Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 16 (Showing 1-16)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
TMLS
Wed, Jan 2, 2013, 12:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Masks

Absolutely awful. If given the option of being forced to watch this or Shades of Gray, it'd be the latter.
Set Bookmark
TMLS
Sun, Jul 8, 2012, 3:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The High Ground

Bit of trivia for you American types, this episode was banned in the UK during the first S3 broadcasts, due to the sensitive content (we had been bombed by the IRA in similar ways for years) and the "Irish Reunification" line.

It has been shown since the bombings stopped though.
Set Bookmark
TMLS
Sat, Jul 7, 2012, 5:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Next Phase

Shame they weren't ghosts. As some fellow posters on a UK forum I won't name know, Star Trek needs ghosts. ;)
Set Bookmark
TMLS
Thu, Jul 5, 2012, 6:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

Well, that's the end of my four week-long complete re-watch and it's been a great ride. Some very high highs (I always thought of "Far Beyond The Stars" as the best - but now it's "In The Pale Moonlight", maybe because I've appreciated it more with age?), a few very low lows (I'm looking at you, "Let He Who Is Without Sin") and far too many Ferengi comedy episodes.

Yes, there are some imperfections in the finale. But who cares, it hit most of the right emotional beats and left us with just enough plot strands in place for our imaginations to make of it what we will. I'm going to miss this, so far this year I've re-watched all of 24 and Enterprise and this was far better than both of those by some margin. Still got Lost, The X-Files and Smallville to re-watch in full but sure they won't surpass it. Oh, and Voyager and TOS if I get the money together to buy them ;)

I really am going to miss this. Wow.
Set Bookmark
TMLS
Wed, Jul 4, 2012, 1:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Badda-Bing, Badda-Bang

I enjoyed this, both at the time (not realising the it was an Ocean's remake due to the fact it hadn't been remade at that point and the original Sinatra one was a bit obscure then for a 20 year old) and on re-watching now. Sure, it's fluff and not up to previous season standards (something that's really jumping out at me with all S7 episodes having watched all seasons back to back over the last few weeks) but it's enjoyable fluff.

Who knows, maybe this influenced the Clooney version? ;)
Set Bookmark
TMLS
Mon, Jul 2, 2012, 2:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Time's Orphan

For me, I'd rate this less than Profit & Lace, though neither at 0 stars. 1 for this, 1.5 for Profit. Really didn't like it.
Set Bookmark
TMLS
Fri, Jun 29, 2012, 5:44am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Ascent

So Quark offers Odo "Vulcan Love Slave" - with the current "50 Shades of Grey" obsession you have to wonder if it's a 24th century re-write ;)
Set Bookmark
TMLS
Thu, Jun 28, 2012, 3:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Let He Who Is Without Sin...

OK, it's not good. But it's no Shades of Gray and it insinuates that whilst Baseball died out football (soccer :P) didn't, so half a star from me.
Set Bookmark
TMLS
Thu, Jun 28, 2012, 6:17am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Apocalypse Rising

Shame to read that about Terry Farrell... had she been in typical Klingon female armour it could have been quite interesting ;)
Set Bookmark
TMLS
Tue, Jun 26, 2012, 11:57am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Rejoined

Beautiful episode, and really can't believe in this day and age (and even the day and age in which it was broadcast) that it's such an issue.

But I know that it was, I was about 18 when this was first shown - and we'd had a big furore in the UK a couple of years earlier when a major continuing drama had a similar kiss.

Oh and I know that it is - I love America, but the fact that there are still so many states against same-sex unions (formalised or other) saddens me - and I say that as a straight male, have no bias forming my opinion.
Set Bookmark
TMLS
Sun, Jun 24, 2012, 7:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Prophet Motive

Opportunity missed in the B story, could have been a nice cameo for Diana Muldar.
Set Bookmark
TMLS
Sun, Jun 24, 2012, 7:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Destiny

Just watched it, regarding the last line... did they work the finale to fit that or was it planned all along? It works!
Set Bookmark
TMLS
Wed, Jun 13, 2012, 3:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: A Fistful of Datas

"Red Dwarf" did the 'season 6 western episode' much better ;)
Set Bookmark
TMLS
Fri, Jun 1, 2012, 2:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Bound

Seen worse episodes of Trek (all varieties), but the that's really awful... hey, wait. Green boobies! Now where was I...
Set Bookmark
TMLS
Tue, May 29, 2012, 4:10am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Carpenter Street

"I thought Loomus was being played by Braga--then I thought, "hey, this guy seems to know a lot about how hookers behave when they get picked up," then I thought, "that actually makes a lot of sense.""

A cynical observer might question you on that, Elliott - how do YOU know know that it's accurate for how hookers behave? ;)

Anyway, Carpenter Street. Loved the look of Detroit, I'm English and went to LA on vacation last November - amazing how similar it looks ;)

Oh, and sure there was an episode there somewhere...
Set Bookmark
TMLS
Sat, May 26, 2012, 5:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Regeneration

Having all kinds of personal issues when this was first aired that meant I didn't see this when first aired, I've just watched it for the first time during a complete DVD watch. Luckily I stumbled on Jammer's reviews after looking to see how other fans were taking the episode thanks to a lack of critique on ST:E on Memory Alpha.

I'm surprised by a lot of the comments above - did nobody see Back to the Future 2? Doc Brown's blackboard description of a timeline spearing off into an alternate one perfectly explains this for me, and fits in with what Jammer's said.

The ST:TNG crew meet the Borg for the first time fot humanity in Q Who, and later at the second battle over Earth head back into the past. At this point, the timeline splinters off from the "Prime" timeline of ST:TNG - the Borg have interfered with Earth, regardless of the final outcome.

The ST:TNG we've seen is not from this same splinter that ST:E is on - it's the same way that the reboot movie can exist without just jettisoning the original TV shows completely, they exist at the same time just seperately on a different splinter (on that occasion Nero's destruction of the Kelvin forcing Starfleet to increase their development speed giving us the "improved" 1701 (with no bloody "A", "B", "C" or "D" to quote someone at another time;) )

I think it's perfectly straightforward, you just can't tink linearly.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.