Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 20 (Showing 1-20)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
The Sisko
Thu, May 25, 2017, 10:59am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Jetrel

@DLPB - if you consider this "left wing propaganda" then why are you watching Trek at all? This sort of stuff is all over Trek in general - which is why I consider it incredibly important. If I were you, I would stop watching now. You're not going to like what else is coming.

Also, your defense of the decision to drop the bomb is incredibly cynical. Our emotions - not our logic - are what make us human, what makes us different from machines. Without compassion and love, what would this world be? Would it be worth living in?

IMO this episode does a fantastic job in demonstrating the cruelty of genocide, irrespective of what the supposed justification might be. It is simply NEVER right to take the lives of innocent people - not even in the most extreme case of war. The fact that you seem to dispute that makes YOU exactly the kind of monster that this episode talks about.
Set Bookmark
The Sisko
Fri, Nov 20, 2015, 2:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Elementary, Dear Data

I, too, disagree with Jammer on the beginning half being the weak link here. Even on the nth viewing, I was thoroughly entertained by the sense of adventure present throughout the first two acts. The Data/Geordi dynamic is as strong as ever in this series and the addition of Pulaski's character to the story works surprisingly well. The plot builds up really nicely until the introduction of Moriarty, a potentially perfect villain who is sadly extremely underused. The writers probably realized this too when they decided to make a follow-up to this one.

Yes, suspension of disbelief is required as always. Why are you watching a show about fantastic ideas if you're not willing to do that?

My rating: 3.5 stars
Set Bookmark
The Sisko
Thu, Apr 2, 2015, 12:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Once Upon a Time

I gotta agree with Caine here. Even though this episode is filled with typical Voyager clichés, the result to me is still quite good. In part, this is actually a Neelix character piece - and probably one of the best ones. Here, his character is actually not annoying for a change and we get to understand his war trauma a little better - which is clearly the most interesting aspect this character has to offer. Overall, the episode felt very human to me and I found myself unexpectedly moved by the drama, manufactured as it may be. I suppose it's thanks to the good direction and acting that I was able to ignore the silliness of the plot and actually buy into the emotions of the characters involved. I'd rate this one 2.5 to 3 stars.
Set Bookmark
The Sisko
Mon, Aug 26, 2013, 12:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Latent Image

It makes me sad that so many people do not appreciate this episode fully. As Bill said, it's episodes like this one where Star Trek shines the most. If you can't enjoy this one, then why do you watch VOY at all? It can't be for "The Killing Game", after all.
Set Bookmark
The Sisko
Mon, Aug 26, 2013, 12:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Latent Image

I don't get it. Why does everybody keep getting worked up about unimportant details, such as the plausibility of The Doctor being a sentient being? Can't you just enjoy the show for what it is? People have to learn to suspend disbelief when watching a freaking TV show, for god's sakes. Stop complaining already. This episode is clearly one of Voyager's absolute best character pieces. Easy 4 stars from me.
Set Bookmark
The Sisko
Fri, Aug 16, 2013, 12:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Living Witness

Wow, I'm stunned that everyone rates this episode so highly. When I first saw it I was pretty intrigued by it, but upon rewatching it I was just incredibly bored. It might be because I just watched an episode of TNG before or something, but I couldn't disagree more with this review and most of the comments above.

I have no fundamental issues with the story, in fact I quite liked the idea. But the execution of it is just boring! Except for one scene between Quarren and The Doctor near the end, I never felt sucked into the story by the actors at all. For the most part of this episode, there seemed to be no chemistry between the two lead actors. I'm not sure whether it's that or just the lame dialogues.

I feel that Quarren's reaction to The Doctor's statements is quite unrealistic. It just seemed way too easy for him to convince him of his version of the truth. I would have expected there to be a lot more struggle. Or it could be that the guy playing Quarren was just being too restrained in his acting. There should have been a lot more conflict between these two.

Where is the heart of this episode? Where is the emotion? Do we ever really see The Doctor struggle with his fate, like Picard in "The Inner Light" or O'Brien in "Hard Time"? No, we just get a huge number of Alien-of-the-week characters that we're supposed to care about. Sorry, but I don't. Yes, the basic idea of this story is pretty great and it was definitely interesting to watch it unfold for the first time. But, again, upon rewatching, it just doesn't hold up. This story couldn't move me one bit. I guess that's not the point and you're supposed to think about how our society deals with its history. But for me, an interesting thought experiment does not make a good episode all by itself. In my view, the entertainment value here is just lacking. There is no real suspense, no engaging dialogues, no touching emotion or fascinating acting work. None of that exists here.

This is an example of a very interesting sci-fi concept which is being used to provide an hour of thought-provoking TV, sure. But that is just not enough to make it worth 4 stars. If you already know the plot, the episode should still be highly engaging. For me, this was just not the case here. Instead I was just waiting for it to end.
Set Bookmark
The Sisko
Sun, May 19, 2013, 5:07am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

I have to agree with a lot of the negative points here, the biggest one being how this movie tries to rip off WoK and fails miserably in the process. It really feels like a pure fanboy film, in a highly unsophisticated way. You can clearly tell J.J. Abrams doesn't know the difference between Star Wars and Star Trek, no matter what he's claiming. To be fair, a lot of that blame should probably go to the writers though. What a cheesy, cartoony, empty, plot-driven script. That said, I did sort of like some of the character interaction in the first half of the movie. But with the appearance of the Dreadnought class ship, things really only go downhill from there. Does every Star Trek movie nowadays have to have a huge antagonist ship serveral times the size of the Enterprise to amplify the bad-ass-ness of the plot's villain? Apparently so. Yawn.
Set Bookmark
The Sisko
Sat, May 18, 2013, 6:13am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

I have to say, the movie was exactly what I expected - a highly entertaining popcorn flick with lots and lots of lensflare. Action-wise, this clearly topped the first one. I liked the fact that I got to see all this glory in 3D for the first time.

The movie definitely had a few weak points as well though. I would say the ending was a bit of a letdown. Also, some of the characterizations of the Enterprise's crew were a bit weak. And where was the humor? Most of the jokes didn't work for me. Some did.

This time around, everyone had to know going into this film what to expect. And that's what we got. Except the Spock/Khan thing. That was weird.

I think I'll go with three stars and add a quarter for the incredible audiovisual presentation.
Set Bookmark
The Sisko
Wed, May 8, 2013, 5:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Kir'Shara

I gotta say, after being slightly bored by the first two parts of this trilogy, "Kir'Shara" really did it for me. I enjoyed every second of it. The pacing just seemed frickin perfect. Pretty much all of the actors did an excellent job on this one and the action scenes just worked brilliantly. Throw in the fact that all of the events in this episode feel highly relevant to the overall Trek universe and you have a total winner. Oh, and by the way: Did I mention Jeffrey Combs was in it? IMO this was easily the best episode of season 4 yet. A full 4 stars from me.
Set Bookmark
The Sisko
Fri, Jan 18, 2013, 5:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Field of Fire

Meh... 2 stars. Maybe. I actually liked "Prodigal Daughter" better than this, believe it or not. Also, at this point the screen time really should have been used for something with more impact, instead of serving us yet another mediocre filler episode. Too bad.
Set Bookmark
The Sisko
Thu, Jan 17, 2013, 6:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: The Emperor's New Cloak

Come to think of it, this episode might actually be a fully intended self-parody. The Vic Fontaine scene seems to be pretty clear evidence of that. I can't help but feel that at least some of the actors interpreted the script that way. It's either that, or it's the dumbest episode since "Let He Who Is Without Sin...".
Set Bookmark
The Sisko
Thu, Jan 17, 2013, 5:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: The Emperor's New Cloak

I think one star is just about right. Obviously this episode is completely silly, but I didn't think it was unwatchable at all. For whatever reason, there's still enough entertainment value in it for me to not feel like I've totally wasted my time - which would be the requirement for a zero star rating in my book. Even though the jokes were bad, the characterizations ridiculous - for some reason I was still mildly entertained. I guess it must have been Nicole DeBoer's outfit or something. Awww..... so cute.
Set Bookmark
The Sisko
Wed, Jan 16, 2013, 6:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Prodigal Daughter

I remember how I was incredibly bored by this episode when it first aired. As Jammer noted, the series was drawing close to its conclusion and it felt like a waste of time to endure this slow-moving character piece - especially since so much screen time is used up by guest actors.

So, today I arrived at this episode in my re-watch list and after starting it, I was on the verge of skipping it - but decided not to since it's been so long since I last saw it. And I must say, that was a very good decision.

I guess it's because I expected so little of it, but after watching it with an open mind for the first time, I'm really impressed. Sure, it's no "Visitor". But I really felt for these characters and the plot did work very well for me. I thought it was quite clever how they were able to link up the two seemingly unrelated parts of the story to form a new picture. Yes, it seems a little unlikely. But what the heck.

And I do appreciate the fact that we got to know Ezri a bit better. Without this episode, I guess she would have really been a totally wasted character. This at least gave her a little bit of depth.

People saying this episode deserves zero stars are out of their mind. Or maybe they're in the same stance that I was when I originally saw it. You have to give it a chance. As always, Jammer's rating is spot on.
Set Bookmark
The Sisko
Tue, Dec 4, 2012, 12:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Inner Light

I feel like this episode deserves an extra half star. It's not fair to compare it to any other 4-star show.
Set Bookmark
The Sisko
Thu, Jun 21, 2012, 10:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Change of Heart

It definatelly deserves a 3 stars rating. It's a deep and emotional episode with great perfomances.
Set Bookmark
The Sisko
Sun, May 27, 2012, 7:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Penumbra

Every time I watch season 7 I can't get past how much i hate Ezri. She brings the season down.
Set Bookmark
The Sisko
Sat, May 26, 2012, 10:05am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Tears of the Prophets

Jadzia was so awesome to be killed off. The writers did drop the ball here
Set Bookmark
The Sisko
Sat, May 26, 2012, 10:04am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Sixth Season Recap

My most favorite season.
Set Bookmark
The Sisko
Thu, May 24, 2012, 4:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Let He Who Is Without Sin...

1,5 stars from me. It's definately not the worst episode in the series (not even close).
Set Bookmark
The Sisko
Thu, May 24, 2012, 4:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Take Me Out to the Holosuite

0 stars. Seriously who will care in the future about an american sport?
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.