Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 401 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 17
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Tue, Jan 2, 2018, 11:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Take Me Out to the Holosuite

I also got a kick out of seeing baseball rules, baseball diagrams displayed all over the station from PADDs to virwscreend. That’s something you don’t see everyday and was kind of whimsy
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Tue, Jan 2, 2018, 11:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Take Me Out to the Holosuite

3 stars. A nice fun easy episode I can’t stand sports including baseball but I did enjoy this episode made the cast feel like a family in a way that rarely happened on the show. For the most part there were subsets but for the whole this and Badda Bing Badda Bang did a good job

I liked the way the story played out with a realistic ending where the Vulcans won and the crew lost but it didn’t defeat them cause they got the spirit of the game that eluded the Vulcans. I also enjoyed Rom in this episode and the RIGHT way the crew ended up treating Rom—standing behind it after Sisko took it too far, Sisko wanting Rom to experience the game at the end, the team being more interested in everyone being included than winning. That is what Trek should be—inclusive, accepting and kind to those like Rom who may be awkward and not the most athletically inclined
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Mon, Jan 1, 2018, 9:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Deja Q

3 stars. A fairly decent episode. I don’t think it’s anything particularly great. The humor displayed was nicely understated and the highlight had to have been Guinan’s delight in taking Q down a peg or two but as far as jeopardy plots this was rather pedestrian and I can’t help thinking the premise of a human Q wasn’t fully explored enough. I also enjoyed the friendship between Data and Q
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Mon, Jan 1, 2018, 2:53am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Alter Ego

2 stars. An episode featuring the dumb holoresort, a lovesick Harry Kim and Tuvok falling for a ” hologram”. That’s a recipe for a boring hour
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Mon, Jan 1, 2018, 1:07am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

This to me is an overrated episode. It’s like any number of similar type stories just that it was dropped into DS9. And it may be fresh if you only ever watched Star Trek. But it’s a pretty standard racism episode. Just the sci fi writers gives it a slightly different spin but everything else is pro forma for this type of story. And Avery Brooks did overact. And I didn’t like the blur the ending left between the series and the hallucination. 2 stars
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Sat, Dec 30, 2017, 10:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Things Past

2 stars meh
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Wed, Dec 27, 2017, 7:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: In the Cards

3 stars. Very entertaining

It was season five withbits really good frequent use of Nog that I became a big fan of his. And his friendship with Jake was put to good use in this outing. Their story was solid and interesting

My favorite plot though involved Winn, Sisko and Weyoun. I especially enjoyed the Weyoun/Winn dynamic. Those two given who they are as bad guys interacting with their own selfish agendas was quite interesting to watch. Standout was Winn grabbing Weyoun’s ear and with a smile telling him that they have nothing, nothing at all in common

. I also liked how the Dominion continues to try to neutralize as many Alpha Quadrant races from a possible war as possible. I especially liked the Sisko/Winn scene in his office whether they discuss what Bajor should do and Winn reminding Sisko that of worlds like Vulcan, Andor and Berengaria were threatened then where would Bajor be in terms of priorities.

The final voiceover and the accompanying scenes really were nice.
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Tue, Dec 26, 2017, 2:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Waltz

2 stars. Some will say it was a tense drama exploring the delicate mental state of Dukat. I say it was a pretty boring hour to sit through
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Tue, Dec 26, 2017, 2:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Booby Trap

2 stars

One of the very few season three weak offerings. I just don’t care about Geordi’s romantic life and the boobybtrap jeopardy as fair but TNG has done much better
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Sat, Dec 23, 2017, 7:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Ascent

2 stars

Stock odd couple sitcom stuff meh
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Sat, Dec 23, 2017, 7:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Business as Usual

2 stars

I didn’t much care for this episode—the idea of weapons sales, everyone giving Wiark the cold shoulder, the resolution with Quark having everyone turn on each other. Meh
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Thu, Dec 21, 2017, 11:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Yesterday's Enterprise

Since TNG ended I’ve read several behind the scenes regarding story development and o always agreed with the ultimate direction the initial germ of a story idea goes EXCEPT YE. I found the original pitch for this episode more interesting where a Vulcan research team goes through the Guardian of Forever and Surak is accidentally killed resulting in a new timeline where the Vulcans have evolved into a very Romulan-like race who has declared war on what’s left of the Federation. Yar appears in that story as a result of the altered past but it is visiting Ambassador Sarek who realizes he must return to the past and assume Surak’s place to restore the timeline. That to me is a far more fascinating premise

I’m also one of the few who was okay with Yar’s shocking and densely tragic demise in Skin of Evil. I saw no need for the writers to redress it however I also was okay with how YE handled Revisiting it by having Yar learn it was senseless and choosing to go out in a blaze of glory.
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Thu, Dec 21, 2017, 11:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Yesterday's Enterprise

3 stars

I must be in the minority of TNG fans who doesn’t see this as a masterpiece or classic episode. It’s entertaining but nothing really stands out to make me say its a classic

It’s a pretty straightforward alternate universe/timeline storyline. The best parts involved Yar and there is where the emotional resonance occurs and that resonance is the one thing that elevated the hour beyond the routine action adventure premise.

Yes there is some neat alterations from uniforms to the bridge to Ten Forward but nothing truly special.
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Mon, Dec 18, 2017, 2:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Nth Degree

3 stars

A fairly entertaining hour. The idea of a super intelligent human being is an intriguing idea and the last minute twist of Barclay’s actions tying back to the probe was great. The quantum oscillation effect as the ship entered the rift was truly a nice out-there wondrous moment.

There were a few lulls mainly with the Cyrano stuff
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Sun, Dec 17, 2017, 1:56am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Begotten

2 stars. Pretty boring and the Kita B plot was old and tired
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Wed, Dec 13, 2017, 11:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Clues

It’s a 3.5 Star episode only thing holding it back from 4 stars was the reveal of missing day. In hindsight I think a better alternative to Paxans being isolationists and needing memories of their existence wiped would be that they are so paranoid about the Borg learning of their species existence and coming for them to be assimilated that that was the reason for them so determined no one knows of them
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Mon, Dec 11, 2017, 9:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Invasive Procedures

2.5 stars

I liked the idea of “ a crisis among a storm” and everything but the main story involving Dax—that was flat and boring but Quark, the Klingons etc was enjoyable
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Sun, Dec 10, 2017, 8:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Parallels

Another universe that would have been cool would have been an Enterprise Worf comes to where the runner ups for the tng roles were the crew. Stephen Macht as Picard, billy Campbell as Riker, Eric Menyuk as Data, timRuss as Geordi, Jonathan Del Arco as Wesley, Marina Sirtis as Yar and Denise Crosby as Troi(before Sirtis and Crosby had their roles reversed
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Sun, Dec 10, 2017, 8:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Living Witness

3 stars. It’s okay. The revisionist/mirror universe-like scenes were ho hum. Trek has done the evil doppelgänger story lots of times. Didn’t do all much for me. I did like the archival recreation double twist with the Doc stuff being not “live” and the final scene was quite poignant.
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Fri, Dec 8, 2017, 6:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Flesh and Blood

3 stars. A very solid entertaining outing

Probably the closest we could have ever expected for a Voyager/Aloha Quadrant episide. Granted the Romulans, Bajorans, Cardassians, Breen were holograms but the feeling still works

B’Elanna/Kejal, Iden/the Doctor were the highlights. I liked idea of creating a hologram planet on a Y class world.

Season 7 was pretty much a wash but Imperfrction, Repentance, Shattered, and this two parter were the best
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Wed, Dec 6, 2017, 3:44am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Someone to Watch Over Me

2.5 stars

The story centering around Seven wanting to explore the possibility of a romantic relationship was a good one. I can understand someone like Seven thinking all her life that romance was something she didn’t want but then one day realizing something was missing

I could also understand Seven hesitant for other people to know this since it exposes a part of someone and could feel like being vulnerable

I could also understand her logical scientific approach to romance by observing and gathering data to help her quantify variables in what does and doesn’t make a successful relationship. But unfortunately romance and dating don’t work as orderly or as easy as that

So most of the Seven stuff works but pretty much everything else is a wash. Paris continued to be a callous asshole—an unfortunate trend started in season four—to the point he is totally unlikable. Insulting Seven, denigrating her and her efforts to grow. What a jerk!

I could see where the writers were going with the idea of seeing what is right in front of you. However o didn’t care for the idea of a Seven/Doc romance. Fell flat. As a result the payoff to the main Seven story didn’t impress

Neelix continues to be a worthless character. Voyager as a series was prone to doing light or comedy episodes far too often. Worse yet the ambassador/Neelix plot was slight even in an already light episode. It was total filler. It also reminded me of aspects of TNG’s “Liaisons” which is definitely not a good thing. And the” nanoprobe cures a hangover” bit was unnecessary and served no real point other than some half hearted “jeopardy”. Meh

Overall a pretty average affair
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Wed, Dec 6, 2017, 12:30am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Bride of Chaotica!

3 stars. I thought this along with Dark Frontier, Think Tank and Equinox were the better episodes in a pretty awful fifth season

It felt fresh and fun. It was just a good time action adventure back to basics outing
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Wed, Dec 6, 2017, 12:20am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Latent Image

2 stars

I was intrigued about the mystery until the reveal thrn I lost interest. First the reveal was lame. Then the crew come as hateful thrn once you see how whiney the s doctor becomes then the crew is more sympathetic. And that final scene is awfully pretentious and silly in my opinion.
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Wed, Dec 6, 2017, 12:16am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Counterpoint

2 stars

This was boring
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Tue, Dec 5, 2017, 1:16am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Before and After

3.5 stars. One of a handful of really good episodes in an otherwise awful season

This was the best Kes episode ever done.
The episode had no filler or lulls. It was solid from start to finish

Not only was the idea to frame the episode around Kes’s dying and attempts to live longer a cool idea but the idea of residual chroniton in her system being rewctivated by the treatment to prolong her life was really smart and well done. As was the idea of traveling backwards through time allowing not only interesting glimpses of an”What if” nature—which were interesting in and of themselves—but also as a “This Is Your Life” abridged addition for Kes who would be written off and a lot of this would never have gotten explored/—was very nice

I admit VOY never did romance well but I did like the Paris/Kes pairing and this was back before atom started being poorly written in season four. I thought they made a cute couple
Kes was never so lovely
I liked the ominous tease of the Krenim and the idea of a species utilizing technology that exists outside normal Time was fairly original and inventive

I also thought the jumps back to the pilot, to a younger Kes still living underground then to a fetus then nothingness were all quite fantastic.
Next ►Page 1 of 17
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.