Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 20 (Showing 1-20)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Thierafhal
Wed, Oct 17, 2018, 8:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Man of the People

Very poor showing from Worf in this episode. Security Chief of the Federation Flagship gets disarmed by a couple of fat security guards. Even though according to the episode, the city they are in is a neutral place, this is still a volatile planet and because of Worf's total cluelessness, his Captain is put in danger. Very bad writing and once again, Worf is written as a total failure at a job that he should be the best in Starfleet, at. Can't beat out an ill terrorist in an impromptu phaser quick draw in "The High Ground". Gets fooled by a diversionary tactic in The Best of Both Worlds, part 1, by the Borg and Captain Picard is captured. Even though "Rascals" came after this episode, Worf can't hit the broad side of a barn against a Ferengi and gets shot. Stupid plot contrivances....
Set Bookmark
Thierafhal
Mon, Oct 8, 2018, 8:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Perfect Mate

One thing I found very interesting in this episode, although it was played for laughs, was Riker's overt racism against the Ferengi. When they were beamed aboard, he hadn't even met them yet and already, on the assignment of quarters, he says: "not too close to mine".

I think Riker has every right to distrust them considering he was leading the landing party of humanity's first "known" contact with the Ferengi, in the first season episode: The Last Outpost, and he saw how deceitful they were. He was also captured by them in season four's Ménage à Troi.

The reason I find all this interesting is because of a line in another first season episode from Riker. In Lonely Among Us, we hear the tail end of a conversation Picard and Riker were having about the Antican and the Selay peace delegates the Enterprise was ferrying to a peace conference. I may have the exact quotes off a bit, but basically what is said about their hostility to each other:

Riker: "I never understood that kind of hostility even when I studied earth history."

Picard: "...oh yes, well they feel such passionate hatred for one another on customs, god concepts, even strangely enough, economic systems."

I guess Riker learned fast from practical experience. One of the Selay even asked about how close their quarters would be to the Anticans, something echoed by Riker in The Perfect Mate as I have already referenced. Funnily enough as well with Picard mentioning "economic systems", I'm guessing Riker is not a fan of the Ferengi's capitalistic nature either.
Set Bookmark
Thierafhal
Thu, Aug 23, 2018, 9:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Drumhead

After J'Dan's confession as being a spy, I found his comment that Worf was a weakling, rather amusing. I know that he was referring to Worf's position in the peace loving Federation, but it was still amusing seeing the "weakling" Worf kick his butt. Also funny was when he was calling Worf out for being a traitor who would never have the chance for glory as a warrior. J'Dan himself wasn't a "warrior", he was a scientist, so what the heck is he talking about? Where's J'Dan's chance for glory?...
Set Bookmark
Thierafhal
Fri, Aug 10, 2018, 1:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Final Mission

Come to think of it, Picard doesn't make a very good showing either. After he pushes Wesley out of the way of the rock slide, he just stands there and looks up at the rocks and lets himself get pummeled. He had time to jump out of the way.....
Set Bookmark
Thierafhal
Fri, Aug 10, 2018, 6:43am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Final Mission

@Kristina Anderson, Geordi sure didn't make a very good show of himself in this episode, did he? Not only was his inspection of the mining shuttle shoddy, his placement of the thrusters on the garbage scow weren't very well planned.
Two seconds after he activates them, a panel that one of them was attached to, breaks off...
Set Bookmark
Thierafhal
Fri, Aug 3, 2018, 11:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Family

Jammer comments that the weight of the problems resolved in the fight between the Picard brothers, is lost. I certainly think the weight is softened, but not lost.

In this 'not quite serialized' era of trek, the fact that there even was this problem from the episode before that takes a whole other episode to resolve, was unique.

Unfortunately as the status quo is back to normal the following episode, I think that making the implications of Picard's torture at the hands of the Borg 'resolved' was the right decision.
Set Bookmark
Thierafhal
Wed, Jun 6, 2018, 12:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Loud as a Whisper

I am going to call Jammer cynical on this one. This episode is without a doubt, not enough story to fill the time allotted, but I don't think it's a wasted effort. It presents a new way of looking at things and I agree with Troi's line that Riva's method of communication is quite beautiful. The ending works for me even if the prospect of these people achieving peace by learning sign language is dubious. Star Trek itself is overly optimistic at it's core (before the later seasons of DS9, that is); and that is the point. Will Earth ever be an absolute paradise? Unlikely, but we can hope and strive for it just as the Solari can with Riva's help.
Set Bookmark
Thierafhal
Sun, Nov 5, 2017, 2:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: That Which Survives

Everyone misses the obvious in regards to Spock's attitude in this episode. At the beginning when the ship is hurled 1000 ly's away, Spock hits his head on the Captain's chair. I always saw that as the reason for his strange behavior. Since the episode ends on the artificial planet's surface, it's anyone's guess what occurred on the ship after, hah. That is my theory anyway, take it for what it's worth.
Set Bookmark
Thierafhal
Mon, Jul 31, 2017, 10:21am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Tomorrow Is Yesterday

If your going to poke holes in the "science" of time travel than you're not a science fiction fan. The big word here is "fiction". Who knows how time travel would work or if it's even possible, but who cares. Is this a perfect episode? No. Is it 4 stars? Yes. I look at it in the sense that nothing is perfect, but if the story is enjoyable and the ideas it throws out there are interesting and the performances are good, the episode can eclipse its flaws and have a 4 star rating, easily.
Set Bookmark
Thierafhal
Sun, Jul 30, 2017, 10:56am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Arena

RE: craig

'The morals in this episode are total BS. When the Gorn states his reasons "You were invaders!" McCoy exclaims "Could he be right.", expressing moral self-doubt.
No, that's not even close to a justification.'

That's precisely why the moral message is so powerful. Don't forget that the Gorn are an alien race of lizards whom we know nothing about and we can't set the same moral standards for them that we adhere to. Kirk's show of mercy was clearly a testament to that.

"How superior can the Metrons be. Forcing two aliens to fight to the death and promising the execute the loser's crew is hardly the act of a superior being."

That was an obvious bluff if you pay attention to the ending dialogue between Kirk and the Metron. The Metron's believed we were savages and they intentionally put it in terms they thought we'd understand. When the Metron asked if he should destroy the Gorn for Captain Kirk, I took that as a challenge to Kirk's show of mercy to ensure that the lesson was truly learned.
Set Bookmark
Thierafhal
Fri, Jun 9, 2017, 4:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: United

Once again, Star Trek throws the concept of inertia out the window. Reed and Tucker get thrown out of the drone at high speed, next thing you know, they're at a dead stop in space, lol.
Set Bookmark
Thierafhal
Thu, Jun 8, 2017, 11:34am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Daedalus

I'm not a scientist, so maybe I'm missing something, but here goes. "To briefly nitpick the jargon, I would like to 'also' point out": The fact that there is not a star system within a hundred lightyears doesn't mean you still can't SEE the stars....
Set Bookmark
Thierafhal
Sun, May 28, 2017, 5:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Cold Station 12

I liked the character of Smike, and I was really disappointed with how they killed him off when he was no longer needed. Perhaps his trusting of Archer was a little forced, but I still think the character had merit and was played well by the actor and would have liked to have seen something a little more imaginative done with him. We really didn't need an extra little jolt of: "see how evil Malik is!?!?" imo.
Set Bookmark
Thierafhal
Fri, Apr 14, 2017, 9:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Harbinger

I love the reference to 48 hrs.! I thought I was the only one who knew about that movie. Seems that it's not considered one of the must see Eddie Murphy movies in most peoples opinions, but it's a move I really liked. I know, Jammer, you didn't say you liked it necessarily, you just mentioned it, but glad it's not as much an unknown a movie as I had thought.
Set Bookmark
Thierafhal
Tue, Apr 11, 2017, 3:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Chosen Realm

One thing I noticed that kind of bugged me was when D'jamat was crucifying Archer for desecrating a sphere. One of Archer's transgressions was entering the cloaking barrier. So umm, if entering the cloaking barrier is heresy and the cloaking barrier hides the sphere from view, how did any of these people even know there was a sphere inside???
Set Bookmark
Thierafhal
Tue, Apr 11, 2017, 2:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Carpenter Street

I thought the part where Archer steals money out of an ATM was amusing when he said after: "People used to go to jail for this." Umm, ya, you would know all about jail, lol.
Set Bookmark
Thierafhal
Fri, Apr 7, 2017, 12:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: The Shipment

The action scene is perhaps slightly unnecessary, but it's short enough that it doesn't bother me at all and it sets up a scene I like very much where Gralik basically says: "what? I'm not allowed to go on a hunting trip when you guys aren't even supposed to be here for 2 days?" And then casually brushes off the Xindi Reptilian about the destroyed drone having scared away his prey. Love it!
Set Bookmark
Thierafhal
Fri, Apr 7, 2017, 11:50am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Exile

I agree somewhat with Jammer's desire to not have the short jeopardy scene in the alien's last ditch effort to make Hoshi stay. However, it's not the scene itself that bugs me its the fact that (unless I missed something) this alien inexplicably shuts down all the power on enterprise with no explanation of how he's able to accomplish this.
Set Bookmark
Thierafhal
Sat, Apr 1, 2017, 11:28am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Bounty

I don't think the corruption of the Klingon justice system is really ignored. It is as far as this episode is concerned, but there's a simple way around it. Because of the corruption, the cliche of the right hand not knowing what the left hand is doing explains what probably happened. Duras found out about Archer's escape and was like wtf! Using the corruption, he payed off the right people and in a round about way, the bounty was put out to get Archer back, simple.
Set Bookmark
Thierafhal
Sat, Feb 11, 2017, 1:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Terra Nova

Doesn't anyone else find the line from the kid pinned under the log absurdly written and delivered? "I'm legbroke! The wood has me sealed down!"
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.