Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 14 (Showing 1-14)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Thierafhal
Wed, Jun 6, 2018, 12:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Loud as a Whisper

I am going to call Jammer cynical on this one. This episode is without a doubt, not enough story to fill the time allotted, but I don't think it's a wasted effort. It presents a new way of looking at things and I agree with Troi's line that Riva's method of communication is quite beautiful. The ending works for me even if the prospect of these people achieving peace by learning sign language is dubious. Star Trek itself is overly optimistic at it's core (before the later seasons of DS9, that is); and that is the point. Will Earth ever be an absolute paradise? Unlikely, but we can hope and strive for it just as the Solari can with Riva's help.
Set Bookmark
Thierafhal
Sun, Nov 5, 2017, 2:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: That Which Survives

Everyone misses the obvious in regards to Spock's attitude in this episode. At the beginning when the ship is hurled 1000 ly's away, Spock hits his head on the Captain's chair. I always saw that as the reason for his strange behavior. Since the episode ends on the artificial planet's surface, it's anyone's guess what occurred on the ship after, hah. That is my theory anyway, take it for what it's worth.
Set Bookmark
Thierafhal
Mon, Jul 31, 2017, 10:21am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Tomorrow Is Yesterday

If your going to poke holes in the "science" of time travel than you're not a science fiction fan. The big word here is "fiction". Who knows how time travel would work or if it's even possible, but who cares. Is this a perfect episode? No. Is it 4 stars? Yes. I look at it in the sense that nothing is perfect, but if the story is enjoyable and the ideas it throws out there are interesting and the performances are good, the episode can eclipse its flaws and have a 4 star rating, easily.
Set Bookmark
Thierafhal
Sun, Jul 30, 2017, 10:56am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Arena

RE: craig

'The morals in this episode are total BS. When the Gorn states his reasons "You were invaders!" McCoy exclaims "Could he be right.", expressing moral self-doubt.
No, that's not even close to a justification.'

That's precisely why the moral message is so powerful. Don't forget that the Gorn are an alien race of lizards whom we know nothing about and we can't set the same moral standards for them that we adhere to. Kirk's show of mercy was clearly a testament to that.

"How superior can the Metrons be. Forcing two aliens to fight to the death and promising the execute the loser's crew is hardly the act of a superior being."

That was an obvious bluff if you pay attention to the ending dialogue between Kirk and the Metron. The Metron's believed we were savages and they intentionally put it in terms they thought we'd understand. When the Metron asked if he should destroy the Gorn for Captain Kirk, I took that as a challenge to Kirk's show of mercy to ensure that the lesson was truly learned.
Set Bookmark
Thierafhal
Fri, Jun 9, 2017, 4:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: United

Once again, Star Trek throws the concept of inertia out the window. Reed and Tucker get thrown out of the drone at high speed, next thing you know, they're at a dead stop in space, lol.
Set Bookmark
Thierafhal
Thu, Jun 8, 2017, 11:34am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Daedalus

I'm not a scientist, so maybe I'm missing something, but here goes. "To briefly nitpick the jargon, I would like to 'also' point out": The fact that there is not a star system within a hundred lightyears doesn't mean you still can't SEE the stars....
Set Bookmark
Thierafhal
Sun, May 28, 2017, 5:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Cold Station 12

I liked the character of Smike, and I was really disappointed with how they killed him off when he was no longer needed. Perhaps his trusting of Archer was a little forced, but I still think the character had merit and was played well by the actor and would have liked to have seen something a little more imaginative done with him. We really didn't need an extra little jolt of: "see how evil Malik is!?!?" imo.
Set Bookmark
Thierafhal
Fri, Apr 14, 2017, 9:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Harbinger

I love the reference to 48 hrs.! I thought I was the only one who knew about that movie. Seems that it's not considered one of the must see Eddie Murphy movies in most peoples opinions, but it's a move I really liked. I know, Jammer, you didn't say you liked it necessarily, you just mentioned it, but glad it's not as much an unknown a movie as I had thought.
Set Bookmark
Thierafhal
Tue, Apr 11, 2017, 3:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Chosen Realm

One thing I noticed that kind of bugged me was when D'jamat was crucifying Archer for desecrating a sphere. One of Archer's transgressions was entering the cloaking barrier. So umm, if entering the cloaking barrier is heresy and the cloaking barrier hides the sphere from view, how did any of these people even know there was a sphere inside???
Set Bookmark
Thierafhal
Tue, Apr 11, 2017, 2:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Carpenter Street

I thought the part where Archer steals money out of an ATM was amusing when he said after: "People used to go to jail for this." Umm, ya, you would know all about jail, lol.
Set Bookmark
Thierafhal
Fri, Apr 7, 2017, 12:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: The Shipment

The action scene is perhaps slightly unnecessary, but it's short enough that it doesn't bother me at all and it sets up a scene I like very much where Gralik basically says: "what? I'm not allowed to go on a hunting trip when you guys aren't even supposed to be here for 2 days?" And then casually brushes off the Xindi Reptilian about the destroyed drone having scared away his prey. Love it!
Set Bookmark
Thierafhal
Fri, Apr 7, 2017, 11:50am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Exile

I agree somewhat with Jammer's desire to not have the short jeopardy scene in the alien's last ditch effort to make Hoshi stay. However, it's not the scene itself that bugs me its the fact that (unless I missed something) this alien inexplicably shuts down all the power on enterprise with no explanation of how he's able to accomplish this.
Set Bookmark
Thierafhal
Sat, Apr 1, 2017, 11:28am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Bounty

I don't think the corruption of the Klingon justice system is really ignored. It is as far as this episode is concerned, but there's a simple way around it. Because of the corruption, the cliche of the right hand not knowing what the left hand is doing explains what probably happened. Duras found out about Archer's escape and was like wtf! Using the corruption, he payed off the right people and in a round about way, the bounty was put out to get Archer back, simple.
Set Bookmark
Thierafhal
Sat, Feb 11, 2017, 1:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Terra Nova

Doesn't anyone else find the line from the kid pinned under the log absurdly written and delivered? "I'm legbroke! The wood has me sealed down!"
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.