Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 502 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 21
Set Bookmark
Tomalak
Tue, Jan 12, 2021, 7:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

I stopped watching this garbage mid-way through this season, but I still come back for the joy of seeing Jammer slate it in the reviews. Thanks, Jammer. If anything will get me watching again it would be a really positive review ... I'll not hold my breath.
Set Bookmark
Atomguy
Tue, Jan 12, 2021, 8:07am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Wars S1: Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker

That's probably the only thing not stopping him from making that review. Jammer reviewed the 2nd Matrix movie and gave it 3.5 stars. He isn't afraid of the opinions of some trolls on the internet
Set Bookmark
Tomalak
Thu, Jan 7, 2021, 6:42am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: There Is a Tide...

It says it all that the writers have managed to drop in an attack on capitalism so juvenile that even socialists here think it's dumb.
Set Bookmark
Atomguy
Thu, Dec 24, 2020, 5:44pm (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

I’m almost certain Baby Yoda will return in Season 3, because it’s either that or having the implication that Kylo Ren killed him before TFA.
Set Bookmark
Tom
Sat, Dec 19, 2020, 5:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

I don't know how anyone can say this episode had no tension. Mando was always portrayed as a powerful warrior and yet the dark troopers posed a threat we hadn't seen yet. I found their threat extremely effective. It doesn't matter that no one died. As I recall, quite a few characters died in the sequel movies, and yet the battles came across as uninvolving video game sequences, with a lot of things flying around.
Set Bookmark
Tomalak
Sat, Dec 19, 2020, 3:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 2

I am not a fan of Discovery at all, but I would say three of the last four episodes were decent. I really like the Mirror Universe.

But I agree strongly with Jammer that the schmaltz was silly for all the reasons he gives. Even the schmaltz around Mirror Detmer's death was a bit much. This is a character who has had few lines in our universe. Why would we feel anything about her evil counterpart dying?

I also really didn't like the idea that Georgiou was a "badass" - even said in a jokey way by the bridge crew in our universe. It just doesn't work within the Star Trek universe that the crew would admire a cruel mass murderer and slave owner who constantly talked about butchering people.

Note that it wasn't that they admired her despite these things, or thought that she used to be evil but had changed. No, they think those things mean she was a "bad-ass". It's a bit like saying Dr Mengele or the leader of ISIS or someone is a "bad-ass". If that comparison seems ridiculous, it's only because Georgiou is more like a Marvel villain than a real life evil human being - not something that would have happened back in the days when Star Trek took itself seriously.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Sat, Dec 19, 2020, 1:27am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 2

San is likely a reference to a character in the Discovery novel "Die Standing".
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Fri, Dec 18, 2020, 11:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 2

I love this show. I hope it goes on forever.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Mon, Dec 14, 2020, 12:34am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 1

@Artymiss

I see. I actually don't like blades (or guns) all that much either. So I can relate.

I was thinking more in context of the show, as a gym like that is probably necessary for a lot of reasons, from practicing combat to stress relief.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Mon, Dec 14, 2020, 12:03am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 1

@Artymiss

" I think it's some kind of alarming martial arts gym"

I'm curious as to why this is alarming.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Sun, Dec 13, 2020, 12:02am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 1

@MidshipmanNorris

"Drawing on expanded universe material would be nice. It would at least show that one writer on this staff is doing some reading up."

Off the top of my head I can think of a couple of books that could have possibly made for a couple great episodes or films. " The Q Continuum" is one of them, an interesting villain in 0 (who also speaks in riddle and rhymes), and some tie ins to the Trek universe that could make for some compelling visuals.

The other is "Federation". It wouldn't have been possible given the age of the actors, but this would have been a great first film that bridged the gap between TOS and TNG, while also including backstory on Zefram Cochrane and other players in the Eugenics Wars.

And now I'm off to look for my books.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Sat, Dec 12, 2020, 3:26pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 1

@Quincy

"There are at least two different Star Trek apocrypha that have associated Q with the Guardian of Forever. In one of the apocrypha, Q encounters a being called 0 shown to him by the Guardian of Forever. 0 is apparently in another dimension, inhabiting a cold, snowy, barren world, similar to Rura Penthe, when he's invited to the Star Trek Milky Way. He seems harmless, well dressed, and mischievous, but he is actually malevolent. He has Q like abilities, but his power has been crippled (he can no longer travel at warp speed- sound familiar?). After causing a civil war that fails to destroy the TKon Empire, he ends up prematurely triggering the supernova that the TKon Empire was trying to escape from. He was subsequently banished from the galaxy and the galactic barrier was erected by the Q to keep him out"

Yes. This is the Greg Cox "Q Continuum" trilogy I was referencing. Really cool story.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Fri, Dec 11, 2020, 3:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 1

Pretty much loved it. The scene with Burnham, Georgiou, and Carl somewhat reminded me of a scene in one the Q trilogy novels by Greg Cox, where Q first meets 0 on an icy world ( or something like that its been years since I have read the trilogy). Either way I really enjoy the imagery of the Carl and the door.

I thought SMG and Michelle Yeoh were very good in this episode, especially in the mirror universe. Doug Jones as well. I also enjoyed the the interior of mirror discovery and the costume designs. Cool stuff.

I think my only real complaint would be the pace seemed to drag a little at times with a lot of the dialogue.

3 stars
Set Bookmark
Tomalak
Thu, Dec 10, 2020, 10:02am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

Huh? Bastard is a matter of taste but when did Tomalak lie or cheat?
Set Bookmark
Tomalak
Thu, Dec 10, 2020, 9:06am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

People don't take kindly to baseless accusations that they are foaming at the mouth ranters with a phobia. Funny that. How baffling it all is.

Number of posts by Booming on this site: Hundreds
Number of threads on this site without Booming accusing people of white supremacy, transphobia etc.: 0
Set Bookmark
Tom
Mon, Dec 7, 2020, 6:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Precious Cargo

"You have to choose what you will do, and who you will serve. If you are going to go directly opposite of what the bible commands and say that God is weak because He wants us to not watch bad programs, and have immoral sex, you should examine your true motives.

Is it that you just don't want to be told what to do? "

Not at all.

Let me think how to put this. You say that it is not up to you to judge, that it's up to God. Okay, perfectly reasonable statement there. But then you are saying that Sean J Hagins, lowly and humble servant of God, has the power to change who He created you to be, from one created in His image holy and innocent, into what you are not - into something sinful and wicked and guilty. And God is powerless against this, to the point where He will be very angry and punish you for it. I mean, that's pretty impressive. And all without breaking a sweat! Just switch on the wrong TV channel, sleep with the wrong person. Such power almost seems.. godlike...

So my question to you would be, why worship anyone? You could almost start your own religion.
Set Bookmark
Tomalak
Mon, Dec 7, 2020, 11:43am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

(Janey not Stacy.)
Set Bookmark
Tomalak
Mon, Dec 7, 2020, 11:26am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

"This is the very first episode ever which included a transperson and a few issues connected to that."

28 years ago The Next Generation had one as the main guest character. It's not a new idea at all - just one handled with characteristic lack of deft by the Discovery writers.

"Of course people will discuss those issues. Dismissively calling a debate about trans issues those "usual debates about woke identity politics" as if that is all the struggles of transpeople are is a pretty bad thing to say."

The episode suggests the exact configuration of 2020's transgender politics, with people asserting their pronouns to colleagues in a heartfelt way, will be in place in 3188. Depending on your politics you can think that in 1,168 years it would be way too small a deal for anyone to even need to mention it in this way. Or perhaps you think that we're in the grips of a barmy fad, complete with puberty blockers for children, that has zero chance of continuing for 12 years let alone 1,200 years. But what seems ridiculous as others have said is inserting a 2020 political anachronism into 3188. Star Trek has historically done this stuff much better: e.g. Chekov was a proud Russian but didn't indulge in Cold War rhetoric that would soon have dated the show. Even at the time it would have seemed utterly implausible that things would be so similar in 1968 and 300 years later.

"This is an open discussion board, nobody has to cater to your likes and dislikes."

As I've suggested before, if someone could read a post here and not even know it was discussing a Star Trek episode/the Star Trek universe then it's gone way off topic and should be brought back on topic. Jammer has said he agrees. Far too many posts above don't keep to that rule. Obviously those of us who come here for discussion of Star Trek episodes can't force you to play ball, and Jammer has made clear he doesn't have the time to either, but I'm certainly going to encourage people to remember what this site is for, and give a nod of appreciation when people like Stacy do so too.
Set Bookmark
Tomalak
Sun, Dec 6, 2020, 7:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

Personally I thought the writers wading in on the modish pronouns debate was just pathetic of them - why didn't they also talk about whether the 2020 election was stolen and the Pfizer vaccine? But I mainly just agree with Janey that it's a shame these boards are being hijacked by political debates on woke issues, week after week. If I watch an old DS9 episode I will easily find 30 or more insightful comments on the episode, and that is often a joy. If I watch a Discovery episode I'll be lucky to get even 30 comments on the episode, and all will be interspersed with hundreds of comments that are just the usual woke identity politics debates.
Set Bookmark
Tom
Sun, Dec 6, 2020, 6:07pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Precious Cargo

@Sean J Hagins

Well, I mean, the man you are talking about forgave those who were literally trying to (and did) kill him. If you need any more evidence that he was teaching unconditional forgiveness of all, and not concerned with "repentance", I don't know what anyone can tell you. Maybe you have let a strict, literal interpretation of 2000 year words blind you.

But let's be logical here. A God that takes sides is not really a God, it's an idol. If God is all-powerful, omnipotent, and if there is some other power that can challenge Him, to the point where He needs to "destroy the wicked", or "punish the evil", or "judge the wrongdoers" then we are just worshiping one power out of many. Because if God is the source of all being, then being inherently good, it must follows that only God's creations are real, and good. And anything we see that appears to oppose that must fall into the realm of illusion. If we emphasize the need to repent before we can forgive, we are making illusions real, placing our faith in their power over God's.

I don't know exactly what JWs believe but personally, a god who is weak enough to be affected by what I watch on TV, who I have sex with, and what words I speak, is not one I want to waste my time with.
Set Bookmark
Tomalak
Sat, Dec 5, 2020, 5:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Unification III

Chris, I tend to agree. I would rather watch a DS9 or VOY given a 1.5 by Jammer than a Discovery he gives a 2.5 or a 3 to. I think there has been a bit of devaluation of the currency.
Set Bookmark
Tom
Sat, Dec 5, 2020, 4:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

"I feel that this idea of inclusivity and not just galomphing every dollar you see, and things of that nature, are a positive and productive thing to try to talk about doing"

Yeah, well, at best we can say that Star Trek has been 'late to the game', and at worst, downright intolerant. Over the years we've seen intolerance of greedy people and people who like money (Ferengi), anxious and awkward people (Barclay), dishonorable people, criminals and psychopaths, people who don't like to work, people who won't follow orders, arrogant people, unemotional people, sad people, unintelligent people...

Maybe the public perspective is at the point now, as it was with the various other groups Trek has come to 'accept' that trans people can be tolerated without being a drain on the economy. But that still leaves a whole bunch of other groups who aren't tolerated, who don't fit in, who aren't even recognised as a minority and so can't even claim the privileges that being part of that group entails.
Set Bookmark
Tomalak
Fri, Dec 4, 2020, 6:44am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Unification III

Booming, two weeks ago you pledged to avoid in future the personal arguments that have swamped so many other threads on this forum, and always seemed to involve you. I wondered how it's working out so far?
Set Bookmark
Tomalak
Fri, Dec 4, 2020, 6:39am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S1: Past Prologue

I thought it was good to have the Duras sisters along. But I found it questionable that they made such a fuss about handing over their weapons, even reacting physically. If they had an ounce of sense they would have kept a low profile while trying to conduct nefarious deals, as criminals try to. Instead, their actions immediately lead to a discussion between Sisko and Odo about whether they should be locked up right away - and it's easy to see how Sisko and Odo could have justified it given their attack on the security officer. Maybe they're just meant to be dumb villains, lacking self-control, but that they would have risen so high while being so dumb is itself questionable.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Fri, Dec 4, 2020, 12:13am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Unification III

@Booming

"Three questions. Why do you think that? Why do you find that odd? And why does that not surprise you?"

I want to answer this, but my work schedule is kicking my behind. I will try this weekend.
Next ►Page 1 of 21
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.