Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 75 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3
Set Bookmark
Andrew Taylor-Cairns
Fri, Mar 15, 2019, 4:57am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

3 stars this week, after last week's 4 stars.

The end was very good but I couldn't help but not be completely won over by Airtriam, and how the crew feel about her. She's been a minor character up until this episode, so it's hard. Tilly crying though...

The episode did a good job at trying though. I loved learning more about Airtriam and what she was like pre-implant.

It seems like the show is actually calling out the S31 of this era on being so out in the open. It all seems very intriguing.
Set Bookmark
Chris Taylor
Fri, Jan 11, 2019, 5:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Home

While I appreciate that the show was more tonally consistent (which made the scene with the new alien crew member more jarring) this episode was pretty boring. I do appreciate that it was a character driven episode but it really drug the first 30 minutes. It was a general improvement over many episodes so I am cautiously optimistic season 2 will be an improvement over season 1.
Set Bookmark
Chris Taylor
Sun, Dec 30, 2018, 8:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Ja'loja

So ..... that was ... something.
Set Bookmark
Betty Taylor
Tue, May 1, 2018, 12:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: In the Flesh

I am watching this episode and now after all these years I find it stupid. The writers could not find a descent subject to write about that week so they come up with BOOTHBY the mindless gardener to be in charge of STARFLEET!!!! Ugh! This just shows the great warriors 8472 are boobs! They stole the info to begin with yet cannot figure out that gardeners do not run the military. Possibly, that is why the Borg were able to infiltrate 8472 space to begin with!

The Boothby actor was one of my favorites when I was growing up but when they put him in Star Trek I felt sorry for him as he was like I am now, on his last legs. Actually, I stopped caring for him in MY FAVORITE MARTIAN because he took on that hateful and snide manner he used in as Boothby. I hate this episode and the regular cast except for Seven were idiots.
Set Bookmark
Betty Taylor
Wed, Apr 4, 2018, 10:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Babel

I remember finding this ep intriguing and couldn't wait to find out what would happen. This is one of my favorites. APAHASIA IS not funny or ridiculous...it comes about from stroke and or infarct[s]. In 2005 I went thru the stages of completing a stroke......listed as infarct by MRI readers. My memory loss began taking place in 1999. It was gradual and on daily basises I would be aware that I could not put words together. In Feb 2005 it completed. I woke one morning and did not recognize my home. While I am looking around I could hear loud meows!~!~!!!! and the cats came into the room, Punkin, looked at me screaming "mommy" I swear. I knew my babies. I made it out of bed and fed them all the time noticing the messes they had made...........I must have slept for a very long time because the cat food bag was ripped in pieces...they got their own....

I became frightened. I didn't know what to do. It took nearly 3 months to help myself feel and be normal. Jump to 2015, August--I went to bed one night in horrible pain and when I woke up the next morning I felt like I'd been smashed to bits and worst of all, I could not speak words properly. That was Aphasia, and believe me, no one will help you when your words come out wrong. I could not get help because I could not ask for it.

THEREFORE FOR ALL THE COMMENTS ABOVE SNEERING APHASIA TRY IT AND SEE HOW YOU LIKE!
Set Bookmark
Betty Taylor
Wed, Apr 4, 2018, 10:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: A Man Alone

Poor Odo. I don't remember what I thought of this ep when it first aired, nor any of the years following. At this time DS9 is running on a channel named Heroes and Idols and I loved being able to watch it again after more than 10 years.

Odo did not deserve being mistreated. It made me angry and I do know that would have been my reaction when the ep was new. The Federation? It is a worse idiocy than in TNG. Why does Sisko allow Odo to be so harrassed? No one seems to care except Julian who gets right on testing the goo in Ibudan's quarters.

I hope you fans know that DS9 was rip off of Babylon 5 as the creator had taken his script to these people etc etc and they dissed him....next thing.....DS9. And the actor playing Sisko was a teacher not an actor. I don't recall why he was chosen to play Sisko.

This ep felt like this: Nobody wanted to be there.
Set Bookmark
Betty Taylor
Sat, May 6, 2017, 3:47am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Spock's Brain

I have really got to sat I love these comments.

Pay attention, people: the reason the younger folks do get this treating women like crap and idiots it because even in the 1960's a girl, woman, grandmas and aunts etc lived under the taboo that good girls did not have sex until they married. People pretended that there was no such thing as fornication except in the Bible. Of course there was and a lot of girls wore their satin white wedding gowns down the aisles of said churches from three months pregnant on.

It was this way in Hollywood, if the female wanted to be in a movie or tv show, put out, biatch or no go. A few short months as the 1960's petered out, couples began to "shack up" and have illegitimate children. Soon it was the norm to be that open and in so many ways our culture is better off. You have no idea how bad it was and be glad you will never know.

With this ep I like it. I've been watching Star Trek since it began in the'60's.

I get a kick out of Spock being brainless and the hold back the laughter when everyone runs into Sick Bay and just look at Kirk's face as he does not crack.....this is precious!


+
Set Bookmark
Rick Taylor
Sun, Apr 30, 2017, 12:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Chain of Command, Part I

"And I STILL am not sure if the writers of the show meant for the audience to be angry with the crew, or angry with Jellico."

I think the writers were leaving it open, allowing the viewers to come to their own conclusions. If so, this board is evidence they did a great job.
Set Bookmark
Andrew Taylor-Cairns
Thu, Jul 7, 2016, 5:42am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Shadowplay

After the drivel that was Paradise, this light, amiable piece actually felt quite welcome. I think the only effective part of the story was Odo's with the little girl, which was a joy to watch.

I can't actually rank this more as average, but as fluff goes, it's good fluff.
Set Bookmark
Andrew Taylor-Cairns
Thu, Jul 7, 2016, 5:17am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Paradise

What a mediocre episode. I'd forgotten it existed until I watched it again, wish I never bothered!
Set Bookmark
Andrew Taylor-Cairns
Tue, Jul 5, 2016, 2:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: First Season Recap

I think my Top 10 for this season would be:

Duet
In The Hands of The Prophets
Progress
Dax
Captive Pursuit
Vortex
Emissary
Past Prologue
Battle Lines
The Forsaken

I think my top 2 are the only excellent episodes this season though.
Set Bookmark
Andrew Taylor-Cairns
Tue, Jul 5, 2016, 1:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: The Siege

So I'm on my (latest) rewatch. I (finally) made it through to Duet and In The Hands of The Prophets, and of course the excellent Circle trilogy.

The Siege is definitely the weaker part, as the crew stalling on the station manages to slow any pace that had been built up in the previous two episodes.

I still also feel that it is an absolute waste to go the trouble of creating and building up Li Nalas, just to kill him off in a heartbeat. I wonder what role he could have played in later Bajoran stories. Oh well.
Set Bookmark
Andrew Taylor-Cairns
Fri, Mar 4, 2016, 5:39am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Reunion

An excellent episode! It's so sad seeing K'Ehleyr dead, but Worf's reaction, and then murdering Duras, was all fantastic to watch. This is one of those episodes that never loses its power over me.
Set Bookmark
Andrew Taylor-Cairns
Wed, Feb 24, 2016, 9:33am (UTC -5)
Re: Site Version 7.0 (2016)

I love the new design, it looks really good on my phone. On my laptop the writing looks huge, but I always take it down to a 90% zoom for browsing anyway as it's the trend with modern websites to be mobile friendly.
Set Bookmark
Andrew Taylor-Cairns
Wed, Feb 24, 2016, 9:26am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Samaritan Snare

What a weird episode. The Pakleds are kind of fin at first, but there isn't enough to them to have an entire plot dedicated to them. They're the kind of race that probably would never master space travel, so it's an oddity that they meet the Enterprise here.

The other plot where we learn about Picard and his heart is the most interesting, and is very intriguing.
Set Bookmark
Andrew Taylor-Cairns
Fri, Feb 19, 2016, 6:15am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Skin of Evil

This episode always gets me, but it sneaks up on me.

I think Armus is a terrible villain, and I think a lot of the scenes on the planet were bland and repetative. Yar's death was a bit botched, even if I do agree with idea the writers had to give her a random death. The type of death a security officer should face all the time (as it did in TOS all the time).

Two things save the episode for me. After Yar died, Armus asks Data what should happen to him, Data says "I think you should be destroyed." The way he says it almost shows emotion, and I loved that moment. It hints back to the almost special relationship they had after having sex during The Naked Now.

Of course, her holo-funeral at the end hits me every time. I don't know why, being as Yar was only in season one, and her lack of development was one of the reasons Crosby left was the lack of development. Nevertheless, talking to each character gets me misty eyed.

I always wonder what Yar could have been like in Michael-Pillar-TNG in season three. You know, besides changing the timeline back to how it should be.
Set Bookmark
Andrew Taylor-Cairns
Sun, Feb 7, 2016, 9:36am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Savage Curtain

Well in the midst of a lot of season 3 episodes that were fluff/out of character/ridiculous/boring (delete as applicable), The Savage Curtain was OK. I was certainly entertained, but there just wasn't much substance here.

It was much better than watching The Way to Eden last night before bed, where I was worried about having song montage nightmares. Now that is a monstrosity of an episode, and I would advocate giving it a minus score.
Set Bookmark
Andrew Taylor-Cairns
Tue, Jan 26, 2016, 10:50am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: Revenge of the Sith

I think 3 out of 4 is fair for this one. I'd actually rate it just above the also flawed, but also entertaining ROTJ.

The lack of chemistry between Anakin and Padme again hurts the film but there is so much other stuff happening that your attention is diverted. There was a general sense of everything going to hell in this film.

I think Palpatine/Sidious's rise to power was the one truly interesting theme that ran through the trilogy, and I feel that Ian McDiarmid steals the film.

Lucas's big problem with the prequels was that he only had enough of a story to make one good film. It would have been interesting to let other directors and writers in on the process like he did with the original trilogy.
Set Bookmark
Andrew Taylor-Cairns
Tue, Jan 26, 2016, 10:36am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: Attack of the Clones

I think TPM is slightly more watchable than AOTC; I would rate both of them 2 stars (or 2.5 at a push for TPM). As people have said here, the stilted Anakin/Padme relatuonship is a hard sell, and it hurts the film more than Jar-Jar in TPM.

C3P0 was very annoying in the factory scene too.
Set Bookmark
Rick Taylor
Sat, Sep 26, 2015, 11:44am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: The Last Outpost

I remember watching this with my friends when it came out. We were all excited to see the new alien race. We'd heard somewhere the Ferengi were to take over from the Klingons as the federations new menacing adversarial race. There'd been that ominous line from Picard in the first episode when Zorn threatens the station might ally with the Ferengi: "Fine, let's hope they find you as tasty as they did their past associates." Ohhhhhh, we didn't know what that meant, but the Ferengi sounded evil and dangerous.

So we were all worked up. And then we saw them. As my friend put it, "Mutant hobbit accountants from outer-space." Oh well. By the end of the season, it was established that the Romulans would take over from the Klingons as the new as the federation's new menacing adversarial race.
Set Bookmark
Rick Taylor
Sat, Sep 26, 2015, 11:43am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: The Battle

Whoops, I'm sorry, I posted that to the wrong thread. Would it be possible to delete it?
Set Bookmark
Rick Taylor
Sat, Sep 26, 2015, 11:42am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: The Battle

I remember watching this with my friends when it came out. We were all excited to see the new alien race. We'd heard somewhere the Ferengi were to take over from the Klingons as the federations new menacing adversarial race. There'd been that ominous line from Picard in the first episode when Zorn threatens the station might ally with the Ferengi: "Fine, let's hope they find you as tasty as they did their past associates." Ohhhhhh, we didn't know what that meant, but the Ferengi sounded evil and dangerous.

So we were all worked up. And then we saw them. As my friend put it, "Mutant hobbit accountants from outer-space." Oh well. By the end of the season, it was established that the Romulans would take over from the Klingons as the new as the federation's new menacing adversarial race.
Set Bookmark
Taylor
Sun, Aug 23, 2015, 3:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Measure of a Man

OK, I'm also an attorney but I can't say I care that the legal "procedures" may seem unrealistic - it's Star Trek and there are so many things that we could nitpick in any episode, many of them considerable improbabilities. Admittedly this is an individual thing, depends on how some episodes strike us, and sometimes I'm the nitpicker as well ...

The subject matter is compelling. Re-watching this episode I kept thinking of Blade Runner ... which very much taps into the "slavery" issue. That's an emotionally powerful angle, although the most intriguing aspect for me is simply that dividing line between humanity and AI, and how we envision an ultimate future when that line is blurred ... thus why's it's been the subject of so much sci fi over the decades.
Set Bookmark
Taylor
Sun, Aug 23, 2015, 2:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: A Matter of Honor

Definitely a good episode, although I agree with the nitpicks. The Klingon captain acts too stupidly, and the same can probably be said about the Benzite (even though we know it was the writers' attempt to show the challenge in changing/adapting to "alien" thinking compared to ours, or vice versa). Of course the behavior of the two characters ends up linked, so that it's hard not to see it as a plot contrivance.

Regardless, there's lots of entertaining stuff here. I love how Worf glides in each time the Benzite trips on himself and delivers some perfectly low-key threats. I almost imagined some imminent off-screen hazing sessions, lol.
Set Bookmark
Taylor
Sun, Aug 2, 2015, 3:07am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Symbiosis

Ahh, TNG's Just Say No episode. So in the 24th century, Romulan Ale is in but any other drug is still out. Suspiciously like the USA of our time, although that is changing as I write this.

Something tells me this hypocrisy will be long buried by the 24th century, however drugs - including alcohol - are viewed by then.
Next ►Page 1 of 3
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.