Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 210 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 9
Set Bookmark
Tidd
Wed, Aug 4, 2021, 2:36am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Yesterday's Enterprise

4 stars, or more if I could.

No real comments to add to what is arguably the best episode ever… except to say to some of the nitpicking above, “Hey, it’s a TV show! You have to have the regular cast even if their presence is questionable in an alternate timeline.”

Great Trek, great sci-fi.
Set Bookmark
Tidd
Tue, Aug 3, 2021, 3:28am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: A Matter of Perspective

Angela Lansbury: “When they first pitched this story, I said that I wasn’t prepared to be in it. I told them several times that Murder, She Wrote is NOT a sci-fi show. Eventually they listened and told me they would offer it to Star Trek instead (though they didn’t believe it would be taken up). The show itself? I can’t comment I’m afraid.”

The opening sequence of the art class was by far the best thing in it.

2 stars.
Set Bookmark
Tidd
Mon, Aug 2, 2021, 12:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Hunted

@Luke

England. So Brexit is relevant to me, and affects me.
Set Bookmark
Tidd
Mon, Aug 2, 2021, 12:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Deja Q

@Booming @Peter G

Yet they also have a tractor beam - why stretch our credibility with the transporter?
Set Bookmark
Tidd
Mon, Aug 2, 2021, 2:04am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Deja Q

Apart from the lame ending, this episode is great fun, and has some of the funniest lines in all of TNG.

Q: “Oh very funny Worf. Eat any good books lately?”

Q: (to Worf) “I can’t disappear! Any more than you could win a beauty contest.”

Q: “…like the boy who cried Worf “

Q: (to Data) “It’s an irony that you make a better human than I do.”

John de Lancie is his normal self - I.e. he delivers his lines with perfect timing. I’m not a huge fan of Q episodes, but this and Q Who? are two of the best, albeit for entirely different reasons.

(The transporter can beam a whole shuttle craft? Uh….?)

3.5 stars seems fair.
Set Bookmark
Tidd
Mon, Aug 2, 2021, 1:50am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Hunted

@Luke

If you wish to talk about Brexit (I don’t, particularly) then - oh, it matters.
Set Bookmark
Tidd
Sun, Aug 1, 2021, 10:42am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The High Ground

@DLPB

" The fact is, Palestine bombs Israel because the Koran and Hadith teach that Jews are "not to be taken as friends" among other evil verses. "

I've rarely seen such ill-educated nonsense. Just to give one outright refutation (there are many):
In Mummahad's social contract, aka the Constitution of Medina, he says in Paragraph 37 'To the Jews their own expenses and to the Muslims theirs. They shall help one another in the event of any attack on the people covered by this document. There shall be sincere friendship, exchange of good counsel, fair conduct and no treachery between them.'

As for modern times, go back to the late 1940s and the rushed settlement of Palestine and the establishment of the state of Israel under the influence of Zionists. The UK was a bad actor in all this, not for creating the Israeli state (which was inevitable), but for the permanent displacement of Palestinian Arabs who - like native Israelis - are racially Semites.

This is not a forum for extensive posts about Islam versus Judaism, but please try and read up about the history and context before making hasty and inaccurate political posts.
Set Bookmark
Tidd
Sun, Aug 1, 2021, 10:20am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The High Ground

This would have been a fairly routine and not particularly engaging action adventure, but for two other factors:
1. the deep political context
2. the first episode that truly involves Beverly Crusher in a lead role

There's no need to discuss 2. any further except to say "It's about time!"

As for the politics, the first question is, what prompted this in-depth look at terrorism / revolution from both sides - El Salvador? Nicaragua? Oklahoma? Further afield, e.g. Northern Ireland? It has the feel of a reflection or comment on the issues of the day when it was made. Certainly the treatment is more subtle than simply taking the side of the ruling authorities; Picard and most of the ship's crew do, but Crusher - after exposure to Finn's persuasive if domineering arguments - does not. She sees the folly involved on both sides and tries to put the medical position at the forefront at all times. Her ability to see Finn's position is made easier by his being an artist - it's quite clear we are not meant to condemn outright a 'terrorist' (revolutionary?) who can draw the good doctor with such talent and feeling.

I guess the planet was settled from Earth? The inhabitants are clearly familiar with the Federation and Earth history, and the origin of the continental strife goes back "generations" we are told. That could place it in the 22nd Century and the colonisation to the late 21st Century, i.e. within believeable bounds.

I don't remember seeing this episode before. It's possible it was aired in the UK in the late 80s, but I reckon it may have been omitted from re-runs?

There's some technobabble in there, but for its intelligent and subtle examination of war, revolution, violence, I'm happy to give it 3 stars, but only just.
Set Bookmark
Tidd
Sun, Aug 1, 2021, 5:07am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Hunted

@Luke

What nationality are you? What country do you live in?
Set Bookmark
Tidd
Sat, Jul 31, 2021, 7:12am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Vengeance Factor

@Trish

I agree, but it's even more directly personal for me than Peter G's hypothetical example: my reaction when I watched the episode was "If some guy hit on me like that, I would be repelled and I would turn away". Of course, that's just a first reaction and it's open to change (or not!) once I got to know the guy better.

In Riker's case, he was quick to adjust his own personal desires once he'd got a grasp on the background to the situation, and the ethics involved. So he gets a thumbs down from me followed by a thumbs up. I think - in terms of the story's flow, and the tensions within the plot - it could have been equally served by Riker having an obvious initial attraction to Yuta without hitting on her quite so blatantly.
Set Bookmark
Tidd
Sat, Jul 31, 2021, 2:25am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Hunted

“There was a referendum…”
“It was the will of the people…”

With the Brexit tragedy still fresh in my mind, I didn’t know whether to laugh or cry at that point.

However, the episode itself was a mix of the great and the routine. The latter involved the chase scenes around the Enterprise with Worf and a strangely inadequate security team (considering what had gone before) charging around the ship, with Data monitoring from the Bridge. Those scenes were a yawn-fest frankly.

But the first half of the episode was superb, especially the scenes involving Troi and Deinar (great use of Troi at last - she really shines in this), and between Data and Deinar. The dawning realisation of what had been done to Deinar, and the deep ethical questions that raised, were not only good sci-fi, but asked questions relevant to our own culture: how far should the ‘military mind’ go? what care should be given to retired soldiers? I’m not sure why Jammer thought these to be ‘obvious’ questions.

The ending was also good - Picard leading an away team who knew that passive resistance was the only effective answer to the soldiers’ programming. And leaving the two Angosian sides to resolve their differences without knowing how it would end.

The episode raises the usual problem of ‘alien humans’: the Angosians are a centuries-old society, therefore they cannot be settlers from Earth… yet they are fully human without even the pretence of an alien prosthetic. Really? We are supposed to believe in an exact parallel evolution? This is a problem I have whenever Trek trots out human beings that are ‘alien’ societies. However, it’s a general complaint that I have, not confined just to this episode.

I’d have been tempted to give 2.5 stars but the scenes where Deinar is in the holding cell are so good, I’ll bump it up to 3 stars.
Set Bookmark
Tidd
Fri, Jul 30, 2021, 2:04am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Defector

Love this episode! There’s a wonderful James Bond overlap towards the end:

PICARD: Really, Tomalak - do you expect me to accede to those conditions?
TOMALAK (in a sinister way): No, Captain Picard, I expect you to…
GOLDFINGER: No, Mr Bond, I expect you to DIE!

What more can I say? I’ve seen the episode at least three times and it’s so well made that I still get taken in by all the twists and turns.

4 stars for sure.
Set Bookmark
Tidd
Fri, Jul 30, 2021, 1:54am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Vengeance Factor

@Tomalak

Curse the inability to edit posts - I meant SUBJECTIVE!
Set Bookmark
Tidd
Fri, Jul 30, 2021, 1:52am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Vengeance Factor

@Tomalak

It was a purely objective reaction on my part - I saw the look on Riker’s face which to me was “obnoxious and leering”, but I accept not everyone will have seen it the same way.

@Trish

I never said “creepy”! Otherwise I agree with you - I think Riker took a big step back when he realised 1. that she had been “delivered to him on a plate” and 2. that she appeared to have no independent freedom of choice.
Set Bookmark
Tidd
Thu, Jul 29, 2021, 2:52am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Vengeance Factor

*Chorgan, not Horgarth

@Crobert
“the moment she said she was told to come ride Big Sexy Riker's prime directive.“
ROTFLMAO 😂
Set Bookmark
Tidd
Thu, Jul 29, 2021, 2:26am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Vengeance Factor

This could have been a reasonable episode - blood feuds, revenge, secret assassin, mediation - but there are just too many negatives:

1. Riker’s obnoxious, leering behaviour towards Yuta (“Was I that obvious?” YES!!!) that seems to transform into genuine affection so that his killing of her becomes his personal tragedy at the end

2. Brull… poor acting, unconvincing braggadocio, switching in a moment from Hell’s Angel to almost pathetic desire to please

3. Why did Riker have to kill Yuta anyway - repeated phaser stun settings would have done the trick, rather than having to set it to kill?

But for these, it could have worked. Wesley and Beverly especially shone in comparison to what they had to work with, instead of me hating them! The story was strong enough but I never felt that I was fully engaged with the characters, or cared enough about what happened to them. The scene aboard Horgarth’s ship at the climax of the episode, with Picard attempting to chair the mediation, was good, but by then it was too late to rescue things.

Definitely a meh episode, and I agree with the 2 star rating.
Set Bookmark
Tidd
Wed, Jul 28, 2021, 2:55am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Price

@Eskimo

“Does anyone even read this far down??)“

No
Set Bookmark
Tidd
Wed, Jul 28, 2021, 2:35am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Price

I rate this 2.5 stars though for different reasons than Jammer: I think it’s such a shame that the first fully Troi-centred episode should have put her in such a boring scenario. The romantic scenes between her and Devanani were rushed and unconvincing, except for the dinner table scene where they have a grown-up discussion about ethics.

Unlike Jammer, I thought the Ferengi brought an element of comedic hostility to what was turning into a non-sci-fi drama about negotiations and bluff. The look on their faces as the wormhole disappeared was priceless! and is my enduring memory of the episode. Yes, they are annoying as hell but that’s their role in Star Trek - they are the aliens that no-one likes, but without ever being more than a peripheral threat.

The best parts of this episode involve Riker - or I should say, Riker and poker. When Ral first mentions the game, and Riker pretends he doesn’t know what it is, but does so in a transparent ‘see through’ way that says to Ral “be careful - you’ll never be sure if I’m bluffing”, it sets a background tone for the otherwise boring negotiation scenes that keep you watching.

Without the boring and unnecessary romantic stuff with Troi, this could have been worth 3 stars, just about.
Set Bookmark
Tidd
Tue, Jul 27, 2021, 2:25am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Enemy

Dialogue absurdity:
“Pearl Harbor … was the preamble to bloody war”. Er, no. WW2 was already two years old. You could consider the preamble to be the Nazi invasion of Czechoslovakia in 1938.

Plot absurdity:
Geordi didn’t disarm the Romulan when he rescued him? Oh please!

Missed opportunity:
Romulan (to Worf): “I’d rather die than let my body be invaded by Klingon filth “. If I’d been Worf, I’d have given an evil grin at that point and said to Crusher “Then I agree to the transfer “.

Unbelievable moment:
Geordi, seeing the neutrino beacon for the first time, saying “Wesley!” !! Data was just as able / likely to have come up with that…

However, all that said, it was a very good episode. I loved the theme of “Who is my enemy?” I also enjoyed Picard’s recycling Spock’s “The needs of the many…” trope. And the way the plot elements all converged to make a tense finale. Yes, I have nitpicks, but it’s still a solid 3 star episode.
Set Bookmark
Tidd
Tue, Jul 27, 2021, 2:04am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Booby Trap

@Booming @Tomalak

Thanks for the correction. I feel rather ashamed, as my degree was in Classics (though Plato wasn’t part of it).
Set Bookmark
Tidd
Mon, Jul 26, 2021, 3:13am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Booby Trap

@Springy

The title Who Watches The Watchers? has nothing to do with religion. It’s a straight lift from Plato’s Republic : he proposes a class of ‘Guardians’ who would be responsible for the republic’s youth, especially in a moral capacity. He then raises the question: “who guards the guardians?”, a question that makes more sense in English if you translate ‘guardian’ as ‘watcher’.
Set Bookmark
Tidd
Mon, Jul 26, 2021, 2:57am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Booby Trap

This has always been one of my favourite episodes. The pacing is just right - neither too fast nor too slow; there are some sublime musical moments from the score; the story of an ancient booby trap is believable; the sub-story of Geordi’s failed love life and his re-creation of Dr Leah Brahms; some of the dialogue e.g. Picard and his “ships in bottles “ thing. What’s not to like?

Unfortunately, the episode suffers from some of the worst technobabble in the whole of TNG, perhaps the whole of Trek. If they had limited it to slowly building in a convincing way to the solution involving minimum power - which really was believable - they could have avoided most of the babble. I’m sure I wasn’t the only viewer shaking her head and wondering what exactly my response was supposed to be from all this incomprehensible drivel? It added precisely nothing to the dramatic tension, it probably slowed everything down rather.

However, it would be unfair to deduct more than half a star for this, and I can happily give 3.5 stars, and look forward to the episode where Leah Brahms appears again, in a much creepier story involving Geordi. (Can’t remember what it was called, but the movie Galaxy Quest comes to mind…)

P.S. Another great scene with Guinan. Bald men, eh? Picard had better watch out!
Set Bookmark
Tidd
Sun, Jul 25, 2021, 4:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Bonding

BONES: The ship's counsellor says we should beam up the away team, right now.
KIRK: The ship's WHAT?? Oh, beam them up anyway.
~~~~~
KIRK: What's the matter with her?
BONES: She's dead, Jim.
KIRK. Bummer. Ok, let's beam another lot of redshirts down. Doesn't matter a whole lot if they die.
BONES: She's an archaeologist Jim, not a redshirt.
KIRK: Yeah yeah. Not a regular crew member though. Why are we getting so bothered about it, for heaven's sake?

Good to see Trek at last addressing the notion of grief and loss, though devoting an entire episode to it is a bit .. over the top. And there's one moment in it that's so ludicrous I'm still laughing.

JEREMY (to Worf): Are you a Klingon?
LMAO. Had he been confined to quarters all his life, that he didn't recognise the single Klingon on the ship!

2 stars seems fair.
Set Bookmark
Tidd
Sat, Jul 24, 2021, 2:14am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Who Watches the Watchers

In many ways this is an excellent episode - especially from the point where Nuria is kidnapped to the Enterprise, meets “the Picard” and eventually convinced (by means of a terribly clumsy plot device - the death of one of the scientists) that humans are mortal, with advanced but limited powers. The analogy Picard uses of how her own ancestors would react to her, is logical and unanswerable. The Prime Directive writ large…

However, there is a gaping flaw. At the start, only Lokia and Nuria are involved. Is it likely that their experiences, occurring in a single brief moment of time, would affect an entire planet? Especially as the Mentakans are proto-Vulcan and therefore rational and logical people. It’s questionable whether the two would convince just their village, let alone everyone everywhere. Even the experience of Moses on Mt Sinai (if you even believe that actually happened!) only affected a single minor religion.

So a double rating from me: 3.5 stars for the last third, 2 stars for what preceded it.
Set Bookmark
Tidd
Fri, Jul 23, 2021, 3:06am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Survivors

@Nesendrea

“ just how real is Rishon? Was she a walking mannequin, a puppet with invisible strings whose every word and action were under Kevin’s direct control? Because if so, then I can’t imagine how the illusion was in any way satisfying for Kevin. If my wife died and I could reanimate her body, but I had to input every little thing she said and did and could never be surprised by her again, I wouldn’t feel like I had her back. Indeed, being in the presence of such a vapid facsimile would simply be painful - I would rather bury her and grieve. “

I assume you have Netflix? Have you seen Charlie Brooker’s ‘Black Mirror’ series? Last night I watched the episode ‘I’ll Be Back’. It deals EXACTLY with this theme. I won’t say more just now - just watch it!
Next ►Page 1 of 9
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.