Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 42 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
Disappointed
Mon, Apr 20, 2020, 12:54am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

The writing in Picard and Discovery is terrible. And I can just never understand why. Discovery was meaningless drivel but Picard had within it several premises that could have been developed into an engaging story. A Federation who had lost its way and was decaying and insular and crying out for a leader and orator of Picards quality.

Instead we got another poorly managed series of action sequences strung together with random events and magical objects that force the next meaningless action sequence.

The plight of the synthetic life forms never felt like a strong enough driver to take Picard on this journey and his end goal was never clear. And of course, if you think about it for a moment, was really a complete failure. Yes, he saved the small android colony of about 30 individuals, but the price was the horrendous slaughter of what appeared to be thousands of the former Borg. And it was Picard who condemed then all to death on his pointless quest to find someone who might be related to Data.

They could have died a valiant struggle and could have formed part of the larger narrative arc about the Federations selfishness and insular nature. Instead, after building up the size and horror of the Borg cube, of reminding us of the Borg's terrible power, they were all flushed into space and then, after gaining control of it (a terrible weapon and the use of which might have had consequences for the Federaton and Seven of Nine) it was immediatley crashed into a planet, taken out by a plant.

What's with the need to have massive fleets of spaceships in Startrek now? It's like they are trying to turn it into Star Wars. The original premise of Star Trek was that space was massive and the spaceships, like a battleship or submarine, were on their own in the expanse dealing with problems they found there. So Star Fleet can now magic up 300 battleships for a situation as minor as saving the lives of 30 androids, something the Federation aparently cared nothing about for the last 10 years. I am now surprised they had any problems fighting the Borg or the Dominion previously with these kinds of resources! Where was the impassioned speech to the Federation Council, where Picard alone managed to change opinions to save the day?

Finally, the whole premise of this last episode was ridiculous. Am I the only one who thought that the Romulans were actually in the right?! The warning they had seen was true, the efforts they put into maintaining their vigual was justified in the end when we saw what was the end of the signal. The means they employed had much to be desired but Picards crew seemed to be intent on sacraficing all organic life for the sake of these 30 individuals, none of whom seemed to deserve the efforts being expended on them.

I just wish the creators of these shows had more respect for the audiences and their ability to follow a more complex story. Given the swearing and gore in star trek now it seems that its targeted at a more grown up audience but the story is juvenile so I don't really understand who they are targeting any more. Gone is the science storys and technology and just a focus on poorly managed action sequences. Given the quality of actors, set designers and special effects staff they have, it just seems crazy the writing is as poor as it is.
Set Bookmark
Ghosted
Thu, Mar 26, 2020, 8:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Oh dear, that was..not the best. I respect the posters who enjoyed it, but overall the season fell very flat. It felt out if character for Picard to accept 'cheating' death without consent and a so readily be accepting of a robot body given his locutus experience. The data scenes I'm not sure about, I like the sentiment of a send off but it didn't feel totally like that was 'our' data. I'd echo startrekwatchers first post points which have been my bugbear throughout. Lots of promising avenues for the writers to use, but disappointing that this was the best they could come up with. Oh and I didn't like the warp jumping effect and too many ships just looked a bit too busy for the screen. I like the crew though so if there is a S2 also hope they use a more episodic format.
Set Bookmark
Ghosted
Sat, Mar 21, 2020, 3:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

On the 'I can tell if you are lying' aspect I put that down to being similar to when narek was asking for water and the Android said she could detect changes in heart rate, pupil dilation or similar if he was trying to deceive her.

@lynos, I fully agree about the cube facility workers, etc. The whole 'what are they doing on the cube?' was part of the mystery, but thus far has been a let down. Maybe Narek is off to let loose some borg related thing to tie in with soji's work on the cube. Maybe.
Set Bookmark
Ghosted
Sat, Mar 21, 2020, 11:11am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

Probably the most disappointing episode of the season from my perspective and anti-climatic after the previous 3 EPs. The rather flimsy plot did seem to unravel here too. It just seems a bit dull and dumb ultimately.

I did like the orchid scenes and the cube burning through the atmosphere looked awesome, but then the AI planet.. eesh. A commune was not really what I expected. Data must have enjoyed his time with the Edo! Also, unless Brent's character is lore (which is still a bit lame) then it's such a retcon/mistep to have him play soongs biological son. He was fine as an ancestor in enterprise, but...again?? Surely he could be better utilised. Hope there's an answer to why soji and dahj are not 'gold' unless I missed it?

I'm also not sure of the relevancy of the Borg elements at this stage and wonder if there is any. If so, it's a shame as the setup earlier in the season had some intrigue, but again nothing that worthy has come out of that. Please prove me wrong next week PIC!
Set Bookmark
Ghosted
Fri, Feb 28, 2020, 6:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: The Impossible Box

A solid episode I thought. I think Stewart's acting was excellent in conveying his fear and apprehension. Even in first contact where he was fit and able, Picard was still in a state of trauma for the most part though he got through it (despite breaking his little ships). He is now an old man with all of the frailties that come with it and i thought Stewart played 'the frightened old man' brilliantly.

The reunion with Hugh was touching and despite Hugh's close friendship with geordi, I think it's natural that Picard embraces him as they have both suffered and have come back from it. In I, Borg Picard is still suffering the after effects more acutely and does not see him as the individual he is initially.

Narek was a plus too this week I thought and some subtle further gelling between the crew, elnor and Picard felt more natural together for instance. Only minor gripe is that the Borg cube looks too modern and pristine, the 'Tron 2.0' alcoves take a little getting used to.
Set Bookmark
Ghosted
Fri, Feb 21, 2020, 12:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

i liked the cortical node reference, but I didn't think icheb ever had a Borg eye implant? Most brutal scene in star trek?

The Captain came off a bit 'lando' in the solo star wars movie. It was all quite fun, but can't imagine 'classic Picard' doing that type of French characature turn. Maybe retirement has loosened him up. The exchange with seven later was much more Picard and better for it. I should forgive Patrick Stewart a little enjoyment i think though.

Good to see seven back and as usual stole the scenes in a good way. I would have preferred 'Annika' to have had less trauma post voyager as she's certainly suffered more than most.

Also shame it wasn't the same Bruce Maddox as TNG and Marina Sirtis has a doppelganger it seems.
Set Bookmark
Ghosted
Fri, Feb 14, 2020, 7:45am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Absolute Candor

I got the feeling that the captain may be a hologram too or that's not the real him in some way, so am interested to see if that's the case.

Hoping that things get more interesting on the cube, they always felt like a chamber of horrors and giger-esque in the past but so far not feeling the danger yet.

Narek and his sister are the weakest part of the show so far, they don't appear to be particularly cunning. Ok ep though and nice to see a little green blood and of course, seven.
Set Bookmark
Ghosted
Fri, Jan 24, 2020, 4:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

A nice start on first watch and good to see positive comments above, I must admit the Picard day banner was lovely :). The theme whilst not overly memorable is probably reflective of Picard's stage in life so it's possibly better being on the subtle end of the spectrum I guess. Initial thoughts, it's a shame Dahj went so soon, Data was fine and sad b4 didn't make it in a way but also happy with why he didn't. I like the fact that they reference Maddox and are referencing TNG elements in a seemingly useful way. The big reveal would have been more effective without trailer spoilers ideally, but that's the way of things these days. Looking forward to the next episode.
Set Bookmark
Ghosted
Thu, Dec 12, 2019, 3:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: The Fight

Boothby channelling his inner Mick from Rocky?
Set Bookmark
Hatted
Tue, Jul 30, 2019, 10:19am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Samaritan Snare

I never liked this episode and I liked it less after listened to an interview with the screenwriter as part of the podcast The Trek Files. He describes Patrick Stewart being a jerk to him at the table read for "The Icarus Factor" and writing this episode to get revenge on him... which is a bit odd, considering that Picard actually has a pretty interesting part here. He also pats himself on the back for showing how "autistic people aren't stupid." (!?!?!)
Set Bookmark
Ghosted
Fri, Apr 19, 2019, 1:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

I agree that the studio purposely left their options open with that ending! kind of strange we didn't close with a discovery perspective.

For a moment there I thought they were going to go full Borg when Leland's voice started to sound very similar to the original Borg transmission voice from TNG and mildly possible spore drive/time crystal/nanobot infested leland cocktail which never materialised. I didn't want it to be an origin story but would have gone with section 31 experiment gone bad.

The admiral Cornwall sacrifice didn't have the impact it might have under more plausible circumstances. Blast door indeed! I thought she had potential as a character, perhaps even as a defacto captain of the future bound discovery. Perhaps others would reject that idea!

Production values were movie quality awesome I have to say. A lot going on yes, but in fine with the action here. I liked the clean cut blue shirted Spock fanservice and Rebecca Romjin as number one was good as was mount as usual. I don't think the emotion was overdone this time either and I was entertained throughout. In terms of the 'reset', it was between a rock and a hard place, either the writers time reset and render the characters' actions meaningless or they go with what they did which resolved things in a fashion leaving some meaning behind. Perhaps someone has a better third option, but it was resolved 'enough' for me. Many would argue that they need not give themselves that problem, but personally I enjoyed the time we had with 'the cage crew', pike, Spock and number one essentially.

Going forward I would rather a pike spinoff than a georgiou one (which sounds like a terrible idea) but not at the expense of discovery. However we got there, there's still an opportunity to do/see something's new in the star trek universe. Prequels, whilst interesting, generate too many continuity problems for a lot of people to tolerate. Of course the studio have the option to cancel with that ending, but I'd prefer the show to evolve if it can.
Set Bookmark
Ghosted
Tue, Apr 16, 2019, 5:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

@trent
I agree, the padding kinda made sense after reading jammer's review though I've felt 'some' of the emotional scenes in earlier episodes came out of left field and sometimes overdrawn. I felt for stamets, saru and Michael in their situations, but I was interested in the backstory information during the crew montage more than anything else...the more time spent with the crew, the easier it is to connect with them.

@daya
To boldly go where no sentient starship has gone before ;)

@alan ROI
Good catch with the Dr Burnham repeating control/Leland's mission line mentioned in your earlier post. The same thing occurred when I watched the episode, but on reflection I thought it was probably just dialogue so that Burnham could join the dots. maybe there's something in it though, we'll find out soon enough I guess!
Set Bookmark
Ghosted
Tue, Apr 16, 2019, 1:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

I do think the 'goodbyes' dragged out a little too much for my liking. I think I have a slight scepticism of these scenes because a few times we've seen similar rendered a little hollow later on. It needed to be acknowledged, but it just took an age to get through and was losing its impact with each scene imho. I agree with an above poster that the burham/ash scene would have been more effective if she'd continued walking as the run and embrace felt a bit Hollywood movie parody (I'm not anti-ash actually, but wouldve appreciated his last act as exposing Leland as control before being despatched). However I did like the montage of the crew in the same way that I liked the mess hall scene in the previous episode. There was nothing 'wrong' with the episode on reflection but it felt more like a filler ep for me.. hopefully there will be some payoff in the finale. I'm suspecting that the crew will end up in the future with the TOS characters having no memory of the events. Its a pity that burham is so dominant a character (and lost most of her Vulcanisms) I don't especially want to lose her/SMG but not sure she could be re-established as a more equal crew member. maybe this is an opportune time to write her out..lol or make her the first Borg queen :)
Set Bookmark
Ghosted
Sun, Apr 7, 2019, 6:22am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Through the Valley of Shadows

I thought yet again Anson Mount was excellent in this episode, especially the non-dialogue work with his eyes and facial expressions conveying the horror that Pike knows is ahead of him. I agree it's not necessarily the driver for Spock's actions in the menagerie and would have preferred to have seen a more developed relationship between them in discovery. I think pike is depicted as a symbol of what's at the core of the federation and that's why Spock would defy orders to help him. I'm wondering if pike will actually remember the events shown to him ultimately as I still suspect some kind of season finale reset event or sacrifice that reconciles the Spock/Burnham canon issue. On a side note, i'm kind of hoping that if there is a tie in to the borg, it's more that section 31 had been experimenting with recovered Borg nanobots and it has become its own thing rather than an origin story for the Borg. I've not seen or read potential spoilers though!
Set Bookmark
Ghosted
Sun, Mar 31, 2019, 2:05am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

@jon

My hunch is that they reset the events somehow so that Michael never gets separated from her parents and is adopted to address the canon issue. I think someone else already called that on the previous episode thread to be fair.

I've always had a feeling that the ship ends up in the future even back to the early mysterious Lorca days, it just gives them more room. Maybe it would hook into the Picard series that way?

What's your take?
Set Bookmark
Ghosted
Sat, Mar 30, 2019, 10:22am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

@steven

I just like the Picard quote and that scene reminded me of Picard's conversation with soren. I understand the different contexts :)
Set Bookmark
Ghosted
Sat, Mar 30, 2019, 5:20am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

Dr Burnham: "Time is savage it always wins"

Picard: "Someone once told me that time was a predator that stalked us all our lives, but I rather believe that time is a companion who goes with us on the journey, and reminds us to cherish every moment... because they'll never come again. What we leave behind is not as important as how we lived. After all, Number One, we're only mortal."
Set Bookmark
Ghosted
Fri, Mar 29, 2019, 10:55am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

Not sure how I feel on a 'leborg' scenario. I think in a way it would be cool to see a Borg origin story, but as a separate TV movie or something and origins unconnected to the federation. Something where techonolgical advancement gradually takes hold of and organic species and the lose control of the situation. If not, it could be similar to the way the alien film franchise went for example where more loss of mystery erodes the fear factor.
Obviously nothing to say we are seeing the Borg origins here of course, only time will tell and perhaps Leland and control are more akin to skynet and john Connor's nanobot transformation in terminator genisys. I also think Tilly should also be getting more of a social awareness at this point and not interrupting senior officers all the time. I do like her character but just a little more maturity when she's on the bridge perhaps. there's still room for her personality in the less tense scenes. Decent episode though.
Set Bookmark
Ghosted
Sat, Mar 23, 2019, 5:08am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Red Angel

@boo

I'm not especially trying to make 'a point', you're right that the events in the movie would be more dramatically character affecting which kinda is my point actually, i didn't feel they needed take it where it did, but makes for a more dramatic movie which I'm happy you enjoyed (as did I to a large degree). Awesome.
Set Bookmark
Ghosted
Sat, Mar 23, 2019, 2:19am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Red Angel

@boo

It's just personal opinion, something feels a little 'off' with the bad robot spock for me, but it's not ruining my life or anything. I don't really like the portrayal of Scotty either and takes that character too far in the comedy direction. I digress. Perhaps STID and the role reversals thing also contribute to that off feeling too.
I would have bought Spock/Uhura over a longer period of time and perhaps better suited to TV, but the coming together had occurred off screen in the movie. Spock/Kirk also feels a bit forced esp. in STID, though Spock/Bones is always good.

Yes DSC Spock is emotional too, but he's recovering from the affects of the red angel visions and there's scope to gradually become at least similar to the TOS era Spock in spirit and hopefully at some point, appearance. It may or may not happen but I don't think me or other fans necessarily miss the point, we can just accept the DSC version for what it is. Maybe it would work better as a different Vulcan character but either way it's not going to be Nimoy.
Set Bookmark
Ghosted
Fri, Mar 22, 2019, 7:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Red Angel

@Alan roi

Lol, I didn't think he was lip syncing another crew member or a kelpian backing track! The singing scene just made me smile unintentionally..just didn't feel like a natural singing scene and thought it was a little bit over dramatic for the actual time we spent with Airiam as viewers.
Set Bookmark
Ghosted
Fri, Mar 22, 2019, 7:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Red Angel

@boo
Nothing wrong with being a fanboy / fangirl / whatever imho...i guess that's why we're here commenting, however dumb that might seem. If you enjoy 'romantic Spock' then great. I prefer a more dispassionate, logical Spock that has a element of humour. I don't get that from the bad robot version. Doesn't make Quinto or Zoe S bad at their jobs, just that DSC Spock is closer to the version I prefer. It's not perfect but a TOS era Spock would not work either. It is what it is.

Not saying the sister recon is working for me either, but I have more of an issue with how the show has centered around that one character, hopefully that will change in the future.
Set Bookmark
Ghosted
Fri, Mar 22, 2019, 5:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Red Angel

Firstly ROFL at Saru's lip syncing during the memorial! it was good that the death was acknowledged but I felt my eyes rolling a little as seemingly each character had to make a similar speech plus the flag draping etc etc. As others have said it's a shame that Airiam's backstory was crammed into a single episode and perhaps the character has been a slightly missed opportunity overall despite the good episode last week. Hopefully there will be more (unforced) development of the ensemble cast going forward. I think Peck is fitting as a 'discovery' version of spock though giving him more scenes with Anson Mount would be good given the supreme act of loyalty in the menagerie. To recreate the iconic Nimoy version is impossible..but perhaps just a few more subtle character traits would help bridge the gap. Maybe Quinto's version maybe suffers from the awkward uhura relationship and is too emotionally driven? All in all enjoying the season so far (when not spore driving or in the mushroom network!)
Set Bookmark
OmicronTheteDeltaPhi
Thu, Feb 28, 2019, 8:37am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

Yeah, TNG season 1 isn't nearly as bad as most people claim it is. It's not great or anything, but it's still quite watchable.

Same with DS9 (which also had very high peaks with episodes like "Duet").

Voyager, actually, started very strong in my view. My main gripe with Voyager is that is just dragged on and on and on with recycled plots in the later seasons. But season 1 was still very fresh and very good.

As for Enterprise... I really don't get all the hate that series got. It was both fun and Trekkish. It (mostly) adhered to the established canon, while still filling in the blanks in one of the most fascinating eras of Trek history. What's not to love?
Set Bookmark
OmicronTheteDeltaPhi
Thu, Feb 28, 2019, 3:50am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part I

It was Booming, not Dougie that said he was having issues (stress-lated, not health-related). And he is alive an kicking (mostly in the Discovery threads).
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.