Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 437 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 18
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Wed, Oct 17, 2018, 1:31am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: General Discussion

Not looking forward to it all. I couldn’t even finish the first season. I hate the long con approach to serialized storytelling. Just showing enough to create unanswered questions, confusion and ambiguity. It’s sloppy. Plus the look is wrong for this era. The characters are bland. The cast is ho hum exceotbfir Doug Jones. The series relies too much on TOS. It’s got fantastic production values but horribly weak writing/writers

DOS was first Trek show I gave up on. Kurtzman has no clue how to write. It’s all sound and fury. No fundamentals of good writing. The only reason 90s Trek thrived was Michael Piller. A magnificent head writer who knew how to bring the best out of his writers there’s a reason TNG Seasons 3,4 and 5 & DS9 season two were so consistent and solid. Ira Behr did decent enough even though I thought season four was weak, season six uneven after occupation arc.

Gene Roddenberry also had enough sense to insist that TNG didn’t rely on TOS going so far as to explicitly state no TOS aliens or TOS characters or related characters. And Piller similarly realized after DS9 season one to stop bringing in TNG characters and do its own thing—likewise with his choice to take voyager to the delta Quadrant to force writers to create new races(although the writers after he left became lacy )
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Sun, Oct 14, 2018, 12:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Initiations

2 stars

a pretty boring episode. I liked the Kazon but not this particular story. The whole young warrior thing did nothing for me and the traipsing about from the Kazon ship to the moon had no urgency or excitement.
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Sun, Oct 14, 2018, 2:02am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: The Swarm

2 stars

I enjoyed the swarm plot but the doctor plot was filled with way to much technobabble, Zimmerman was annoying and this plot kept getting in the way
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Sun, Oct 14, 2018, 1:58am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: The Chute

2 stars. This was boring. I never did care for Paris and Kim. So you can guess how I feel about watching even more unsympathetic annoying versions of the two. Plus the tired prison plot only further sinks the episode
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Sat, Oct 13, 2018, 9:26am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Contagion

3 stars

TNG was the best at capturing the real sense of the wonder of space exploration. This episode is a good example of that with the ancient Iconian civilization and their unique technology. TNG was also really good at sci fi action adventure too

The episode was also effective with its unfolding mystery of what happened to the Yamato and supplied appropriate scenes such as the intriguing
wesley and Picard scene talking about ancient civilization appearing out of thin air on distant planets
And coping with of the loss of all the Yamato lives

The episode also had some pretty good tension with the Crew sitting on a ticking time bomb with the genuine feel the ship could have a fatal malfunction at any moment with all the lights going on and off, shields not wanting to activate, tirnolofts going crazy etc. a highlight was Geordi’s Race to the bridge to warn of the danger the probe presented if not destroyed
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Fri, Oct 12, 2018, 6:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Lineage

3 stars

A solid episode. Smart idea to develop an episode on B’Elanna issues that go all the way back to season one upon her hearing she’s pregnant.

Too bad more episodes like this weren’t done early on featuring her I may have ended up liking the character rather than being indifferent to her

This also actually felt like a TNG episode. It had that feel to it. That’s a compliment since so few VOY episodes felt like Trek to me. This one was quite emotionally involving. It’s also the only episode where Paris and Torres felt like a couple with actual chemistry.

I also enjoyed the crew’s reactions to learning of B’Elanna a pregnancy. The crew felt like a family which it so rarely did In the course of the series.
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Thu, Oct 11, 2018, 3:38am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Data's Day

3 stars

A slight episode. It’s decent. Doesn’t hold a lot of replay value.

I did enjoy seeing more areas of the ship like the salon and replimat

The joking around with Geordi was a nice scene
Data’s discussion about marriage and one day possibly getting married himself was a good one. The dancing scene was fair. The T’Pel plot was not very interesting until her “death” and the ensuing investigation. The cold feet before marriage is very well worn and didn’t do much for me.
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Thu, Oct 11, 2018, 12:13am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Author, Author

2 stars

Overrated. A poor man’s “Measure of a Man”

Tired of these lame alternate shows. This time with altered versions of the crew from the Doc’s holonovel. Yawn

And the doc who is annoying as is was extra annoying here.

Overall a real bore
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Thu, Oct 11, 2018, 12:09am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Q2

1 Star

I’m not a big Q fan. I’m not a VOY Q fan for sure I hate comedies on Trek. And I really hate low brow comedies on Trek. This was awful. Dumb. Juvenile. Pointless

This is what happens when you let writers for Xena come write for Trek
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Wed, Oct 10, 2018, 11:43am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Human Error

2 stars

Really the writers could have tackled Seven’s situation in several different ways

They could have had her be able to remove all her implants, start wearing a uniform, get quarters etc in the real world. A definite radical bold change worthy of the end of a series

They could have had her want to remove her implants, stop regenerating, consider having a child one day etc only to learn that’s not possible due to her assimilation at an early age has left her physiology dependent on her cybernetic systems, her unable to even have children and her cortical node preventing her from experiencing strong emotions. A more tragic arc for her. And so sadly she turns to the holodeck to live a life that might have been.....

They could have had her toy with removing her implants etc and being a more human Seven only to realize that that’s ultimately not who she is. And realizes she’s Seven of Nine—Rigid, emotionally aloof, socially awkward etc etc. that for good or bad that’s who she ultimately is and embraces that.

Any of those in my opinion are valid and legitimate. So the fact the writers kinda went with the more tragic option doesn’t bother me

I can actually buy the idea that the Borg Would want a drone regaining their emotions would be deactivated given it means their suppressed individuality is returning and would see it as a malfunction

What I didn’t much care for was the pointless subplot with testing range. I also didn’t buy Seven choosing Chakotay. First Beltran weak actor. Chakotay woefully written over the years preferred the writers not use the character. And finally no chemistry. So the chakotay\Seven pairing completely ruined the worthwhile idea of seven exploring romance. I can’t believe the real reason that pairing occurred was Beltran daring Braga to pair the two ?!?!?!?!?!!!

So overall the episode good idea poorly executed witha worthless jeopardy plot

As far as I’m concerned everything afterWorkforce was awful
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Tue, Oct 9, 2018, 11:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Workforce

3 stars for the two parter. It was solidly entertaining

I actually thought Janeway and Jaffen had genuine chemistry. More than she and Chakotay ever had and even though Janeway and Jaffen has an insta-romance is resonated more with me more than 4 years of writers forcing Paris and Torres together which I never bought or cared about

I did find the rationale for Jaffen not coming with her pretty weak. He didn’t have to be a part of the crew to get around the whole fraternizing issue.
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Mon, Oct 8, 2018, 9:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Prophecy

2 stars

This has no center to the story idea which had potential just a bunch of prophecies and interpretations saddled with a dumb dumb dumb dumb Neelix screwing a Klingon. Yawn
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Mon, Oct 8, 2018, 10:58am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Repression

2 stars

What started out with an intriguing mystery surrounding the Maquis & involving a mysterious Bajoran with lots of spooky tense atmosphere ends up with a lame payoff wherein Tuvok has his mind messed with for the millionth time and the Maquis are brainwashed into taking over the ship for a nanosecond for the reason(a reason I don’t buy)of the Bajoran wanting the Maquis alive *somewhere* even if they are 35000 light years away from the DMZ and thanks to the Dominion the Whole purpose for Maquis to begin with no longer exists
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Sat, Oct 6, 2018, 2:03am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Allegiance

2 stars

I was into the episode for the most part up until the lame reveal as to the aliens behind the abduction and the purpose of the experiment. That just soured the whole thing

I liked the characters featured in the experiment but the shipboard stuff was kinda dull
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Fri, Oct 5, 2018, 9:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Meld

2 stars

Very boring

I didn’t care for the Paris gambling subplot on its own it was filler. Only worthwhile tho g came from it playing into the Paris mini arc.

The tuvok and suder story was equally dull. I thought in for an intriguing murder mystery. Nope. That was quickly dispensed with as Suder revealed he did it ten minutes in. The rest was about tuvok’s effects of his meld with suder. The histrionics and temper tantrum as I call it involving tuvok did absolutely nothing for me

Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Fri, Oct 5, 2018, 7:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Unimatrix Zero, Part II

Magnus* not Mathis
Resistance * acresisyance
Uninvolving* not univomving
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Fri, Oct 5, 2018, 7:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Unimatrix Zero, Part II

2.5 stars

A mixed bag. I had high hopes for this storyline and the writers just wasted it

I was willing to overlook the contrivances of the story with Queen acting like she felt the trio in the hive mind then in this episode realizing a while later couldn’t hear tuvok.

But we learned nothing about the origin of Unimatrix zero. Too much time was spent in chronicling the efforts to download the nanovirus rather than on liberating the drones and ships to get civil war underway

In hindsight I think they should have held off on this story til towards the end of the series final season. It could have made for an epic sendoff where an assimilated Janeway sacrifices herself to help the uz drones and getting a liberated cube to take voyager home to the alpha Quadrant. You could have enlisted Starfleet, Barclay, species 8472 and others wronged by the Borg in helping bring down the collective once and for all.

I also would have gone with mike sussman’s Original pitch of Unimatrix zero being the creation of Mathis as a cyber underground staging area for acresisyance and him reaching out to Seven rather than choosing. An univomving one off romance with no emotion for Seven.

This was also a perfect chance for the writers to finally explain the Borg Queen and her origins. Clearly by now the writers saw her as an individual—the leader—of the drones. Did she create the collective? Is she a clone? Was she groomed to be the queen ? Seven and she were both assimilated as children—blank slates as it were—more easily indoctrinated in Borg beliefs so is that how queens are chosen ?

I didn’t like the way the episode ended. Voyager instigated this and instead of being in the fray seems to just wash their hands of it and carry on with exploring.

But even with all those annoyances and issues I can’t help but enjoy parts of this episode anyway—mainly the early parts

As for how the nanovirus was easily downloaded in the central plexus—I’d think give. That it is a borg program designed by uz drones that any virus detectors would have allowed it to be distributed. I’m
Sure non Borg programs would be caught and filtered out
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Thu, Oct 4, 2018, 4:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Cold Station 12

3.5 stars

Whereas the other two installments in the Augment trilogy felt like not enough material to justify an hour and the writers seemingly struggling to figure out what to do,i this outing was solid with a sense of purpose and point to its existence with every scene feeling worthwhile. In short the writer had a story to tell

It has a little bit of everything from
An exciting battle in the asteroid field, clever use of Dr Lucas from Dear Doctor, the neat idea of cold station itself, Smike, the ever growing disdain Malik was developing towards Soong, action, the tense moments with the scientist and later Phlox in the pathogen tube then Malik releasing every pathogen on the station before leaving, the clever strategy of using the Denobulan medical ship to gain access to the station
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Thu, Oct 4, 2018, 4:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Borderland

3 stars

Yes it’s nothing more than an action laden gratuitous TOS fare detour but it Sure was fun seeing Orions
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Mon, Oct 1, 2018, 11:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Unification

3 stars for both parts

I thought it was an interesting and thoroughly entertaining two parter.

Sarek and Mark Lenard got a perfect send off

Forayed into TOS story territory with revisiting of Vulcan/Romulan history.

Got to see an honest to goodness starship junkyard

The Zakdorn were perfectly used as administrator of said junkyard

Cool moment when ent goes dark and takes up position as a junked ship

Nice scene between Data and Spock

The Klingon captain was perfectly done in his reactions and his putting it to Data and Picard— the sparse accommodations or telling Data as a Romulan that he looked sweet lol

Enjoyed the adventure component of Picard and Sata aboard a cloaked Klingon ship sneaking into enemy territory

Nice seeing Romulus

Episode did good job creating oppressive society
I enjoyed seeing Sela again. And her being more than a one time character

Totally caught off guard when the holographic Spock warned of Ships as part of an invasion force

Liked the allusion to Kirk in teaser

And it had that intangible trekky vibe throughout both parts.
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Sat, Sep 29, 2018, 10:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Face of the Enemy

3 stars

It’s a fairly entertaining episode. Nothing groundbreaking or riveting though. Just an efficient little episode that holds attention for the hour and follows up on the Spock storyline.

TNG was better at the exploring sci fi and human tales aspect of Trek whereas DS9 was phenomenal at the political intrigue and war stuff. So after watching DS9 it’s hard to not feel this falls a little flat in comparison.

And this at moments felt mechanical. Things got some juice once the freighter was destroyed and the plan went off track. I also enjoyed Troi having a central role

Overall decent just not great
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Sat, Sep 29, 2018, 8:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Sleeping Dogs

2 stars. Started out with some potential but then got pretty thin and tiresome. No real mystery or entertaining plot
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Sat, Sep 29, 2018, 7:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Fight or Flight

3 stars. Pretty solid and entertaining outing

The episode did cover a lot of ground from the weapons test to Hoshi ‘s discomfort to exploring a derelict to confronting a hostile alien to making friends. And I enjoyed all of it

The episode was very good at conveying the sense of isolation and going stretches not encountering anything in space. And the scenes aboard the alien vessel were nicely creepy all dark no atmosphere, dead bodies strung up being drained by pumps.

I was disappointed that the reason for draining the aliens wasn’t more inventive. I also would have liked to have known identity of the attackers.

I could understand Archer feelings of guilt but T’Pol was also right about the concern for the aliens returning and enterprise not being able to defend themselves from a superior force.
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Sat, Sep 22, 2018, 12:32am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: A Matter of Time

2 stars

A very weak episode. A definite lowlight of season 5

Matt Frewer was annoying
The planet-in-jeopardy plot was tired
The episode was too talky
The mystery of Rasmussen was uninspired and not very interesting
The pacing just dragged

Meh
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Fri, Sep 21, 2018, 3:32am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Outcast

3 stars

I thought this was a pretty good episode

I thought the jnaii were an interesting species and the discussions interesting and worthwhile Soren’s speech at her trial was particularly good. I even thought the sad way things turned out was strong.

About the only thing I’d change is to have cast a man as Soren
Next ►Page 1 of 18
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.