Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 10 (Showing 1-10)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
someguy
Thu, Mar 7, 2019, 1:07am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: Assignment: Earth

Aside from the pilot for a spinoff series stuff, it seems pretty obvious to me that the goal of this episode was to use Apollo launch footage to profit. This was 1968. That was a big deal. I'm surprised nobody mentioned that.
Set Bookmark
Someguy
Tue, Sep 25, 2018, 11:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Hard Time

Disregard my last comment, I’m dumb, in the words of Lloyd Christmas, “You'll have to excuse my friend. He's a little slow.”. I completely missed the part where Kira tells O’Brien, “What you experienced is an artificial reality, an interactive program that created memories of things that never actually happened.”
Set Bookmark
Someguy
Tue, Sep 25, 2018, 10:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Hard Time

He didn’t chose to hide food, he didn’t choose to draw in the sand and he didn’t CHOOSE to kill his cell mate. All of those were implanted memories meant to screw with him as his punishment. None of it actually existed, I’m not sure why so many that have commented think that he actually made the choice to kill his celly over some scraps of food. He wasn’t in some sort of “choose your own adventure” style prison mindfuck, they made every choice for him(implanted memories!) He does believe it was real and that would be a hard thing to reconcile, but I guess that’s what the counseling is for, to remind him that he didn’t actually do any of the things he remembers from prison.
Set Bookmark
Someguy
Mon, Sep 24, 2018, 11:15am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Little Green Men

This scene really cracked me up, especially Rom’s line. I know I’m in the minority here, but Rom is one of my favorite characters from DS9.

NOG: Nurse Garland, I'm having trouble with my ear again. Could you massage it some more?
GARLAND: Are you sure you don't want a doctor to look at that?
NOG: No. I feel more comfortable with you.
(So he gets some oo-mox.)
NOG: Ah! Much better.
ROM: You know, come to think of it, my ear's bothering me too.
Set Bookmark
Someguy
Fri, Mar 31, 2017, 8:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: The Arsenal of Freedom

On level 4 it still missed its opening shot against Yar and Riker. Giving them time to run and avoid death. They were standing still. Why not actually hit your target the first time? Level 1, 2, 3, or 1,000,000,000 shouldn't matter. Each miss gives your opponent opportunities to learn your weaknesses as well. Like I said, it missed every shot, except the energy field for Riker. If you're trying to sell a 'super' weapon to random folks, you might want to work on the targeting system. I'd be like, "so you missed the first time, why? So you can better learn how not to hit them the second time and third time?"
Set Bookmark
Someguy
Tue, Mar 28, 2017, 10:43am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: The Arsenal of Freedom

I too, like J, was confused about a supposed planet killing weapon that could never hit its target. It missed every shot, except the stupid energy field that trapped Riker. And they just guess that it's saving him for questioning later or was that just the writer's way of saying it could actually hit something? Was the thing programmed to fire warning shots first? Did it intentionally miss so it could give chase, for fun? Not a very efficient demonstration of a weapon you're trying to sell people.
Set Bookmark
someguy
Wed, Oct 12, 2016, 4:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Code of Honor

A man watches this episode and thinks it's crap.
He says to his friend, "It's utter crappilies."
His friend says, "You mean crap don't you?"
The man says, "I said crappilies, diddle I ?"
Set Bookmark
Someguy
Tue, Sep 27, 2016, 7:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Nth Degree

Even though it was a giant floating Rasta Santa head, at least it wasn't Nagilum
Set Bookmark
Someguy
Sat, Sep 17, 2016, 12:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Minefield

If I were the Romulan Captain, as soon as the section of hull was detached I would vaporize it. No impossible shield spin in the vacuum of space, no implausible shuttle bay rescue, no reason to hang around any further. Bye bye, tell your friends to stay away.
Set Bookmark
Someguy
Sun, May 27, 2012, 12:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Balance of Terror

Love your website and your reviews are consistently solid and insightful. In this case, however, I have to disagree with your review! In this episode, we see Kirk at his tactical and command best, revealing why he is a legendary Star Fleet officer. The cat and mouse drama and tesion is superb, with or without a high budget set. The intro to the Romulans sets a foundation for their race that has endured across the Star Trek universe. This episode was, is, and remains CLASSIC Star Trek. Should be at LEAST 3 to 3.5 stars.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.