Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 2,191 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 88
Set Bookmark
SouthofNorth
Mon, Jun 18, 2018, 1:40am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: The Voyager Conspiracy

Any episode that requires that characters act like brain-dead morons to make the plot work is worthy of at most 2 stars. This one is worth 1-star, maybe 1-1/2.

I have no problem with Seven acting paranoid. That can be interesting and relevant as a commentary on the character and methods of conspiracy theorists. The problem with this episode is the ridiculous actions of Chakotay and Janeway. What their characters should have done is realize instantly that something was really really wrong with Seven and then had the Doctor examine her (which would have "confirmed" Seven's suspicions of a conspiracy as now she was being silenced.)

Instead we get the ridiculous plot of Chakotay and Janeway actually buying into this nonsense. But if we, as the audience, know this is nonsense, there is no way to convince us that Chakotay's and Janeway's acceptance of it is nothing more than a lame plot device.

This actually had the potential to be really interesting. Imagine after Seven is cured, the episode ends with this scene:
================
Janeway: Come in

Tuvok: Captain may I have a few minutes with you to discuss Seven's situation ....

Janeway: No need for concern Mr. Tuvok. The doctor has cured her and assures me that it's unlikely she'll suffer a relapse.

Tuvok: I'm pleased to hear it, but I wanted to discuss her analysis of the destruction of the array. I'm gone over the sensor logs in great detail and while Seven may have been suffering from delusions, she was right about the destruction of the array. There was a tractor beam and it does seem it was used to seize some equipment before the explosion.

Janeway: Do you know who was operating the tractor beam?

Tuvok: The sensors readings are very fragmented, but the tractor beam's signature is consistent with federation technology.

Janeway: You're not suggesting that ...

Tuvok: I merely report what I have discovered. It is unproductive to engage in idle speculation and illogical without additional facts.

Janeway: (turning to look out the window with a chilled expression) Indeed it is Mr. Tuvok .... sigh ... we are a far far way from home my friend ...

--- fade out ---
Set Bookmark
The Man
Sun, Jun 17, 2018, 5:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: The Seventh

No disrespect Yanks but your opinion is kind of not needdc.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Little Brother
Sat, Jun 9, 2018, 9:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Wounded

The first episode of DS9, and it's a good one.

It is odd there was this big war that just ended a year ago. Not good writing. All they had to do was say it ended five years ago (putting the peace treaty about a year ahead of the show's intro). Maybe it was like the Vietnam War -- with the fiercest fighting in the middle and then long, slow, painful years before a final peace.

I had not seen this one since the original run of the show. It's even better than I remembered.

Question: That music in the ending scene ... does anyone else think it sounds a little like the DS9 theme?
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Little Brother
Sat, Jun 9, 2018, 11:12am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Data's Day

Love this episode. Great character moments, and they managed to expand the Romulan world a tiny bit more to boot.

I love the ending, where Data talks about wanting to grow, change and become more than he is today.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Little Brother
Fri, Jun 8, 2018, 9:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Reunion

Shakespearean in tone and body count.

Boy, I sure did hate to see K'Ehleyr go. Made for great drama, but the character and Suzie Plakson brought so much. I wish they had given her more appearances as Dr. Solar.

Count me among the fans that loved these Klingon and Romulan political intrigue episodes.
Set Bookmark
SouthofNorth
Wed, Jun 6, 2018, 2:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Relativity

Geez you would have thought that the Borg would have assimilated at least one species that knew how to play ping pong. Seven's form was atrocious!
Set Bookmark
Thierafhal
Wed, Jun 6, 2018, 12:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Loud as a Whisper

I am going to call Jammer cynical on this one. This episode is without a doubt, not enough story to fill the time allotted, but I don't think it's a wasted effort. It presents a new way of looking at things and I agree with Troi's line that Riva's method of communication is quite beautiful. The ending works for me even if the prospect of these people achieving peace by learning sign language is dubious. Star Trek itself is overly optimistic at it's core (before the later seasons of DS9, that is); and that is the point. Will Earth ever be an absolute paradise? Unlikely, but we can hope and strive for it just as the Solari can with Riva's help.
Set Bookmark
SouthofNorth
Mon, Jun 4, 2018, 10:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: 11:59

Nice enough episode. Would've enjoyed it more if they had a different actress playing Shannon O'Donnell.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Little Brother
Sun, Jun 3, 2018, 5:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Remember Me

Very good Dr. Crusher episode.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Little Brother
Sat, Jun 2, 2018, 8:30am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Suddenly Human

I feel sorry for any episode that had to follow behind BOBW and Family.

Guest star Chad Allen is definitely a striking looking young man/boy.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Little Brother
Sat, Jun 2, 2018, 8:22am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Brothers

I love Data (after all, he was so good to Sarjenka), but I've never warmed up to the episodes about Lore, his father and his mother.

I did love the one about his daughter, though.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Little Brother
Sat, Jun 2, 2018, 8:16am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Family

Liked "Family" at the time. Love it now.

If I had a complaint, it's they didn't do enough of these kinds of episodes.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Little Brother
Sat, Jun 2, 2018, 8:14am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Best of Both Worlds, Part II

BOBW solidified Next Gen's status forever and helped set the stage for the even more sophisticated, epic storytelling of DS9.

Just watched Part II last night, and yes, it holds up so well after all these years.
Set Bookmark
OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Fri, Jun 1, 2018, 10:46am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

@Welcher
"So harsh I believe you retired from posting here, in a glorified farewell speech. Yet here you are."

And that's your sole contribution to this site. Astounding.

Look, I could write another five paragraphs on how moronic this response of yours was.

But I won't.

Because the people here don't seem to like it when I do that. For some funny odd reason, they prefer talking about Star Trek rather than participating in childish games of "gotcha!". It's almost like they think that this is a Star Trek discussion board or something... Can you imagine the nerve of these guys? ;-)
Set Bookmark
OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Fri, Jun 1, 2018, 7:42am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

@Astronut7

"What I was concerned about was not that you were so weak-willed that you would contemplate suicide simply because people didn't agree with you. I was VERY concerned about the fact that I have no idea what ELSE is going on in your life."

Nothing bad, I assure you. And even everything in my life sucked, classic Trek taught me a few things about hoping for the future. A person who really gets the message of Star Trek, is not a person that gives up that easily. :-)

You know, it's really funny how the people here inflated this whole thing into monstrous proportions and then blamed *me* for being a drama queen.

This gotta be another one of those "internet endemics" you've been talking about: The fact that it is virtually impossible to speak openly and candidly about your feelings in an online community, without being seen as some drama-seeking psycho. I've seen this happening on many forums, and it really *is* an endemic.

To summarize: The only reason it turned into a big drama, is that people insisted on treating it as drama. Talk about a pot calling the kettle black...

"I'll be damned if I make that mistake again. Sure, if I had written the letter, it probably wouldn't have made a difference, but it MAY have."

I'm so sorry for your loss. And you're right, your letter probably wouldn't have made a difference. At any rate, please don't blame yourself. You aren't doing either yourself or the future people you want to help any favors, by blaming yourself. Right?

Now, going back to the Star Trek topic:

"Star Trek is NOT a happy universe about looking for awe, and wonder. It was created by someone who was trying to show people that there is a better way, than what we do."

I think the two things you've just mentioned are just two different sides of the same coin.

Star Trek is basically saying "there's a better way, and in the future we'll find it. Here, let me show you...". How is this not happy? I can't think of a more optimistic thought than that.

Perhaps you meant that Star Trek isn't bubbly-naive-with-a-stupid-grin-on-your-face-at-all-times happy. But this kind of "happiness" is an illusion anyway.

Besides, as you said yourself: The awe and wonder are part of the package. Star Trek is about the entire package, which - among other things - includes awe and wonder.

Of-course, it *is* dangerous out there. As Q once said: "It's not safe out here. It's wondrous, with treasures to satiate desires both subtle and gross, but it's not for the timid". I think this quote sums up both sides of the coin quite nicely.

"I don't know where people got the idea that TNG characters were perfect. They were a walking disaster, and weren't particularly well trained or good at their jobs. But unlike us, they tried to do better, and they had at least learned SOME things we haven't today."

And the characters of DS9/VOY/ENT didn't? Are you sure we've watched the same shows?

Actually, there are plenty of people in the real world who "try to do better" as well. If I'm not mistaken, you've just said that you're one of them. After all, isn't this precisely the reason that the behavior of the average person drives you nuts?

The big difference between the world of Star Trek and reality 2018, is that "trying to do better" is not the consensus today. We are a minority. And if you tried to tell people that you're dedicating your life to improving yourself, then they'll think you're either a liar or batshit crazy.

Yet there *are* people who do this today. And some of them chose this path precisely because of the example they've seen on the various Star Trek series.

"[Voyager] was by no means a TNG clone. Nor did it remain true to its ideals. *Cough* Trapped in Delta Quadrant, with limited resources."

Oh, I agree that *if* they actually followed this premise, then Voyager wouldn't have been a TNG clone.

But they didn't. Not really, anyhow. Voyager never looked like a ship with limited resources. Nor did they really follow the other major unique point of Voyager that seperates it from the TNG mentality: the Starfleet/Maquis conflict.

So the vast majority of Voyager episodes *were* pretty much "TNG in the Delta Quadrant". Makes little sense given the premise, I know, but that's what the writers chose to do with the show (and I think it hurt the show a great deal that they didn't stick to their original premise).

"It's far more difficult to maintain the moral high ground when you have all the guns--such as money, media, nukes, population, economic resources, and actual guns."

In today's world - yes. Because 21st century man is too driven to dominate and conquer others, which is completely insane.

But in the world of the Federation - no. It is quite obvious that by Picard's time, society had mostly matured beyond the need for such abuse of power. The Enterprise-D is armed to the teeth, yet it is *obvious* to everyone onboard that these weapons are only there for self-defense.

And in *that* situation, it is easier to remain moral when you have superior fire power. As long as you vastly outgun your opponents, you know that the only dangers come from your own inner demons. You know that as long as you refrain from doing something extremely stupid, you have nothing to worry about.

The Federation had this mindset for decades, and it worked really well for them... and then the Dominion came(*). Suddenly, the Federation found itself facing a truly existential threat. Suddenly, really tough decisions needed to be made (because that's the nature of war). And unfortunately, Starfleet was completely unprepared - mentally and morally - for such a situation. Things got ugly, real quick. In my own head-canon, the Federation learned from their mistakes after the war, resulting in a far more robust moral system in the 25th century.

(*) Technically this whole dynamic should have happened with the Borg as well. But the TNG writers didn't have the guts to see it through. There were hints at this direction (like the suggestion to destroy the Borg with the image virus in "I, Borg") but they never quite committed to the idea.

"Again, we must BOLDLY go forth, with fear, and understanding of the consequences, to find STRANGE NEW LIFE, as well as worlds, and civilizations, lest we decay, and die."

Well, yeah. But when you put it in such a depressing way, it doesn't feel compelling at all, does it? And if it isn't compelling, there's little hope that people would actually do it.

Thankfully, the universe has a solution ready: As you said yourself, going through this path naturally results in a wonderous feeling of awe. There are enough reasons to excite us into doing this, and that's not a bad thing... as long as we're also aware of the consequences, of-course.

This is one of the things I love about Star Trek, by the way. It manages to tell the very same message in an inspiring way that doesn't make you depressed or even scared. Yes, fulfilling our destiny as a species is serious business. Yes, it *is* dangerous out there. But it is also exhilirating, and I don't think we should feel any shame for actually enjoying the journey. Especially when being all gloomy is probably going to hurt our performance.

"Because heaven is what we build here, and now, for ourselves, and those that come after us. Not some ethereal other place."

Amen to that.

Set Bookmark
OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Thu, May 31, 2018, 10:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

Just found time to read *all* of Astronut7's posts. It took a while - a very interesting and somewhat controversial (in a good way!) read.

@Astronut7

Regarding DS9, Voyager and Enterprise, I both agree and disagree with you.

I agree that these crews behaved in a less "perfect" way, but:

1. They were still light years better then the way people behave today. I still consider Sisko, Janeway and Archer to be good role-models (usually. The only episode which drives me completely nuts in this respect is DS9's "For the Uniform". What the hell, hero? That episode should never have been made).

2. Their "less-than-perfectness" made sense in-universe, given the premise of each of these series. DS9 facing the dominion threat. Enterprise being a prequel (say what you will about that series, but it *did* show us a believable transitionary phase of humanity between the present and the seemingly perfect crew of the Enterprise-D). As for Voyager... well, I'm not sure why you included Voyager in this mix at all, because it is mostly a TNG clone that's quite faithful to the original Roddenberry ideal. That show had myriad of other problems (in my opinion VOY is the weakest Trek) but betraying the Star Trek Ethos wasn't one of them.

3. These deviations from the original Roddenberry vision mostly served as a way to examine that very vision. As Sisko said, it is easy to be saint in paradise. So how do 24th century humans behave when their paradise is facing a truely existential threat? I love DS9 for examining this question, which TNG never had the guts to explore. It's easy to take the moral high ground when you have all the guns.

My only regret is that this story was never completed. We've never seen the aftermath of the Dominion War. We've never seen the Federation picking up the pieces and regaining their moral dignity. And judging from the crap that masquerades as "Star Trek" in the past decade, I doubt we'll ever will.

4. DS9, Voyager and Enterprise made the effort to tell good stories. DS9 in particular, was a pillar of story-telling. Yes, it did drama and had action, but these didn't get in the way of telling an intelligent sci fi story. At no point do we get the feeling that DS9/VOY/ENT are nothing but a cheap cynical cash grab.

(Some *scenes* in Enterprise do feel that way. The gratitious wannabe-sex scenes for example. But these scenes stand out like a sore thumb, precisely because Enterprise is *not* that kind of show)

Now, I can understand if you don't like the story-telling styles of these shows. For a person who comes for the "science" in "sci fi", DS9 will be pretty much unwatchable. But that's a matter of personal taste. I think that if we look at things objectively, then TOS,TNG,DS9,VOY and ENT fit quite well into the same conceptual universe. The fact that they are all so different from one another only serves to make that universe richer. After all, it's a big cosmos out there. There's enough room in it for science, interspecies politics, exploration, drama and a million other things.

And the problem with Discovery, quite simply, is that it does not fit. I'm not talking about nerdy continuity nit-picking. They've simply made zero effort on this front. And as you said yourself, the producers were fundamentally dishonest about the nature of the show.

I guess that at least one positive thing did come from Discovery: It gave some people a new appreciation for "Enterprise" as a prequel. Given the complete mess we've gotten here, Enterprise suddenly looks like the golden standard of prequels, doesn't it? Finally people are beginning to understand that B&B actually did *care* about continuity. Maybe not enough, but they did.

Set Bookmark
OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Thu, May 31, 2018, 1:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

BTW, regarding the "Star Trek is about science" thing:

Star Trek, when it is at its best, is about exploration and awe and wonder. It's also about how science and technology can improve our lives.

IOW while the show isn't *about* science, it has a very science-oriented philosophy in its core. Which, funnily enough, also jives perfectly with the other things that make Star Trek special (it doesn't take a rocket scientist to realize the connection between a love-of-exploration and the abolishment of bigotry).

None of this is relevant to Discovery, of-course. "Make the empire glorious again" indeed... (I still can't believe they went with that quote. What *were* they thinking?)
Set Bookmark
OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Thu, May 31, 2018, 1:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

@Astronut7
"If there was a 'big dramatic departure' and a subsequent return months later, then OTDP very clearly has strong feelings about the subject of Star Trek--strong enough that attempting to bury the issue with a 'Don't take it personally' is nothing more than trite. Whatever happened, even with the limited information I have, it very clearly got personal enough that a person was forced out of the discussion, and the community on this website."

Funny how things can be *that* obvious to an outsider, heh?

What makes the situation even more maddening, is that I've been an active and respected member of this community for many months. But apparently, once you voice an unpopular opinion, people have no problem forgetting everything they know and label you as a drama-seeking troublemaker.

"If someone states that they are 'permanently leaving' a community due to a bad experience, then that's an indication that they may be considering suicide."

Nah... I'm not stupid enough to destroy myself just because other people are being unfair and mean. As Jammer correctly stated once: I'm strong enough to take it.

The reason for my statement of "permanently leaving" was quite different: I have no business staying in a place where a mob tries to silence me with mockery. Yes, I *can* take it. But I don't want to.

Now, if this situation changed somehow, then I would be happy to forget and forgive. But you've seen the most recent responses. The odds of this happening are practically nil (and there's a reason I'm responding to you and not to them).

Of-course, none of this is "personal" per-se. The rule of the majority is never "personal". That's exactly what makes it so terrifying. The current situaiton has nothing to do with me. It has to do with people being unfair to those they disagree with. To be blunt: if a community cannot hold a civil discussion without resorting to senseless mockery, then the person who happens to be on the receiving end is not the problem.

(and it's really telling that all those people who yell at me that "you haven't seen the show!" can't bring a single shred of evidence that my "preconceptions" about Discovery are wrong)

P.S.
The mention of "suicide" made me wonder: Why is it that people almost never stop to think about their online behavior, until someone pulls the "suicide" trump card? Pro tip: being a bully and a jerk towards someone is not okay, period. Especially on a discussion board. Even if a person is 100% certain that being an ass isn't harming anyone in any way, they're still harming the discussion.

Really, what's the big idea of mocking decades-long Trekkies when they voice their opinion? How does this help the discussion in any way? I've sat through 700+ episodes of Star Trek, and I have a quite informed view on what "Star Trek" is. Do I need to watch a full season of - say - The Sopranos to confidently say that it isn't Star Trek? Do you realize how foolish and childish that "you gotta watch the showwwwww" rant is?

I'm getting really *really* sick of people who think that mockery is a valid subtitution to an actual argument. So to all the guys who repeatedly mocked my views, I say: Either prove me wrong or shut the f*** up.

(and to Astronut7: please tell me if anybody has written a reply worth reading. Because I'm done reading all the drivel that's directed at me here)


Set Bookmark
SouthofNorth
Fri, May 25, 2018, 1:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Latent Image

Voyager does "Sophie's Choice"

And did it very well. The best dramas are not the action-packed battles in which we're left wondering whether the crew will DIE (here's a spoiler: they won't) but rather putting the characters where they have to make a decision and usually a question that challenges their complacency and beliefs. This is just that kind of an episode for both the Doctor and Janeway. I'm glad they didn't pull any rabbits out of the hat and for the Doctor to grow beyond his programming, he has to resolve the conflicts that will arise between the rules that govern his medical decisions and those that he built for himself in forming friendships. And those two parts of his programming are going to come into conflict as they did for Meryl Streep's character in Sophie's Choice where she has to make an impossible decision.

So kudos. 4 - stars.

Now they just have to build upon it like Babylon 5 did when they would put their characters through the ringer. The future episodes in which the Doctor finally resolves this issue should be fascinating. Oh wait, this is Voyager ... well, it was good while it lasted.
Set Bookmark
OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Fri, May 25, 2018, 10:26am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

@Chrome
"Biting commentary on what exactly? Besides millennials who are too young to know better are there really people who take everything on social media as fact? And even the deeper concept, "popular opinion can be wrong" isn't really groundbreaking. It's the same idea that every comic book villain uses to rig an election."

Apparently the people here didn't learn this lesson well enough.

Popular opinion is that decade-long Trekkies who value continuity, aren't allowed to say "Discovery butchers everything I value in Star Trek" unless he subjects himself to 13 episodes of pure torture.

Luckily for people like me, this isn't Sargus IV, so those who realize how idiotic this "popular opinion" is, do not risk being lobotimized or anything like that. But still, the backlash from holding true to my views was quite harsh, and the sole reason that happened is that people confused their popular opinion with actual fact.

I must emphasize, that I respect those who have a different view of what Star Trek is, and have no problem with people who like Discovery. To each, his own.

But I have zero respect for those clowns who mercilessly mocked me for stating my own views just because I didn't meet their arbitrary qulifications criteria. You should be ashamed of your mob mentality (and Jammer, which I otherwise respect a great deal, should feel like a fool for allowing himself to get dragged down to this level).

Thanks God for the Orville, which - in a world with dystopian Trek and dystopian everything - actually gives us something hopeful to shoot for. Even if the messages of that show are not always "groundbreaking", it is obvious that humanity is still in desperate need of hearing them.

(reminds me of TOS's "Let That Be Your Last Battlefield". Obvious message with all the subtlety of a sledgehammer, but then - a sledgehammer was needed)



Set Bookmark
SouthofNorth
Wed, May 23, 2018, 9:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Timeless

Pity that the Doctor wasn't able to send his own message to Seven. It would be something like this:

"Harry Kim is a total screw up. His stupid calculations will destroy the ship. And then he'll spend 15 years trying to correct his error and still destroy the ship. Whatever you do, don't listen to a word that drooling moron says."

Still a 4-star episode and one of the best of the series or any Trek series.

FF rating: No fast-forwarding. Just let it play.

Set Bookmark
SouthofNorth
Tue, May 22, 2018, 2:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: In the Flesh

An episode that manages to be pedantic, sermonizing, smug, pretentious and boring within 50 minutes of running time. 1 star.

FF Rating: Watch the stuff at the beginning which is kind of fun and then FF over all of the ridiculous romance scenes. In fact just keep that FF button pressed until it's mercifully over.
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Sun, May 20, 2018, 3:23am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Devil's Due

Hello Chrome

So, out of many, many awful ST:TNG episodes, those particular broadcasters stood upon their bridge and declared "This... shall not... be BroadCast...!"... just because of someone in a devil suit (that wasn't even Ardra)? I'll bet they feel really silly now... (heh).

Wow, and I thought Michiana was a weird place to grow up in.

Regards... RT
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Little Brother
Thu, May 17, 2018, 10:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Transfigurations

The actor playing the star alien is Mark La Mura. He was on "All My Children" back in the late '70s and the '80s playing Erica Kane's half-brother Mark Dalton, a musician who had a cocaine problem.

As to his wardrobe, I recall a bathing suit scene from AMC. He was blessedly endowed.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Little Brother
Thu, May 17, 2018, 10:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Sarek

Another fine addition to Next Gen's best season.

The Picard/Sarek confrontation was marvelous, as was Picard facing the onslaught of Sarek's overwhelming emotions. However, my favorite scene was the concert and the single tear. Magnificent.

And it was so nice to finally have Vulcans back on the show in meaningful way.
Next ►Page 1 of 88
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.