Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 45 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
SteveRage
Thu, Apr 13, 2017, 11:27am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Macrocosm

Yeah, Jammer is way too harsh on this one. Sometimes it's fun just to have an action-focused romp and see Janeway play Rambo - 3 stars
Set Bookmark
SteveRage
Mon, Apr 10, 2017, 2:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: The Q and the Grey

Meh, I really like this one. Always enjoyed Q and enjoyed seeing more of the Q as a race. Commenters on here make me laugh. Apologists for "the South" in 2017 for god's sake. Hilarious..... yet a little bit terrifying.

Anyway, 3 stars from me.
Set Bookmark
SteveRage
Mon, Apr 10, 2017, 11:11am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Rapture

Tough one this. I did enjoy the episode, really enjoyed the performances and loved the way it tied all the series narratives together. In fact for me, this is the moment when all the seperate strands of the series start coming together for the more serialized nature of Series 6 and 7.

However, I have little tolerance for religion and even less tolerance for when it starts to get waved around as a magic wand. Religion is a faith in something that isn't provable and requires a belief. It exists because it is entirely unprovable, that's it's power. Created because people are scared of dying and they WANT to believe in something more. In the context of DS9 we KNOW the wormhole aliens exist, we KNOW they exist outside of linear time so the past and future is all the same thing to them. I never saw how with this knowledge, an intelligent species would still worship them as gods. I also never understood why the Bajoron's weren't all flying shuttles into the wormhole to have a chat with their "gods".... I mean it worked for Quark.

The writers clearly wanted all the mumbo jumbo to sound deep and profound but all they've done is look at future scripts and thought "let's call the Dominion locusts" - job done. If there was a better reason for the visions than an exploding console, that would have helped - say the destruction of an orb or an incident in the wormhole.

Anyway, enjoyable enough but not without flaws - 3 stars
Set Bookmark
SteveRage
Fri, Apr 7, 2017, 8:52am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Let He Who Is Without Sin...

Pfffft.... it's bad, but nowhere near as bad as people are making out. Most people that are ranting seem to be doing it as the show seems to disagree with their personal politics or some other nonsense.

I agree Dax and Worf are acting way out of character and for me Worf's actions are unforgivable. I enjoyed Bashir, Leeta and Quark and any show that takes a shot at those who try and suck the fun out of life by enforcing their views on to others is alright by me.

Zero stars is ridiculous, there are far worse episodes and many more dull ones - I'd go with 1.5 stars I think.
Set Bookmark
SteveRage
Mon, Mar 27, 2017, 2:22am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Remember

I have to disagree with Jammer and most of the commentors. I thought this was a dreadfully dull episode. I'm not a fan of episodes that revolve around characters other than our crew. You can say this was a B'Elanna episode, but it wasn't. The episode revolved around Kirina..... who in this instance happened to be played by B'Elanna. It was about a race I had never seen before and therefore could not care less about. I felt like I spent 45 minutes watching B'Elanna watching a story. I had no emotional investment in these "Regressives" so couldn't really be bothered if they were being exterminated or not...... Sorry. For me then, a score of 1.5 stars.
Set Bookmark
SteveRage
Wed, Mar 22, 2017, 12:50am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Basics, Part II

Ugh......

Not having the baby be Chakotay's
Not letting the baby die
Killing off Suder because he's "not interesting"
Killing off Seska in the weakest way possible

I hate Jeri Taylor - 1.5 stars
Set Bookmark
SteveRage
Mon, Mar 20, 2017, 7:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Resolutions

More Jeri Taylor crap, where she's laothed to touch anything controversial or anything with any substance. You can tell when her hands have been over a script - very little happens. Awful writer - 1.5 stars.
Set Bookmark
SteveRage
Sat, Mar 18, 2017, 6:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: The Thaw

Very good episode, that stays with you years later. Just watched it again for the first time in maybe 10 years and it's better than I remembered. Fantastic turn from Mike McKean and it's episodes like this that really get you on-side with Janeway. I find her a difficult character sometimes with her motivation and characterisation swinging wildly from one extreme to the other, but I thought she was fantastic here. I loved the line "Starfleet Captains don't succumb easily to fear".... I'd push the score up a notch - 3.5 stars
Set Bookmark
SteveRage
Sat, Mar 18, 2017, 4:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Hard Time

Fantastic episode - made me cry :-) 4 stars
Set Bookmark
SteveRage
Sat, Mar 18, 2017, 1:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Innocence

Yeah, I agree with a lot of the comments on this one - undermarked by Jammer. I was ready to hate this ep, but a fantastic performance by Tim Russ and an engaging plot kept me tuned in. Any show that features children and doesn't annoy me is off to a good start. And I liked Tuvok's singing, didn't make me yawn - 3 stars
Set Bookmark
SteveRage
Thu, Mar 16, 2017, 3:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Bar Association

Hmmm..... some thoughts from the episode and the comments :-)

Jammer indeed has an anti-Ferengi bias. I thought this episode was far better than his review suggests, Max Grodenchik and Chase Masterson were both fantastic and this was one of the stronger "Life on the Station" episodes - solid 3 star episode.

Everybody getting there political knickers in a twist..... I too would consider myself a Libertarian and I'm no fan of Unions but I don't get furious and write a 10,000 word essay attacking an episode just because it doesn't match my political philosophy. To me this episode was an example of what Unions should do, as opposed to what I feel in many cases they actually do. Star Trek is entertainment, in my mind fantastic entertainment and I'm not going to get all bent out of shape because there's a couple of lines in the script that I may not subscribe to politically.
Set Bookmark
SteveRage
Tue, Mar 14, 2017, 10:39am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Meld

Yeah, this is undermarked.

Fantastic episode, fantastic performances. And the Paris/Chakotay thread dismissed by Jammer forms part of the longer arc. And the fact Jammer didn't notice or realise that shows how well he was worked.

Maximum I think - 4 stars.
Set Bookmark
SteveRage
Thu, Mar 9, 2017, 5:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Crossfire

Ugh..... HATED this episode, it's an absolute dump of an episode. This is the sort of episode that people who appreciate quality drama would watch and decry the series as utter dreck and refuse to watch it again. It is beyond frustrating to watch grown adults, leaders of worlds, senior military figures etc. acting like lovestruck teenagers having never been in a relationship before. The dialogue is beyond trite and pathetic. I have no issue with a love story on Trek, but does it need to be so infantile and basic. Also I'm reasonably sure the leader of a planet wouldn't decide to get his legover and publicly spend the night in the first officer's quarters whilst on official planetary business. It's just so childish and comes across as what a 14 year old eould imagine sex and relationships are like. Also, wow they really cut the balls off Shakaar didn't they. He was awesome in the last episode, the rebel terrorist leader who went to war with the provisional leader in order to save the planet is now whining to Odo about whether Kira has "noticed" him or not. And the less said about Odo being completely incapable of doing his job the better.

Utter, utter crap - 0.5 stars
Set Bookmark
SteveRage
Mon, Mar 6, 2017, 1:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Resistance

Meh, I thought this episode was utter crap.

Joel Grey plays "weird" in every role he plays and that's what he did here. I watched him playing Joel Grey again, like he always does and as others have stated I therefore found him annoying. I couldn't get into the story because he kept dragging me out of it. If it had been an understated performance with true sadness it may have worked, but instead I spent most of the hour watching this character I had never met before play "looney". I had no idea why Janeway didn't ditch him after the first 10 minutes. 1.5 stars.
Set Bookmark
SteveRage
Sat, Mar 4, 2017, 9:22am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Tattoo

Utter crap

I have no idea how Jammer can score this higher than the previous episode Persistance of Vision boggles the mind. Whereas that episode what about genuinely interesting and exciting science fiction this was hokey quasi-religious nonsense. Good job one of only possibly 3 humans left alive who could possibly recognise the symbols and culture manages to bump into the planet of the cloaked and incredibly well-hidden Sky Spirits 70,000 light years away at the opposite end of a enormously large, so large in fact your brain can't possibly comprehend how impossibly big it actually is, galaxy.

A turd of an episode - 1 star (and that's for the Doctor being ill B-story saving it from being a zero)
Set Bookmark
SteveRage
Sat, Mar 4, 2017, 5:56am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Persistence of Vision

I feel Jammer has undermarked this one. It has a freshness and a pace about it not seen thus far in Voyager. This and Projections are the best episodes so far, so for me this at least a 3 star ep. I'm going higher - 3.5 stars.
Set Bookmark
SteveRage
Mon, Feb 27, 2017, 7:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Shakaar

@Jammer

"And was O'Brien faking his shoulder injury? If not, why didn't he throw the dart with his left hand to win his 47th game?"

...... clearly Jammer has never played Darts
Set Bookmark
SteveRage
Sat, Feb 18, 2017, 9:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Fascination

I think Jammer got the scores for this and Meridian the wrong way round. Where as Meridian was utter dreck, at least this was a bit of fun. I have no problems with zany and wacky sometimes... plus I thought Sisko was a blast trying to deal with all the shananigans.

2.5 stars
Set Bookmark
SteveRage
Fri, Feb 10, 2017, 3:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Journey's End

Nothing dates a show to the early-mid 90's like referring to Native Americans as "Indians" :-)

LOL at all the comments moaning about the colonists being selfish and relating it to Insurrection. If you live and own the land, then who is someone else to take it away from you regardless of the Greater Good..... in short.....

"How many people does it take Admiral, before it becomes wrong?"

Anyway for this?....... 2.5 stars
Set Bookmark
SteveRage
Tue, Feb 7, 2017, 5:16am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Second Sight

Oooof 2.5 stars is WAAAAAAYYY too high a score for this episode - this was just dreck. The tone was all over the shop. I thought Seyetik was great, a fantastic performance and a shame he was killed off - plus it was nice too be aboard a Starfleet ship again, the bright colours being a nice change from the station, which can appear a little gloomy at times.

The HUGE problem with this ep is the Sisko/Fenna story - both the writing and the performances are atrocious. I want to address the elephant in the room - Avery Brooks is a fantastic actor. I actually AM an actor and have been a pretty successful one for the last 10 years and there is a difference between just "acting" and "acting choices". I love Sisko, precisely because he's a bit of a weird dude, just as Mr Brooks is a bit of a weird dude. He is the most "real" character on the show. Watch his interactions with Jake - incredibly intimate and tender. Whenever he gets involved in a fist fight - very vicious and brutal. He has a distinct relationship with every character - from the close ol' buddy with Dax, to the irritated father figure relationship with Bashir. He makes interesting choices to be sure, but they lead to him being the most fleshed out and fully realised character on the station.

However...... the performances with Fenna are AWFUL. She is particular bad, coming across as wooden for most of the show. However, I don't think they are completely to blame - the writing for the two of them is pathetic. It's beyond juvenile - the lines sound like they were written by a 12 year old who has never even MET a member of the opposite sex, let alone fallen in love. I also got very annoyed with them meeting for a grand total of 2 minutes in the first instance, yet that was enough Sisko to start skipping around like a love-struck schoolgirl and order tea instead of his Raktajino.... which sent Kira into a tizzy because..... reasons?

Anyway, the whole thing is bloody awful and best forgotten.... although it does get some marks for Seteyik and the Promotheus.... although for some strange reason it appears to be captained by a Lieutenant j.g. ?!?!?!?!? - 1.5 stars.
Set Bookmark
SteveRage
Mon, Feb 6, 2017, 6:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Force of Nature

I'm currently ploughing through Trek on Netflix using the chronology project website which has all the episodes of all series in chronological order. Which means right now I'm flitting between TNG S7 and DS9 S2....... My god is DS9 ever kicking TNG's ass right now!
Set Bookmark
SteveRage
Sun, Feb 5, 2017, 4:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Dark Page

Have to disagree with Jammer and some of the other commenters on here. One thing I love about good sci-fi and indeed good drama in general is when I get emotionally invested in the characters. This is one of the reasons I am a big fan of DS9 where actions have consequences and the character's arcs can put me through the ringer.... and conversely why I get bored with Voyager where actions and events mean little. TNG has always been somewhere between the two for me. Sometimes character arcs play out and sometimes it's fluff that serves no purpose. This episode was a hit for me as I became invested in both the Trois.

I feel this episode and the Forsaken on DS9, her last episode, have redeemed Lwaxana and turned her from an annoying and unfunny side character, into one with proper depth and they have given her a little dignity. I was genuinely moved by this episode and for me is the best episode of S7 so far. Liasons and Interphase both bored me to tears for example, with several crew members acting completely out of character. I don't see why people get annoyed with Deanna or Marina's acting, I'd rather watch her than Geordi or Beverly any time.

Jammer's score is far too low - I'm going with 3 stars for this.
Set Bookmark
SteveRage
Thu, Jan 19, 2017, 1:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Conundrum

Anyone else notice that thanks to this episode, Riker has now slept with Troi, Crusher & Ro..... along with multiple other planetary dignitaries and lower ranking crew members..... and I'm pretty sure that in a few episodes time he sleeps with someone from a culture that doesn't even have a concept of sex or gender :-)
Set Bookmark
SteveRage
Tue, Jan 17, 2017, 4:13am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Disaster

Have to concur, way undermarked by Jammer. This is a fun and different little ep, placing a lot of the characters in fish-out-of-water scenarios. It's exceedingly watchable and for what seems like a stand alone show, sets a lot of things up for the future. It gets 3.5 stars from me.
Set Bookmark
SteveRage
Tue, Jan 17, 2017, 2:12am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Silicon Avatar

Sometimes you have to ask WWKD? - What Would Kirk Do?

Kirk would have blowed it up real good, the first opportunity he got :-)

Meh episode, and I kinda agree with Marr and Riker - 1.5 stars
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.