Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 25 (Showing 1-25)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Steve McCullagh
Thu, Jun 18, 2020, 3:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Lineage

There really are some hilarious posts in this thread. "WHERE IS THE SCI FI???" Yes, there is no sci-fi to be found in this episode about alien-human hybrid babies in space...

Great episode, four stars.
Set Bookmark
Steve McCullagh
Sun, Jun 7, 2020, 5:55am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Spirit Folk

As an Irishman myself, there are few things more annoying or insulting than when American shows try to do "Oirish" episodes. This episode (and "Fair Haven" before it) were absolutely awful.
Set Bookmark
Steve McCullagh
Thu, May 28, 2020, 1:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Course: Oblivion

Reached this one in my most recent rewatch and had to skip it halfway through. Just dreadful. Strong contender for worst Voyager episode ever in my opinion.
Set Bookmark
Steve McCullagh
Sat, May 2, 2020, 3:21am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Alter Ego

Harry Kim may be the most beige character in the history of Star Trek, and this episode was just plain dull.
Set Bookmark
Steve McCullagh
Sun, Apr 19, 2020, 3:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: The Thaw

Brilliant episode, one of my Voyager favourites. It's mad and clever and I could easily see it fitting into TOS or TNG.
Set Bookmark
Steve McCullagh
Sun, Mar 8, 2020, 8:55am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

I hope that at some point in the last three episodes Picard gets in a no-win situation that is only resolved by the sudden appearance of John de Lancie, just so I can use the term "Q Ex Machina".
Set Bookmark
Steve McCullagh
Fri, Mar 6, 2020, 3:40am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

Best episode of the whole season. Five stars.
Set Bookmark
Steve McCullagh
Sat, Feb 29, 2020, 5:29am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: The Impossible Box

@Tim C

"(Gee, his choice of assassination method was pretty Bond villain stupid though. Why not just beam her into space instead of relying on a slow-acting gimmick? Nitpick, nitpick...)"

It was a nice little callback to how Shinzon murdered the Senate in Nemesis, I thought.
Set Bookmark
Steve McCullagh
Thu, Feb 27, 2020, 7:28am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

Hey, at least we didn't have the Romulannisters this week!
Set Bookmark
Steve McCullagh
Sat, Feb 15, 2020, 5:15am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Absolute Candor

It's had it's moments but this show is really starting to annoy me. There's nothing wrong with taking your time and laying your groundwork but we're four weeks in and it's moving at a snail's pace, suffocating the viewer in exposition to the point that it's just plain dull. And it's a show that to me is still really struggling to find it's identity and they can't decide what they want to be; one week they think they're BSG, then they think they're Star Wars, then they think they're Game of Thrones, then they think they're Lord of the Rings, all with a dash of Discovery, this week they're a mash-up of several of them, when all I really want them to be is Star Trek...

I do hope it picks up and figures itself out soon but at this point I'm losing patience with it and it's actually becoming a struggle to come back each week.
Set Bookmark
Steve McCullagh
Sun, Dec 9, 2018, 8:10am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry

At this point in my life I have been watching Star Trek for over thirty years and have seen every second of every episode and film. At no time prior to Discovery did I think it was even possible to make the Klingons so mind-numbingly boring that I dread seeing them pop up on screen, yet somehow the makers of Discovery has done it.

This is a show with no heart, no soul, no excitement, no characters to possibly care about, no respect for the history of the franchise, and no right to call itself "Star Trek". It's terrible in every single way and I shall not be watching it again.
Set Bookmark
Steve McCullagh
Sun, Dec 9, 2018, 7:24am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Context Is for Kings

I never, ever thought I would say this but: Bring back Rick & Brannon...

Three episodes in and there is absolutely nothing about this that I like. It's not Star Trek and I hate it.
Set Bookmark
Steve McCullagh
Sat, Dec 8, 2018, 2:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

Awful. Just awful. This is not Star Trek.
Set Bookmark
Steve McCullagh
Sun, Dec 2, 2018, 12:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: These Are the Voyages...

Having just watched this episode again I found myself even more angry than I was the first time when I didn't know what was coming. A terrible episode, and a total FU to the fans and the cast of Enterprise, who are essentially presented as extras in their own show. I honestly don't know what B & B were thinking.
Set Bookmark
Steve McCullagh
Sat, Dec 1, 2018, 6:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Terra Prime

Well these two episodes are certainly timely in 2018 considering the rise of Trumpism and the return to prominence of the Far Right. Sadly ahead of it's time.
Set Bookmark
Steve McCullagh
Sat, Dec 1, 2018, 3:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: In a Mirror, Darkly, Part II

"At the very least, it's not boring."

I dunno, it bored the arse off me...

On rewatch, both parts of this episode could be in the top 5 of worst Star Trek ever for me.
Set Bookmark
Steve McCullagh
Sat, Dec 1, 2018, 9:15am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: In a Mirror, Darkly, Part I

Awful, stupid, masturbatory nonsense. I HATE the Mirror episodes and this is no different.
Set Bookmark
Steve McCullagh
Fri, Nov 30, 2018, 2:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: In a Mirror, Darkly, Part II

I absolutely *hate* the Mirror episodes regardless of which Trek show they're in, so this makes three stinkers in a row for me.
Set Bookmark
Steve McCullagh
Mon, Nov 26, 2018, 1:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Kir'Shara

At least this trilogy explains why the Vulcans were such dicks the first three seasons.
Set Bookmark
Steve McCullagh
Sun, Nov 11, 2018, 3:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Bounty

Oh and as far as a review of "Bounty" goes: So bad it could have been an episode of Voyager. Nil stars.
Set Bookmark
Steve McCullagh
Sun, Nov 11, 2018, 3:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Bounty

Re: Enterprise and sex:

I think the difference between this and the other shows is that the T'Pol stuff comes across as so much more sleazy and gratuitous and exploitative than on the other "brands".
Set Bookmark
Steve McCullagh
Sat, Nov 3, 2018, 8:49am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Acquisition

Wow. After reading this and the vitriol in general that Ferengi episodes trigger on these pages, both in the reviews and in the comments, I have to ask: Have any of you people ever had fun? Like, ever?
Set Bookmark
Steve McCullagh
Sun, Jul 22, 2018, 11:50am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Elaan of Troyius

I can't believe it took me so long to realise that the title is a play on "Helen of Troy".
Set Bookmark
Steve McCullagh
Thu, Jul 12, 2018, 8:55am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Alternative Factor

Two stars is exceedingly generous for this one; it's so bad that before I did a full TOS rewatch last year I actually misremembered it being a season three episode 😁

Just awful. One of the all time worst episodes to me.
Set Bookmark
Steve McCullagh
Sat, May 20, 2017, 2:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Operation--Annihilate!

I can't believe no one has mentioned the final scene; the whole "Vulcan eyes/Vulcan ears" bit is one of my favourite lines in the history of Trek.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.