Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 13 (Showing 1-13)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Sullivan
Fri, Mar 16, 2018, 1:04pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: The Emissary

Paul C: Temperature in space doesn't work that way. Space itself is nothing (well, almost nothing) so in ordinary terms it has no temperature, neither hot nor cold. Given that the probe has both a life support system and a warp engine, getting _rid of_ heat, ie keeping the waste heat from the systems from cooking K'Ehleyr, would be a major design problem.
Set Bookmark
Sullivan
Fri, Mar 16, 2018, 7:41am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Q Who

I hate the way they wrote Guinan. "What can you tell us?" "Only that if I were you I'd start back now." Actually there's a whole lot else she could tell them, and maybe if the writers had let them, they would have started back now.

btw, what is Riker doing in that scene? He's leaning so steeply over the bar and looking unwaveringly into her eyes. Is he trying to seduce her? LOL!
Set Bookmark
Sullivan
Fri, Mar 16, 2018, 6:35am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: The Icarus Factor

Riker should have cheated back by sucker-punching his father while they were standing together. Then offered his hand to help his father up - and dropped him on his ass. And that's the gentle version.
Set Bookmark
Sullivan
Sat, Feb 10, 2018, 7:53am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: You Are Cordially Invited

Yet another Klingon episode - meaning it's full of asspulls about Klingons that make no goddam sense whatsoever. Their only purpose is to make the Klingon culture seem "alien".

I'd almost rather watch a Ferengi episode.

Almost.
Set Bookmark
Sullivan
Thu, Feb 8, 2018, 4:00pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Ferengi Love Songs

Zero stars.
Set Bookmark
Sullivan
Sat, Dec 9, 2017, 3:00pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: Little Green Men

Fun episode. But if I could wave a magic wand and remove the Ferengi completely from Trek, losing this episode would be an acceptable cost.
Set Bookmark
Sullivan
Sat, Dec 9, 2017, 11:47am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Prophet Motive

Ferengi. Worse, Ferengi with Zek featured. As soon as I realized I'd be listening to Zek, I skipped it. Zero stars.

The Ferengi should be removed from canon.
Set Bookmark
Sullivan
Tue, Dec 5, 2017, 12:37pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Family Business

The Ferengi "culture" is an absurd mish-mosh of obvious plot generators. All Ferengi stories are completely crippled thereby. Zero stars. There wasn't enough of the B plot to rescue the hour.
Set Bookmark
Sullivan
Thu, Sep 28, 2017, 7:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S1: Battle Lines

It's not only Mike Ehrmantraut from Breaking Bad, it's also Frank McPike from Wiseguy!
Set Bookmark
Rod Sullivan
Sat, Jan 3, 2015, 7:48am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Riddles

MisterFred nailed it. Very powerful. And they both still carry the Tuvix memories. Quite a connection there. Hate and guilt. Still, Tuvok does dance as Neelix leaves in Homestead-I'm surprised he didn't carry Neelix's bag to the Transporter Room for him. I'd be equally surprised if Neelix's departure didn't throw Tuvok into a Pon Farr.....(no relation to Jamie) (=
Tuvok DESPISED Neelix! Whew!!
Set Bookmark
Rod Sullivan
Mon, Dec 29, 2014, 11:32am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Living Witness

@navamske.....It's not unlikely that other space charting species would divide the galaxy into sections or in this case, quadrants, to help order and facilitate the cartography of the galaxy....and it seems equally likely that each of these species would designate the area from which they arise as the 'Prime' quadrant. In essence, every species should believe they originate from the 'Alpha' quadrant.

Great episode....Stellar direction from Tim Russ!

'Paris' to 'Neelix': "Watch your mouth, hedgehog." Oh, that is priceless!
Set Bookmark
Rod Sullivan
Mon, Dec 29, 2014, 9:33am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Nemesis

The merits of this episode have been more than adequately recognized by previous posters so I won't restate the many reasons that this is a highlight episode for Voyager and for the underused and underappreciated actor Robert Beltran.
I must, however, mention that the writers missed a great opportunity (and did Chakotay a great disservice) at the end of this episode when, after Janeway follows Chakotay into the corridor, the dialog leads our first officer to remark along the lines that he hopes it's as easy to stop hating as it was to start.
What?
Easy?
For Chakotay?
To hate?
Never mind that he's already well established as being a gentle spirit who reasons away hate as a reaction and eschews violence as a means or a response to even the most justifiable provocation at every opportunity, but it clearly took most of this episode of his absorbing a genuine Hollywood PoundingTM which included the rigors of what seemed to be days of jungle warfare, a bleeding gunshot wound, multiple blows to the head and, finally, being staked to the ground beneath a blazing sun and left for dead before his attitude and actions fully succumbed to the motivation of hate rather than those of defense of innocents and self preservation.
There was nothing easy about Chakotay's transformation whatsoever from a peaceful, tolerant man to a man who could betray his evolved and noble approach to such a challenge (and his allegiance to the PD); indeed he was still on his way to contact the Voyager until the attack on the Village of InnocentsTM. It's a cheap dismissal of the pains he endured in NOT giving in to hate.
Chakotay should have remarked that he hoped it wouldn't be as DIFFICULT to STOP hating as it as it was to start.

Um....also....if I may
The visual effect for the Tuvok reveal at the end was lame.
As far as I was shown, Chakotay wasn't brainwashed to recognize everyone he sees as a Kradin. Tuvok is Tuvok. Lazy writing made worse by poor effects.
Set Bookmark
Sullivan
Thu, Apr 24, 2008, 1:55am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S3: Collaborators

Brendan, go back to the scene in the mess room when Gaeta was eating (alone) and Starbuck came over to harrass him. Gaeta protested and mentioned the dog bowl then. So it wasn't as if Starbuck thought of it first.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.