Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 107 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 5
Set Bookmark
belfastbiker
Tue, Mar 19, 2019, 12:38am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2

Wonderful review as always, you're always one I check when doing rewatches. :)
Set Bookmark
belfastbiker
Tue, Mar 19, 2019, 12:05am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 1

"The unforgettable image I will take from this episode, above all others, is when Roslin crosses that line. Here is a woman so ill, so frail, that she can barely walk. She shakes with every step. But she is going. Roslin's determination and courage in this moment was so moving, so emotional — such a victorious scene of triumphant will — that I just lost it. This BSG viewer wept at the screen. "

Same here. My current rewatch was done a few years after mum died of various cancers, and she lived with me in her in her last year, every day.

The familiar courage brought me to tears.
Set Bookmark
FitBit
Wed, Mar 13, 2019, 10:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

I have followed Jammer for years, and respect his opinion greatly. He is my favorite Trek reviewer. I have tried three times with Discovery, each time canceling my CBS subscription before the trial expires. I actually love The Cage so I was intrigued. I restarted my subscription, and canceled it again at the episode's conclusion.

This is what a 4/4 episode is now? Lens flare? Dutch tilts? Wall to wall scoring that manages to be EVEN MORE boring than late era TNG? Pathetic fan service? Editing that made me think of the theatrical release of Legend? Robotic acting (90's era Trek seems positively radiant compared to this im that department)? I thought I was watching Battlefield Earth. And as a gay man myself, the melodramatic gay subplot made me sick. And how in the hell is Pike one of the "great" captains now? Worse than Archer. This is truly Trek for the consumer era, in the same way the worst episodes of Berman-era Trek were. But this has no heart.

I guess I'll just be "that guy" and stick to my DS9 reruns. At least they didn't have Spock.
Set Bookmark
belfastbiker
Sat, Mar 9, 2019, 8:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: Unfinished Business

What a snoozefest.
Set Bookmark
Quietbreaker
Tue, Jul 31, 2018, 8:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

@William B

You make a good point...HOWEVER. I kiiiiiiinda understand why the writers did what they did. I am no writer, not even a little bit. However, I can understand the huge dilemma that the Maquis represented, and understand why they "snapped into line" pretty quickly. Can you imagine trying to write exploration stories where the conflict is external (like TNG) except you have a ship full of people at odds with each other to a possibly deadly degree? I picture a scene where the Kazon have seen what Voyager can do, so they run off, regroup, and show back up with a big battle group to destroy or capture VOY, and Janeway is standing on the bridge, and orders shields up and weapons to ready. Unfortunately, the Maquis are up to their same tricks and have sabotaged key ship systems in ways that can't just be "beep-beep-boop"ed away by Kim or Tuvok on their panels, and is left completely defenseless. Then, pre-Seska, they get beamed down to some planet and left, and VOY is taken away by the Kazon. Without some heavy (and insultingly stupid) deus ex machina intervention, that's effectively the end of the space exploration part of the show.

So, I understand why the writers gave the Maquis-vs.-Starfleet personnel some token plot elements in the beginning, and then simply flattened them all away fairly quickly, so they could get back to writing external-threat episodes. I mean, I'm not sure how I'd be able to do it myself in that position. You're a Starfleet crewman, and you get sent on an away mission with one or two other guys who were Maquis. I'd suck at my job because I was too busy watching my back waiting for one of them to stick a knife in it or cause my ops board to explode in my face or something.
Set Bookmark
Quietbreaker
Mon, Jul 30, 2018, 6:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

@ Yanks

I agree with your assessment, actually. That's a really valid point. In fact, I am almost done with season 3 of BSG and frankly, even though I enjoy the show, it's exhausting to watch because the tone is so dark (and frankly, I cannot stand Gaius Baltar). It's taken me the better part of six months to slog even this far. That said, I AM going to finish the series because I do enjoy several of the other actors in the show and I hate leaving things unfinished. But yeah, I couldn't have watched seven seasons of this show if it were that dark.

@ William B

Absolutely. That really was one thing that as the seasons passed got a tad more unbelievable, although the worst offender (which actually knocked me out of the immersion) was when the Delta Flyer got destroyed and somehow was back the VERY NEXT EPISODE. What???!!! Come on, guys. I admit that's probably the one thing that made me feel like the writers didn't even care in the slightest. I mean, sure, the very idea that a ship that had the limited resources that Voyager was supposed to have, being able to produce something like the DF was a huge stretch in the first place. I simply explained it away as it being a possibility that there are large manufacturing replicator-type machines somewhere on Voyager, maybe stashed in a corner of a cargo bay somewhere. That's really the ONLY idea that makes any sense to me. And really, if we are taking Starfleet technology by that time into account, I candidly would expect something like that to exist on EVERY Starfleet ship. I mean, a Galaxy or other deep-space exploration ship isn't going to have easier access to Starbase repair facilities than Voyager does, if we're being candid. So, it just makes sense to me that ships (well, larger than some small scout craft, or maybe something like the Defiant) would have large scale manufacturing capabilities onboard so they could outright replicate entire hull panels, new nacelles, etc. And you know, it would have been so simple to do, since most of Voyager was CGI, if I recall correctly. It would/should have been easy to simply start adding things to the model. Extra external armaments here, blocky components attached to each nacelle increasing their efficiency there, and before you know it, you have a ship that feels lived in. They could have handwaved the ludicrousness of it all away with a simple line of dialogue from one of the characters.

Janeway: "B'elanna, where are we on those new whatchadoodlits for the warp nacelles we got from that passing ForeHeadian trader ship convoy last week?"

Torres: "We'll have finished replicating all of the components for the upgrades in the next 73 hours, and then it will take four days to install them. Oh, Captain, one thing of note. Once the technobabble whatchadoodles are installed, the nacelles will be locked permanently in their warp configuration."

Janeway: "Got it."

And then, maybe in the next episode, during one of the flybys, we see the new modules on the nacelles. It all would have been so simple. It would have also made the show feel more like writers were taking it seriously. They should have had a white-board of all the things they'd received over the years posted up somewhere because it seemed like the Voyager crew were getting updates (either specs/plans, or outright tech like the Transwarp coils) virtually all the time. I lost count of how many times their shields and weapons had been modified or upgraded. I wish we could have seen that.

You know, in retrospect, ENT did that, when they did that one episode about the future Enterprise which had become a generational ship? You could see both inside the ship and out, the physical changes/upgrades/repairs that had been made. It was fantastic, and it really sold that episode for me.
Set Bookmark
Quietbreaker
Mon, Jul 30, 2018, 1:09am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

Man, reeaaalllly longtime lurker, first time commentor. I have read Jammer's reviews as well as the conversations (which sometimes devolved into heated debates) in each comments section for TNG, ENT, and now VOY. Like a lot of other folks, I am in the process of going back through full series-watches of all the Trek shows thanks to NetFlix. I had watched TNG and DS9 growing up, but for various reasons never watched VOY or ENT. As of now, I have rewatched TNG, watched through ENT for the first time, and now tonight, finished up VOY after blasting through it in about a month.

After this finale two-parter, all I am left with is a sort of melancholy. Firstly, it's over, and considering that this show ended over seventeen years ago, we'll never see anything with these characters again. It was the same feeling I got at the end of ENT (which I frankly enjoyed for the most part). Secondly, in those final moments wherein we see Voyager being escorted to earth by that fleet of Starfleet ships, I kept thinking about how it was also the end of so many things for those characters. For several years, they had been a very tight-knit family, just them against an entire quadrant of unknown (and unfriendly) space. 152 people in a plucky little space-ship half the size of ships like the Enterprise-D, personal space would have probably been at a premium. There were countless situations that arose where if they had been in the Alpha Quadrant, the Voyager crew could have just radioed Starfleet Command for guidance/direction, but instead had to come up with unorthodox solutions to problems and many times those solutions broke some rule or other. Janeway was the ultimate command authority, and her word was law, whether it jibed with Starfleet regs or not. They were all alone and could only rely on each other. It's what made the show special, to me. Thinking back on TNG, the Enterprise was NEVER alone. There was order, structure, and regulations to be followed all while operating in familiarish territory.

Anyway, so now the Voyager crew gets home, and they're effectively back in an environment where this tight-knit family will be broken up and go their own separate ways to do whatever it is they're directed by Starfleet to do. Really, for me, there was no way the end of this show WOULDN'T have been somewhat sad. Imagine if you're working on a team for seven years that became a family, where everyone addressed everyone else in a familiar way, and then you suddenly get transferred to another ship, and another team where regulations have to be followed to the letter, and there's a stilted formality in place, and the ship is run under a different command style. I couldn't imagine that being a positive change after so much time living another way. So many of the various characters would probably react poorly to this change in circumstances.

One final bit of commentary, I have seen a TON of comments in virtually every episode's review talking about how Voyager is a poorly executed show because somewhere halfway through the second season, they dropped the pretense of trying to follow the initial premise that Voyager was stranded so far from home with finite resources, food, shuttles, etc. I have to say that for ME PERSONALLY, I didn't have a single issue with this. A show where there was constant tension of people starving, working aboard a ship that was badly damaged, in constant need of critical repair, people dying (we'd have chewed through the crew compliment pretty quickly!), and so on would have just been grim and not enjoyable to watch. Or at least, not for 7 seasons. Plus, little things like early on, they made the mistake of numbering how many photon torpedoes they had. Like, what? They have a 70,000 light year journey ahead of them, they'd have gone through their entire compliment of torpedoes just getting out of Kazon space! That would have left them defenseless. Or what about when they were talking about having limited power for the replicators. Power? What about the tanks full of chemicals (or whatever it is) that the replicators use to create things (TNG Engineer's Manual, woo!)? Where were they going to get refills on that?

I get that they originally were going to try to be realistic, and have realistic losses, but I figure someone on the writer's team got smart and realized that there'd be no crew (or ship) left before too long, and there'd be entirely too much of a dark tone to the show. I'm glad they made the decision to move away from it, even if most fans don't. I mean, we knew they weren't going to stick to the plot the first time Janeway was talking about some galactic phenomena or other she wanted to divert course to go see. What? That's not the action of someone desperate to get home, and exploration is definitely not the action of a crew desperate to see their own home and family again in their lifetimes.

Anyway, about the only thing I DO wish they would have incorporated as the seasons went on is some sort of visual evidence of all the modifications and upgrades they had made to the ship and its systems after receiving or finding all of this advanced alien technology through their journey. Instead, each episode, the ship looked the same it had looked in the first episode.

All of the nitpicks aside, this show really gave me a huge nostalgia trip of the days when I was back in high school and my local TV station would replay the episodes of TNG the afternoon following the evening it had originally aired so I could watch the episodes when I got home. A much simpler time, then.
Set Bookmark
TB
Mon, Jun 25, 2018, 6:52am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Shades of Gray

It might be a good thing that this episode sucked. We never had another clip show in a Star Trek series again. Probably because this was so terrible and they daren't do it again. If they had managed to pull off an acceptable clip show we might have ended up with more of them.

It's a shame that this episode was Pulaski's final episode though, not a strong send off.
Set Bookmark
Swiftbow
Tue, Jun 12, 2018, 3:17am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Errand of Mercy

Late to this discussion, but I've long wanted to weigh in on this episode with an observation I've never seen mentioned. To start, I agree with Skeptical's points.

But more than that, Kirk makes mention of other, occupied Klingon worlds. Preventing a war means those planets will remain conquered, under (tyrannical) Klingon rule. Yes, the Klingons eventually get less oppressive, but that's generations of people living under despots.

That was the crux of Kirk's argument. Some things (freedom) are worth dying for. The Organians, however, don't give a whit about that. It's why I never liked them, or the conclusion of this episode.
Set Bookmark
TB
Tue, Apr 24, 2018, 8:03am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Despite Yourself

I was very surprised by Culber's death. Even though the Discovery producers have made it clear they're not afraid to kill off main characters this was tasha yar level senseless. It's a shame, he was the most likeable of the main crew and we hardly got any exploration of his character.

This is my first post on Discovery but I am thoroughly enjoying it so far. With a few obvious issues that Jammer's mentioned here and in previous reviews:
- The spore drive is stupid (I've no issue with point to point travel, but this set up is way too far fetched)
- Continuity

It's a shame they didn't set it after Voyager, it would have given them a lot more freedom and they don't even make any use of TOS era stuff anyway so I don't see the point in the self-imposed restriction from the time period.
Set Bookmark
TB
Mon, Feb 26, 2018, 3:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Skin of Evil

Either wesley crusher or the chief engineer are wrong. Having just watched the last few episodes this was immediately obvious since it was mentioned specifically in Coming of Age.


(copied from transcripts I found online)

Skin of evil:

COMPUTER: That procedure is not recommended.
LYNCH: Understood. Now. Prime matter-antimatter injectors. Set ratio at twenty-five to one
COMPUTER: Ratio set.

Coming of Age:

COMPUTER: Last question on the hyperspace physics test. If the matter and antimatter tanks on a Galaxy class starship are nine tenths depleted, calculate the intermix ratio necessary to reach a starbase a hundred light years away at warp factor eight. Begin.
WESLEY: Once as I realised it was a trick question, there was only one answer.
MORDOCK: Yes, there is only one ratio with matter antimatter. One to one.
Set Bookmark
TB
Sun, Feb 25, 2018, 10:15am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Coming of Age

The numbers here just don't add up. Starfleet has hundreds of ships, personnel on planets and space stations, yet it's incredibly difficult to get into the academy, even to the point where they have to choose the best of 4 excellent candidates who have one chance per year. Who knows how many other candidates never even got this chance. Even if we consider this is just the best 4 candidates from a single base/system, it still gives an incredibly low number of students at the academy.

How can they possibly get enough staff for their starbases, ships and planets with such low recruitment? At this rate they'd struggle to replace the redshirts they lost each week on the Enterprise alone!

And, continuity error, if the entry requirements are so high, how the hell did we get some crewmembers with questionable competence in Voyager's Good Shepherd?
Set Bookmark
TB
Sun, Feb 25, 2018, 8:44am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Home Soil

Mediocre episode but data shouting "CAPTAIN! OUR SENSORS..", leaning over the desk and getting very excited was incredibly out of character.
Set Bookmark
TBonz
Mon, Feb 12, 2018, 8:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

On a previous Discovery:

Lorca: You're the most important being in either the P.U. or the M.U. so even though I could have been emperor, I'll die because well, Georgiou is more important to you than me (sniffle!) and I must die.

**music plays**

On the finale:

Georgiou M.U. I guess I won't shoot you because you're Burnham and Burnham is awesome. But later, girl. Worlds to conquer, you know.

L'Rell: God, I hate humans, minus Vok/Ash, but since you're Burnham and you're fucking awesome for a small human, I'll take your bomb and get my bros to call back their ships so Earth and other places aren't destroyed and you get to be the heroine.

Ash: You're too awesome for me so of course I'll take L'Rell as second choice. Don't tell her she's second. She'll kick my beta ass to Rura Penthe!

Cornwell/Starfleet: Even though you threatened to mutiny again, and fucked up by bringing Georgiou M.U. here, you magically ended the war so me and my Starfleet Admirals bros are gonna give you some ego-boo, medals, your rank back, and we'll let you lecture us all on what genocidal fucktards we were.

Sarek: I'm closer to you than my wife (shh, don't tell her about the magic katra across the miles connection bit) and I agree with Cornwell. We were genocidal maniacs and you were absolutely brilliant solving what 90 gazillion other Starfleeters couldn't solve, some I'm a gonna give you a SMILE! Let's go give Spock the bad news that you're my new favorite child!

**Pike sends distress call**

Pike: That'll get the awesome Burnham here. I'm dying to meet the superstar of two universes!

Spock: Oh God. I think I'll take shore leave to Rura Penthe instead.

End.

P.S. Tilly is a moron. She should have been on some Orion ship en route to Orion and the slave market. What a dumbass.

* *
"Garak could have solved this whole season's problems while hemming a dress."

ROFLMAO! No kidding. I can just picture it.
Set Bookmark
WTBA
Mon, Feb 5, 2018, 2:28am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The War Without, The War Within

@JP Saru said Ash was limited to certain areas and they even put the equivalent of an ankle bracelet on his wrist. As for secret messages, he is likely locked out of the comms and any codes he had as security chief are terminated.
Sure, he is freer than maybe he should have been, but it wasn't total freedom. Also, presumably this Dr. Pollard (was that the woman Saru talked to about Ash's condition?) signed off on it.
Set Bookmark
WTBA
Sun, Feb 4, 2018, 11:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The War Without, The War Within

Really enjoyed this one, but a slightly lower score (if I were to give one) than the last three.

That Ash/Michael scene just made the episode screech to a halt. SOOO boring and overlong. Glad the episode was nearly 50 minutes, but I'd have taken a couple minutes out of that scene.

Yeoh is knocking it out of the park. Great scenes with Michael, Cornwell, and Sarek.

Loved the Ash in the mess hall scene. Tilly showing a lot of compassion (very Star Trek), and others quick to follow her lead.

Cornwell is still a little dry for me. If she wasn't this way before the nine months passed, I could contribute it to how rough the war has been, but instead the actor seems to just be very stilted. I have read she is good in other stuff. Not sure if it is the writing here.

Hard to see how we wrap up the war in just another 50ish minutes (any chance it is an extended finale a la Doctor Who?).
Set Bookmark
WTBA
Mon, Jan 29, 2018, 7:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

On Burnham saving MGeorgiou: It was clearly an emotional, impulsive decision. She didn't want to watch her die "again."

For those who decry this move because MG is a terrible person, are you the same ones that decried Lorca leaving Mudd in the Klingon prison?

Is Mudd worth saving despite his questionable ethics simply because he is a Fed citizen but MG is not because she is a Terran?

Mudd was not left to certain death (esp. considering he got free soon after), but MG was as good as dead.

Isn't the whole point of Burnham's "I'm not going to kill you" to Lorca about the Federation being more ethical than that?

Isn't the ethics of the situation independent of consequences after? MG might be jailed or kept under lockdown in the PU, but it doesn't really matter to the decision to save her.

In the moment, was Burnham supposed to let her die?
Set Bookmark
WTBA
Mon, Jan 29, 2018, 12:05am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

Absolutely thrilling. Edge of your seat stuff. Also the first episode that nearly brought me to tears. Great stuff.

Seems like they are in for a rude awakening back in the PU. Not just the nine months, but Starfleet (Cornwall/Sarek and others from the preview clip) seem paranoid and pissed. Maybe they figured out about Lorca?

OF COURSE: It probably doesn't help that the ship still says ISS DISCOVERY on it... (gonna need to undone that paint job)
Set Bookmark
TBonz
Sun, Jan 28, 2018, 8:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

Anyone see the preview? Did the MU resistance cell get accidentally transported to the Prime Universe?
Set Bookmark
TBonz
Sun, Jan 28, 2018, 8:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

" I'm hoping it's not as simple as Lorca Is Actually Evil."

Yeah, well, about that. :/ I was so hoping this was wrong but after last week, there was no doubt.

Very disappointed. Instead of an interesting Prime U. troubled/PTSD Captain, we get a cartoon character villain. *snore*

I could not care less about the stupid Klingon war. And MU Georgiou in the Prime Universe. Yeah, she won't last long.

The only interesting thing left is that little green spore that burrowed into Tilly.
Burnham will, of course, get some pips.
Set Bookmark
WTBA
Wed, Jan 24, 2018, 10:52am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Vaulting Ambition

This may have been addressed upthread, so apologies if so.

I realized something rewatching the scene with the Stametses. When the camera zooms in on the screen showing “ISS Charon,” rather than being about the Stametses switching places, which they did not, I think the emphasis is meant to show that MU Stamets isn’t on MU Discovery, but rather on the palace ship.

Given we have not seen MU Discovery, we might wonder why it must look identical to the revised PU Discovery (as we know the ruse of changing unis and the ship lettering, etc. seemed to work).

If the spore tech is not functional (as MU Stamets got caught in the network – we don’t know the whole story yet), but is on the Charon, why does the MU Discovery look like the PU Discovery, as it was built for the spore tech? Is there a MU Glenn too?
Set Bookmark
WTBA
Sun, Jan 21, 2018, 8:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Vaulting Ambition

oh, I also liked the Stamets stuff. Culber wasn't probably necessary, though it was a decent way to get PU Stamets to listen/wake up. Have we seen the last of MU Stamets? I am guessing not...
Set Bookmark
WTBA
Sun, Jan 21, 2018, 8:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Vaulting Ambition

Stellar episode again. MU is brutal as fuck. Yeoh was intense.

A little disappointed MU Lorca is confirmed. Guess that means he is out for Season 2. The reveal was really well done though. (He let that guy die!) Note that when he said "someone better came along" he meant MU Burnham (and maybe to a small degree PU Burnham, depending on his timeline between Buran and PU Discovery).

Will we find out how he got to the PU?

The Lorca reveal does bring me to my first bigger criticism so far. With both the Lorca and Voq/Ash reveals, DSC has undercut an otherwise interesting character. Ash had PTSD (and I guess Voq as Ash did too), but the reveal sort of guts that (no pun intended). Then, Lorca seems to be a damaged soul (partly due to losing the Buran), and now that he is officially a MU asshole, his seeming growth and struggle has all just been a long con (though he probably does regret losing the Buran - or does he?). I am enjoying what they did do, but I just wanted to point this issue out.

I enjoyed Tilly (she didn't do much this time). Saru was very good (both overall and especially in the L'Rell scenes).

Also a shame it was only 37 minutes. Shortest episode yet. Only THREE left...
Set Bookmark
WTBA
Sun, Jan 21, 2018, 12:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

I really don't understand the confusion about Discovery picking up Tyler. Burnham's earlier conversation with Tilly/Prime Saru clearly showed she had a communication line open with them. Furthermore, Lorca told the Discovery to say close (to the Shenzhou) before he and Burnham parted in the previous episode.

Sure, they could have showed Burnham calling Prime Saru back and hatching the plan, but that would have completely killed the drama of the scene of Tyler being beamed off and "saved."
Set Bookmark
WTBA
Tue, Jan 16, 2018, 2:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

@Kuebel Tyler/Voq said "she should have let me die" because it would have been an honorable death (versus being imprisoned).

A bit about the episode and the show as a whole:

I thought the episode was great (as was Despite Yourself). I was on the edge of my seat for most of it (save for the beginning monologue and Tyler/Burnham scene).

I enjoyed Tilly trying to science Stamets back to reality. Her trying to do so was no crazier than every time any main cast member on any Trek risked their life or others on some crazy scheme to solve the problem of the week. So she is a cadet? So what? She is obviously trained in science and understood the spores better than most. There probably should have been medical staff on hand, but Saru letting her try was not an issue for me.

I never thought Burnham/Ash had much chemistry, so I don't care that that relationship is over. I thought SMG played the betrayal well and Latif was masterful as Voq began to break through. When he went into Klingon mode, I had goosebumps!

I think most people are too harsh on Burnham. Aside from the mutiny (a mark on her record for sure), she hasn't really done anything particularly immoral (and the state of the mutiny is debatable to a degree - probably more arrogant or misguided than immoral). Her killing Connor in the MU was pure self-defense, so critics that point to that didn't seem to pay proper attention to that scene or its context.

Lorca seems to be the biggest (Tyler/Voq murder aside) problem morally. I am not sure whether his win-at-all-costs is purely because he lost the Buran or whether he in part lost it because of that attitude in the first place (he did say he destroyed it to spare his crew - ?!). I am not on the Lorca is really a MU guy train, and I don't really want that to be the case. It would ruin his development, unless they pull it off in a heretofore unseen way. I like his redemption arc, and I think that there is more to the Buran story we haven't learned yet.

Overall stuff:

I love this show. I look forward to it more than most of the shows I watch. I really do not understand most of the criticism from people here and on other Trek boards.

I am not here to tell others to enjoy the show. Everyone likes different things. For those with continuity (mostly visual) or serialization/theme issues or other gripes, I am sorry the show isn't what you wanted or thought it would/could/should be.

I enjoy the serial nature (my favorite Trek is DS9, though I like most of Trek), and it has been great to see what Trek can be in that format.

I don't find the writing/dialogue to be poor (especially after the first couple episodes, which were the weakest in that regard). I like the characters just fine. Some more than others, but I don't dislike anyone.

I find it sort of humorous that some of the same people who cry foul that the so-called twists are too "shocking" also claim that the same twists are "predictable." Can you be shocked by predictable things? Can I be shocked the sun came up today? I guess if you think the writers think they are being shocking, then they might fall short...

The Ash/Voq reveal was very well done, but unfortunately, it was discussed so heavily here and other Trek places, it was never going to be what they hoped. It was hindered by Latif being first announced as playing a Klingon, which they retracted. The fictional actor listed as playing Voq also hurt things. I also think the weekly release format leaves too much time in this current internet/social media culture to really lay groundwork for longer plots/reveals. Everyone is discussing theories to death.

If DSC had been released all at once, I would have binged it in a couple of days and only read boards after I was done. I would have likely never entertained the notion that Voq was Ash, because I would never have dug into IMDB or fan theories. I wouldn't have had enough time to think about who the Emperor might be or whether characters might be MU from the start or anything else.

I have loved waiting for each new episode, but my thirst for reading about the episodes and what people are saying has probably made the experience less good (or as least very different).

We will never know, I guess. I suppose the cynical answer to why it is weekly is so CBSAA can keep folks on the hook longer. For shows like House of Cards, I usually only get Netflix for the month it comes out, binge it and then cancel. I would have done the same with CBSAA, and I will most certainly drop it after the DSC season ends.
Next ►Page 1 of 5
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.