Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 2,932 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 118
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Sun, Jun 23, 2019, 10:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Skin of Evil

@Ari Paul "I'm rooting for Armus."

Perfect.
Set Bookmark
methane
Sun, Jun 23, 2019, 3:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Shore Leave

Well Booming, you may be pleased to know you think just like the network executives in charge did back in the 1960s! Too many old men! No young people would want to watch that!

Roddenberry didn't fire Scotty, but he did go and hire an actor who looked like one of the Monkees. This was their strategy to appeal to teenagers and give the girls someone to look at*. Of course, Roddenberry made the character Russian to advance his vision of a united Earth, but the character was primarily there to look pretty.


*I think the girls mostly still preferred Nimoy
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Sat, Jun 22, 2019, 5:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Trouble With Tribbles

If "City on the Edge of Forever" is the best TOS drama, then "The Trouble With Tribbles" is the best dramedy. (I say dramedy because there were dramatic stakes to the episode, which made the comedy all the better).

I think one reason the episode is so good is the characters stay true to character. They didn't have them behaving out of character just to achieve some laughs.

I think this episode is the one that cemented "Star Trek's" place as an enduring franchise. It's also the peak of the TOS to me. I don't see another episode coming up that matches it.

It's also one of the few Trek episodes or movies that puts every single minute to extraordinary use. The others:

City on the Edge of Forever
Mirror, Mirror
Doomsday Machine
The Wrath of Khan
The Undiscovered Country

+++

The Measure of a Man
Yesterday's Enterprise
Best of Both Worlds
Inner Light

+++

Duet
The Die is Cast
The Visitor
In the Pale Moonlight
The Siege of AR-558
Set Bookmark
Thomas
Sat, Jun 22, 2019, 7:01am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Covenant

@Adam

Are you sure faith is always a bad thing? Children have but faith in their parents to do what’s best for them, and without that, they might not learn how to become responsible adults.
Set Bookmark
The Man
Fri, Jun 21, 2019, 7:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: A Matter of Time

Actually Nick Poliskey you seem to have an obsession with whining about Robin Williams. This episode was not that great and you pretending that you like it doesn't change that fact.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Mon, Jun 17, 2019, 8:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: Obsession

Wow -- much better than I had remembered. One of the few of TOS that I had not seen since the 1970s.

The Big Three really standout in this episode, but the supporting players and guest stars turn in strong performances as well.

The episode has a quality to it you don't see again until DS9. It's pretty dark -- in a good way.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Mon, Jun 17, 2019, 7:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: 11001001

Didn't much like the episode, but I really appreciated the higher level of production. Very nice direction and music.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Mon, Jun 17, 2019, 7:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Deadly Years

I must have a must higher tolerance for rapid-aging stories than the average "Trek" fan. I really liked the Next Gen rapid-aging story in season 2, and it's mostly panned.

I enjoyed this one as well, and it sure resonates with the almost 57-year-old me a lot more than the 12-year-old me.

Poor Lt. Galway. She's was treated like an afterthought. I don't know why, but her death always stuck with me as a particular sad one, and last night's viewing didn't change that.

That line about what a stupid place to put a mirror -- that's a great moment.

I had forgotten about the entire Romulan angle. Glad they had it in there.
Set Bookmark
Thunderchild
Sun, Jun 16, 2019, 3:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Rocks and Shoals

@Startrekwatcher - I think the idea of having Dax injured was due to the fact Terry Farrell had extremely sensitive skin. Having her laid up in the cave for the majority of the episode meant she wouldn’t have to film any exterior scenes. I remembering reading that her skin condition played havoc with the filming of “Let He Who Is Without Sin”.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Sun, Jun 16, 2019, 2:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Doomsday Machine

One of the best episodes of TOS and any Trek. I keep hoping for canonical treatment of the DM again.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Sun, Jun 16, 2019, 2:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: Metamorphosis

Wes B. -- I had the exact same thought on the Deck/Ilia probe.

I've also wondered how folks would have felt if that had been Uhura or Chapel in the shuttle dying and left behind to make sure handsome Mr. Cochrane had someone to knock boots with.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Sun, Jun 16, 2019, 1:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: Friday's Child

Goofy costumes aside, the Capellans made for one of the more interesting one-time-visited alien races in all of Trekdom.

I think they could make a compelling villains-you-respect race in the Prime Universe set in the decades after DS9 and Voyager.

At that point, they've had a couple of centuries of being exploited for their minerals and they've decided to give up their tents and head for the stars. As a space-faring race with technology equal to the Federation, they could easily emerge as worthy rivals to the Federation, Klingons and Romulans.
Set Bookmark
Matthew Siegel
Sat, Jun 15, 2019, 1:23am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Muse

I weirdly liked this a lot, even though on its face it doesn't seem that interesting... the way it gradually became about the creative process as a whole was just engaging. Perhaps because I did not expect that to be the theme of the episode, but it's a unique and interesting theme that works here.
Set Bookmark
Thomas
Sun, Jun 9, 2019, 1:59am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Ultimate Computer

Jason R. - I think I'd know what Kirk would say too, but he was someone who got his kicks out of interfering with alien cultures who largely didn't ask for it and didn't want it. Back when TOS was made that wasn't as well seen because it was (and still is) the same policy as the US and the UK and others who interfered and made colonies out of less powerful nations for their benefit. At the time they may have thought they were doing good, but it was only seen later the 'good' was their own. Similarly, many who watch TOS now - 50 years later - can't believe how egoistic Kirk and the ideals of the Federation are, and how the creators wouldn't have seen that more clearly.

So I'm certainly not saying 'don't strive'. I'm saying if we look closely at why we are striving we may not like what we find. Much that seemed noble or worthwhile at the time may turn out to be not so.
Set Bookmark
Thomas
Sat, Jun 8, 2019, 8:35am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Ultimate Computer

No, nothing to do with money. Looking within is simply in contrast to looking without. You said earlier that if people didn't work they would be miserable. This is looking outside oneself for happiness, and it is the same as in TNG where it is believed that salvation (as we have been calling it) lies somewhere "out there", in this case in the form of making mankind better. Asking whether that's really true, whether my searching and striving has ever brought me true happiness, would be an example of looking within.
Set Bookmark
CarlosTheFinger
Sat, Jun 8, 2019, 8:23am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: The Magnificent Ferengi

If you love DS9 and dismiss the hilarity of this in favour of nitpicking, you have no soul. Easily my funniest episode of all Star Trek incarnations and my second favourite episode overall to The Visitor. I shamelessly rewatch Brunt's descriptions of the motley crew and the holographically simulated rescue attempt on a regular basis. My cap is doffed with ten stars awarded to this Magnificent Ferengi episode.
Set Bookmark
Thomas
Fri, Jun 7, 2019, 5:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Ultimate Computer

@Peter G "We're confusing two different issues here, one of which is a *prediction* that automation will cause considerable strife rather than being our salvation - at least at first."

Whose prediction is this? It's just as likely that automation play a role in our salvation. We've already discussed how work is currently seen as salvation. If automation can liberate us from that view, and cause us to look for happiness within, then it may very well be a positive shift.
Set Bookmark
Thomas
Fri, Jun 7, 2019, 6:12am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Ultimate Computer

I would have to agree with Delenn and co there - as I find I often do. So where does that leave us with the question of automation of work? I don't think it's the role of governments to protect completely subjective preferences by holding back technological advancement. If it were we'd still be stuck with the horse and carriage and the private automobile would never have existed. And no doubt there was plenty of paranoia and fear around that particular change - what if cars started driving themselves? Can we trust them? Surely professional drivers are more experienced and trustworthy, and how will they survive?
Set Bookmark
Thomas
Fri, Jun 7, 2019, 12:53am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Ultimate Computer

@Peter G

"Jason R. is right that you're creating a false dilemma here. But you also make the mistake of referring to this as a person's "view" of life. It has nothing to do with point of view about work. It is factual (one way or the other) that a lack of meaningful work would erode and destroy people, and this premise doesn't rely on anyone's opinion."

I don't disagree with this as a 'factual' standalone statement, although I would amend it to say that work that is THOUGHT to be meaningful can make us happier. With a little reflection I think it would be discovered that paid employment that is ACTUALLY meaningful is extremely rare, and perhaps it would be useful to bring up a scenario to think about here:

Persons A and B, both with similar skills, apply for a job delivering goods that 80 others have applied for. Person B gets the job while A is unemployed. When interviewed, B replies that it is meaningful work and he is happier, while A replies that he would be happier with the job. But what if A had got the job instead? The goods would still have been delivered. The only difference is that B is not doing it, someone else is. The work getting done has no influence on A or B's happiness, telling us that it is not meaningful that the work is getting done but only that a particular person is doing it.

This is a very common scenario, and yet it doesn't occur to most that the work they are doing is only meaningful because they are the ones doing it, and because they interpret is as meaningful. Who knows what would be the state of affairs if they hadn't done that work? Perhaps there is an accident due to a particular attribute of a worker that wouldn't have occurred with someone else doing that job. Perhaps the extra income allows the family to go on a holiday and their plane crashes and kills them. Perhaps the job is one which will cause environmental problems in the future we are not aware of now. Who are we to tell what is beneficial and what isn't?

Yes, lack of meaning 'destroys and erodes' people, and that is why some turn to destructive habits like drugs and terrorism, in which there is also found meaning. Finding meaning in something doesn't mean we should strive to provide that something or protect it, which is what we are seeking to do when we are perceiving work as an end in itself as meaningful.
Set Bookmark
Thomas
Thu, Jun 6, 2019, 8:35am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Ultimate Computer

"It's also true in my experience that the people who work in their old age, regardless of occupation, live longer and seem happier to me than people who retire. I would rather pick up trash or man a cashier in my old age than relax in a retirement home (even a nice one).

Work of any kind gives people dignity and purpose, not to mention income. The Daystrom idea of "freeing" man to do greater things isn't just wrongheaded, it is a trap that would enslave us, not make us free. "

It's true that if you view life as having no purpose other than to work, which it's clear most people do, then if the only options are between relaxing and working the obvious choice would be the latter. For those in the minority that don't maintain such a view, the more time they have to pursue their chosen purpose the more likely they will be able to realise it. So I would say work is freeing only to the extent that one is chained to the notion that it is needed to give them purpose, dignity and so on. Which is rather like upgrading to a larger prison cell.
Set Bookmark
Thomas
Thu, Jun 6, 2019, 6:48am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Ultimate Computer

"It's a fact that automation, more than outsourcing, more than any other factor, is squeezing humans out of the job market. There are certainly other forces at work to be sure but automation is the only factor that seems to only point in one direction. Faith in the triumph of the human spirit isn't a plan for a future where AI may be able to do everything from driving trucks to filling out your tax returns and writing your legal contracts. We are already very close to that point as we speak. "

Sounds great. Bring it on. I can't see any downsides to a future where our time no longer needs to be taken up by menial tasks.
Set Bookmark
OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Wed, Jun 5, 2019, 7:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

@Jason
"Kissed him? Huh? I don't remember that part. I do recall her rubbing his back briefly and making the oft repeated statement about the engine being her or something."

FWIW They did kiss at the end of "Booby Trap". But taking that scene in isolation is taking it out of context.


@Booming
"Ok, let's just assume the computer turns female holodeck characters into willing objects and Geordie is not to blame for that behavior."

A willing object of what, exactly? Just what do you think happened between Geordi and Holo-Leah?

In "Booby Trap" we've seen them work together in a race against the clock to solve an engineering problem. Yes, there was also a flirtatious undertone, but it was never the emphasis of the simulation. Nor, might I add, did it interfere with their work. Those scenes just gave the impression of two friends working together and having a wonderful chemistry with one another.

In short, I don't see any problem with Geordi continuing to use the original program. He really felt a genuine connection - both professional and personal with the character he was working with.

Doesn't excuse what he did when the real Leah came along, but there was absolutely nothing wrong with what he did in the original program.

"You again ignore that he uses his special knowledge about her several times to impress her (favorite food, hairstyle, her feelings about her work) he also lies to her about it."

I agree it was wrong of him to do that.

But let me tell you a secret: When I was young and stupid, I did similar things and thought it made me really clever. This is exactly the kind of thing that young socially-inept people sometimes do, simply because they are so clueless.

I assure you that I was never a stalker and never treated people (male or female) as objects. I was simply an idiot who was completely oblivious to the basic rules of proper social interactions.

Of-course, today I know better, and I cringe to think about the stuff I did back then. But my point is, that creeps and perverts are not the only people who might pull a stunt like that. And Geordi strikes me as precisely the kind of person who would fall into this trap without any malicious intent.

Doesn't make him any less wrong, of-course. But intent does matter.
Set Bookmark
OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Wed, Jun 5, 2019, 5:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: The Cloud

I'm currently in the middle of a 3rd rewatch of Voyager. It's quite enjoyable, actually. Not sure why there's so much hate for that show.

Sure, Voyager didn't really live to its premise and its potential. But that doesn't make it a bad series.

(same can be said about Enterprise, by the way)
Set Bookmark
OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Sun, Jun 2, 2019, 5:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Sacred Ground

Oof... keyboard problems.

Continuing my post about Chakotay:

If he seemed offended, it's probably because of Janeway's insincere attitude toward the whole thing. As a spiritual person, it must have driven him nuts to see her jumping through all these crazy hoops while completely missing the point.
Set Bookmark
OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Sun, Jun 2, 2019, 5:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Sacred Ground

Gotta say, that as a person who is both a rationalist and a theist, I appreciated what this episode was trying to do.

But I also agree with Luke that it looked like the story was written by a person who never actually *experienced* these dilemmas first hand. It's like the writers understood the point intellectually, but didn't have the personal experience required to bring that point to life.

As a result, the episode falls a bit flat.

@Trish
"He seemed practically offended the whole time by the captain's willingness to throw herself into an alien spiritual rite, almost as if he thought, 'If she won't convert to my religion, which is the one and only REAL one, then why is she embracing these stupid and dangerous alien superstitions?' "

I
Interesting.

You're right that Chakotey seems pretty miffed about the whole thing. But I d

The "My religion is the only true one" thing sounds completely out-of-character to me. That's not the Chakotay we know.
Next ►Page 1 of 118
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.