Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 62 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3
Set Bookmark
Snitch
Fri, Jan 8, 2021, 9:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

This was a disappointing final. I strongly dislike Burnham, making her Captain does not do much for me.

The action part of the episode also was a step down from last episode. I sure was rooting for the green women to kill Burnham though.

General musings about the season:

The world-building this season was just poor. Accept for the Admiral we no nothing about the current federation.

The season started interesting, and some action episode worked, but in general it was just mediocre. I rate it about the same level Picard. Patrick Stewart's poor acting did not help that season either and the main story line was a mess.

The few positive points of the season is that the crew got some screen time and we get to know them better. Book also was a positive, but did not get much to do except being supportive of Saint Burnham, the worthless space Jesus.

The whole transgender angle was superfluous and went nowhere, just woke signalling.

Discovery suffers from bad writing, without a major shakeup I expect not much from next season.

The final gets 1 1/2 Stars from me.
Set Bookmark
Snitch
Wed, Jan 6, 2021, 10:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

@Dave in MN
@Elliot
@Booming

Since all of you have gathered in this thread, let me voice my appreciation for all of your perspectives and contributions to this message board.



@Dave in MN
@Elliot
I enjoy your perspective on the issue of Gender identity. I assume it has been a bigger issues in your life than for straight people and it is interesting to see your view on the Cis and transgender modern interpretations.


@Booming You often remind me of the young Elliot. He was for my taste a bit too edgy and angry, but well educated with a lot insight.

I really appreciate Elliot's recent entries, they are well thought out and not concerned with winning discussions and I value yours and his contribution to this board.

I am a German political scientist living in the US for 20 years, so your political perspective and feedback on Discovery (from a German political scientist in Germany) are quite interesting. I often are tempted responding to your political tangents, but I feel this medium is not good enough to discuss the nuances of American politics and where your German perspective might be off.

Maybe some other place?
Set Bookmark
Snitch
Fri, Jan 1, 2021, 2:50am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: There Is a Tide...

This episode was a lot better than last weeks disastrous outing. I liked the action part and the obvious Die hard reference with the boots gone.

Stamets rant worked for me, even though his kid connection is not earned. They should have just left it with his husband. I am rooting against Burnham so his outrage against her entertained me.

The negotiation was weird. If the Federation is in dire need then a peace deal with the evil chain makes sense. Sometimes justice cannot be served and you have to make peace with murderous racist, e.g. South Africa and the Truth and Reconciliation Commission.

Insisting on a trial of Osyra is just saying "I want the war to continue". Of course Disco is not deep enough to ponder that thought in more detail and went back to she is so evil, she just killed a guy.

The production value of this show is really amazing but they need better writer.

This season once again has been a mess, the Space Hitler detour did not help and not enough world building, and the cause for the burn is a dud.

But this episode at least was entertaining. 3 stars.

PS: The new season of the Expanse is so great, that is how you do multiple Arcs.
Set Bookmark
Snitch
Mon, Sep 14, 2020, 2:02am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

The show is for me worse than Picard or Discovery. While both of those shows suffer from nonsensical plots, Lower Decks is mostly boring. Main character is also like "Savior of the Universe Michael " quite unlikable.
Set Bookmark
Snitch
Thu, Mar 19, 2020, 9:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

That was embarrassing.

One of the major problems is Patrick Stewart's acting. It is pretty bad and the poor writing is not helping.

He is nothing like the TNG-Picard and even in the debate about his impending death he acts totally out of character. Confused old man out in the world.

This series has similar problems to Discovery.

Burnham & Picard are both not compelling characters. I dislike Burnham and I now pity Picard.

I wish we had shows about Seven of Nine and Captain Pike instead.

My rating: One star episode, utter dreck.
Set Bookmark
Snitch
Thu, Mar 5, 2020, 10:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

That was too much nostalgia and exposition for my liking. I looked forward to seeing Troy and Riker again, but this was nostalgia overload. The scenes went on and on just regurgitating the current plot to us, all to be able to stay longer at their house.

Definitely not a fan of the Hugh getting killed by badass badgirl. The Elf's acting is not good and that does not help either.

Rios in this episode also goes full dummy. Agnes pretty much tells him, its me. But no....

As a former smoker, electronic cigarettes have helped me quit, but advertising it in Star Trek as a cool thing to do strikes me as wrong.

I liked both episodes before this one better. I give it 2 stars.
Set Bookmark
Snitch
Sat, Feb 22, 2020, 12:26am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

For me the best Picard episode yet. Finally they are done with the setup and the story moves forward.

Ryan was great, at this point she seems to be a better actor than PS.

The eye gouging seemed unnecessarily gruesome. I also watched one of the those Saw movies recently, reminded me of that.

While killing Icheb was a good storyline to explain the new 7of9 it feeled weird to me to see gore on Star Trek.

7of9 killing the Troi look alike villain, wow. that is quite dark. It also contradicts Picards there is hope theory and makes him look old and foolish. Sure take those laser rifles....

3 stars overall from me.
Set Bookmark
Snitch
Thu, Jan 30, 2020, 6:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Maps and Legends

This episode felt slow and overall was just average. 2 Stars from me.

What bothered me most was the heavy exposition, show don`t tell.
In that context I hated the magic CGI device the the secret society info dump.

The admiral was the usual Star Fleet admiral idiot. Hey Romulans, you would not deceive us, would you, let me tell you all about Picards suspicion. It seems Picards Maid and butler are also total badass former enemy agents. Why did they become servants again?


The good points were Picard still facing his medical problems and having a frank conversation with his doctor about it and in general the production is on the Discovery technical level.

The action with the android attacking was well filmed and directed, bu would have fit better at the start of the first episode, it felt out of place.

The gathering of the new young crew takes quite some time, lets hope they complete that process in the next episode.


@Tim C
During the Dominion war Star Fleet was the equivalent of a military force, they even patrolled on the streets of Earth.
Set Bookmark
Snitch
Fri, Jan 24, 2020, 9:24am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

@R.
"I miss the days where Star Trek could be used a means of examining the nature of our society, the encroachment of technology, spirituality, politics, environmentalism, terrorism, artifical life..."

I am pretty sure the new Picard series is a comment and reflection on the anti-immigrant sentiment of the Trump administration and a call to stand up against those fascist tendencies.

For the first episode it was a good outing, we shall see how the setup continues and how much of main story-line vs adventure of the week the series will provide.
Set Bookmark
Snitch
Thu, Dec 26, 2019, 8:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker

The final movie of the trilogy was entertaining and well done. Everyone in our group of four was entertained. One should not think too much about the story implications of reanimating the Emperor and star killer weapons for every ship. After the disappointing TLJ it was certainly a step up.

The trilogy as a whole did not work, nothing was set up properly and character and plot development was mostly deus ex machina.

The good acting and awesome CGI saved the series from disaster, a bad start for Disney. I would have wished for more of a Ren and Rey focus, both actors were good, but Disney never went anywhere new with them.

I
Set Bookmark
Snitch
Thu, May 23, 2019, 2:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

CBS took down the Star Trek:Picard trailer, but the internet never forgets

https://streamable.com/ad5re

It reveals a bit what happened to Captain Picard since we saw him last.
Set Bookmark
Snitch
Fri, Apr 19, 2019, 10:22am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

The Discovery to never be mentioned and shown again reminded me a bit of the Ending of the Bakula Enterprise. They got the TNG holodeck treatment, none of the Enterprise/Discovery crew mattered , look at TNG/TOS instead, look its Spock and Pike, Riker and Troy!

The action and special effects scenes of the production are certainly top notch, but it seems Discovery is overly reliant on it and neglects basic story telling, especially setups and emotional arcs.

I would have preferred a less on the nose resolution for the gay couple, the doctor has to treat a lot of injured an dying people, it is depressing and heart breaking and at the end of the episode he wanders the corridors in tears, ending up at his former boyfriends door, he rings the door and they just silently embrace. that would be real character development instead of the lazy trope, "Oh you are injured, oh well sure I love you, hold on to your life!"


The writing on the show is just bad. Next season Burnham will fight the "big bad" Kevin Sorbo and his religious fascist following in Star Trek: Andromeda!

She will singlehandedly rebuild the federation (for the first three episodes then to be resolved off screen) and go on to fight the baddies of the day in an action pew pew show. At least action scenes and space battles are a strong point of Discovery.
Set Bookmark
Snitch
Thu, Apr 18, 2019, 10:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

I liked season one about 6 out of 10, the final was weak and the Captain going all ev il was a bit much.

I was optimistic for the first half of season 2, it was pretty good. Then it all fell apart for me.

Unlike the others on here, the final did not work at all. 2 out of 10.

I had to roll my eyes all the time, the killer AI can now be beaten in a fistfight. Saint Burnham saves the universe, I hope I will never see her again on Trek. Why does she have to fly around in her suit, instead of being in a ship. Is it tech tech and plot contrivance?

The end was at least cool. Lets hope Pike and Spock get a show, they were the highlights of this season and Burnham remains lost and never spoken about again. The Empress from the mirror universe is corny as hell, I hope they dont really give her a show too.

Making the Klingon traitor the head of section 31. LOL Who are those idiots?

What a failure.
Set Bookmark
Snitch
Sun, Oct 29, 2017, 11:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad

It was the best Discovery episode yet.

Discovery's strength seems to be more realistic interpersonal relations between flawed characters. The captain is PTSD damaged and guilt ridden with a lot of inner rage, Burnham is a social outcast and emotionally stunted, her roommate is hyperactive, and the doctor likes the spore-weed these days.

The personal interactions on TNG and Voyager always struck me as somewhat fake. DS-9 is a lot better in that regard.

The episode worked thanks to the excellent character development and slick slicing of the temporal bits that they presented, it never got boring.

The only weak point for me was the ending, weird they let Mudd go, was it for continuity sake? Maybe it would be better to ditch all the old stuff, and rewrite Star Trek as needed. It worked well for BSG and it did not hurt the new ST movies.

3 1/2 Stars on the Jammer scale.
Set Bookmark
Snitch
Fri, Oct 27, 2017, 12:12am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Majority Rule

Bad acting, lame social media critique, crew is unprofessional as can be.

The whole comedy angle is really holding back the show .

1 1/2 Stars from me.
Set Bookmark
Snitch
Sun, Oct 15, 2017, 11:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

This was the best Discovery episode yet. It helped they avoided long Klingon subtitles and the resulting boredom. Klingons are the worst part of the new show imo.

The show is a lot darker then I anticipated, but that is not a problem for me. The whole prison ship was just McGuffin to give the crew some more depth, it worked well in that respect.

I don't mind the cussing... I am surprised some Americans are uncomfortable with cussing or nudity. Normal humans cuss a lot, it has always been that way and I foresee no change in the future.

Character development finally happened this episode, which is a great plus. I start to get a sense of who those people are. More of that is needed.

Captain hardass crosses the line quite a lot. I wonder if that will set him up for another mutiny or if they will push the might makes right attitude even further.

The action and production value were all excellent. Makes old Trek look dated.

Michael's role is still weird, the whole mutiny, blamed for the war part is so over the top. I am not sure what they are going for. Her actions do not hold up to close scrutiny, so they might want to cut their losses and let it go.

But overall this was a good episode, 3*** out of 4 from me.
Set Bookmark
Snitch
Wed, Nov 19, 2014, 12:19am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Balance of Terror

If you like this episode I would recommend "The Enemy below"

It illustrates the hide and seek game against submarines, and respecting the enemy and their skill.
Set Bookmark
snitch
Tue, Feb 18, 2014, 12:44am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Tapestry

the moral of the story is that in life you will make mistakes and learn from it and grow up to be a responsible adult. If you never take chances you might live a dull but average life.
Set Bookmark
Snitch
Mon, Oct 14, 2013, 8:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: In the Hands of the Prophets

These kinds of problems with the religious Taliban is still prevalent even in the USA. With Winn they further detail Winn as a perfect villainous character that I always enjoyed.

3 1/2 stars
Set Bookmark
Snitch
Mon, Oct 14, 2013, 8:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Duet

This episode is a masterpiece, 4 stars all around.
Set Bookmark
Snitch
Mon, Oct 14, 2013, 8:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Dramatis Personae

I really like the episode. Odo, Kira and O'Brien make for a fun hour or political intrigue. At least they waited till the end of season on unless TNG to pull this stunt.

3 stars from me.
Set Bookmark
Snitch
Mon, Oct 14, 2013, 8:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: The Forsaken

I always liked Lwaxana on TNG, never got all the dislike from some fans. This episode works in the parts with her and Odo. Most of the other stuff is just filler.

2 Stars
Set Bookmark
Snitch
Mon, Oct 14, 2013, 6:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: If Wishes Were Horses

This episode was not able to bring out a true sense of wonder and or terror, the technobabble did its part to prevent that. Baseball is also terrible to convey anything to me, that game does not have world wide appeal. It was a daring concept but unfortunately it fell short.

1 1/2 Stars
Set Bookmark
Snitch
Mon, Oct 14, 2013, 6:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Progress

This episode makes me miss Ensign Ro, well written but the Kira actress just annoys me and is more bitchy then a rebel. I love the story, and the problem of suddenly have to be the government and force people of the land. That must be hard for a true rebel at heart.

3 1/2 Stars
Set Bookmark
Snitch
Mon, Oct 14, 2013, 6:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: The Storyteller

This new age mumbo jumbo episode with the children leader illogical subplot made me quit watching DS-9 in its original run. It can't be good. The apprentice tries to murder O'Brien and what, nothing. Overall total crap in my book, 1/2 a star.
Next ►Page 1 of 3
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.