Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 26 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
The Gorn
Sat, May 18, 2019, 9:07am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

This has been posted before:

https://trekmovie.com/2019/04/25/interview-michelle-paradise-on-star-trek-discovery-season-2-finale-and-going-beyond-canon-in-season-3/

Q:
Can you give us an update as to how things are going in the writers’ room for season three and if there are any changes in the room from season two?

A:
A lot of people from season two have come back, including a lot of folks from the beginning of the show. We have added a couple of new faces as well who are wonderful writers and wonderful human beings. We are super excited about the makeup of the room. Of course, we have [executive producer/co-creator] Alex [Kurtzman]. I am running the show with him, but he is very much involved in the show and in all of these decisions we are having on season three and I am helping him along the way. We are really excited about how everything is going so far and how the room has come together. Again, there are a lot of folks from last season, so there was a lot of cohesion there. A lot of folks who have been there since the beginning, which is great.

---

We are really excited about the fact that "A lot of people from season two have come back, including a lot of folks from the beginning of the show."
Set Bookmark
The Gorn
Sun, May 12, 2019, 12:03am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: The Road Not Taken

Thanks @ Mertov!

I'm sure there are a lot of happy campers out there right now.
Set Bookmark
The Gorn
Sat, May 4, 2019, 6:00am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

I'm sure Y'all have already read this:

"Mary Sue stories—the adventures of the youngest and smartest ever person to graduate from the academy and ever get a commission at such a tender age. Usually characterized by unprecedented skill in everything from art to zoology, including karate and arm-wrestling. This character can also be found burrowing her way into the good graces/heart/mind of one of the Big Three [Kirk, Spock, and McCoy], if not all three at once. She saves the day by her wit and ability, and, if we are lucky, has the good grace to die at the end, being grieved by the entire ship."

If we are lucky...

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mary_Sue
Set Bookmark
The Gorn
Wed, May 1, 2019, 11:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

You could be right about the Beta Quadrant. But then, large parts of the Federation were wiped out by the Kling-Orcs just the other day and NOT ONE episode is dealing with the aftermath of this supposedly catastrophic war. That's what I hate about Disgracery. It's all flash, all about Burntoast, all popcorn, no substance. Just imagine, what the DS9 or BSG writers would have done with such material. Makes your eyes water actually...
Set Bookmark
The Gorn
Sun, Apr 28, 2019, 2:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: The Road Not Taken

@ wolfstar wrote:

"... and Ed's character works better in this slightly grittier iteration."

Absolutely!
I had a big cheesy grin when Bortus told him to "Sit !".
Set Bookmark
The Gorn
Sat, Apr 27, 2019, 7:09am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

@ Daya

Ha ha ha, good one!
Set Bookmark
The Gorn
Fri, Apr 26, 2019, 12:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: The Road Not Taken

Entertaining. I've seen a lot worse. It felt like a mishmash of 1) the Orville's take on a possible Mirror Universe, and b) Voyager's "Timeless" (probably because of the snowy mountains, lol). Hoping for a third season.
Set Bookmark
The Gorn
Fri, Apr 26, 2019, 12:13am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Thanks for the review, Jammer!
I haven't made it (yet) through the season, tried to binge-watch it, but once you have recognized all the flaws of the show, you cannot "unsee" them anymore.

For the record:
A matter-antimatter blast is between 200-380 times more powerful than a staged thermonuclear explosion (pressure gradient). It can be made smaller in scale, though. The radiation contamination/fallout would be similarly devastating.
Set Bookmark
The Gorn
Fri, Apr 19, 2019, 12:08am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

@ mosley
@ Baron Samedi

Well put!

@ Eric

I, too, had the exact same feeling that this was the finale of the ill-conceived Star Trek: Disastery. Oh, they're going to mention it here and there in some spin-off shows.

There seems to be yet another big turmoil going on behind the scenes. Apparently, CBS and Paramount are trying to reunite after the demise of Moonves, most everything is put on halt and the licensees of the Star Trek franchise are up in arms about the underwhelming merch sales of the JarJarTrek films & show.

If true, this indicates a major shift in the future endeavors of the Star Trek franchise, meaning that they're being forced to bring their designs and story lines much closer to the established mighty canon (and away from JarJar & BadReboot).

So yes, a Pike/Enterprise show seems much more likeable & profitable in the long run and hardly anybody would miss Mary Sue B.
Set Bookmark
The Gorn
Sat, Apr 13, 2019, 10:01am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

Oh, how right you are, @Dragana! My feelings exactly.

I'd like to adopt @SC's proposal and binge-watch season 2 once it has wrapped up. If I can make it through w/o destroying my screen, that is. Probably the best would be to watch it while doing cardio or something.

@Artymiss

An Enterprise/Pike/Culber spinoff would be awesome! Not sure if I ever get used to a bearded Spock w/o always being reminded of "Return to the planet of apes", but hell yeah, that would be awesome!
Set Bookmark
The Gorn
Sat, Apr 13, 2019, 2:06am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Sanctuary

I don't get sucked in easily these days, but this weeks episode had my full attention from start to finish. Bravo! I never thought I'd live to see the day when I actually like The Orville. Those last two episodes make me wish we'd get another five seasons.
Perhaps I enjoy seeing so many familiar faces from past Trek shows, I don't know, but this really felt like Star Trek to me, finally, after a very long time.
I can only hope that this wasn't too little, too late for FOX to renew it.

(And yes, Captain McFarlane was a miscast...)
Set Bookmark
The Gorn
Thu, Apr 11, 2019, 11:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

Oh, how I wish that Mary Sue Burnham would actually fly into a black hole!
But since she is the bestest evar at everything she does, she might actually return and haunt us for a third season...

I imagine a planet in the far future, full of Burnham statues, where people are worshipping the only person in history who was the bestest evar at everything she did, the second coming of you-know-who. Of course, it will be a blatant rip-off of The Orville's "Mad Idolatry", but who would be better suited for idolization than the bestest evar?

(Please forgive my sarcasm but sometimes I can't help it...! This show is such a convoluted mess even after two seasons, it beggars belief.)
Set Bookmark
The Gorn
Thu, Apr 11, 2019, 12:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Through the Valley of Shadows

SC wrote:
"I wouldn't believe anything he is saying. Him and his followers clearly hate the show and call it 'childish STD.' They don't want a season 3 or a new Picard series to be made. Man babies, all of them. If they don't like it, no one is allowed to enjoy it."

I thought about that for a moment and perhaps you are right. But then, if you placed a keyboard with but two buttons in front of me, one says "I LOVE STD" and the other "I HATE STD", I could not, for the life of me, push the "LOVE" button.

In season 2, the good news is that they put in more light, so that you can better see what’s going on. The bad news is, that you can better see what’s going on.
And what is going on in STD, is, that an idiot god descends from heaven in every episode, making everybody as stupid as possible to make sure Mary Sue Burnham seems smart by comparison.

(I borrowed that from another review, but it expresses my own view very well.)
Set Bookmark
The Gorn
Thu, Apr 11, 2019, 7:32am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Through the Valley of Shadows

Interesting rumors:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XFwNeP9Dj5M

Nothing to do with the rest of season 2, but with the future of Discoprise / S31 / Picard.
Set Bookmark
The Gorn
Thu, Apr 11, 2019, 3:25am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Through the Valley of Shadows

Good review, Jammer!
You are correct on all counts. I sometimes wonder, if Kurtzman still has the ability to cringe repeatedly - like we do all the time at the other side of the screen? It is my observation, that successful media people often have no shame at all (or can quickly overcome this pesky feeling).
Set Bookmark
The Gorn
Sat, Apr 6, 2019, 4:35am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Through the Valley of Shadows

No edit function, sorry!
Set Bookmark
The Gorn
Sat, Apr 6, 2019, 3:50am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Through the Valley of Shadows

MadManMUC said:

"Brave of you to admit this in public, I can respect that! :D"

My pleasure. lol

"Well ... I don't know how I feel about this yet, but it seems the season finale is going to be ... interesting:

https://thatshelf.com/its-about-time-will-star-trek-discoverys-season-finale-chart-new-course-for-the-series/"

Well, it's ... different.

But with the whole universe constantly revolving around Mary Sue Burnham, wherever she might be, and with the same quality writing staff, what could possibly go wrong?
Right?
Set Bookmark
The Gorn
Sat, Apr 6, 2019, 2:22am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Through the Valley of Shadows

wolfstar said:
"I'm not clear on the bursts thing either.

As MadManMUC writes, we're told in Brother that seven signals have been detected spread out over a range of 30,000 light years, all appearing within the same 24 hour period. We're shown images with their locations on the map. Discovery heads to the location of the nearest of these red bursts, which is the asteroid debris field in Brother. So far, so clear."

I remember season 2 of Enterprise, the infamous Borg episode (which I liked, btw). A few moments before they managed to destroy the augmented Borg shuttle, they detected a subspace message directed towards the Delta quadrant. They estimated that it would take the signal 200 years to get there.
Talk about inconsistency.
Set Bookmark
The Gorn
Thu, Apr 4, 2019, 7:28am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

This show is such a mess.

But it is funny you should say that, Jammer. I too started watching [I]The Wire[/I] only recently, because it has been mentioned numerous times and I stopped watching [I]Her Royal Highness Mary Sue Burnham[/I] altogether. First time 'round.
Set Bookmark
The Gorn
Sun, Mar 31, 2019, 11:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

LMAO.
Nice review, Jammer!
Set Bookmark
The Gorn
Sat, Mar 30, 2019, 2:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

@Alan Roi
Try the decaf, mate ;-)

I mean, we all get carried away from time to time and I'm no exception.
One can't really compare BSG with Discoprise. BSG was excellently written, played and executed for the most part, with quieter moments and time to breathe. I could easily relate to many of the BSG characters, whereas Discoprise is just BANG, BOOM, WALLOP, flashy camera angles, lens flares, breathless action filmed in 30p and played back in 60p, everything revolves around one woman (I refuse to call her an actress), JJTrek: The Series.
Not my cup of tea.

I wouldn't want to drink a beer with any one of the Disco cast, I wouldn't feel honored to be aboard the vessel, after almost two full seasons I still don't give a f*** about the crew members. This show is a non-starter in my book and I stopped watching it.
All style and no substance. You can't say the same about the critically acclaimed BSG reboot.
Set Bookmark
The Gorn
Sat, Mar 30, 2019, 1:18am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

Just imagine, once the Picard show finally airs, Sir Patrick himself is going to info-dump on us that the universe wouldn't be the same if it wasn't for the awesome Michael Burnham. Nice little cross-references at every turn to prop up this sh...ow.

I have stopped watching ca. mid-season. The first season, for all it's flaws, used to capture my interest with all the "batsh!t-crazy-bonkers" action going on there. It felt like a drug-driven series of loosely connected scripts by Hunter S. Thompson. The writers must have been on cocaine and bourbon all the time. But this was getting old fast and I simply lost interest. Most of the characters in this show aren't that interesting either. Life's too short and all that...

But I shall continue reading this blog with all of your amazing contributions. Between you and me, this is much more enjoyable than watching the actual show!
Set Bookmark
The Gorn
Fri, Mar 29, 2019, 1:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

@Mal

Great post !
Set Bookmark
The Gorn
Thu, Mar 14, 2019, 1:20am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

Thomas M wrote:

"When the show hinted that the Red Angel was from the future, my first reaction that it might tie into the Short Trek “Calypso,” since that episode seemed so far removed from anything the show was actually doing (and the Saru short tied in directly to the season).

Rewatching “Calypso,” it still doesn’t seem to connect to anything, although the main character in it, Craft, who is human, has a big tattoo on his back that looks somewhat angelic (turns out its a cyclops owl, a native species from his colony planet).

Otherwise, the idea of time travelers from the future intervening in the past reeks a lot of the temporal Cold War from Enterprise, so much so that I’m inclined to wish it was tied into that. At least that would provide a decent sense of continuity I suppose.

However, I suppose if this Red Angel is trying to stop the destruction of all life in the galaxy then that means the show is creating the future that leads to Kirk and Picard and Sisko et al. from a natural timeline where everything was destroyed (not unlike when the temporal agents saved Enterprise at the end of season 1, I suppose). This would supposedly preclude the 29th century time cops from intervening."

I may be a simpleton, but here is how I see it:

Discovery is still using the spore drive, which, in some way, harms the mycelial network, which in turn can effect (and even destroy) "all life as we know it". No need to look any further. They have to get rid of the spore drive at some point and this "story line" is the set-up for the inevitable anti-climax that will follow.
Set Bookmark
The Gorn
Sat, Mar 9, 2019, 2:51am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

Nice write up, Trent !

So, the Talosians can project illusions into the minds of distant visitors, fine.
Yet in this episode, they could even fool the foreign sensor array of the shuttle into believing that there is a black hole in their flight path. Uh huh. Or was it just a product of Michael's vivid imagination? I get the feeling that the producers are desperate to generate at least one thrill a minute to prop up this show.

Oh, to be a fly on the wall of the writers room (if there is such a thing)!

It is my belief that the CBS brass learned early on about the limited acting capabilities of SMG. Yet she was cast as the lead actress, which gave them quite some head aches. Thus followed general order #1 to directors and the film crew: Make Burnham look awesome in every possible way to compensate for her obvious flaws. And they tried very hard, no doubt.

I don't hate the actress, but I am really annoyed by the way she is presented here. The many close-up shots of her, especially during season 1, with that smug expression "see, I'm always right" makes me want to punch my screen. I guess I'm developing the kind of PTSD I got from too many FRODO close-up's, lol (off topic).
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.