Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 410 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 17
Set Bookmark
Latex Zebra
Thu, Feb 11, 2021, 4:52am (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

And Gina Carano is out of there!

I think it is a shame that she couldn't wind it in a bit on socials. Just because you have an opinion on things doesn't mean you need to share it to potentially millions of people. Seen people screaming cancel culture and that this is an attack on free speech. I received a polite talking to because a post I made on Facebook was reported to my employer. I am small fry. Not doing or saying things that can cause disrepute to your employer has long been a contractual obligation from employees.
So, yeah, a shame it came to this but Gina had it coming.
Set Bookmark
Latex Zebra
Wed, Jan 27, 2021, 5:39pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

Just burned through 3 episodes on Amazon and this is very silly, a little annoying, but fun. I'll definitely see out the series based on this.
Set Bookmark
Latex Zebra
Sat, Jan 9, 2021, 6:05am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

TPTB for years seem intent on telling us the story of how the Federation was formed. Failing pretty miserably with Enterprise it seems like the producers of NuTrek decided the best way to do was to send a ship far into the future where the Federation is fucked and then rebuild it.
OK, certainly not the worst idea. Sadly they were saddled down with the baggage of earlier seasons. Mirror Georgiou and having to work around the fact that the lead character is not the captain. It feels like the burn was a convoluted way to mess up the Federation and get Saru off the bridge. Then we have the wasted portion of the season getting rid of Mirror Georgiou as they decide to give her a series that might not actually happen and can't just kill her off. When you step back from that, IMO, there was some half decent Trekking to be had. Not amazing but good. Not enough to get me excited for the next episode but enough to make me want to see what happened next.
So now we're in the perfect position for the writers. They have the captain they want and the setting they want. I really hope that they reign Burnham in a bit next season, allow the bridge crew to shine. Give us lots of Vance because he is just brilliant and let us see the rebuilding of a galaxy. It would be nice not to have a specific season long arc. I don't think it is needed. We know where the story needs to go now.
So I'll be back for the next series. I just hope they can use the blank canvass they have creatively now.
Set Bookmark
Latex Zebra
Sat, Jan 2, 2021, 7:54am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Deja Q

You would have certainly seen it in that jump suit.
Set Bookmark
Latex Zebra
Fri, Jan 1, 2021, 4:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: There Is a Tide...

Much better than last weeks borefest. Vance is a G. I like him. I think he handled the negotiations well. She stole a ship and kidnapped it's crew, like he is really going to trust her fully.
Agree with many that it was nice for the crew to have something to do. Stammets outburst makes sense. Yeah, good stuff.

I've enjoyed some of this season and been meh for some of it. Whoever coined Discount Seska though. Take a bow, so glad that has stuck.
Set Bookmark
Latex Zebra
Sat, Dec 19, 2020, 6:02am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 2

Wow, that was a fast review Jammer!

OK, that was an OK end to a needless story told because the writers put themselves in the position of having to write out a character who they've decided to give her own show (that we're not even sure we want) rather than develop her ongoing on the show. It wasn't awful, The Guardian of Forever thing didn't bother me.
I'm just glad this is out of the way and we can get back to the story I am interested in.
Set Bookmark
Latex Zebra
Fri, Dec 18, 2020, 3:12pm (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

Oh and Jon Favreau and Dave Filoni, they get Star Wars. Disney, give them whatever they want. They need to be helming this ship from now on.
Set Bookmark
Latex Zebra
Fri, Dec 18, 2020, 3:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

That was an amazing end to a really good second season. Agree that story wise it's not really breaking any new ground but it just moves along, very little fat on any episode and they are a breeze to watch.
That end credits scene was a doozy as well.
Set Bookmark
Latex Zebra
Fri, Dec 18, 2020, 3:25am (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 15: The Believer

@Jammer - Awesome, look forward to those. My son is a huge fan. He reminds me every Thursday night we have The Mandlorian the next day.
Thank the maker for Baby Yoda/The Child/Grogu for getting loads of kids into Star Wars,
Set Bookmark
Latex Zebra
Thu, Dec 17, 2020, 7:05am (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 15: The Believer

@Jammer - Will you be retrospectively reviewing season one when this has finished?
I think you'll have a while before season 3 airs and I think season 1 has some great talking points.
Set Bookmark
Latex Zebra
Wed, Dec 16, 2020, 6:28am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: The Naked Now

I've always wondered what happens when Data "Arrives"
What would be fired out, motor oil, positronic lubricants, perhaps something else... And at what ferocity?
He could end up firing Yar through the Mattress.
Set Bookmark
Latex Zebra
Sun, Dec 13, 2020, 5:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 15: The Believer

@Leen - Yes because the economy of building a Death Star and loads of massive Star Destroyers and crewing them all is totally realistic.
Set Bookmark
Latex Zebra
Fri, Dec 11, 2020, 5:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 1

Yeah, way better than last week but I, like others are over the MU. If it take two episodes to get it done and then 3 to get us to a nice point for season 4 then so be it.
Set Bookmark
Latex Zebra
Fri, Dec 11, 2020, 10:20am (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 15: The Believer

Oh man. I can't believe we only have one episode left and then probably a year wait for the next one!

Still at least Disney+ looks to be dropping a lot of their Marvel content soon. But still!

Another cracking episode, the mess hall scene was amazing, tense as you like.
Set Bookmark
Latex Zebra
Fri, Dec 4, 2020, 4:21pm (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 14: The Tragedy

Not an ounce of fat on that one. At the start the short episodes really annoyed me, like I was being short changed... I realise now they just tell the story they need to and don't fill it out with crap. Man, did that get a lot in that half hour.
Wont drop heavy spoilers just yet but I think that will be everything we wanted to see in that character returning!
Set Bookmark
Latex Zebra
Sat, Nov 28, 2020, 9:57am (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 13: The Jedi

Oh man, that was amazing.
Thrawn getting a name drop was amazing as well. I read the EU books that first came out in the 90's with him in so the potential for him to be in this series is super exciting.
Set Bookmark
Latex Zebra
Sat, Nov 28, 2020, 5:43am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Unification III

@Dogcat - Much as I am enjoying this season I totally agree with you. One of the good things about the other Treks is much as they had their main focus on the Captain, everyone got at least an episode a season. I appreciate they had double the amount of episodes to work with and we got a lot of filler as a result but we also learned about the characters. That they focused on bit part players like O'Brien so that when he joined DS9 he was already a character you knew. No reason, like you say that some of these characters couldn't do a bit of the heavy lifting now and then.

So as for the episode. I liked it. I think the Tilly decision whilst definitely odd was actually handled well. The main story was a lot better, especially seeing Burnham get publicly shamed pretty much. I tuned out early on season 2 so not sure what the deal with her Mum is.
Set Bookmark
Latex Zebra
Sat, Nov 21, 2020, 7:38pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Scavengers

Enjoyed it but it felt a bit weaker, especially after the last couple of episodes. I don't mind action. Star Trek has action, that's cool. I do agree that Burnham's constant focus on the burn, whilst the sort of thing we'd expect her character to do is just full on. I could have quite happily had a season of just "Lets get used to the future" before they solved the mystery of the burn and get everything back as it was, or as near as. My worry is that the season finale will be the burn fixed and all the planets coming together again... Which is a great end goal but lets not spunk it in one season.
Set Bookmark
Latex Zebra
Fri, Nov 20, 2020, 3:10am (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 10: The Passenger

No need for ice spiders. Horrifying...

Fun episode though.
Set Bookmark
Latex Zebra
Fri, Nov 20, 2020, 3:07am (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 9: The Marshal

My Son and I loved this episode. The Tusken raider getting eaten instead of the Bantha bait was hilarious.
Set Bookmark
Latex Zebra
Fri, Nov 13, 2020, 8:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Die Trying

Yeah, another good episode. Not a world beater but entertaining and feels like Star Trek.
I continue to be happy with this season.
Set Bookmark
Latex Zebra
Fri, Nov 6, 2020, 7:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Forget Me Not

Got me in the feels that did.
A few bits were a little cheesy but overall that was a really good episode. Inclined to agree that it is probably Discovery's best. Enjoyed all of this season so far but that was up many notches. I hope they can continue this.
Set Bookmark
Latex Zebra
Fri, Oct 30, 2020, 8:21pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: People of Earth

I am enjoying this season so far. It's not amazing but I keep wanting to come back each week... and should the point arise that I don't. I wont. I'm not going to watch something that pisses me off. Learned that from many other TV series before this.
Set Bookmark
Latex Zebra
Tue, Oct 27, 2020, 4:48am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Living Witness

FAKE NEWS!
Set Bookmark
Latex Zebra
Sat, Oct 24, 2020, 6:48am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Far From Home

Apart from the "Burnham saves the day" at the end I pretty much enjoyed this episode.
Not off to a bad start and I am looking forward to seeing Earth soon.
Next ►Page 1 of 17
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.