Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 153 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 7
Set Bookmark
Steven
Sun, Apr 14, 2019, 3:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

So, does anyone else think they’re not going to end with a new time at all by the finale? They spent so much time here with cheerful goodbyes. And yet, generally when a show explains to you in detail what will happen, something different happens. It’s the inverse of “The Unspoken Plan Guarantee” for those of you into TV Tropes. For starters, there’s no way Spock is getting stuck in the future even if he insists he’s going. Anyway, if I had to guess, something will change the current timeline but they’ll still be in the same pre-TOS period.

@Daya

Thank you for engaging everyone politely. I had half a mind to defend Alan, too. To be sure, he’s being snarky, but with the tone of some of the criticisms, I can sort of see his frustration. Let’s be true to Trek and keep things civil, all.
Set Bookmark
Steven Lee
Sun, Apr 14, 2019, 2:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

@MadMenMUC.

"No question; but — if we're really honest with ourselves..."

Er, no because I prefer J J's Treks to Discovery. I like all three films.
Set Bookmark
Steven
Sat, Mar 30, 2019, 8:54am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

@Ghosted

I’m not sure you understand what Picard was talking about. In Generations, Picard was upset because he lost his family so he was concerned with the mortality of himself and more specifically the Picard family legacy. Then he experienced potentially infinite time in the Nexus, with the ability to change or create his family ancestry. Being able to manipulate time in such a fashion allowed him to see the hollowness in his original desire. He decided that time is something to cherish, not control or manipulate.

In this episode’s context, Dr. Burnham is referring to time as a fate she can’t escape because her efforts to affect time have been thus far been fruitless. It’s not that she isn’t “cherishing the moment”, which makes no sense in her predicament. Rather, she no longer has the luxury of cherishing her own time.
Set Bookmark
Steven
Sun, Mar 24, 2019, 1:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Red Angel

@Kinematic

In DISC Burnham serves the story, the story doesn't serve Burnham. Burnham is mocked by other characters for being a reckless, she goes through grueling struggles to reach the end of her journey, and once there it turns out that even she can't resist the temptation to ignore Starfleet regulations. If the plot and setting were twisted in unnatural, unpleasing ways to make Burnham out to be cool and heroic even when it didn't make sense, then she would be a Mary Sue. For instance, if she turned out to be a better fighter than Tyler despite spending her life in the peaceful Vulcan Academy. As is the plot is set up to make her life harder, not easier, and her judgment is far from perfect.

See how that works?
Set Bookmark
Steven
Sun, Mar 24, 2019, 11:42am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Red Angel

@Kinematic

Have you read any novels lately? I think the case you’re trying to make here could be applied to any protagonist. For example, Frodo Baggins is just so great and special. He’s probably written as a self-insert for J.R. Tolkien because they both share Judeo-Christian types of values. All the other heroes love Frodo and he’s incurruptable, fighting even the power of the One Ring that the almighty wizard Gandalf can’t fight. People are constantly praising Frodo and putting the big decisions in his hands. He doesn’t fight for glory, but for the sake of others. Basically, the typical Mary Sue.

Do you see the problem with this kind of analysis?
Set Bookmark
Steven
Sat, Mar 23, 2019, 5:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Red Angel

“Michael is a self insert character”

Sorry, who is she a self-insert of? Alex Kurtzman? You keep using that word, I do not think it means what you think it means.
Set Bookmark
Steven
Sun, Mar 10, 2019, 12:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

“This Trek is a niche show on niche streaming service. No one in the mainstream legacy corporate media cares.”

LOL, this show is regularly reviewed and reported on by The NY Times. I think we’re getting trolled here folks...
Set Bookmark
Steven
Thu, Mar 7, 2019, 9:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

These cliffhangers leading into cliffhangers make the individual episodes almost impossible to gauge. I don’t envy your job here, Jammer :-)
Set Bookmark
Steven
Sat, Mar 2, 2019, 2:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Light and Shadows

I think the format is less germane to the story than the era when this show takes place, i.e. the TOS time period. There was a certain cavalier attitude in early Trek, something Spock later calls “Cowboy Diplomacy”. Kirk and Spock understood that inter-species problems aren’t always solved by playing by the rules. It may go against the grain of the TNG/DS9/VOY era we all might be more comfortable with, but it does fit the TOS era which this show *predates*.
Set Bookmark
Steven
Sat, Mar 2, 2019, 12:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Light and Shadows

@William W

There’s still time to tell a story like that. It’s not like DSC forgot everything from season 1 and never brought it up again. We already had two huge Saru stories this season about his culture and people. It makes sense to let that matter sit for awhile and come back after later developments.
Set Bookmark
Steven
Tue, Feb 26, 2019, 10:06am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

I think Jason’s point is the studio’s operations are different and a certain amount of quality control is in place. Perhaps “Shades of Grey” is a better example. That episode was made as fluff to accommodate the contractual demand for 22 episodes, but the current model of On-Demand rewatchable Trek leaves no room for clip shows.
Set Bookmark
Steven
Mon, Feb 25, 2019, 3:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

Peter, I understand what you mean, but like I mentioned with “Move Along Home”, “Q-Less”, and “Meridian” getting more positive reviews in spite of themselves and certainly higher than similar TNG duds, I can’t help but conclude there’s a certain tilt towards DS9. I don’t really see a problem with that, though, and in fact enjoy reading otherwise widely criticized Trek shows in a more positive light.
Set Bookmark
Steven
Mon, Feb 25, 2019, 12:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

@Iceman

Do you think it’s odd for a critic to have a favorite show? I don’t, and I certainly wouldn’t knock Jammer for it. If you’ve read some of Jammer’s comments on the matter, the star ratings are based on his “feeling” about the show as it aired. He’s not running some sort mathematical Star equation to come up with his star ratings, unlike say, Elliott.

Do I think that makes Jammer’s DS9 reviews uncredible? No, I just think that he’s more likely to tilt towards a higher star rating if he’s on the fence about an episode because he enjoys the whole package overall for what it is.
Set Bookmark
Steven
Mon, Feb 25, 2019, 9:51am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

Well Jason, let’s see how you feel about this in 10 or 20 years.
Set Bookmark
Steven
Sat, Feb 23, 2019, 7:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

Iceman, as much as I like DS9, if you read Jammer’s reviews of it you can tell he really likes it. I mean, he even gives episodes like “Move Along Home”, “Q-Less” and “Meridian” two or more stars. And as someone already mentioned, his DS9 reviews were from the show while it was running. On the other hand, the TNG reviews were updated 10 years after the show ended so he had to time to reflect and consider which were the best over time. You can see how it’s not really fair to compare reviews of the two shows like that.
Set Bookmark
Steven
Sat, Feb 23, 2019, 10:45am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

@Mac

The numbers are interesting, but you must remember Jammer stars don’t scale across each series. Jammer judges shows on their own merits and evaluates what they’re trying to do. So, one might imagine that a 2.5 star TNG episode is equivalent to 4 star ENT episode because the bar for a TNG classic is just that high.
Set Bookmark
Steven
Fri, Feb 22, 2019, 5:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

"Here I fully expected the twist that the Goa-Ould are actually evolved Kelpians: The Ritual of "sacrifice" actually transforms them."

They probably didn't want to go that route because they did it already in Star Trek: Insurrection with the Ba'ku and the Son'a. It's way too derivative and I believe The Orville has dibs in that area.
Set Bookmark
Steven
Tue, Feb 19, 2019, 6:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Saints of Imperfection

Based on some of the comments here it seems like many of the people who don't watch the show come in to comment on it. It's their prerogative, but it does lead to some confusing discussions.

@Gil

Can there not be space for those of us who tentatively enjoy this show, but also enjoy the old shows? I fully admit there's a certain charm to the way old Trek shows are handled, but that doesn't mean I can't enjoy Discovery for trying to adapt an old show into a modern format. It's also apparent by now that the showrunners are trying to correct their previous mistakes and handle this show more in the manner of its predecessors. Let's not hang them from the gallows just for trying, shall we?
Set Bookmark
Steven
Sun, Feb 17, 2019, 6:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Saints of Imperfection

I’m not sure I see the value in assessing the series on unsubstantiated gossip. Whether the changes you speak of stem from legal issues or the showrunners’ vision, the show is what it is, and we have the end product to judge on its own faults and merits.
Set Bookmark
Steven
Sun, Feb 17, 2019, 12:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Saints of Imperfection

Madman, I don’t think you fully appreciate the frontier town metaphor, and I’ll be up frank and say I can’t take credit for it. I’ll cite how Rick Berman pitched DS9 (from the Wikia):

“if The Next Generation was Wagon Train in space, Deep Space Nine was to be The Rifleman in space – a man and his son coming to a dilapidated town on the edge of a new frontier.”

I’m other words, being relatively isolated is part of DS9’s format. You can see this in particular in the Maquis episodes where there’s conflicts on the Cardassian border and Sisko laments the conflict with his line about Starfleet not having a clue because they’re used to living “in paradise”.

Yes, occasionally some Federation officials come to visit, but they rarely know anything about the early Maquis or the Dominion conflicts. To the follow the metaphor, maybe the feds from DC visited the Wild West territories, but the sheer distance still kept many territories out of the loop politically, and allowed leaders in those territories a wide berth. Do you think Sisko could get away with half the things he does on the show if he was worried about Starfleet coming to investigate him regularly?

Anyway, there’s still my point that DS9 leaves it unclear the extent Sisko knows about Section 31, so it’s up to interpretation.
Set Bookmark
Steven
Sun, Feb 17, 2019, 10:57am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Saints of Imperfection

@OmicronThetaDelta

I think that’s an overstatement. Tyler, a security officer, knows about Section 31 and Captain Pike knows about it because his school friend joined. DS9 takes place on a remote outpost far away from Starfleet Command so it makes sense they’d be out of the loop. It’s like frontier towns in the U.S. had very little knowledge of the security policies of Washington D.C. (rightfully so, most had zero impact on frontier life).

On top of that, there’s an often overlooked aspect of DS9 and it’s knowledge of Section 31. There are some indications that Sisko was working with knowledge of it in “Inter Arma Enim Silent Leges” as he coaxed Bashir into playing along with Sloan. It’s just speculation of course, but since we know Admiral Ross worked with Section 31 and Sisko reported to Ross, it’s entirely likely that Sisko knows more about it than he lets on to Bashir.
Set Bookmark
Steven
Sun, Feb 17, 2019, 9:27am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Saints of Imperfection

@Bold Helmsman

Right. The thing is there isn’t very much Section 31 canon to begin with, so it’s a safe spot for these writers to make new stories without stepping on anyone’s toes.
Set Bookmark
Steven
Sat, Feb 16, 2019, 12:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Saints of Imperfection

I think it’s a bit of misstep to bring Culber back. Not because I don’t like the character, he was one of the better parts of S1. But my problem is it cuts into the “anyone can die” feeling this series had. Part of what was good last episode with Saru nearly dying was, because Discovery has staked itself as a series not afraid to piss off the audience with big risky decisions like killing regulars off, Saru dying felt like it might be on the table. Now that’s kind of gone and we’re getting this sort of “It’s okay we’ll wish them back with the dragonballs” type of resolution.

Now, to be totally fair, Landry and O’Connell are still dead, as is Lorca (but you never know). And Discovery isn’t the first Trek to do this (Spock, Data, Dax, Sisko?!, Kirk in STID). I just hope this doesn’t become a continuing pattern because Death is Cheap is a rotten soap opera gimmick.
Set Bookmark
Steven
Fri, Feb 15, 2019, 9:04am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: An Obol for Charon

Great review, Jammer. I too don’t really need an explanation for every technical difference from this show and the other shows. I would rather they cut that in favor of details contributing to main story they’re trying to tell.
Set Bookmark
Steven
Mon, Feb 11, 2019, 4:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: An Obol for Charon

You're talking about a continuation of the same engagement. The ships didn't pull away and declare a cease-fire.
Next ►Page 1 of 7
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.