Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 14 (Showing 1-14)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
TJ
Sun, Jan 10, 2021, 2:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

So ‘the burn’ was caused by an orphaned kid on a dilithium-rich planet who sees his dead mother and screams? That has to be one of the biggest letdowns in Star Trek history since Star Trek: The Final Frontier... C’mon, show runners, you put the ship 900 years into the future and THIS is the best story arc you can come up with? Ugh.
Set Bookmark
TJ Wilferd
Thu, Jun 18, 2020, 10:32pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: North Star

With it being the middle of June 2020, in this insane situation right now where racial tensions are so bad after the George Floyd death that was followed by protests and riots that are still happening right now, it was interesting to get to this episode recently while watching the Enterprise series with my kids.

I haven't seen anyone mention anything about the message I saw in this episode. Maybe most people didn't get the same thing from it, or maybe I misread the intentions of it.
An alien race made slaves of humans, but the humans later gained freedom. Instead of living peacefully with each other, the race that had humans as slaves is heavily oppressed and generally hated, even a couple of hundred years after the slavery thing ended. Though in the end the sheriff decided laws and rules needed to change, it would take time and would be difficult to let the old hate go.

Here we are now, in a climate where despite all the efforts and success America has had with civil rights movements and racial equality progress, the media makes sure anything they can present as evil whites hunting, killing, and oppressing blacks, is presented that way. Important real statistics people really need to be aware of are ignored so a racism narrative can be pushed for political reasons at the cost of dividing the country even more. I was shocked to see so many people fall into supporting the protests and riots, but hate from the past has always been an easy tool to manipulate people with all over the world.

This episode used extreme yet also simplified examples of the negative impact of being unable to leave past transgressions in the past to move forward, working together in peace.
I thought the episode was just okay, but I liked the message about getting past old racial hate.
Set Bookmark
E. Kristjansson
Sun, Feb 23, 2020, 11:33am (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Maps and Legends

I'm really disappointed with this show. If I want to watch some overly complicated plot, along with torture scenes and foul language. I'll just watch the latest opuses from Tarantino or Scorcese.

It is not what I expect from Star Trek :)
Set Bookmark
E. Kristjansson
Sat, Feb 2, 2019, 10:26am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: A Happy Refrain

I watched this episode, then looked up your review. I fully expected you to thoroughly bash it, possibly even giving it a rare "zero stars" rating.

But, no... You actually gave this piece of shit 2 1/2 stars.

My trust in you, is fading.
Set Bookmark
TjB
Fri, Sep 29, 2017, 10:39am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Cost of Living

I hate every second of this episode. Simply one of the worst in Star Trek history, if not THE worst. Majel's scenery-chewing is even more rampant than usual, although in fairness no actor could have made the holodeck scene bearable.
Set Bookmark
TJB
Thu, Sep 28, 2017, 3:25pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: The Killing Game

This episode is stunningly bad. Voyager as a whole has not aged well at all.
Set Bookmark
JustJim
Sun, Nov 27, 2016, 9:29am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Yesterday's Enterprise

I actually quite like this episode. Guinan makes no sense in it, however. Guinan was always a superfluous character, and there is ABSOLUTELY no reason to have a "bartender" on a warship - much less to give a bartender apparently unrestricted access to the bridge.
Without Guinan, Picard would have the ability to make a decision based on simple facts at hand - namely, one more ship will do no good here, but it has potential to make a difference in the past. Captain Garrett's crew could even have insisted that they return to the battle they accidentally left.
I would have preferred that the Enterprise D be at Narendra III investigating the actual anomaly that C came from - perhaps believing it to be a weapon? Or, perhaps investigating the anomaly in what is now deep space - but it where Narendra III was 22 years ago? Again, not for purely scientific reasons, but believing the powerful energy signatures indicated weapons testing?
I understand all the budget constraints that prevented the Enterprise D from really being a warcraft unlike the D we know. I also understand why the same basic crew was there. Except Wesley, who in no way should have been involved.
Still, one has to accept this in a live action show. In an animated show, far more dramatic differences could have been portrayed, but would they have gotten to a third season to do this episode?
Anyway, my main point is that Guinan is completely unnecessary, and that even sending Tasha Yar back into the rift could have been explained another way. For example, when Garrett died, Tasha could have insisted on going to act as tactical officer. Or - and this would have been really interesting - she could have defied orders, hijacked a transporter, and beamed aboard the C, leaving no choice but to let her go. It would have been something special then, don't you think?
I do like the way this alternate timeline resulted in a child who grew up and encountered the man who her mother served under. It's nice when Star Trek remembers its own history, as this never seemed to happen on TOS.
Set Bookmark
TJ
Sat, Nov 28, 2015, 10:37am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Tattoo

Another chuckles-centric ep. Yawn. Didn't find it interesting in the least. Still thought the tattoo looked better in S4's Living Witness.

Best part of this ep was the always-reliable Robert Picardo's performance as the Doctor. Here Kes gives him a lesson in empathy. One that I'm sure his adaptive programming algorithms quickly took to heart.

1 star is all I could muster for it. And only because of that silly but entertaining subplot.
Set Bookmark
TJ
Thu, Oct 29, 2015, 5:17pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Investigations

Yanks,

I don't know you. You don't come onto a forum and insult people just because they have an opinion that does not agree with your point of view. You can disagree and leave it at that.

In any case I am done. Good day.
Set Bookmark
TJ
Wed, Oct 28, 2015, 5:54pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Investigations

I'm guessing you've never been in the military. You keep ignoring what he did in "Maneuvers". That was only a few episodes prior to this one. Ignoring that is like saying it's ok to disregard protocol whenever it becomes inconvenient. This is Starfleet, not Starbucks. He was on report for insubordination AND desertation, which is a serious offense in and of itself, particularly for a First Officer. Of course she doubted him.

You also keep forgetting they had a spy in their ranks. Her decision to leave chuckles out of the loop was also influenced by the fact they were losing time against the saboteur. Her first officer had already shown he was too close to the subject at hand to be objective. At that particular time she had good reason to question his judgement. He couldn't keep a level head against Seska. I'm not saying he didn't have good reason to be angry with her but as a First Officer his first duty was to the ship, the Captain and the personnel.

Tuvok is also Chief of Security. That means the security of the ship and it's people are his primary concern. Him being a Vulcan he would have also done the same to the Captain if the situation dictated it. Your reaction is based on strong emotions toward chuckles. Tuvok's reaction was based on protocol and logic, not his personal feelings towards him or anyone. That means he has the Captain's ear, he is responsible for Security. But it was the Captain's decision to ultimately leave him out of it because she agreed with his findings.


If chuckles wants to reestablish trust then the onus is on him to do that. He was the one that committed the offense. And he alone needs to earn that trust all over again. That type of infraction would not be tolerated at any level. You said it yourself he is the second in command of the ship. And he disregarded his duty just to settle a personal vendetta, putting himself and the rest of the crew in danger. He's lucky he wasn't hurled into the brig. At the very least she could have (and should have) stripped him of his rank. If they were in the Alpha Quadrant he most certainly would have faced a court martial.

He would have been court martialed in any event due to his activities with the Maquis if they hadn't gotten stranded in the Delta Quadrant. Voyager was originally launched to go after his ship and retrieve Tuvok.
Set Bookmark
TJ
Mon, Oct 26, 2015, 5:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Investigations

@Yanks,

Remember that Learning Curve occurred before we even knew the truth about Seska, let alone using her intimate knowledge of chuckles to steal a Starfleet component, even moreso her impregnating herself with his DNA. As for his learning from his mistakes there was no time to ascertain that. He was still on report and there were obviously still doubts as to whether he learned anything. They had a spy in their midst and the priority had to be to determine whom it was, not worry about hurt feelings.

I still agree with their decision that he not be included at that particular time. As chief of security Tuvok made a sound (not to mention logical) tactical call. Janeway obviously agreed.

And Vulcans do not involve emotions in their assessments so it wasn't personal. Janeway was obviously mindful of his feelings about it but the security of the ship had to take precedence.
Set Bookmark
TJ
Mon, Oct 26, 2015, 11:12am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Investigations

@Yanks Slap in the face? hmm...I don't feel as if Tuvok's reasoning was off at all. With chuckles in the mix it wouldn't have been as nearly as authentic. He has too much respect for the truth and would have been too cool calm collected no matter what kind of ruse he wanted to set up. Seska had played chuckles, too. She was pregnant with his child (until the writers changed that in Season 3's opener) so that's all the more reason I accepted Tuvok's explanation about leaving him out of the deception. And like Janeway said he played his role very well.

Also, chuckles' actions were hardly those of a Starfleet First Officer in "Maneuvers". That only emphasized how deep Seska's mental hooks were into him. I agree totally with Tuvok's logic. The way they went about it was perfect. And if he did get angry with it then he has only himself to be mad at. He's already proven he can't handle public embarrassment to where he will eschew the rules to right his ego. In this instance you can't blame Janeway for not including him. He was on report for that incident if you remember. I'm pretty sure that also was discussed when Tuvok justified leaving him out of the plan with Janeway.
Set Bookmark
TJ
Fri, Oct 23, 2015, 10:49am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Prophecy

The writers seemed to just throw whatever out there and hope people would turn their brains off for 45 minutes in the hope they don't see the episode (and the whole season in general) for the hot mess it was. Not to mention the human arrogance they employ in the story. The alleged savior of the Klingon empire can only have human DNA in it, I suppose.

Meanwhile humanity can't even save itself. I know that this is set in a future fantasy and that humans were to have attained some kind of enlightenment from the society we currently find ourselves in. But it seems even in the future humans are far too prone to the same self serving, destructive behavior they exhibit now. It makes stories like these even more preposterous. I really detest the way the writers trivialize all the other races whilst painting the human race in the best light possible. Watching this and Enterpise all we've seen is the human race being the most immature, childlike (unlike the emotional balance of a Vulcan) and warmonger-like (Even more prone to violence to employ their will than the Klingons. At least Klingons value honor). And so far they've proven themselves far more dangerous than a Romulan. At times you would think they aspire to be the Borg. They certainly glamorized them enough in the series. They sure weren't the intimidating prescence they were in Next Gen.

Sometimes I wish Q would appear and put humanity on trial again. So many moments between Voyager and Enterprise that would have resulted in summary judgement against them. Enterprise was rudimentary in terms of deep space exploration but the enlightened values were supposed to already have been there. Watch the series and you may be hard pressed to find them.

The writers continue to show B'Elanna's contempt at her Klingon DNA. When in fact it's her human half clearly causing all this internal conflict. Think back to Season 1's "Faces" and you will see my point. The inconsistency in the writing alone is another testament to the indecisiveness humanity has. And yet she's supposed to love her human half more. It was her human parent that abandoned her. Her Klingon parent, however remained with her thru thick and thin. And yet she still feels the human half serves her better. How?


Worf was full Klingon and yet there were no inner conflicts with that. He knew who he was, made no apologies for it and still had an upstanding career in Starfleet. He became Chief of Security on the flagship after Tasha Yar's death. And his honor stayed intact. For both Starfleet and the Klingon Empire.

In any event this episode I would have docked a star on. It also gets old seeing Tim Russ being the foil of Neelix's obnoxious ways. Watch Meld or Repression to see what happens when they actually allow him some screen time.
Set Bookmark
E. Kristjans
Thu, Dec 3, 2009, 9:42pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: The Neutral Zone

Don't be too hard on these episodes, they're just extremely 1980's - and extremely funny in all their hairsprayed, spandex-clad corniness! ;)

Plus, when you're 14 and the Internet is almost a decade away, even the blandest looking bad actresses look like super-sexy space godessess in their "spacy" 80's hairdos & costumes.

Too bad I'm soon turning 40, married (not even to a space babe), and the 1980's are long gone :(

But well, we'll always have TNG on DVD!
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.