Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 353 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 15
Set Bookmark
Steve McCullagh
Thu, May 28, 2020, 1:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Course: Oblivion

Reached this one in my most recent rewatch and had to skip it halfway through. Just dreadful. Strong contender for worst Voyager episode ever in my opinion.
Set Bookmark
Steve H
Thu, May 14, 2020, 5:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Learning Curve

When Chakotay punched Dalby you could tell by his breathing that Chakotay's adrenalin was running high in real life. A simple screen punch would not have caused that much heavy breathing.
Or Beltran is a really good actor.
Set Bookmark
Steve McCullagh
Sat, May 2, 2020, 3:21am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Alter Ego

Harry Kim may be the most beige character in the history of Star Trek, and this episode was just plain dull.
Set Bookmark
Steve McCullagh
Sun, Apr 19, 2020, 3:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: The Thaw

Brilliant episode, one of my Voyager favourites. It's mad and clever and I could easily see it fitting into TOS or TNG.
Set Bookmark
Steve McCullagh
Sun, Mar 8, 2020, 8:55am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

I hope that at some point in the last three episodes Picard gets in a no-win situation that is only resolved by the sudden appearance of John de Lancie, just so I can use the term "Q Ex Machina".
Set Bookmark
Steve McCullagh
Fri, Mar 6, 2020, 3:40am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

Best episode of the whole season. Five stars.
Set Bookmark
Steve McCullagh
Sat, Feb 29, 2020, 5:29am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: The Impossible Box

@Tim C

"(Gee, his choice of assassination method was pretty Bond villain stupid though. Why not just beam her into space instead of relying on a slow-acting gimmick? Nitpick, nitpick...)"

It was a nice little callback to how Shinzon murdered the Senate in Nemesis, I thought.
Set Bookmark
Steve McCullagh
Thu, Feb 27, 2020, 7:28am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

Hey, at least we didn't have the Romulannisters this week!
Set Bookmark
Steve
Thu, Feb 20, 2020, 10:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

Man I miss the old Star Trek. Upbeat (mostly) with a positive outlook on the future. Where miracles occur and where humans work together and where while bad things happen, they are outdone by the progress the galaxy seems to have made.

Now we have people getting drilled in the eye and tortured to death, beloved characters murdering people, and graphic beheadings. All taking places in some horrific almost dystopian view of the future. Great stuff for the family to watch.

Can't wait for the next episode where Neelix is a pimp and Naomi Wildman is thrown out of the airlock in graphic detail.
Set Bookmark
SteveRage
Wed, Feb 19, 2020, 11:50am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: The End Is the Beginning

I wouldn't make that leap that money is back in the 25th century and it's retconned. She's on the outs with Starfleet, many of her old friends now see her as a pariah. She could be living out in Vasquez Rocks by choice, wanting to be alone.
Set Bookmark
SteveRage
Wed, Feb 19, 2020, 11:32am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

Simple.

Man was not meant to play God. It's natural for the Valakians to die out. It's natural for the Menk to survive. It is not for humanity to wander along and say nope, I don't like this arrangement, I choose to change this.

The Prime Directive exists for a reason, a little more use of it on this planet and our history would be a lot less bloody.
Set Bookmark
Steve McCullagh
Sat, Feb 15, 2020, 5:15am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Absolute Candor

It's had it's moments but this show is really starting to annoy me. There's nothing wrong with taking your time and laying your groundwork but we're four weeks in and it's moving at a snail's pace, suffocating the viewer in exposition to the point that it's just plain dull. And it's a show that to me is still really struggling to find it's identity and they can't decide what they want to be; one week they think they're BSG, then they think they're Star Wars, then they think they're Game of Thrones, then they think they're Lord of the Rings, all with a dash of Discovery, this week they're a mash-up of several of them, when all I really want them to be is Star Trek...

I do hope it picks up and figures itself out soon but at this point I'm losing patience with it and it's actually becoming a struggle to come back each week.
Set Bookmark
Steve
Fri, Jan 31, 2020, 3:42am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Maps and Legends

A couple of nice moments but I found this one to be really dull. Not a fan of the swearing either.
Set Bookmark
Steve
Fri, Aug 30, 2019, 11:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Tears of the Prophets

@P
Jadzia had to stay on DS9 because Sisko made it clear in “Change of Heart” that Worf and Jadzia would never again be assigned to the same mission. This may also explain why Kira took command of the Defiant instead of Worf, who had been stripped of command duties. He would later, though, command the Defiant again in Season 7.
Set Bookmark
SteveL
Thu, Jun 20, 2019, 6:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Return to Grace

@Chrome
I had exactly the same thoughts during the phaser rifle comparisons. Her comment about “dragging it through the mud and it will keep firing” has often been said of the AK-47.
Set Bookmark
Stevens J.
Mon, Jun 10, 2019, 3:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Silicon Avatar

I see we've crossed the line from Picard was wrong to try to attempt communication into Picard should be court martialed for trying. So much for that bright future for humanity, eh?
Set Bookmark
SteveRage
Mon, Apr 15, 2019, 1:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Bound

Great episode, one of the best Enterprise eps. The girls were stunning and the reactions from the crew were believable. Quality twist that it's the Orion Men that are the real slaves - 4 stars.
Set Bookmark
Steven
Sun, Apr 14, 2019, 3:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

So, does anyone else think they’re not going to end with a new time at all by the finale? They spent so much time here with cheerful goodbyes. And yet, generally when a show explains to you in detail what will happen, something different happens. It’s the inverse of “The Unspoken Plan Guarantee” for those of you into TV Tropes. For starters, there’s no way Spock is getting stuck in the future even if he insists he’s going. Anyway, if I had to guess, something will change the current timeline but they’ll still be in the same pre-TOS period.

@Daya

Thank you for engaging everyone politely. I had half a mind to defend Alan, too. To be sure, he’s being snarky, but with the tone of some of the criticisms, I can sort of see his frustration. Let’s be true to Trek and keep things civil, all.
Set Bookmark
Steven Lee
Sun, Apr 14, 2019, 2:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

@MadMenMUC.

"No question; but — if we're really honest with ourselves..."

Er, no because I prefer J J's Treks to Discovery. I like all three films.
Set Bookmark
SteveRage
Tue, Apr 9, 2019, 7:07am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Chosen Realm

One of the reasons I liked this episode is that it deals with religious extremism and fundamentalism with the contempt it deserves. Watching back through Enterprise I'm shocked at how much more I'm enjoying it than Discovery.
Set Bookmark
SteveRage
Mon, Apr 1, 2019, 10:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Cogenitor

Attitudes to this episode seem to reflect one's own political opinion

If you agree with Trip, you're probably a lefty. Your moral position is the correct one as far as you're concerned and you have little tolerance for those who disagree. You have great sympathy with those who are disadvantaged and believe they should rise up against those who are oppressing them. The most important thing for you is equality.

If you agree with Archer, you're probably on the centre-right. You have your own beliefs and values, but you can accept that others have a different view and it is not your place to judge. You believe that good relations with others are a positive thing and you can overlook things that are unpalatable for the sake of the greater good. The most important things for you are freedom and protecting your own.

Me?..... I'm Team Archer
Set Bookmark
SteveRage
Sat, Mar 30, 2019, 1:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Precious Cargo

Nowhere near as bad as Jammer's rant makes it seem. Yes we've seen all this before, yes she's an awful actress, but she's very nice to look at. There are some pretty funny moments in this, e.g. the short Hoshi/Trip scene, the tribunal, the fight in the swamp and despite her limited acting skills, I thought there was some genuine chemistry between Kaitanna and Trip. 1.5 to 2 stars I'd give it.

I'd far rather watch this than a lot of Discovery S2.
Set Bookmark
Steven
Sat, Mar 30, 2019, 8:54am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

@Ghosted

I’m not sure you understand what Picard was talking about. In Generations, Picard was upset because he lost his family so he was concerned with the mortality of himself and more specifically the Picard family legacy. Then he experienced potentially infinite time in the Nexus, with the ability to change or create his family ancestry. Being able to manipulate time in such a fashion allowed him to see the hollowness in his original desire. He decided that time is something to cherish, not control or manipulate.

In this episode’s context, Dr. Burnham is referring to time as a fate she can’t escape because her efforts to affect time have been thus far been fruitless. It’s not that she isn’t “cherishing the moment”, which makes no sense in her predicament. Rather, she no longer has the luxury of cherishing her own time.
Set Bookmark
Steven
Sun, Mar 24, 2019, 1:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Red Angel

@Kinematic

In DISC Burnham serves the story, the story doesn't serve Burnham. Burnham is mocked by other characters for being a reckless, she goes through grueling struggles to reach the end of her journey, and once there it turns out that even she can't resist the temptation to ignore Starfleet regulations. If the plot and setting were twisted in unnatural, unpleasing ways to make Burnham out to be cool and heroic even when it didn't make sense, then she would be a Mary Sue. For instance, if she turned out to be a better fighter than Tyler despite spending her life in the peaceful Vulcan Academy. As is the plot is set up to make her life harder, not easier, and her judgment is far from perfect.

See how that works?
Set Bookmark
Steven
Sun, Mar 24, 2019, 11:42am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Red Angel

@Kinematic

Have you read any novels lately? I think the case you’re trying to make here could be applied to any protagonist. For example, Frodo Baggins is just so great and special. He’s probably written as a self-insert for J.R. Tolkien because they both share Judeo-Christian types of values. All the other heroes love Frodo and he’s incurruptable, fighting even the power of the One Ring that the almighty wizard Gandalf can’t fight. People are constantly praising Frodo and putting the big decisions in his hands. He doesn’t fight for glory, but for the sake of others. Basically, the typical Mary Sue.

Do you see the problem with this kind of analysis?
Next ►Page 1 of 15
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.