Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 16 (Showing 1-16)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Jeffrey Montgomery
Thu, Aug 9, 2018, 9:44pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Similitude

@rudy actually the original Harry Kim was found by jetlya or whatever her name from ashes to ashes and turned him kobali in star trek online and I still consider sto to be canon
Set Bookmark
Jeffrey Montgomery
Wed, Aug 8, 2018, 8:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Horizon

I have to disagree here. I like the Mayweather character ut the problem is they chose to focus the story on trip, tpol, and Archer. That's what I'm leaving it with. And Paul pissed me off. Kinda like my own big brother pissed me off but it's the opposite. My brother left for college and never looked back till 6 months later our dad died. So I understood where Paul was coming from but if I was Travis I woulda told Paul to go f himself lol
Set Bookmark
Jeffrey Montgomery
Wed, Aug 8, 2018, 8:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Future Tense

Just in case no one is into the games this ties into a few of the Temporal operative stories in Star Trek Online. And yes Daniels and Kal Dano (the mixed species human) is part of it. Also the entire Temporal Cold War is relived through that game
Set Bookmark
TGAinVMH
Fri, Jan 8, 2016, 6:56am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Projections

No one commented on the funniest part in the whole episode. When the doctor asks "Who is Barclay", and it is explained that Barclay was in charge of developing the doctor's social interactions, or something to that effect. Hilarious. And it explains a lot about the doctor's eccentricities.
Set Bookmark
TG
Thu, May 7, 2015, 4:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: The Motion Picture

History remembers, rightly so, that The Wrath of Khan is the great Star Trek movie. But the Enterprise's maiden voyage on the big screen has much to recommend it. Though not as totemic as its sequel, Star Trek: The Motion Picture positions itself as a more thoughtful, measured interstellar drama in response to Star Wars' whiz-bang pow-pow. Later Kirk, Spock et al. adventures would pump up the action and shtick, but The Motion Picture emphasized brains and awe: It's the one Kirk film that feels like a worthy tonal predecessor to The Next Generation series that would give the franchise a creative second wind.
Set Bookmark
Tgor
Mon, Jul 28, 2014, 11:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: The Abandoned

Yanks, I think it was right for Sisko to not send him to Star Fleet. He's a sentient person who has comitted no crime. Sisko can't morally send him against his will, especially when he would harm others to escape. That's kidnapping. Plus, the Federation at this time isn't in an official war. It is hard to justify kidnapping a person just for science.
Set Bookmark
john crichtgon
Thu, Jun 26, 2008, 1:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: He That Believeth in Me

Well thats a great point because I dont think were done with the "Kara Thrace will lead the human race to their doom" storyline yet.

PS: We want reveiws gods damn it!
Set Bookmark
TG
Sun, Mar 23, 2008, 7:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Cogenitor

"And logically, a subjugated subset of a population with this sort of intelligence would know they are being subjugated and would in some way revolt, but that doesn't seem to be the case here. "
There is a (to me) rather obvious parallell in human history: The way women have traditionally been treated in most societies. They have been (and in some societies still are) banned from getting an education, they have been banned from most meaningful occupations, and have frequently been seen as having no value except to provide (male) children. And the reason they haven't revolted (and possibly why the cogenitors haven't) is that they themselves are dependend on their subjugators for continued existence. You can theoretically have a society where one skin color revolts against the other, or where one religion tried to exterminate the other, but one gender cannot rise in rebellion to eliminate the other. Resolving that kind of conflict is extremely difficult - and in the trek example, the cogenitors were even severely inferior in numbers, unlike women the real world example. In short this episode seemed to me to be the perfect feminist parable, where 'Stigma' utterly failed to be the same for hiv/aids.
Set Bookmark
idiotghos
Mon, Oct 15, 2007, 11:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: The Child

I wish I could make a comment on Dr. Pulaski, but I can't remember even the slightest detail about her.
Set Bookmark
idiotghos
Mon, Oct 15, 2007, 11:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Waltz

Spot-on review. One of the best-concieved episodes, with some solid writing, the only outstanding flaw being a tendency toward the bombastic, especially in Sisko's dialog at the beginning and ending of the show. Otherwise, this is my choice for Trek's best attempt at the psychological thriller.

I think anyone who has seen nuBSG could guess that Ron Moore penned this outing. It's interesting to note the similarities between Dukat and Gaius Baltar. Both are egomaniacs who have sold out their respective peoples. Both feel a great deal of regret, and try rationalizing their actions by communicating in their heads with important people from their past.
Set Bookmark
idiotghos
Mon, Oct 15, 2007, 10:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Treachery, Faith, and the Great River

This was a fantastic episode.
Set Bookmark
idiotghos
Mon, Sep 24, 2007, 11:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S3: Occupation/Precipice

There's some parallels to be drawn here with A Time to Stand/Rocks and Shoals. Both were excellent debuts to the season, and subsequent episodes felt lackluster in comparison.
Set Bookmark
idiotghos
Sun, Sep 9, 2007, 2:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Trials and Tribble-ations

I don't see how you gave this 3 and a half, Jammer. It does exactly what it sets out to do, as you stated in your review. It gets absurd at times, but so did "In the Cards".
Set Bookmark
idiotghos
Sun, Sep 9, 2007, 2:04pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: Little Green Men

I always got a real kick out of this one.
Set Bookmark
idiotghos
Sun, Sep 9, 2007, 1:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Past Tense, Part II

DS9 Companion states that this was originally written as a one-parter, and it shows. It seemed as though at least half the hostage scenes were filler.
Set Bookmark
idiotghos
Sun, Sep 9, 2007, 1:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S1: Duet

It's a shame that many ignore the early seasons outside of four episodes: "Emissary", "Duet", "Crossover", and "The Jem'Hadar". Going back and watching the older episodes, one percieves that the series was originally intended to be more toned-down than the often-bombastic Next Generation. Some amazing episodes like "Progress", "Cardassians", "The Collaborator" and especially "Nessacery Evil" recieve very little recognition. I don't want to sound like I don't appreciate the later seasons - far from it- but there is a subtleness to some of these episodes that is missed once the dominion reared its head, and especially after "The Way of the Warrior".
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.