Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 363 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 15
Set Bookmark
StevenA
Mon, Jan 25, 2021, 2:37pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: Cardassians

@MidshipmanNorris, sorry to nitpick but Miles (and actor Colm Meaney) are both Irish and not from the UK. Plus the Republic of Ireland was neutral in WW2.
Set Bookmark
Steve McCullagh
Fri, Jan 22, 2021, 3:22pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

I will happily watch These Are The Voyages or the one where Beverly gets jiggy with ghosts, on a loop for all eternity, before I watch one second of Discovery ever again.
Set Bookmark
Steve McCullagh
Thu, Jan 21, 2021, 1:44pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 2

In the entire history of Star Trek, from the 60s to the 20s, there is nothing I detest more than Mirror Universe Bullshit. And this was no different.
Set Bookmark
Steve B.
Sat, Jan 16, 2021, 9:33am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Marauders

Why is it, that Enterprise & Voyager often come across as inferior knockoffs of the strong Star Trek series (to wit, in order of relative excellence TNG, DS9 & TOS) that preceded it rather than sister series in the Star Trek Universe? Oh, I forget myself. This episode is just another bland offering from the creative leadership team of Berman & Braga.
Set Bookmark
Steve
Fri, Jan 15, 2021, 3:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Carbon Creek

Love your reviews, and visit the site often. On this one I must disagree. Not perfect, but with some terrific low-key humour and a few touching moments. Three stars.
Set Bookmark
Steve Jobs
Thu, Nov 26, 2020, 7:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Unification III

Imagine being a decorated officer with years of service and you get promoted over by an Ensign. Must be great for crew morale.
Set Bookmark
Steven
Wed, Nov 11, 2020, 2:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: People of Earth

Let me get this straight, the whole episode is supposed to be about Earth but the crew spends less than two minutes screen time on the planet. Wouldn’t this have been a good opportunity to look up Earth’s timeline, the whereabouts of any of the crew’s descendants, and maybe research some technology that could come in handy in this era? It’s baffling that none of this is done. Instead, Captain Saru gives an artificial deadline to the Earth away mission. The defunct Federation has already waited fifteen years for help — a day or two more wouldn’t hurt.

Who writes this stuff?
Set Bookmark
Steve
Mon, Oct 19, 2020, 9:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

I liked it overall. Not the biggest fan of the new series', but at least this episode seeks to expand the lore and history of the universe it takes place in. Interesting to see a post-Federation galaxy, and the action was good, and the new character (i forget his name) was interesting enough.

Also thought the technology on show was a nice step up without it being totally ridiculous like it was in Picard.
Set Bookmark
Steve McCullagh
Thu, Jun 18, 2020, 3:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Lineage

There really are some hilarious posts in this thread. "WHERE IS THE SCI FI???" Yes, there is no sci-fi to be found in this episode about alien-human hybrid babies in space...

Great episode, four stars.
Set Bookmark
Steve McCullagh
Sun, Jun 7, 2020, 5:55am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Spirit Folk

As an Irishman myself, there are few things more annoying or insulting than when American shows try to do "Oirish" episodes. This episode (and "Fair Haven" before it) were absolutely awful.
Set Bookmark
Steve McCullagh
Thu, May 28, 2020, 1:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Course: Oblivion

Reached this one in my most recent rewatch and had to skip it halfway through. Just dreadful. Strong contender for worst Voyager episode ever in my opinion.
Set Bookmark
Steve H
Thu, May 14, 2020, 5:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S1: Learning Curve

When Chakotay punched Dalby you could tell by his breathing that Chakotay's adrenalin was running high in real life. A simple screen punch would not have caused that much heavy breathing.
Or Beltran is a really good actor.
Set Bookmark
Steve McCullagh
Sat, May 2, 2020, 3:21am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Alter Ego

Harry Kim may be the most beige character in the history of Star Trek, and this episode was just plain dull.
Set Bookmark
Steve McCullagh
Sun, Apr 19, 2020, 3:30pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: The Thaw

Brilliant episode, one of my Voyager favourites. It's mad and clever and I could easily see it fitting into TOS or TNG.
Set Bookmark
Steve McCullagh
Sun, Mar 8, 2020, 8:55am (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

I hope that at some point in the last three episodes Picard gets in a no-win situation that is only resolved by the sudden appearance of John de Lancie, just so I can use the term "Q Ex Machina".
Set Bookmark
Steve McCullagh
Fri, Mar 6, 2020, 3:40am (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

Best episode of the whole season. Five stars.
Set Bookmark
Steve McCullagh
Sat, Feb 29, 2020, 5:29am (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: The Impossible Box

@Tim C

"(Gee, his choice of assassination method was pretty Bond villain stupid though. Why not just beam her into space instead of relying on a slow-acting gimmick? Nitpick, nitpick...)"

It was a nice little callback to how Shinzon murdered the Senate in Nemesis, I thought.
Set Bookmark
Steve McCullagh
Thu, Feb 27, 2020, 7:28am (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

Hey, at least we didn't have the Romulannisters this week!
Set Bookmark
Steve
Thu, Feb 20, 2020, 10:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

Man I miss the old Star Trek. Upbeat (mostly) with a positive outlook on the future. Where miracles occur and where humans work together and where while bad things happen, they are outdone by the progress the galaxy seems to have made.

Now we have people getting drilled in the eye and tortured to death, beloved characters murdering people, and graphic beheadings. All taking places in some horrific almost dystopian view of the future. Great stuff for the family to watch.

Can't wait for the next episode where Neelix is a pimp and Naomi Wildman is thrown out of the airlock in graphic detail.
Set Bookmark
SteveRage
Wed, Feb 19, 2020, 11:50am (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: The End Is the Beginning

I wouldn't make that leap that money is back in the 25th century and it's retconned. She's on the outs with Starfleet, many of her old friends now see her as a pariah. She could be living out in Vasquez Rocks by choice, wanting to be alone.
Set Bookmark
SteveRage
Wed, Feb 19, 2020, 11:32am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

Simple.

Man was not meant to play God. It's natural for the Valakians to die out. It's natural for the Menk to survive. It is not for humanity to wander along and say nope, I don't like this arrangement, I choose to change this.

The Prime Directive exists for a reason, a little more use of it on this planet and our history would be a lot less bloody.
Set Bookmark
Steve McCullagh
Sat, Feb 15, 2020, 5:15am (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Absolute Candor

It's had it's moments but this show is really starting to annoy me. There's nothing wrong with taking your time and laying your groundwork but we're four weeks in and it's moving at a snail's pace, suffocating the viewer in exposition to the point that it's just plain dull. And it's a show that to me is still really struggling to find it's identity and they can't decide what they want to be; one week they think they're BSG, then they think they're Star Wars, then they think they're Game of Thrones, then they think they're Lord of the Rings, all with a dash of Discovery, this week they're a mash-up of several of them, when all I really want them to be is Star Trek...

I do hope it picks up and figures itself out soon but at this point I'm losing patience with it and it's actually becoming a struggle to come back each week.
Set Bookmark
Steve
Fri, Jan 31, 2020, 3:42am (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Maps and Legends

A couple of nice moments but I found this one to be really dull. Not a fan of the swearing either.
Set Bookmark
Steve
Fri, Aug 30, 2019, 11:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Tears of the Prophets

@P
Jadzia had to stay on DS9 because Sisko made it clear in “Change of Heart” that Worf and Jadzia would never again be assigned to the same mission. This may also explain why Kira took command of the Defiant instead of Worf, who had been stripped of command duties. He would later, though, command the Defiant again in Season 7.
Set Bookmark
SteveL
Thu, Jun 20, 2019, 6:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: Return to Grace

@Chrome
I had exactly the same thoughts during the phaser rifle comparisons. Her comment about “dragging it through the mud and it will keep firing” has often been said of the AK-47.
Next ►Page 1 of 15
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.