Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 99 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 4
Set Bookmark
Swiftbow
Tue, Jun 12, 2018, 3:17am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Errand of Mercy

Late to this discussion, but I've long wanted to weigh in on this episode with an observation I've never seen mentioned. To start, I agree with Skeptical's points.

But more than that, Kirk makes mention of other, occupied Klingon worlds. Preventing a war means those planets will remain conquered, under (tyrannical) Klingon rule. Yes, the Klingons eventually get less oppressive, but that's generations of people living under despots.

That was the crux of Kirk's argument. Some things (freedom) are worth dying for. The Organians, however, don't give a whit about that. It's why I never liked them, or the conclusion of this episode.
Set Bookmark
TB
Tue, Apr 24, 2018, 8:03am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Despite Yourself

I was very surprised by Culber's death. Even though the Discovery producers have made it clear they're not afraid to kill off main characters this was tasha yar level senseless. It's a shame, he was the most likeable of the main crew and we hardly got any exploration of his character.

This is my first post on Discovery but I am thoroughly enjoying it so far. With a few obvious issues that Jammer's mentioned here and in previous reviews:
- The spore drive is stupid (I've no issue with point to point travel, but this set up is way too far fetched)
- Continuity

It's a shame they didn't set it after Voyager, it would have given them a lot more freedom and they don't even make any use of TOS era stuff anyway so I don't see the point in the self-imposed restriction from the time period.
Set Bookmark
TB
Mon, Feb 26, 2018, 3:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Skin of Evil

Either wesley crusher or the chief engineer are wrong. Having just watched the last few episodes this was immediately obvious since it was mentioned specifically in Coming of Age.


(copied from transcripts I found online)

Skin of evil:

COMPUTER: That procedure is not recommended.
LYNCH: Understood. Now. Prime matter-antimatter injectors. Set ratio at twenty-five to one
COMPUTER: Ratio set.

Coming of Age:

COMPUTER: Last question on the hyperspace physics test. If the matter and antimatter tanks on a Galaxy class starship are nine tenths depleted, calculate the intermix ratio necessary to reach a starbase a hundred light years away at warp factor eight. Begin.
WESLEY: Once as I realised it was a trick question, there was only one answer.
MORDOCK: Yes, there is only one ratio with matter antimatter. One to one.
Set Bookmark
TB
Sun, Feb 25, 2018, 10:15am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Coming of Age

The numbers here just don't add up. Starfleet has hundreds of ships, personnel on planets and space stations, yet it's incredibly difficult to get into the academy, even to the point where they have to choose the best of 4 excellent candidates who have one chance per year. Who knows how many other candidates never even got this chance. Even if we consider this is just the best 4 candidates from a single base/system, it still gives an incredibly low number of students at the academy.

How can they possibly get enough staff for their starbases, ships and planets with such low recruitment? At this rate they'd struggle to replace the redshirts they lost each week on the Enterprise alone!

And, continuity error, if the entry requirements are so high, how the hell did we get some crewmembers with questionable competence in Voyager's Good Shepherd?
Set Bookmark
TB
Sun, Feb 25, 2018, 8:44am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Home Soil

Mediocre episode but data shouting "CAPTAIN! OUR SENSORS..", leaning over the desk and getting very excited was incredibly out of character.
Set Bookmark
TBonz
Mon, Feb 12, 2018, 8:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

On a previous Discovery:

Lorca: You're the most important being in either the P.U. or the M.U. so even though I could have been emperor, I'll die because well, Georgiou is more important to you than me (sniffle!) and I must die.

**music plays**

On the finale:

Georgiou M.U. I guess I won't shoot you because you're Burnham and Burnham is awesome. But later, girl. Worlds to conquer, you know.

L'Rell: God, I hate humans, minus Vok/Ash, but since you're Burnham and you're fucking awesome for a small human, I'll take your bomb and get my bros to call back their ships so Earth and other places aren't destroyed and you get to be the heroine.

Ash: You're too awesome for me so of course I'll take L'Rell as second choice. Don't tell her she's second. She'll kick my beta ass to Rura Penthe!

Cornwell/Starfleet: Even though you threatened to mutiny again, and fucked up by bringing Georgiou M.U. here, you magically ended the war so me and my Starfleet Admirals bros are gonna give you some ego-boo, medals, your rank back, and we'll let you lecture us all on what genocidal fucktards we were.

Sarek: I'm closer to you than my wife (shh, don't tell her about the magic katra across the miles connection bit) and I agree with Cornwell. We were genocidal maniacs and you were absolutely brilliant solving what 90 gazillion other Starfleeters couldn't solve, some I'm a gonna give you a SMILE! Let's go give Spock the bad news that you're my new favorite child!

**Pike sends distress call**

Pike: That'll get the awesome Burnham here. I'm dying to meet the superstar of two universes!

Spock: Oh God. I think I'll take shore leave to Rura Penthe instead.

End.

P.S. Tilly is a moron. She should have been on some Orion ship en route to Orion and the slave market. What a dumbass.

* *
"Garak could have solved this whole season's problems while hemming a dress."

ROFLMAO! No kidding. I can just picture it.

Set Bookmark
WTBA
Mon, Feb 5, 2018, 2:28am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The War Without, The War Within

@JP Saru said Ash was limited to certain areas and they even put the equivalent of an ankle bracelet on his wrist. As for secret messages, he is likely locked out of the comms and any codes he had as security chief are terminated.
Sure, he is freer than maybe he should have been, but it wasn't total freedom. Also, presumably this Dr. Pollard (was that the woman Saru talked to about Ash's condition?) signed off on it.
Set Bookmark
WTBA
Sun, Feb 4, 2018, 11:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The War Without, The War Within

Really enjoyed this one, but a slightly lower score (if I were to give one) than the last three.

That Ash/Michael scene just made the episode screech to a halt. SOOO boring and overlong. Glad the episode was nearly 50 minutes, but I'd have taken a couple minutes out of that scene.

Yeoh is knocking it out of the park. Great scenes with Michael, Cornwell, and Sarek.

Loved the Ash in the mess hall scene. Tilly showing a lot of compassion (very Star Trek), and others quick to follow her lead.

Cornwell is still a little dry for me. If she wasn't this way before the nine months passed, I could contribute it to how rough the war has been, but instead the actor seems to just be very stilted. I have read she is good in other stuff. Not sure if it is the writing here.

Hard to see how we wrap up the war in just another 50ish minutes (any chance it is an extended finale a la Doctor Who?).
Set Bookmark
WTBA
Mon, Jan 29, 2018, 7:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

On Burnham saving MGeorgiou: It was clearly an emotional, impulsive decision. She didn't want to watch her die "again."

For those who decry this move because MG is a terrible person, are you the same ones that decried Lorca leaving Mudd in the Klingon prison?

Is Mudd worth saving despite his questionable ethics simply because he is a Fed citizen but MG is not because she is a Terran?

Mudd was not left to certain death (esp. considering he got free soon after), but MG was as good as dead.

Isn't the whole point of Burnham's "I'm not going to kill you" to Lorca about the Federation being more ethical than that?

Isn't the ethics of the situation independent of consequences after? MG might be jailed or kept under lockdown in the PU, but it doesn't really matter to the decision to save her.

In the moment, was Burnham supposed to let her die?
Set Bookmark
WTBA
Mon, Jan 29, 2018, 12:05am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

Absolutely thrilling. Edge of your seat stuff. Also the first episode that nearly brought me to tears. Great stuff.

Seems like they are in for a rude awakening back in the PU. Not just the nine months, but Starfleet (Cornwall/Sarek and others from the preview clip) seem paranoid and pissed. Maybe they figured out about Lorca?

OF COURSE: It probably doesn't help that the ship still says ISS DISCOVERY on it... (gonna need to undone that paint job)
Set Bookmark
TBonz
Sun, Jan 28, 2018, 8:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

Anyone see the preview? Did the MU resistance cell get accidentally transported to the Prime Universe?
Set Bookmark
TBonz
Sun, Jan 28, 2018, 8:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

" I'm hoping it's not as simple as Lorca Is Actually Evil."

Yeah, well, about that. :/ I was so hoping this was wrong but after last week, there was no doubt.

Very disappointed. Instead of an interesting Prime U. troubled/PTSD Captain, we get a cartoon character villain. *snore*

I could not care less about the stupid Klingon war. And MU Georgiou in the Prime Universe. Yeah, she won't last long.

The only interesting thing left is that little green spore that burrowed into Tilly.
Burnham will, of course, get some pips.
Set Bookmark
WTBA
Wed, Jan 24, 2018, 10:52am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Vaulting Ambition

This may have been addressed upthread, so apologies if so.

I realized something rewatching the scene with the Stametses. When the camera zooms in on the screen showing “ISS Charon,” rather than being about the Stametses switching places, which they did not, I think the emphasis is meant to show that MU Stamets isn’t on MU Discovery, but rather on the palace ship.

Given we have not seen MU Discovery, we might wonder why it must look identical to the revised PU Discovery (as we know the ruse of changing unis and the ship lettering, etc. seemed to work).

If the spore tech is not functional (as MU Stamets got caught in the network – we don’t know the whole story yet), but is on the Charon, why does the MU Discovery look like the PU Discovery, as it was built for the spore tech? Is there a MU Glenn too?
Set Bookmark
WTBA
Sun, Jan 21, 2018, 8:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Vaulting Ambition

oh, I also liked the Stamets stuff. Culber wasn't probably necessary, though it was a decent way to get PU Stamets to listen/wake up. Have we seen the last of MU Stamets? I am guessing not...
Set Bookmark
WTBA
Sun, Jan 21, 2018, 8:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Vaulting Ambition

Stellar episode again. MU is brutal as fuck. Yeoh was intense.

A little disappointed MU Lorca is confirmed. Guess that means he is out for Season 2. The reveal was really well done though. (He let that guy die!) Note that when he said "someone better came along" he meant MU Burnham (and maybe to a small degree PU Burnham, depending on his timeline between Buran and PU Discovery).

Will we find out how he got to the PU?

The Lorca reveal does bring me to my first bigger criticism so far. With both the Lorca and Voq/Ash reveals, DSC has undercut an otherwise interesting character. Ash had PTSD (and I guess Voq as Ash did too), but the reveal sort of guts that (no pun intended). Then, Lorca seems to be a damaged soul (partly due to losing the Buran), and now that he is officially a MU asshole, his seeming growth and struggle has all just been a long con (though he probably does regret losing the Buran - or does he?). I am enjoying what they did do, but I just wanted to point this issue out.

I enjoyed Tilly (she didn't do much this time). Saru was very good (both overall and especially in the L'Rell scenes).

Also a shame it was only 37 minutes. Shortest episode yet. Only THREE left...
Set Bookmark
WTBA
Sun, Jan 21, 2018, 12:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

I really don't understand the confusion about Discovery picking up Tyler. Burnham's earlier conversation with Tilly/Prime Saru clearly showed she had a communication line open with them. Furthermore, Lorca told the Discovery to say close (to the Shenzhou) before he and Burnham parted in the previous episode.

Sure, they could have showed Burnham calling Prime Saru back and hatching the plan, but that would have completely killed the drama of the scene of Tyler being beamed off and "saved."
Set Bookmark
WTBA
Tue, Jan 16, 2018, 2:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

@Kuebel Tyler/Voq said "she should have let me die" because it would have been an honorable death (versus being imprisoned).

A bit about the episode and the show as a whole:

I thought the episode was great (as was Despite Yourself). I was on the edge of my seat for most of it (save for the beginning monologue and Tyler/Burnham scene).

I enjoyed Tilly trying to science Stamets back to reality. Her trying to do so was no crazier than every time any main cast member on any Trek risked their life or others on some crazy scheme to solve the problem of the week. So she is a cadet? So what? She is obviously trained in science and understood the spores better than most. There probably should have been medical staff on hand, but Saru letting her try was not an issue for me.

I never thought Burnham/Ash had much chemistry, so I don't care that that relationship is over. I thought SMG played the betrayal well and Latif was masterful as Voq began to break through. When he went into Klingon mode, I had goosebumps!

I think most people are too harsh on Burnham. Aside from the mutiny (a mark on her record for sure), she hasn't really done anything particularly immoral (and the state of the mutiny is debatable to a degree - probably more arrogant or misguided than immoral). Her killing Connor in the MU was pure self-defense, so critics that point to that didn't seem to pay proper attention to that scene or its context.

Lorca seems to be the biggest (Tyler/Voq murder aside) problem morally. I am not sure whether his win-at-all-costs is purely because he lost the Buran or whether he in part lost it because of that attitude in the first place (he did say he destroyed it to spare his crew - ?!). I am not on the Lorca is really a MU guy train, and I don't really want that to be the case. It would ruin his development, unless they pull it off in a heretofore unseen way. I like his redemption arc, and I think that there is more to the Buran story we haven't learned yet.

Overall stuff:

I love this show. I look forward to it more than most of the shows I watch. I really do not understand most of the criticism from people here and on other Trek boards.

I am not here to tell others to enjoy the show. Everyone likes different things. For those with continuity (mostly visual) or serialization/theme issues or other gripes, I am sorry the show isn't what you wanted or thought it would/could/should be.

I enjoy the serial nature (my favorite Trek is DS9, though I like most of Trek), and it has been great to see what Trek can be in that format.

I don't find the writing/dialogue to be poor (especially after the first couple episodes, which were the weakest in that regard). I like the characters just fine. Some more than others, but I don't dislike anyone.

I find it sort of humorous that some of the same people who cry foul that the so-called twists are too "shocking" also claim that the same twists are "predictable." Can you be shocked by predictable things? Can I be shocked the sun came up today? I guess if you think the writers think they are being shocking, then they might fall short...

The Ash/Voq reveal was very well done, but unfortunately, it was discussed so heavily here and other Trek places, it was never going to be what they hoped. It was hindered by Latif being first announced as playing a Klingon, which they retracted. The fictional actor listed as playing Voq also hurt things. I also think the weekly release format leaves too much time in this current internet/social media culture to really lay groundwork for longer plots/reveals. Everyone is discussing theories to death.

If DSC had been released all at once, I would have binged it in a couple of days and only read boards after I was done. I would have likely never entertained the notion that Voq was Ash, because I would never have dug into IMDB or fan theories. I wouldn't have had enough time to think about who the Emperor might be or whether characters might be MU from the start or anything else.

I have loved waiting for each new episode, but my thirst for reading about the episodes and what people are saying has probably made the experience less good (or as least very different).

We will never know, I guess. I suppose the cynical answer to why it is weekly is so CBSAA can keep folks on the hook longer. For shows like House of Cards, I usually only get Netflix for the month it comes out, binge it and then cancel. I would have done the same with CBSAA, and I will most certainly drop it after the DSC season ends.
Set Bookmark
TB
Tue, Jan 16, 2018, 9:01am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Alice

It was ok until about 3/4 of the way through.

I can see why Alice wants a good pilot but:

1. What is Alice's motivation for suicide? It's never explained
2. Why does she need a pilot to kill herself? Surely once she's on course she wouldn't care whether Tom was beamed out or not
3. She mentioned needing a 'good pilot', the trader guy was 'too slow' to be of use to her. Nothing she did once she had a pilot explained why piloting skill mattered in the slightest. If all you're going to do is fly into an anomaly and die and idiot pilot could do that.

It all made no sense and it annoyed me that none of the characters even questioned the motivations of Alice flying into the anomaly.
Set Bookmark
TB
Tue, Dec 12, 2017, 1:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Code of Honor

Just watching this again and I noticed something. Not weighing in on the racist/sexist discussion, my observation is far more important: At the start, why did they get beamed into the cargo bay instead of the transporter room??
Set Bookmark
TB
Mon, Dec 11, 2017, 12:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: The Naked Now

@Eduardo - I know I'm replying to a 10 year old comment but I don't think this is an error:

> "This line makes no sense. Data is working on a bridge acces panel. He should be UPLOADING data to sickbay, not the other way around."

If I connect my phone to my PC and instruct the PC to start streaming a movie, the PC is downloading the movie from netflix/youtube/whatever. The phone is just giving it the instruction "Go download this file". Depending on the ship's infrastructure, the data might have been downloaded from the central computer to the bridge but data then makes the same information available in medical.

Pedantic, yes, but in response to previous pedantry!
Set Bookmark
WTBA
Wed, Dec 6, 2017, 3:08am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Firestorm

Apologies if I repeat anything said already, as I only skimmed the comments because there are so many.

This is only the third (fourth?) Orville that I have seen. My uncle has been watching from the beginning, and I have seen several eps with him (such as the social media allegory one).

I was generally pleased with this one. Very much in the Trekkian fashion (yes, the Orville isnt Trek, but the similarities are a good way to view and analyze it). It reminded me of TNG's "Clues" or "Remember Me" and Voyager's "Latent Image," in that I spent most of the episode trying to unravel just what the hell was going on.

Unfortunately, despite being on the edge of my seat for 95% of the episode, it sort of falls flat once all the cards are on the table. Even as it became disappointing clearer what was going on, I was still eager for the exact how it was going on.

Problem #1: Once Penny Johnson shot the nurse, it was clear that one of two things was true. Either a) she was possessed or b) Alara was still in the holodeck or hallucinating or dreaming or some other reset button outcome.

Problem #2: Once Malloy was eaten, it was pretty much obviously option b. They were smart not to let Grayson not fall into that abyss earlier in the episode. Sure, they could have gone the losing folks one by one route, but that would have given any the hey-a-reset-button-is-coming much earlier, so I credit them with not doing an even poorer job of maintaining the fuller mystery.

Frankly, they just gave it away too early. Maybe Malloy should have been merely dragged off or injured and at least taken to sickbay (even if critically injured). Unfortunately, his being swallowed made it clear the reset button was coming.

The reveal that Alara was in fact in the holodeck still (and the others were watching) was interesting. However, the reveal that she locked herself into the program (despite being memory wiped at some point?), was not as palatable as had she been assigned to the program to retrain her or to deal with the grief or something. It just felt tacked onto what was otherwise an intriguing premise.

As for the humor, I laughed multiple times, and I felt this episode did not derail itself to squeeze in one-liners as much as the pilot or the other eps I saw (like the social media one).

One other thing: as I had not been keeping up with the show, Alara's freak out over the death of the guy at the beginning really threw me. Sure it was under her watch and she might feel responsible, but surely they have lost multiple people on the show (all the Trek shows lost crewmen (redshirts and unnamed mostly) at a pretty steady rate). I read after, however, that this was the first crew death for the ship. This also lends context to Mercer's struggling with the condelence letter (which also threw me). Of course, the Trek shows probably didn't show enough of (captains especially) grieving over causalities, save for the DS9 Dominion War stuff, and that was mostly only when the Feds were losing badly and war fatigue had set in.

So, all in all, the episode was worth a 3 out of 4. Not sure how watchable it is once the twist is known (though few twists eps of TV are ever the same after the initial viewing). I was really invested pretty much throughout.
Set Bookmark
TB
Mon, Nov 27, 2017, 6:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: The Raven

Why let continuity spoil a perfectly mediocre story?

We know seven left deep space 5 as a child and got assimilated at 6. How did the raven travel 60 thousand light years in a year?? Why don't the voyager crew ask this?
Set Bookmark
TB
Thu, Nov 23, 2017, 1:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Before and After

Very good episode but I have a bone to pick with the producers.

If you're going to give Kes different wigs during the show to signify what time period she is in, don't choose this episode to change her hairstyle! At the end it wasn't clear whether we were seeing future Kes (relative to the previous/next episodes) or present day Kes. What stupid timing that was. I'd assumed the ending it was in the future because we hadn't seen kes with hair like that before and it would have taken a long time to grow it that long.

Set Bookmark
TB
Mon, Nov 13, 2017, 10:07am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Remember

> The Regressives are different because they don't like to use technology as much as the Enarans do, so in effect it's like Americans slaughtering Amish people or Mennonites. Why would we? I don't understand why the Enaran's want to kill all of the Regressives in the first place. Oh yeah, because they don't wash their hands. Seriously? What writer came up with that pathetic reason to slaughter an entire group of people? If they are that ultra-paranoid about sanitation, why not just do what they were pretending to do and move them to some isolated colony instead of killing all of them? The whole basis of this episode, to me, is idiotic.

But you could say the same thing about Nazi's killing Jews or Stalin have to target Jehovas Witnesses, Jews or most of the groups that went to the gulag? For the most part it was just a different heritage/way of life! Unfortunately it's not as unbelievable as it looks.
Set Bookmark
TB
Mon, Nov 13, 2017, 9:58am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: False Profits

Honestly, I quite liked this episode.

The wormhole stuff was all a bit daft but the Ferengi on the planet worked for what it was until the "Grand Proxy" showed up.

I like that they managed to tie it in to the TNG episode and it does make sense that the ferengi would be viewed as gods of sorts. After all, they can make anything out of thin air. Though it does make me wonder: Can a replciator create gold? If so, why do the ferengi need the suspiciously human looking aliens to pay them anything?

Ignoring the replicator issue, the ferengi being greedy and wanting to be treated like gods does work and fit with the canon and with superior technology it's hardly surprising the bronze age civilisation saw them as superior beings.

The set up is fine but the episode goes down hill as soon as the "grand proxy" shows up. Even if we assume the doctor can make Neelix look like a ferengi, how did Neelix get up to speed on Frengi customs, traditions and philosophy so fast, given he's never even heard of a Ferengi until an hour before?

The ending is cliche. Of course the wormhole didn't work, it would have been better if they just used it to introduce the Ferengi/planet and kept it at "This end is unstable". Of course then they'd have to do something else with the Ferengi at the end.

Plot convenience aside, I did enjoy the episode and would give it 2/4. Not great but not terrible either.

And this goes for Star Trek in general. Can people not tell when a Universal Translator is in use? The Ferengi would expect the Grand Proxy to speak a Ferengi language, not Telaxian via translator. Any time I see a character pretending to be another race I wonder this.
Next ►Page 1 of 4
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.