Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 8 (Showing 1-8)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
The River Temarc
Fri, Oct 6, 2017, 10:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Context Is for Kings

"However, that again does not explain the blame everybody keeps placing on her. She was attacked, that is, the Klingon was hostile first. Not much she, or anyone else in that situation, could do to prevent it. "

1.^I agree that by and large, Burnham isn't responsible for the war. But that doesn't necessarily stop people from looking for a scapegoat.

2. It is possible that without the death of the Torchbearer, the 24 Klingon houses would not have rallied around T'Kuvma.
Set Bookmark
The River Temarc
Fri, Oct 6, 2017, 9:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Context Is for Kings

>The first mention of Spock is of his mother reading him Alice in Wonderland with a sister we (and apparently he) never knew he had?

Please tell us where Spock said he never had a sister.

>Tilly is the best theoretical physicist in star fleet?

Why is this so unbelievable to you? Because she's a woman? A redhead?

>Quantum fungus and biology=physics instantaneous space travel 10 years before Kirk's 5-year mission? Forget astrometrics. Seven should have grown some special shrooms in hydroponics. Poof! Back home in no time.

Assuming that the experiment works. Which we've no proof it will. Remember the "soliton wave" episode of TNG?

>If Burnham was raised Vulcan, why is she not even remotely embracing logic? Her moods and rationale change as quickly as the temperature in the Vulcan desert.

Because she's a human with post-traumatic stress syndrome of a terrible incident in her youth. It's the same reason why in BATMAN, a sophisticated, business-savvy scion of high society dresses up as a bat by night, rather than mingling at the country club.
Set Bookmark
The River Temarc, in Winter
Fri, Oct 6, 2017, 7:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

With the exception of the Klingon makeover, pretty much every objection I've seen as to why DSC contradicts "continuity" is bunk. To take a few examples:

>Why give Spock a new step-sister? This really stretches credibility unless we're assuming the show is a hard reboot.

Hardly. We've seen plenty of examples where Vulcans don't talk about their family as much as humans. Kirk didn't know that Sarek (who was apparently already famous as a Vulcan diplomat) and Amanda were Spock's parents. This despite the fact that Kirk attended Spock's *wedding* only a few episodes before. Kirk didn't know about Sybok, either.

And not every conversation between Kirk and Spock takes place onscreen. We don't know what Michael Burnham's fate will be, but I suspect history will ultimately remember her for something bigger than being The Mutineer.

>Why do we have an android serving on the starship of the 2250's, when the whole Data story arc from TNG pretty much precludes this possibility?

We've had androids in the Trek universe since, what, the third episode of TOS with Richard Korby? And an entire planet full of them in "Mudd's Women"? The point isn't that Data was the first android that Starfleet ever encountered. It was that he was the first *sentient* android (and frankly, in light of Mudd's Women, even that is stretching it), thanks to the positronic brain. If you want to blame a Trek series for breaching continuity, blame TNG, not DSC.

>Why have mind-melds that operate over thousands of years and ships that can traverse the entire federation in a couple of hours?

This wasn't a mind meld. It was an imagined conversation, perhaps guided by an echo of Sarek's katra. That's consistent with the whole idea of a katra. And remember the Intrepid, the Vulcan ship in TOS? Spock sensed its destruction light-years away. Spock sensed V'ger light-years away, too. Again: if you've got a problem with that, blame TOS, not DSC.

>Why do the ships in Discovery look completely different than anything we would expect from the 2250's?

They don't. We haven't seen ships from the 2250s. You're extrapolating from what a Hollywood designer in the mid-1960s *thought* ships jwould look like in Kirk's era.

>What about the design of the bridge? Are you seriously claiming that the bridge of the NCC-1701 (or something in the same style) cannot be updated to modern sensibilities?

With cardboard walls and analog buttons? Seriously? Those became dated when the iPhone keyboard came out, at best -- and likely a lot earlier. I have no desire to see a 1960s aesthetic on a modern show, or even a 1990s aesthetic.
Set Bookmark
The River Temarc
Tue, Sep 5, 2017, 3:05am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Regeneration

This episode sheds some light on one of the theories about Q: that the continuum is humanity of the far future (the secret that Q was about to tell Picard in "All Good Things," but backed off with the cryptic, "you'll find out"). As such, Q was doing Picard a favor by alerting him to the Borg's presence in "Q-Who."

I can buy the fact that this incident may well have been forgotten 200-plus years later. Certainly the much harder continuity error to stomach is why no one in "Q-Who" knew about the Borg in light of the events of ST: Generations, where the Ent-B encountered the El-Aurian refugees fleeting from a Borg attack.
Set Bookmark
The River Temarc
Tue, Sep 5, 2017, 2:01am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Carbon Creek

Love your captcha, BTW, although it doesn't respond to the word "Jellico." :)
Set Bookmark
The River Temarc
Tue, Sep 5, 2017, 2:00am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Carbon Creek

It seems to me that the people who say T'Mir was too much like T'Pol are missing the point. Carbon Creek was T'Mir's story *as T'Pol told it.* She was imagining herself in T'Mir's place, since her fascination with Earth clearly owed a debt to T'Mir and, like T'Mir, she was living among humans.

I've been rewatching key ENT episodes in anticipation of DISCOVERY. Blalock is one of Trek's more underrated actors. Her performance is much more subtle than Tim Russ', and it's up there with Nimoy and Lenard. In fact, in terms of expressing Vulcan kinethestics, I think she tops them.
Set Bookmark
The River Temarc
Wed, Oct 19, 2016, 6:07am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: A Matter of Honor

"Also, that Bensite(?)... No space faring race would come to the conclusion that waiting until a solution has been found was beneficial to safety."

You know, I had always thought of that bit as being implausible. And yet: consider the fact that Korean Air Lines CRASHED a 747 because the first officer, who realized the plane was about to do controlled flight into terrain, said nothing, because that would involve contradicting a superior. And much the same thing happened aobut 15 years later, when Asiana crashed that 777 at SFO and again the first officer was hesitant at contradicting his captain.

In commercial aviation, these incidents led to a lot of discussion about the role of Asian culture in cockpit management. Malcolm Gladwell famously discussed this issue in OUTLIERS, although he was not the first to raise it.

If this theory is to be believed, I don't see the portrayal of the Benzites as so far-fetched. To be sure, I wouldn't want to get on a Benzite starship, and my hope is that the Starfleet way ended up changing procedures on Benzite ships, rather like KAL cockpit culture changed after the airline brough in foreigeners for a thorough safety culture overhaul.
Set Bookmark
The River Temarc
Wed, Oct 19, 2016, 3:06am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

Sleeper prediction for the "major event": the Vulcanian expedition, referenced in TOS "Court Martial." Which would also explain the idea that Amanda Grayson may make an appearance.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.