Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 28 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
Tina
Sun, Apr 18, 2021, 6:31am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S1: Angel One

What's funny is that after one year of effing Covid, seeing Crusher walking around without mask or gloves, not quarantining anyone. Seems doctors in the 24 century didn't learn anything from 2020 :)
Also, what bothered me about this episode: When Riker et al want to beam back to the Enterprise, why not beam them into an empty room/hall, so as to avoid contact with the other sick ones?
Set Bookmark
Tina Y
Mon, Feb 18, 2019, 2:47am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S2: Saints of Imperfection

And here it is, the apotheosis of one of the worst creations in Trek lore history- that deranged "mycelial" daftness. This might be the stupidest hour of Star Trek since the first season of Enterprise in 2001- probably the one in which they’re trapped in a cave, hallucinating… because spores (the poetry of fate). The only way this hot mess has any redeemable value- if the kingdom of mushroom magic is never mentioned again. But we shouldn’t be so lucky. And Sonequa, please, when they make you record pretentious narration, you don’t make it any better by affecting a voice that sounds like someone reading a storybook to a classroom of children. (Not her fault really, she isn’t directing herself.)

Fave scene from this ep: “Spock?” “Spock.” “Spocka Spock?” “Spocka Spock Spock Spock!”
Set Bookmark
Kristina
Sat, Feb 16, 2019, 12:35am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S7: Liaisons

The ONLY entertaining thing about this episode are the Worf scenes. Yes, he is funny as hell and does a great job here. The rest of the episode is twisted and weird and not in a good way AT ALL.
Set Bookmark
Kristina
Tue, Jan 22, 2019, 5:01pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S3: Yesterday's Enterprise

For anyone wondering why Picard would trust Guinan to such a level, remember that she is an alien who is several hundred years old at least and they have a very special relationship that has been explored in various episodes. Picard probably trusts her more than anyone else on the ship. I thought it was very in keeping that he trusted her enough to do this, and only enhanced the portrayal of their special bond.
Set Bookmark
Kristina
Mon, Jan 21, 2019, 12:53pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S4: Demon

This is truly horrible. Absolutely unwatchable. Especially after the superb “Living Witness”, this is just an insult to the genre. Worst Voyager episode ever in my opinion.
Set Bookmark
Kristina
Tue, Nov 27, 2018, 8:49pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S7: Nightingale

Not truly bad enough to be entertaining yet truly heinous. Boring in an indescribable way. Skip at all costs.
Set Bookmark
Kristina
Sat, Nov 24, 2018, 4:47pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S5: Warhead

This is truly a heinous episode. Seven of Nine battling The Rock or Tom Paris turning into a giant lizard are far more entertaining. And if Harry Kim was really that worried about screwing up, a full episode of him in therapy with the Ship’s Counselor would be more entertaining than this mess.
Set Bookmark
Kristina Anderson
Sun, Jul 8, 2018, 3:28pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S4: Final Mission

What REALLY bugs me the most about this episode is - It is one of the MANY “shuttlecraft crashes and plot ensues” episodes and OK for that, my god there have been way worse over the years. BUT just before they leave the shuttle at Geordi says he did a complete systems and safety check in this old tub of parts and says “everything checks out” and he lets them leave the bay with the CAPTAIN ON BOARD. Less than 10 minutes later the thing is crash landing on a planet and has NO emergency supplies. So I mean what the hell did he “check out”? Why does he still have a job?
Set Bookmark
Kristina
Wed, Dec 30, 2015, 10:06pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S3: Azati Prime

Regarding race & Star Trek - a very eye-opening documentary about Star Trek which collectively runs 8+ hours covers topics from transhumanism to racial constructs in Trek. The filmmaker's name is Lenon Honor, an extremely bright and astute black man with very pointed political observations. For a few, why were so many of the actors from "Roots" then seen in Star Trek? Also, why are so many of the helmsmen in Star Trek these overly sincere men of color who seem to be happy just to be doing the driving? (A la "Driving Miss Daisy" etc)
Such as Geordi during season 1 TNG and our Travis Mayweather here.

At times it is hard to reconcile this with what I, as admittedly a white person with limited frame of reference, consider truly exceptional black TV characters for their time like Benjamin Sisko and Uhura. Clearly, a conscious or unconscious racial subtext of some sort is at work.
Set Bookmark
Tina
Tue, Apr 6, 2010, 5:05pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S5: 11:59

Just to clarify, regarding the Great Wall of China, Neelix said "...before the 22nd century, it was ONE OF the only man-made objects that could be seen from Earth's orbit with the naked eye." [emphasis added]
Set Bookmark
Christina
Thu, Jan 21, 2010, 7:04pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: BSG S4: The Plan

"Send in the Cavil-ry"? ROTFL

I for one thoroughly enjoyed Razor, and from your review, Jammer, it sounds like I will enjoy The Plan, too.

Unfortunately, I'll probably have to wait for the DVD or watch a visually sub-par version of it on youtube, because so far German TV hasn't even aired Razor or the final season of BSG, let alone the webisodes or the Caprica prequel. I don't have much hope that they'll ever show Razor here, which raises the question if they'll ever do a German dub of it at all. Which presents a problem once the Big Box of The Ultimate BSG Collection arrives on the market (and we all know it will one day) they'll never sell it here on the German market if all the extras and spin-offs haven't been dubbed.

Now, personally, I have no problem with watching BSG in English, but my husband prefers to watch it in German. (I have watched the first three seasons both in English and later in German as well, and I must say fortunately the German dub and the choice of voice-actors was very well executed. Other series, like i.e. Heroes, fare much worse.)
Set Bookmark
Christina
Sun, Sep 20, 2009, 8:14am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: Four Series and the Trek Ideology

Brilliant article. I wonder though, if your'd written this article some years alter, what your analysis of Enterprise would have been, how you would have fitted that series into the greater Trek mythology.

As for Deep Space Nine, don't forget cynical ex-spy Garak the Carcassian and his many discussions about human literature and conflicting worldviews with the station's idealistic (and in the beginning sometimes rather naive) Dr. Bashir.
Set Bookmark
Christina
Sun, Sep 6, 2009, 11:48am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S4: Awakening

The sad part is, the writers could've used the Katra plot to move some other, previously underused character into the spotlight instead of making Archer the extra-special guy again.

What if Mayweather or Hoshi or Malcolm Reed had crossed the desert along with T'Pol, or along with T'Pol and Archer if the captain absolutely has to be there, and Surak's Katra had been transferred to one of them?
Set Bookmark
Christina
Sun, Sep 6, 2009, 11:41am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S4: Kir'Shara

They should've kicked out Archer and renamed this series The Soval and Shran Show. ;-)

Season 4 still had some shaky parts, but it was a huge improvement over the previous three seasons of Enterprise.
Set Bookmark
Christina
Sun, Sep 6, 2009, 11:14am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S4: Awakening

We should start an Enteprise/Temporal War/Iraq War drinking game. ;-)

"The Xindi attack on Earth changed everything." Drink!
"You traverse vast wastelands based on false information." Drink!
Set Bookmark
Christina
Sun, Sep 6, 2009, 11:07am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S4: The Forge

Spock's pet Sehlat was first mentioned by his mother in the TOS episode "Journey to Babel".

I loved this episode. Tighly plotted, insight on Vulcan society etc. Just one thing makes me cringe: Why God why does it have to be dumb *Archer* who gets Surak's katra transfered into his mind?? Archer? Are you kidding me, writers?
Set Bookmark
Christina
Sun, Sep 6, 2009, 10:55am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S2: The Expanse

This episode marks the post-9-/11 spot when the writers tried to turn Archer into George W. Bush, striding along in a flightsuit with a mouthful of righteous anger phases and a stuffed codpiece. "Whatever it takes."?

Seriously, what marred the emotional impact of the episode for me was the fact that the Xindi arrive to attack Earth and of course they attack the former United States! Because presumably US-American viewers wouldn't give a damn if the Xindi laser had cut through India or Japan or Turkey instead of Florida? I can see the Xindi attacking the northern hemisphere because there's more landmasses there than in the southern one, but the question remains: Why did they aim so badly? Seriously, if I had crossed half the galaxy to test out my prototype(!) weapon on another species' planet without warning and start a war with them, I would make damn sure I aimed at the most populated areas, instead of slicing through water half of the time and then flying away again. Alright, so they got Florida. Apparently the Xindi came to Earth to wage war on manatees.

You might say the Xindi got their pre-emptive war in a bit early. But if you want to wipe out a species (including all their offplanet colonies) you better try a biological agent instead of slicing and dicing the planetary crust. So this was a stupid move, obviously designed to make the Xindi into targets.

Let me go on a little rant here: As a German viewer i'm somewhat miffed that every time you see Earth from space in an American series or movie (Battlestar Galactica, Enterprise, you name it) you *always* see the North American continent displayed instead of any other part of Earth.

Just as the Mercator maps of Earth hanging in American schools are different from the one hanging in European schools, as far as I know (I may be wrong, but I've seen such maps on TV). In the US, the Americas are placed in the centre of the map, meaning that Asia is cut in two and stuck at the left and right edge, while in European atlases the Greenwich zero meridian running through Europe and Africa is in the middle of the map, with the whole of Asia, India, Australia etc to the East and the Americas to the West, and the Pacific dateline bisecting the Pacific ocean on both edges of the map, like this:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Primemeridian.jpg
Set Bookmark
Christina
Sun, Sep 6, 2009, 10:01am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: Star Trek (2009)

I liked it. Despite the fact that it's yet another time travel story. Despite the fact that the many many plotholes could have been avoided with just a bit of thought.[*] Despite the fact that some of the more cringeworthy scenes (most of them in conenction with new-Scotty) were obviously just there for "comedic value".

But dammit, I liked the characters! I liked the actors, too. (Except, why didn't the producers try and cast someone for Sulu who looked a bit less ugly and a bit more like the young George Takei? Oh well.)

I can even overlook that they shot in a brewery, or the question why the Enterprise has a hall full of pipes filled with water that are only there to set up the lame "gag" with Scotty nearly drowning. Eh.

But for the first time in a long time, this Trek movie felt... alive. What it means to be part of the Star Fleet elite corps. What it means to look up to the stars and dream about boldly going out into Space. What it means to mingle peacefully with alien species.

Destroying planet Vulcan (seriously, it was a time travel story, I did expect them to press a reset button!) was a bold move. I just hope the producers asnd writers follow up to it in the sequels by inspecting the ramifications on the new timeline, instead of dropping the topic by the wayside as if nothing has happened. In that latter case, the destruction of Vulcan would have just been a cheap plot device for shock effect. I'll wait and see.

AS for an above poster saying that a Kirk who drove a car into a canyon when he was twelve does not make officer material... I disagree. Even in the old timelike, Kirk had always been a maverick, a rebel. But in TOS, we first met him when he was already over thirty and an established captain. This time around we got to see him as a teenager and a young man, with Captain Pike having to fill the role model role for him instead of his biological father.

It reminds me of the TNG episode "Tapestry", when Q offered Picard to rewrite Picard's own history, giving him the chance avoiding all the stupid things he had done as a young man... but as a result, the Picard in the new timeline never took risks, he was never given command responsibilities, he never became "officer material" despite having all the memories of his older self.

All the characters were younger (seventeen year old Chekov! heh), more immature (James Kirk) or more emotionally torn and rough around the edges (Spock), but you could see the persons they will eventually (hopefully) mature into. I am confident the writers will not let us down in that regard.

The movie could have been much better plotwise, but the actors were good and the CGI looked neat.

---
([*]Seriously, I'm a roleplayer and gamemaster and it took me only like 10 minutes to rewrite the plot in my mind so as to make it a more coherent and logical. If I can do it, why can't the paid scriptwriters??)
Set Bookmark
Christina
Sun, Sep 6, 2009, 9:22am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

--[Addendum]--
After I hit Send on my above comment I realized I had allowed the Archer-apologizers to frame the discussion in a way that narrows it down to a single topic: interference vs non-interference.

Now, while the script writers do their best to pretend that this episode is about the origin of the Prime Directive, it really isn't.

The whole idea of the Prime Directive is about not interfering in the CULTURAL DEVELOPMENT of a LESS technologically advanced species. But as Hecktar stated above: "Cultural contamination is moot since the Valakians had contact with two warp civilization prior to the enterprise."

What Archer and Phlox refused to "interfere" with here is their idea of the BIOLOGICAL "destiny" of the Valakians.

Furthermore, if Archer and Phlox were so determined to *not* interfere with alien cultures, they should have said "Sorry, won't." and warped-speeded away right after their contact with the Valakian representatives asking for their help. But they didn't.

Instead, Archer and Phlox initially promised the Valakians to try and help them. They went down to the planet. They interacted with the natives. Phlox started medical testing. He started working on a cure.

The whole bogus ethical dilemma started only when
1) Phlox announced that the disease is a species-wide genetical plot device.
2) Phlox encounters the Menk (or rather, a few individuums) and immediately makes three dubious claims:
a) That two sentient species cannot peacefully coexist on the same planet without the more technologically advanced wiping out the other one (despite the fact this hasn't obviously happened there), and
b) That the Menk *as a species* are getting more intelligent (compared to what?) because some trained individuums can function on the level of parrots.
c) That the Valakians are meant to die out so that the Menk can fulfill their preordained destiny.

At which point Archer and Phlox declare the Valakians obsolete and interfere on the side of the Menk.

When the episode was over, I remember viciously hoping the reason we had never seen Denobulans in Kirk's time was that the whole species had died out from incest and arrogance.
Set Bookmark
Christina
Sun, Sep 6, 2009, 7:53am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

"Archer is right. He is not there to interfere. It's not his place to jugde on who lives and who dies."

Sorry, Jack, but that is nonsense. It's a cowardly excuse. By refusing to help despite being ASKED for help, Archer and Phlox have already made a judgement on who will die. They could have easily refered the decision to their higher-ups or to the Vulcan Science Council, but they didn't. They had a cure, but they decided to hold it back for reasons that are wholly religious and based on ridiculous bogus biology. Legally, that is failure to render assistance, despite there being no risk to themselves!

If you are asked for help by a diabetic woman who desperately needs a shot of insulin, and you have insulin but refuse to give it to her because you think God decided for her to die, or that her underage child is more worthy and would upon her death inherit all her money, and she subsequently dies as a result of your decision, I'm pretty sure that would be considered manslaughter or even murder. And causing a whole race and civilisation to die is genocide.

The Prime Directive, which didn't even exist at this point in time yet, only states that Star Fleet is not supposed to interfere in non-warp cultures which, and this is important, are not aware of the existence of other space-faring cultures Out There. This especially refers to things like intra-cultural wars, that is wars the race is waging among themselves between different nations for example, or to things like natural catastrophes.

Once a race is aware that there are "aliens" out there who can help them, however, Star Fleet is allowed to swoop in and save them with their advanced technology, because it is assumed that cultural contact has already been made.

Archer and Phlox were not asked to interfere in a territorial or cultural dispute or war between the Valakians and the Menk. Phlox was asked to give medical assistance and refused for reasons that do not hold up either scientifically nor ethically, and Archer went along with it.

Archer could have told others about the disease and extinction the Valakians face. As far as I remember, he didn't. Some hero.
Set Bookmark
Christina
Thu, Aug 27, 2009, 11:41pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: Star Trek V: The Final Frontier

Because Vulcans force pregnant women to give birth on stone slabs in dark caves.... because that's totally logical. Right. (sarcasm!)
Set Bookmark
Christina
Thu, Aug 27, 2009, 11:39pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: Star Trek V: The Final Frontier

Definitely the worst movie of the franchise to date. A half-star movie.

The Spock-birth scene alone would be a reason to kill this movie dead, talk about a horrible mis-characterizations of Spock's parents.
Set Bookmark
Christina
Mon, Aug 10, 2009, 1:46pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

Addendum to my posting(s) above:

If the script writers really wanted an episode that explored the need for developing the Prime Directive, they could easily have taken the premise (two sentient species sharing the same planet and civilisation, the technologically dominant species is threatened with extinction by a disease) and twisted it in a variety of more interesting ways:

1) Give the quasi-religious conviction voiced by Phlox and Archer to the Valakians. They are faced with extinction and most of them believe this is their Destiny or the will of their God(s) and that their souls will be reborn in the "primitive but strong" Menk species. A minority of "heretics" disagrees and sends pleas for help into Space in the hopes of attracting an advances alien race.

Phlox comes up with a cure, and Archer has to decide if he wants to intervene, if he has the moral authority to intervene, or even the diplomatic ability to convince these people.

2) The Menk and Valakians are equally intelligent, but for some reason the Menk are still stuck in a bronze age or stone age society... either because the Valakians didn't want to intervene in their social development, or because the Valakians have only recently discovered the region of a far-away continent where the Menk live, or because the Menk tribal elders shun all technology as foreign and fear the danger of assimilation. Contact with the Valakians on the other hand has brought advantages to a few less xenophobic Menk tribes, such as trade, medicine, artificial wells, better nutrition and the idea of peaceful coexistence. But the more xenophobic of the Menk see the Valakian's disease as a divine sign that the Valakians are supposed by divine providence to die out and the Menk are supposed to inherit all their nifty techno toys.
Set Bookmark
Christina
Mon, Aug 10, 2009, 12:34pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S1: Two Days and Two Nights

An "entertaining" episode? Three stars??
Frankly, I had to stop myself from falling asleep during this big pile of nothing. Jammer, you're far too lenient on these episodes.

There's a reason a Two Days and Two Nights recap is featured in The Worst of Trek section of the Agony Booth.
http://www.agonybooth.com/recaps/Star_Trek/Enterprise/Two_Days_and_Two_Nights.aspx
Set Bookmark
Christina
Mon, Aug 10, 2009, 12:22pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

[Correction: That sentence should have read: "...nor will the continued existence of the Valakians stop the Menk from getting more intelligent..."
I thought I had caught all the typos, but obviously I didn't.]
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.