Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all searched results

Total Found: 85 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 4
Set Bookmark
stef
Fri, Jul 20, 2018, 1:54am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Detained

At around 21:30 Bakula and Stockwell are stood talking, with Stockwell holding some kind of handheld device. I was almost expecting Grat to start hitting the device and telling Archer what percent chance Ziggy gives of him freeing the Suliban.
Set Bookmark
stef
Sun, Jul 8, 2018, 9:10am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum

Watching this episode, it finally hit me where the voice of Saru is familiar from. The actor (Doug Jones) played Kochise, in Falling Skies. Speaking of actors, I'm also wondering why Lorca and Tyler speak with American accents, even though they're both played by British actors. I mean it's already been established by Capt Picard and others, that British accents still exist in The Federation. Is there something intrinsically American about these two characters, or at least better served by them sounding American?
Set Bookmark
stef
Fri, Jul 6, 2018, 5:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad

Sorry meant to say, did it FEEL like a modern day TOS episode? Not a criticism at all, just an observation, and I don't think it was just the appearance of Mudd. The wife to be and father in law also had the aura of TOS characters, so I guess that contributed too.
Set Bookmark
stef
Fri, Jul 6, 2018, 5:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Workforce

I'm still a bit confused as to how many people within the authorities were in on the conspiracy. Early on, my assumption was that everyone was in on it. This was obviously dispelled by Yerid and the young junior doctor guy, although at that point it still seemed like higher members of law enforcement (and possibly government) had sanctioned it. The ending obviously made it look like the highest levels of govt had been unaware the entire time. Either way, great episode and one of my faves from Voyager.
Set Bookmark
stef
Thu, Jul 5, 2018, 11:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad

Is it just me, or did this episode fell kind of like a modern day TOS episode?
Set Bookmark
Stefan T.
Sun, Nov 19, 2017, 3:26am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Firestorm

Three stars for me. After the last episode, which totally sucked in my opinion, this one was by far better, but not perfect. Needless to say, the idea of putting "The Orville" in the middle of some kind of psychic thriller, is twisting as well as interesting. You wont find out until the end what's really going on.
The only thing I am concerned about when thinking of "The Orville" is that there is indeed a huge gap between some episodes. Some are just bad, while others are outstanding. Anyway, I cant wait for next week to watch the next episode.
Set Bookmark
Stefan T.
Sun, Oct 29, 2017, 3:04am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Majority Rule

Like the last one, this one here is 4 Stars for me.

"The Orville" is skyrocketing to become one of the best Sci-Fi-shows. After the last two episodes, I couldnt stop thinking about what actually happened in the plot. If they keep up the level like that, it will be far better Star Trek than Discovery. Of course, this comparison isn't that fair since "The Orville" has its very own unique traits like the cast, the sometimes over-the-top humor, but - on the other hand - it tackles the social issues and problems which Star Trek: Discovery should have and failed miserably until now.

This episode is about a direct democracy being based on something like a social network and asks a simple question: What, if everything is determined by up/downvoting? Even if you make a small mistake, it can lead to you being downvoted. If you have too many downvotes, you have to make an apology tour. If you will stay below 10 Million downvotes, you are fine (at least to some extent) . If not, you will be turned into a living zombie by using a "correction", meaning a brain operation.
Every action has serious consequences. The woman at the start, for example, couldnt get a coffee because she has done bad things when she was way younger. There is also no way to delete downvotes, they will literally punish you for the rest of your life. This is a world which Orwell (ironically the name of the ship is the "Orville". Just a coincidence?) couldn't have better described.

This plot is presented pretty blunt. Two scientists went missing and so the Orville sent a rescue team, consisting of Commander Kelly Grayson, Dr. Claire Finn, Lt. Alara Kitan and Lt. John LaMarr. With only small knowledge about the planet and the culture, they went down to watch out for the scientists. Of course, what would happen? LaMarr, often presented as an easy-going, joking man, makes a mistake, shows some sort of sexual behavior towards a statue, is being filmed while doing this, and gets one million downvotes immediately. The more and more the story progresses, the more the crew realizes the grave situation they are in, especially after finding one scientist being "corrected", while the other one was killed when he wanted to run away from that.

To make it worse, LaMarr isnt doing things right and brings himself into more trouble by not knowing what the woman did who that statue was from, or by his stupid behavior.
Of course, you could ask yourself: Why is he that stupid? Doesnt he realize the danger he's in? Certainly not, but this is exactly, why the story works out: You dont have the perfect future guys with a vast knowledge, but everyday people who just happen to work on a spaceship. And this is, what makes the episode even more terrifying, the perfect compilation of this world, being very similar to earth in 21st century and the "Orville", being a 24 century-spaceship.

But LaMarr ends up being rescued by Isaac hacking into the master feed and spreading false information.
This, together with the talk to Lysella, living on that planet, about this kind of voting system is crucial to the outcome of the story. LaMarr gets rescued by only a few votes below 10 millions. This leads to a lot of questions: Is this system really good, if someone can hack it? Couldnt people from the planet hack the master feed too and get what they want?
is it even good at all, having some kind of middle-age-related lynch justice combined with social media?
And lastly, this questions rise also about todays world where we have some similarities with this one. The last scene, where Lysella, instead of voting like before, just turned the TV off, is the final masterpiece, showing a possible outcome to what we have seen before as a dystopian parallel world of todays Earth.

Honestly - it gave me goosebumps only thinking about it. I could even oversee that the logic was not present everywhere or that the acting of LaMarr was more or less stupid. But that's exactly why the episode worked out. Assume, we had a Picard or a Riker here, it wouldnt have worked out because both of them wouldnt be stupid enough to bring themselves into danger like that.
This episode just shows what this series can be capable of. To me, it is a masterpiece in TV, showing that a series can critisize today's life without having a political agenda but just showing the downsides of a system.

Keep up the good work!
Set Bookmark
Stefan T.
Mon, Oct 9, 2017, 2:26pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry

To put it in a nutshell - 1.5 stars. After giving the first two 3 stars if you dont know trek and 0 if you know trek, 2 for the second one because it was still amusing even though the story lacked a lot, I'd give this episode 1.5 stars.

Star Trek: Discovery has the major flaw of many successful series after a while: Because there is almost nothing, which hasn't been already there in some episodes, the writers start, to try to make it feel more...powerful. So instead of bringing something new, they try to either expand the old content or exaggerate everything until the point where it doesnt feel real anymore.

This results in stupid characters, a stupid storyline, and a lot of total illogical nonsense where you as the viewer asks yourself as to what you are actually watching there. For example: Why does the federation have an important mine with many civilians, but nothing close by to protect it? Not to forget that its all for almost half of the fleet.
Why does an officer, of whose name I had to read the commentary section, because I simply forgot her insignificant name, release a monster, then shoots at it, even though she knows, phasers wont work, and basically commits suicide through this?
Why did Saru become the first officer in the first place, when he is so morally conflicted about his superior? Who would even promote such a coward?
And who had the idea to let a monster be a super computer for a jump drive like that?

Honestly - I couldnt care less about most characters. It just feels ridiculous because it feels so unreal watching it. The plot up to now is absurd. What even happened in half a year of the war? Why this timeskip at all? Why three episodes trying to build up tension when there is in fact none?
I bet if Michael'd meed Chuck Norris in real life, Chuck Norris would lick her feet because she's so awesome - at least that's what the show seems to promote.

I still have no idea which direction this show is going to take or should take. I just know that the more I watch of it, the more I am seriously doubting it.
Set Bookmark
Stefan T.
Tue, Oct 3, 2017, 2:30am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Context Is for Kings

From the start until the end I felt more and more reminded of "Star Trek meets Doom" with captain Lorca being Dr. Betruger and the monster on the other ship being some kind of "pinky". The other characters? What other characters? The security chief prison warden talking of "we have to feed the animals as well"? The unsure red-headed engineer with no social skills? The scientist from the first two episodes now being first in command to someone like Lorca, not having anything to say about his methods at all?
Then we have some super-secret experiments, black alerts, black badges, excessive showing of violence never seen like that in Star Trek (even the most brutal episodes during DS9 didnt have that!), and in the end a pseudo-moral talk which "should" proof us that this is still Star Trek.
Sorry, I am not buying it. It feels ridiculous. Way over the top, too much around it to hide the fact that there is no substancial story at all.
I'd give it 2 out of 4 stars but only because it was indeed entertaining to some extent. If the next episode isnt really better than what we have seen up to now then I guess it will be the first time of me quitting a "Star Trek" series before the end of the first season.
Set Bookmark
Stefan T.
Mon, Oct 2, 2017, 1:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

@Hank
Yeah and the more I think about it, the more I am having massive doubts about the series.
I just read a German article a while ago, called "Star Trek wird erwachsen" (Star Trek becomes adult).
Then, I asked myself a few questions which I will post here:

Is it adult
- Saying to avoid contact with Aliens but walking through their hatchery?
- building wells with laser weapons?
- Running a circle in the desert which can impossible be seen through the storm, not to mention the clouds, until the ship comes through only to pick them up??
- That curiosity only leads to one woman almost being killed in action?
- having totally irrealistic ideas and description of a radiation disease? (Ok, its fiction, but still!)
- to attempt Mutiny only to shoot first?
- To Mine corpses for blowing up an enemy ship?...Not even Sisko would have dared to do that without questioning himself for hours. Morals, anywhere?
- To do a two-Women-Invasion of a Klingon mothership where NO ONE has seen Klingons for a hundred years?
- To give command after leaving on a suicide trial to the only shown person on the ship where it's most likely he will run away?

Yeah, the Star Trek of the 90s had something. It's called decency. Morals. Something which this series totally lacks if you start thinking about it more deeply.
Set Bookmark
Stefan T.
Sat, Sep 30, 2017, 3:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

@Paul M.
CSI spinoffs is the PERFECT example to what may happen to a Franchise sooner or later. In this case, the last spinoff "CSI: Cyber" got cancelled just after 2 seasons. Why? Because it was CSI in name only and maybe had the same place, but not what the show really made successful. And that is the combination of very powerful storytelling, deep character development, often very interesting procedural plot and personal involvement.
The plot was ridiculous and obvious, the spectators didn't buy it and it got often bad reviews.
We had something similar with Star Trek ENT.

@SlackerInc
I more think your interpretation of my post is ridiculous. I am asking for clear consequences which you as a spectator would draw from that plot. What would you think? It's ridiculous? It's this plot which leads to ideas like that. Even the producers admitted it. Just read the interview on Rolling Stone.
By the way, I do enjoy watching a deeply philosophical series about different ethical aspects or problems which happens to be in the same time a series like that was produced. BUT! Even if you see older episodes where it may be clear that there is some certain motivation from our history, there is one thing.
Star Trek was indeed a political subject, but it got never politicized like that.
Just watch, in comparison, "The Orville". This is Star Trek like it should be.
Set Bookmark
Stefan T.
Sat, Sep 30, 2017, 2:37am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

There are two viewpoints which you may have to consider when watching those two episodes:
If I am watching it without taking in account the cultural/political background in the US, and the earlier series, I'd just enjoy it. Mostly quite a good cast, gorgeous graphics/CGI and an intriguing story as well which happens to end in a cliffhanger with Michaels being sentenced to a life term in prison. Honestly - this was something which I didn't expect at all when I started watching the episode. Some things are overdramatic, some thing really bad, but overall a stable performance and 3 out of 4 stars feel perfectly fine for me.

The problem, well, is the other viewpoint.
Just to add something in advance before I start: Star Trek has always been more or less progressive, and it took in everyday situations and/or questions of their respective real time counterpart. Take, for example, the kiss of Kirk and Uhura in "Plato's Stepchildren", which happened to be the first interracial kiss in the US TV.
Gene Roddenberry's Vision of Star Trek has always been an utopian one. And utopian means, it is not real, but a positive perspective on a possible future.
So therefore, even that kiss didnt have an agenda but it was something which would provoke of course during that time when it aired. The problem is, however, that even a black actress in a main role like Nichelle Nichols would be provoking more than enough in the 60s.
Star Trek presents us possible outcomes of what will happen in the future and how conflicts may be solved. This philosophical background was always typical for the trekkian world.
But let me be clear: There never was any kind of agenda. And this changed a lot with those two episodes.

The cast was never that relevant. It always consisted of different people with different genders and different races. In fact, the race didnt matter in the Trekkian universe.

But what would it be, calling the main character "Michael", (Mary Sue with mental problems) even though she's a woman?
And lets go further: Remember the scene with the science officer Saru being hesitant to press the button? Michael did. Moral of the story? Only women can press a button which man can't do. Women are heroes. Men are whimps and have absolutely no courage at all. Then the Klingons. They used to be brown, now they are black (brown wouldnt be politically correct enough I guess), except for - guess who ?- the only white born klingon who is more playing like he wants to make klingons great again. If he'd have a blonde toupet you could even mistake him for Trump. Of course, he is seen as unworthy, until he shows his determination, which turned all klingons in the room to favour him - like a miracle. Of course, it's also just a simple coincidence that on the Shenzhun, there was also a small topic about "Race doesnt matter".
All klingons are evil and men. That's what the spectator would get after watching the episode. Looks more like Orcs in Space to me.

While the earlier Star Trek series had political aspects, but was not political itself due to the fact that it they also had a plot and it was more about philosophical questions, this series already stands out by far as stated above. It has a political agenda to promote a certain kind of ideology. And as some may realized, i explicitely didnt use the term "SJW". It simply doesnt matter, I'd say the same to every kind of ideology-promoting series.

And that's the core reason here: This isnt Star Trek at all. It is just some random-generic Sci-Fi-series which happens to have Star Trek in name. The name "discovery" is just a mockery to the earlier series which really had "discovery" in their plot. It starts with an open war. Even the darkest of all series, Deep Space nine, needed some seasons to get the dominion war started. This one starts right in the first two episodes. Klingons are reduced to religion/nationalism-driven terrorists against the "good side". Roddenberry would have turned in his grave if he'd have ever seen that.

Up to now, "The Orville" has all, what Star Trek: Discovery should really have become. And on top of my review, which happened to be longer than I wanted it to be, I didnt even talk about some of the massive logical mistakes which they did with the series at all.

All in all, I dont think I will become a friend of this series. Oh, and just for disclosure, I am German and therefore have no relationship to Trump or any inner-US-conflicts though I read a lot.
Set Bookmark
Stefan
Wed, Aug 2, 2017, 12:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Alice

Somehow this episode reminds me of the 1983 movie Christine.
Set Bookmark
Steffie
Fri, Mar 25, 2016, 10:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The Next Phase

Cause and effect and this, in my list of favorites back to back on the BBC marathon. I think we see a glimmer of the emotion that Data has even without the emotion chip. The friendship between Geordi and Data is one of the best things on STNG. But what do I know, I think Zion is just another matrix for people who escaped the first Matrix.
Set Bookmark
Steffie
Fri, Mar 25, 2016, 10:38pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Cause and Effect

Just watched the show on a BBC marathon and it is still one of my favorites. I won’t complain about the fact that it isn't exactly scientifically accurate because it is SCIENCE FICTION. To complain about a television show not being real enough is quite ludicrous. There is no such thing as a reality TV show. Once the cameras are there, the acting begins.

So many comments to debate

Bozeman crew – Why didn’t they know, if they were in the loop so long, who’s to say their side of the loop was as short as the Enterprise’s on that side of the loop. Time could have been different, after all it is SCIENCE FICTION, we do know there are pockets of space where time moves at a different rate. Or any number of “scientific explanations”. I do not remember hearing them saying the collision created the time loop, so why would they have to be in the loop for the same amount of time. When the Bozeman reached the end of the loop it just started over with or without the collision. Geordi said they collided and got caught in a time loop. They were already in the time loop when he made that comment. The fact that the Enterprise keeps going back to the card game leads me to believe that is where the time loop originated in that part of space. The Bozeman entrance into the time loop may have been 10000 more light years away. Also the Bozeman doesn’t have the same technology, or even Geordi’s visor or a brain like Data or even a comparable ship’s computer to help so it’s quite possible they would not have experience the same quick Deja vu feeling or a way to find an answer.

I agree with the comments of Picard’s bellowing “All hands on deck”, the urgency in his voice is phenomenal. I like the desperation in his voice even when he asks for suggestions.

Data responding to the “3” slowly, well it is a TV show; they are drawing out the ending. If we are to expect Data to react in Data speed, he would have reacted before he even suggested opening the bay doors because he would have been calculating possible solutions at all times and cancelled out his own idea before Ryker suggested his own idea and approached him to see the insignia on his collar. Then he would have to explain why he followed Ryker’s idea before Ryker had a chance to express it

The glass breaking, Beverly could have subconsciously been breaking the glass because she always felt something wrong and wanted to “wake up”

Of course Data could shuffle the cards and how they could be dealt in a specific order; he is a computer and can easily keep track of a minimal 52 card sequence.

Why was Beverly sensitive before the others, because she is Wesley’s mom and Wesley obviously had a special power and could sense things out of space and time, the traveler did want him from the beginning?

Why aren’t people always wearing the same thing nor have same hair? The ship was caught in a time loop; it didn’t say people could change their ideas of what to wear during these time loop. All events in time didn’t always repeat themselves or they would have never been able to escape. The brain did still form new memories and connections because of new but repeated moments. They could dress differently because they felt like they wore that outfit just recently

Of course Starfleet isn’t able to see all ships on a “radar”, they even said at the beginning an unexplored area of space. The enterprise may have been months away from the nearest outpost or shift

When you are writing fiction it is easy to create different and possible scenarios. I could go on and on because simply, I love to debate, but so much scientific nitpicking of a great episode. But if you watch Star Trek for the science then I would guess you also read the bible for some truth
Set Bookmark
Stefan
Fri, Aug 1, 2014, 7:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Timeless

Harry blamed himself for the crew getting killed. He became obsessed about getting the crew home. It never occurred to Harry to simply to keep the crew from crashing Voyager into that ice planet.

The only reason Harry's and Chakotay's mission was successful was because the Doctor told Harry to try to send a message to Seven that would save the crew, even though it would not get the crew home. At that time, Harry was having a nervous breakdown, his attempt to get the crew home having failed.

So basically, Harry tried for the whole hog (crew home), failed, then (on the Doctor's advice) sent a last second message to Seven to cause her to inadvertently shutdown the slipstream drive and thereby save the crew.
Set Bookmark
Stef
Thu, Jun 2, 2011, 3:45am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Time's Arrow, Part I

I'm a big fan of this episode, but I recognize it for what it is, a bit of fluff.

It sure ain't no "Mr Worf, fire!" But it is fun none the less. I quite like Twain/Clemmens, and from what little I know about him I believe that he would be something like that.

I found Jack London to be miscast... far too over eager.

I think the episode is worth it for Data's poor acting when he accidentally lifts the anvil with one hand in front of Jack. "Ow!"


Hmmm, now I know who Leonardo DiCaprio based "Jack" on in Titanic, it was Jack London from this episode. That would explain the bad acting and annoying character.
Set Bookmark
Stef
Wed, Jun 1, 2011, 10:40am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The Inner Light

@ Sean:
"Far Beyond the Stars," "Muse" or "Cogenitor."

I too hate those 'classic' episodes. I find Far Beyond the Stars offensively bad with their "White = bad, black = good" message, and the sexual discrimination at the beginning just plain ignored while trying to preach tolerance.

But "The Visitor" is a masterpiece, and Threshold is bad (not as bad as people make out). But Spock's Bloody Brain!?!?!? Seriously? McCoy connecting the 'nerve' that controls Spock's left arm etc?

Anyway, The Inner Light.

I loved this episode at the time, haven't seen it in years. I generally prefer the twisty/weird/time travel episodes and I am an action-whore, so this was a gentle change of pace for me.

My belief is that Picard's memories were a simulation, for the simple reason that the Kamin was Picard. Would Worf had settled in like that if he had been standing on that spot on bridge as the probe struck?

No, he would have lead the village in a revolt against the rulers of the planet and seized control. Actually, I'd have liked to have seen that episode.

There must be a fan fiction or one of those awful alternate universe stories about that surely?

Sure the simulation steered Picard down a path (Flute and launching the rockets), but Worf would never have been steered down the same path.



As an aside, there is one of the later books, with Picard fighting the Borg yet again, where he raises his past life to his new wife Beverley, and he finally grieves for his lost son, daughter and grandchild. Best part in an otherwise poor book.
Set Bookmark
Stef
Wed, Jun 1, 2011, 10:22am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The Next Phase

@Methane:
You've never seen DS9? Well, unfortunately you're going to have 2 and a half seasons of "meh" to sit through before it turns into one of the best shows on TV.

I love this episode. And the whole sinking through the floor thing was raised in an episode of Stargate SG1, where they are filming the Stargate rip-off TV show Wormhole X-Treme. The actress asks the writer why if they are out of phase do they not just fall through the floor.

No answer was forthcoming.
Set Bookmark
Stef
Wed, Jun 1, 2011, 9:52am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: I, Borg

This is one of those episodes that every Trek fan has to like, just like The Inner Light or Darmok (Or The Visitor from DS9). It's the LAW!!!!

Alas, this one just doesn't do it for me. (Visitor and Inner Light definitely do).

It is the forgone conclusion of the whole thing. You know Picard is going to turn around and not go through with the plan. Geordie develops an instant bro-mance with Hugh, and the actual scene where Hugh gets his name is stomach turning.

On top of that, I just didn't like the performance of the actor playing Hugh. It would have felt more at home in The Original Series. (in fact Hugh looked like one of the recurring red-shirts from TOS, as he has that same distinctive facial structure).

I bought this on VHS thinking it would be a great episode, and was disappointed. The Next Phase was on the same tap, which I found a lot more enjoyable (if lightweight).
Set Bookmark
Stef
Wed, Jun 1, 2011, 9:40am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Cost of Living

The only Luxwanna Troi I can stand is her first appearance in DS9. She was very good in that. Her writing was much better, and when she took off her wig to show her 'real' self, she showed she could act as more than one character.

This episode though? Bloody awful.
Set Bookmark
Stef
Wed, Jun 1, 2011, 9:36am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The First Duty

It is a little worrying watching Locarno as a likable character here, and then watching a few early episodes of Voyager where Paris was probably the best character.

They Voyager totally destroyed the Paris character turning him into a bad 1-line delivering chump.

I heard back in the day, that Voyager was supposed to be a less captain-oriented show, and Paris was supposed to have at least equal footing, if not the main character. They wanted to have him Kirk his way across the Delta Quadrant. But then that was shelved when Mulgrew came on board.

The first few Voyagers were quite Tom heavy I seem to remember.

Anyway, back to this episode.

I've been in Wesley's position at school (Nothing like the death of person, just a stupid gang-fight when we were 10, those happy days where everyone jumps in and no one really gets hurt).

There are times when you know that keeping quiet will win through, and other times, like this one, where owning up is the only answer. Plus of course there was the "permanent record" threat, and I was still young enough to take it seriously and wanted to join the airforce, so...
Set Bookmark
Stef
Wed, Jun 1, 2011, 9:26am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Cause and Effect

One of my favorite episodes.

A bunch of us at work watched 4 episodes back to back one night when this came out. The next day we all had Beverly Crusher's little song in our heads. Even thinking about that episodes brings up the sing she hums to herself as she goes to bed.

I also love the spooky camera work on the final run through as Beverly is too paranoid to go to bed normally.
Set Bookmark
Stef
Fri, Apr 15, 2011, 4:56am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Conundrum

I love this episode.

I hadn't seen an episode of Trek since Best of Both Worlds part 2 (Possibly it was Family, I am not sure).

Then a few years later I saw this episode, knowing it was season 5 and therefore stuff might have changed. So to me, McDuff was (at first) plausible. Hell, Tasha died and Worf took her job, so why not?

Alas, they screwed it up all too soon when the camera focused on McDuff's face when another character left the room. A clear 1980's/1990's sign that he was the bad guy. (A technique this isn't used as much these days, but still rears its ugly head from time to time).


But, yes, why didn't he just make himself captain?

The only reason I can guess is that he new the morality of the crew would force them to go against him as captain, whereas as the XO he can manipulate those around him with more ease.

Perhaps I am just digging too deeply, something I accuse other of when it comes to Trek.
Set Bookmark
Stef
Fri, Apr 15, 2011, 4:48am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Violations

Music is used in film/tv to force emotions upon you. I'm assuming that they had the Trek music guidelines to ensure that the story stood on its own merits.

Any interview I've ever seen or read with a scorer (if that is the correct term) always contains the line:

"If I'm doing my job correctly, the view shouldn't even notice the music."

I find that a bit glib and general, but it also kind of true. If the music stands out too much, then maybe the scene isn't working as it should and the music is making up for it.

That's just my rambling anyway.

I have fond memories of this episode in that it was suitably odd. While I agree it is somewhat a rape-allegory, I don't understand why people insist that it must contain some sort of message.

Why must every episode of every incarnation of Trek have a moral message? Why can't it just be about a guy who gets his kicks by dominating other people?
Next ►Page 1 of 4
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.