Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 165 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 7
Set Bookmark
Stevensa128
Wed, Sep 1, 2021, 12:03pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S6: Muse

@Jaxon - Harry was on the mission as well. He'd taken an escape pod before the flyer crashed. He comes along later on in the episode and finds Torres having landed somewhere else on the planet.
Set Bookmark
Stevensa128
Sun, Jun 27, 2021, 11:08am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: Star Trek VI: The Undiscovered Country

I'm sure the Federation would've provided aid but I also took it that the problem the Klingons had was their economy was entirely focussed on war and conquest. So making peace with the Federation and its allies meant they could put those resources into helping themselves instead.

As for Starfleet being shut down, while a character did question if that's what would happen, didn't someone else mention that Starfleet's primary mission has always been exploration and that would continue.
Set Bookmark
Steven
Fri, Jun 11, 2021, 4:45pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

“What business the USA has in Taiwan which is a breakaway state of China I do not know.”

Millions fled China to the U.S. during the period of famines caused by various communist experiments. Those people and their ancestors lobbied and continue to lobby Congress in the U.S. to protect Taiwan. You can look up the Taiwan Relations Act if you’re interested as it answers your follow up comment as well.
Set Bookmark
Steven
Tue, Jun 8, 2021, 7:11pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S4: The Host

Some great discussion here. One could also flip the script on Odan and reason that if Odan itself was more considerate of Beverly’s feelings (regardless of how un-enlightened it found them), it would’ve found a reasonable male host. As I remember, there’s was no overwhelming reason for it to end up in a female in the end except that that’s who was available.
Set Bookmark
Steven
Tue, Jun 1, 2021, 10:04am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S4: The Loss

“There aren't hordes of people hating on Enterprise.”

There aren’t hordes of people even watching Enterprise. There’s a reason why it was cancelled.
Set Bookmark
Steven
Sat, May 22, 2021, 8:13am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S7: Descent, Part II

@Jason R - there's also Power Play but in that case Data is among those taken over by the hostile aliens. Oh and Clues where the aliens take over Deanna. Oh and that 1st season one where Picard is possessed - Lonely Among Us.
Set Bookmark
Stevensa128
Fri, Apr 9, 2021, 7:23am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S5: The Outcast

@Trish - yeah I hadn't considered that before and as a gay guy myself that is disturbing. The sooner conversion therapy is outlawed here in Scotland the better. In the episode it would've been better if the conversion therapy hadn't worked (just like it doesn't in reality) but I'm guessing they needed a way to let Riker off the hook - i.e. make it ok to drop it all and leave her there as she's happy now.
Set Bookmark
Stevensa128
Fri, Apr 9, 2021, 7:18am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S4: Brothers

@Mal but no special characters or mixed case :)
Set Bookmark
Stevensa128
Thu, Apr 1, 2021, 4:14am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S7: Covenant

@Jaxon and Katratzi. I don't think Kira literally meant an orb experience can't happen without someone first having faith. She just meant that having one wouldn't automatically mean you start to follow the Prophets. You'd have to come to that faith first. In the same way that anyone can read the bible but if you don't believe in god it's just a bunch of stories.
Set Bookmark
StevenA
Mon, Jan 25, 2021, 2:37pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S2: Cardassians

@MidshipmanNorris, sorry to nitpick but Miles (and actor Colm Meaney) are both Irish and not from the UK. Plus the Republic of Ireland was neutral in WW2.
Set Bookmark
Steven
Wed, Nov 11, 2020, 2:51pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: People of Earth

Let me get this straight, the whole episode is supposed to be about Earth but the crew spends less than two minutes screen time on the planet. Wouldn’t this have been a good opportunity to look up Earth’s timeline, the whereabouts of any of the crew’s descendants, and maybe research some technology that could come in handy in this era? It’s baffling that none of this is done. Instead, Captain Saru gives an artificial deadline to the Earth away mission. The defunct Federation has already waited fifteen years for help — a day or two more wouldn’t hurt.

Who writes this stuff?
Set Bookmark
Stevens J.
Mon, Jun 10, 2019, 3:42pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S5: Silicon Avatar

I see we've crossed the line from Picard was wrong to try to attempt communication into Picard should be court martialed for trying. So much for that bright future for humanity, eh?
Set Bookmark
Steven
Sun, Apr 14, 2019, 3:45pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

So, does anyone else think they’re not going to end with a new time at all by the finale? They spent so much time here with cheerful goodbyes. And yet, generally when a show explains to you in detail what will happen, something different happens. It’s the inverse of “The Unspoken Plan Guarantee” for those of you into TV Tropes. For starters, there’s no way Spock is getting stuck in the future even if he insists he’s going. Anyway, if I had to guess, something will change the current timeline but they’ll still be in the same pre-TOS period.

@Daya

Thank you for engaging everyone politely. I had half a mind to defend Alan, too. To be sure, he’s being snarky, but with the tone of some of the criticisms, I can sort of see his frustration. Let’s be true to Trek and keep things civil, all.
Set Bookmark
Steven Lee
Sun, Apr 14, 2019, 2:33pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

@MadMenMUC.

"No question; but — if we're really honest with ourselves..."

Er, no because I prefer J J's Treks to Discovery. I like all three films.
Set Bookmark
Steven
Sat, Mar 30, 2019, 8:54am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

@Ghosted

I’m not sure you understand what Picard was talking about. In Generations, Picard was upset because he lost his family so he was concerned with the mortality of himself and more specifically the Picard family legacy. Then he experienced potentially infinite time in the Nexus, with the ability to change or create his family ancestry. Being able to manipulate time in such a fashion allowed him to see the hollowness in his original desire. He decided that time is something to cherish, not control or manipulate.

In this episode’s context, Dr. Burnham is referring to time as a fate she can’t escape because her efforts to affect time have been thus far been fruitless. It’s not that she isn’t “cherishing the moment”, which makes no sense in her predicament. Rather, she no longer has the luxury of cherishing her own time.
Set Bookmark
Steven
Sun, Mar 24, 2019, 1:07pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S2: The Red Angel

@Kinematic

In DISC Burnham serves the story, the story doesn't serve Burnham. Burnham is mocked by other characters for being a reckless, she goes through grueling struggles to reach the end of her journey, and once there it turns out that even she can't resist the temptation to ignore Starfleet regulations. If the plot and setting were twisted in unnatural, unpleasing ways to make Burnham out to be cool and heroic even when it didn't make sense, then she would be a Mary Sue. For instance, if she turned out to be a better fighter than Tyler despite spending her life in the peaceful Vulcan Academy. As is the plot is set up to make her life harder, not easier, and her judgment is far from perfect.

See how that works?
Set Bookmark
Steven
Sun, Mar 24, 2019, 11:42am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S2: The Red Angel

@Kinematic

Have you read any novels lately? I think the case you’re trying to make here could be applied to any protagonist. For example, Frodo Baggins is just so great and special. He’s probably written as a self-insert for J.R. Tolkien because they both share Judeo-Christian types of values. All the other heroes love Frodo and he’s incurruptable, fighting even the power of the One Ring that the almighty wizard Gandalf can’t fight. People are constantly praising Frodo and putting the big decisions in his hands. He doesn’t fight for glory, but for the sake of others. Basically, the typical Mary Sue.

Do you see the problem with this kind of analysis?
Set Bookmark
Steven
Sat, Mar 23, 2019, 5:16pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S2: The Red Angel

“Michael is a self insert character”

Sorry, who is she a self-insert of? Alex Kurtzman? You keep using that word, I do not think it means what you think it means.
Set Bookmark
Steven
Sun, Mar 10, 2019, 12:26pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

“This Trek is a niche show on niche streaming service. No one in the mainstream legacy corporate media cares.”

LOL, this show is regularly reviewed and reported on by The NY Times. I think we’re getting trolled here folks...
Set Bookmark
Steven
Thu, Mar 7, 2019, 9:43pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

These cliffhangers leading into cliffhangers make the individual episodes almost impossible to gauge. I don’t envy your job here, Jammer :-)
Set Bookmark
Steven
Sat, Mar 2, 2019, 2:58pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S2: Light and Shadows

I think the format is less germane to the story than the era when this show takes place, i.e. the TOS time period. There was a certain cavalier attitude in early Trek, something Spock later calls “Cowboy Diplomacy”. Kirk and Spock understood that inter-species problems aren’t always solved by playing by the rules. It may go against the grain of the TNG/DS9/VOY era we all might be more comfortable with, but it does fit the TOS era which this show *predates*.
Set Bookmark
Steven
Sat, Mar 2, 2019, 12:50pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S2: Light and Shadows

@William W

There’s still time to tell a story like that. It’s not like DSC forgot everything from season 1 and never brought it up again. We already had two huge Saru stories this season about his culture and people. It makes sense to let that matter sit for awhile and come back after later developments.
Set Bookmark
Steven
Tue, Feb 26, 2019, 10:06am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

I think Jason’s point is the studio’s operations are different and a certain amount of quality control is in place. Perhaps “Shades of Grey” is a better example. That episode was made as fluff to accommodate the contractual demand for 22 episodes, but the current model of On-Demand rewatchable Trek leaves no room for clip shows.
Set Bookmark
Steven
Mon, Feb 25, 2019, 3:56pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

Peter, I understand what you mean, but like I mentioned with “Move Along Home”, “Q-Less”, and “Meridian” getting more positive reviews in spite of themselves and certainly higher than similar TNG duds, I can’t help but conclude there’s a certain tilt towards DS9. I don’t really see a problem with that, though, and in fact enjoy reading otherwise widely criticized Trek shows in a more positive light.
Set Bookmark
Steven
Mon, Feb 25, 2019, 12:00pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

@Iceman

Do you think it’s odd for a critic to have a favorite show? I don’t, and I certainly wouldn’t knock Jammer for it. If you’ve read some of Jammer’s comments on the matter, the star ratings are based on his “feeling” about the show as it aired. He’s not running some sort mathematical Star equation to come up with his star ratings, unlike say, Elliott.

Do I think that makes Jammer’s DS9 reviews uncredible? No, I just think that he’s more likely to tilt towards a higher star rating if he’s on the fence about an episode because he enjoys the whole package overall for what it is.
Next ►Page 1 of 7
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.