Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 569 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 23
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Mon, Jul 27, 2020, 9:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Unimatrix Zero, Part II

Just to counter some nitpicks Jammer has

The virus they released was a Borg computer program as evidenced by the graphics in sickbay in part I. So I do t have an issue that a borg program could be released undetected or unchallenged I also assume for Torres to be able to have it on Her person it just have been stored in some Borg tech implanted in her before going on the mission

As far as Tuvok. Yes you’d think he would be last person to succumb to the collective give. His mental discipline but you also have to remember Vulcans are telepaths so I’m sure that made him
More susceptible to the collective
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Sat, Jul 18, 2020, 9:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

Revolution, Andromeda and helix weren’t good either

I know some people love The Orville but for all the talk of it being an love letter to TNG-which is my favorite Trek series and may be my favorite show period-I find it to be an insult to TNG. To riff on a famous quote—I know TNG and the Orville is no TNG. The writing is bad. The humor is low brow and cringeworthy
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Sat, Jul 18, 2020, 9:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

I watched the first season of The Expanse and wasn’t much feeling it

Honestly I’ve not been impressed by most sff since this for last 20 years

Most of it follows the mystery box format which I can’t stand and just fails miserably at holding my attention—Vanished,Daybreak, Surface, Twelve Monkeys, Invasion, The 4400, Under the Dome, The Event, Fringe, Flash Forward, manifest, V 2.0, westworld , Star Trek discovery, Star Trek picard

The rest wasn’t very good either-star gate Atlantis, painkiller jane, the lost room miniseries , flashGordon reboot, Caprica, humans, the x files reboot, ascension miniseries

About the only ones I’d recommend as far as sff would be Jericho, sarah Connor chronicles, supernatural seasons 1-5 only, NuBSG’s first season and portions of season two, Enterprise season 1(really underrated) the xindi arc and season four. And Lost even though the mystery box format needs to go away permanently at least here it was fresh and seasons 1 and 3-5 were pretty entertaining
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Sat, Jul 18, 2020, 11:57am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

I thought Orville was awful. Dumb corny. Frankly I’m
Pretty unimpressed with contemporary sci fi. It’s just dumb or recycled or unnecessarily convoluted.

I’ve been rewatching 90s Trek, the X-Files, the better seasons of nuBSG and those were good sci fi series. Consistent. Well written. Nice balance of character and plot. You could tell those writers had actually lived and infused in their writing human truths and relateable nuggets. Even more interesting was they had tighter deadlines, much smaller budgets and had to come up with 26 episodes a season and did better than kurtzman or other writers nowadays with half that many episodes and twice or three times the budgets
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Fri, May 22, 2020, 12:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

I agree Trek should get back to basics. A starship having weekly standalone adventures. Jeopardy. Sci fi plot

I’m so tired of these season long mystery box arcs. It’s lazy writing.

Next fire Kurtzman and all the current hacks on the writing staff ie everyone

Make new writers watch TOS and TNG and remember why those episodes were fun, interesting, involving and entertaining. Teach them about a beginning middle and end

Let them know it’s okay to let a scene breathe
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Sun, Apr 26, 2020, 8:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: I, Borg

Star Trek Picard didn’t do anything interesting with element from this episode or Descent. They could have but mainly just used Hugh as a familiar face and nothing more than a gratuitous prop. He was totally wasted on PIC. I’m going to pretend PIC never happened in my personal canon
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Tue, Apr 14, 2020, 12:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

I’ve rewatched over last 30 years all of TNG Ds9 voyager episodes at least 30 times. I never tire of them. Even the ones I’m not crazy about carry a certain nostalgia. I’ve rewatched all of ToS and ENT in last 20 years at least a dozen times. I never tire of tos first two seasons or ent’s first season, the xindi arc episodes or season four

I quit DIS in first season and never looked back. First time ever happened with a trek series.

With PIC it was nice getting some new material in the 24th century after two decades without. But truth is while I watched the first season with the exception of the pilot and nepenthe I doubt I’ll ever revisit it. The dangers of writers going all in on a big epic narrative is that if it doesn’t ultimately go anywhere interesting and doesn’t have a satisfying payoff then I don’t care to rewatch it. And PIC let every thread it launched fizzle by the end. I found Absolute Candor, Stardust City Rag, The Inpossible Box, Broken Pieces minus the bits of mythology and exposition provided and the finale to be outright 2 star loser episodes I have no interest in revisiting.
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Sun, Apr 12, 2020, 10:37am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

I don’t think going back to episodic format is going to help either DIS or PIC because the fundamentals are what is the problem—the writers and writing

They’ve attended the school of “ADHD and everything including the sink” way of writing. They don’t worry about focusing on a few ideas and developing well. They just jump from one to the next abruptly

They don’t think out a beginning , middle and end.

The only thing having to write standalones will do is force them to come up with an immediate payoff rather than letting it linger til the eleventh hour

I myself would prefer standalones again. They’re more rewatchable than arcs and it allows variety and something new to look forward to each week

And if you look at this season the writers didn’t have ten hours of arc material
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Wed, Apr 8, 2020, 6:07am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Oh and just remembered some more crappy shows—invasion, the 4400, dollhouse

Jericho and terminator the sarah Connor chronicles weren’t too bad
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Wed, Apr 8, 2020, 6:03am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

V 2.0 is another one to avoid.

A few months ago I tried B5 I thought it was garbage. Yes it has a well thought out mythology but the mythology itself is really corny. Bad VFX. Uninteresting characters
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Wed, Apr 8, 2020, 6:00am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Mike

Then you should Also avoid Alcatraz, Wayward Pines, the leftovers and twin peaks 2.0, life on mars, Star Trek
discovery. True blood was a pretty crappy show too.

A lot of these have in common Abrams or Lindelof or Kurtzman all students of the Mystery box and/or artsy pretentiousness—the Leftovers was really bad about this

Supernatural was a pretty decent scary show in the beginning for the first few seasons with self contained overarching season long arcs with standalone format until it veered into meta overkill and camp
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Wed, Apr 8, 2020, 3:24am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

For all the hype I hear about great sff in last two decades i found most of it convoluted garbage

I’d much rather watch TOS/TNG/DS9 and evenVoyager and ENT, X-Files than a lot of what I’ve heard people talking about

About the only things I would rewatch are Lost S1/4/5, Heroes season one, BSG s1 and some stretches of season three and four

Most of what came out were uninspired convoluted Mystery box shows—vanished, surface, , helix, 12 monkeys, the event, manifest, daybreak, flash forward, fringe, sleepy hollow, the expanse, caprica, blindspot,

I thought dr who was awful Star Gate Atlantis was awful.
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Wed, Apr 1, 2020, 10:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Golem not hole
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Wed, Apr 1, 2020, 10:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Even of Brent Spiner had no desire to play Data again they could have still had him be placed in the hole and look just like BrentSpiner sans Data makeup. He could have stayed behind on Coppelius to help his children learn from him all the insights he had about the human race from the years he was in Starfleet and aboard the Enterprise—similar to Odo rejoining the Great Link to help changelings stop fearing solids.

I doubt the writers will ever revisit Coppelius and even if they did Brent could play Data as a human with no need to worry about how he looks

The La Sirena could have flown off into the great depths of space. With Soji part of the crew the android representative sent by Coppelius the android characters is checked off the box

And I still think it was a bad idea to have Pocards Irumodic Syndrome play out in one season. It screams to be one of those series spanning threads. I mean rumors are Patrick Stewart wants to do around three seasons. So gradually over the life of the series we could have witnessed the symptoms start and progress towards a steady decline near the end of the series. And each season in the background could be Picard getting out living checking off things on his Bucket List as far as adventures, planets to visit, old friends likeGeordi or Guinan he wants to see one last time

But no the writers rushed it
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Tue, Mar 31, 2020, 11:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

There’s no excuse with the budget they have, the salaries they receive, the prep time they get that they can’t come up with better writing. If the season arc is just a MacGuffin then jettison it and do episodic shows

If the arc has too many elements to do justice to them trim it down and focus only a few and do them justice

I don’t buy this notion it’s alright to have the audience invest in these mysteries or plot threads only to at the 11th hour do and about-face and say it really wasn’t about those things it was always just about this one scene.
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Tue, Mar 31, 2020, 11:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

I agree with a lot of things Jammer says in his review. The Picard/Data scene is four stars. But I’m not willing to cut the show and writers the kind of slack he is for the poor pacing and uninspired writing in the rest of the hour or the rest of the season.

The Picard/Data scene is just a few minutes long. Kudos for the writers being able to be good writers long enough to script that but the idea that as long as they give us one good scene that it’s okay to meander and provide half-realized ideas and falter on payoffs by giving us one good scene then I strongly strongly disagree.

Good writers should be able to do it all and give us the Picard/Data scene. I’m never going to budge on expecting more from the show
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Mon, Mar 30, 2020, 5:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

And for all the talk about shorter seasons making better television and serialization is better storytelling shows like DIS, PIC and non Trek examples—Manifest, Helix, V 2.0, The Event, Life on Mars, the 4400,Daybreak to name a few show that to be demonstrably to be hogwash I’m sure there are others I’m glossing over that can be added to that list

So for all the talk of more time to write and less grueling production schedules I find that 26 episode seasons and episodic shows under a fast paced schedule worked better and that speaks more to the taker of the writers and show runners back then like Michael Piller

As far as these MysteryBox seasons go the best ones imo were
Heroes S1 which was pretty much a near perfect example of this storytelling format and I might add did so doing 24 episodes
Lost S4/5 again excellent examples of how to do well Mystery Box seasons if you’re absolutely determined to do them

And while the third season of ENT itself was too drawn out and the arc itself could have been told in probably 12 episodes rather than drawing it out to24, id argue the xindi arc was much more interesting, entertaining and compelling as well as creating a much better mythology surrounding the Xindi and sphere builders than the one on PIC with theBorg, Romulans, synthetic alliance. It also resolved its mysteries and threads with pretty strong payoffs and resolutions
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Mon, Mar 30, 2020, 4:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

I think the first season of TNG is too easily dismissed

It did a great job of feeling like a successor to TOS in terms of the ship design, uniforms, tech like holodeck, having a klingon serving etc.

It gave insight into the geopolitical state 24th century and what advances had been made. It felt very futuristic with ideas like cured common cold and cancer

It utilized familiar TOS aliens like Klingons and Romulans while creating new interesting aliens of its own with the Bynars, Harada, Conspiracy aliens, Q, Ferengi

It had a wonderful sense of awe and imagination really embracing cool sci fi ideas and fun action adventure

I realize I’m in the minority but I thought there were a lot of good entertaining episodes to be found like Naked Now, Code of Honor, The Last Outpost, 1100101, the Battle, Lonely Among Us, Datalore, Arsenal of Freedom, Conspiracy, Neutral Zone, When the Bough Breaks to name a few. Even the weaker offerings weren’t awful like Angel One, HomeSoil. True TNG didn’t strive to do some epic season long arc. It just set out to tell fun entertaining hour long standalones but bottom line I found them more entertaining

I also thought ENT for all the missteps it would have its first season was pretty solid. I thought pretty much its first 11 episodes were decent along with Dear Doctor and shuttlepod one if not good to great doing a good job conveying a more realistic touch to space exploration

It did wobble in the middle but picked up towards the end with episodes like Detained and Fallen Hero

DS9 relies too much on TNG in season one. The standalones are hit or miss but mostly miss with crap like The Storyteller, Move Along Home,Q-Less, battle lines, if wishes were horses, the forsaken, dramatis personae

There were some good TNG like episodes— Past Prologue, Babel, Dax, , The Passenger, in the hands of the prophets

Then a mediocre stuff like Vortex, The Nagus. That werent bad but just not very engrossing

VOY has the best pilot but then as a series it was pretty much downhill from there. Season ine was definitely a mix bag. The good was most definitely Kate Mulgrew and Janeway. There were some decent outings like Time and Again, Cathexis, Faces, Phage, State of Flux. I enjoyed Seska and the kazon

But there were a lot of underwhelming episodes—Jetrel, learning curve, parallax, ex post facto, the Beowulf Holodeck episode,

The problem with PIC is it had a good start with the first three episodes and introducing plot elements but once they left Earth they left behind the most interesting characters and started dragging things out and when they finally started to get somewhere the payoffs were pretty much bad from theBorg cube Mystery to the alliance of synthetics to the zhat vash resolution. The La Sirena crew did Nothing for me

The sad thing is the shoe has interesting ideas but these writers didn’t know what to do with them in an interesting way

DIS was so bad I couldn’t finish the first season and haven’t watched it since with no regrets only trek series that ever happened with
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Mon, Mar 30, 2020, 4:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

First season rankings best to worst

TNG
ENT
TOS
VOY/DS9
PIC


DIS
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Sun, Mar 29, 2020, 3:09am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

These writers come from the Abrams/Kurtzman/lindelof school of tv writing. They get hung up structure and playing games with the audience that they can’t sit still and craft a well thought out story be it an episode long or a season long one

I don’t care if they do a serialized show or episodic. Just be fresh and entertaining. The writers seem to think viewers require everything including the kitchen sink thrown in and constantly jumping from one plot point to the next to be happy. Maybe that’s true for some audiences maybe that’s true of the majority. I don’t have a pulse on tv viewers these days

if the writers would just work with fewer concepts and ideas and develop them rather than cramming things in and giving them shirt shrift that would help and they could focus on giving better payoffs

And they can still do a serialized season arc but be more Hill Street Blues and less Lost in that approach.
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Thu, Mar 26, 2020, 7:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Throwing ideas out there.

Might have been more interesting to have an arc about Romulans displaced by supernova plotting to return and reclaim their ancestral homeland of Vulcan

Might have been more interesting if doing an arc about banning synthetics and synthetic rights might start season out with revelation in the time of PICARD all artificial life banned and androids, holograms like The Doctor and former Borg have banded together to fight the injustice

Might have been more interesting if a group
Of Romulan refugees stumbled upon the disabled cube and used it as a place to live and in the process of being there created a religion or cult seeing something in the Borg that would provide a path forward and rebirth of their devastated society from the supernova
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Thu, Mar 26, 2020, 1:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

“stardust city rag” could have in hindsight been more of a relevant show to the season if they had tied icheb’s death to the fact that Byjazel was procuring Borg parts for Maddox’s efforts to circumvent the the thousand years Agnes said it would take to be able to create an organic synth. All the pieces were there had writers chose to use them.

Maddox mentioned not being able to repay Byjazel, I thought he was referring to her procuring Borg parts for his research and byjazel should have been killed by Seven when she found this out
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Thu, Mar 26, 2020, 12:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

A couple more things about the season that bothered me :

The season was structured that each episode started with flashback in teaser. In “impossible Box” a Borg heavy episode where Picard arrived to Artifact I think it would have been better for flashback to have been to the encounter between Ramda’s ship the Shaenor and the cube. That way rather than spending the whole season with Borg being static threats we would at least get to see Borg full on in collective assimilation mode and would have been cool seeing the collapse as Romulans have been assimilated starting to spread and drones and cube going haywire before being disabled and severed from the collective

And for all the talk by make up artists working on Trek now about working on Borg we didn’t get one full on updated drone just people after their implants and tech removed
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Thu, Mar 26, 2020, 12:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Another thing I didn’t much care for Was the fact the writers didn’t mine Picard’s irumodic syndrome arc of his decline over couple seasons which I thought they were doing. There was no reason it had to be resolved by the end of this season It could have hung over the series always in the background informing things
Oh and I’d give the finale 2 stars. It’s watchable and there are times when suspenseful and entertaining but overall it wasn’t as satisfying as could have been. Which also applies to the season itself which I’d give a C

The writers didn’t have enough material to sustain the ten episodes and the times the writers attempted to tell standalone type stories they were bad like “ Absolure Candor” and “Stardust City Rag”.

The writers could have condensed the season by keeping the first three episodes getting to free cloud and Maddox in episode four and focusing that hour to Maddox, agnes Picard catching up etc. since the Borg thread was extraneous and went over well trodden ground(we have seen liberated Borg before with Hugh, four seasons of Seven on VOYAGER, Unity Borg, descent Borg and STP didn’t do anything interesting with them here) the next episode could have been set on some sort of Romulan facility instead of a cube where Soji was located so picard could rescue her, keep Nepenthe then Jump to the season finale two parter. Something like that rather than lot of pointless romantic trysts, long drawn out scenes involving holograms etc
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Thu, Mar 26, 2020, 11:42am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Daniel.

I agree with what you are saying and I thought the goodbye scene between Data and picard was the best part of and most poignant thing in the finale. I just think if they wanted that message then not even a part of data consciousness should have been a possibility and that Data was completely gone in nemesis and Picard would just have to live with unresolved feelings of regret like we all do who lose someone. As humans we don’t get the chance to resolve these things the way the writers let Picard do. But yes the way the scene was filmed wirh blue skies playing in a drab grey setting and Seeing Data gradually decompose before our eyes was impactful and well done

That’s why I felt if they want that don’t open door to possibility for resurrection by saying part of Data exists up until last night cause then the obvious question is if you resurrect Picard why not resurrect Data, give him a. Ticking clock like they did Picard
Next ►Page 1 of 23
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.