Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 78 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 4
Set Bookmark
Day Tripper
Sat, Nov 18, 2017, 6:00am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Host

Half-baked idea - even if she got drunk and overlooked her doctor-patient responsibility and assuming Riker was consenting for the three-way.

Imagine if Wesley Crusher was still on board and had acted as Odan's host body instead of Riker ...
Set Bookmark
Day Tripper
Sun, Oct 1, 2017, 2:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Defector

"The holodeck play was slightly pretentious but relatively brief"

Just re-watching the series after many years and realised one of the holodeck shakespearean characters was Patrick Stewart in a dual role!
Set Bookmark
TRIP
Mon, Mar 21, 2016, 4:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek (2009)

Ok - Where to begin?
If I had never heard of Star Trek before this film, I would give it 3 stars. However, I have watched all the episodes for all series, and all the movies, multiple times. I give this 2 stars at best.

I'm surprised no one has mentioned the Temporal Agents (Ex: Daniels from Enterprise). They monitor the timeline in the 29th century and can detect any changes. They send their agents back in order to correct the timeline. The only conclusion that I can think of, that explains their abscence, is that with the destruction of Vulcan, a better future for the Federation now exists in the 29th century. Sorry Spock, you know the saying "The Needs of the Many..."

There are many theories regarding Black Holes, and I'm open-minded enough to watch/read/hear all of them. Do they lead to another reality/universe? Are they just a gravitational mass so large that light cannot escape? Are they a hole in space-time? But, in this movie, you have Black Holes doing whatever the writers want. There is no consistency or logic here, and it strains credibililty.

Now, I understand in order to draw in new fans, it needed to be exciting and filled with action, fine, but they could've continued from the year 2500, 2900, or whatever. A new audience wouldn't care about the date, because they want action, and don't care about the history of Star Trek. At the same time, the past would not have been re-written upsetting the true Star Trek fans and creating this alternate timeline. Not every Star Trek episode/movie had a message or morale issue to ponder, so I can forgive this reboot for not having one, so long as future movies do have something more substantial to offer.

I want to see the future after DS9/Voyager. I want to see new travel technology that lets us travel to other galaxies like Andromeda, or the Canis Major Dwarf Galaxy. I want to see new species that don't look anything at all like humans. Not just humans with spots, ridged noses, or pointed ears. (I know they explained how several species actually came from the same race in ST:TNG "The Chase").

In a different galaxy, the possibilities would be endless. We could have new thought provoking ideas/themes/scenarios to explore, with entirely new races. Leave the Ferngi, Borg, Romulans, Klingons behind. I hope this is the direction they go if the ever make another TV series. The only re-occurring character I would ever accept in the future, exploring a different galaxy, would be a Q, as they are omnipotent and can take any form.

From ST:TNG "All Good Things"
Q: The trial never ended, Captain. We never reached a verdict. But now we have. You're guilty.
Capt. Picard: Guilty of what?
Q: Of being inferior. Seven years ago, I said we'd be watching you, and we have been - hoping that your ape-like race would demonstrate *some*
growth, give *some* indication that your minds had room for expansion. But what have we seen instead? You, worrying about Commander Riker's career.
Listening to Counselor Troi's pedantic psychobabble. Indulging Data in his witless exploration of humanity.
Capt. Picard: We've journeyed to countless new worlds. We've contacted new species. We have expanded our understanding of the universe.
Q: In your own paltry, limited way. You have no *idea* how far you still have to go. But instead of using the last seven years to change and to grow, you have squandered them.

Q: You just don't get it, do you, Jean-Luc? The trial never ends. We wanted to see if you had the ability to expand your mind and your horizons. And for one brief moment, you did.
Capt. Picard: When I realized the paradox.
Q: Exactly. For that one fraction of a second, you were open to options you had never considered. *That* is the exploration that awaits you. Not mapping stars and studying nebulae, but charting the unknown possibilities of existence.

I want Star Trek to explore those unknown possibilities of existence. A reboot of the past may be fun to watch, but does nothing to explore something new.
Set Bookmark
TRIP
Mon, Mar 21, 2016, 9:01am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Homestead

Well done - 3.5 stars.

If someone bet me that Tuvok moving his foot would make me choke up, I would have lost the bet. I gave this episode an extra half star just for that scene. Best Farewell Ever.

As stated by others above, it is very unplausable that they would have encountered Talaxians this far out. It wasn't even a rogue group that decided to explore the galaxy and new civilizations. Nope, just a small group on an asteroid that they call home. After travelling over 40,000 light years, I'd think they would have settled on a nice class M world. Instead, we are to believe after 40,000 years, the captain said - "Hey, this rock is perfect, exactly what we've been searching for our whole lives." Derp.
Set Bookmark
TRIP
Fri, Mar 18, 2016, 4:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Natural Law

Meh episode. - Normally 2 stars, but I'll give it 1.5 for being put at the end of the series. With such a good Season 7 overall, this was a complete waste.

I would have liked a twist ending here, where we find out that the Ventu were actually Quarntined by the alien race to protect the Ledosians. When Seven brings down the barrier, the virus is unknowingly released into the Ledosian society, and they immediately start getting sick. Of course, Voyager would've helped them, and provided a cure, but the twist would've granted an extra star.
Set Bookmark
TRIP
Fri, Mar 18, 2016, 3:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Friendship One

Hatred and Vengeance can be misdirected easily. When Voyager came along, I can understand how all the anger and hostility could be pointed at them. HUMANS!!! - Die Die Die. Logic will take a back seat. Look what happened after 9/11. There was a lot of misdirected rage from some people, towards a certain group of people in that situation. Whereas, most people know that you can't blame an entire race/religion, for the actions of a few individuals. The same goes here in this episode, where some of the aliens would want revenge no matter who pays, and other aliens who can eventually understand the situation and realize these humans are innocent.

A more impacting death would have been Icheb. Icheb could have been sent to the planet as part of a rescue mission, as he was immune to the radiation like Seven, but he gets caught/captured. The leader would have said to Seven - "I thought you said no one else had cybernetic implants, that you were unique - another lie." Turns and fires at Icheb. Plus, we wouldn't have seen it coming.
Set Bookmark
TRIP
Fri, Mar 18, 2016, 2:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Author, Author

Excellent episode. 4 stars

@ Nathan - I thought of Tuvix as well. As Tuvix said "It's an Execution"

@ Kristen - Great points. Data spoke on behalf of the exocomps. These Doctor holograms, with their "Hot Headedness" would surely have voiced their objections. Zimmerman spoke on behalf of them, as stated in Life Line. "I tried to have them decommissioned, but Starfleet in its infinite wisdom overruled me and reassigned them all to work waste transfer barges." It is not consistent.

Having Naomi talking to her dad for the first time would have been great.

However, I disagree about seeing Janeway talking to Mark though. Awkward. Now, if we saw Janeway talking to her dog, and having the dog recognize Janeway on screen, and getting all excited, that would have tugged on my heart strings. Momma's coming home.

@spicerak2
In TNG, they discovered an INORGANIC lifeform in "Home Soil". The Doctor can reproduce. He created a holographic family.

The Doctor has made his share of mistakes. He also didn't expect the crew's reaction in "Virtuoso", when he wanted to leave the crew. He didn't expect Seven's reaction when he made a bet with Paris about her getting/keeping a date. He's not good at predicting human behaviour, but that's true of some humans too. To err, is human.

Sentient AI will be a new form of life, unfortunately. The question is, SHOULD we ever create it. Whether it's Androids, Holograms, or whatever, there will be Sentient AI that eventually retaliates against humans. Not all, but if given the right to choose and decide for themselves, some will. (Lore and the Borg, The Holograms from "Flesh and Blood", Terminator, etc...) Let's not be a party to our own destruction and never allow Sentient AI to EVER be created. A Ban for the creation of Sentient AI should be created and signed by all World Leaders.
Set Bookmark
TRIP
Fri, Mar 18, 2016, 11:53am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Q2

This episode almost made me puke. In fact, give me a moment and I’ll be right back…

Zero Stars – Stop destroying our favourite characters!!! I personally love Q episodes. Almost every week, the writers try to piss us off in some way. My only guess at this point, is that the writers for Voyager are actually Star Wars fans, who hate Star Trek. There’s always been a bit of rivalry between those who like Star Wars, and those who like Star Trek. They infiltrated us. Get ‘em.

When Q said "If I've told you once, I've told you a thousand times. Don't provoke the Borg!!!", I could actually sense his fear. What the hell? Even Janeway isn't afraid of the Borg. She willingly chooses to get assimilated, she raids Borg cubes, etc... Voyager has now castrated the Q. Can it get any worse?

DS9’s Q appearance was OK. It reminded me of “Encounter at Farpoint”, as it was another Alien that was being held captive. Again, they were being tested, to see if they would figure it out in time, and set the alien free. It wasn’t as good as “Encounter at Farpoint”, but they didn’t change the Q character like in this sack of crap.

As Q’s favour to Janeway, he should have left Neelix mute. Q could have just winked at Janeway, said “You’re Welcome”, then snapped his fingers and disappeared.
Set Bookmark
TRIP
Fri, Mar 18, 2016, 11:42am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Human Error

All of it has been said pretty much. Jammer is spot on.

At least Chakotay didn't try to get Seven to talk to her Animal Spirit. Seven wants to embrace humanity, not the crazy gene.
Set Bookmark
TRIP
Fri, Mar 18, 2016, 9:39am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Workforce

I agree this was very much like what they used in Total Recall. They can give these people new memories, false memories, and even make them hate space travel. They give them completely new identities. But, they can't download actual knowledge? Tom gets fired after a few hours, and Janeway doesn't know how to use the console at first. She also has to read manuals. Couldn't this knowledge be downloaded into them as well like in the Matrix? Bam!!! You’re an Engineer. Get to work.

Customer complaint departments need this technology. "You like our product. You are satisfied with our product. You will buy our product again." Thank you, come again.

They took their com badges and all their Starfleet equipment. They have no universal translators, but everyone can talk to one another and read the consoles in their own languages. Huh?

Naomi Wildman – Hospital Assistant

I also thought it was mean that Tom and B’lanna weren’t made a family. Just give them a memory of coming to find work together, and to raise a family together. Clearly the DNA of the child would show him as the father anyway.

As I mentioned in earlier posts, I thought the burned meat gag was one of Tom’s/Kim’s practical jokes that Janeway hasn’t caught on to yet. However, now it is clear, Janeway is just stupid. Maybe she is requesting the wrong temperature. "Can I have a glass of water - 5 degrees celcius.", Mmmmm nice and cold. "Can I have a roast at 350 degrees celcius". (Should have been in Fahrenheit) The computer doesn't care and provides what is requested. Hence, the roast is charred to shit. To Janeway: Try asking for Medium-Rare.
Set Bookmark
TRIP
Thu, Mar 17, 2016, 3:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: The Void

Paris says: "You can find Deuterium anywhere."
Then why in Season 4 did the ship have to land on a Demon class planet, because they were almost out of Deuterium". That would be like being on a roadtrip, and waiting until your gas light comes on, before you think of filling up, even though you've passed several gas stations along the way.
To Voyager Crew: Stock up any chance you get!!! Ugh.

I was hoping Seven would say her secret ingredient was nanoprobes. They make everything taste perfect.
Set Bookmark
TRIP
Thu, Mar 17, 2016, 1:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Prophecy

@ Cloudane
"Microsoft could've done a better job." Now that's low lol.

If the Voyager series could only pick ONE species from the Alpha Quadrant to run into, I would hope it would be the Klingons. The Borg don't count as we knew they were based in the Delta Quadrant, and also knew their space was vast. However, the 2 episodes with the Ferengi, and the episodes with the Romulans, I could have lived without.

The Klingons are still to be feared, unlike the other species Star Trek has castrated. The Borg, the Ferengi, the Romulans, all were more threatening in the beginning of TNG. The Klingons are still agressive and threatening. They also haven't been corrupted by human values. Even in DS9, Martok was the only one who drank on the Battlefield of Victory on Cardassia. Captain Sisko and Admiral Ross refused to drink over the dead bodies and dumped their glasses.

Klingons are still Klingons. I don't want them, or their values to change.

I liked this episode - 3 stars.

A Telaxian/Klingon baby. An ugly s#!t with a bad temper. Wait a minute...
www.mwctoys.com/images/review_lostpred_1.jpg
Set Bookmark
TRIP
Wed, Mar 16, 2016, 4:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Repentance

Karla Homolka was convicted of manslaughter following a PLEA BARGAIN in the 1991 and 1992 rape-murders of two Ontario, Canada teenage girls, Leslie Mahaffy and Kristen French, as well as the rape and death of her sister Tammy. She was only sentenced to 12 years in prison, but, she served her full sentence, and is now free, and has 3 children of her own. Did she deserve death? I say no.

I believe in the Death Penalty only for those who will spend their entire life in prison with absolutely no chance of parole. Cases where the charges are consecutive, so they get 250 years in prison for example. These people will never get out, and never have the chance at rehabilitation and starting a new life. Why waste resources on these people?

My dad always said they should put a noose in every cell, and leave it there for their full term. Let those who don't want to live, end their own lives. Should criminals be allowed to choose death, rather than serve time in prison?

P.S. The doctor almost killed a man to save twelve people in Critical Care. He also just recently committed treason. If one the criminals permanently destroyed his Mobile Emitter, the Doctor would’ve not only changed his mind on the death penalty, but performed the act as well.
Set Bookmark
TRIP
Tue, Mar 15, 2016, 8:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Lineage

4 out of 4 stars. In my top 10 for Voyager.

@Michael - Watch "Through The Wormhole" – Several episodes explore different future technologies. There is an episode that goes into what genetic engineering could be like in the future, but it doesn’t have much of the personal touch – sounds like this is for you.

Ensign Wildman was pregnant when she came to Voyager. This conception between Tom and B’lanna is the first in 7 years. Frankly I’m shocked it’s been the only one, considering they knew they were 70,000 light years from home and knew they would need replacement crew in half that time, as quoted by Chakotay in an early episode. People should have been shacking up and popping out babies left, right and center. Don’t complain about one pregnancy that actually involves the future science and issues of genetic manipulation.

I agree personal hygiene can be left out, but then again, seeing Seven on the toilet for the first time would have been funny. Neelix had to teach her how to swallow. Imagine him on the other side of the door telling her how to poop and wipe. Unless of course they use 3 seashells like in Demolition Man. We know they can do a fetal transport, how about a fecal transport. Sorry, couldn’t resist.

Michael is Michael Bay.
Set Bookmark
TRIP
Tue, Mar 15, 2016, 6:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Shattered

Time travel may make no sense here, but space-time travel does. If I were to travel JUST back in time by 6 months, I would be floating in space where the Earth was 6 months ago. Earth is now on the other side of the sun. Any real time travel has to go through space as well. In this case, the anomaly fractured space-time, bringing many Voyager points of time through space to this location. Therefore, it wouldn't matter how many light years apart each time frame is located.

I wanted to see Q in one of the fractured time-periods, and have him say "How did you manage this?. Humans are not supposed to be able to do this to their ships for another 500 years."

You can't burn a roast in the replicator. I think this is the work of Paris and Kim, and Janeway is too stupid to catch on.

Chakotay to Janeway: "Harry's going to be one of our best people." (We just won't promote him - LOL) And that's why you keeping replicating a burnt roast.
Set Bookmark
TRIP
Sun, Mar 13, 2016, 7:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Flesh and Blood

I really liked this episode. 3.5 stars
It loses the half star for the lack of a punishment for the Doctor. Totally unacceptable. "If you want to be treated like a human, so be it, on grounds of treason, I sentence you to Solitary Confinement in the Brig for 30 days. Your Mobile Emitter will remain on for the duration. No visits." As we know from the episode "One", the Doc has the need for company as well. He was on edge with only Seven to talk to.

Doc also just poisoned a man in Critical Care - Goodbye Hypocratic Oath, Goodbye Loyality to Starfleet, Goodbye Ethics. The Doctor has no problem doing wrong things for what he feels is the greater good.

We can't afford to give any AI the ability to think for themselves and adapt. This episode is another warning to humanity, STOP, before sentient AI becomes a reality. Another type of Terminator like story - We should not create an AI smarter than us EVER. The Technological Singularity is estimated to occur around 2040, but the general consensus agree somewhere between 2030-2050. (If you do not know what it is, please Google it.)

Atomic energy can be used for constructive and destructive purposes. (Let us not get into the Good vs Evil debate again).
After the Technological Singularity occurs, AI can also be used for constructive and destructive purposes as well. Even today, North Korea is threatening a Nuclear attack on the US and South Korea. They will certainly not hesitate to use AI in the future against them as well. For those that do not know, currently most Hacking attacks on the US come from North Korea. Their government pays their hackers extremely well, and are treated like Gods. North Korean hackers will never go hungry. (If you do not believe me, please Google this too.)

The United Nations has a Treaty Banning Nuclear Missle Tests. The same should be done to ban the development of Sentient AI. Do we really need to wait until Pandora's box is opened before the Ban is created? Of course, there will be no ban. AI shall inherit the Earth.

Thanks for letting me vent. :)
Set Bookmark
TRIP
Sun, Mar 13, 2016, 10:16am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Nightingale

Everyone who violates the Prime Directive should be thrown into the Brig. I can just see Tuvok escorting Kim to the Brig. When they get there, we see Janeway and Torres behind a forcefield. They look at Kim and say at the same time "Prime Directive?". Kim just smiles, shrugs and says "What else, Prime Directive".

Even Picard violated The Prime Directive "9 times" as stated in one episode. Violating it has apparently no consequences at all.
Set Bookmark
TRIP
Sun, Mar 13, 2016, 9:35am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Nightingale

Garrett Wang is a good actor, but compared to Ryan and Picardo who are Excellent actors, it makes Wang's acting look bad in comparison. We have been privledged to see how Ryan and Picardo can convey emotions/messages through just their eyes or body language for a few seasons now. They raised the bar, and Wang can't compete.

I was a Manager of Operations in IT, and I know many people who have told me they have no interest in management. They are smart, technically minded people who are perfectly happy to stay where they are in life and career. Some of them would make great managers, but some would definitely not be good. Some people are born salesmen, whereas others can try, study, imitate, but never truly be as good as The Born Salesman. I believe the same goes for Leadership Qualities and People Skills. Kim has been written as someone who is technically gifted, but lacking in leadership. Time to take him off the night shift Captain duty, (before he beams up another bomb), and give someone else a chance to prove themselves. To Kim: Focus on your strengths. Command is not one of them.
Set Bookmark
TRIP
Sat, Mar 12, 2016, 11:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Body and Soul

Great episode. As usual, BRAVO to Ryan and Picardo. 4 stars.

Vote now: Caitlyn Jenner as the next Star Trek captain.

"Janeway to Equinox crew. - Cleanup in Holodeck 2"

If Doc can "make an addition" to his program to have sex as stated in "Message In A Bottle", why can't he add tastebuds?
Set Bookmark
TRIP
Sat, Mar 12, 2016, 10:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Inside Man

Paris to Kim: "We can't go another month without mail."

Since when did Tom Paris care about mail call. It's been established he doesn't care, and definitely not to the extreme he would say he can't live without it. What the hell did his dad say to him in his last letter? "Tom, I'm proud of you. Oh, and by the way, you have a new step-mom. She's 18 and has...." (Letter ends - cut off)

It was nice to see some different alien races during the beach scene. Although, Barclay's disguise was stupid. Barclay lifts glasses and looks around - "Please, they might be watching". Reminded me of what Nedry said in Jurassic Park. Instead of Dodgson, I wanted Troi to scream "We've got Barclay here. See? Nobody cares."
Set Bookmark
TRIP
Sat, Mar 12, 2016, 8:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Critical Care

The Doc had a training program now too. Where did this come from? Where was this every time the Doc was away from Voyager? Heck, in Message In A Bottle, Harry Kim was trying to make another Doc from scratch. And NOW, Janeway says to secure his program from being stolen. Why didn't Janeway secure the Doc's program when the Doctor's Backup Program was stolen in Living Witness or even after his emitter was stolen in Concerning Flight or even after his program was stolen in Future's End. Tuvok - Do Some Work!!!

Yes, in Canada, the wait times for some things are ridiculous, even if it is free. Getting an MRI Scan appointment can take 6-12 months. By then, its too late for some patients. Yes, some Canadians would rather pay in the U.S. to get faster treatment. When it comes to organ transplants, it's the same thing. For those needing a new organ for example, you have to wait on a list for one that is compatible. If you know you're chances of getting a new organ in time are slim, people will come up with the money and go to Mexico. Being an organ donor is a choice, that more people should choose to do. If we can receive free healthcare, then the healthy should give blood and sign their Organ Donor cards in return.
Set Bookmark
TRIP
Sat, Mar 12, 2016, 7:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Repression

Now - On to the show

A Voyager mutiny in Season 7. Ugh. This would have worked better in Season 1. Instead of the transmission triggering Tuvok, Teero could have programmed Tuvok to be triggered by a ringing of a bell (A cliche fit for Voyager).
Set Bookmark
TRIP
Sat, Mar 12, 2016, 7:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Repression

Whoa - it took a long time to read through this review. I see that many Star Trek fans have vastly different views/opinions of the world in which we live. So, here's my two cents. I believe everyone is entitled to the Basic Essentials of Life (Food/Water/Shelter/etc...) even if they are lazy or uneducated, and have not earned them. However, it should be the BARE minimum to survive with absolutely no luxuries. Grade F Beef, not steak. Studio apartments, not houses. Don't get me started on these refugees coming into Canada, who want a free house to live in, and are unhappy with the shelters we have provided, when many of us Canadians can't afford one, because we can't save the down payment or get a loan. We also treat these refugees better than our own homeless. I also know people who live in low-income housing, who do nothing, and live better than hard working people who work 60 hours a week at minimum wage jobs. I know, I know - Life isn't fair. (Law 46 - Ensign Robin Lefler - TNG - The Game)

On Earth, in the Star Trek universe, where there is no money, how people live may depend on how they contribute to society. Those who do nothing will still get what they need to survive, with minimal replicator rations, but those who work hard, and/or contribute in a positive way to society, would earn more replicator rations, therefore eating better and having more land/bigger homes etc...
Set Bookmark
TRIP
Thu, Mar 10, 2016, 8:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Drive

This episode came out one year after The Phantom Menace. I was expecting more of a pod race, with more action, ships spinning out of control etc... We could have even had a few of the terrorists taking pot shots at the ships like in Phantom Menace.

But alas, the title was right. It's called Drive, not Race.
Set Bookmark
TRIP
Thu, Mar 10, 2016, 7:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Imperfection

Excellent acting and FX. 4 stars for Icheb and Seven. Normal Voyager plot holes and contrivances.

Could've mentioned the baby here. Just say the twin's mother is taking the baby too. They didn't have to show the baby, just say it.

I guess losing a large portion of your brain to install a node is irrelevant. People freed from the Borg should be more like Vedek Bareil on DS9, when he had part of his brain replaced with technology. Ex-drones should be acting a little different.
Next ►Page 1 of 4
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.