Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 426 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 18
Set Bookmark
Tim C
Sat, Jan 25, 2020, 7:19am (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

Good to have you back on deck in full flight, Jammer!
Set Bookmark
Tim C
Fri, Jan 24, 2020, 5:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

Filip, you say "poor editing", I say "streamlining stuff that the audience doesn't need to see". I'm right with you on the pitfalls of the writers just leaving it to us to fill in gaps in storytelling logic (I probably have a good rant or two on that subject floating around on this site, in fact), especially in a serialised narrative. I just don't think it was a major one that breaks the story being told or the world it's set in.
Set Bookmark
Tim C
Fri, Jan 24, 2020, 3:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

Of all the nit picks that could be made, hearing people seize on the "positronic cloning" as proof this show is ridiculous trash is the funniest. It's Star Trek, the same series that gave us people evolving into salamanders, de-evolving into spiders, interbreeding aliens, de-aging transporters, etc, etc. If you can't get over a bit of throwaway technobabble that could well be explained further along than episode one anyway, methinks you probably have a deeper issue.

As for Picard waking up at home vs a hospital or police station, I think we can reasonably infer he was treated and returned home, and that things were covered up. YMMV, but does anyone think it really would have enhanced the episode to give us a five minute scene of Picard having magic medical wands waved over him to heal his burns, or frustratedly trying to convince sceptical cops there were Romulan assassins on the roof of a Starfleet facility? It'd just be filler that's just as easily covered by a single line of dialogue, which it was.

The real meat of all that was his realisation that he needs to dust himself off and live again, which is the scene we got. And an effective one, at that.

You wanna talk about universe-breaking nitpicks, I would love to chat with you in another thread about Disco's magical teleporting shuttlecraft...
Set Bookmark
Tim C
Thu, Jan 23, 2020, 7:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

SPOILERS

Well, wasn't that just wonderful?

Not perfect, mind you. From a production standpoint, there's a slickness to this that definitely marks it as a sister show to Discovery, which at first didn't feel like it was the right fit. But from the moment Picard's TV interview started getting ugly, and we saw that old moral certainty (with outrage at injustice) poke through the calm exterior, I was sold. Picard's back, baby!

What I think I most appreciated about this first episode was that the writers have clearly molded this twenty-years-older version of the character on the guy that we knew from TNG, rather than the weird action hero we started getting in the movies. The scholar, the thinker, the speechmaker. A welcome evolution for the character is his clear relaxing on personal displays of emotion, which feels quite fitting for a now-retired man who for years felt he had to maintain a professional distance.

Aside from Sir Pat's expectedly winning performance, I also liked all these new characters we're meeting. Seeing Romulans so clearly devoted to Picard is a very fun bit of world building and a great way of showing just how much the Alpha Quadrant dynamic has changed in the last twenty years. The actress playing Daj *nailed* the fear and confusion someone in her situation would be feeling, and with a short amount of screen time had me completely invested in her story. The two plot twists regarding her - that she's Data's "daughter" and her shock death - both managed to take me by surprise and left me genuinely excited to see what happens next.

Also: B4's eventual fate was to end up disassembled in a drawer. Thank god!

Bring on episode two!!!

3.5 stars.
Set Bookmark
Tim-1
Thu, Jan 9, 2020, 4:04pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

This was an absolute terrific finale!

To get this off my chest I don't understand some of the tomatoes thrown at this remarkable climax of an entertaining show. I know you can't argue taste and I get that. But complaints of who Seven ending up with (Chatokay) doesn't compute when real life has that stuff happen all the time....you can't cement in relationships.

The fact that Harry did a similar altering time thing I wondered about myself. however his situation had so many different variables it would take too long for me to lecture them here. It wasn't a big deal.

This finale had a lot going for it in action, suspense, romance, sadness, joy, and best of all a happy ending. Who could ask for more?

If talking to yourself is a sign of madness, then is writing on a 12 year old post similar....No matter, I enjoyed writing my humble lonely posts throughout this series and now I feel a little sad....like losing a good friend. At least I know our Voyager got home. Without further ado I thank all you ghosts out there for the fun of reading your posts.

Tim-1....signing out.
Set Bookmark
Tim-1
Sun, Jan 5, 2020, 5:17pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Friendship One

After all the admiration of following this series, praising it, defending it and loving it.....here we are near the finish line and two horrible episodes are striking me!

A couple episodes ago they really messed with our beloved Seven....now this hard to accept death of a very likable Carey!.... and what a needless, pointless death it was! If I was Janeway I'd be really pissed off a lot more than she showed!

This was an episode that was hard to accept. It leaves a bad taste in your mouth.

Hopefully, the final few episodes will get back to the Voyager it should be.
Set Bookmark
Tim-1
Mon, Dec 30, 2019, 2:46pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Human Error

Pointless, ill-thought-out, almost sadistic episode.

Why did they have to mess with Seven like that! if you are going to have her do all that then you must give her a happy ending! This episode was a mess!

It was worse than that episode when Janeway woke up in that 1960's car!!

Seven in no way deserved this wanna be Peyton Place!!

Oh have mercy! have mercy! I'm going back to watch Seven sing "You are my

Sunshine" in Someone to watch over" me again"......
Set Bookmark
Tim-1
Tue, Dec 24, 2019, 6:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Prophecy

If anything, that line near the end by the doctor on his vanity of taking the

(actually deserved) credit: "Well I was the one that devised the treatment" and Janeway cut him off with DOCTOR!......

Was the funniest line of the series in the context of the moment and circumstances!!!

I am still laughing at that!!!

Overall a nice interesting episode that really hit the mark on giving some of

the Klingons more empathy and ability to see the big picture for the betterment

of the whole. I always liked Klingon episodes especially when they feature

inner conflicts other than just warrier mentality...though I admire that as their

front emotion. Excellent episode!!
Set Bookmark
Tim-1
Sun, Dec 22, 2019, 4:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Repentance

The good: Seven at her usual best acting talents.

The bad: The ending was a bummer.
Set Bookmark
Tim
Tue, Dec 10, 2019, 6:33pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Prophecy

Watching Voyager back to back for past couple months and whilst this episode is not perfect it is much better than the dross served up in some of the first 2/3 seasons.
Set Bookmark
Tim-1
Wed, Dec 4, 2019, 7:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Body and Soul

Loved it. loved it. loved it!

This may be among the best episodes all-time of all shows.

The look the Doctor gave Seven in the final seconds....priceless!
Set Bookmark
Tim-1
Tue, Dec 3, 2019, 4:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Inside Man

I am with some who felt the ending was somewhat unsatisfying.
For example, I like my characters in a story to have any hoax, deceptions, or naughty things done to them explained and cleared up at the end.
Nor do I like loose ends not covered in some way. I suppose we can always use the rule of assumptions to cover such things but if there are too many holes...the story gets too piecemmeally (is that a word?). Gotta check on that.

Not too bad. it had some good moments. Seven is so gorgeous!
Set Bookmark
Tim
Thu, Nov 28, 2019, 4:15pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Child's Play

I remember a certain someone saying

"The needs of the many outway the needs of the few, or in this case, the one"

However in that case it was his decision, in this case it was not. Inconsistencies with the borg not withstanding, any civilisation facing potential annihilation will use ANY means necessary to prolong that civilisation.
Set Bookmark
Tim-1
Thu, Nov 21, 2019, 9:52am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Repression

I for one, enjoy reading the comments of these long-ago posters almost as much as watching the show. I am impressed at the debating and analytical abilities of these people!

Not to belabor some of my own past points (about giving a littIe slack to the writers), I thought this episode was at least interesting. I too, criticize ST at times but it really has to be off the wall for me to severely pan an episode.....or maybe I am getting soft in my old age.

Here's a beef for this episode....not enough Seven!
Set Bookmark
Tim-1
Thu, Nov 21, 2019, 9:26am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Unimatrix Zero, Part II

@ Momofsix

Well said on your main point. Especially when you measure these episodes against a lot of the material out today.
Set Bookmark
Tim-1
Sat, Nov 16, 2019, 9:55am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Drive

Oops my name should be Tim-1 (above)....got to pay attention to my editing.

While I am here I have to admit that I had thought Paris and B'leanna were already married. I have never been a big fan of B'elanna, but her acting and the situation of her character softened me to her a bit in this episode.
Set Bookmark
Tim-1
Mon, Nov 4, 2019, 11:44am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Imperfection

From my perspective, I will put it as succinctly as I can. whenever I get tears in my eyes from a program it is definitely a home run episode!!!!!!!!!!
Set Bookmark
Tim-1
Sat, Nov 2, 2019, 6:46pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: The Haunting of Deck Twelve

My problem with this episode....or rather my puzzlement, is how can those children (Borg children no less) that have been assimilated into the BORG....one of the most terrifying bad guys in the universe, and now living aboard the danger-of-getting-in-danger-a-minute Voyager....be afraid of the dark?

Seven is near Grace Park level beauty.
Set Bookmark
Tim-1
Mon, Oct 7, 2019, 10:25am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Alice

I can only say that if I were in Tom Paris' place and the female pilot manifested itself as Grace Park I would have done anything, went anywhere, she asked!

Miss Battlestar Galactica........All those Number eights!
Set Bookmark
Tim-1
Sat, Oct 5, 2019, 8:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Muse

To be or not to be!

@Ken Egervari (very belatedly)

If I may address one of your concerns of why Voyager goes-a-exploring along the way, I have a real life example about the famous BOUNTY vessel, in which Fletcher Christian led a mutiny and Put Captain Bligh and twenty of his crew adrift in a 21 foot launch in the Pacific ocean. Too long to relate the entire story here of course, but Bligh managed to sail in that little open boat over 3600 miles to safety with the loss of just ONE man! The point here is that in spite of the sheer terror of their predicament, Bligh still drew maps, charted islands, studied and recorded new plant and animal species, measured coastlines, etc.
You see....he was a commander but also a professional...a scientist. This type of professionalism was and is today expected conduct of the true professional. Contrast that with Captain Edwards....the man charged with bringing in the mutineers.... Edwards just sailed to and from the island of Tahiti (near where the Mutiny took place) without so much as a look out his cabin window....and lost his ship to boot!

This episode is interesting, but for my personal reflections it was marred by having one of my least favorite characters in Torres.

In a way, after reading through the past comments I wonder if even some of the most serious detractors of this show might have all written more favorable reviews if they had known what was in store for the future of this great show. After Voyager and then Enterprise, there was the drought and then this travesty of an imitation called ST Discovery (my apologies to those that may like this show). For me, I have the rest of the series (VOYAGER) to view for the wonderfully first time!! So even if there is a less than great episode I will probably rate it as a work of a modern Shakespeare!
Set Bookmark
Tim-1
Sat, Sep 28, 2019, 9:12pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Live Fast and Prosper

I'm with Chris P (although years belatedly lol) in that Voyager got their butt kicked in an episode that built it's plot with the premise that Voyager had the superior ship.

Then again, I would say that no other version of Star Trek....had their ship's butt handed to them more often than Voyager did.
Set Bookmark
Tim-1
Sun, Sep 15, 2019, 8:14am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Spirit Folk

@ Booming

That was hilarious!!

Yet I try to remember that as a whole, The Star Trek franchise, at it's worst is better than many programs on TV nowadays. Thank you for your post!
Set Bookmark
Tim-1
Sun, Sep 15, 2019, 8:08am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Spirit Folk

@OmicronThetaDeltaPhi

Thank you for the advice. It sounds interesting and I will look forward to exploring this hopeful option!!
Set Bookmark
TIM -1
Fri, Sep 13, 2019, 8:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Spirit Folk

Ever since Far point I believed that the holo-deck technology was too advanced even in the warp-drive age. It seems too imbalanced (especially looking backward to all the impossible scenarios that occurred). In this regard it seemed closer to a fantasy element than a science fiction one. Many good stories were written with it but a lot of times you had to stretch your patience and credibility and look the other way. A lot of times in Star Trek the ship (in any series) would run into the vastly superior, smarter, or more evolved race. Buy hey!....we got this holo-deck stuff that can bring people to self awareness and we can make weapons out of thin air....just for starters! Now that is superior!
I like all the Star Treks, but I have a fonder appreciation for TOS and ENTERPRISE maybe because they had to deal with the dangers more by the seat of their pants in many ways. But I do love Voyager.
Sadly, I am midway through S-6 and getting closer to the end of the last virgin- viewing episodes of Star Trek as I have known it. I think I will start stretching them out...like a child making the candy last. Alas! I would apologize for the rambling post but then....I smile to myself and realize at this late date no one should mind.
Set Bookmark
Tim-1
Tue, Sep 10, 2019, 8:13pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Tsunkatse

Tough crowd here.
Next ►Page 1 of 18
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.