Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 538 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 22
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Wed, Jun 19, 2019, 3:52am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Journey's End

3 stars. Another in a small group of season 7 episodes that was pretty solid and felt like TNG

TNG didn’t have a lot of things to revisit before it ended but Wesley returning was one of them.

I liked the way his arc wrapped up and I found the characterization believable and true to life with regards to his overachieving then burnout

I also liked seeing Native Americans brought into the 24th century and a little bit about them and how they exist in a future setting. It felt very fresh and interesting. Plus it set up the fact that we knew that year that the first officer on the next series Voyager would be Native American

Another thing the episode had going for it was the feel of interactivity between TNG and DS9 in settong up things for VOY.

Overall a good interesting episode

Another
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Tue, Apr 30, 2019, 12:30am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Crossover

I also think TNG benefitted from having an open submission policy allowing a lot of good story ideas to come in. The writing staff were good writers when they had someone else’s story to work from. I just don’t think on average with the exceptions between Michael Piller or Brannon Braga that the TNG staff were idea people.

A large part of the decline I feel in the last two TNG seasons besides Michael Piller stepping back had to do with the staff generating not only the scripts but the story ideas themselves. I just didn’t think Ron Moore or Rene were good at coming up with ideas and for me this was brought home on DS9 where they wrote their own storiesmodt of the time leading to lackluster outings.

. But when they did an uncredited rewrite on like The Visitor, Visionary, Destiny, In the Pale Moonlight the episode was great. Or when again they were working from somebody else’s idea like Children of Time they did a better job

I think that’s the same problem for VOY. Not only was Jeri Taylor not a good show runner but they relieetoo much on the writing staff to generate episode ideas. And write them. Let’s face it Lisa Klink, Ken Biller, JoeMenosky, Jeri Taylor. Again about the only on staff writer with good ideas was Brannon in my opinion

If you look at TNG seasons 3-5 most episodes were stories from someone else that a staff writer wrote. And most story contributors contributed one story and no more. I think that helped TNG and why those seasons are usually the ones highly praised.
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Mon, Apr 29, 2019, 11:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Crossover

I do think DS9 is definitely overrated online. TNG is my favorite. I think TNG did best at balancing character and plot as well as taking full advantage of the space setting. I also liked that it was an action adventure series and that most stories had an immediate urgency to them with the problem of the week

Early DS9 did a better job at capturing that sort of TNG feel and balance mostly thanks to Michael Piller still being heavily involved.

But I didn’t care for a lot of Ira Behr’s storytelling style—with the exception of his handling of the Dominion War which I really liked. Instead of taking advantage of the space setting the way TOS and TNG did, he basically told stories that we had seen before on contemporary dramas with weddings, pregnancies, romance, dating issues, daddy issues, love triangles etc. there’s not much new you can do with those so they felt pretty mundane. And there were also times that war cliches were things he fell back on that didn’t feel particularly fresh

I also didn’t like how a lot of times we just had a character or two headlining a DS9 episode. I missed the camaraderie constantly displayed in TNG where the entire cast was involved each week in the story.
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Thu, Apr 25, 2019, 1:25am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

The problem I’ve always had with Kurtzman and Abrams storytelling is they are so totally hung up on structure and cons that everything else becomes tertiary. They fixate on setting up WTF twists and reveals and intriguing mysteries early on then when it’s crunch time they always come up with something so very anti-climatic. And because everything is so interconnected the writers don’t want to show too much of their hand in service of the “a-ha” moments. That’s why so much stuff I think happens offscreen. It’s very unsatisfying

That is what I miss most about 90s Trek was that it wasn’t about the VFX or the spectacle or games. It was really about telling entertaining one-off stories that effectively utilized the 24th century and space setting TNG wisely used battles so rarely it was always a treat when they gave the audience some. And on FS9 you could easily follow the fights unlike the blur these epic battle sequences tend to be anymore these days
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Sat, Apr 20, 2019, 8:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

TNG era Trek and even TOS will initially struggle because the shows before never asked viewers to do this much thinking just to get through a season"

TOS, TNG etc never asked viewers to do that much “thinking” because they were well written and solidly constructed and therefore didn’t require viewers to make sense of a convoluted mess of narration

Don’t confuse making sense of the absurd for thinking

Don’t confuse convoluted for complex.

DIS isn’t well thought out or structured. It’s a frenzied mess and blur of a bunch of half realized ideas and plot points just thrown together. It’s like the writers suffer from A form of storytelling ADHD. They simply can’t slow down. Catch their breath. And work out a nicely told five act standalone episode.

They can’t seem to fathom that they don’t have to use TOS as a crutch and throw in every TOS character or element to their episodes.

TNG wisely avoided this and became its own successful thing. In fact, Roddenberry explicitly didn’t want TOS mentioned and hired people not familiar with it.

TNG went onto use sparingly TOS elements as well as create its own unique original characters and races

dS9 wisely stopped shoehorning in TNG elements after its freshman year making the show better

But it seems nowadays writers think Trek needs to be TOS or recycled TOS or tied into TOS. Frankly that’s boring
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Fri, Apr 19, 2019, 1:12am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

It’d be nice if Trek would get back to more small scale intimate storytelling. Frankly I miss the basic episodic action adventure storytelling that most people fell in love with on TOS and TNG.

Nothing epic. No convoluted plotting. No serialization No obsession with Trek mythology. Not caught up in namedropping and Easter eggs.

Just fun exploration of the unknown—newlife, ancient civilizations, sci fi weirdness, discoveries that fired the imagination and the occasional thoughtful reflective outing

Writers are making it unnecessarily difficult in themselves trying to construct these complex arcs and story structures. Their time would be better spent on the nuts and bolts of just sitting down and crafting a solid script that is entertaining. I also think it would do them good to have to construct an actual beginning, middle and END!! Episodic storytelling won’t afford them the crutch of dragging things out and putting off a conclusion. Hopefully that would lead to better payoffs than the one they put off til the 11th hour
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Thu, Apr 18, 2019, 9:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

It took what...just 2 years to figure out they should have never tackled a prequel and instead should have gone forward in the Trek universe

But that only remedies the canon and continuity issues. Jumping forward doesn’t fix the poor writing or weak cast.
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Sun, Apr 14, 2019, 7:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

Reading the reviews and recaps makes me happy I didn’t sign back up for season two. It sounds like what I expected based on season one and Kurtzman’s track record

I’m seriously amazed The studio handed the reigns of such a beloved franchise and an enormous budget over to someone who has the writing skills of a failing creative writing college freshman.

He has no grasp on the fundamentals of writing. He just throws shit at the wall and sees what sticks.
They can throw the series into the future to free them from some of the continuity issues but as long as the same writers are running things it won’t matter.
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Fri, Apr 12, 2019, 2:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Man Trap

3 stars I enjoyed this one
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Tue, Mar 26, 2019, 12:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

Personally I’m glad they did away with the Maquis bickering.

Frommy perspective VOYAGER’s problem was not a lack of serialization or a lack of conflict or not addressing resource shortages.

I’d have been perfectly happy had it ended up being TNG in the Delta Quadrant. Weekly adventures telling a variety of consistently entertaining episodes week in and week out

Unfortunately it was highly uneven and mostly mediocre storytelling

The show didn’t have a strong head writer like TNag did with Piller. Jeri Taylor oversaw a weakened season six of TNG and awful final season. Brannon when he took over came through on his scripts but seem torely care about polishing everyone else’s

TNG was so good because it looked for scripts and ideas from outside the writers room. I’d argue that the writers on TNG were at their best working off of and rewriting other people’s submitted ideas than generating ideas themselves. But they were good enough writers to turn out a good script

Voyager pretty much had all ideas generated drone from jeri Taylor(Real Life, One, Resolutions, Day of Honor, Coda, nothing human), Ken Biller( Initiations, Jetrel, Elogium, lifesigns, Tuvix, The Chute, Qand the grey, Mediocre Unity, Nemesis, Endgame, Q2), Rob Dohert(Vis aVis, Taunkatse, Imside Man) Joe Menosky , Lisa Klink,(Warlord, Blood Fever, Favorite Son, Sacred Ground, OmegaDirective, Revulsion), Michael Taylor( Drive, Once Upon a atime,)BryanFuller(Gravity, Juggernait,Spirit Folk, Friendship One, Mortal Coil, Retrospect )who weren’t very good idea people. Brannon was much better at generating fresh ideas and script writing than anyone else on Voyager staff in my opinion.

Another thing were the characters. All of them on Paper had potential. All were well cast except Beltran who I think wasn’t a great Chakotay

But as time went on the writers butchered most of the characters to the point where I was happy wen they started sidelining them and focusing only on a Janeway Seven and the Doctor.

Paris was fine until season four then became an obnoxious jerk. Kim became annoying around then.
Torres was an indifferent character around season two

So at the end I was only interested in plot heavy episodes or episodes headlined by those three.

And by the final season it was clear nobody cared and just wanted to be done with the series as evidenced by the weak offerings at the end, no revisiting the Caretaker, no revisiting Unimatrix Zero resistance and Biller having no idea what to do for finale and asking Brannon for ideas who at the time was involved in preparing ENTERPRISE and clearly not interested in VOYAGER anymore. Hence the halfhearted series finale
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Fri, Mar 22, 2019, 11:02am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Proving Ground

2.5 stars

I thought it was pretty mechanical and mediocre. Most of the scenes were not very involving They were just “there”
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Thu, Mar 21, 2019, 10:19am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Third Season Recap

This was a definite improvement over season two but it was also highly uneven.

Looking back over the episodes it wasn’t really til the season got to Azati Prime and went all in on the season arc material did it become truly compelling g viewing. The rest of the season meandered with pointless standalones or stories tied into the arc that were only interesting for the crumbs of information soles out about the spheres or xindi. The episodes themselves were disposable and aren’t all that exciting to rewatch beyond a few moments you can just fast forward to

There were exceptions like Anomaly or The Shipment that we’re solid as just hours of television entertainment but far too many like Harbinger, Hatchery, Doctor’s Orders, Chosen Realm, Exile, Extinction , E2 felt like filler to drag out the arc which was disappointing.

I think they could have done a better job bringing in maybe Tholians and Future Guy into the mix since they were threads left dangling from first two seasons

But Twilight, Azati Prime, Damage, The Council, Countdown and Zero hour were solid and packed a lot of good things into them where you walked away feeling like each hour gave you your money’s Worth

The writers should have made it a half season long arc

But the arc and xindi mythology were excellent.

The way seeds were set up with trellium, it’s odd effects on Vulcans, the unraveling of the sphere mystery, the fleshing out of The Xindi species, The Xindi history and dynamics at play, dovetailing the seemingly separate threads of the spheres and xindi attack all were really well done

I enjoyed the scope. From sets like the Degra’s ship to the reptilian ship to the council chambers to ENT J to transdimensiomal realm to the spheres to the weapon

To the scope of history from 21st century Earth to 22nd century to 26th century.

Liked the roster of characters featured from
The various xindi to Daniels to sphere builders to Hayes to MACOs

Lots of surprises and twists which was a welcome change from the first two seasons storytelling. Lots of intriguing complications and clever ways of utilizing everyone such as Hoshi being kidnapped because of herskills to decode launch code.

Lots of great production stuff from The Xindi design to the council chamber to the visual FX and costumes.

The arc itself was also pretty inventive with the idea of a faction from the future being defeated by the Federation and in order to avoid this they plot to wipe out humanity before they can help form the Federation.

Lots of interesting dynamics as a result that I enjoyed. Such as Archer realizing the attack had nothing to do with his mission. He had never even met The Xindi. He just had the unfortunate luck of simply being from
The time period where the Sphere builders chose to target Earth

Then you had the Xindi having no clue who humans were or the significant role they will play in the Alpha Quadrant in centuries to come. They have no appreciation at all for that. They simply see humans as a hostile aggressive force. I wouldn’t have been surprised if the visual recording the Sphere Builders showed the council was of the MU Terran Empire destroying the Xindi

So you end up with all these players and having interesting dynamics and perspectives like Degra/Dolum, Degra/Sphere Builders, Daniels/Archer, Archer /Degra, Dolum/Insectoids, Dolum/Sphere Builders, Sphere Builders/Daniels/Future Guy, andorians / Xindi etc. it is all quite fascinating.
One thing I may have done was reveal that until Archer stops the Xindi and restores the timeline that Daniels and any help from the future is removed because in this alternate timeline where The Xindi destroys earth no Daniels since no ancestors. That way the burden is on Archer and his efforts

I also enjoyed the attack on the Enterprise and the subsequent episodes chronicling the repairs
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Thu, Mar 21, 2019, 9:53am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: First Season Recap

I find season one a pretty decent year for the series in for Trek in general.

I like the standalone approach. It feels more grounded and realistic given the time period. The show did a good job throughout the episodes putting in new spins and details that you wouldn’t see on the other shows

Frankly it had a pretty solid foundation. All the writers really needed to do was come up with more original plots and twists and use TOS era aliens like the Andorians, Orions, Tellarites etc. they wouldn’t even have to be included in a Federation building /political arc story either. Just throw them in the weekly plot like TNG often did with Romulans and Klingons.

Lot of solid episodes —the pilot, Fight or Flight, first half of Strange New World, first half of Unexpected, The Andorian Incident, Breaking the Ice, Civilization, Fortunate Son, Cold Front, Fusion, Detained, Fallen Hero

This and TNG season one are my favorite modern Trek freshman seasons
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Mon, Mar 18, 2019, 1:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: These Are the Voyages...

2 stars

I liked the broad idea this episode was going for with using TNG which launched successfully this 18 year run of modern Trek to close it. And at the same time reflect back on ENT and it’s crew from a historical perspective of the 24th century

But the execution was bad.

The writers should have had the episode be set in TNG era still so we could stillbe treated to the recreation of the ENT-D sets and CGI ship model and Tanag uniforms and communicators but instead of setting it during a specific episode like The Pegasus should have been centered around a story where the crew is celebrating the anniversary of the founding b of the Federation and remembering the ENT crew by running a holodeck program based on their final mission leading up to the Federation ceremony

This episode messed up by telling a totally disconnected rescue story with throwaway players and aliens. It should have been tied to the Federation and signing ceremony.

That way the episode also would play nicely off the theme both in universe and in real life of the celebration of the end of an era.
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Mon, Mar 18, 2019, 6:43am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Borderland

The Borderland was a good idea showing that in this day & age that anything goes including piracy and slave trade giving the region a much needed sense of being in the wild frontier with its lawlessness. Every species is out for themselves trying to stake their claims to the quadrant and establish themselves as the major power. The Federatin isn’t yet around to establish order and every species is vying for territory.

It makes sense that two formidable groups like the Klingons and Orions would mark territory leading to this no man’s land. Some of the best things Coto did for the show was to build up the universe in which the crew occupy by fleshing out the 22nd century Alpha Quadrant both in terms of power players and geopolitical landscapes.

I enjoyed it when the crew would visit an alien world whether in Broken Bow or Rajiin, for instance. And while not quite as exotic as either of those, I did find the slave market with its mix of aliens including a Tellarite different and welcoming. Like in Broken Bow the crew are learning how other alien races conduct themselves and is an eye opening experience. A human starship and human presence doesn’t carry the influence it will one day. Right now they are just another alien species afforded no more respect or concern than any other—their ships will be attacked, their people kidnapped especially when they have no shields to prevent transporting

T'Pol had a nice moment that further highlighted the qualities I most appreciated in her when amidst her own disorientation she manages to reassure the young ensign and later I liked how he attempted to return the favor by protecting her when the Orion came to take her away. I like it when the crew watch out for each other it just gives me that warm fuzzy feeling.

And it was really cool to see an Orion female in a modern series as well as the well designed Orion males. Fun stuff

The great escape was fun and so perfectly Soong to take advantage of the mayhem to make a run for it.

And while not crucial to the story, the slave market/Orion detour was an entertaining diversion on the way to the real heart of the story with the Augments which continued in the next two installments. While they didn't really get much attention what screen time they did have allowed a glimpse into the players especially Malik and they certainly projected very well the same superiority and danger about them as Khan's genetic supermen except that these are younger and not quite as sharp. Manny's method of bringing the Augments into the 22nd century was clever and not the least bit contrived like it could have been. It makes a lot of sense there might have been embryos left over after the Eugenics War.
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Mon, Mar 18, 2019, 6:35am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Awakening

3 stars

Not as bad as I had feared based on Andre Bormanis writing track record but not nearly as good as The Forge but I did enjoy it.

The Vulcan trilogy followed by the Augment arc and Klingin two parter were my favorite season stories

Bruce Gray was well cast as Surak definitely coming across as a wise influential figure with a gentle spirit. I could definitely see him being the Father of Vulcan Logic. The images in this arc once again stood out as highlights.

The way Archer interacted with Surak’s katra was well conceived with its ethereal vibe. The haunting shot of the nuclear bomb going off in the distance was a very chilling sight to behold depicting a very dark period in Vulcan history a little unnerving too. It showed the stakes of what Vulcans could become again if no changes were made I enjoyed the Surak/Archer scenes

T’Pau’s characterization as an young rebel leader determined to save her people at all costs was interesting from the standpoint of where she ends up within Vulcan society and the Federation in her later years.

T’Les shined in her scenes including her death which was a moving moment as she shares in a very emotional way why she was doing all of this for T’Pol

. I loved the shot of the trio looking out over the sanctuary as it was being bombarded

The show did a really good job in making it clear that whatever is about to happen Vulcan would never be the same. This whole arc does an exceptional job of making this historical period so vibrant and alive. Seeing these various characters from Archer, T’Pol to Soval, T’Pau and the Syrannites being cast as those historic figures you read about who at the time didn’t really appreciate what they were bringing about but which history acknowledges is just marvelous stuff.

As for V’Las I know some fans don’t care for his emotional outbursts but for some reason it didn’t bother me. I think I’ve seen so many emotional Vulcans in ENT coupled with what we learn of V’Las as being a Vulcan that subscribes to the militant philosophies of the ancient Vulcans and rejects Surak That it makes sense

Just when the episode needed it we got the development that the Syrrannites are at the sanctuary trying to find a mysterious ancient artifact from the time of Surak the Kir’Shara which was an intriguing revelation.

So overall the episode could have used maybe some furthering polishing it was pretty solid and entertaining all in all. I liked it
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Sun, Mar 17, 2019, 12:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Kir'Shara

3 stars

A pretty solid outing that would have benefitted from
A little more polishing by the writers to smooth the rough edges

It was neat to bring in the Andorians to the Vulcan trilogy but the torture of Soval was boring and went on too long. Shran came off as very one note. And the Vulcan Andorian fleets facing off against one another possessed a certain cool appeal but it also didn’t help that it reminded me of far superior such engagements from DS9 that had more suspense and unpredictability attached to them than a prequel will allow here

I liked the episode remedies Tpol’s panar disease. The reveal of the Kir’Shara’s writings was a good moment.

The best moments though were the last few minutes of the hour when the relationship beywwwn Vulcan and Earth takes a more friendship and less adversarial turn followed by the closing scene where we learn V’Las wasn’t just a Vulcan who was opposed to Surak’s peaceful teachings but also someone actively allied with Romulans for decades trying to undermine Vulcan progress and restore the society to a more militant Romulan philosophy which sets them up as a genuine threat

In fact, the Romulans were never as threatening as in ENTERPRISE.
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Sun, Mar 17, 2019, 11:53am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: The Aenar

2.5 stars

Another uneven season four episide with some good stuff like the introduction of the Aenar, the visit and trek to Andoria, the visual depiction of the underground landscapes and cities, shran and Jamel. The the not so good stuff like the telepresence and the Trip T’Pol angst which dragged on the episode
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Sat, Mar 16, 2019, 10:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: United

2.5 stars

Lot of recycled ideas that I didn’t find very interesting like the ritual combat and the stuff onboard the drone felt very repetitive after a while along with bickering and infighting
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Fri, Mar 15, 2019, 6:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Divergence

2.5 stars

The same issues I had in the first part linger here

The whole plan and arrangement seems overly complicated and convoluted to the point I’m not really buying the idea of Section31 allying themselves withthe Klingons. I also don’t like that they could be so unprepared for a double cross by the Klingons as occurs later in the episode. Again this has been my main issue with ENT this season —cool Ideas for fanservice in pursuit of the Trek mythos but the writers not being able to craft strong scripts around them leading to very uneven viewing experiences and questionable plot logic as a result

I like the ideas behind these episodes but isn’t a wholly satisfying experience when you’re left scratching your head by certain things. Again the best parts are on the Klingon colony between Antaak and Phlox and seeing the TOS looking Klingons reacting to their change

I also thought the jeopardy action stunts in the first act were exciting and held my interest.

But Trip returning less than an episode after supposedly transferring was weak and Krell’s single mindedness in wanting to destroy the colony hurt
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Fri, Mar 15, 2019, 6:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Affliction

3 stars.

Season four feels like it has good ideas that are fun in how they play into the larger Trek mythos but the actual execution into an episode are met with mixed results

Here for example the writers come up with a pretty clever and cool idea to explain the changes in the Klingon appearances and include Section 31. Unfortunately the plot details come across as convoluted and contrived

For instance, the Klingons claim they kidnapped Phlox via the Rigellians to keep their distance so as not to appear weak to enemies. Yet they are in an alliance with Section 31 and S31 knows of their situation so why not just have Section 31 take Phlox aside or get Soo g released on the down low and come up with a harmless explanation as to Phlox being on leave thereby avoiding the very thing they’re hoping to avoid namely a bunch of unwanted attention and ENT going to track Phlox down?

So in hindsight the whole kidnapping and mystery of it feels pointless and unnecessary other than to supply the episide with some suspense and intrigue it didn’t need

I initially thought Section 31 was not partnering with the Klingons but actually the ones responsible for the plague as a way to reduce the obvious threat the Empire posed to Earth which would have made more sense and made the Klingons actions in kidnapping Phlox hold more logic

I also thought the explanation regarding the plague was poorly explained and confusing. At first it sounded like the flu that one of the test subjects had was enhanced by the augment dna and had become virulent and agressive not responding to standard treatment. But I guess the flu did incorporate the augment dna making it more virulent as well as incorporating the changes physically into those it infected. I think it could have been explained more clearly the way TNG would in their episodes to the audience

All that said, I did find the Klingin colony scenes the best in the hour and the most interesting.

I also likes seeing Captain Hernandez and Columbia however briefly.

The trip and T’Pol stuff did nothing for me

It was cool seeing TOS looking Klingons on a modern Trek series
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Fri, Mar 15, 2019, 6:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: In a Mirror, Darkly, Part II

3 stars

Unlike the first part this episode was more entertaining and didn’t feel so recycled. It was fun spending the hour on the Defiant, seeing the crew in TOS uniforms, dealing with a Gorm(but I would have preferred an actual actor as opposed to the CGI), T’Pol working to undermine Archer, phlox double crossing, the crew on the Avenger and Archer struggling with a sense of inferiority because of what he learns of his counterpart
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Fri, Mar 15, 2019, 6:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: In a Mirror, Darkly, Part I

2.5 stars

This one struggled twintwin my attention ruin through most of it. Like a lot of ENT episodes it had a “ been there done that” feel with it covering the same ground as “Mirror, Mirror” with agony booths, constant plotting, a captain’s mistress etc. there’s a fine line between homage and recycled. Here it definitely falls into recycled category.

The only moments that felt fresh and had me involved in the episode were the teaser, anything involving the Tholians and the arrival onboard the Defiant.
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Tue, Mar 12, 2019, 1:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

@andre

Tng and ds9 had a nice cast and interesting characters from the start to get the viewer through rough start. DIS doesn’t have that

I’d also disagree about DS9 season 2. It was a great season. Most Trek like of all its seasons. Season one was awful but had some good episodes. More good episodes than DIS season one

And I thought TNG season one was good myself with Naked now, last outpost, where no one has gone before, the battle, neutral zone, Datalore, conspiracy, coming of age, when the bough breaks, skin of evil and heart of glory
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Wed, Mar 6, 2019, 12:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part II

I think Trek works better as an episodic series. I miss the action adventure and the way each week was exciting as I waited to see what new different adventure the crew would be on in TOS and TNG. It allowed for a variety of stories from
Action to sci fi mystery to political intrigue to morality play

It also forced the writers to have a satisfying end because with a stand-alone you can’t drag your feet forever in providing the payoff. You have 69 minutes. By deferring payoffs in serialized storytelling it’s made writers lazy and they don’t know what the payoff will be and itvusuakky ends up being disappointing or anti climatic as a result ie LOST or DIS season 1
Next ►Page 1 of 22
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.