Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 10 (Showing 1-10)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Tim M.
Fri, Apr 3, 2020, 8:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Agree 100% with Jammer's review.

This season had its flaws, but gets an overall thumbs-up from me.

I'll definitely be tuning in for Season 2.
Set Bookmark
Tim M.
Tue, Mar 31, 2020, 4:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Booming
I always felt the Dutch also have a charming--and at times hilarious--directness as well.
Set Bookmark
Tim M.
Tue, Mar 31, 2020, 11:41am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

I've started to think that, in general, the proliferation of reviews and opinions on virtually everything has sucked the joy out of TV and movie-watching. People need space to form their own opinions--after all, whether *you* like a show or movie is the most important thing, IMHO--without being smothered by everyone else's comments.

@Boomer
I've stopped putting high value on audience reviews on RottenTomatoes since the incident of losers trolling Captain Marvel before it was even released. People with an axe to grind like to weaponize online comments and it's a sad commentary on the state of our society, IMHO.
Set Bookmark
Tim M.
Sun, Mar 29, 2020, 3:52am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Finally saw the finale, and I liked it. I had serious misgivings about the concept of being given a synth/Replicant/LMD Picard, but I thought it was handled well, and to take a phrase with Jammer, "they stuck the landing." In the end, it's not any more contrived than Spock's katra being transferred into the new body that appears on the Genesis planet (Was how that happened every *really* explained? Nah.). I agree that there were some plot loose-ends and the writers seemed to cram a lot of exposition into these last two episodes and could have benefited from pacing the whole season arc a bit better (ENT did this well with the Xindi arc for S3). The closure for Data was beautifully done.

Some other thoughts.
-Captain Riker showing up to kick ass and chew bubble gum? Hell yes.
-The Rios/Jurati and Seven/Raffi(?) romances are all kinda blah, up there with Troi/Worf (ugh) and Seven/Chakotay (double ugh).
-Really wanted a scene at Starfleet Command with Picard bitch-slapping Admiral Clancy before she's demoted to captain of a garbage scow.
-Narek really annoyed me and I hope we never see him again. Narizzo's death was needed, though a part of me will miss the evil dominatrix vibe she brought (don't judge me).
Set Bookmark
Tim M.
Sun, Mar 22, 2020, 11:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

I enjoyed this episode, albeit not as much as the prior three. It's hard to judge it since it was mostly setup for the payoff next week. Soong Jr (if that is who he really is) was interesting, but didn't really resonate with me.

If they mind-transfer Picard into Soong's synth body, that will be super lame, but I don't think they'll be that stupid. Perhaps Soong is dying, or it will be tied to Jurati sacrificing her organic self--I'm not sure.

I also assume there will be a properly Trekkian ending where the annihilation is averted and the seemingly monomaniacal thinking of the ancient synths will be proven false, with Picard and company finding another solution to this Kobayashi Maru scenario.
Set Bookmark
Tim M.
Thu, Mar 12, 2020, 11:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

@Dave in MN

We know the alien cataclysm happened 200,000 years ago, but not when the Romulans learned about it. They might have happened upon the planet 2000 years ago and incorporated what they learned into their mythology well after the Vulcans had decided on a pathway towards logic.

As for Clancy, she finally got her comeuppance. Yes, she dropped the F-bomb again, but basically admitted that Picard was right all along. I loved him calling her a waste of space.
Set Bookmark
Tim M.
Thu, Mar 12, 2020, 11:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

@The Dirty Mac

Yes! Thanks for nailing that for me. Would've driven me nuts trying to place it. ;)

As for the episode, I wonder if we'll get any hint about the reunification efforts Spock was involving himself with in TNG's "Reunification." They already name-dropped Spock when listing Picard's accomplishments, so I wouldn't be surprised if there's a subtle tie-in somewhere.
Set Bookmark
Tim M.
Thu, Mar 12, 2020, 10:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

A question. The musical cue when the Romulan ships all warp away from the Borg cube...we've heard it once before in PIC, but where have I heard it before? Did VOY use it as a Borg musical cue? I know I've heard it before but can't quite place it.
Set Bookmark
Tim M.
Thu, Mar 12, 2020, 10:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

I *really* liked this episode. Fantastic character moments: Picard/Soji, Raffi/Rios, Picard/Rios...and the Picard moments finally felt fully like TNG Picard, particularly in his interaction with Rios. Narissa gets some dimension (finally), and although we only get a bit of Seven, her scenes on the Borg cube are great. And my suspicion that Oh was half-Vulcan and half-Romulan is confirmed! As Spock said in the deleted scene from Wrath of Khan, the admixture is quite unpredictable.
Set Bookmark
Tim M.
Sat, Mar 7, 2020, 11:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

Great episode. The character moments with RIker (who looks like the offspring of Orson Welles and William Shatner), Troi, and their daughter were top-notch. The mind-meld between Oh and Agnes was an effective way of explaining Agnes' behavior in the last couple of episodes. So, we must assume that Oh is at least part Vulcan.

I'll be really bummed if Hugh stays dead. That's different than being pissed because his death is meaningless.

Can't wait to see more Seven next week.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.