Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 45 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
Todd
Tue, Apr 17, 2018, 9:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

No rush, Jammer!!! Episode IX is just a year and a half a way. No pressure.
Set Bookmark
Todd
Thu, Mar 29, 2018, 8:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

I think we should write Jammer's review for him. Solo is out in 2 months...the people can't wait.
Set Bookmark
Todd
Tue, Feb 13, 2018, 12:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

@Artymiss Based on the TV episode THE CAGE, produced way back in 1964, the only TOS crewmember on the USS Enterprise would be Spock. He wouldn't be a first officer, that would be the female crew member called "Number One" played by Majel Barrett.

As to where they are in the timeline, it's approximately 10 years before The Man Trap.
Set Bookmark
Todd
Tue, Feb 13, 2018, 2:05am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

I want to see the Emperor Georgiou spin off series...I see her opening a Kelpian restaurant in New Orleans whose motto is "SERVING THE FINEST KELPIAN CUISINE IN THE SECTOR". Then, when we find out she's the reason the Kelpians went extinct, she's arrested and as she's dragged away, she yells out...BRING ME SARU, I'LL MAKE DINNER FOR YOU.
Set Bookmark
Todd
Tue, Feb 6, 2018, 9:34am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The War Without, The War Within

@Dom I feel like the writers have passed up one storytelling opportunity after another with this show... Spending pointless time with L'Rell and Voq in the early going was painful and boring. Spending time with Ash Tyler's whining now is just boring. I don't care about his romance with Burnham, his feelings or anything else about him. In a real world, he would be under arrest and facing trial for murder. That's it.

Meanwhile, the writers set up the ISS Discovery with Captain Killy and never let us see it. An episode of what they were doing in the Alpha Quadrant would have been interesting. Having the USS Discovery have to hunt them down to stop them from whatever would have been interesting (and would have offered a better use of the emperor character than stupidly giving her command of a Federation starship).

I feel like the writers of this show are amateurs who don't really know how to tell a coherent story. And I don't care anymore. There are far better things to watch.
Set Bookmark
Todd
Sun, Feb 4, 2018, 8:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The War Without, The War Within

So the Federation's plan is to turn over command of the Discovery to the leader of a savage parallel universe Empire...and throw its principles and guiding ideals into the nearest garbage chute. I question the writing on a decision like that. As well as the wasted opportunity in deciding the ISS Discovery was destroyed. RIP Captain Killy.
Set Bookmark
Todd
Tue, Jan 30, 2018, 7:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

So...from the point of view of the mirror Starfleet and the mirror universe, the emperor was killed, along with her flagship and the entire power structure of the Empire (that we could see). In the real world, such an event would lead to a massive civil war as pretenders tried to become the new emperor or carve up the Empire into bite sized pieces, which would then be conquered by others. Amazing that the Empire is able to quickly regroup and in ten years has it together enough to be sending the Enterprise on missions of conquest and genocide. But, maybe when the ISS Charon blew up, so did the anti alien xenophobia?
Set Bookmark
Todd
Sun, Jan 28, 2018, 8:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

RIP "Captain" Lorca. Will miss Jason Isaacs.
Set Bookmark
Todd
Mon, Jan 22, 2018, 3:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Vaulting Ambition

@Lynos The value of the show right now is the contrast between the Federation and the Terran Empire. The difference in values, methods and characters.

In art it is often said you need the dark to bring out the light. I think that's true in drama as well.

Listen to how the Emperor spoke about Federation values, scoffing at them. Ironic if a Federation starship ends up saving her from Lorca (which is where I think this show may be going).

As to social commentary, look at how the Republican Party and Trump are trying to govern the United States at the moment...as a xenophobic inward looking fearful place. Whether you agree with that approach or not, the parallels between Trump and the Empire are there.
Set Bookmark
Todd
Mon, Jan 22, 2018, 3:40am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Vaulting Ambition

@doctorbenjiphd I disagree that the Stamets were switched...when normal Stamets wakes up on the USS Discovery he tells Tilly he knows about Hugh...mirror Stamets never met him.

Regarding the mirror universe, I think this is the show...its basically Star Trek: The Mirror Generation. They get home when the show's ready to wrap up. They didn't spend a dozen episodes setting up the long con of Lorca being from the Terran Empire without it having a long scale payoff. I think the Klingon War was both preamble and maguffin to what we're seeing now. We already know how that war ends up...the Federation wins or they reach a truce. The mirror universe stuff has the suspense.
Set Bookmark
Todd
Mon, Jan 22, 2018, 3:37am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

So now as of 1/22/18 this episode looks a lot better...we know why Lorca slept with a phaser under his pillow, what those scars on his back were and why Admiral Cornwell didn't feel like she knew him. Hope we get to see the look on her face when Discovery gets home and tells the good admiral where they've been.
Set Bookmark
Todd
Thu, Jan 18, 2018, 10:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

@Eric They sent Admiral Cornwell to a starbase for medical treatment before they jumped to the other side.
Set Bookmark
Todd
Thu, Jan 18, 2018, 9:48am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

@Gee...I would prefer personally that Lorca wasn't an MU doppelgänger, but the writers have been laying clues since he first appeared...

(1) He sleeps with a phaser...normal for a starship captain who has to worry about assassination
(2) Mysterious scars on his back Admiral Cornwell didn't recognize
(3) When the admiral is reminiscing with Lorca about past times, he clearly doesn't know what she's talking about, but he tries to fake it
(4) He clearly sets the final jump in episode 9 and whispers LETS GO HOME right before Discovery jumps to the Terran Empire
(5) When Burnham wants to investigate the spore drive navigation records to try to find a way home, Lorca says no, let's find out where we are first, trying to distract her from learning he directed them there
(6) When Burnham completes her mission on the ISS Shenzhou and says ok lets go, Lorca resists returning to Discovery

There are numerous other clues (his protectiveness of Burnham, the mysterious circumstances of the end of his last command, etc.). If the writers don't intend Lorca to MU Lorca, they're certainly laying down a clever set of breadcrumbs that point that way.
Set Bookmark
Todd
Wed, Jan 17, 2018, 4:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

@Mitch S. Love your comments!! I don't agree with them, but love them anyway. Spot on valid criticisms of the show.

Regarding STD being fantasy, Star Trek has always been more fantasy than sci fi going way back.

Aliens that look like humans with makeup? Check.
Alien cultures that always speak English? Check.
Magic tech that serves whatever the plot needs (e.g., transporters, holodecks, etc.)? Triple check.
Alternate universes with vastly different histories and cultures, but somehow have identical twins of almost every single person? Yup.

I don't dispute that Discovery may not be what you were looking for (sounds like you'd have been happiest with Star Trek: The Next Next Generation). And fantasy it may be. But at least it is entertaining fantasy to this fan anyway.
Set Bookmark
Todd
Wed, Jan 17, 2018, 4:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

@Gee, convoluted? Did you watch Lost? Or Fringe? Or Game of Thrones? Their plots make this theory look like it was scribbled in crayon by a 2 year old.
Set Bookmark
Todd
Wed, Jan 17, 2018, 3:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

As soon as the Discovery realized they were in a parallel universe, Burnham suggested they dive into the spore drive's navigation record to see what happened to them and Lorca immediately said no, we need to figure out where we are first, obviously trying to distract his crew from finding out he changed the coordinates of the jump.

Pretty clear he's Mirror Lorca...I believe the show will establish that he and mirror Burnham wanted to wrest the Empire from Georgiou, so they investigated the history of the Empire and found information on the USS Defiant. Realizing he and Burnham would have twins in the prime universe, they worked together to find a way there. Lorca went through, took his counterpart's place and got command of USS Discovery, intending to use the spore drive to (a) go home and (b) use it to defeat the emperor once there.

They faked mirror Burnham's death so they could successfully implant prime Burnham on the ISS Shenzhou, preserving Mirror Burnham's cover as a co conspirator and allowing them time to locate the emperor or lure her to them.

Convoluted and a long con. Like nothing Star Trek has done before. Suspect the final twist of the season will be Lorca's true intent and that he's mirror Burnham's lover. Discovery will be in the MU for a long while.
Set Bookmark
Todd
Tue, Jan 16, 2018, 12:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

@LJ...they changed the Klingons appearance to make the Ash Tyler/Voq switch work. With previous Klingon iterations, such a move wouldn't have worked at all (e.g., Worf without makeup still looked like Worf, etc.). The makeup was changed to make this subplot possible.
Set Bookmark
Todd
Mon, Jan 15, 2018, 4:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

@Peter G Good point about Sarek's mind meld...in Mirror, Mirror, Spock mind melded with McCoy and immediately knew everything about the Federation and where this landing party was from. That was why he helped Kirk get back to the USS Enterprise.

I assume Sarek would know, but unlike Spock he's not a trained scientist...so his reaction might be more parallel what?

Imagine for a moment if someone you loved, a child, your spouse REALLY came here from an alternate reality and tried to tell you. How would you handle that? Might be a bit confusing.
Set Bookmark
Todd
Sun, Jan 14, 2018, 9:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

I liked this episode and this storyline I think more than most of the commenters here.

One quibble I have...how did they go from Sarek being one of the leaders of the anti Imperial resistance to his son being the first officer on the ISS Enterprise a few years later?
Set Bookmark
Todd
Sun, Jan 7, 2018, 9:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Despite Yourself

What if this is Lorca's home universe? He escaped Captain Burnham (or killed her) and found a way into the prime universe to escape. Lorca's ship was destroyed (with him on it) so mirror-Lorca took his place, got command of the Discovery and used the spore drive to go home...with the benefit of having a Federation starship to fight the Empire.
Set Bookmark
Todd
Thu, Dec 22, 2016, 4:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

Will say I thought this was a brilliant movie...the beginning did feel a bit chaotic and rushed, but I had no problem keeping up with who was who...and really appreciated the movie's overall theme of sacrifice and heroism for a greater good. The heroes in Rogue One will never see the Death Star destroyed and, even when the movie ends, can't know for certain if the plans they hand off to the Rebellion will do any good, but their noble sacrifice lays the groundwork for all that is to come.

Only real nitpick I have (and it's based on just some retconning), Darth Vader sees Leia's ship pull away during the heat of battle carrying the plans for the Death Star...chases after her and she claims she's on a diplomatic mission? Talk about chutzpah! Or just dramatic retconning of a 40 year old movie.
Set Bookmark
Todd Hooper
Fri, Apr 8, 2016, 10:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Similitude

Everyone forgets Enterprise 1 or whatever was a military ship on a military mission with a commander trained in military doctrine and I suppose engineering.

With the sole exception of Defiant/Sao Paolo, which weren't put into situations like this regularly.Medical ethics are shakier than we give them credit for. In a sense you could look as Sim as a facsimile of trip and nothing else. Of course it would behoove them to write more thought/rationale into audible dialogue.

The episode where he essentially left a ship with a full compliment of civilians derelict in an act of plunder, now that was a moral dilemma. This was too, and it affected me without thinking too much about the implications of ancestral memory (look up holonomic brain theory, apparently memory isn't even locally stored. I don't know much about it but it didn't ruin Dune for me.) I found the affection for this scion of Lt Cmdr was he? Tucker and it moved me deeply.
Set Bookmark
Todd
Wed, Dec 31, 2014, 11:01am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Unforgettable

And how do her pheremones and magic virus work on the holographic doctor? All aliens on the ship? Really dumb story. Five monkeys with a magic marker could have done better.
Set Bookmark
Todd
Wed, Aug 20, 2014, 5:59am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Rightful Heir

Skeptical, I disagree on the notion that DS9 suddenly made Gowron incompetent. For starters, we don't know if he was ever a particularly effective tactician to begin with, but that wasn't the problem on DS9. The problem was he was *intentionally* making Martok (who apparently WAS an effective tactician) look bad by sending him into hopeless battles to discredit him.

I do wish we'd seen more of what supposedly made Kahless great, emphasizing a sense of honor, but for an episode about faith, Worf's proposed compromise of having Kahless installed as emperor was the best possible compromise to avert division or even another civil war. Neither Gowron, nor Korath, seem particularly happy about it (maybe not even Worf, for that matter) but seem to understand it's the best solution there is.

All in all, despite being an agnostic myself, I really enjoyed this episode and what address, regarding faith and symbols.
Set Bookmark
Todd
Tue, Aug 19, 2014, 12:17am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

He can post his review of this movie when Star Trek XXX comes out :P
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.