Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 662 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 27
Set Bookmark
DJ Worf Nuts
Sun, Jan 10, 2021, 2:30am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Fascination

Also dudes, there’s literally a decade of projected misogyny in this thread around unresolved issues with women, using Keiko and Lwaxana as placeholders. Ouch. Go sit on a fuckin chaise longue and do better.
Set Bookmark
DJ Worf Nuts
Sun, Jan 10, 2021, 2:18am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Fascination

Anytime I see a 1-star review I know that it’ll be a terrible bottle episode that I’ll love just as much as the more ambitious, multi-faceted intergalactic story arcs that occur throughout the series (and it usually is). What a welcome diversion from time to time, lest we get 20 straight episodes of Odo in therapy trying to become a fuckin chaise longue.

Wait no that sounds pretty great actually
Set Bookmark
Greenboots_
Fri, Jan 8, 2021, 6:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

I have to imagine them sidelining the best character off the show is down to one of three things:
- Doug Jones is the only white, straight, male actor in the main cast, and they want the "First star trek show with no white, straight, male leads!" clickbait headlines to drum up buzz
- They're resentful that Saru gets the most praise of any of their characters, and want to shove him out of the spotlight so fans won't keep ignoring Michael F'n Burnham
- They just want Michael F'n Burnham to be the ones calling the shots from now on, and don't realize that they've removed their only good character in the process

I hope he's not totally gone from next season, but knowing these producers, who knows. Hell, maybe Doug Jones just realized that being in DIS is not worth the paycheck and didn't renew his contract. If so, good for him.
Set Bookmark
Greenboots_
Fri, Jan 8, 2021, 5:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Oh, Michael, you scamp. You were disobedient to every captain you ever served, repeatedly put your crew at danger, started a war with the Klingon Empire, and have murdered so, SO many people. True emblem of Starfleet, this one. Let's give every single extra on the bridge a close-up to see them just OOZING with love and respect for Michael Burnham.

BARF

You could cut literally every scene of the Tilly/Detmer/Owo/Book storylines from these last two episodes and NOTHING would change. Owo's sole character trait is that she has Guybrush Threepwood's lung capacity? What the fuck is this show? The kelpian kid is going to be a Starfleet recruit onboard Discovery in two seasons, and I'm sure he'll feel as useless as every other secondary character on the show. Adira should've been cut from this season, Book should've been cut from this season, Mirror Georgiou should've been cut from the second season, they're all so BAD.

Really, though, what was the point of Book? He didn't give us an interesting insight into life in the future, he didn't have an interesting dynamic with Michael, he didn't have interesting conflicts with Starfleet, so why is he there?
Set Bookmark
Greenboots_
Thu, Jan 7, 2021, 9:41pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

PM, nobody's keeping you here.
Set Bookmark
Greenboots_
Fri, Jan 1, 2021, 12:16am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: There Is a Tide...

A pretty good climax to a wet fart of a storyline. Discovery needs to stop doing season-long arcs, since all their best episodes are better if you watch them and just... imagine the context leading up to them for yourself.
Set Bookmark
Greenboots_
Fri, Jan 1, 2021, 12:15am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

@Booming Infinite diversity in Infinite Combinations. And no, Roddenberry didn't really have any great insight into what he preached, he was mostly on drugs as you said. People like Ron Moore, Ira Behr, and ESPECIALLY Michael Pillar are the ones who explored that concept in a way that has endured for thirty years now.
Set Bookmark
Greenboots_
Wed, Dec 30, 2020, 9:28pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

@Nick
Even DS9 never really did season-long story arcs, aside from maybe the Klingon war subplot. The writers instead established characters, organizations, and conflicts early on and checked in on them as it seemed natural to do so. Most plotlines on DS9 were given multiple seasons (or even the whole length of the show) to breathe and develop, so it never felt like they were speeding through plot points in order to set up a big Avengers-style climax at the end of the season, which has been NuTrek's problem from the beginning.
Set Bookmark
Greenboots_
Wed, Dec 30, 2020, 9:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

Didn't hate this episode in a vacuum, but we're leading into the finale of the season and there are ZERO stakes to the story they've been building up. The "one plotline per season" structure just does not gel with the huge scale of stories these writers seem fetishistically drawn to, it makes everything seem so weightless and unimportant.

Why was Adira added to the crew? Why was Book? Why did they devote so much runtime to fucking Admiral Spacehitler without developing her character in the slightest? Why are the showrunners seemingly unable to differentiate their affection and admiration for their actors with what the characters should think and feel about one another? Why has Vance done nothing but Marge Simpson murmur at Discovery all season? Why is the villain just now, two minutes before the finale, taking an interest in our protagonists? Why am I still watching this show?
Set Bookmark
FLOTSAM!
Sun, Dec 6, 2020, 10:32pm (UTC -6)
Re: Frequently Asked Questions

Hi Jammer! Just a quick note, THANK YOU so much for your reviews. I love reading them and as a huge trekkie (as of just the past few years, when I started going through DS9) they've been a dear companion to me. I read each review immediately after every episode I watch, and always have your site open in my tabs for quick reference. Seriously, it's been a pleasure.

My only regret is what you haven't reviewed (Lower Decks, Farscape, SG1, etc)! Although I understand your reasonings for not doing so. You do you!

Anyway, that's it, just a quick bit of fan mail for you. Thanks for everything.
Set Bookmark
GreenBoots_
Thu, Nov 5, 2020, 11:48pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Forget Me Not

Those poor Trill bastards waited a hundred years for joined Trill to come and teach them about their lost culture, just for some punk kid to show up, knock three people out, take an illegal dip in the worm pool, and bounce immediately after. Their society was explicitly on the verge of collapse because of the lack of symbiotes!

Not an awful episode overall, but some obvious story shortcutting and typical Discovery melodrama kind of held it back for me. 2.5 stars.
Set Bookmark
GreenBoots_
Thu, Oct 29, 2020, 11:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: People of Earth

Tell Don't Show: The Episode. Michael apparently had quite an interesting character arc off-screen. Glad we get to hear characters discuss it at length instead of seeing it.
1.5 stars
Set Bookmark
GreenBoots_
Fri, Oct 23, 2020, 11:14am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Far From Home

@Wesley's pyjamas
I think the idea is that they're breaking apart the glacier so it crumbles on impact. If you're about to slam into a giant slab of ice at a sufficiently high speed, either the ice is going to break, or your ship is going to break. The phasers were meant to ensure that the ice was weak enough that it was the one that broke.
Set Bookmark
GreenBoots_
Thu, Oct 22, 2020, 10:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

Damn, things are really heating up in the nerdiest, most inconsequential comment section on the entire internet.
Set Bookmark
GreenBoots_
Thu, Oct 22, 2020, 10:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Far From Home

I think this episode cements the idea that Burnham is by far the worst aspect of Discovery for me. No weepy monologues about vague ephemeral concepts means a solid hour of tension, character beats, and some decent action- a roomful of people with a handful of guns will always be 1000x more intense than a billion space ships pew-pewing at each other in the vacuum of space, no matter how many secondary characters you send careening over the control panels. The guy playing the villain was quite good, I thought, and brought some weight to those scenes they would've otherwise lacked. Not that this episode was perfect, I felt the Stamets-Reno B-plot was pretty perfunctory, some pacing issues, and the needless drudging up of plotlines from season 2 was eyeroll inducing. It's still not what I consider good Star Trek, it's still missing that je ne sais quoi, but between the bar scenes and the crew pulling together to manage a crisis in a way that felt semi-professional, I actually enjoyed this one a decent amount as just an hour of scifi television. 3 stars.
Set Bookmark
Neelix's spots
Mon, Oct 19, 2020, 5:49am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

Okay, I'm going to give this ranking thing a go. I also thought ENT had a strong first season. It was later on I got bored with the Xindi and time travel stuff. And I absolutely loved VOY's first season, the potential was staggering and only when you think about how they wasted it does the show sink in my estimation.

1. VOY
2. DS9
3. ENT
4. TOS
5. TNG
6. LD
7. DIS
8. PIC

It's been way too long since i've seen TAS but I like the animation better than LD so I'd probably put it just below TNG.
Set Bookmark
GreenBoots_
Fri, Oct 16, 2020, 5:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

Hated the stupid Mega Man blasters, complete with waves of suicidal nameless goons to mow down. Remember when O'Brien had his entire perception of himself shattered after *accidentally* shooting one Cardassian with the phaser set to kill? And now Burnam is just slaughtering people whose LAWS SHE BROKE without a second thought. Couldn't stop rolling my eyes at that one.

Banter between Burnam and Book(?) was decent, but I am not looking forward to their romance considering how godawful Burnam/Tyler, Soji/Nerek, and Rios/Jurati all were. Star Trek does not need romance, especially when it's this superficial.

The concept of the Burn is... well, really fucking stupid. Why not lean on that TNG episode about how warp drive was ripping apart subspace? Instead all the Dilithium just... blew up? And they can't make more? Because...? This really feels like a Picard "one batch of synthetics went rogue so we banned all of them everywhere in the whole galaxy" level of handwaving. But whatever, I guess.

High Burnam was kind of funny. Martin-Green continues to be a really strong actor, and a definite buoy for the otherwise confused and uninteresting character of Michael Burnam.

What in the hell was up with the scene where she called the guy she knew for literally two minutes the realest Star Fleet officer she'd ever met? I know she was happy to meet someone trying to keep the ideals of the Federation alive, but come ON with that.

Overall, it was passable. I do like the idea of rebuilding the Federation from the ground up, but at this point, saying "it's a premise that has some potential" feels like a kiss of death for these shows, so I choose to remain skeptical. I can't shake the feeling the franchise has just been damaged beyond repair at this point, between the Abrams movies and the absolutely stupid worldbuilding decisions in Picard and Discovery.
Set Bookmark
EatsGlue
Wed, Oct 7, 2020, 7:22pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Prey

I see multiple people who defend Janeway's decisions in this episode lack understanding of the opposition to her perspective and ascribe the support of Seven's decision as utilitarian vs moralistic. This may be the case for some people, but I don't think you'd get the pronounced emotional reaction this episode has received if it was just that Janeway made a "tactically stupid choice."

I actually see Janeway's behavior in this episode as morally reprehensible... just not for her choice to save the 8472 creature.

I could see Picard in this situation making a very similar decision to save the alien, even if it came at the expense of his ship and possibly his life, but with one key distinction: he would make an announcement on the intercom of his decision, and allow for any crew members on board to leave the ship, as it would likely be destroyed. This way the crew had the choice on whether they were willing to sacrifice their lives on a moral stand or not, and if necessary, he would pilot the ship by himself to do it.

Janeway, instead, made a unilateral decision to save the creature, and imposed that decision on the crew, even in the face of direct opposition, even at the cost of all of their lives. She did this directly with Seven first by using persuasion, then by ordering her to do it: she gave a false choice then used her authority to force the decision. This is not the first time in the series that Janeway has done this either.

You cannot force someone to do the right thing, when you do that you're just a tyrant. This is a continual problem with Janeway, and I think the primary reason why people side so clearly against her in this episode, and probably why they dislike her in general.
Set Bookmark
TS
Tue, Oct 6, 2020, 4:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: The Search, Part II

Excellent comment, Booming. Few people in the Americas (at least in my experience) look at international relations through the neoliberal lens of absolute gains. Yet that does seem like a model closer to the one Star Trek presents. DS9 tends to be mired in a 1990s neorealist view of politics which, while understandable considering the era of the writers who created it (post-WWII Baby Boomers), isn’t the best way to look at sociopolitical relations in the modern, and in this case Futuristic, era.
Set Bookmark
Kevin Cutshall
Sun, Oct 4, 2020, 5:25pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Tinker Tenor Doctor Spy

I didn't want this episode to end. It's rare that i say that for a Voyager episode.
Set Bookmark
GreenBoots_
Thu, Aug 6, 2020, 2:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

I thought the first episode was fun. Nothing amazing, but I laughed a couple of times. The crack about the crew's quarters inexplicably being musky, despite the showers being sonic, and the joke about the Klingon stealing the girl's shoes just to be a dick were both pretty funny. I see potential in these characters, though I do wish the pacing wasn't so breakneck. It's an online show, so I don't see the need to cram everything into 26 minutes, and I think the overall episode would be better if it was a bit longer and had more time to breathe.
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Fri, Jul 3, 2020, 12:02am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Sine Qua Non

@Luke @Nolan

Yeah, after watching him on "Firefly" and "Supernatural", I'm pretty certain that this is his default voice, or at least close to it...

Regards... RT
Set Bookmark
William Nitschke
Thu, Jun 4, 2020, 5:03pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S3: The Resistance

In case I wasn't clear, my comment was about the lack of subtitles, which means the webpisodes are also not accessible to the deaf or hearing-impaired communities
Set Bookmark
William Nitschke
Thu, Jun 4, 2020, 5:03pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S3: The Resistance

In case I wasn't clear, my comment was about the lack of subtitles, which means the webpisodes are also not accessible to the deaf or hearing-impaired communities
Set Bookmark
William Nitschke
Thu, Jun 4, 2020, 5:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S3: The Resistance

I'm sad to see they are not part of the Amazon Prime experience, and I had to youtube them. Since English is not my first language, and my hearing is not as it used to be, I lost a lot of dialogue. With that in mind, the webpisodes are not par to what I've come to expect of BSG. The are a bit bland, aren't they?
Next ►Page 1 of 27
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.