Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 27 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
The Chronek
Sun, Apr 18, 2021, 9:58am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The City on the Edge of Forever

"City" deserves all the praise it gets. There are many great reasons why it has made critics' lists for best Trek franchise episodes and best hours of television over the decades.

I rewatched the episode last night with my wife and 7-year-old son. My son had seen Trouble with Tribbles before, but was unimpressed. This episode had him riveted throughout. Yes, McCoy was genuinely scary after he accidentally OD'd. Yes, the drama around whether Edith Keeler would live or die was riveting.

I'm more of a Next Gen fan. Next Gen was on first-run during my impressionable teenage years; I suspect Jammer and I are pretty close to each other in age, maybe a year or two apart. But I had seen TOS in syndicated reruns, and I had seen TWOK thru TVH before TNG debuted. I loved TOS, too, and this episode was a big reason why.

As for Harlan Ellison and his scripts? Well, he was a very talented, award-winning writer. But Star Trek was still in its first season, finding its footing, always within a whisker of cancellation. I've read Ellison's scripts and edits for the episode, along with all his "woe is me, Roddenberry screwed me over" bitter commentary. I think the changes made to Ellison's script made it better. I think those changes made this episode the classic that it is. And I'm pretty sure it was Dorothy Fontana who made those changes.

I remember reading a story, I think in Esquire, about Frank Sinatra shooting pool somewhere around his 50th birthday, and Harlan Ellison was there. Somewhere, words were exchanged, Ol' Blue Eyes got pissed off, and his friends had to stop him from stomping a mudhole in Ellison. Not that Sinatra was any kind of angel himself, but Ellison was a jerk in his own right. I kinda wish Frank's friends hadn't stopped him.
Set Bookmark
The Chronek
Wed, Feb 10, 2021, 4:26am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

POSSIBLE SPOILERS BELOW. YOU'VE BEEN WARNED. FOR CRIPE'S SAKE, YOU'RE ON A STAR TREK EPISODE DISCUSSION BOARD, WHAT DO YOU EXPECT?

Jammer's wife and I must agree on this episode, because I thought the season finale was better than you did, sir. For the record, I watched TNG in first-run from start to finish. I can see why some of the old fogies like us don't care for Discovery, the reboot films, etc., but I'm enjoying Discovery.

I like Trek for its continued dedication to showing that everyone has a place and for reflecting current events. I don't think it's that much of a stretch to say that the fractured Federation depicted in Discovery's third season very much mirrors a fractured US and a fractured world in current time. Some people probably didn't like it. I thought it was apt.

I think it was in the second to last episode that had the discussion between Osyrra and Vance about the Chain joining the Federation. I liked how that discussion was portrayed. Vance was willing to listen and be reasonable, but he was justifiably cautious about Osyrra. I like that he wanted to hold her to account for her crimes. To compare her with another criminal in another franchise, she's no Tom Zarek. Zarek, I could at least sympathize with more. I ultimately found him to be self-serving and out for power, but he had flashes of decency and practicality. Osyrra struck me as someone who would only do whatever serves her and not what's right.

As long as I'm comparing Discovery to BSG, I'm ok with the music not being fully explained at the end of this season, just like I'm ok with Kara Thrace not being fully explained by the end of BSG. For me, the bigger questions were answered with Discovery. Does the crew survive? Will they fit in with the current Federation? Will they resolve the conflict with the Chain?

I'm not fully onboard with how emotional everyone seems to be on Discovery. I can buy it a bit, though. They left everything and everyone they knew behind. At the start of the season, they didn't even know if they'd fit in with the Federation during this time, let alone if there even was a Federation. It was, and is, a traumatic shared experience. That kind of thing shakes you. Takes a while to find a new normal and steady yourself emotionally after that.

I could take or leave Mirror Georgiou. I can kind of see why Discovery's crew was attached to her, thanks to the whole time-jump all-alone-out-here thing. Sure, she was a pain, but she was their pain, and she was good in a fight.

I'm also ok with Burnham getting promoted. She, too, had to find her place. Burnham's background aside, it's clear that in this season of Discovery, the Federation isn't what it used to be, so it makes sense that highly qualified, experienced officers would rise the ranks quickly. But, "hey, we've been decimated and we need every warm body we can get" doesn't make for an inspirational season-ending speech from an admiral.

Not sure if I'll sign up again for CBS All Access in time for Discovery's fourth season, but I'll get around to it. Picard? I'll subscribe in time for the season 2 premiere.

Side note: the Lower Decks series was a lot of fun, too.
Set Bookmark
The Chronek
Fri, Dec 25, 2020, 5:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

I know The Mandalorian also ties in a lot of stuff from what was once the Star Wars expanded universe. I'm only a little familiar with that stuff, and I didn't feel like I was missing anything by not religiously knowing the SWEU. Admittedly, the Thrawn reference was really cool in The Jedi.
Set Bookmark
The Chronek
Thu, Dec 24, 2020, 2:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

I loved this episode. And the build up to finally reveal Luke Skywalker was pitch perfect. I didn't know I wanted or needed that emotionally, to see Luke again. Not gonna lie, I teared up seeing him. I didn't feel like it was solely for nostalgia, either. Post-ROTJ, there aren't many Jedis left. Who better than Luke to come to the rescue and train Grogu?

Mandalorian is the best Star Wars since Empire.
Set Bookmark
The Chronek
Wed, Dec 9, 2020, 4:51am (UTC -5)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 14: The Tragedy

I've really enjoyed the whole spaghetti western feel of The Mandalorian. Favreau has visual humor down pat. Music is fantastic. Great acting, writing and directing. And the fourth wall breaking moments, such as the imperial sharpshooter/that's not saying much exchange in the first season, don't take anything away.

I've been a little wary about the old Expanded Universe being worked in. And I previously thought Boba Fett was overrated. Boy, did this episode prove me wrong.

I enjoyed the sequel trilogy. I know there's a lot of hate for TLJ, but I think it was the best of the new films. That said, The Mandalorian blows away any Star Wars since The Empire Strikes Back.
Set Bookmark
The Chronek
Sun, Oct 18, 2020, 1:58am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Inner Light

What a beautiful episode. Even after almost 30 years, this is still one of the best hours of television I've ever seen.

Before Picard debuted earlier this year, I made a list of TNG episodes to revisit with my wife, who had rarely seen any Star Trek. I wanted her to have a good idea of who Picard was and what experiences had shaped him. I think of all the episodes, this one affected her most. Heck, I think this one affected me most.

For the record, that list of pre-Picard revisit episodes also included Skin of Evil, The Measure of a Man, Best of Both Worlds 1 and 2, Family, The Drumhead, Tapestry and All Good Things.

I love that the lullaby played by Kamin's son made it back to become part of the opening theme for Picard. It's such a lovely piece of music.

Oof. That final scene. Frakes is so underrated as an actor. By this point, the TNG main cast was really doing well with each other. Frakes and Stewart convey so much without saying a word before Picard takes the flute out. What a great performance by both men.

One of TNG's finest hours, and one of Trek's finest hours. If I need to be a crying mess, I'll put this episode and The Visitor on back-to-back.
Set Bookmark
The Chronek
Sun, Oct 18, 2020, 1:35am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Unification

Young me loved this episode because it brought together Spock and the TNG cast. Young me also loved anything Trek and was curious about what Spock meant when he said he had to deal with the consequences of Kirk's final mission and what that meant for The Undiscovered Country, which came out about a month after this two-parter.

Older me loves this episode for other reasons. By then, the main TNG cast was clicking on all cylinders acting with each other. I loved the scene in the beginning of part 1, when Picard and Riker are discussing Spock and Sarek and their difficulties. Then, to sum up the estrangement, Picard says, "fathers and sons," and Riker agrees with him. That's a great moment that touches on problems that both Picard and Riker had with their respective fathers and their empathy for what Spock must have experienced with Sarek. Berman Trek did a great job of providing small moments that referred to other Trek moments and trusting the audience to connect the dots without a lot of guidance. Another example of this occurs in DS9's fourth season, when a visibly concerned Worf, upon hearing that
Keiko is going to have another baby, asks, "Now?"

I also love the scene that Spock and Data share, with both of their observations on humanity. Did it say a lot? Maybe not, but it didn't have to. For me, it was enough to have both TOS and TNG's humanity observers share a scene together.

The scene between Picard and a dying Sarek is both beautiful and heartbreaking. Well done by both Sir Patrick and Mark Lenard. Equally beautiful and heartbreaking was the final scene in part 2, in which Picard and Spock shared a mindmeld so Spock could access Sarek's thoughts.

Plot holes? You betcha. Dated, cheap production in spots? Sure. Scooby Doo villainy on Sela's part? Yep.

But there are so many other great parts. Worf singing Klingon opera. Data doing the Vulcan nerve pinch on Sela. The Klingon ship captain busting Picard's and Data's balls over the mission difficulty.

I still love this episode. It's not the best of the series, or even of TNG season 5, but I still enjoy it.

3 stars for both parts.
Set Bookmark
The Chronek
Tue, Aug 11, 2020, 11:51am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

@booming

So, I'm a Kurtzman apologist simply because I enjoy the new stuff? Am I a paid CBS shill, too?
Set Bookmark
The Chronek
Wed, Aug 5, 2020, 12:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

I'll watch Lower Decks, but I'll wait on it. If I resubscribe to All Access for Discovery season 3, I'll binge it then. Or, if by some miracle, we get a definitive premiere date for Picard season 2, I'll wait until that premieres, then binge it all.

Gods. Why do so many "real" Trek fans feel a need to be douches to those who are fans of the new stuff? Get a life.
Set Bookmark
The Chronek
Fri, Jul 10, 2020, 11:55am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Scorpion, Part II

I liked this episode a lot. I enjoyed it when it debuted 23 years ago, and I enjoyed it upon rewatching it last week. Great drama, great acting, great special effects, great music, great dialogue, great introduction for 7 of 9.

Any inconsistencies with previous Borg portrayal can be easily explained away. The Federation was now helping the Borg? Like Janeway said, the Borg to their knowledge had never faced such a threat. And Picard never had recoded nanoprobes that the collective could use as a weapon against a mortal enemy, so he was never in any position to negotiate.

Heck, Best of Both Worlds made a change from Q Who, in which the Borg weren't interested in human life, only their technology. Certainly that minor change doesn't take away from BOBW being an all-time classic. I don't think any minor Borg changes in Scorpion take away from the episode's quality.

I don't think it was necessarily an easy way out to make both Janeway and Chakotay "right". They had to get back to trusting each other, and I think the way they handled Seven's eventual betrayal was the best way to do that. I think this was a moral dilemma that fit in with the best grey area explorations of DS9.

As for why no Borg ships had come after them after species 8472 retreated, I have no problem with that. They had just been in a deadly conflict with a mortal enemy and were possibly licking their wounds. And the episode following this explains how Voyager made it farther out of Borg space.

4 stars from me.

I have spoken.
Set Bookmark
The Chronek
Wed, Apr 1, 2020, 12:29am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Rewatched this Sunday night with my wife. My opinion of this episode has improved a lot.

Picard's death was impactful. I can see why the others reacted as they did, even knowing him a short time. They didn't know at the time that Picard would be reborn in a synth body.

Jurati had her great hero moment. A little convenient, but what the hell. I enjoyed the banter between her and Picard.

I agree with Jammer that the Blue Skies reprise retroactively made Nemesis better. Nice touch to bring Data's story to a close.

I'm not usually one to watch show discussions, but Wil Wheaton is fantastic on The Ready Room. His love and enthusiasm for Trek is infectious. His interviews with the cast and crew reveal some nice details. And the other clips with guys like Kurtzman and Chabon show that yes, they get it. I may not always like the choices they make, but they know Trek, and they explain why they chose to move the story the way they did.

I'm not sure if Kurtzman always understood Trek. I'm positive that he does now. And this is coming from someone who didn't like the 2009 reboot.

Yes, this was a job for them, but it was a labor of love.

Time for me to catch up on Discovery and Short Treks. Stay safe and healthy, all.
Set Bookmark
The Chronek
Sun, Mar 29, 2020, 9:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

So....thoughts.

Upon first viewing, I was underwhelmed. I felt the Picard death/resurrection to be unearned with its emotion. To all those who said Picard would become an android last week, kudos, you got it.

I get Raffi being emotional. I get Elnor being emotional. They had established personal histories with Picard. But I don't buy that level of emotion from the rest of the supporting cast.

I liked the scene with Picard and Data in Picard's post-death vision/dream/complex simulation thing. That's the kind of sendoff Data deserved. That was well-earned emotion, mostly from TNG, but also from Picard's journey as we saw during the season.

The trouble with Star Trek main character deaths is that I inevitably compare it to Spock's death and resurrection in The Wrath of Khan and The Search for Spock. That still remains the gold standard for any main Trek character's death. The characters really made significant sacrifices to bring Spock back: their careers, their freedom, the Enterprise, and of course, Kirk's son. By comparison, Picard's death paled.

I agree that Jurati needs to stand trial for her crimes. Romulan influence or not, she still killed a man. This isn't some cultural differences thing, like when Worf claimed right of vengeance against Duras.

I would have liked to have seen Q back in the finale, picking up where he left off near the end of All Good Things.

Heck, maybe my disappointment in this episode comes from what I wanted to see.

So, now I'll catch up on Discovery and Short Treks.

Stay safe, all. LLAP.
Set Bookmark
The Chronek
Fri, Mar 20, 2020, 6:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

FFS.

And I thought The Last Jedi and the 13th Doctor hate brigades were bad....
Set Bookmark
The Chronek
Fri, Mar 20, 2020, 11:59am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

Brief addition: I liked the Picard line about anyone treating him like a dying man runs the risk of pissing him off. I think it was very much in character for him. He's a Starfleet officer gone rogue. And when shown as an old man in "All Good Things," Picard is quite grumpy with other people when he feels like they're treating him with kid gloves because of his Irumodic syndrome.
Set Bookmark
The Chronek
Fri, Mar 20, 2020, 11:25am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

@Steinway,
I thought the synths' collective reaction was ok. They didn't know Picard was on the ship when they sent the orchids, but I think it's ok to assume that Soong Jr. spoke favorably of Picard to the synths, thus their reaction of gathering around initially as opposed to more hostile measures. Also, it made them feel more alien to me.

Yeah, the focus on each individual character's face before they walked up to the compound didn't work for me either. I would have bought the shots if the compound itself was more visually awe-inspiring, but it didn't do much for me.

I wasn't bothered by the synths just hanging around the compound. Part of it contributed to the alien feel for me. And it fit in with the attitude that hey, we're better than organics, so why go explore when we don't need to?

I don't think it's wholly fair to compare Spiner's performance in this episode to those of Frakes and Sirtis in Nepenthe. Frakes and Sirtis were reprising their longtime roles, while technically, Spiner is playing a character other than Data. Splitting hairs, perhaps, but to me, there's a difference.

Not the best episode, to be sure, but it's no "Shades of Grey" or "Threshold" from the infamous Trek garbage pile for me.
Set Bookmark
The Chronek
Fri, Mar 20, 2020, 7:57am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

I agree with the comments saying that this episode was a step down in quality from the previous 3 episodes.

Good to see Spiner again, but the nitpicker in me wonders if his appearance as Soong's biological son contradicts anything that previously said he was childless. The writers have done a pretty solid job so far of accurately referring to previous Trek stories, so my guess is no, it doesn't contradict anything. Still, it felt off somehow.

Were those xB corpses that 7 kicked out of her way? I thought they were Romulans, but I'd have to rewatch it to double check. I can see her doing that to Romulan corpses, but I don't think she'd do that to xB's. Again, not sure, I'd have to rewatch. I don't have a problem with her kicking Romulan corpses unceremoniously. After all, they spaced a lot of drones.

I agree with the predictions that Agnes doesn't make it out of the finale alive. I commented as such to my wife while watching the episode last night.

I thought that the costumes on the synth planet were a nice tribute to William Ware Theiss. Trek has definitely used sex appeal before, going all the way back to TOS, so the Theiss titilation theory is nothing new.

I was also ok with the Picard/Raffi "I love you" exchange. They've been through a lot, and with how the episode is set up, there's reason for them to believe they won't survive the coming Romulan attack. Clearly, Picard means a lot to Raffi, which is why she was so disappointed in him for leaving Starfleet, why she was so hostile to him when he came to her for help, and why she has so far agreed to go with him on this journey.

I can even see why the synths would want to wipe out other life. I mean, not cool, but understandable considering the Federation's synth ban and the fact that there's 200+ Romulan ships on their way to wipe them out.

I guess I'm talking myself into a more favorable review than I initially thought. 2.5 stars on the Jammer scale for me. Here's hoping the finale will pay off.

LLAP, fellow hermits.
Set Bookmark
The Chronek
Tue, Mar 17, 2020, 1:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

I'm ok with how Starfleet and the Federation are portrayed on Picard.
The Dominion War and the Borg were more than enough to motivate the Federation to become more isolationist. Add in a bunch of Romulans seeking refuge and an attack on Utopia Planitia by the synths, and sure, I can see them becoming more paranoid.
Much of Star Trek has dealt with the fear and distrust of the other. And with all the above attacks, the Federation would feel justified in its fear of the other and not be so inclined "to explore strange new worlds," seeing what it's got them.
Set Bookmark
The Chronek
Tue, Mar 10, 2020, 8:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

@Gerontius, I think Riker was being metaphorical in describing Soji as a teenager. She's just starting to discover who and what she really is, and that's certainly part of being a teenager from a human vantage point. So, there's some truth to his statement, regardless of how biologically/technologically old she really is.

I think there's a lot of love on this thread for Star Trek, both from the folks who like Picard and those who are critical of it. I know I was very critical of the 2009 reboot. I still don't care for it. As a result, I haven't watched Into Darkness and Beyond, and I was skeptical of Discovery. I probably never will watch Into Darkness or Beyond. Life's too short for me to watch or read something I won't enjoy.

I think that, perhaps more than other franchises, Star Trek fans feel more personal ownership in the franchise. Fan response saved TOS from being cancelled after its second season. Fan viewership in syndication eventually led to Star Trek conventions, and ultimately, The Motion Picture, more films and more TV series.

Does Picard use nostalgia? Absolutely. Am I nostalgic for Star Trek? Without a doubt, yes. Star Trek, and in particular, The Next Generation, is a big part of my life. I was an adolescent when it started and a young college student when it finished. Like many Trek fans, I suspect, The Next Generation showed me that I have a place in the bigger universe, even as in real life that universe was telling me the exact opposite.

Emotionally, for me, watching Picard is like spending time with a loved one who has died. It's a gift that I didn't think I would ever have, and I treasure that extra time that I thought I would never have. Maybe that makes me nostalgic. Maybe that makes me more willing to overlook some flaws. I can't fully intellectualize watching Picard. I just can't. Maybe that makes me uncritical.

Maybe that makes me human.

For those of you who don't enjoy Picard or Trek in its current form, that's your prerogative. I'm sure you all bring your own lives and experiences to Star Trek and how you view it. I would only ask that you remember that those of us who enjoy Trek in its current form also bring our own lives and experiences into it and view Trek through that prism, too. IDIC and all.
Set Bookmark
The Chronek
Tue, Mar 10, 2020, 6:55am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

@Booming,
I don't think anyone responding here has said that Picard was 100% arrogant, full stop. Yes, other characters have called Picard arrogant. I will reiterate, I don't think Picard is arrogant all the time, or even most of the time. He is my favorite of all the captains. I wouldn't be watching Picard otherwise. I believe that Picard's good and noble qualities far outweigh the incidents of arrogance I've seen from his character, both in Next Gen and in Picard. Riker and Troi must believe that, too, or they would not have welcomed him as warmly as they did. I think Raffi believes that too to an extent, or she wouldn't have come as far with Picard as she has. All I'm saying is we haven't seen his entire life onscreen, and there's a small kernel of truth that he can be arrogant at times.

I will again point to Picard saying "we're ready to least face anything" in Q Who as an example of arrogance. I think he was arrogant with Q in Tapestry, when he thought he could go back to his youth, change a life-altering event, and have it have no effect on his life. To be fair, Picard was grateful to Q for the lesson at the end of that episode.

I think even Picard acknowledges he can be arrogant at times. His admission to Riker that he was in over his head certainly felt self-aware of that trait to me.

I think hubris and arrogance are pretty closely related in terms of coming from a place of self-perceived moral superiority. I don't see much of a distinction between the two.

Of course the Picard we're seeing now isn't the Picard we saw in Next Gen. Everyone involved in the show has said as much. Stewart himself said as much at STLV 2018 when he announced that Picard was back. People change. People have different experiences that influence how they act. That's just life.

I agree that some people, perhaps many people, in Picard view him as an ivory tower saint. To that, I say that is a bit true as well. What would you think of someone who essentially packed up their ball and went home? Is it entirely true of Picard? No. He has shown before that he is willing to get involved to make things right, even at risk to himself, and his is showing that again by going on his current mission.

As for Stewart returning to the role, I don't believe he would have returned to it unless he wanted to.
Set Bookmark
The Chronek
Mon, Mar 9, 2020, 11:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

@Marvin,
I suggest you decide what you want from Picard and not impose it on others in the form of the royal "we." You don't speak for me any more than I speak for you.
Speaking for myself, yes, a more human Picard is something I'm enjoying watching. Heck, I'm delighted to see new stories with him. After Nemesis, which was a disaster, I'm glad to see new Picard stories written and produced by people who care a great deal about the franchise and these characters.
While Picard has a great deal of nostalgia, I don't think it dwells on it. I think that the Starfleet/Federation as depicted in Picard is very much a reflection of our current times, and I think that's something that Trek in general has done very well over the decades. I also enjoy the depiction of a more aged hero, which is something else Trek has done very well over the decades.
Yes, Picard is more of a character study. Stewart himself said it would not be a clone of The Next Generation. That's fine with me.
What do I want from Picard? The chance to see Patrick Stewart back as Picard. The chance to see a story that explores the human condition. For me, Picard delivers on both fronts.
I agree with Walrus1701D. This show is a gift.
Set Bookmark
The Chronek
Mon, Mar 9, 2020, 10:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

Walrus1701D, I largely agree with you about your assessment of TNG. That said, after season 3, when Berman and company took over, there were a lot more stories that weren't quite so cut-and-dry, and the show was better for it. Ensign Ro and Preemptive Strike particularly stand out for me.

Q frequently called Picard and humanity arrogant. Heck, the JAG in The Measure of a Man called Picard a pompous ass. His own brother thought he was arrogant. Heck, I thought Picard was arrogant when he told Q that he thought the Enterprise was at least ready to face whatever was out there, only to have his proverbial nose bloodied by the Borg. For Picard to be called as such now isn't new. As viewers, we saw a lot more of Picard where he wasn't arrogant, but there were enough characters who saw him as such to suggest it's not entirely false.

In All Good Things, Future Riker may have thought Picard was arrogant for going off on his own. In the Enterprise series finale, which takes place during the 7th season episode Pegasus, Riker slips up and asks Mayweather if Trip ever took a swing at Picard. For all that was wrong with These Are the Voyages, I thought that was a nice touch to show that maybe things weren't always sunshine and rainbows between Picard and Riker, and it shows that maybe Riker thought Picard to be arrogant at times. To paraphrase a line from Return of the Jedi, maybe the arrogance thing is true, from a certain point of view.

Just before Soji shoved Picard, she said how, given her recent experiences, that she wasn't able to trust anybody. I don't remember the exact words Picard said in reply, but they came across to me as very sarcastic and cutting, as if Picard couldn't understand why Soji wouldn't immediately trust him. So, Troi telling Picard he had it coming isn't a stretch for me.

Nepenthe rang true for me. I think it had fantastic references to Next Gen, I think that the Riker and Troi we saw were true to who they were on Next Gen and changed enough from their time on the Enterprise, and I think the Soji storyline really started to take off. She is now wondering who and what she is and whether anything is real. She is very much starting to explore the human condition, and that has been at the heart of the very best of Star Trek.
Set Bookmark
The Chronek
Mon, Mar 9, 2020, 1:15am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

I have to wonder, for those complaining about this show, what will be good enough for you?

There's various complaints about the writing. Michael Chabon won the freaking Pulitzer, for crying out loud. And he has serious scifi cred as a winner of both the Hugo and Nebula awards. Akiva Goldsman won an Oscar for adapting A Beautiful Mind. Kirsten Beyer wrote a number of Voyager books and is well-steeped in Star Trek lore. Sir Patrick himself is an executive producer and has provided significant direction for the show. Short of resurrecting Gene Roddenberry, what will be good enough for you?

There's complaints about the music, but I love it, especially the music for the opening credits. It's abundantly clear to me that Jeff Russo took a lot of time, effort and love to create that opening theme, from the piccolo to the reference to Batai's flute-playing in The Inner Light to the end with the wonderful TNG/TMP Jerry Goldsmith theme. And then there are complaints about how intrusive the music is. Hello? Have any of those complaining ever watched Best of Both Worlds? The music was VERY prominent in that two-parter, and I've seen very few complaints about that.

I had my doubts about Alex Kurtzman. I still don't care for the 2009 film, and I probably won't watch Into Darkness or Beyond. But it seems like his role now in Star Trek is largely to get the right people involved, whether it's writing, directing, acting, whatever. Based on what I've seen from Picard so far, Kurtzman has done a fantastic job in that respect.

If you don't like something, fine, but that doesn't mean you speak for "real Star Trek fans" or whatever other nonsense. Fandom is toxic enough with all the gatekeeping that goes on. The people who watch Picard and enjoy it are real Star Trek fans. Someone who just started watching Star Trek today and decided they enjoy it is a real Star Trek fan.

Also, I watched TNG first-run, in its entirety. Watched TOS in reruns. Watched all of DS9, Voyager and Enterprise. I can't wait to hear, as someone who enjoys Picard and has watched Star Trek for a long time, how I am not a "real fan."
Set Bookmark
The Chronek
Fri, Mar 6, 2020, 3:24am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

More thoughts.
I thought Picard's treatment of Soji was quite in character for him, even going back to Encounter at Farpoint, Disaster and Pegasus. He was consistently uncomfortable around children, unsure of how to handle himself. Sure, Soji appears to be a young woman, but he is treating her somewhat as a child.
I was a wreck for many of the scenes of Picard reuniting with Riker and Troi. After the mess that was Nemesis, I didn't think we'd get to see them together again. Not only do we get to see them together again, we get to see them with perhaps some of the best material they've had. Next Gen is my Star Trek.
I think, in his review of All Good Things, Jammer wrote about how the characters came together to solve problems. Picard's dinner with Soji, Riker, Troi and Kestra felt very much like the characters on Next Gen coming together to solve a problem. This is Star Trek. Sure, it's not exactly like Next Gen, but it's still a fantastic episode with fantastic acting.
I've watched The Ready Room quite a bit while watching Picard. It seems like everyone involved gets it. Yes, even Kurtzman.
4 stars from me.
Set Bookmark
The Chronek
Thu, Mar 5, 2020, 11:14am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

Loved loved loved this episode.

So good to see Riker and Troi, and not solely for nostalgia. They really got to flex their acting muscles.

The Raffi-Rios-Jurati scenes were also well done.

Would have liked a different ending for Hugh, but oh well.
Set Bookmark
The Chronek
Fri, Feb 14, 2020, 11:33am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Absolute Candor

@Bold Helmsman

I've noticed that, too, about the old fans treating the new fans like they aren't "real fans." For what it's worth, this older fan used to think the same thing about newer fans, and it took me a while to come around.

Anyhoo, welcome to the fandom and to the page. Whether you've watched everything Trek-related or you just got started with Trek, you're a real fan in my book.
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.