Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 374 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 15
Set Bookmark
Steve
Fri, Sep 10, 2021, 4:48pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S3: The Enemy

I presume all of you who agree that Picard was right to respect Worf's bodily autonomy also respect the decision of those who choose not to have the Covid vaccine?

Because that too is something that one should really do for the greater good, and where failure to do so may cost lives, but involves undergoing a personal medical procedure.
Set Bookmark
Stevensa128
Wed, Sep 1, 2021, 12:03pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S6: Muse

@Jaxon - Harry was on the mission as well. He'd taken an escape pod before the flyer crashed. He comes along later on in the episode and finds Torres having landed somewhere else on the planet.
Set Bookmark
Steve L.
Thu, Aug 12, 2021, 12:34am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S4: The Augments

On the science of exposure to space. It is highly unlikely that Archer’s very brief space encounter would leave him half frozen. Space is a vacuum and devoid of matter, consequently it has no temperature. The only mechanism by which heat can leave a body is through radiative cooling, which would have a negligible effect on Archer’s body temperature in the two seconds he was exposed to space.
Set Bookmark
Stevensa128
Sun, Jun 27, 2021, 11:08am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: Star Trek VI: The Undiscovered Country

I'm sure the Federation would've provided aid but I also took it that the problem the Klingons had was their economy was entirely focussed on war and conquest. So making peace with the Federation and its allies meant they could put those resources into helping themselves instead.

As for Starfleet being shut down, while a character did question if that's what would happen, didn't someone else mention that Starfleet's primary mission has always been exploration and that would continue.
Set Bookmark
Steven
Fri, Jun 11, 2021, 4:45pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

“What business the USA has in Taiwan which is a breakaway state of China I do not know.”

Millions fled China to the U.S. during the period of famines caused by various communist experiments. Those people and their ancestors lobbied and continue to lobby Congress in the U.S. to protect Taiwan. You can look up the Taiwan Relations Act if you’re interested as it answers your follow up comment as well.
Set Bookmark
Steven
Tue, Jun 8, 2021, 7:11pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S4: The Host

Some great discussion here. One could also flip the script on Odan and reason that if Odan itself was more considerate of Beverly’s feelings (regardless of how un-enlightened it found them), it would’ve found a reasonable male host. As I remember, there’s was no overwhelming reason for it to end up in a female in the end except that that’s who was available.
Set Bookmark
Steven
Tue, Jun 1, 2021, 10:04am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S4: The Loss

“There aren't hordes of people hating on Enterprise.”

There aren’t hordes of people even watching Enterprise. There’s a reason why it was cancelled.
Set Bookmark
Steven
Sat, May 22, 2021, 8:13am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S7: Descent, Part II

@Jason R - there's also Power Play but in that case Data is among those taken over by the hostile aliens. Oh and Clues where the aliens take over Deanna. Oh and that 1st season one where Picard is possessed - Lonely Among Us.
Set Bookmark
Stevensa128
Fri, Apr 9, 2021, 7:23am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S5: The Outcast

@Trish - yeah I hadn't considered that before and as a gay guy myself that is disturbing. The sooner conversion therapy is outlawed here in Scotland the better. In the episode it would've been better if the conversion therapy hadn't worked (just like it doesn't in reality) but I'm guessing they needed a way to let Riker off the hook - i.e. make it ok to drop it all and leave her there as she's happy now.
Set Bookmark
Stevensa128
Fri, Apr 9, 2021, 7:18am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S4: Brothers

@Mal but no special characters or mixed case :)
Set Bookmark
Stevensa128
Thu, Apr 1, 2021, 4:14am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S7: Covenant

@Jaxon and Katratzi. I don't think Kira literally meant an orb experience can't happen without someone first having faith. She just meant that having one wouldn't automatically mean you start to follow the Prophets. You'd have to come to that faith first. In the same way that anyone can read the bible but if you don't believe in god it's just a bunch of stories.
Set Bookmark
StevenA
Mon, Jan 25, 2021, 2:37pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S2: Cardassians

@MidshipmanNorris, sorry to nitpick but Miles (and actor Colm Meaney) are both Irish and not from the UK. Plus the Republic of Ireland was neutral in WW2.
Set Bookmark
Steve McCullagh
Fri, Jan 22, 2021, 3:22pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

I will happily watch These Are The Voyages or the one where Beverly gets jiggy with ghosts, on a loop for all eternity, before I watch one second of Discovery ever again.
Set Bookmark
Steve McCullagh
Thu, Jan 21, 2021, 1:44pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 2

In the entire history of Star Trek, from the 60s to the 20s, there is nothing I detest more than Mirror Universe Bullshit. And this was no different.
Set Bookmark
Steve B.
Sat, Jan 16, 2021, 9:33am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S2: Marauders

Why is it, that Enterprise & Voyager often come across as inferior knockoffs of the strong Star Trek series (to wit, in order of relative excellence TNG, DS9 & TOS) that preceded it rather than sister series in the Star Trek Universe? Oh, I forget myself. This episode is just another bland offering from the creative leadership team of Berman & Braga.
Set Bookmark
Steve
Fri, Jan 15, 2021, 3:56pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S2: Carbon Creek

Love your reviews, and visit the site often. On this one I must disagree. Not perfect, but with some terrific low-key humour and a few touching moments. Three stars.
Set Bookmark
Steve Jobs
Thu, Nov 26, 2020, 7:36pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Unification III

Imagine being a decorated officer with years of service and you get promoted over by an Ensign. Must be great for crew morale.
Set Bookmark
Steven
Wed, Nov 11, 2020, 2:51pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: People of Earth

Let me get this straight, the whole episode is supposed to be about Earth but the crew spends less than two minutes screen time on the planet. Wouldn’t this have been a good opportunity to look up Earth’s timeline, the whereabouts of any of the crew’s descendants, and maybe research some technology that could come in handy in this era? It’s baffling that none of this is done. Instead, Captain Saru gives an artificial deadline to the Earth away mission. The defunct Federation has already waited fifteen years for help — a day or two more wouldn’t hurt.

Who writes this stuff?
Set Bookmark
Steve
Mon, Oct 19, 2020, 9:11pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

I liked it overall. Not the biggest fan of the new series', but at least this episode seeks to expand the lore and history of the universe it takes place in. Interesting to see a post-Federation galaxy, and the action was good, and the new character (i forget his name) was interesting enough.

Also thought the technology on show was a nice step up without it being totally ridiculous like it was in Picard.
Set Bookmark
Steve McCullagh
Thu, Jun 18, 2020, 3:09pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S7: Lineage

There really are some hilarious posts in this thread. "WHERE IS THE SCI FI???" Yes, there is no sci-fi to be found in this episode about alien-human hybrid babies in space...

Great episode, four stars.
Set Bookmark
Steve McCullagh
Sun, Jun 7, 2020, 5:55am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S6: Spirit Folk

As an Irishman myself, there are few things more annoying or insulting than when American shows try to do "Oirish" episodes. This episode (and "Fair Haven" before it) were absolutely awful.
Set Bookmark
Steve McCullagh
Thu, May 28, 2020, 1:02pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S5: Course: Oblivion

Reached this one in my most recent rewatch and had to skip it halfway through. Just dreadful. Strong contender for worst Voyager episode ever in my opinion.
Set Bookmark
Steve H
Thu, May 14, 2020, 5:10pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S1: Learning Curve

When Chakotay punched Dalby you could tell by his breathing that Chakotay's adrenalin was running high in real life. A simple screen punch would not have caused that much heavy breathing.
Or Beltran is a really good actor.
Set Bookmark
Steve McCullagh
Sat, May 2, 2020, 3:21am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S3: Alter Ego

Harry Kim may be the most beige character in the history of Star Trek, and this episode was just plain dull.
Set Bookmark
Steve McCullagh
Sun, Apr 19, 2020, 3:30pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S2: The Thaw

Brilliant episode, one of my Voyager favourites. It's mad and clever and I could easily see it fitting into TOS or TNG.
Next ►Page 1 of 15
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.