Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all searched results

Total Found: 136 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 6
Set Bookmark
Tim Smith
Mon, Dec 10, 2018, 4:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Friendship One

Regarding Janeway’s final statement that “exploration is not worth millions of lives - or just one.” :

I think Janeway means ‘not worth one life OTHER than those of the explorers themselves’ (since they volunteered to accept the risks).

So the Space Shuttle Columbia breaking up and killing all 7 crew members is not a reason to stop human spaceflight.

But the Space Shuttle Columbia breaking up and killing all 7 crew members PLUS an innocent member of the public (imagine a large piece of wreckage fell on someone) would be a reason to stop.

Not that I agree with the premise myself. People die in accidents every day around the world.
Set Bookmark
Smith
Sun, Dec 9, 2018, 8:04am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Let He Who Is Without Sin...

Not a great episode, but not an awful episode. The relationship banter was formulaic and boring (like most trek relationships). But what did have potential was the "essentialists". If more emphasis was put on them (symbolic of religions fundamentalist/evangelist) this could have been a great show. Something else that would have helped would have been focus on the weather control system its problems. Can you imagine if we had a weather control system today...how many lawsuits and complaints people would have at the slightest of problems?
Set Bookmark
Aaron Smith
Mon, Dec 3, 2018, 7:48am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: The Sword of Kahless

Starts out as a good adventure story, but then devolves into boring quibbling between the crew. With better editing and a b-plot for filler this could have been a great episode.
Set Bookmark
Smith
Sat, Dec 1, 2018, 8:06am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

Not to be a contrarian but I couldn't stand this episode and it is among the worst IMO. The music was excellent as was the camera work, but... The pacing, dialog and energy were very bad. The two guest stars were flat, two-dimensional and talked waaay to slow. The main story was simplistic and backwards looking. Roddenberry trek is about discovery and new ideas...this was emotional indulgence that put character egos ahead of good story. I'm somewhat stunned that this is so popular of an episode.
Set Bookmark
Smith
Thu, Nov 15, 2018, 6:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: Cardassians

Despite good efforts by both the Dukat and Garek actors, this was a weak episode. The kid hated cardassians. That's it. That was his entire personality. Watching such an artificially simplistic character was tough.
Set Bookmark
Smith
Thu, Nov 15, 2018, 6:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: Invasive Procedures

A bit too simplistic. This felt like a cost saving budget effort that didn't work for me. It started good with the take-over, but after that dragged on with one-dimensional story telling. It was pretty much a stranger stealing the symbiont and getting recaptured. No clever twists or interesting details. Also too much boring reminiscing between Sisko and Dax.
Set Bookmark
Smith
Thu, Nov 15, 2018, 6:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: The Circle

The strongest of the three episodes. This finally picked up the pacing which was a serous problem in the prior two episodes.
Set Bookmark
Smith
Thu, Nov 15, 2018, 6:07pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S1: In the Hands of the Prophets

The school storyline was good and Winn was a great character who was well acted. Everything outside of that was pretty boring though.

There is too much of an emphasis on bajorans in this episode. Everything about them from their religion, to their politics, to their obsessions over victimhood and the past was boring and uninteresting.
Set Bookmark
Smith
Thu, Nov 15, 2018, 6:03pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S1: Duet

This episode had some fun twists with the overall story, but the dialog and acting was weak. Too one-dimensional, melodramatic, and backwards looking. Despite some efforts by Marritza, this was a black and white episodes with the Bajorans being simplistic good guys and the cardassians simplistic bad guys.
Set Bookmark
Smith
Thu, Nov 15, 2018, 5:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S1: Progress

By far and away, the worst episode ever of DS9. The pacing was horrendous and and the dialog simplistic. Why did the producers think that constructing a kiln and tenderizing roots would make for an entertaining episode? Also sacrificing an inhabitable moon just to heat a few hundred thousand homes in the winter doesn't seem very efficient.

This story could have been saved by some twists. Perhaps the core-tapping project was a boon-doggle that would end up failing and exposing greedy interests that pushed it.
Set Bookmark
Smith
Thu, Nov 15, 2018, 5:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S1: Emissary

A mediocre episode. The wormhole mystery was fun, but Sisko constantly obsessing about the past and his dead wife was annoying and uninteresting. Good episodes look forwards...not backwards.
Set Bookmark
James Smith
Mon, Feb 12, 2018, 6:08am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

*sigh*

So, we've got Burnham as a full-on Mary Sue. The one true saviour of the Federation's moral code. We've got the whole war arc essentially resolved instantly by handing control of a Big F***ing Bomb™ to one of the enemy. We've got MU Georgiou still in play somewhere for no good reason. And then they cap the episode by showing something that's referred to as the Enterprise but it sure don't look like the Enterprise...

Nope. Sorry. This whole season has been one mis-step after another, and now it's fallen over entirely and faceplanted the ground.
Set Bookmark
James Smith
Mon, Sep 25, 2017, 4:02am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

I tried to like it. I really did. I can deal with the JJ-Trek set design, I figured I could rationalise the Klingon makeup change, I even decided I could live with the ship designs being a) out of place and b) extremely ugly.

But I can't get past the fact that I don't like very many of the characters presented so far, especially Michael Burnham. This isn't a bash on the actress - Sonequa Martin-Green is great, but Burnham is monumentally bone-headed.
Set Bookmark
Smith
Wed, May 24, 2017, 2:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Chain of Command, Part I

A lot of good points brought up about the show.

I would venture to say there is little continuity in Star Trek in general - most shows reset during the next episode with previous events/circumstances rarely brought up later in the series. I've also always had the impression that these episodes were written and spit out quickly under tight time constraints, so that there simply wasn't much time to sit around and think about the past history of characters (and Star Trek history) and how that would play into the present situation.

And of course, the show's entertainment value always trumps logical script-writing as well as any kind of scientific accuracy. That's television.

I would have to disagree that Jellico had an initial 'disdain for Riker'. From the moment he beamed on board, he seemed genuinely excited to work with Riker and the entire crew. It wasn't until he found out that Riker had neglected to carry out a specific request that his entire demeanor changed.

The conflict really seemed to surround the idea that it was Jellico's job to come onboard and immediately start preparing the ship in every possible way for combat. Rather than having outright disdain for anyone, he expected to have every order/request carried out without question, and immediately labeled someone as hostile if they showed any resistance. This may have been a failing on his part, having worked with diffiulct crews in the past during temporary missions, and transposing that hostility onto Riker for simply wanting to discuss the situation with him.

More than anything, it seemed he was expecting that, of all the crews he'd worked with, the flagship would be the easiest, full of top-notch officers who are ready to go above and beyond. When this does not occur (at least not up to his standards), that's when his disappointment begins.

Additionally, the attitudes of the crew certainly got to him as well. For example, rather than complaining and being outraged by the workload, if Geordi had said "Yes sir, I'll get right on that and do the best I possibly can to finish it in time", Jellico probably wouldn't have even cared if the job took longer than scheduled, as long as he knew that the crew had a great attitude and wanted to work hard.

This was why he immediately took so well to Data, and had him follow his run around the ship. It wasn't in Data's nature to complain, and instead simply calculate things coldly (like how long a job takes) without emotion or personal grievances.
Set Bookmark
Smith
Fri, Apr 28, 2017, 8:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The Game

I always liked the obvious implications of "The Game" in modern society......just look around, everyone desperately staring at their smartphones, addicted to the quick highs and instant gratification of texting and games.

The problem with "The Game" is that they should have introduced it much more slowly, just like smartphones, so that by the time people caught on to what was occurring it had already overtaken society's social norms. At that point, it's not only built into the culture but also a 'social status' symbol, because heaven forbid someone catches you NOT looking at your phone and thinks you're unpopular.

Thanks for finally saying it out loud, Outsider65. I think the turbo lift scene basically told us exactly what the game gives people for completing higher levels and giving up control of their own mind. In that sense, it is actually a pretty bizarre scene when Beverly wants her own son to partake of the device.

What I always enjoyed about the episode was Wesley's brilliant play at misdirection, meaning that the entire chase sequence was simply done to give Data enough time to study the device and come up with a cure. I thought this was well written, particularly when it came to Data's entrance onto the bridge when it seemed Wesley was the only normal one left onboard.
Set Bookmark
Smith
Thu, Apr 13, 2017, 2:47pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Chain of Command, Part I

I would say that on an officer level, they are usually transferred sideways to another unit after a promotion, usually because they need to fill a spot open, not because they're afraid of running a unit that they used to be a part of.

On the enlisted side, you run into those problems all the time. You have corporals who become sergeants and are now in charge of people they used to go drink with on the weekends, which is a major problem, and why fraternization has become increasingly against the rules in the modern military.

I agree with your take on the episode - Basically Jellico had high hopes for his tour with the flagship, and you could see the huge disappointment when he realized that certain members of the crew were in fact fighting him as opposed to helping him achieve his battle-ready goals.
Set Bookmark
Smith
Wed, Dec 14, 2016, 2:18pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Chain of Command, Part I

Great points, Flying Squirrel.

Honestly, I don't actually know what modality Starfleet is actually supposed to represent. At one point during DS9 "Homefront", we actually get the notion for the first time that the Federation/Starfleet are two different entities, one representing the government, and the other representing the actual space-bearing military structure.

So I really cannot argue with your idea of a hybrid culture, since we are never presented with a solid foundation of what Starfleet actually represents in its entirety.

Riker is used to having Picard's ear and talking candidly - Now suddenly he gets "I don't want to talk about it, get it done" - It's a drastic change, but these are supposedly battle-ready officers who should be ready to adapt to any command style.

I realize you have to have drama in any given episode, but in reality it just doesn't make since for the crew to show that much resistance to a new command style - and they aren't being told to work their ass off simply out of a difference of style, it is all in preparation for a potential battle, which I would think they would all be on board with.

There is purpose behind everything Jellico is requesting - it's NOT just him being an a-hole.
Set Bookmark
Smith
Tue, Dec 13, 2016, 6:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Chain of Command, Part I

I agree, there really was no reason for Riker to NOT be acting captain.

But at the same time, I was never really in agreement with how butt-hurt the crew was with a new Captain who happens to like things at a faster pace. Jellico was a war officer, who knows how to prepare for battle and is not obsessed with the 'pleasantries' that go along with a peace-based mission.

The crew was taken off guard, because they were used to a more lackadaisical command style from Picard. Boo-hoo, Troi has to wear an official uniform instead of one that shows off her cleavage.

Of course, I actually have military experience, and know what it's like to have the commanding officer interchanged with another, which happens every two years, and with which there is no going back. You either deal with it, or you will have serious problems.

Of course, you'll get no argument from me that the entire episode was bogus. Picard went on a mission, with the support of the stupid bimbo female admiral Nechayev , in which he was sent with the full knowledge and planning of the Cardassian empire. I'm sure in a Federation of 20 billion humans and one can only guess how many alien races, there were probably at least a thousand others familiar with Theta waves who could have gone on the mission instead. Joke.

The episode's main premise seamed devoted to the drama aspect of having a new captain, not providing an actual legitimate reason for Picard to leave the Enterprise.

But who cares......I enjoyed watching Jellico say basically "Stop complaining, get it done" over and over again.

Set Bookmark
Smith
Mon, Dec 5, 2016, 4:58am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The First Duty

That was Nova squadron's punishment right out of the gate.....doors that don't automatically open....
Set Bookmark
Smith
Sun, Dec 4, 2016, 10:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: The Pegasus

Thanks, Chrome.

I'm still not sure if the trade off was worth it - Suffering through 2 hours of a boring, non-sensical script that was an insult to all things TNG just to gain technology already commonplace?

Hell, Janeway already brought them back transphasic torpedoes and armor hull plating before Nemesis even occurred, so that should have been the bigger breakthrough.

Who cares about cloaking with you have an armor hull that no current species in the alpha quadrant can shoot through (except maybe the Sheliak).

Set Bookmark
Smith
Sat, Dec 3, 2016, 2:12pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: The Pegasus

What did the Romulans give up in the treaty?

They promised not to make a crappy movie with a bogus script about a boring clone who looks nothing like Picard, and a band of (somewhat) Romulan misfits who have no reason to be angry at the Federation at all.

Unfortuantely, in 2002 they broke the treaty and the movie got made.

Conclusion: Starfleet can now use cloaking technology whenever they want.
Set Bookmark
Smith
Thu, Nov 24, 2016, 10:30am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The First Duty

"Public opinion would've been on their side IF they were successful"

Yes, that has merit, especially when you go back and listen to all of Boothby's comments about Nova Squadron. Basically, they were considered super-celebrities on campus, so they were betting that the massive celebrating that would ensue would dwarf the one that Boothby talks about when "Nova Squadron won the Rigel cup", and this would put enormous pressure on the faculty to be lenient.

Whether that would actually happen or not is debatable, especially when you see what a hard-lined approach Admiral Brand took.

It was a gamble, and Locarno (as well as the others) may have been caught up in their own fame, and thought they could get away with almost anything. Wesley even alluded to this during his final speech to the inquiry: "We thought we could do anything".




Set Bookmark
Smith
Thu, Nov 24, 2016, 12:33am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The First Duty

I agree with Trajan's comment, thank you for finally pointing that out.

To me, this is a huge fallacy in the story. What was the plan if Nova Squadron HAD successfully completed the Kolvoord Starburst?

Everyone acts as if they would suddenly all be given a free pass as long as the maneuver was successful. As Picard put it: "Locarno would graduate a living legend".

But wait a minute - They all knowingly engaged in a highly dangerous and illegal flight maneuver. They all knowingly lied and filed a fraudulent flight plan.

Why would the academy ever let them fly again after a stunt like that? Their flight privileges would be revoked permanently, and they would have severe reprimands placed on their permanent records, which would follow them around everywhere. Good luck getting a captain to trust one of them at the helm of a ship after that.

Basically, it would have ruined their flight careers, their team would be disbanded, and Locarno might not have even been allowed to graduate at all.

So was it really worth it?

Chrome stated: "If the maneuver could have been performed safely in the 24th century, it may have shown Starfleet that the rule was obsolete".

Okay - They might eliminate the rule in the future, but that has no bearing on the present, where Nova Squadron willingly disobeyed a standing regulation that banned the maneuver.

As others stated, I also wondered where Troi was during this entire episode. Even non-betazoids could see that they were hiding something. Troi would have known instantly that they were all lying, and a great scene would have been Troi coming to Wesley's room and having a heart to heart discussion with him.
Set Bookmark
Smith
Tue, Oct 11, 2016, 1:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Sub Rosa

I think most newcomers simply read a few comments from the top, and then scroll to the bottom and post something. I would bet that there are few that have the patience to read through the entire forum.

That being said, I agree with Robert. Don't feed the trolls.

Peace.
Set Bookmark
Smith
Sat, Oct 1, 2016, 4:38pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Future Imperfect

The most GLARING plot hole (in my opinion) was Worf still being just a helmsman after 16 years.

Yes, someone else mentioned that many of the officers should have gone on to other things by now, but Worf's position was by far the most ridiculous, unbelievable part of this story.

Really? SIXTEEN years of additional Starfleet duty and Worf is still just a helmsman? And Riker doesn't even have one single reaction to it except to pat his chair when he sees him for the first time? That should made him very suspicious right away.

That was extremely lazy by the writers, as was the fact that they must have blew all their money on the futuristic Sick Bay set - so much so that they left the Enterprise bridge virtually unchanged with no advancements whatsoever.

I get that it's all supposed to be a fantasy created for him - but if Riker's mind gave him a futuristic Sick Bay, why not the rest of the ship including his quarters?

Was it really so hard to believe that Data could finally use the word "Can't" after sixteen years? (this was an idiotic idea from the start of the series - Data can use complex words in a poem about his cat, but is unable to use contractions??)

Also, the fact that the boy called the Romulan "Ambassador Tomalak" was extremely trivial, and shouldn't have been the event that smashed the house of cards. For all Riker knew, Tomalak had the boy call him that all along in case they needed to use him later. Again, just trivial.

I also liked how Riker saw Minuet perfectly a couple times in the video and had no reaction to it - but then the final time, he finally reacts to it..... And why the hell would it pick Minuet instead of Diana? Diana was actually real and IN HIS LIFE every single day. You would think she would have been much more prominent in his mind than a holodeck fantasy from years past....

You'd think they'd send an away team down at the end to take advantage of the advanced alien technology the boy used the whole time. But don't get me started on new technology suddenly being forgotten.....like Voyager returning home with transphasic torpedoes and armor hull plating, yet it's no where to be seen in Star Trek Nemesis. Lazy ass writers.....

All in all it's still a fun episode to watch. However, when you watch these things over and over again, you can't help but notice all of the errors and inconsistencies.

Lastly, this must have been a fun episode for Geordi. Levar Burton often said in interviews that it was a pain in the ass trying to walk around with the visor on, which he could barely see through. At least he got a break for a couple scenes.

Next ►Page 1 of 6
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.