Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 339 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 14
Set Bookmark
SteveL
Thu, Jun 20, 2019, 6:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Return to Grace

@Chrome
I had exactly the same thoughts during the phaser rifle comparisons. Her comment about “dragging it through the mud and it will keep firing” has often been said of the AK-47.
Set Bookmark
Stevens J.
Mon, Jun 10, 2019, 3:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Silicon Avatar

I see we've crossed the line from Picard was wrong to try to attempt communication into Picard should be court martialed for trying. So much for that bright future for humanity, eh?
Set Bookmark
SteveRage
Mon, Apr 15, 2019, 1:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Bound

Great episode, one of the best Enterprise eps. The girls were stunning and the reactions from the crew were believable. Quality twist that it's the Orion Men that are the real slaves - 4 stars.
Set Bookmark
Steven
Sun, Apr 14, 2019, 3:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

So, does anyone else think they’re not going to end with a new time at all by the finale? They spent so much time here with cheerful goodbyes. And yet, generally when a show explains to you in detail what will happen, something different happens. It’s the inverse of “The Unspoken Plan Guarantee” for those of you into TV Tropes. For starters, there’s no way Spock is getting stuck in the future even if he insists he’s going. Anyway, if I had to guess, something will change the current timeline but they’ll still be in the same pre-TOS period.

@Daya

Thank you for engaging everyone politely. I had half a mind to defend Alan, too. To be sure, he’s being snarky, but with the tone of some of the criticisms, I can sort of see his frustration. Let’s be true to Trek and keep things civil, all.
Set Bookmark
Steven Lee
Sun, Apr 14, 2019, 2:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

@MadMenMUC.

"No question; but — if we're really honest with ourselves..."

Er, no because I prefer J J's Treks to Discovery. I like all three films.
Set Bookmark
SteveRage
Tue, Apr 9, 2019, 7:07am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Chosen Realm

One of the reasons I liked this episode is that it deals with religious extremism and fundamentalism with the contempt it deserves. Watching back through Enterprise I'm shocked at how much more I'm enjoying it than Discovery.
Set Bookmark
SteveRage
Mon, Apr 1, 2019, 10:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Cogenitor

Attitudes to this episode seem to reflect one's own political opinion

If you agree with Trip, you're probably a lefty. Your moral position is the correct one as far as you're concerned and you have little tolerance for those who disagree. You have great sympathy with those who are disadvantaged and believe they should rise up against those who are oppressing them. The most important thing for you is equality.

If you agree with Archer, you're probably on the centre-right. You have your own beliefs and values, but you can accept that others have a different view and it is not your place to judge. You believe that good relations with others are a positive thing and you can overlook things that are unpalatable for the sake of the greater good. The most important things for you are freedom and protecting your own.

Me?..... I'm Team Archer
Set Bookmark
SteveRage
Sat, Mar 30, 2019, 1:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Precious Cargo

Nowhere near as bad as Jammer's rant makes it seem. Yes we've seen all this before, yes she's an awful actress, but she's very nice to look at. There are some pretty funny moments in this, e.g. the short Hoshi/Trip scene, the tribunal, the fight in the swamp and despite her limited acting skills, I thought there was some genuine chemistry between Kaitanna and Trip. 1.5 to 2 stars I'd give it.

I'd far rather watch this than a lot of Discovery S2.
Set Bookmark
Steven
Sat, Mar 30, 2019, 8:54am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

@Ghosted

I’m not sure you understand what Picard was talking about. In Generations, Picard was upset because he lost his family so he was concerned with the mortality of himself and more specifically the Picard family legacy. Then he experienced potentially infinite time in the Nexus, with the ability to change or create his family ancestry. Being able to manipulate time in such a fashion allowed him to see the hollowness in his original desire. He decided that time is something to cherish, not control or manipulate.

In this episode’s context, Dr. Burnham is referring to time as a fate she can’t escape because her efforts to affect time have been thus far been fruitless. It’s not that she isn’t “cherishing the moment”, which makes no sense in her predicament. Rather, she no longer has the luxury of cherishing her own time.
Set Bookmark
Steven
Sun, Mar 24, 2019, 1:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Red Angel

@Kinematic

In DISC Burnham serves the story, the story doesn't serve Burnham. Burnham is mocked by other characters for being a reckless, she goes through grueling struggles to reach the end of her journey, and once there it turns out that even she can't resist the temptation to ignore Starfleet regulations. If the plot and setting were twisted in unnatural, unpleasing ways to make Burnham out to be cool and heroic even when it didn't make sense, then she would be a Mary Sue. For instance, if she turned out to be a better fighter than Tyler despite spending her life in the peaceful Vulcan Academy. As is the plot is set up to make her life harder, not easier, and her judgment is far from perfect.

See how that works?
Set Bookmark
Steven
Sun, Mar 24, 2019, 11:42am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Red Angel

@Kinematic

Have you read any novels lately? I think the case you’re trying to make here could be applied to any protagonist. For example, Frodo Baggins is just so great and special. He’s probably written as a self-insert for J.R. Tolkien because they both share Judeo-Christian types of values. All the other heroes love Frodo and he’s incurruptable, fighting even the power of the One Ring that the almighty wizard Gandalf can’t fight. People are constantly praising Frodo and putting the big decisions in his hands. He doesn’t fight for glory, but for the sake of others. Basically, the typical Mary Sue.

Do you see the problem with this kind of analysis?
Set Bookmark
Steven
Sat, Mar 23, 2019, 5:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Red Angel

“Michael is a self insert character”

Sorry, who is she a self-insert of? Alex Kurtzman? You keep using that word, I do not think it means what you think it means.
Set Bookmark
Steve
Fri, Mar 22, 2019, 3:52am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Lasting Impressions

I enjoyed it. Makes you think just how we will be seen in four centuries. Although I find it hard to believe that digital data from this era would be so rare.

Would have liked a few sentences to see what happened to that person. You would think Gordon would have looked it up.

2.5 stars
Set Bookmark
Steve
Mon, Mar 18, 2019, 1:35am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

Sorry if this has been asked already, but why couldn't they just beam her back from space into the ships brig?
Set Bookmark
Steven
Sun, Mar 10, 2019, 12:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

“This Trek is a niche show on niche streaming service. No one in the mainstream legacy corporate media cares.”

LOL, this show is regularly reviewed and reported on by The NY Times. I think we’re getting trolled here folks...
Set Bookmark
Steven
Thu, Mar 7, 2019, 9:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

These cliffhangers leading into cliffhangers make the individual episodes almost impossible to gauge. I don’t envy your job here, Jammer :-)
Set Bookmark
Steven
Sat, Mar 2, 2019, 2:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Light and Shadows

I think the format is less germane to the story than the era when this show takes place, i.e. the TOS time period. There was a certain cavalier attitude in early Trek, something Spock later calls “Cowboy Diplomacy”. Kirk and Spock understood that inter-species problems aren’t always solved by playing by the rules. It may go against the grain of the TNG/DS9/VOY era we all might be more comfortable with, but it does fit the TOS era which this show *predates*.
Set Bookmark
Steven
Sat, Mar 2, 2019, 12:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Light and Shadows

@William W

There’s still time to tell a story like that. It’s not like DSC forgot everything from season 1 and never brought it up again. We already had two huge Saru stories this season about his culture and people. It makes sense to let that matter sit for awhile and come back after later developments.
Set Bookmark
Steve
Fri, Mar 1, 2019, 2:14am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part II

Say what you want about the episode, but that was one hell of a space battle. 3.5 stars from me.
Set Bookmark
Steven
Tue, Feb 26, 2019, 10:06am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

I think Jason’s point is the studio’s operations are different and a certain amount of quality control is in place. Perhaps “Shades of Grey” is a better example. That episode was made as fluff to accommodate the contractual demand for 22 episodes, but the current model of On-Demand rewatchable Trek leaves no room for clip shows.
Set Bookmark
Steve
Mon, Feb 25, 2019, 10:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part I

Is it possible it's not even Isaac? Otherwise I cannot see how he can come back from this. He was literally part of the boarding party that killed crewmembers.

So either he will become a villain (bold and I like it), or there will be a reset button (bad), or Isaac will have a change of heart and save Earth. The problem with the last one is that is still doesn't excuse his previous actions which was accessory to murder and technically a mutiny on top of that (unless he dies in the act of redemption like Darth Vadar)

I cannot think this is a simulation by the way.
Set Bookmark
Steven
Mon, Feb 25, 2019, 3:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

Peter, I understand what you mean, but like I mentioned with “Move Along Home”, “Q-Less”, and “Meridian” getting more positive reviews in spite of themselves and certainly higher than similar TNG duds, I can’t help but conclude there’s a certain tilt towards DS9. I don’t really see a problem with that, though, and in fact enjoy reading otherwise widely criticized Trek shows in a more positive light.
Set Bookmark
Steven
Mon, Feb 25, 2019, 12:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

@Iceman

Do you think it’s odd for a critic to have a favorite show? I don’t, and I certainly wouldn’t knock Jammer for it. If you’ve read some of Jammer’s comments on the matter, the star ratings are based on his “feeling” about the show as it aired. He’s not running some sort mathematical Star equation to come up with his star ratings, unlike say, Elliott.

Do I think that makes Jammer’s DS9 reviews uncredible? No, I just think that he’s more likely to tilt towards a higher star rating if he’s on the fence about an episode because he enjoys the whole package overall for what it is.
Set Bookmark
Steven
Mon, Feb 25, 2019, 9:51am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

Well Jason, let’s see how you feel about this in 10 or 20 years.
Set Bookmark
Steve
Sun, Feb 24, 2019, 11:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Homestead

@odysey

could have
should have
Next ►Page 1 of 14
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.