Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 24 (Showing 1-24)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Steinway
Mon, Nov 10, 2014, 11:03am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Dax

WHY did they have to have the hearing in Quark's bar?! There were only five or so people present. They could've had the hearing in Odo's office, or Sisko's ready room, or the holodeck! Why did they need that goofy scene with also pressuring Quark to shut down the bar and let them have the hearing there? It was pointless.

I don't care for Avery Brooks' acting throughout the series, but I think Nana Visitor's acting takes the cake in the beginning of the series for being the most awful! The scene where she overacts in this episode is as laughable as it is painful to watch. I do think she wins the award for Most Improved Actor of the Series of award, though.
Set Bookmark
Steinway
Fri, Apr 11, 2014, 9:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Homestead

@Elliott: Thanks, I'm glad I was wrong on one continuity issue :) It's been years since I saw Seasons 1/2 where they talked about that...
Set Bookmark
Steinway
Fri, Apr 11, 2014, 9:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

I have to agree with the consensus (and Jammer) on this farewell episode. The first time I saw it (in college—I had a Voyager finale party at my apartment), I liked it—it had action, the Borg, Klingons, time travel, and...they got home!

But watching it again so many years later, it was frustrating for all the reasons people have already said—the ethics of Admiral Janeway's quest, the split-second shot of Voyager approaching home, and all the rest in between. Interestingly, my husband liked it (much like I did the first time around) but he did notice the ending was a bit abrupt!

Voyager is our favorite series and this finale is just okay. It works, for what it is, but I wouldn't call it "special". The big asset Voyager had to offer was the characters—the good acting, the sense of "family", and the quest for home. And it seemed it was the characters who got shortchanged in the final saga.

I liked the idea someone had above: what if the Borg weren't annihilated (were they, even?) but rather their queen crippled and they somehow became liberated? It would have been a fascinating premise. "Endgame" (with its flaws, I suppose) could have been aired as a mid-season two-parter/mini-movie, and then the second half of the seventh series could be Voyager trying to help all these Borg who are lost and confused, maybe the Borg and Voyager working together to get Voyager back home (or in contact with Earth) to pull in the resources of the rest of the Federation, to help with his massive and unprecedented effort. Starfleet could launch a plan to send a buch of ships to the Delta Quatrant to help out, and voila, you have a neat set of episodes where you're seeing more of the Federation, maybe Earth, maybe homecomings, and some interesting Borg moral dilemmas (some of them die, some of them go crazy, some try to take over Starfleet, etc.).

Could've been fun!
Set Bookmark
Steinway
Fri, Apr 4, 2014, 8:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Renaissance Man

I agree with the consensus, that this was a fun episode but oddly placed in the line-up (or countdown, rather).

However, one thing really tickled me that hasn't been mentioned—there were clues early on that it was the Doctor, before the "reveal". The first was that the Doctor (as Janeway) went after Chakotay with a *hypospray*...and the second was that he (as Janeway) hid Chakotay in the *morgue*. Both those details were unusual, and after realizing it was really the Doctor, I appreciated those details.
Set Bookmark
Steinway
Fri, Apr 4, 2014, 8:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Homestead

Hmm...I must ask, again, my opening question from my comment two episodes ago: WHERE are they getting their food? They are on a bald asteroid! Are they somehow sucking up and metabolizing that gaseous stuff that was coming out of the pipes? Ah well.

I would have been more excited and gung-ho about Neelix staying with those people (and fighting with them for their home) if the asteroid hadn't been such a depressing place to live. It's a rock, people :(

But anyway, I did like the episode very much overall—a "Neelix farewell" episode just sounds like a bad idea, but it came off well. I especially liked the Tuvok/Neelix scenes and how Neelix genuinely felt useful through their conversations, something his character had struggled with pretty much the whole series; and the way that Tuvok empowered Neelix to be more than he was. Although, I found the Tuvok-dance moment at the end rather cheesy, it was a nice touch and a great sendoff for a character.

Wasn't it odd though when they (Neelix and the other two Talaxians) were looking at the picture of Talax in astrometrics and no one mentioned that it had been destroyed?? (Hadn't it?!) That was awkward and a pretty glaring continuity issue since that was one of the only aspects of Neelix's character that wasn't happy-smiley—he had that awful part of his past, that came up many times throughout the series.

I also really liked Janeway's scene with Neelix, when she appealed to his sense of duty—presenting the idea of ambassador in the Delta quadrant to him. It gave him a pass to leave while still honoring his sense of pride.

I would definitely say, the best Neelix episode of the series!
Set Bookmark
Steinway
Sun, Mar 2, 2014, 3:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Natural Law

Not too much more to say that hasn't been said, but I did like the twist at the end (with the civilized aliens encroaching on the primitives) and how Seven came to realize there was a beauty and simplicity to them that challenged her presumptions.

For a Trekkie, I'm terribly skeptical of technology and feel that it brings a lot of harm (along with, undeniably, a lot of good) and that it's right to examine whether we are better off with or without. There were hints of that theme in this episode, and I appreciated that.

It was pleasant enough, but not what I'm wanting in the home stretch of the series. That really bothers me—so little of the last 10, or even 5, episodes, had anything to do with wrapping up the series (I would say that only "Homestead" did, and only for one character).
Set Bookmark
Steinway
Sun, Mar 2, 2014, 3:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Friendship One

My first thought was, where are these cave-dwellers getting their food? Ah well, I had to ask.

I liked this for a lot of reasons others mentioned (it was one of the few episodes I missed when they first aired), primarily the nice setup. I didn't find the plot too bland. But the one thing that REALLY bothered me was Lt. Carey's death. Poor guy! Of course, I knew from the moment I saw him at the beginning that he was going to die. But the way the aftermath of his death was handled was distasteful. The next scene after Carey was shot, Neelix and Paris are just sitting around like nothing happened. They should have been shaken up or...something! I recognize that there's a certain military "the show must go on, keep your cool" attitude, but this was just silly. I would have thought that at least one of them would have been visibly shaken and upset, even if it was only amongst themselves that this was explored.

And then you have the later scene on Voyager where Paris and Neelix are urging Janeway to help the cave guys! It seemed way out of character for both—there should have been some reference to the emotional impact of Carey being killed. It was totally disjointed and served only to nudge the plot along.

And then the last scene with Janeway ruminating over Carey's death with Chakotay...it was as though the writers said, "well, we've got two and a half minutes left, just enough time for someone to finally acknowledge that Carey died." It was just bizarre.
Set Bookmark
Steinway
Wed, Feb 26, 2014, 1:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Author, Author

The other thing I forgot to say (since no one else has mentioned it yet) is that the scene where the Doctor confronts Paris in the corridor about the "revised" version of the holonovel was so well done. The little detail of having other crewmembers walking by and accidentally observing added more for Picardo and McNeill to play off of. But the best moment in the scene was when Picardo got within an inch of McNeill's face. Golden!
Set Bookmark
Steinway
Wed, Feb 26, 2014, 11:42am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Author, Author

LOVED this. Hadn't seen it since it first aired but it was still very fresh in my mind because it's so memorable.

The only part I'd forgotten about was the hologram's rights hearing which was a weak point in the episode for me. I'm not into the whole AI rights issue...my mind begins thinking things like what SpiceRak said so well in the comments. I found myself cringing at some of the silly statements being made in favor of the doctor's personhood but did enjoy hearing the personal testimonies from Seven and Barclay. The end result, declaring him an artist for the purposes of the hearing, worked for me and I'm glad they pushed off the personhood issue for a "later date" (that is, never). So in the end, it worked for me.
Set Bookmark
Steinway
Wed, Feb 26, 2014, 9:23am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Q2

Wow, I'm surprised this one is so hated. It's definitely not my favorite, but I didn't find it offensive (except for the female sexploitation moments). I didn't like Death Wish (moral objections), and thought Q and the Grey was a little boring, so I guess this one would be the best Voyager Q episode in my book. Once again I agree with azcats.

I think the reason I found endearing is that I'm a parent, and so I could relate to a lot of the parenting plotline. I didn't take it as a grand Q Continuum story, but rather a metaphor for human parenting. A lot of the time that's what Star Trek is – a metaphor for our own times.
Set Bookmark
Steinway
Tue, Feb 25, 2014, 12:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Human Error

So Seven loses her virginity to a hologram?! Ugh.

I thought Seven/holo-Chakotay did have great chemistry though. Glad Beltran got to actually do something on the show!

All the writers had to do to redeem this episode for me was to have Seven change her mind at the last second of the episode and tell Chakotay she'd go with him to the cooking class. I couldn't believe they didn't give us that one little glimmer at the end! It would have been a nice, subtle payoff.
Set Bookmark
Steinway
Tue, Feb 18, 2014, 2:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Prophecy

I don't know why they had to make Paris into such a schmuck this episode. I know he is kind of schmucky with his one-liners, but I know Duncan-McNeill can act, and when he's getting more than one line, it usually turns out pretty well. Someone above thought it was his acting that was the problem is this ep, but the lines he was given were so trite that I don't know how he possibly could've acted them well.

I could have happily done with some machosim on Paris' part, shoving the Klingons a little bit when they were trying to get his goat instead of just standing there and saying some truly pathetic lines. The combat scene wasn't too bad, and I thought B'Elanna's line was cute: "Today would be a very BAD day to die."

At any rate, this wasn't my favorite episode, but I did enjoy it. I'm one of those who likes the Klingons, with their honor and tradition. Seems like we should get one episode with them in the Voyager series, no matter how convoluted it has to be for them to show up :-)
Set Bookmark
Steinway
Mon, Feb 17, 2014, 3:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Repentance

I really liked this episode. Like Jalandra, I'm one of those who believes that capital punishment can be used appropriately from time to time, but certainly not as a means of revenge, which would be wrong. I say that not to further fuel the fire, but just to say that a person who can see the appropriate application of capital punishment in some cases can also like this episode. I thought the characterizations were very good and the plot was well thought out. Yes, I knew that Iko was going to "prove himself" at the end of the episode, but I liked how it played out because I thought it was well acted and well conceived.

I knew that some would be offended by the subplot with the other prisoner, but it's a mistake to stereotype his situation. They highlighted the fact that these minorities take up more space in the presence that makes sense, but the point was that some of those people were justified in being there.

To me the episode was thoughtful, not preachy.
Set Bookmark
Steinway
Fri, Feb 14, 2014, 7:56am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Shattered

I thought this was great fun. I am another one who really would have enjoyed a Chakotay/Janeway kiss at the end – it would've been so easy to write in! Just have Chakotay say "let's just say there are some barriers we never crossed…" And then he pauses, and adds, "But I'd be lying if I said I didn't want to..." and he kisses her! Easy!

Ah well. I thought it was funny that Icheb was wearing a red uniform and Naomi was wearing a yellow uniform – seems like it should've been the opposite, with Icheb so interested in engineering-type things and Naomi wanting to be the captain's assistant.

One thing that struck me as being so funny was at the very end was when Chakotay only had six seconds or whatever to fix everything, and he's very calmly talking to B'Elanna, like they has all the time in the world! I usually enjoy Chakotay's calm and gentle manner, but this moment really called for some urgency and action! Ha ha.
Set Bookmark
Steinway
Fri, Feb 14, 2014, 7:48am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Lineage

Love this. I remembered the episode from when I saw it years ago in college, and I was looking forward to seeing it again now that I have my own husband and family. I was crying buckets at the end!

This episode was about people with complex problems with a 24th century twist – exactly what I'm looking for in Star Trek! So glad it wasn't muddled with a boring B-plot. The B'Elanna/Tom issues got all the time and attention it needed.
Set Bookmark
Steinway
Tue, Feb 11, 2014, 10:25am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Nightingale

Previous to watching this episode I saw that Jammer gave it two stars, so I was prepared for something pretty mediocre. So I guess that's why I found myself entertained by the episode. I honestly thought it was well acted and the characterizations were good. I thought this was the best Harry episode besides "Timeless", but in this one he's actually playing his current self. Harry doesn't bother me like he does other people – he is a little bit of a caricature, but there are people in the world like that.

I thought the story with Icheb and B'Elanna was hilarious! I think the thing I liked best about this episode – not that I thought it was the greatest – was just the tension between the characters in both plots. I think that's what made it good for me.
Set Bookmark
Steinway
Mon, Feb 10, 2014, 3:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Body and Soul

@T'Paul: azcats was commenting on social attitudes about homosexuality, not prevalence. Even though homosexuality has been around for a very long time, it is only very, very recently that it has been widely accepted.

I am very conservative so the amount of gender-bending stuff in this episode was just right for me - funny, enjoyable, but not awkward...I was really hoping they wouldn't distract the audience from a funny, lighthearted episode by taking it in another direction and "pushing the envelope". I did chuckle during it and say, "I guess the Doctor was programmed to be heterosexual!"
Set Bookmark
Steinway
Thu, Feb 6, 2014, 10:17am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Repression

One thing that I thought really helped set up this episode was the beginning with the Tom and B'Elanna in the movie theater watching the cheesy horror movie. I looked at the whole thing through the lens of a schlocky horror movie, and it actually worked pretty well.

I thought Tim Russ was great in this episode – I really liked his acting. He got to show a bigger range and it was nice.

I didn't mind that I could guess early on who did it. I appreciate that there are some episodes where the audience is surprised and it's not revealed until the end, and that's fine. But there's other episodes where the audience is "in on the secret" and that can be fun too. You're watching, knowing what's going on, and waiting for everybody else on TV to catch up. I don't have a problem with that.

One nitpick I just have to point out is the goofy scene where they're looking at the images in the holodeck – Tuvok asks the computer where he was at a certain time. Wow! That's handy! Why didn't they just ask the computer in the first place who is in the holiday at that time? So the computer stores the locations of every crewmember at every moment?

And, just to chime in on the political discussion, I'll add another viewpoint to the mix. I am a Catholic who would love to live under a monarchy! Ha ha. It seems like many of us have the same experience – we watched Star Trek originally when we were young and idealistic. We didn't have a problem going with utopian ideals that were presented. Then, we got older and formed our own opinions and were influenced by our surroundings. Now, we like Star Trek for other reasons – and mostly overlook the utopian stuff. I watch Star Trek for the human virtues – loyalty, courage, friendship, wonder and awe at the universe, etc. Those are the things that keep me coming back.
Set Bookmark
Steinway
Wed, Feb 5, 2014, 4:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Drive

I liked the scenes between and Seven and B'Elanna in this and the last episode. They make a little more sense if the episodes are flipped… First, in this episode, you have Seven inadvertently giving advice to Torres, and Torres quietly taking that advice. Then, in the next episode, you have Torres giving heartfelt advice to Seven. It was a nice development of the relationship, which until now has shown us Torres blowing up at Seven and generally being frustrated with her. It fit with the rest of the episode, a calmer, more secure B'Elanna. Makes me think back to Barge of the Dead, that maybe she really has changed and developed as a character.

I liked this episode for its cheesy but sweet story. I've always enjoyed the B'Elanna and Tom relationship for the most part, although I didn't like when it became a vehicle for us to just see them bicker. It's especially fun to watch because my husband and I are a lot like them! I'm kind of glad it didn't show the wedding, although it did make the end of little confusing – you don't realize that they're married until you see the last shot of the Delta Flyer. I much prefer church weddings myself, and the Starfleet ones always seem a little dry to me. The version of their wedding in the episode when they were actually metallic slime didn't do much for me - glad they didn't try to reprise it. But maybe they could've given us a five second shot at the end of this episode with people smiling and toasting Tom and B'Elana in the mess hall, presumably at the end of the ceremony? It would've gotten the point across more clearly before the scene in the Delta Flyer.
Set Bookmark
Steinway
Mon, Feb 3, 2014, 2:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Unimatrix Zero, Part II

Here's an idea, instead of the unbelievable and crazy assimilation plan: how about if Janeway, Tuvok and Torres just beam over and Borg-looking suits? They could get all suited and make-upped up and just look like Borg! Because, from the episode, we can conclude that the Borg simply accepted them as Borg because they look like Borg, not because they could also hear their thoughts. If it was a prerequisite that the other Borg could hear Janeway, Tuvok and Torres's thoughts, then they would've had a problem early on because of the "neural suppressant".

@Jack: Yes, where were Icheb and the other ex-Borg kiddies in this episode? Would've been nice to have a scene looking at how they were doing during the conflict between Voyager and the Borg vessel. I imagine they might have been nervous about getting assimilated again… But that would have meant less action and more character development.

One thing I thought was a nice aspect of the episode was the way that Seven was different inside of Unimatrix Zero. I thought Jeri Ryan did a nice job with that. And, it was nice to see her in some more normal looking clothes. I hate the sparkly jumpsuits!
Set Bookmark
Steinway
Mon, Feb 3, 2014, 12:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Unimatrix Zero, Part I

I don't get the arguments about the Borg being overdone, too wimpy, etc. I agree that they became something else than what they were in early TNG episodes, but one can only watch those so many times! They became a permanent fixture of the Star Trek universe, along with the Klingons, Romulans, etc. I don't blame the writers for binging the Borg back over and over - they're fascinating! The side effect, of course, is that they can't stay the übervillans for long that way - they have to be approachable in some way or another in order for starships to interact with them. But I don't think they were dialed down so much as to make them seem a different species, or that it wasn't believable- they have always maintained their basic identity.

I always liked the Voyager Borg episodes...I mean, they were in the Delta Quadrant, Borg central! What did we expect? Much better than the Kazon episodes - ugh!
Set Bookmark
Steinway
Sun, Feb 2, 2014, 11:48am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: The Haunting of Deck Twelve

Oh, and I forgot to mention that as a mother, the disappearance of the Borg baby is very disturbing! I thought she was pretty cute. Why save the baby if it's just going to be ignored? Just one little scene in one episode to tie up the loose thread is all that was needed. I can't remember if this was mentioned on this site, but my favorite fan theory for what happened to the Borg baby is that she was assigned to the Torpedo and Shuttle Replacement Crew along with Lt. Carey, Samantha Wildman, and Vorik!

Great reviews, Jammer. Of course I don't always agree (VOY is my favorite series...I know, I know...) but, as they say - "in matters if taste, everyone is right."
Set Bookmark
Steinway
Sun, Feb 2, 2014, 11:35am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: The Haunting of Deck Twelve

I liked this one. The only thing that really bugged me was the cheesy showdown between Janrway and the alien. So lame! Her near-death grunting and yelling was just silly. And to lose her life rather than sacrifice her ship? I'm sorry, I know there's a little bit if captain-psychology there, but her life is worth more than the USS Voyager.
Set Bookmark
Steinway
Sat, Dec 14, 2013, 11:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Demon

Janeway at the end of the episode, when talking to the crew: "Hey everybody, time to give a DNA sample so you can be copied and left on a barren planet!"

Me: No thanks!

This episode was very poor but that ending was downright disturbing. They might as well have had a shot at the end with the real Voyager crew waving out the windows as the ship alighted, smiling and saying "Bye clones! Have fun down there with the creepy goo we know almost nothing about!"
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.