Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 4,081 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 164
Set Bookmark
OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Thu, May 13, 2021, 2:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@Jason R.

Your hope is misplaced.

The only reason these "true believers" exist in such numbers is that there's an efficient system of propaganda that generates them and fuels their fire. The vast majority of them were ordinary people just a couple of years ago. And when the current craziness ends (which *will* happen eventually) they will drop their fanaticism just as easily as they adopted it.
Set Bookmark
OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Thu, May 13, 2021, 2:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@Booming
"As an adage, only Stalinist Russia and Maoist China were totalitarian, everything after that was/is just good old autocracy."

Are you seriously claiming that present China is not totalitarian? Come on now...

"Being a socialist I'm against people accumulating riches in general but, for different reasons, I'm also against extreme riches because of the danger they pose to a democratic society. In the end money is just power and the rich are getting richer."

I'd like to remind you that historically, this so-called "solution to inequality" never worked. You take away the "money = power" equation and something else will fill its place. In the end, the powerful just become more powerful, and those who used to be "poor" become even more oppressed.

In short:

Money itself isn't the problem. The real problem is twofold:

(1) There are almost no balances that keep the super-powerful from abusing their power.

(2) Our society currently rewards people based on how well they manipulate others, rather than on their actual contributions. This is true both for monetary wealth and political power. The way our society is currently structured, it is virtually *guaranteed* that all the worst scumbags will float to the top.

It is these two things that need to change, whether by official legislation or by changing social norms. And limiting the accumulation of material wealth isn't going to get us any closer to these goals.
Set Bookmark
OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Wed, May 12, 2021, 7:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@Dave in MN

"What's worse is using a cloak of utilitarianism to mask the true intentions to socially engineer a race-based utopia."

The "race-based" utopia thing is - in itself - another mask.

The actual intention here is to simply make the powerful more powerful. The tech and media giants couldn't care less about race. What they are aiming is to socially engineer a world in which they have absolute power.

To reach this goal, they need to build some kind of "us vs them" narrative. It's Propaganda 101. Dictators throughout history always used this trick, and for a good reason: It works. Indeed, it achieves many different goals at the same time:

(1) It provides an excuse for silencing and/or persecuting any individual or group.
(2) It creates an atmosphere where people are discouraged to think for themselves.
(3) By focusing on various "us vs them" issues (racism, religion vs science, left vs right) the masses are distracted from far greater dangers. Like the very fact that these megacorporations are in the process of taking over the world and creating an Orwellian nightmare for all of us.

So basically, the BLM/PC-culture thing is just a convenient excuse to further divide the population. And of-course, as Booming said, this specific agenda also has the added bonus of making these tyrants feel like heroes.

@Booming
"Religious institutions were fighting the worker movement and for the rich long before Marx wrote Das Kapital."

Classical religious institutions have far more in common with Soviet Russia or Communist China than either side would be willing to admit. The problem in both cases is not the core values, but the absolute power they have over their populations.

As the famous Trek maxim goes: "Absolute Power corrupts absolutely".

At any rate, this doesn't contradict Dave's point about why totalitarian regimes stamp out religions. Let me rephrase his statement in more general terms:

"I think you'd have to be nihilistic to decide that the best course of action is to consolidate and increase governmental power while eroding/ eliminating the rights of individuals.

If there's no reason behind anything, then any action is justified. That's why totalitarian regimes discourage individuals and groups from believing in an absolute source of morality (with the exception of the state)"

This is why communist regimes fear religion as well as any form of spirituality.

This is why theocracies fear competing religious view points.

And this is why the ability to think critically and independently is deemed as dangerous in both.
Set Bookmark
OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Wed, May 12, 2021, 3:02am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@EventualZen
"I agree that Discovery and Picard mostly don't feel like classic trek, but wasn't trek always left-leaning? Even in TOS the crew were diverse and there were moral messages about racism, sexism, and war. I mean it was always preachy. "

The difference is that Old Trek preached for timeless progressive values which transcend present day politics. Advocating diversity and preaching against racism does not have to be a political thing, you know. In Classic Trek it usually wasn't.

Nu Trek, on the other hand, is seldom interested in values or morals of any kind. It is too busy conforming to the present day political expectations and playing it safe. Its view on (say) diversity is no different (for good and for ill) then any other TV show. And it never EVER challenges the status quo or poses difficult questions about the society we live in.

See the difference?

@Booming
"They kind of did that in the movies already."

i don't recall anything of the sort. Can you elaborate a bit more?
Set Bookmark
OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Tue, May 11, 2021, 4:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@Dave in MN
"I prefer to focus on the positive: the Orville Season 3 will be premeiring later this summer."

I heard it was more like December. Where did you see "later this summer"?
Set Bookmark
OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Tue, May 11, 2021, 4:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@Rahul
"But I hang in there b/c once in a while they do get it right with a somewhat standalone episode that is truly excellent. For example, I really appreciated 'Nepenthe' -- was wonderful to watch. And with DSC, 'Forget Me Not' was outstanding in a number of respects."

Why is it an all-or-nothing proposition?

Reminds me of the drop in quality in the later seasons of Futurama. It has some wonderful gems but there's no way I'll slog through an entire season just to enjoy them.

@Nolan
"Why do you think so many are simply saying "This isn't Star Trek!"? It's to save ourselves from this slushpile of misery."

Isn't it the other way around?

Are you saying "this isn't Star Trek" as a mere excuse to avoid things like Icheb's eye being graphically gouged out? Or does watching Icheb's eye being graphically gouged out makes you realise "How the **** can anybody call this cr*p 'Star Trek'"?

Apparently CBS has taken Rule of Acquisition #239 to heart: "Never be afraid to mislabel a product".

"I quit after Picard. I couldn't take watching the broad ideals I value in Trek being nose-dived by these clueless writers."

Not just nose-dived, but - way too often - actively mocked.

What they did to the character of Picard is simply unforgivable. PIC was a never-ending fest of direct mockery: Mockery of both the legacy of TNG itself, and of the iconic character of Jean Luc Picard.

"I still have to deal with people talking about the new shows favorably on social media, and keep an eye on the news and review sites to see what aspect of the franchise they aim to butcher, ruin and rot next, (it's Q, btw) and get frusterated by that"

I've honestly stopped caring at this point. Since none of it is "Real Star Trek" anyway, why bother?

I'm simply curious with morbid fascination: what in the name of devil are they going to do this time? How low could they go? After the sheer offensiveness that was PIC, could they sink any lower?
Set Bookmark
ThatsOnYoutube
Sat, May 8, 2021, 6:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: 11:59

In an interesting twist, the Millennium Gate turned out to be a Borg/Ferengi plot to install a giant antennae on Earth. Once operational, the antennae broadcasts a signal that subtly causes humanity to become profit-seeking individuals. These creatures reap gains off the suffering of the weak, mercilessly pollute, and seek new profits in the stars. This weakens Earthlings, allowing the Borg to assimilate them easily by posing nanophage assimilation arachnotrons as the hottest new Christmas present, Tickle Me Eleven of Seven... And allowed a few Ferengi to amass a lot of value as time traveling bitcoin entrepreneurs.
Set Bookmark
OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Tue, May 4, 2021, 10:44am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Bound

Obviously David didn't mean it as a compliment, but that doesn't change my point: Saying that a review from 2008 is "woke" *is* a compliment, regardless of the intentions of the person who said it.

I mean, if we try to take it as a negative statement, how would it read? "Jammer is not a chauvinist and he is against objectifying women as sex objects. Wow, what a scumbag"?

"If you by cool mean so popular that they become financially beneficial then I wholeheartedly agree."

Not exactly what I had in mind, though I guess you could say that "do what society expects of you or you'll be fired/cancelled/terrorized/abused" can be seen as "financially beneficial". ;-)
Set Bookmark
OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Tue, May 4, 2021, 7:43am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Bound

I'll take "He was woke before woke was cool" as a compliment.

It's tragic, how good things tend to get completely butchered the moment they become "cool", isn't it?
Set Bookmark
Thomas
Tue, Apr 20, 2021, 7:03am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Doctor Bashir, I Presume

A 2 year stay at a minimum security penal colony in New Zealand sounds like paradise. If you've ever been to the country you'll know what I mean.
Set Bookmark
The Chronek
Sun, Apr 18, 2021, 9:58am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The City on the Edge of Forever

"City" deserves all the praise it gets. There are many great reasons why it has made critics' lists for best Trek franchise episodes and best hours of television over the decades.

I rewatched the episode last night with my wife and 7-year-old son. My son had seen Trouble with Tribbles before, but was unimpressed. This episode had him riveted throughout. Yes, McCoy was genuinely scary after he accidentally OD'd. Yes, the drama around whether Edith Keeler would live or die was riveting.

I'm more of a Next Gen fan. Next Gen was on first-run during my impressionable teenage years; I suspect Jammer and I are pretty close to each other in age, maybe a year or two apart. But I had seen TOS in syndicated reruns, and I had seen TWOK thru TVH before TNG debuted. I loved TOS, too, and this episode was a big reason why.

As for Harlan Ellison and his scripts? Well, he was a very talented, award-winning writer. But Star Trek was still in its first season, finding its footing, always within a whisker of cancellation. I've read Ellison's scripts and edits for the episode, along with all his "woe is me, Roddenberry screwed me over" bitter commentary. I think the changes made to Ellison's script made it better. I think those changes made this episode the classic that it is. And I'm pretty sure it was Dorothy Fontana who made those changes.

I remember reading a story, I think in Esquire, about Frank Sinatra shooting pool somewhere around his 50th birthday, and Harlan Ellison was there. Somewhere, words were exchanged, Ol' Blue Eyes got pissed off, and his friends had to stop him from stomping a mudhole in Ellison. Not that Sinatra was any kind of angel himself, but Ellison was a jerk in his own right. I kinda wish Frank's friends hadn't stopped him.
Set Bookmark
Thomas
Mon, Apr 12, 2021, 10:06am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Does that mean we're out of the superhero movie era, Booming? What era are we in now?
Set Bookmark
SouthernHope
Sat, Apr 10, 2021, 7:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Inner Light

I've taken the last year of the pandemic and watched TNG from start to finish and came across this review site.

I just wanted to say that I appreciate these reviews greatly....though it makes me a bit sad to see more thoughtful replies 10 or 12 years ago and then a bit more impatient and mocking in tone nowdays (with some exceptions).

anyway, a thank you to you, Mr Jammer.
Set Bookmark
Gareth
Thu, Mar 25, 2021, 4:33am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Civil Defense

Completely disagree with this review (which is rare). I loved this episode when i first watched it and just loved it just as much when i finished watching it an hour ago. The constant roadblocks for escape are hilarious, the escalations due to none compliance are keep it moving along and the constant reassuring voice of past-Dukat are great. Perfect bottle episode.
Set Bookmark
Aceonthedraw
Fri, Mar 19, 2021, 4:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Indiscretion

Ohhhhh - I was expecting a dark twist ending with that one: Dukat boards his shuttle, points disruptor at daughter, shoots.
Set Bookmark
Jonathan Billig
Wed, Mar 17, 2021, 9:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Schizoid Man

I think the Vulcan doctor was used on the away team instead of Pulaski so that Graves would have another young female to hit on.
Set Bookmark
Aceonthedraw
Fri, Mar 12, 2021, 4:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Explorers

This was the last episode I saw of ds9 before I started boarding school 20 odd years ago. I started watching the series again from scratch at the start of this year and I'm now super excited to see how the series pans out. I'm already of the opinion that it's a far superior to TNG - an opinion I suspect clouded by season 7 after I finished that rewatch... . For some reason I barely remembered any of the other episodes of ds9, and my memory of this show has always been Jake and Sisko in their solar sail ship.
Set Bookmark
The Emissary
Fri, Mar 5, 2021, 10:59am (UTC -5)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 13: The Jedi

"She (R. Dawson) has more acting prowess in her pinky than SMG has in her whole body."

No.
Set Bookmark
The Emissary
Fri, Mar 5, 2021, 10:57am (UTC -5)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 11: The Heiress

@Jack2211

Well, the series has Dave Filoni as a co-creator, so it has many, many references to his previous animated series (The Clone Wars and Rebels), which are regarded as actual contributions to the SW canon.
Set Bookmark
The Emissary
Thu, Mar 4, 2021, 9:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: There Is a Tide...

Yeah...I'm with Stamets.
Set Bookmark
The Emissary
Thu, Mar 4, 2021, 3:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

I agree that Osyraa is largely underwhelming. Skimping on finding a good, older actress and failing to write some meat into this role is a big miss. The patch up between the "bros" feels like a cross between Hallmark Channel and Netflix Christmas Movie (Hallmark ^2).

However, regardless of how clumsy the episode was, as the parent of a child who is currently defining who they are, this episode was incredibly illuminating and helped me see things that I am currently struggling with in a completely fresh and understandable way.

That alone is worth the entire season for me.
Set Bookmark
The President
Sun, Feb 28, 2021, 11:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Distant Origin

Minister Odala would have made an excellent cabinet official in a certain U.S. political administration.
Set Bookmark
SouthofNorth
Fri, Feb 26, 2021, 8:36am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Firstborn

Any Alexander episode that does not end with Alexander lying dead in a pool of his own blood and vomit is, by definition, a poor episode.
Set Bookmark
SouthofNorth
Fri, Feb 26, 2021, 8:29am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Genesis

One thing about this episode is that we finally got a chance to see Worf's pajamas. Not exactly the pajamas of a warrior; they look like something you would find in the discount aisle at Target.
Set Bookmark
SouthofNorth
Wed, Feb 24, 2021, 10:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Genesis

You can see how bridge officers rate on the good 'ol Enterprise. One them is found at his station brutally murdered and does Picard or Data say something like "Oh no, Ens. Davies has been killed!". Nah, the poor sap doesn't even have a name. Picard's like "hey Data what killed uh ... this ... guy?"

Good luck writing that note to the grieving parents Jean Luc...
Next ►Page 1 of 164
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.