Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 46 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
Tempeh
Mon, Apr 15, 2019, 10:27am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Ascent

I love how there's always a planet nearby when a ship needs to suddenly land. Anyway, this episode is uneventful and unnecessary. We've already had enough prior interaction between Odo and Quark; no resounding changes happen to thier relationship here. The B plot about roommates disagreeing about cleanliness is about as interesting as this sentence.
Set Bookmark
Tempeh
Sat, Mar 30, 2019, 11:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Nor the Battle to the Strong

I don't like this episode. It attempts to shock you while trying to make you feel back for Jake. It works a little bit, It's just not entertaining.
Set Bookmark
Tempeh
Thu, Mar 7, 2019, 9:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Blood of Patriots

I agree with the very first comment. Boring, and one of the worst episodes of the Orville so far.
Set Bookmark
Tempeh
Sun, Mar 3, 2019, 7:02am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Accession

This is probably one of the best Bajoran-centered episodes. Very compelling drama all around.
Set Bookmark
Tempeh
Thu, Feb 28, 2019, 9:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part II

A good episode, but very predictable. We knew Issac would change sides again, and that the Krill would come at the very last minute (see DS9 Sacrifice of Angels). The space battle was too busy to watch (see opening of Revenge of the Sith). Despite those major gripes, 3 stars.
Set Bookmark
Tempeh
Tue, Feb 26, 2019, 6:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part I

There are twice as many comments here than there are on the Best of Both Worlds Part 1 review. I'd say the Orville has made its mark.
Set Bookmark
Tempeh
Fri, Feb 22, 2019, 6:28am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part I

My prediction is that the whole genocide backstory and upcoming attack is just a test designed by Issac's people, to see how the Union reacts.
Set Bookmark
Tempeh
Thu, Feb 21, 2019, 9:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part I

An easy four-star episode! My biggest complaint is the intended attack on Earth. Attacks on Earth are a huge cliche in sci-fi.

Issac seemed a lot different once he was restored, and I'm not sure why his people are keeping him alive. I thought they said he had fulfilled his mission and would be recycled. Maybe I need to see it again.
Set Bookmark
Tempeh
Mon, Feb 4, 2019, 6:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: A Happy Refrain

It's getting too hard to read the comments on this site. Almost everyone is responding to other comments with the "@" symbol. It makes you have to scroll upward to find the original comment. Jammer, is there anything you can do, such as create a Reply button? If Jammer won't do that, can we all just agree to not be triggered by something someone else said? Just post your opinion of the episode and move on. Deal?
Set Bookmark
Tempeh
Thu, Jan 24, 2019, 9:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: All the World Is Birthday Cake

Interesting concept. Uninteresting episode.
Set Bookmark
Tempeh
Fri, Jan 11, 2019, 9:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Home

Many of you don't seem to know, but the actress who plays Alara was dating Seth MacFarlane at some point. This likely had something to do with her leaving. Someone on Reddit said this: "My sister works on The Orville and yes, they have been dating since last year. It's gross and the crew is pretty disgusted by it."
Set Bookmark
tempeh
Thu, Jan 10, 2019, 9:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Home

Wow Trent, you come here are read the reviews before you watch the episodes? I could never do that.
Set Bookmark
Tempeh
Sun, Dec 30, 2018, 9:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Ja'loja

I really didn't like it. The "plot" was all over the place and focused on things I have no interest in (the Captain's relationship, and parents arguing over kids.). I'd much rather have it be more about exploration of space.

I worry about the future of the show.
Set Bookmark
tempeh
Fri, Nov 30, 2018, 1:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Crossover

It seems that people either hate the mirror episodes or love them. I for one hate them, and so does my wife I personally can't get past the premise. It's passable on TOS because the show always had hokey premises, but on DS9, nope. If there was an alternate universe, the characters from Deep Space Nine would NOT be on the station, perhaps they would not be born at all. The dialog between Kira and Kira is unbearable to listen too. Necessary Evil did a much better job of showing the dark side of DS9. No mirror universe needed.
Set Bookmark
tempeh
Wed, Oct 31, 2018, 10:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Cardassians

Maybe one of you can correct me if I'm wrong. I think there is a problem with this episode that I didn't see anyone mention in the comments yet. Dukat's whole plan was to embarrass a political rival ahead of an upcoming inquiry concerning a military coup on Bajor. Let that sink in for a minute.

Now think about the beginning of the episode. The boy's dad brought him to the station, and then the kid bit Garak. This prompted an investigation and the kid's story began to be told. Basically, the whole thing happen by chance. If Garak didn't get bit, the whole story about him would not have been revealed, and the boy's true dad would not have been revealed.

So did Dukat plan the biting? I would not think do.
Did Dukat force the kid and his adoptive parent to come to the station? It didn't seem like it.

These random events just happened to occur right before the inquiry on Cardassia. I think that's a giant plothole, created when they made changes to the script.
Set Bookmark
tempeh
Mon, Sep 24, 2018, 7:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Q-Less

This episode was an obvious attempt to use TNG characters to attract viewers to the show, but it backfired. Q was uninteresting and out of place. Vash is okay, but hasn't developed any more since we last saw her on TNG, and she doesn't develop any more throughout this episode. Quark's antics are overly relied on to keep the viewer from falling asleep.

Plus, there's a problem: Why didn't Sisko evacuate the station when it started to be pulled to the wormhole? Earlier in the episode he said they might have to if the power fluctuations continue. I guess the writers needed the scene in Quarks to keep going.
Set Bookmark
tempeh
Tue, Sep 18, 2018, 4:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Babel

Babel follows the "disease episode" formula too closely to be memorable. That being said, it does have a lot of tension. Even before the disease sets in, we are shown how O'Brien is falling behind on maintenance, and everyone is pressuring him. People are trapped in corridors, unable to replicate food, etc. Then it gets worse as O'Brien becomes incapacitated. Then you have Bashir working feverishly to find a cure (pun intended), then he becomes incapacitated as well. It makes the situation feel hopeless.

Here's where it fails: As the senior staff member becomes infected one-by-one, each time presented in the same way. Person 1 starts babbling. Person 2 looks confused and says "what did you say?" This scenario happens at least three times.

Odo sure spends a lot of time at Quark's, but I enjoyed their interactions.

Less than average episode.
Set Bookmark
tempeh
Sat, Sep 15, 2018, 11:20am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Past Prologue

How does Kira know how to pilot a runabout (and so skillfully)? It's now happened in two episodes in a a row It's not like she attended Starfleet. Perhaps she gained flying skills in the resistance. Most likely it's because Kira's part was originally written for Ro Laren, someone who knew how to pilot Federation craft.

Anyway, this episode doesn't do too much wrong, but once you watch it you forget about it a few days later. Bland terrorist guy tries to do bland terrorist objective.
Set Bookmark
Tempeh
Sun, May 13, 2018, 9:52am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

"@Tempeh: That scene just looks ridiculous, and given that Carrie Fisher died, I thought that would have made a great death scene. Instead she does the Marry Poppins, and does some serious Force-Wielding without buildup. And remember, it wasn't just the vacuum of space - the bridge exploded. She should have been dead and burned. "

Do we require build-up when someone uses the force? I think it's more entertaining when it's a surprise. As for it being Mary Poppins-like, I don't know what the proper way to float through space is. It's going to look weird no matter how she floats back. Both arms forward would have been too Superman-like. Feet first would have been too M Bison-like. I agree she should have taken more impact from the explosion, but I have no other problems with the scene. In fact, I was emotionally moved by it.
Set Bookmark
Tempeh
Sun, May 6, 2018, 10:33am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Dave in MN: "Having a major character float around in the vacuum of space without any negative consequences is a extremely ridiculous plot development (and yes, I'm aware the series as a whole is built upon implausible coincidences). I thought using the force required substantial training?! So much for internal storytelling logic!"

There were negative consequences: she went into a coma.

I think the fans are overreacting to this scene. It's not really that bad. First of all, being in space doesn't mean instant death. You can survive 15 seconds before passing out. She was already passed out, but something within her brought her back. Not too unbelievable in the Star Wars universe. You also don't explode in space as many people think. You do start to swell though.

As far as the "substantial training" how do we know she hasn't had any? A lot of years pass between Return of the Jedi and this movie. Plus, would it take a lot of training to pull yourself in a vacuum? When astronauts are space walking, one little push against the spacecraft and they go flying off into space, which is why they have to always be tethered on the ISS. So one little tug of the force should be all that is needed to return to the ship.

The only problem I see is that she should have been traveling away from the ship after being sucked out. If I remember correctly, she was stationary before floating back.
Set Bookmark
Tempeh
Sun, Mar 18, 2018, 8:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Masks

While I don't have a top ten worst yet, there's no question Masks would be number 2 behind Shades of Grey. It was trying to be Shakespeare, but ends up being a kindergarten play.
Set Bookmark
Tempeh
Mon, Jan 1, 2018, 3:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Lessons

2.5 stars

Wow, an episode that actually has direct references to another episode (the Inner Light). For the most part, this is an entertaining one to watch. The high-point is Picard sitting in his quarters by himself not knowing if his girlfriend is going to survive. That moment is ruined a little later when he is talking to her again and reveals to her what he was thinking during that moment in his quarters. It sounds a lot less emotional when described in words.

Then we have the fast breakup at the end, as we've seen many, many times on TNG. Heaven forbid we have a long term relationship on the show. Well, I guess we have Riker and Troi, but still.
Set Bookmark
Tempeh
Mon, Jan 1, 2018, 3:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Birthright, Part II

2 stars

Worf is often portrayed as more human than Klingon, but in this case he is the Klingon expert, trying to teach the traditional ways to the other. That's interesting in itself, but this whole episode just seems uneventful. The characters just aren't that interesting, though I feel sorry for them all. It would have been better if Worf led an overthrow of the facility. N
Set Bookmark
Tempeh
Mon, Jan 1, 2018, 3:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Frame of Mind

3 Stars

The whole episode is one big, psychotic breakdown, which is both good and bad. Frakes is a good physical actor due to how he "lumbers" around. How cool would it have been if his character still suffered the effects of his mental illness for the rest of the series?
Set Bookmark
Tempeh
Sat, Dec 30, 2017, 2:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: The Chase

I saw this one when it originally aired, and did not like it. Now that I've seen it in 2017 in all it's heavenly HD glory, I have to say that I still don't like it. The pacing is too fast. Yeah, I know it's a "race" but too much happens too quickly; this would have been a great two-parter, especially considering the implications of what is going on.

That ending is the worst part because it's too unbelievable that a DNA algorithm is going to be compatible with a tricorder, let alone reprogram the device to project an image. It would have been better if they had found an ancient projector or something.

Oh yeah, that Klingon was a caricature.

1.5 stars
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.