 2019, 2:47pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Code of Honor

I hope the new Picard series revisits this episode. It would be interesting to see how this society has progressed since the 1980s.
Set Bookmark
Tomalak
Thu, Jul 11, 2019, 4:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: The Adversary

"I think what annoyed me most is that this is, to my memory at least, the third outing where the Defiant gets sabotaged mid voyage. It's become quite a tedious trope"

I'm pretty sure it's only the second time, and the other was Eddington doing it in very different circumstances to obey orders. What was the third?
Set Bookmark
Tomalak
Thu, Jul 11, 2019, 12:23am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Facets

I found the scenes where you actually see the memories of past lives transferred to the senior staff absurdly hokey. The man says a few words in Trill like he's reading a spell, while standing around an apparently superfluous fire pit. Then we see a big blue soul just move physically from Jadzia to the trill guy to envelop the head of Kira or Odo or whoever. Isn't this meant to be sci fi not Harry Potter?
Set Bookmark
Tomalak
Wed, Jul 10, 2019, 12:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Facets

"When Quark refuses to take part she gives him the Ferengi equivalent of a hand-job and plays on her knowledge of his romantic feelings toward her in order to get something she wants out of him. If that isn't manipulative and highly egotistical I don't know what is."

I think we're supposed to be relaxed because it's Quark. It's arguably a weakness of DS9 generally that its senior staff treat Quark the way they do - most often it's just unprovoked rudeness. The idea of professionalism being not necessarily liking everyone you work with but at least being reasonably pleasant is a lesson Sisko's team (usually highly professional people) have yet to learn.
Set Bookmark
TheTomato
Fri, Jul 5, 2019, 8:07pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: The Ship

This episode would have been so much better if the Jem Hadar captured the crew on the roundabout and the Vorta tried to use them as a bargaining chip. Sisko doesn't trust them but at least the pretense of the negotiations could exist. Then the founder dies and Jem Hadar blows up their ship or something with the roundabout crew still aboard. Because as the episode stands Sisko did literally nothing wrong. Why would he trust the word of person who ordered the destruction of his ship and crew and then tried to gun him down? Why would he feel responsible for their deaths if his decisions didn't impact events in any way? I understand you can't help feel responsible for deaths under you command but that ending part with Dax was so hamfisted considering.

The thing with Worf, they should have went with "put him out of his misery" angle or something. Because that was so stupid. Why does Worf care about a human's honor? It's not like he doesn't understand humans by this point. Was the point that things where so intense that Worf couldn't keep his cool? Isn't Worf supposed to be a badass? Why can't Worf keep his cool and show some character development as an CO? It would be nice change of pace if he was the one who kept the rest of crew on point for once. But no, he's Worf, destined to fuck up every other episode.
Set Bookmark
Tom
Thu, May 23, 2019, 10:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Nemesis

Both the gray topped uniforms and the monochrome tops are consistent across the futures of most of the series (alternate or not) and were even used by the Enterprise crew in the movies so I can't see a reason for not using them.
Set Bookmark
Tom
Thu, May 23, 2019, 5:12pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Nemesis

Wouldn't the uniforms be what we saw on All Good Things? Picard certainly looks older in the trailer than he did there.
Next ►Page 1 of 10
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.