Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 35 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
The Queen
Tue, Jan 12, 2021, 12:07am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Booming: "Maybe they have a system? She asks the scientist always like this: "Could it be possible that feeling too much could make a crystal explode?" to which the scientist always says: "It could be possible but..." She then always cuts the scientist off: "Ok, that is all we need to know."

I think you've got it!
Set Bookmark
The Queen
Sun, Jan 10, 2021, 11:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Booming, my point about about the physicists was the same as yours, actually - that if there really are actual physicists advising the writers, they are either terribly incompetent, greedy suckups, or totally ignored. Remember I said my jaw dropped open? I just couldn't believe she said that. You make it sound like she's just plain lying, but I didn't get that feeling. She seemed to believe herself.
Set Bookmark
The Queen
Sat, Jan 9, 2021, 3:11am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Matt: “Darmok and Tapestry and The Inner Light and It’s Only a Paper Moon were also aimed at making people feel.” I would put it a different way, because to me, those episodes (except I don’t specifically remember Paper Moon) FIRST got me thinking; then the emotion was in service of that. I remember vividly with “Darmok” how excited I was that they’d come up with a new approach to language, and how well they elucidated it. And the exceptional acting allowed the ending to be really tragic. And “Tapestry” was one of the best “magical second chance” stories I’ve ever seen. So yes, those episodes made me feel, but they made me think even more.

Discovery can’t do that. The writers don’t have the talent.

Booming, regarding the science: I always watch the Ready Room after the episode, and in this one Michelle Paradise went on about how she’s a science geek and always reading “that stuff,” I think she called it, and how grateful she was that they had actual physicists advising them so that their science didn’t get too far out of hand. I’m pretty sure my mouth actually dropped open. I’m not a science nitpicker at all, I’m good with suspension of disbelief, but I do want to feel like it might be possible to understand. A lot of times this show leaves me flailing about that.

Here’s one thing apparently everyone missed, but I thought was funny in a stupid way: Early on, Kelpian SuKal gives the ailing Kelpian Saru a healing piece of kelp. (Yes, really.)

Yanks: Elephant head’s proper description, according to the Ready Room interviewees this time, is Octopus Head.

I’m still fond of this show and eager to watch the next episode, next season. Why? Well, partly the nostalgia factor. I'm not at all fond of Burnham but have gotten used to her, and hope that her being captain will work better for the show. The visual effects that others rave about are never going to be my cup of tea, and those actually bother me more than Burnham at this point. But I actually do see quite an improvement in quality each season. In season 1 I rated 10 out of the 15 shows negatively. In season 2 it was 6 out of 14, and this season it was only 2 out of the 13. All the others were either positive or at least had enough good points that I didn’t consider them a waste of time. Even despite the nitpicks, the positive episodes have been enjoyable enough to keep me hooked. If only Frakes could direct them all!

What I wish for in Season 4:
- A more episodic format, with visits to different planets and peoples.
- More character episodes, including the ship AI as a character. I want to really meet Zora.
- NO mirror universe.
- Book needs to be used better.
- Make Burnham stop whispering.
- Make the camera behave.
Set Bookmark
The Queen
Thu, Jan 7, 2021, 8:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

I'm stealing a comment from Jammer's review of the previous episode for my opinion of this one: "The competence of the construction [of the plot] doesn't add up to more than the sum of all the parts."

The first thing I thought of this one was, talk about checking all the boxes. I'm sure Michelle Paradise feels like she's got rid of all the problematic threads from earlier episodes. Goodbye Osyra and Zehar, hello Sahil. Cause of the Burn, taken care of, won't happen again. Incompetent captains Saru and Tilly removed from contention. Gray is promised that he can become a real boy. Book can replace Stamets if needed.

But wow, it's all so clunky. It didn't flow for me. The fight scenes, as usual, dragged. The camera was incredibly obnoxious - I mean, at least two completely upside-down shots for NO reason at all. When they said the Discovery was inside the Viridian, I was stunned: it was??

Problems for me:
- How did the DOTs help, exactly? Why did Rhys shoot them?
- Ni’Var sent a fleet in response to Burnham’s call, but then she didn't let them do anything?? I’d be pissed.
- I hate the ugly new uniforms.
- If you eject your warp core, does it automatically blow up? I wasn't aware of that.
- I agree with everyone else about the apparently miles-long insides of Disco.
- I was annoyed at the ending where we were told about the fall of the Emerald Chain and about Trill and Ni'Var. Why couldn't those elements have been SHOWN to us in small scenes from next season?

There were things I liked, though:
- Adira's Trill makeup was stunningly beautiful.
- The Owo backstory and heroics were fantastic.
- I liked that Burnham continued to limp from her injury throughout this episode.
- The SuKal actor was good.
- The idea of Disco delivering dilithium to needy planets is a good structure for a more episodic season 4. (Yeah, turning it into a barge, though, LOL.)
- Hopefully making Burnham captain at last will actually strengthen the show.

I usually rate episodes for myself by only a plus or a minus. This one I had to give a +/-. See the competence quote at the beginning.

For those who don't know, yes Saru will be back. From the Ready Room for this episode, the word "ambassador" emerged. Also, in case anyone was wondering, it was always the intention, from the very beginning, to make Burnham captain.
Set Bookmark
The Queen
Tue, Jan 5, 2021, 8:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: There Is a Tide...

Chris Lopes - "The box checking isn't causing the story telling failure, it's being used to cover up for it. ." I have a slightly different view: The box checking is, in fact, what they're doing instead of writing actual stories. They start by checking certain boxes, even before they write the story. I'm not even sure they understand that they're writing bad stories, so why would they cover them up? They think box checking is what they're supposed to do.

Dave in MN - You're turning the Bechdel test around. It doesn't say that women in a story CAN'T talk about men ever. That would be silly. What it says is, they ought to do something else as well.

Jammer - Any chance we'll ever be able to upvote comments?
Set Bookmark
The Queen
Sat, Jan 2, 2021, 12:28am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: There Is a Tide...

Nick - re action scenes in legacy Trek. See, I'm no fan of battles in general, they're intrinsically boring and unpleasant to me. When people talk about the choreography, for instance, I can't even see it. So the more basic they are, the better as far as I'm concerned. The original series is about my level of battle scenes! I also don't remember anything in Next Gen that was especially offputting. But when DS9 started to get into them more, I did skip through some of those. But still, when I remember DS9 space battles, I still think they had lots of cuts back to the captains and their plans. I could follow the action even when it got a little extreme for me.

I won't mention Voyager because I haven't watched it since it was first on. But Discovery doesn't seem to have those character involvement moments (what am I saying! Disco doesn't even believe in character building. . . ) All the details you mentioned about Disco's SFX are exactly what bother me. It's like what my 8-year-old grandson would do if he had lights and sound on his Legos.

Plus, since the whole point of Disco from the beginning has been "ACTION SHOW," they always drag the scenes out too long. It's just not as involving as the legacy series. When Kirk fought the Gorn, that took up most of the episode, but it was interesting the whole way through. Not only was I telling Kirk to "make dynamite!" but I was noticing that the Gorn was pretty damn smart too.

I had to look up Way of the Warrior in my personal mini-review documents. I had two paragraphs on the entire two-parter, and didn't mention the fight scenes. That tells me that it wasn't anything I felt strongly about. I disliked some of the acting in other scenes. However, since it was Worf, I'm sure the action was fine. I mean, by that time Michael Dorn had practically copyrighted the character, so can you imagine a director trying to tell him to go all Burnham? He was always watchable.

So, you know that episode a few weeks back where Detmer did a Star Wars-type attack on the Wicked Witch's ship? That scene is my kind of space battle. Not too "busy," and keeping the characters in focus the whole time. It has to be basic for me.
Set Bookmark
The Queen
Fri, Jan 1, 2021, 11:31am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: There Is a Tide...

Artymiss, yeah, that was me about the boots. I obviously did miss that scene. I don't always follow action sequences very well. All the FX they throw in, and the weird camera angles, confuse me no end. Plus I'm never very interested in them anyway, so yeah, nodding off is quite possible. Thanks for explaining.
Set Bookmark
The Queen
Fri, Jan 1, 2021, 12:20am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: There Is a Tide...

Dave in MN: "Did the writers ever take a science class?!?!"

Don't get crazy on us now.

Don't you remember back in season 2, I think it was, when Burnham explained Newton's Third Law to Saru? As if anyone could even get into Starfleet without knowing that.

Robert M: Your prophecy about Saru is very interesting. I've been wondering how the writers can possibly dig him out of the incompetence hole they've got him in. That would be one way.

Ted - Shhh, you're not supposed to admit you like the show. I've been thinking lately myself that this season, especially, is rewatchable for me. Not perfect by any means, but yeah, enjoyable almost always. All I'd ask is that they'd just (a) stop Burnham from whispering and (b) forget the artsy/nauseating camera angles.
Set Bookmark
The Queen
Thu, Dec 31, 2020, 9:29am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

Paul M, can you give directions to that interview, please? I've found a few but none with that quote, and would love to read the whole thing.
Set Bookmark
The Queen
Thu, Dec 31, 2020, 4:00am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: There Is a Tide...

P.S. I meant to point out something I consider very good writing: The use of Zareh (is that his name?) to silently undermine Osyra's pretensions to peacefulness. THAT is the way to present information, kids.

Also, who else thinks that Osyra's pet scientist is now going to foment an uprising, bring her down, and take the Chain into the Federation that way?

Okay, now I'm done.
Set Bookmark
The Queen
Thu, Dec 31, 2020, 3:56am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: There Is a Tide...

Okay, I'm done with Stamets. That rant of his was embarrassing. Whiny, selfish, and unreasonable. Even with other people hating on him, I always thought he was okay up till now. Not any more. Get rid of him.

Thank you, Jonathan Frakes, for getting the bridge crew to have so much to do in this episode. They still don't have actual personalities, but they had lines. Lots of lines! They were actually important to the plot.

Why did Burnham take off her boots?

How did Osyra fool the hologram?

I thought the acting was mostly good in this - even Burnham's requisite tearful scene was cut blessedly short. And Admiral Vance, woohoo can that man act! (You know there's not really any President, right? It's all him.)

The moment that Ryn said, "I have to do this," I knew it was all over for him.

My favorite moment had to be the DOTs at the end lining up and saying, "Shall we retake the ship?" Damn they're cute. And useful.
Set Bookmark
The Queen
Sat, Dec 26, 2020, 2:21am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 2

Well well well. I just read some comments from the Discovery producers that were very interesting.

- Carl was named for Carl Sagan.
- The producers were looking for a way to use the Guardian of Forever long before these two episodes came into being.

The second thing annoys me. It's a perfect example of the lack of creativity that is Disco's biggest problem. No wonder they can't make a fresh Trek show when they're just picking over the bones of the old ones. They don't know the difference between the "flesh" of the shows and the spirit.

Hope I'm making sense.
Set Bookmark
The Queen
Thu, Dec 24, 2020, 3:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

Well. I have to agree with most of Nick's questions. The fragility of the shields is something that really should be over with by now. Also, when the Chain troops are in the spore room, Tilly says something like, "What's going on down there?" Meaning that they don't have automatic visuals in every public area? Didn't even Archer's Enterprise have those?

As far as why that exact type of holoprogram, that doesn't bother me. Humans have scary fairy tales too, and it seems like Su'kal has modified his a little bit.

Also, I'm sure most of the audience figured out long before Saur and Culber that it was a holoprogram! Dense, they were.

However, having done all that agreeing, I have to say, the performances in this episode were wonderful, especially SMG's and Su'Kal. Burnham slotting herself into the program and acknowledging the cues from the child as to how to behave was brilliant. And the child was entirely believable. Not to mention Doug Jones "maintaining" Saru even in human form. I also thought Osyra was better this time, though still a little bland.

A couple of things that bothered me: I really don't like where they're going with Saru's captaincy. He really doesn't seem up to it. I'm not even sure he really wants it. Also, season-ending cliffhangers are getting old.

Are there two more episodes or only one?
Set Bookmark
The Queen
Tue, Dec 22, 2020, 8:23pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 2

Chrome, what Susie R is saying is that Georgiou's experience here is better compared to "Tapestry" from TNG than "City on the Edge." The differences with "Tapestry" are much smaller than with "City on the Edge."
- Picard is told beforehand that he will be experiencing a simulation. Georgiou is not.
- After his experience, Picard is offered a choice as to which path he wishes to take. Georgiou doesn't really have a choice. She can go through the vortex or she can die.

I think some of the confusion arises because we haven't seen this aspect of the GOF before.
Set Bookmark
The Queen
Sun, Dec 20, 2020, 10:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 2

Leif -

"Does anyone else think Jammer was too hard in the episode? And wasn't the use of the Guardian consistent with his purpose and nature in The city on the edge? Or am I wrong ?"

I tend to agree with you, although I do think a case could be made that the Guardian changed in some ways. I thought those ways (different planet, "weighing" the person, etc.) were adequately explained, but these things are a matter of opinion after all. We all have our own individual takes on how far it's okay to stray from past versions.

Most people who are objecting to these latest two episodes are objecting to their very existence, and only to a lesser extent to their actual quality. (I know some people may say I'm wrong, but note how many times people say they're just completely sick of the MU.) And I think that's a fair point of view. In the Enterprise series, I loathed the whole idea of the Time Wars, the Nazi episodes, and a couple of Xindi episodes I thought were pointless distractions. It's hard to separate out the actual quality of the how the episode is done when you'd rather not see it at all (for instance, talking about the great special effects or great fight scenes leaves me cold and I literally can't rate them).

I never was impressed by the Mirror Universe even in TOS. I thought it was cartoonish. Even in the DS9 episodes, the characters were still unrealistically over-the-top. I couldn't relate to them and didn't think there was any useful message to be learned from the episodes. But Discovery, to me - and this is simply my opinion - has integrated the MU episodes into the general plot of the show better than the other series. I'm not saying it's been completely successful. The Lorca arc was interesting while it was going on, but in the end, what was the point of it? It was just a nice little mystery about the character. Nevertheless, Lorca came across as an actual person who was more than one-dimensional (MOSTLY evil no doubt, but entirely? I would say no).

The same goes for Georgiou, who is an expanded version of Lorca. Again, she is mostly Evil Emperor, but we see that she actually does have softer feelings which she hides (and good reasons for hiding them). When people questioned why she came along with Discovery at the end of Season 1, I was mystified that they couldn't understand that there could be only one reason - love for Burnham.

Now, the way this was handled was far from the best, as others have made clear. But I'm impressed that the writers tried to do it at all. They took a concept - the MU - which started out as a cartoonish, simplistic way of exploring the good and bad in people and attempted to create real people with some subtlety. Not enough! but at least some. And in this last episode, I especially liked that Georgiou's attempts to alter her universe failed, which I thought was realistic.

I also think that this may be another example of the new showrunner trying to get rid of a previous poorly thought-out storyline in a reasonably graceful way.

So as for Jammer being too hard, I think this is where some of that comes from - Star Trek isn't really supposed to be "about" the Mirror Universe at all. I am more than ready to forget all about it and investigate the Burn, and talk about issues surrounding the spore drive, and go explore some planets.
Set Bookmark
The Queen
Fri, Dec 18, 2020, 12:01am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 2

Midshipman Norris, I like your description of the the show's "choices," except that #5 and #6 don't bother me so much. I would say it's aimed at teenagers and young adults (20s-30s) with all the action scenes. I have read that it was always intended to be an "action show," with Picard intended as the "drama show."

Special effects are of no interest to me at all, probably because of my age. I saw the original series as a young adult, and at that time you just had to accept that what you saw on the screen was only the best they could do. So having flashing lights and whirling cameras everywhere is nothing but distracting to me.

The lack of philosophical overlay I think probably relates to the "action show" constraints. So does, of course, the lack of character development, which makes the inclusiveness you mention seem so poorly done, except with the Stamets-Culber couple. And I suppose that's also why Burnham is so heavily featured - what is she but a superhero? Yeah, I did snort this time when Georgiou told her she could be even GREATER! Like we need that.

I've never particularly noticed the loudness you mention, but I always have the CC on (got used to it when I had a Deaf partner in the past). CC also lets me mute Burnham's constant whispering.

I've just accepted that this is the way they want the show to be, and if I'm going to keep watching it I have to put up with it. I do think the scripts are getting better. I've liked most of the episodes this season, and this one really excited me. I'm not a big fan of the mirror universe, but I thought this was the best it's been dealt with in any Star Trek show. I loved that the writers tried to inject a little more realism into it, with Georgiou's statement that "Even Genghis Khan knew that your subjects need . . . something to live for." Sure, I expected her to be betrayed, but I thought it would be by Tilly. So I did not see a lot of those events coming, and when it turned out to be a test, and Carl explained who/what he really was and why he was there, I was impressed. I don't think it could have been done better. I don't plan to watch Section 31 so I didn't care where she went exactly.

The one flaw was the final scene, which was unrealistic and mawkish, but even with that, this was a high point for me.
Set Bookmark
The Queen
Thu, Dec 10, 2020, 8:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 1

This episode was written for me. It addresses many things which have bothered me.
1. Character Development. Adm. Vance refers to “bad calls” in the past that he has learned from, and he explicitly calls Saru “green.” This works not only for him but for the 31st century attitude toward the Federation as a whole. Tilly is growing well into her new role. Even Burnham is apparently learning to restrain herself (though I’ll need a lot more convincing of that). And of course Georgiou! I was unsettled about her sudden kindness when leaving the ship, but the scenes in the MU prove that she’s actually acquired a conscience AND - note this - Mirror Burnham remarks that even before her return, people were questioning her developing “weakness.”

2. Plot Development. This eppy was well thought out. They are finally handling the serialization on a level somewhere near The Good Place, Babylon 5, and The Blacklist - dropping clues about the future in every episode and building intelligently on those clues. In trying to be true to Star Trek tradition, they are making episodic stops along the way, but unlike with the Enterprise show (and their own season 1), they’re no longer getting completely off track for weeks at a time.

I know some people are objecting to going back to the Mirror Universe, but I don’t mind. I’m pretty sure it’s only for these two episodes, and I love the idea that Georgiou has changed enough from her sojourn to want to change the MU. Ever since it first appeared, I’ve always thought the MU was too one-track violence. In fact I never liked that the MU was intrinsically bad in the first place, because that implies that ours is intrinsically good, which is silly. The universe is neutral. In the MU, just like in the Prime, people have kind and cruel feelings, good and bad motivations. It’s dumb to pretend otherwise, and I’m delighted that we’re going to see how Georgiou can change it. Having her go back in time to her MU was a great idea that I didn’t see coming. By killing Stamets, she has already changed it.

Last episode, in my personal mini-review (not posted here), I said, “I like the development of the Burn plot, but if only it had been a non-Federation ship which Starfleet had tried to rescue.” And wahoo! My wish is their command. At least, I assume that a “KSS” ship is not Federation, even though the Kelpians were part of the Federation. Not sure about that point.

Special favorites:
Carl the Doorman, who reminded me of Jeff the Doorman in The Good Place minus his frog.
Stamets reciting the pseudo-Shakespearian poem in the extravaganza.
Georgiou’s saying, “Our future is unwritten. Let’s make it count, shall we?”
The Adm. Vance scene.
Georgiou telling Burnham, “Learn when to shut up!”

Let me be clear: I’m not saying Discovery has great writing or great acting yet. But most of the actors have always been good, sometimes excellent. In this eppy I even thought Mirror Burnham was good, even with the whispering. And the writing is clearly at a different level now.

So, I'm on board for this one.
Set Bookmark
The Queen
Sun, Dec 6, 2020, 9:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Nemesis

Luggage, thanks for that screen test link. It shows just how badly the actors were served by the directing. I just recently watched this movie, and my very first negative reaction to it was that Stewart's acting in the wedding scene was terrible. It didn't make sense to me, but now I have an idea why.

On the DVD, Brent Spiner says that he and Logan wrote the script together (though he later says he mostly wrote the action scenes), and that Berman did additional work on it, and it went through a number of revisions and what sounded like rather complete rewritings before it was finally accepted. Logan was supposedly a Star Trek fan, but how knowledgeable he was, I don't know. And of course Spiner is far from an experienced writer.

Sad that this wasn't done better. Seems like it was almost a "Discovery season 1" level of accident waiting to happen.
Set Bookmark
The Queen
Sat, Dec 5, 2020, 4:05pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

Midshipman Norris - I will sign up for your "genuine science fiction writer" petition too. And you're my hero for this:

"I was thinking something along the lines of saying *why* Jett Reno is so acerbic to everyone she meets. Perhaps learning why Owesekun is so shy around people. Something."

Oh, please, yes! Would it be so hard? (Apparently it is. Sigh.)

I gather from certain comments that there was a scene at the very end where Culber and Stamets threw around "they" a lot? I didn't see that because CBSAA cut off for me a few minutes before the credits, insisting on showing me little tiny boxes of all kinds of other shows, while Discovery continued in its own little tiny box. Don't know what was up with that, but maybe that's why I thought the nonbinary issue was handled well and others didn't.
Set Bookmark
The Queen
Thu, Dec 3, 2020, 10:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

Most everybody has already said what I would say. I liked the fatherly aura Stamets had toward Adira (and the actor said in The Ready Room that they think of Rapp and Cruz as their "dads"). I did wish Dr. Culber would tell Georgiou, "You're not in your universe now, get over it!" Nick, the preview in The Ready Room for next week explained what's up with Georgiou; I won't spoil it for others, so take a look if you want.

I thought this was a satisfying episode with only minor flaws (Saru's search for a command phrase seemed silly to me). Not top of the line, no major turning points, but solid and "feels like Star Trek." I mean, they solve Kajain's problem with a little help from Disco, they fudge their orders creatively and effectively, and best of all, Detmer and Ryn become people.

The one thing that bugged me was something that this entire franchise has done forever, but in this show 1000 years from today, it seems even more unlikely. When you're in a tight spot as a pilot, you can't depend on the autopiloting any more, you have to go to manual. This blows my mind. It's like turning off the computer when the calculations get too complex, and just doing it with our brains. Come onnnnnnnnnn. It was fun to see Detmer so revved up, though.

I don't think the Calypso's Discovery is the mystery ship. Where would it have come from? If it was some magical copy of Disco left behind when it jumped into the MU, wouldn't it have been mentioned when they came back? And it can't be from after they reached 32nd century Starfleet, because that's 1031-A and the Calypso ship doesn't have an A. I really hope it's some other species' Federation ship - though I expect that's asking too much of the writers.

The "Federation summer camp" scare tactic made me groan. Nobody anywhere has ever scared their kid with threats of summer camp.

So, not bad overall, I'm relieved to see Burnham following the chain of command and - shockingly, LOL - being allowed to go on her mission.
Set Bookmark
The Queen
Mon, Nov 30, 2020, 1:48pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Unification III

Zulu - The Android Picard didn't turn me off from that show. I can still be persuaded if they come up with a good second season. I was asking Booming if that was what he disliked about it.

Trent - Loved the TNG episode Unification III. You should write for Disco.

Sjan - "Patient" storytelling, Yes! That's what's missing.

Since several people have mentioned that SMG was "good" or "okay" in The Walking Dead, I watched a few episodes last night as I've never seen that show. And I agree, she was fine. But her role was really minor and I was surprised that she was picked to go directly from that to a lead role. She did have her whispering quirk even in that show, but not nearly as noticeable.

I only watched eppies from the fifth season, because all the gore would never be enjoyable for me, but I was impressed by the quality of the show. Both the acting and the writing were uniformly good. The directing seemed uniformly good; I especially liked that there were often scenes with no dialogue at all, and no music either. You could just watch without being told how you should feel. And there was none of the intrusive camera work that both ST: Picard and Discovery have - SUCH a relief. I also greatly enjoyed the ensemble style.

So I have a couple of questions for people familiar with that show: Which is more typical of fantasy/scifi television these days, TWD or Disco? As far as the overall production style/camera work/treatment of characters? And, does SMG have a bigger role in later seasons, or is the 5th season typical?

I don't mean to get off the track, but from what I saw it seems like SMG was always going to be over her head in the Michael Burnham role, and she's obviously getting no help from directing.
Set Bookmark
The Queen
Sun, Nov 29, 2020, 8:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Unification III

Booming -

Picard destroyed Star Trek for you by . . . . . . .?

If you mean by making him an android, then yeah. I'm going to watch the new season to see what they plan to do with that, but it worries me.
Set Bookmark
The Queen
Sat, Nov 28, 2020, 11:27pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Unification III

Picking up on some various comments -

I did have the thought, doesn't Book have any couriering to do any more?

I can't see Jett Reno as First Officer at all. She strikes me as a loner, or at least far more comfortable in a reactive than proactive mode.

I deal with Burnham's tears and whispers by keeping her on mute all the time. ALL the time. You never know when she will strike.

I actually was hoping to see Gabrielle again, but this seemed way too soon.

The emotionalism of the "debate" could be partly attributed to the fact that Romulans are now in the society. Still, that doesn't explain everything.

For me, the most frustrating part of this whole show is that, through interviews in the Ready Room, I get the impression that quite a lot of thought has gone into Burnham especially, and the plot in general, BUT IT DOESN'T COME OUT ON THE SCREEN. The writers just clearly aren't up to their task. I haven't done a lot of research on the Star Trek writers in general, but I do remember reading that the TOS writers at least had what I would call a deeper background in "real" science fiction. The other series had some great writers too, of course. And this was even though many episodes did fail, but overall the quality was there.

I don't know enough about the nuts and bolts of TV production to know how much the directors and various producers affect the quality of the show. I don't even understand why TV shows have so many producers. Doesn't this one have about 12?

I wonder if the age of the franchise is showing. It must be challenging to write a show that has so many prior constraints on it. And every new Star Trek series adds more. They're obviously trying to do fan service, but is that a good idea? I don't remember that Next Generation and DS9 made such an issue of it (I haven't watched Voyager in decades).

I also wonder if the current fad of comic-book and fantasy shows all over the place is part of what's drawing the show away from the old-time Star Trek feel. I haven't watched any of those shows - nothing since Babylon 5 and Firefly - but it seems like everything is about superheroes now. So Michael Burnham has to be one too, or they think people won't watch.

Kurtzman, I think it was, clearly said that Discovery would be action-oriented and Picard would be character-oriented, apparently to clearly differentiate them. I don't really understand why he thought that was necessary, but it sure explains the weakness of this show.

Both shows were always intended to be "fully serialized" along the lines of Babylon 5, but it doesn't seem to be working well for Discovery. The writing is rushed, as if they're trying to accomplish too much. They wanted to make a show that focused on a character who wasn't the captain, but face it, she IS the captain in all but name. All the other Treks had lead characters with more, and more varied, acting experience, and all but Bakula had even done Shakespeare. (I may be wrong about Bakula; I just quickly researched this stuff.)

I guess what I'm saying is that all of what should be the pillars of a good show seem weak here. Producers and writers who are more in tune with comic books than real science fiction. Directors some of whom aren't even familiar with the franchise. A lead actor with less than stellar experience (say what you will about Shatner, he'd done some Shakespeare and plenty of other TV work and was fairly well respected). All trying to function in a fiercely loved fictional world that literally inspired millions of fans. It's not surprising that they're having trouble.

So I keep watching, agreeing about the many flaws, but hoping they can pull it off. But I sure miss D.C. Fontana.
Set Bookmark
The Queen
Thu, Nov 26, 2020, 11:37pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Unification III

Well, that was something. At first I was very high on this episode because of the takedown of Burnham by her mother, the human Qowat Milat. That was very necessary and satisfying, and persuaded me that the writers do have an actual vision of this character. Unfortunately, first impressions matter, and it will take more than one epiphany by Burnham about how duty is joy before I'm convinced that she's growing up. However, in the excellent and revealing "Ready Room" for this episode Sonequa Martin-Green went into great depth about the character, assuring Wil Wheaton that she has had many discussions with the writers about Burnham's past and present. I highly recommend watching it if you haven't already.

But as others have mentioned, making Tilly Acting First Officer seems like a mistake. I can see from past scenes, especially this season, that Tilly has been maturing fast, but still it was obviously done for cast purposes, not logic. I would not be in favor of introducing a new character - we have too many unknowns already - but surely someone else could have been chosen. Detmer? Unlike other people, I am getting less and less confident in Saru's competence as captain.

Not only did I love the clip from Unification 2, I thought it was actually needed. I did not think the clips of Spock's childhood were needed.

Although Burnham cries far too much, in this eppy I actually wanted her, at some point, to break down about Spock and say, "I miss him so much!" THAT would have been appropriate.

Overall, this one worked for me despite its faults.
Set Bookmark
The Queen
Mon, Nov 23, 2020, 7:44pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

This is very, very late, but , to Booming -

I think it's useful to make a difference between what we want to watch for entertainment and what our attitude is about our place in society. So for SC to say they don't want to watch an ultra-realistic but ultra-depressing show, to me says nothing about whether they prefer to ignore the depressing parts of regular life. For some, no doubt it does, but for others, not. If I went too far in reading between the lines of your posts, I apologize.
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.