Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 564 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 23
Set Bookmark
Tim C
Thu, Oct 22, 2020, 5:02am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: Far From Home

Far more interesting than Part 1, I feel. One of the best parts of Star Trek is watching a group of professionals work a problem, and in that respect this episode was catnip as we watched the crew pull together to successfully land the ship and then get it off the ground again.

More importantly, though, it felt like there were genuine stakes in this episode. Not comic-book save-the-universe stakes, but just the fate of a few bullied locals, which was far easier to engage with as a viewer. I didn't know how our still relatively newly empowered Saru would deal with this sort of situation, but I enjoyed watching him go full Starfleet on it.

I didn't really care about last week's episode, because it was basically just watching Burnham superhero her way to an inevitable victory. At no time did I feel like she was in danger or that the situation was going to get out of hand, and that makes for dull TV.

The wildcard of Georgiou is a welcome addition to the Disco crew, I think. But her character as currently depicted is too quickly able to fight her way out of a problem. If she's going to be kept around, then let's dial her back a bit and give her some actual challenges to overcome.

Nitpick Of The Week: why does *every* Star Trek show with a "oh no, this vital system is WRECKED!" episode conveniently forget the hangar full of shuttlecraft that usually have some kind of identical component? Hand-wave away this solution in the script if you have to, but geeeeeeeez after watching the show for pretty much my entire life, I'm very tired of this particular trope.
Set Bookmark
Tim C
Wed, Oct 21, 2020, 6:38am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

Doing well here, Jammer, although like everyone else the pandemic has derailed a whole bunch of life plans. It'll be nice to have your reviews back. Feels like one more step towards things returning to normal!
Set Bookmark
Tim C
Fri, Oct 16, 2020, 12:40am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

This was alright, but nowhere near as good a premiere as season 2's "Brother". "Brother" effectively set up the central mystery of the season, introduced our new captain *and* was a great little action-adventure story all at once with some really awesome visuals that we hadn't seen the likes of before.

This one, though? Ehhhh.... shootouts in a warehouse? Snooze. I did like the glimpses we saw of advanced technology - portable transporters etc - but the rest was a bit bleh.

I really dug the closing scene though. Do I rationally believe this guy would just keep showing up for forty years to do nothing? Not really - but SMG and the actor playing him totally sold the emotion of the moment, and I was rooting for them both. Go rebuild that Federation, you crazy kids!

I hope that next week's instalment is a bit more exciting, when the entire Disco crew comes back into frame.
Set Bookmark
Tim from Tarsus 4
Tue, Sep 8, 2020, 4:49am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Ultimate Computer

Why couldn't a multitronic type computer be integrated with a starship, with a captain in control? For example, when the composition of the landing party is discussed, Kirk could accept M5's recommendation for Carstairs and add him to the party of Kirk, McCoy, Rawlins and Phillips. The ensign could gain experience in surveying a planet, while providing the party with information about Alpha Carinae II. A (more sophisticated) computer could provide the captain with useful feedback.

There are moments in the series where an automated backup system could be useful. When the entire crew is incapacitated or when some powerful beings are running amok the ship?

There seems to be a false dichitomy here between man and machine.
Set Bookmark
Tim C
Mon, Jul 20, 2020, 5:04am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

OTDP, your schtick is exactly why I wouldn't bother to visit here (or anywhere on the Internet, really) to just comment. You are insistent on taking generalised statements as a personal attack and seem to feel a compulsion to respond in kind. It's just exhausting and not very fun. There is nothing more boring than Internet commenters cherry-picking one-liners out of each other's posts and arguing with each other about who attacked who first and who is misunderstanding what, and I really don't feel like being a part of it.
Set Bookmark
Tim C
Mon, Jul 20, 2020, 2:16am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

wolfstar, perhaps my quick throwaway there was a little uncharitable towards the more thoughtful critical voices here, yours amongst them. Since you've obviously being reading my comments here thoughtfully you can probably tell that I get a bit grumpy with the more aggressively negative voices sometimes. Internet comment spaces just make me despair sometimes; so many seem to react badly when an established franchise like Trek does not tailor its new output exclusively to their own personal tastes. Sci-fi universes in particular seem to really cop it.

As I've banged on about here before, I have a long memory with Trek. I remember how utterly despondent I was about the future of the show when we were slogging through that terribly mediocre second season of Enterprise, right after Voyager had so sadly refused to engage with its own premise for so long. God, I wanted so very badly to see some new approaches.

It's 2020, and my wish has been granted. I do miss many aspects of the Berman era, and the Roddenberry era before that. Disco and Picard so far have disappointed in some ways, but also absolutely delighted me in others. I'm genuinely looking forward to engaging with Lower Decks on its own terms.
Set Bookmark
Tim C
Sun, Jul 19, 2020, 4:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

Dave in MN:

"Also, what's the point in telling us you aren't going to read anyone else's comments or reviews?"

I wasn't really telling the crowd so much as telling Jammer, as he mentions in his post that he'll be leaving a comments section open for Lower Decks. But I come to this site for his excellent, thoughtful reviews, not the lamentations of the forums, so it's kinda pointless for this particular reader.

Which is not to say that I don't enjoy putting my own opinions out there, but I have the feeling that without Jammer's reviews the comments are going to be just like so many other places on the Internet, full of negative nancies determined to hate anything that doesn't look like it was produced by Rick Berman circa 1991.
Set Bookmark
Tim C
Sun, Jul 19, 2020, 7:25am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

Sad to see you won't be on board Jammer, but I get it. There's only so much bandwidth in one's life for watching the firehose of content that streaming companies are blasting at us nowadays, let alone *professionally critiquing* it.

I would push back on this notion that Trek being "more mercenary" nowadays is something new though. Trek has been a tool for corporate exploitation since the 70's; The Motion Picture only got made because Paramount wanted to cash in on those sweet sweet Star Wars dollars, Star Trek 2009 was made to cash in on a recognised name, Voyager was created in part to try and launch a new television network, etc.

Does having more Trek make it less special? I don't think I agree, but I've long been a reader of Trek books so I've always been inundated with the stuff. I just pick and choose which ones I like.

I do think the amount of shows they're planning to spin out is unsustainable though. I think the only reason it's happening is that CBS is desperate to survive the sure-to-be-coming Darwinian winnowing of streaming services, and Trek is what they've got. Either CBSAA won't survive and the hyperactivity will slow down because they have to sell Trek to other services, or it will and they'll build enough alternative shows they won't need to milk Trek so much.

Of course I could be wrong; Trek obviously being in need of a television breather after Voyager did not stop Paramount pushing poor unloved Enterprise out the door anyways.

Either way, I intend to enjoy this "Cambrian explosion" of Trek while it lasts and enjoy seeing what weird shit gets pumped out.

I am greatly amused to see the usual suspects here harping on about how much they hate Lower Decks already without even having seen it. I will not be reading the comments section here when it airs, it's just too damn miserable.
Set Bookmark
Tim
Sat, Jun 20, 2020, 4:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Children of Time

I only come here after the best episodes and was not disappointed to see this as a 4 star. Enthralling episode which yet again cements DS9 as THE star trek series. Moral dilemmas are at the core of a good science fiction story and this was one of them.
Set Bookmark
Tim
Tue, May 26, 2020, 8:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

How about forgetting about new shows? Most people here, from what I gather, haven't even watched fucking Babylon 5. Jammer hasn't. As a sci-fi fan, that's a crime.

Also, the same people decrying the "dark and depressing" stuff of today still praise nuBSG.
Set Bookmark
Tim
Tue, May 26, 2020, 2:19am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Inner Light

I think you're a bit mixed up Jeffery. Shouldn't props go to the set designer?
Set Bookmark
Tim
Sat, May 16, 2020, 4:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Indiscretion

For me this episode epitomizes why DS9 is THE stand out star trek series. Putting characters together and watching their relationship change and develop from previous episodes and their history pre ds9 is a highlight for me. O'Brien and Bashir from the last episode and now Kira and Dukat in this has more character development than 7 series of voyager!
Set Bookmark
Tim C
Fri, May 15, 2020, 7:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Great to hear the news there's going to be a new Pike show. As the fourth (!) new Trek show in four years, I hope they take this one in a more episodic direction. And that's all I have to say about it until we see more!
Set Bookmark
Tim
Fri, May 15, 2020, 5:11am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Chimera

I'm a few years late but Dennis's post from 2017 is spot on from start to finish.

As far as the Klingons are aware, there is only one non-hostile changeling in the entire galaxy (i.e. Odo), and they clearly treat him with respect. They threaten Laas because they believe him to be a Founder, which is not unreasonable. Instead of attempting to defuse the situation, Laas deliberately inflames it and murders one of them. Which is a dick move (but not out of character as he is a total chode), partly because murder isn't cool but mainly because it puts Odo in an awful position.
Set Bookmark
Tim
Thu, May 14, 2020, 2:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Covenant

Watching the latest Dukat nonsense just makes me nostalgic for the real Cardassian characters of the first few seasons (including Dukat himself)
Set Bookmark
Tim
Thu, May 14, 2020, 9:06am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Shadows and Symbols

As someone who is watching the series from start to finish for the first time, I can't believe how much/quickly DS9 has fallen apart at this point, from the moment the wormhole aliens (COS THAT'S WHAT THEY ARE) disappeared the Dominion in season 6.

The cringeworthy Pah'wraith 'good vs. evil' magic possession nonsense has really spoilt the nuanced science / religion dichotomy it took them seasons to build. The Prophets have gone from ethereal aliens to Gozer the Gozerian, while Sisko has become a simpering ideologue. Even Dukat has become a parody of a parody.

Also, I honestly cannot believe they tried to shoehorn Benny Russell into this episode. What next? Perhaps the founders turn out to be tribbles.

And Dr. Bashir joining a suicide mission (and not even as a doctor) so his dead friend can get into Klingon heaven? WT actual F.

How, in any quadrant, is this a 3.5 star episode?
Set Bookmark
Tim
Sun, May 10, 2020, 3:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Rapture

This is a strong episode, although I think its glaring deficiency is that it cheaply sacrifices one of the core thematic struggles of DS9 (Sisko's difficulty in accepting the mantle of Emissary, and his attempts to reconcile objective science with Bajoran religion) in the name of exploring the big themes of Spirituality, Faith and Revelation, both from a personal and socio-political standpoint.

Sisko's grudging indulgence of Bajoran prophecy up until now has been firmly rooted in its clear relation to the 'wormhole aliens', yet he makes no attempt to connect the two, even after he recovers. This new unquestioning 'faith' is totally implausible (and certainly not something to be celebrated), regardless of whatever transcendental experience it came out of.
Set Bookmark
Tim
Sun, May 10, 2020, 10:14am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@ Glom

"'Starship Down', the opening of 'Favor the Bold' (though technically a war crime), 'Paradise Lost'"

Starship Down was a total ripoff of the submarine genre, which to be fair was "Balance of Terror" (based on "The Enemy Below") but BoT did it way better, IMHO.

The only DS9 battle sequences I can recall having emotional weight were the destruction of the USS Odyssey and the entirety of "Way of the Warrior". The latter was the best DS9 ever did I feel, we cared about the characters on both sides, we were invested in them, we knew their motivations and the reasons for their choices......

..... the Dominion never had that much depth. They were just Bad Guys, Space Nazis essentially. The Klingons, Romulans, and Cardassians were presented as believable villains and occasional friends throughout DS9's run.
Set Bookmark
Tim
Sun, May 10, 2020, 10:08am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@ Booming

I'm not going to get sucked into an Internet back and forth of quoting each other's posts line by line and trying to rebut every single point, but you did say one thing that I'd like to address:

"When you watch the landing in Saving Private Ryan are you just completely detached because you don't know anybody in that scene or because you don't know the "bad guys"?"

Saving Private Ryan's landing scene was about PEOPLE. DS9's battles were about CGI. I stand by this point and you're not terribly likely to convince me otherwise.

Have you seen the new Midway movie? I actually liked much of it, way more than I expected I would, because it paid attention to historical details (specifically, the actions of the USS Nautilus and the attacks by the Midway based aircraft) that are usually overlooked in mainstream tellings, plus the viewpoint ship throughout was the Enterprise and I'm always down for a good CV-6 story.......

...... but when it came to the actual battle sequences, ugh, it was the absolute worst possible use of CGI. They made it look like a video game and it pulled me completely out of the moment, every single time, beginning with Pearl Harbor, continuing through the Marshalls–Gilberts raids, then the Doolittle Raid, and finally the big moment at Midway.

The 1970s Midway movie was terrible, it was a love story and family drama haphazardly pasted onto a major historical event, but I'd take the battle sequences from that movie (or the infinitely superior Tora! Tora! Tora! still the gold standard) over the 2019 production.
Set Bookmark
Tim
Thu, May 7, 2020, 3:26am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Past Tense, Part I

These time travel episodes are always heavy-handed and deal in simplistic caricatures, which makes them less interesting, if not less entertaining. Certainly not 4*.

Also, there's basically nothing 'prescient' about the 2024 in this episode - it's far closer to 1994 than it is to 2020.

Income inequality is wider now than it's ever been, which is of course a problem, but it has nothing to do with poverty, the measurement of which is adjusted on a yearly basis (meaning people in 'poverty' in 2020 are much, much better off than people in poverty in 1960). It makes the whole idea of Sanctuaries very unlikely.
Set Bookmark
Tim
Mon, Apr 27, 2020, 4:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@ Booming

"Also comparing the US carrier fleets with an entire fleet of a hundreds of planets spanning federation is also a little shaky."

The point is you can only build a ship so fast irrespective of the size of your industrial base. We obviously do not pour our entire industrial base into the construction of our fleet carriers but even if we were able to do so it would not significantly accelerate their construction time. Only so many workers can fit out a ship at one time, only so many cranes can operate in the drydock at one time, etc.

@ Booming

"The war was a setting to tell stories in"

The point that you're missing is I do not regard a CGI battle as a story. Go watch the scene in South Park's Imaginationland trilogy where Michael Bay is pitching "ideas" that are really just special effects. That's how I regard nearly all of the DS9 fleet engagements, with the honorable exception of Way of the Warrior, where I actually gave a shit about the characters ON BOTH SIDES; they weren't just ships manned by generic bad guys (the Klingons) or nameless redshirts (the Federation), they were all characters we were invested in who had believable motivations for their actions.

@ Dom

"Sure, maybe the special effects crew could have settled for 30 ships instead of 50, but that seems like nitpicking."

You did see Jammer's statement in his review, right?

"I don't like the visual arrangement of the fleets during the big standoff. The way the ships warp in and stop on a dime, and the way the ships are crammed comically close to each other, makes this feel like an over-the-top CGI cartoon. There's no weight or dimension to starships anymore. They have unfortunately become video game avatars that look like they were cloned with copy and paste."

Or the comment of @Disappointed that I replied to:

"What's with the need to have massive fleets of spaceships in Startrek now? It's like they are trying to turn it into Star Wars. The original premise of Star Trek was that space was massive and the spaceships, like a battleship or submarine, were on their own in the expanse dealing with problems they found there. So Star Fleet can now magic up 300 battleships for a situation as minor as saving the lives of 30 androids, something the Federation aparently cared nothing about for the last 10 years."

You can dismiss it as nitpicking if you want but I still feel like all of the awe and wonder is gone from starships in the Star Trek Universe and it was DS9 -- not NuTrek -- that started the trend of cut and paste starships.

The Orville still manages this sense of awe and wonder with a fraction of the production budget of NuTrek, IMHO, ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Set Bookmark
Tim
Mon, Apr 27, 2020, 4:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@ Tommy D.

"Though, I also think larger fleets made more sense in DS9, so I agree with @Dom there."

I still don't buy it. 40 starships at Wolf 359 when faced with an existential "Twilight of the Human Race" level threat. No real reason to limit to 40 ships, we never saw them, they could have made it 4,000 ships if they had wanted to, but 40 was the number the writers went with and was consistent with Trek lore to that date.

A few years of fictional time later and we're pulling 600+ ship fleets out of our ass and taking body blows (98 ships in just one battle) that make Wolf 359 look like a skirmish instead of the near extinction of humanity.

People on the interwebs rationalize this in all manner of ways, "Starfleet recalled all the ships sent out for exploration after First Contact with the Dominion", "The Federation ramped up like the USA in WW2" (side note: The Two Ocean-Navy Act was passed in 1940, BEFORE the US entered the war; the ships that would beat Japan were all ordered and many were laid down BEFORE Pearl Harbor), etc., but these are all rationalizations, and a good story shouldn't require off-screen rationalization.

Just admit it, the SFX folks went waaaaaay overboard.

What's interesting is you CAN make a large scale battle work in Star Trek; I find "The Way of the Warrior" to be the best DS9 had the offer and the Big Battle at the end of that episode was well done from both a storytelling and an SFX standpoint, infinitely more compelling to me than any of the fleet engagements in the Dominion War arc.

That was a character story first and foremost; we were all emotionally invested in the Klingons and their relationship with the Federation, we all cared about would happen to the Cardassians, what the geopolitical fallout for Bajor would be, how The Dominion played into this intrigue, etc.

The Dominion were just generic bad guys, scary af when first introduced but watered down to nothing by the time the war rolled around. The same Jem Hadar fighters that took down the Odyssey with ease could later be killed by a handful of photon torpedoes (if only Keogh had thought to use his!) or a single volley from a scout ship class Klingon bird-of-prey.

Yawn.
Set Bookmark
Tim
Mon, Apr 27, 2020, 3:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@ Dom

I couldn't disagree more. It's a fallacy that you needed huge ass fleets to portray "the war to end all wars", for one, it's false "raised stakes", nobody believed the Federation was going to lose, this isn't Battlestar Galactica, it's Star Trek, even dark af NuTrek wouldn't be bold enough to "go there" and have the Federation lose the war.

For two, the best episodes of the war arc were the CHARACTER episodes -- "Rocks and Shoals" and "In the Pale Moonlight" were my two favorites -- not the space combat porn CGI-wank fest episodes.

I'm sorry, but it takes the wonder and awe away when these huge starships are reduced to assembly line constructs, both within the context of the fictional universe and the SFX that we see on screen. I remember reading the TNG Tech Manual as a kid, which was based on the series bible of TNG; it took nearly a decade to build the Enterprise-D, with two more years of shakedown time, and 7+ years proceeding construction for design and R&D, all backstory that was informed by REAL WORLD experience with capital ship design and construction.

It will take at least eight years for the new Enterprise (CVN-80) to be ready for launch from the first fabrication of components (2017) until estimated launch date (2025), with two more years for fitting out before she's ready to be commissioned into the USN (2027), then add an indeterminate amount of shakedown time and training for the plank owner crew before she's ready for her first actual deployment.

Could that timeline be accelerated in time of war? Perhaps. But not as much as you might expect. The Essex Class Fleet Carriers of WW2 fame took a minimum of 18 months from keel laying to launching, another 6 to 12 months before they were fully fitted out and ready for commissioning, then another 6 months for shakedown and training of the plank owner crew before they were ready for action. Keep in mind the Essexes were not nearly as complicated as a modern day fleet carrier or (obviously) a FTL capable starship. We'd never be able to get a Gerald R. Ford into the water and ready for action in three years even if we threw the full resources of the nation behind their construction.
Set Bookmark
Tim
Mon, Apr 27, 2020, 2:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@ Chrome

"Though I agree the ease of CGI is part of the reason they'd make more fleets than before in modern Trek, it's still extremely expensive to make it look good."

My point is that it DOESN'T look good and it's NOT effective storytelling. It's just space combat porn for the teenage fanboys.

The destruction of the USS Odyssey was shot with models; watch how she moves during that episode and try to remember the gut-punch you felt when it first aired and you watched a GCS get owned in short order by these new bad guys. Keogh was deliberately cast/acted to remind us of Picard and the Odyssey was very deliberately made a GCS.

Now skip ahead to the fleet engagements of the war arc. We don't know any of the crew of these ships, they're literally manned by nameless redshirts, so there's no real emotional impact to what we're watching. There are so damn many of them on the screen we can't tell them apart, two thousand foot long starships move about like F-16s, they fight at point-blank range, and there are more explosions on the screen than we'd see in a Michael Bay production.
Set Bookmark
Tim
Mon, Apr 27, 2020, 1:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@ Disappointed

"What's with the need to have massive fleets of spaceships in Startrek now? It's like they are trying to turn it into Star Wars. The original premise of Star Trek was that space was massive and the spaceships, like a battleship or submarine, were on their own in the expanse dealing with problems they found there. So Star Fleet can now magic up 300 battleships for a situation as minor as saving the lives of 30 androids, something the Federation aparently cared nothing about for the last 10 years."

I've been saying this for YEARS, ever since Deep Space Nine and the massive fleets of completely disposable CGI starships.

The Enterprise -- in both TOS and TNG -- wasn't exactly one of a kind, but she was a capital ship, exceedingly rare, the rough equivalent of an American supercarrier (we only have eleven of these, FYI, with roughly 1/3 deployed, 1/3 working up for deployment, and 1/3 in extended overhaul at any given time) but in DS9 they were apparently churning out Galaxy Class Starships like sausages.

People rationalize it as "gearing the economy for war" or some such but what it really was is the SFX folks had a new toy (CGI) and they went WAY overboard with it. The wonder is gone when you see hundreds of these things on the screen, there's just nothing special about them anymore, and I'd take a million off-screen Wolf 359s over any one of DS9's on-screen fleet engagements for emotional impact and effective storytelling.

I'd hoped when Admiral Clancy said she was putting together a squadron that we'd get exactly that, a squadron, a half dozen to a dozen starships, which would have at least made a little bit of sense to see Riker in command of, but a retired/reserve Captain in command of a fleet of hundreds of ships with tens of thousands of personnel? Did nobody in the writer's room ever serve in the military? Or study history? Or apply common sense?

On the same topic, why did the Romulans need hundreds of warbirds to sterlize one planet when it was always said that the Enterprise herself had enough firepower to do just that? In TNG at least a warbird was roughly equivalent to the Enterprise and presumably had the same level of firepower. Did the writers forget that the Romulans sent a fleet of just 20 ships to attempt the same thing against the Founders' homeward and that said fleet destroyed 40% of that planet with a single volley?

Ugh!
Next ►Page 1 of 23
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.