Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 159 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 7
Set Bookmark
Tommy Charles
Thu, Apr 26, 2018, 10:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: The Pegasus

Nick P,

I know you will probably never read this...but it's stated quite clearly in DS9 that the Romulans gave the Fed permission to use cloaking tech in the Defiant so they could use it as a forward scout against the Dominion.

In the beginning, they were to keep a Romulan crew member on board at all times but they relented on this and let it be Star Fleet crew only.
Set Bookmark
Tom
Sat, Apr 21, 2018, 9:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: The Disease

I agree with Peter G. This episode is very prudish. The captain thinks that she has the right to control Harry's sexuality, even though he's an adult.

But the most disturbing part is how unfair this was to Kim. It's no secret that Garrett Wang was deeply frustrated by his character's treatment on Voyager (see: Straight Talk with Voyager’s Garrett Wang on startrek.com). He was never given a promotion.

This is one of the most egregious examples of a double standard.

Janeway almost states that double standard explicitly : It wouldn't have been so bad for Tom to do this, but Harry? Unacceptable.

I suspect that the writers were unconsciously influenced by racial stereotypes against Asians:

As Wikipedia explains : ""Mainstream America, for the most part, gets uncomfortable with seeing an East Asian man portrayed in a sexual light." Asian men are often portrayed as feminine or sexless in American media." https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stereotypes_of_East_Asians_in_the_United_States#Men

That was a deplorable episode. There's no reason why Tal should not have joined Voyager and stayed on as Harry's companion.
Set Bookmark
tommy
Wed, Apr 18, 2018, 1:11am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Sanctuary

Wow... hate for immigrants (or Jews... I can't really figure that out) is alive and well on these boards... fascinating. The aliens here don't claim ownership of Bajor. Their religious stories say there is a place they are destined to go, to help a suffering people. TO HELP. A lot of you are forgetting that part of the story.

This is what's so good about DS9.. not afraid to have an unhappy ending... and both sides had a point. Bajor couldn't support them if an emergency happened... and maybe the aliens could have helped Bajor.

And they weren't tossed out of Bajor and then returned. They just had a vision or religious belief of where they should go. In the end even the leader admitted Bajor was not katana (or whatever)

Very good episode.
Set Bookmark
Tommy
Mon, Apr 9, 2018, 7:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: These Are the Voyages...

Those of you who were hoping for a new Star Trek show got your wish.

Star Trek: Special Effects Aroma But OMG The Plot Holes
Set Bookmark
Tommy
Mon, Apr 9, 2018, 5:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Genesis

I always hated this episode. I mean, it had some interesting parts. Like seeing monster Worf, I guess.

But the premise seems...beneath Star Trek.

This isn't sci-fi, it's fantasy. Things need to at least be plausible.
Set Bookmark
Tommy
Sun, Apr 8, 2018, 1:07am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Unification

What always annoyed me about this two-parter is why in the hell would Picard and Data go the planet? Isn't this exactly what Star Fleet Intelligence is for? Why would they risk the life of a captain and Data?

It's TV, I know.
Set Bookmark
Tommy
Wed, Apr 4, 2018, 9:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Nth Degree

Great episode, but I feel that the 'advanced alien draws us in' trope is a bit overused. But to be fair, this was the early '90s.

But I could have sworn there was another alien that draws them to the center of the galaxy in a different episode of TNG. That one looked more like a cloud alien.

I like how they hinted that Broccoli retained some of the extra smarts. I like to think that his time on Voyager was this thing reasserting itself.
Set Bookmark
Tommy
Mon, Apr 2, 2018, 4:17am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

This was a pretty piss-poor finale to a mixed-bag of a first season.

The setup makes no sense. Why didn't they just use their foo foo magic jump drive to plant a bomb in the Klingon home world a long time ago? They couldn't pay some Orion pirates for the intel on where the Klingon planets are?

Ugh.

1 stars from me. I'll watch season 2 only if it explores the Romulans.

Set Bookmark
Tom
Sat, Feb 24, 2018, 1:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Nemesis

Great episode. Reminds me of the "Men Against Fire" Black Mirror episode. Great acting by Beltran in this one too.
Set Bookmark
Tom Eklund
Mon, Jan 29, 2018, 12:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Course: Oblivion

"Great episode! As with every Voyager episode (and I literally mean EVERY Voyager episode), it is riddled with plot holes if you look closely enough, but if this is your issue, you might as well throw out the entire series and move on.

Oblivion is a winner for its emotional content and deep, thought-provoking material about the nature of our own existence and some of the big questions surrounding our finite nature."

I second that. Very well written, sir!
Set Bookmark
Tommy
Sat, Jan 13, 2018, 10:13am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Yesterday's Enterprise

In this day and age of endless remakes and reboots, this is one TNG episode they should turn into a movie.
Set Bookmark
Tomalak
Mon, Jan 1, 2018, 1:15am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: The Jem'Hadar

Fault look above should read "default look".
Set Bookmark
Tomalak
Mon, Jan 1, 2018, 1:14am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: The Jem'Hadar

A number of people above ask why neither Eris nor the Jem Hadar appear to recognise Odo as a founder.

But they show no special ability to realise someone is a changeling in any other episodes. Even Odo can't seem to tell who other founders are just to look at them and talk to them.

The humanoid appearance the female changeling and others take on does look like him, but the Search Part II says that is then matching up to him. Other episodes establish that his look is the best job he can do of looking like a humanoid, not some kind of fault look for his species. So why didn't they acknowledge him as a founder in any way? Because no founder they had ever encountered looked like that.
Set Bookmark
Tomalak
Thu, Dec 28, 2017, 9:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Who Mourns for Morn?

It would have been a great in joke if Morn had spoken a lot in the Mirror Universe episodes. Maybe in our universe he "never shuts up" but the viewer never heard from him while in the Mirror Universe he's known to be quiet but he gets loads of on screen lines.
Set Bookmark
Tomalak
Thu, Dec 28, 2017, 2:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: In the Pale Moonlight

If I was Dax I'd be very suspicious. You, Sisko and others discuss how much a pain the Romulans are. Then in his office you go through a whole role play with him on how to bring them into the war, a role play in which it becomes crystal clear that something needs to happen before the Romulans will change their stance. A few days go by, and by an apparent remarkable coincidence an assassination that seems likely to bring the Romulans into the war happens, and instead of reacting like everyone else Sisko mysteriously storms off wordlessly on hearing the news. Hmm...

On a separate note, even if the Senator had been taken in by the recording, how could the plan ever have involved Tolar staying alive? Garak obviously planned to kill him all along but what did Sisko plan to do?
"He believed it, Tolar. You're free to go... Obviously don't tell anyone. The entire future of the war depends on you keeping quiet. Even if we win, the Romulans will go apeshit and attack us if they ever find out. You're not the kind of person to do anything unscrupulous and blurt it out are you? The sort who is reckless after a few drinks?"
"Course I'm not! See you!"
Set Bookmark
Tomalak
Tue, Dec 12, 2017, 6:37am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

I don't understand how anyone can consider this episode (or TNG's Who Watches the Watchers?) a remotely convincing critique of religion.

I find it very plausible that primitive people could worship people with far more advanced technology (e.g. look up the cargo cult). But unless one is arguing that Jesus or Mohammed or Moses was using technology from the far future, I can't see the relevance to the actual religious beliefs that people on Earth have.

I enjoyed this episode and WWTW but I think anyone who comes away from them thinking they've seen a critique of religion is seeing what they want to see and hasn't thought it through.
Set Bookmark
Tomalak
Fri, Dec 1, 2017, 9:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: New Dimensions

"I want you and I to be okay."

I cringed at this line. How can you be a TV writer and not know when to use I and when to use me?
Set Bookmark
Tom Chambers
Fri, Dec 1, 2017, 5:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: New Dimensions

Norvo, my apologies, I should have refrained from commenting. McFarlane's 'Admiral Halsey' shout-out is ultimately just a matter of trivia. I suppose the more relevant question is, not whether you knew, but did Seth McFarlane know? It doesn't matter at all to anybody except naval history buffs.
Set Bookmark
Tom Chambers
Fri, Dec 1, 2017, 2:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: New Dimensions

Norvo, you may be right about 'Admiral Halsey' being a Mcfarlane shout-out to a McCartney/Wings song. But (just checking) you do realize that Admiral Halsey was a real person, yes? https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/William_Halsey_Jr.
Set Bookmark
Tomalak
Sun, Nov 19, 2017, 1:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Chosen Realm

Captain: "Oh, and the root cause of [the Iran-Iraq War]? Well! It was a verrrry important dispute, you see. Yes indeed. Apparently, when Mohammed died in the 7th century, there was an argument about whether his successor should be his son-in-law, or his buddy."

Bit of a stretch to call this the root cause of a war between two majority Shia countries in the 20th Century. Note that it was a secular Iraqi government that started the conflict by invading Iran, not the other way around.
Set Bookmark
Tomalak
Sat, Nov 11, 2017, 6:30am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Cupid's Dagger

One of the curious things about the show is that the characters act and talk in a very unintelligent way - like valley girls and meatheads - even in working hours. This helps build the story: e.g. you put an idiot on that Facebook Like planet, or in charge of a diplomatic mission, and it's plausible when everything quickly falls apart.

But it's implausible that these people would ever be employed in these kind of roles in the first place. You have to suspend disbelief a lot to believe people like Darulio would be a leading archaeologist, that most people on the bridge would ever be trusted in that kind of job and so on.
Set Bookmark
SovietOmega
Fri, Nov 3, 2017, 3:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Into the Fold

Stop me if you've heard this one. A starship doctor and an advanced technological being form a bond...

Joking aside, despite this episode being a bit too neat and tidy with the plot elements, it was quite nice seeing Isaac get some character development love.

Set Bookmark
Tomalak
Fri, Nov 3, 2017, 10:58am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Into the Fold

This was the first Orville episode I've really disliked. I'm very surprised by the positive comments above.

"We've got the reliable old chestnut of 'shuttle crashes on an alien planet' and the crew being forced to survive. Under normal circumstances this would be a recipe for an entirely dull, by-the-numbers filler plot."

Isn't this exactly what we did get?
Set Bookmark
speakgeekytome
Mon, Oct 30, 2017, 5:49am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad

Well, I'll agree with others that this was the best Disco has had to offer so far. That's not really saying much - like saying Star Wars ROTS is the best prequel. When the two that came before it were complete dreck, it only looks good by comparison.

But yes, overall, minor thumbs up. Surprising to anyone the best episode so far had a *complete* lack of nu-Klingons? I hated the nu take on Mudd. They turned a character that was a comic relief villain and turned him into a complete asshole. Seriously? I disliked him in the first episode he appeared in and they ruined him in this one. Why make him Harry Mudd? Why not just create a brand new character to be a dick? That's a major problem with this show - screw up everything that's come before it for the sake of name dropping. "Oh we have Klingons and Mudd." No. You don't.

The idea of Groundhog Disco was entertaining overall and despite my distaste for pretty much the entire cast, the writing and the series as a whole, it wasn't terrible. I'm not sure what it is about the show that makes it so bad. Could it get better? Looking back TNG S1 is completely unwatchable and it's a great series by the end, so I supposed it's possible. Even Enterprise ultimately redeemed itself (a bit). With Disco, however, each episode's garbage spills into the next. It's like an ongoing infection. The only way to purge the virus is to nuke the ship, crew and GOT-inspired 'plot' and start season 2 with fresh producers, writers, cast, costume designers, set designers and for the love of god, please give us real, non-crap Klingons!
Set Bookmark
Tomalak
Sat, Oct 28, 2017, 9:28am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

Jammer, I just wanted to thank you for your many reviews. They have actually got me rewatching many an old TNG or VOY episode again - enjoyable in itself, and the reviews and your great comments section often just as enjoyable. You clearly put a lot of work in to these and it is appreciated.
Next ►Page 1 of 7
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.