Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 10 (Showing 1-10)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Spencer
Mon, Jan 14, 2019, 10:30am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Home

I've been reading all of Jammer's reviews for TNG, DS9, VOY, ENT, DIS, BSG, and ORV for the past year. This is my first time posting.

The episode itself definitely earned a solid 3 stars, if not a bit more. It was well-written, providing good character development and closing. I enjoyed the dialing-down of "dude-bro" speak compared to other episodes. It did remind me of the single-character-centric DS9 episodes of Trek's glory days.

But I'm pained by the loss of one of the Orville's most relatable characters. Alara has evolved a lot since the series premiere. She has grown in confidence of her own abilities and place among the crew, despite being an outcast among her own people. I'm sure I'm not the only one who resonated with Alara and her inner struggles, and it's a shame to lose her after only a season and a few episodes. Hopefully this is not the last we hear of Alara.
Set Bookmark
Spencer
Mon, Feb 22, 2016, 4:30am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Carpenter Street

The only thing that really pleased me in this episode was the many allusions to John Carpenter's Halloween.

The first being in the episode's title, Carpenter Street. Followed by our main scum Loomis, who has a file on a man named Myers. Also the wheelchair bound gent is named Strode. All three happen to be the last names of the main characters: Dr. Loomis, Michael Myers, and Laurie Strode in the Halloween films.

Last little thing, in the episode our Loomis drives a 70s Ford LTD Station Wagon, that being the same model that Dr. Loomis drove in the film Halloween.
Set Bookmark
Spencer
Wed, Jan 14, 2015, 7:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

Robert said "It'd be more like if Pandas were going extinct and since the decline in the Panda population began Koalas had started to thrive."

In the episode, the Koalas and the Pandas are living fine together. The Pandas are dying. If the Pandas die, the Koalas will undoubtedly increase in population size. But this hypothetical "thriving of the Koalas" has no bearing on the issue; the Pandas and the Koalas have always lived fine together. Helping the Pandas maintains the status quo - Koalas and Pandas together - affects nothing.

According to the rules of this episode, you can have:

a) help pandas so pandas and koalas live together
b) do nothing so pandas die and koalas live

So why not choose A? The cure doesnt help pandas at the expense of koalas.
Set Bookmark
Spencer
Thu, Jan 8, 2015, 6:27am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

Ellioit said: "There is no guarantee that those people will die, and they never claimed it was for the "good" of anyone, simply that the decision was not theirs to make."

If Panda's are going extinct, and humans had the ability to prevent this, you would oppose this because "that decision is not for humans to make?"

Or perhaps your objection is the "number of humans" needed to validly make a decision. Perhaps you think Archer alone should not be making a decision.

But of course the decisions/opinions of millions isnt necessary better than the decisions/opinions of one.

One man can decide to save pandas.
Set Bookmark
Spencer
Mon, May 5, 2014, 6:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: The Dogs of War

Those damn lefties and their fighting for worker rights, democracy, civil rights, human rights, fighting against imperialism, colonialism, racism, exploitation, fighting for fair pay, for weekends, fighting against slavery, fighting for actual pay, holiday, shorter work hours (the 21 hour week wasn't so bad. Damn you lefties!), fighting for the environment etc.

Why can't the left be more like the right and fund terrorists, put dictators in power, oppose independent movements, oppose democratic elections and side with kings, queens and fascists. Damn lefties.
Set Bookmark
Spencer
Fri, Oct 25, 2013, 11:53am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Conundrum

How cool were the FX shots of the Enterprise zapping the fleet of fighter craft?
Set Bookmark
Spencer
Wed, Sep 18, 2013, 10:18am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: The Dogs of War

Amen Elliot. DS9 isnt scifi or particularly deep, it's just the usual xenophobic boogeyman villain stuff, relying on bad guy dialogue and super weapons. The first few seasons, when the Bajoran storylines were going on, were actually more complex and original than the dominian tales.
Set Bookmark
Spencer
Wed, Sep 11, 2013, 9:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Inquisition

Agree with Elliott. DS9 is at its worst when it drifts towards a kind of right-wing appologia. This episode isnt gritty or realistic, it's depressingly reactionary (in its defense, the episode knows the Section are essentially "bad guys"). Note too that Elliot specifically mentions "capitalism". Far too many Trek fanboys are pro-capitalist and franky ignorant when it comes to post-neo classical economics and economists. A post-capitalist society gets there by embracing ethics, and ethical is precisely what capitalism is not.
Set Bookmark
Spencer
Sat, Feb 5, 2011, 3:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

Funny how after 7 seasons + an additional 26 years we skip over, Janeway becomes just another crooked Trek admiral. :)
Set Bookmark
Spencer
Mon, Oct 11, 2010, 11:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Cogenitor

Personally, I'm convinced that this episode script must have been recycled from some other Trek series or else ghost written by someone other than the writers who usually handle ENT.

There is no continuity between Archer's actions over the previous seasons and his dressing down of Trip at the end here. As was said above, he has made much worse first contact blunders.

Also, Trip playing GO? He is way too much of a dunce to be so good as to be undefeated at the game, as he claims.

Even something as small as these aliens' preference for a meal's aroma rather than its taste seems altogether too subtle (to say nothing of reasonable) a development for the typically sledgehammer-like cultural differences they've dreamed up for other aliens (e.g., "you eat like you have sex," or whatever that nonsense was).

I watched this episode several years ago out of context, having never seen any other ENT ep. I thought it was really good. In context, it rings sort of hollow in light of the character inconsistency. I would much rather ENT was this way, but it hasn't been.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.