Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 52 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3
Set Bookmark
Snitch
Thu, May 23, 2019, 2:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

CBS took down the Star Trek:Picard trailer, but the internet never forgets

https://streamable.com/ad5re

It reveals a bit what happened to Captain Picard since we saw him last.
Set Bookmark
Snitch
Fri, Apr 19, 2019, 10:22am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

The Discovery to never be mentioned and shown again reminded me a bit of the Ending of the Bakula Enterprise. They got the TNG holodeck treatment, none of the Enterprise/Discovery crew mattered , look at TNG/TOS instead, look its Spock and Pike, Riker and Troy!

The action and special effects scenes of the production are certainly top notch, but it seems Discovery is overly reliant on it and neglects basic story telling, especially setups and emotional arcs.

I would have preferred a less on the nose resolution for the gay couple, the doctor has to treat a lot of injured an dying people, it is depressing and heart breaking and at the end of the episode he wanders the corridors in tears, ending up at his former boyfriends door, he rings the door and they just silently embrace. that would be real character development instead of the lazy trope, "Oh you are injured, oh well sure I love you, hold on to your life!"


The writing on the show is just bad. Next season Burnham will fight the "big bad" Kevin Sorbo and his religious fascist following in Star Trek: Andromeda!

She will singlehandedly rebuild the federation (for the first three episodes then to be resolved off screen) and go on to fight the baddies of the day in an action pew pew show. At least action scenes and space battles are a strong point of Discovery.
Set Bookmark
Snitch
Thu, Apr 18, 2019, 10:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

I liked season one about 6 out of 10, the final was weak and the Captain going all ev il was a bit much.

I was optimistic for the first half of season 2, it was pretty good. Then it all fell apart for me.

Unlike the others on here, the final did not work at all. 2 out of 10.

I had to roll my eyes all the time, the killer AI can now be beaten in a fistfight. Saint Burnham saves the universe, I hope I will never see her again on Trek. Why does she have to fly around in her suit, instead of being in a ship. Is it tech tech and plot contrivance?

The end was at least cool. Lets hope Pike and Spock get a show, they were the highlights of this season and Burnham remains lost and never spoken about again. The Empress from the mirror universe is corny as hell, I hope they dont really give her a show too.

Making the Klingon traitor the head of section 31. LOL Who are those idiots?

What a failure.
Set Bookmark
Snitch
Sun, Oct 29, 2017, 11:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad

It was the best Discovery episode yet.

Discovery's strength seems to be more realistic interpersonal relations between flawed characters. The captain is PTSD damaged and guilt ridden with a lot of inner rage, Burnham is a social outcast and emotionally stunted, her roommate is hyperactive, and the doctor likes the spore-weed these days.

The personal interactions on TNG and Voyager always struck me as somewhat fake. DS-9 is a lot better in that regard.

The episode worked thanks to the excellent character development and slick slicing of the temporal bits that they presented, it never got boring.

The only weak point for me was the ending, weird they let Mudd go, was it for continuity sake? Maybe it would be better to ditch all the old stuff, and rewrite Star Trek as needed. It worked well for BSG and it did not hurt the new ST movies.

3 1/2 Stars on the Jammer scale.
Set Bookmark
Snitch
Fri, Oct 27, 2017, 12:12am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Majority Rule

Bad acting, lame social media critique, crew is unprofessional as can be.

The whole comedy angle is really holding back the show .

1 1/2 Stars from me.
Set Bookmark
Snitch
Sun, Oct 15, 2017, 11:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

This was the best Discovery episode yet. It helped they avoided long Klingon subtitles and the resulting boredom. Klingons are the worst part of the new show imo.

The show is a lot darker then I anticipated, but that is not a problem for me. The whole prison ship was just McGuffin to give the crew some more depth, it worked well in that respect.

I don't mind the cussing... I am surprised some Americans are uncomfortable with cussing or nudity. Normal humans cuss a lot, it has always been that way and I foresee no change in the future.

Character development finally happened this episode, which is a great plus. I start to get a sense of who those people are. More of that is needed.

Captain hardass crosses the line quite a lot. I wonder if that will set him up for another mutiny or if they will push the might makes right attitude even further.

The action and production value were all excellent. Makes old Trek look dated.

Michael's role is still weird, the whole mutiny, blamed for the war part is so over the top. I am not sure what they are going for. Her actions do not hold up to close scrutiny, so they might want to cut their losses and let it go.

But overall this was a good episode, 3*** out of 4 from me.
Set Bookmark
Snitch
Wed, Nov 19, 2014, 12:19am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Balance of Terror

If you like this episode I would recommend "The Enemy below"

It illustrates the hide and seek game against submarines, and respecting the enemy and their skill.
Set Bookmark
snitch
Tue, Feb 18, 2014, 12:44am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Tapestry

the moral of the story is that in life you will make mistakes and learn from it and grow up to be a responsible adult. If you never take chances you might live a dull but average life.
Set Bookmark
Snitch
Mon, Oct 14, 2013, 8:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: In the Hands of the Prophets

These kinds of problems with the religious Taliban is still prevalent even in the USA. With Winn they further detail Winn as a perfect villainous character that I always enjoyed.

3 1/2 stars
Set Bookmark
Snitch
Mon, Oct 14, 2013, 8:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Duet

This episode is a masterpiece, 4 stars all around.
Set Bookmark
Snitch
Mon, Oct 14, 2013, 8:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Dramatis Personae

I really like the episode. Odo, Kira and O'Brien make for a fun hour or political intrigue. At least they waited till the end of season on unless TNG to pull this stunt.

3 stars from me.
Set Bookmark
Snitch
Mon, Oct 14, 2013, 8:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: The Forsaken

I always liked Lwaxana on TNG, never got all the dislike from some fans. This episode works in the parts with her and Odo. Most of the other stuff is just filler.

2 Stars
Set Bookmark
Snitch
Mon, Oct 14, 2013, 6:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: If Wishes Were Horses

This episode was not able to bring out a true sense of wonder and or terror, the technobabble did its part to prevent that. Baseball is also terrible to convey anything to me, that game does not have world wide appeal. It was a daring concept but unfortunately it fell short.

1 1/2 Stars
Set Bookmark
Snitch
Mon, Oct 14, 2013, 6:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Progress

This episode makes me miss Ensign Ro, well written but the Kira actress just annoys me and is more bitchy then a rebel. I love the story, and the problem of suddenly have to be the government and force people of the land. That must be hard for a true rebel at heart.

3 1/2 Stars
Set Bookmark
Snitch
Mon, Oct 14, 2013, 6:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: The Storyteller

This new age mumbo jumbo episode with the children leader illogical subplot made me quit watching DS-9 in its original run. It can't be good. The apprentice tries to murder O'Brien and what, nothing. Overall total crap in my book, 1/2 a star.
Set Bookmark
Snitch
Mon, Oct 14, 2013, 6:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Battle Lines

The whole idea of their immortality was full of plotholes. Kira is out of character. The good part is Kai Opaka, having her negotiate more between the sides would have been a better story.
2 1/2 Stars
Set Bookmark
Snitch
Mon, Oct 14, 2013, 6:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Vortex

oh and 3 1/2 Stars from me
Set Bookmark
Snitch
Mon, Oct 14, 2013, 6:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Vortex

This is a great Odo episode, it worked well on that level, the little sister plot was a bit too cute but overall good suspense and entertainment. The irritable alien of the week got total cooperation from the Sisko, what was up with that?
Set Bookmark
Snitch
Mon, Oct 14, 2013, 6:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: The Nagus

It works well for a Ferengi story, what always puzzled me was the fact that Quark would just forgive his brother.

2 1/2 Stars
Set Bookmark
Snitch
Mon, Oct 14, 2013, 6:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Move Along Home

It's bad, like Voyager Thaw, 1 Star from me. I even skipped it on my rerun.
Set Bookmark
Snitch
Sun, Oct 13, 2013, 7:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: The Passenger

Pretty standard body snatcher fare. Good guest stars but van Batten nailed the problems and highlights of this episodes. B-Plot was more interesting. 2 stars.
Set Bookmark
Snitch
Sun, Oct 13, 2013, 7:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Dax

It was a good episode, the mystery was nice, the court scenes dragged a bit. The plight of the widows of military of political heroes was a niche touch but was not investigated enough 2 1/2 Stars
Set Bookmark
Snitch
Fri, Oct 4, 2013, 8:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Q-Less

This episode, except for a few Q one liners was quite boring.

1 1/2 Stars
Set Bookmark
Snitch
Fri, Oct 4, 2013, 7:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Captive Pursuit

I liked the episode, it is O'Brien centric, which usually works.

The Tosk was interesting, but the sergeant neon sign guys were a bit tacky and overpowered.

O'Brien's humanity makes it very Trekky.

3 Stars from me.
Set Bookmark
Snitch
Fri, Oct 4, 2013, 6:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Babel

The first half was indeed quite entertaining O' Brien is excellent in his role.

Rom was redesigned from bumbling fool, to genius bumbling fool.

Quark is still up to no good, funny how the crew loves him so much.

The race against the clock scenario was lame. Keira's kidnapping of the doctor was a nice touch. Antidote found in one hour not so much.

2 stars from me.
Next ►Page 1 of 3
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.