Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 85 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 4
Set Bookmark
SouthofNorth
Fri, Feb 26, 2021, 8:36am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Firstborn

Any Alexander episode that does not end with Alexander lying dead in a pool of his own blood and vomit is, by definition, a poor episode.
Set Bookmark
SouthofNorth
Fri, Feb 26, 2021, 8:29am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Genesis

One thing about this episode is that we finally got a chance to see Worf's pajamas. Not exactly the pajamas of a warrior; they look like something you would find in the discount aisle at Target.
Set Bookmark
SouthofNorth
Wed, Feb 24, 2021, 10:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Genesis

You can see how bridge officers rate on the good 'ol Enterprise. One them is found at his station brutally murdered and does Picard or Data say something like "Oh no, Ens. Davies has been killed!". Nah, the poor sap doesn't even have a name. Picard's like "hey Data what killed uh ... this ... guy?"

Good luck writing that note to the grieving parents Jean Luc...
Set Bookmark
SouthofNorth
Fri, Dec 4, 2020, 6:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Gambit

All that work to get ... a gun.

Now, granted, it is a pretty nifty gun and it does kill people in a novel way but it's still just a gun. Tallera would have fared better in that final scene if she had a good ol reliable phaser set to kill. Try to beat that Picard with "peace".
Set Bookmark
SouthofNorth
Sat, Nov 28, 2020, 7:11am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Interface

This episode wasn't even good enough to be bad. 1.5 stars.
Set Bookmark
SouthofNorth
Wed, Nov 18, 2020, 9:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Descent, Part II

Regarding the Bridge Crew:

In the 24th century after years of training at the academy, bridge officers will act like a bunch of surly teenagers. And anyone can be captain for the day!

What an embarrassment. 1 and half Stars.
Set Bookmark
SouthofNorth
Fri, Nov 13, 2020, 11:57am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Rightful Heir

Third episode in a row when a supporting actor took the lead role and quite frankly, they weren't up to the challenge. ST:TNG works when Patrick Stewart is chewing the lines and to a lesser extent Brent Spiner, but everyone else is 'meh in their acting chops. Michael Dorn's acting is downright terrible most of the time and he proclaims his lines with all the subtlety and nuance of blender with misaligned motor.

As for this episode. Didn't give a rip about Payless one way or the other. Would have been better if Go-on had just put a blade in his ribs and said, "So much for Payless..." As it was, the resolution was stupid. We're supposed to believe that Go-On would agree to installing a rival for his position of power and authority? Go-On is much too canny of a Klingon to think that setup would do anything but undermine him as a leader. For example, let's say Go-on wants to start a war with the Cardassians and as he's making his case, the people say, "Hey, let's go see what Payless thinks!"

Yeah, that's going to work out REALLY well.
Set Bookmark
SouthofNorth
Fri, Nov 13, 2020, 11:41am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Suspicions

Beverly needs the host another science conference to explore this amazing wonderful invention called "the autopilot" so that you don't have your characters sit in an experimental vehicle as it plunges into a star.
Set Bookmark
SouthofNorth
Fri, Nov 13, 2020, 11:38am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Frame of Mind

Didn't care for this episode one little bit. After the first ten minutes it was clear that nothing was real and therefore no scene made a darn bit of difference. There was no plot just a lot of yelling and posturing until the final merciful reveal, ending the whole charade. 1.5 stars.
Set Bookmark
SouthofNorth
Sun, Aug 9, 2020, 6:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Enterprise Incident

This episode rates 2 stars at best and certainly nowhere close to 4 stars. Hear me. This story aspires to be serious and significant unlike say “The Trouble with Tribbles” or “A Piece of the Action” which are fun and silly and don’t pretend to be anything else. But just as you would judge “The Trouble with Tribbles” by whether or not it amused you and made you laugh, so too, you have to judge “The Enterprise Incident” by whether it achieves its objectives.

So treating this as a serious story, is the plot credible? Not in the slightest. The basic premise is that the Romulans have cloaking technology that the Federation needs to steal to restore the balance of power. Now, if you want to do something like that you would engage spies and covert operators who could infiltrate the Romulan Empire by stealth and either steal the cloaking device or the plans for one. What you would not do is engage the Federation’s flagship where failure means not only do you lose your opportunity to get the cloaking device but you also lose (perhaps fatally) your frontline crew and your starship, enabling the Romulans to know “everything there is to know about a starship”. Not to mention that very real possibility that you would initiate a war for blatantly violating the Neutral Zone. In other words, you have chosen the action that results in the greatest loss for you if it fails.

Does the plan make sense? Not even close. I’m not even sure I know what the original plan was. There was no guarantee that the Romulans wouldn’t just blow the Enterprise up. Having spared the Enterprise, there’s no reason to think that the Romulan commander would invite anyone aboard her starship. What was in it for her and how could you predict that she would take such an action? But without inviting both Spock and Kirk aboard the ship, there is no way for the plan to succeed and disaster would ensue.

So who’s privy to this “plan”? Only two people: Spock and Kirk. Does Scottie know about it? No. But wait a second, who’s going to be in charge when Spock and Kirk are on the Romulan ship? Wouldn’t you want him to understand what’s going on and why? And who is responsible for installing the cloaking assuming they do manage to steal it? Scottie again. And you’re not going to tell him his job until 15 minutes are left to avoid destruction? Say, wouldn’t you want to let him in on this absurd plan just so that he could, I don’t know, work out as much as he could ahead of time? And who’s responsible for transforming Kirk into a Romulan? McCoy? And you’re not going to tell him ahead of time so he can figure out what needs to be done to make the change. Seriously?

But this is a very dramatic episode. You know that because every 5 minutes or so, you hear “dumb-dumb-dumb-dumb! dumb-dumb-dumb-dumb!” --- the audio cue that tells you that some serious is happening. “We’re surrounded by Romulans!” (dumb-dumb-dumb-dumb!) “Captain Kirk has been injured!” (dumb-dumb-dumb-dumb!). “The ship’s galley is out of rice pudding!! (dumb-dumb-dumb-dumb). Oh yes, Kirk has been killed by Spock. That’s dramatic, if for one second anyone in the audience actually believes that would happen in this show. I was shocked SHOCKED when I found out it wasn’t true! No, unbelievable events like Spock killing Kirk are not dramatic, only believable plausible events are. The great drama in "Amok Time" came from Spock's heartbreaking response to thinking he had killed Kirk, not from the action itself. Fake deaths are cheap way to create "drama" and are ultimately self-defeating.

I could go on about the stupidity of the Romulans (“don’t go down that corridor Mr. Spock, that’s where we keep our top-secret device which we wouldn’t want you to know where it is”) or the embarrassing romantic scenes that had DC Fontane apologize to Leonard Nimoy, telling him that she didn’t write those scenes in HER draft. But this is an overlong post already. 2 stars at best.
Set Bookmark
SouthofNorth
Thu, Jul 23, 2020, 5:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Immunity Syndrome

Okay, the biggest mystery from this episode for me is:

WTH Does the episode title even mean?????
Set Bookmark
SouthofNorth
Fri, Jul 10, 2020, 7:08am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The City on the Edge of Forever

--- Deleted Scene ---

McCoy: Jim!
Kirk: Bones!
(Curious, Edith starts to walk across the street unaware of car bearing down on her. Kirk starts to move towards her ...)
Spock: No Jim!!!
(Kirk stops and hold McCoy back....)
Car: Screeeeecccchhhh!
Edith: Angggmmgphhh!!!
McCoy: I could have saved her. Do you know what you just did?!!!
Spock: He knows Doctor. He knows .... oh, it looks like she's still alive....
Kirk: Really? Well shit. (pulls out phaser ...)

---------
Set Bookmark
SouthofNorth
Fri, Jul 10, 2020, 7:01am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Operation--Annihilate!

Best moment:

McCoy: We should run some more tests
Kirk: There's no time. Put Spock in there now!
McCoy: But ...
Kirk: Now Bones. Now!!!!!

-- later ---
Spock: I'm blind
Chapel: Here's the results of the test you order Dr. McCoy
McCoy: Oh dear. I didn't have to expose him to all wavelengths of light. He didn't have to be made blind.
Kirk: Bones! You f'd up!!
Set Bookmark
SouthofNorth
Fri, Jul 10, 2020, 6:55am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Enemy Within

Nimoy: Bill, the Transporter Special Effect has split your acting self
Shatner: What do you mean?
Shatner II: GIVE ME THE BRANDY!!!!
Nimoy: There's the classical trained actor doing Shakespeare, Ibsen, and Chekhov. A well-reviewed supporting role in "Judgement at Nuremberg" ...
Shatner II: THERE'S A CREATURE ON THE WING! WE'RE GOING TO CRASH!!!
Nimoy: And then there's the diva, the scene-chewer, a man for whom no line can be under-acted...
Shatner II: I'M CAPTAIN KIRK!!!!!
Shatner: What do I do? Help me.
Nimoy: We need another Transporter Special Effect to put you back together. The series needs both of you: the classically-trained actor and the over-acting diva.
Shatner II: ARRRRGGGGGHHHHHHHH!!! HAHAHAHAHA!!!!
Shatner: What if we just got rid of him?
Nimoy: Bill, you couldn't even land a job as a game show host.
Set Bookmark
SouthofNorth
Sat, Jul 4, 2020, 10:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: A Taste of Armageddon

SPOCK: An entrance, Captain, but no exit. They go in, but they do not come out.
KIRK: A disintegration machine?
SPOCK: Or an elevator ...
Set Bookmark
SouthofNorth
Sat, Jun 27, 2020, 2:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Balance of Terror

You can watch "The Enemy Below" (on which BOT is based) at:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ny6oZED1Hm8

A great movie. I recommend it highly.
Set Bookmark
SouthofNorth
Tue, Jun 23, 2020, 5:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Naked Time

So they get those 3 days over again. Kind of sucks for Joe Tormolen though. You see, if had been part of the main cast, they could have rescued him from the past, however, minor characters get the "He's dead Jim" treatment.
Set Bookmark
SouthofNorth
Mon, Jun 22, 2020, 5:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Arena

C'mon did Sisko say: "I'd love to meet Kirk and talk to him about the time he saved Earth by letting a social worker die?" or "I'd love to meet Kirk and talk him about destroying the Planet Killer?" No! It was: "I'd like to shake his hand, ask him about fighting the Gorn on Cestus Three."

Damn right. The Gorn fight was an epic Star Trek moment for all the right (and wrong) reasons.

4 stars.

Complain to Sisko if you disagree.
Set Bookmark
SouthofNorth
Mon, Jun 22, 2020, 10:15am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Way to Eden

Hippies get their comeuppance? Nothing less than 3 stars from me.

"I'm gonna snap my fingers and jump for joy, I got a clean bill of health of Dr. McCoy"

and Spock's jam session puts it in the 3 1/2 stars range.
Set Bookmark
SouthofNorth
Mon, Jun 1, 2020, 9:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Ethics

2 Stars maybe 2.5. As usual, Trek chickens out on a serious premise and all will be forgotten by next week.
Set Bookmark
SouthofNorth
Mon, May 25, 2020, 9:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Power Play

That concluding scene was just weird.

O'Brien: If I could have killed that thing, I would.
Keiko (to Molly): Ooooo Daddy says he would have killed that thing. Isn't he a GOOD Daddy?

WTF?
Set Bookmark
SouthofNorth
Fri, May 1, 2020, 8:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Violations

When Riker fell asleep halfway through this episode, I thought "Yup, I know how he feels..."
Set Bookmark
SouthofNorth
Wed, Apr 29, 2020, 9:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Hero Worship

I am incapable of hating this episode. I feel nothing for this episode. I note that it was of sufficient minutes to fill its time slot and thus served its main function. But I believe it lacks aesthetic qualities that would merit a more thorough examination of its shortcomings.
Set Bookmark
SouthofNorth
Mon, Apr 27, 2020, 8:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: New Ground

This was almost a 10/10 episode but then they ruined it by saving the kid.

Basic truism: Any ST episode involving Alexander that does not end with him lying dead in a pool of blood is by definition a poor episode.
Set Bookmark
SouthofNorth
Sun, Apr 26, 2020, 9:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Inner Light

I'm pretty "meh" on this episode for one reason: In the end nothing in this episode really mattered to the series. I know it's referenced in a later episode, but really, can anyone point to a concrete change in Picard's character that came out it?

Can you say: "After this episode, Picard was a lot more open and friendly with his officers. He showed a kinder, gentler side." I can't think of any noticeable change in his character.

But if we take the premise of this episode seriously and respectfully, there should have been a MASSIVE change. He just spent something like 30 years living another life. I know that I'm not the same person that I was 30 years ago. That version of me is not ME.

But Picard is still Picard. And that makes this episode not much more significant than an extended stay on the holodeck.
Next ►Page 1 of 4
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.