Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 306 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 13
Set Bookmark
Steve
Mon, Feb 18, 2019, 11:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Workforce

Stargate SG-1 “Beneath the Surface” revisited.
Set Bookmark
Steven
Sun, Feb 17, 2019, 6:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Saints of Imperfection

I’m not sure I see the value in assessing the series on unsubstantiated gossip. Whether the changes you speak of stem from legal issues or the showrunners’ vision, the show is what it is, and we have the end product to judge on its own faults and merits.
Set Bookmark
Steven
Sun, Feb 17, 2019, 12:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Saints of Imperfection

Madman, I don’t think you fully appreciate the frontier town metaphor, and I’ll be up frank and say I can’t take credit for it. I’ll cite how Rick Berman pitched DS9 (from the Wikia):

“if The Next Generation was Wagon Train in space, Deep Space Nine was to be The Rifleman in space – a man and his son coming to a dilapidated town on the edge of a new frontier.”

I’m other words, being relatively isolated is part of DS9’s format. You can see this in particular in the Maquis episodes where there’s conflicts on the Cardassian border and Sisko laments the conflict with his line about Starfleet not having a clue because they’re used to living “in paradise”.

Yes, occasionally some Federation officials come to visit, but they rarely know anything about the early Maquis or the Dominion conflicts. To the follow the metaphor, maybe the feds from DC visited the Wild West territories, but the sheer distance still kept many territories out of the loop politically, and allowed leaders in those territories a wide berth. Do you think Sisko could get away with half the things he does on the show if he was worried about Starfleet coming to investigate him regularly?

Anyway, there’s still my point that DS9 leaves it unclear the extent Sisko knows about Section 31, so it’s up to interpretation.
Set Bookmark
Steven
Sun, Feb 17, 2019, 10:57am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Saints of Imperfection

@OmicronThetaDelta

I think that’s an overstatement. Tyler, a security officer, knows about Section 31 and Captain Pike knows about it because his school friend joined. DS9 takes place on a remote outpost far away from Starfleet Command so it makes sense they’d be out of the loop. It’s like frontier towns in the U.S. had very little knowledge of the security policies of Washington D.C. (rightfully so, most had zero impact on frontier life).

On top of that, there’s an often overlooked aspect of DS9 and it’s knowledge of Section 31. There are some indications that Sisko was working with knowledge of it in “Inter Arma Enim Silent Leges” as he coaxed Bashir into playing along with Sloan. It’s just speculation of course, but since we know Admiral Ross worked with Section 31 and Sisko reported to Ross, it’s entirely likely that Sisko knows more about it than he lets on to Bashir.
Set Bookmark
Steven
Sun, Feb 17, 2019, 9:27am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Saints of Imperfection

@Bold Helmsman

Right. The thing is there isn’t very much Section 31 canon to begin with, so it’s a safe spot for these writers to make new stories without stepping on anyone’s toes.
Set Bookmark
Steven
Sat, Feb 16, 2019, 12:12pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Saints of Imperfection

I think it’s a bit of misstep to bring Culber back. Not because I don’t like the character, he was one of the better parts of S1. But my problem is it cuts into the “anyone can die” feeling this series had. Part of what was good last episode with Saru nearly dying was, because Discovery has staked itself as a series not afraid to piss off the audience with big risky decisions like killing regulars off, Saru dying felt like it might be on the table. Now that’s kind of gone and we’re getting this sort of “It’s okay we’ll wish them back with the dragonballs” type of resolution.

Now, to be totally fair, Landry and O’Connell are still dead, as is Lorca (but you never know). And Discovery isn’t the first Trek to do this (Spock, Data, Dax, Sisko?!, Kirk in STID). I just hope this doesn’t become a continuing pattern because Death is Cheap is a rotten soap opera gimmick.
Set Bookmark
Steve
Sat, Feb 16, 2019, 2:48am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Saints of Imperfection

Just boring. Too much going on once again. Can't wait for next week and the next Orville episode.

1.5 stars for this from me.
Set Bookmark
Steve
Fri, Feb 15, 2019, 4:47pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Deflectors

It really hasn't been fleshed out yet, but I get the impression they need them as allies because their tech is slightly more advanced and they seem willing to share it. (probably for economic concessions)

I really do think they need a few episodes that focuses on the geo-political aspect of the galaxy as we know little about it.
Set Bookmark
Steven
Fri, Feb 15, 2019, 9:04am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: An Obol for Charon

Great review, Jammer. I too don’t really need an explanation for every technical difference from this show and the other shows. I would rather they cut that in favor of details contributing to main story they’re trying to tell.
Set Bookmark
Steve
Fri, Feb 15, 2019, 2:48am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Deflectors

I thought this was a beautiful episode. It made me evaluate my own prejudices. Powerful ending too.
Set Bookmark
Steven
Mon, Feb 11, 2019, 4:15pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: An Obol for Charon

You're talking about a continuation of the same engagement. The ships didn't pull away and declare a cease-fire.
Set Bookmark
Steven
Mon, Feb 11, 2019, 4:04pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: An Obol for Charon

Jason R., forget criminal law. Imagine if a foreign warship sailed in proximity of Rockall (UK territorial waters) and started jamming English radio signals. The Royal Navy came to investigate it but her crew was assaulted by people on the warship. Wouldn't there be a pretty heavy case that the Royal navy had a right to retaliate with deadly force?
Set Bookmark
Steven
Sun, Feb 10, 2019, 4:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: An Obol for Charon

I agree it comes down to balancing the interests and in the end we don’t really have enough information to make the best decision. I think we’re supposed to believe Burnham *did* have all the information and she was willing to commit the ritual but still hesitant because it clashed with her personal beliefs.
Set Bookmark
Steven
Sun, Feb 10, 2019, 3:41pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: An Obol for Charon

But Yair, you’re skipping over the part where even in the best case scenario Saru’s rights are violated. This is something Picard understood about Worf and the Klingons and it’s not something to just gloss over.

So maybe Saru survives but remembers being sedated and he realizes Starfleet didn’t care what he wanted. He goes back to his people and tells them Starfleet can’t always be trusted and suddenly that First Contact the Fedration is hoping for is off the table.

Now, I’m not saying all these things will happen for certain mind you, I just point out the dangers in being cavilier about individual rights.
Set Bookmark
Steven
Sun, Feb 10, 2019, 3:03pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: An Obol for Charon

@Yair

Good points, but I think saving Saru “for the mission” doesn’t really apply here. One important factor that differntiates Saru from say B’Elanna is that no one in Starfleet appears to know much about Kelpian physiology (they’re a pre-First Contact race) and Saru is a lone refugee. So, even assuming stasis could save Saru someday in the long run, he would be out of commission - certainly for the remainder of this mission - and perhaps years more for Starfleet to figure out how to treat Kelpians in this condition. So I don’t think exigency is a workable justification to violate a species’ rights here.
Set Bookmark
Steven
Sun, Feb 10, 2019, 2:03pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: An Obol for Charon

@Yair

That thing with that argument is even though soldiers do give up some freedoms from serving they retain certain civil rights that need to be respected by their commander. A commanding officer cannot, for example, order a woman serving under them to get an abortion because pregnancy would interfere with her duty.

Of course we don’t know Starfleet rules so we can’t say for certain what rights are protected or not and you could be correct. But respecting someone’s control over their body seems like a more respectful, more Trek way of handling it, at least in my opinion.
Set Bookmark
Steven
Sun, Feb 10, 2019, 1:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: An Obol for Charon

No, Madman, you really should watch it again (or even read the transcript). The thing with “Ethics” was that Picard was willing to let Worf commit ritual suicide. It’s not that he condoned suicide per se, it’s that he respected Worf’s beliefs and one of those beliefs was that living crippled is worse than death for a Klingon. Sisko intervenes in DS9, true, but the solution is horrific as it effectively ends Kurn’s life as Kurn (without consent).

Here, Saru has his own death ritual to give him a dignified end before he goes *mentally insane* and dies anyway. They don’t get into it, but an insane person is most certainly a danger to the crew. What was really the choice here? Does anyone think putting Saru in stasis *against his will* until they find a cure or something is an enlightened way of handling the situation?
Set Bookmark
Steven
Sat, Feb 9, 2019, 6:33pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: An Obol for Charon

@brian

Stargazer was referring specifically to critics as in people like Jammer. Indeed your source, Metacritic, lists 0 negative critic reviews for Discovery.
Set Bookmark
Steven
Sat, Feb 9, 2019, 5:42pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Badda-Bing, Badda-Bang

@Booming

I’m not taking a side on that issue. I’m sure people will and have argued that in the 90s this white/black message was timely. Nevertheless, it hits a different distinctly different note than the Human/Cardassaian one. I hope you can appreciate the difference and I apologize if I’m not being clear somehow.
Set Bookmark
Steven
Sat, Feb 9, 2019, 5:22pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Badda-Bing, Badda-Bang

The O’Brien-Cardassian-racism comparison is a false one, anyway. There, O’Brien’s racism is allegorical, so it appeals to every viewer and every viewer can appreciate the situation on some level.

Sisko’s complaint about racism here is specifically a black issue with certain real-world repercussions, i.e. white people should feel guilty about the past. Effectively, it’s a message that divides the audience.
Set Bookmark
Steven
Sat, Feb 9, 2019, 7:28am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: All the World Is Birthday Cake

It was an entertaining episode, but there's no way the planet's leaders would just let Kelly and Bortus go, after they murdered loads of their people.
Set Bookmark
Steven
Wed, Feb 6, 2019, 4:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Point of Light

To be fair, the events of "Profit and Lace" did bleed over into future Ferengi storylines and "Profit and Lace" itself was a continuation of the less-than-stellar "Ferengi Love Songs".
Set Bookmark
Steven
Tue, Feb 5, 2019, 2:39pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Point of Light

I too have given up on the show, and it's free to watch on Netflix. I'm still watching The Orville and I hope the Picard spin-off is good.
Set Bookmark
Steven
Tue, Feb 5, 2019, 9:12am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Point of Light

@Artymiss

14. I’m curious who’s directing next week, though. Has that info been released?
Set Bookmark
Steven
Mon, Feb 4, 2019, 5:00am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Point of Light

Do people seriously think - the many, dislike this show because of skin colour or women in command? Or diversity? Hmm, maybe some bigoted idiots think like that, but the majority of us are moaning about the show because it's painfully mediocre! DISCO is slow with bad casting and poor characters (for the most part.) The only thing Discovery has going for it, is its incredible visuals (not just for a TV show, but movie quality visuals.) And Pike... And yes, Pike is a white male, but it's the actor, the actor has presence! Ala Patrick Stewart. He is perfectly cast.

Michael isn't clicking with the audience for whatever reason. Maybe it's the actress or the writing or both. Maybe it's because Sonequa Martin-Green always looks miserable. She might have been on The Walking Dead for too long, same expression.

This show needs more hope, more idealism, more exploring, more fun! It doesn't need to be so po-faced all the time. It needs to explore its cast more and give us a reason to root for them. For example: what do we know about the officer with the metal attachment on her face? Nothing! I don't even know / remember her name. There is very little character development and the entire thing has the wrong tone. It's far too serious which often comes across as incoherent in its techno babble / boring.

I really hope the Stewart spin-off is better than this. Then again, it has Stewart.
Next ►Page 1 of 13
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.