Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all searched results

Total Found: 472 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 19
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Wed, Dec 12, 2018, 1:19am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Innocence

2.5 stars

Not great but decent in spots especially the plot involving tuvok and the kids. The drayans were okay as aliens nothing outstanding or fresh but fair enough that I didn’t mind them. More interesting was the scenes with tuvok and the mysteey of what was going on with the kids. I don’t care how biologically realistic it may be i liked the idea of a species aging in reverse

I also thought tuvok had a good showing and the interactions were Vulcan but sweet too
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Wed, Dec 12, 2018, 1:12am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Lifesigns

2 stars

I wasn’t very interested in the doctor finding romance. Denara was a nice character but everything else left me cold. The 57 Chevy scene was too cute for me

Far more interesting was the Jonas and seska plot
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Wed, Dec 12, 2018, 1:07am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: The Arsenal of Freedom

2.5 stars

First half slow and boring. The second half the episode picked up and my was re-engaged with Geordi in command, the saucer separation and the discovery of the computer. I also liked the little humanizing tidbit about Crusher and herbs

I did think the drone weapons were pretty cool
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Tue, Dec 11, 2018, 12:08am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Coming of Age

3 stars. Another solid episode

I enjoyed both stories. The Wes one did a remarkably good job of being actually interesting and rekeateabke rather than coming across as fluff or filler. I enjoyed the group of students. I thought they were well cast and had good sense of camaraderie. It was fun seeing that even in the 24th century kids still are subjected to grueling testing measuring their aptitude’s. The introduction of the Benzite race was cool. Really interesting design

I enjoyed the twist on wes’ psyche test and his scene with Worf in the holodeck. The instructor proctoring the test was also nicely done. Wes also had a nice scene with Picard over failing and Picard sharing his story of failing the exam his first time too. In fact, Picard has another nice scene where he ran in with the young man who stole the shuttle. Instead of ignoring him or berating him he offered him his time, kindness and words of advice. Nicely done

The other story also was intriguing. The questioning of the crew. Wondering what was going on. Ultimately revealing something bigger at play with Quinn’s ominous warnings of strange going-ins at Starfleet settongup for the conspiracy episode later in the season. Remmick was the. Perfectly unlikeable investigator. Worf’s quip about not realizing liking remmick was a requirement lol then remmick ultimately from his interactions realizing he wanted to serve on the enterorise one day. Quinn was also perfectly cast as well.

The visual of the starbase was nicely done and Picard guiding the young man on the shuttle was tense and exciting
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Sun, Dec 9, 2018, 11:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Captain's Holiday

2.5 stars

I don’t think this episode is bad. It’s pretty entertaining—a rather cool pleasure planet, riker trickier g Picard into carrying around the horgon and oicard’s rewction lol, vash is a fun character here, a sci fi mysteey, the vorgons are cool looking aliens, some double crossing, some adventure, some intrigue.

The only weak parts for me was the vash picard “romance” which was thankfully briefly focused on in episode. The other weakness was the payoff with the uthat. I think something a little more creative and imaginative was in order than simply destroying the uthat
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Sat, Dec 8, 2018, 6:46am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Hunted

3 stars. Held my attention

Interesting story with aliens being considered for federation membership, interesting character of the week and some exciting unpredictable action with his various escape manuevers.

Picard also handled the situation well by sticking to the alien government and beaming away
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Fri, Dec 7, 2018, 8:52am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Price

3 stars. A pretty entertaining hour

I enjoyed that we saw some trade negotiations. Neat group of aliens. Liked the wormhole story and the risk of getting trapped

The troi romance was pretty involving. Although they probably could have removed the fact heveas empathic and was just kind of a sleazy negotiator employing underhanded tricks.

I also enjoy the Beverly and troi girl talk.

Debut of latinum and hearing gamma and delta quadrants which would go on to play big roles in the next two series
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Wed, Dec 5, 2018, 10:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: Hard Time

2.5 stars

I wasn’t really impressed with this episide. It pretty much takes the shape of any story about a prisoner readjusting to life. I found that pretty dull

It picked up some interest about 3/4 way into the episode even though it was painfully obvious that his imaginary cell mate that kept appearing had been killed by O’Brien.

I also thought instead of being shocking and dramatic —O’Brien rotingwith idea of killing himself felt like an instance of the writers trying too hard

The idea of the episode was original ie compressing a prison sentence of years into mere hours because of wiring it to the brain

But this was no powerful episode the way “the visitor” was
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Wed, Dec 5, 2018, 7:30am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Evolution

3 stars
Liked every scene.
Loved the Borg namedropping hinting of their arrival to come

I liked the Beverly/Wes in the science lab where he’s stressed and snaps and she is patient offering him her help

I enjoyed the Guinan/Wes scene where he’s setting traps for nanites and she quips about running a clean establishment then offering her ear Liked her quip about Frankenstein
The visuals were nice especially the shots of the enterprise Pulled towards stream
Liked data speaking for nanites
Felt for Stubbs all his life for this and could be for nothing
Stubbs attacking nanites was shocking
Nice final scene forbeceekfor Bev and Guinan
Beverly happy Wes dartingbut then wants to know about his girlfriend
Beverly’s scene with Picard inquiring aboutbwes was also very good
Liked Picard Beverly scene
New uniforms
No mention of where Pulaski went
Beverly back prefer Beverly
Beverly right 17 is about fun and experimenting
Jeopardy good toxic gas ship malfunctioning
Nanite cool
Interesting sci fi idea newto me
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Mon, Dec 3, 2018, 9:26pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: Whispers

4 stars

A very nice tng style high concept sci fi mystery/reality bender. The episode had a lot of tension and eerie going-ins with O’Brien returning to the station and everyone acting strangely. Lies pile up. Jake seems okay but then his dad keeps him away. Sisko and Keiko having a heated argument from afar. Security measures occurring without his involvement. An abrupt physical ordered. O’Brien worrying his dinner is drugged. Secured logs he can’t access. Mysterious coded messages from the paradans

It’s as if everyone on the station is out to get him. So there’s the exciting escape where O’Brien turns on every force field, crawls through the tubes of the station before finally making his way off in the runabout. Then things get worse when now it seems the conspiracy extends beyond the station when the admiral O’Brien reaches out to acts like she is against him

Where to go? For answers ? The paradans. What will he discover.

The twist that he’s a clone of O’Brien is interesting I suppose. The revelation does nicely makes everything make sense. We are used to seeing this story usually from the crew’s perspective. Here we get a fresh spin on it with the audience seeing an alien takeover or possession type story from the possessed or replacement’s perspective.
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Mon, Dec 3, 2018, 5:30am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Where No One Has Gone Before

3 stars

Unfolding
This had a Wonderful Sense of awe and wonder the places they traveled to fired the imagination
Fun idea of thoughts becoming reality

Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Sun, Dec 2, 2018, 3:22am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: Rejoined

This episode depended on The chemistry between the two and terri Farrell’s acting and neither were yo to par for me to care about the romance or “love” story

The scientific mission was also rather dull

2 stars. I much preferred TNG’s the Host to this
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Sat, Dec 1, 2018, 10:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: The Way of the Warrior

3.5 stars

I liked the epic scope of this two hour premiere. The number of characters involved(the main cast, Dukat, kasidy, Gowron, Garak, martok who knew how important a character he would become), lots of goings-on(Klingon fleet arriving at ds9 to defend against dominion, cardassians sealing their border, Klingons stopping ships for changelings, Cardassian change in government, klingon invasion of cardassia). I did think DS9 needed a shake up after an uneven third season

Unprecedented to see a main cast member of another series becoming main cast member on another series. Worf has to be the most fleshed out Trek character given his exposure. Was surprised he didn’t remain in security like he did on the enterprise.

Lots of changes in this episode. New opening credits. Couple promotions. Siskos new bald look. Dad’s hair and hair clip. Kira longer hairdo. The new tricorders The much needed station weapons upgrade for a dominion attack

Battle scenes were epic and exciting from the ship battles to the hand to hand combat.

There were a few weaknesses like the dumb holosuite stuff with Kira and Jadzia. I thought the road getting to the federation and Klingons being enemies again was a little rocky. But the idea itself was intriguing. And pays off the idea that once the obsidian order and Tal Shiar were eliminated the only threats from
The alpha Quadrant the dominion faced were the federation and Klingons so what better way than to let them fight each other softening them up for an eventual dominion attack

Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Sat, Dec 1, 2018, 10:39pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Code of Honor

3 stars. I thought it was a fun entertaining little standalone

I enjoyed this one. It’s sooooo 80s. The match was tense and exciting. And I liked lutan being a big loser no yar. No wife. No land. And now second husband.
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Sat, Dec 1, 2018, 12:06am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: The Quickening

3.5 stars

Not much to add to Jammer’s review. It’s an episide that’s more of an emotional moving experience than one open to a lot of analysis
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Sun, Nov 25, 2018, 10:28pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Things Past

2 stars

Disappointing payoff to an intriguing mystery. It all being a group memory of Odo’s guilt over one of his investigations during the occupation. Garak has a few fun moments and Jadzia with Dukat was involving but overall very ho hum
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Mon, Nov 19, 2018, 4:38am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Inquisition

Eh
2-2.5 stars

I’m
Not a big fan of The Bashir character. He’s kinda dull and can grate on me like nails on a chalkboard. The acting in this episode wasn’t that great either

The only really interesting part of the episode was the introduction of section 31 and the subsequent chat in holodeck once ruse was exposed. The rest of the episode felt like assembled from better done TNG mystery shows like Future Imperfect or Ship in a Bottle. This time with the crew’s odd behavior and Miles’ shoulder giving it away

Yes it did an admirable job tying together bits and pieces from earlier episodes to incriminate Bashir but wasn’t very riveting

like a lot of DS9’s mythological pieces , Section 31’s initial introduction was lackluster but would go on to be out to better use later on.
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Sun, Nov 18, 2018, 1:05am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Badda-Bing, Badda-Bang

3 stars. Sure it’s filler. Sure it’ stands out as such in the final season with more interesting olotbtgreads needing to be addressed but in a vacuum as a stand-alone it’s fairly entertaining caper adventure.

DS9 rarely felt like a family but this episode with everyone working together helped

It was fun. I’m not sure I buy the affection everyone had for Vic but I played along with it. The racism angle seemed. Out of place. You’d think Sisko would see all that far removed from him
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Sat, Nov 17, 2018, 4:28am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Inter Arma Enim Silent Leges

2.5 stars.

It started out as an intriguing web of intelligencd machinations between section 31 and Tal Shiar before taking a turn into a convoluted switcheroo on the aidient before ultimately landing with a soft payoff.

I appreciated the larger message of the episode. That being sometimes you have to get down and dirty when the stakes are so high but in retrospect the episode itself was kinda just there.

I did enjoy for a change a Romulan heavy focus and the intrepid class reuse.
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Sat, Nov 10, 2018, 5:22am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Prey

2.5 stars

It was a neat idea having the Hirogen hunt species 8472. But was hoping for something a little note interesting going on

The hunt onboard voyager was mechanical. Didn’t do a lot for me in terms of suspense or excitement or being all that involving

The visit to the Hirogen ship was insightful. The vat of chemicals breaking down the bodies. The severed head courtesy of 8472. Learning more about the Hirogen culture —nomadic, traveler grear distances, life centered around the hunt. Hirogen having almost as resilient a physiology as 8472

Tuvok substituting for Kes as 8472’s telepathic mouthpiece

Janeway punishing seven I guess is good for those fans who live for that sort of thing but I could take it or leave it.

Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Tue, Nov 6, 2018, 3:45am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Field of Fire

2 stars

Again not very compelling material for arc or final season
Never cared for the hallucinations Ezri had. Boring
trill Mumbo jumbo didn’t make a whole lot of sense
A murder mystery can work this one fell flat
Didn’t care for silly teaser celebrating piloting skills
Prodigal daughter better Ezri episode
Vulcan serial killer was interesting idea too bad used in such a lame episode
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Mon, Nov 5, 2018, 7:25am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Chrysalis

2 stars

Didn’t really need to revisit Jack Pack. And if you are do something grander tied to war than as yet another tired romance story involving Bashir. Especially in the final season
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Mon, Nov 5, 2018, 6:45am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: It's Only a Paper Moon

2 stars. I was not crazy about this one

I guess this episode was the answer to those fans who always complained about TNG or VOY not doing follow ups. But you see why TNG wisely didn’t do follow ups—they’re not very exciting to watch as someone works through their issues following a traumatic event and why I didn’t mind TNG handling those offscreen instead.

I’m sorry but interminable scenes of Vic singing and 60s era atmosphere isn’t why I watch Trek. If I want to watch a show set in that era I could. It just seems like it wastes the whole sff setting. And much like war episodes DS9 has done it feels a little too cliche and not nearly as well done as actual war films on these various relevant issues that spring from Combat

I’d be more than happy if Nog’s therapy had taken place offscreen. And like a lot of episodes in the final season it just seems like waste of airtime when there was so much more interesting stuff the writers could have explored

Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Sun, Nov 4, 2018, 2:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Prodigal Daughter

3 star range

In the context of the final season the episode seems out of place. In the context of a more exciting urgent war raging on this seems lacking in comparison. But in a vacuum as a stand-alone I’ve come to appreciate it more in hindsight than I did originally when it aired

The episode itself is pretty entertaining and involving. The mining colony itself. The Ezri family dynamics. Norvo well you just have to feel sorry for him. The murder mystery. The Orion syndicate involvement. And Ezri in just a half season has been more interesting than Jadzia in six years.

Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Sat, Oct 27, 2018, 2:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Business as Usual

2 stars

Very lukewarm episode.

Really this should have ruined Quark as a character for the show for good and it wasn’t that great an episode anyway
Next ►Page 1 of 19
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.