Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 42 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Tue, Jun 18, 2019, 11:40am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Macrocosm

@Silenus: Right on!

My thoughts:

I'm a huge fan of 90's b-action movies, especially if it takes place in a sci-fi setting. Some of them I actually consider to be personal film favorites of all time (Project Shadowchaser, Trancers, Dark Side of the Moon to name a couple).

Naturally, there also exist a bunch of them which quite frankly stink, and when I watch "Macrocosm" I see the exact same elements which cause those movies to suck: repetitive environments, boring enemies, lame action scenes ... all this in a cliché deluxe package, including techno-babble and Neelix.

I'm tempted to bust out the zero, but alas, how could I give anything, which features Janeway in a tank top blasting alien scum, anything less than 1 star?
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Mon, Jun 17, 2019, 4:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Coda

This does what many VOY episodes have done so far: it forces you to watch a painfully mediocre story, with scenes bordering on snoozefest, for the first 2/3 or 3/4 of the episode.

Then it surprises you with a top notch if not brilliant last 10-15 minutes, often thanks to a clever twist and/or intriguing element in combination with Janeway kickin' ass.

Still, there are many episodes better than this one, which I would probably skip if I would ever do a rewatch (God forbid!).

1,5 Stars.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Thu, Jun 13, 2019, 1:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: False Profits

The 0,5 star is for:

"Expand or die." (Rule 95)

"When the messenger comes to appropriate your profits, kill the messenger." (Rule 257)

Plus the unofficial stuff which, if nothing else, were wholly entertaining.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Thu, Jun 13, 2019, 1:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Warlord

Standing in the shadow of Lien's splendor, it's easy to forget the rest. But let us also remember that Mulgrew is on point with her Bad-ass Janeway in this one. The story reminded me of an Elizabethan revenge tragedy.

3 Stars.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sat, Jun 8, 2019, 4:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Sacred Ground

@David H (Tue, Jun 4, 2019)
Agreed.

Very clever writing. Overall the portrayal could've been more entertaining, but I really like how the story wraps it up; ending in a most eloquent and stimulating way. On the contrary to most comments I believe, with exception of Neelix's presence, it was anything but meaningless, especially for Janeway.

A solid 3 star rating.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sun, Jun 2, 2019, 11:45am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: False Profits

I love Janeway.
I love the Ferenghi (thanks to DS9).
I hate this episode.

0,5 Star.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sun, Jun 2, 2019, 6:43am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Nemesis

Dimitris Kiminas and Dirk Hartmann nailed everything that bugged me about this movie.

All in all, a Star Trek movie for people who don't watch Star Trek.

0,5 Star.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sun, Jun 2, 2019, 6:35am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: First Contact

I never liked episodes that features distorted timelines et.al., as they mostly use the element of time to create whatever scenario they want without having to bother with explanations. Therefore one can imagine my great disappointment when it in the beginning of First Contact turns out that the Borg has time travel technology.

"just before it explodes, the Borg cube launches a smaller sphere which creates a "temporal matrix" that allows it to travel back to the latter half of 21st century"

Come again? Time travel technology which they for some reason only use as a last resort to get away from Enterprise AND at the same time to assimilate Earth one day before humanity makes first contact with the Vulcans.

This plot alone is not very intelligent, but it's the best we get in this mess; because the rest is basically the rest of the crew trying to convince this alcoholic dimwit that they have to fly his ship as planned(?). The scenery is nice, but why the film makers decided to depict Cochrane and Co. as some hillbillies in a Mad Max-style commune - which a part from the first space ship that can transcend light speed only houses a giant juke box and some bar stools - is beyond me.

Meanwhile, Picard spends an eternity on a Borg infected Enterprise, going from the identical room to the next, either executing assimilated crewmen or tinkering with some circuits.

The Borg queen starts out as an interesting villain, but rather quickly descends to something all too human. The interaction with her and Data is at first quite intriguing, but after a while it seems pointless. It doesn't seem plausible that Data can be converted to a human; and I fail to see the ultimate purpose behind it.

As a long time fan of the series it's heartbreaking to see one of the most enigmatic and iconic villains in sci-fi history be portrayed as something which not correspond with earlier characterizations. Being able to destroy the Borg cube so easily, the Borg queens human like persona and their (new found) ability to travel in time are all things that frankly disrespects what the series established.

It sure looks good, especially the animations in space and the interior of the Enterprise. They also really made an extraordinary effort with the make-up and costumes. The music and sound effects are also of high quality.

However, it's neither convincing, captivating nor, in the end, very entertaining.

1,5 Stars.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sat, Jun 1, 2019, 3:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Insurrection

Definitively the best of the TNG films. The pace and delivery of the story was excellent. The bad guys were great in that they started out as an ally, but slowly evolved to end up as these deranged freaks (I love it when a stream of blood pours down from a crack in Ru'afos forehead). However, in classic Star Trek fashion, one of them however, returns to his parents, thus adding nuance to a palette which is very back and white in the other (TNG) movies.

As many have pointed out, it feels like an good old episode. Personally, I welcome this, seeing as the best episodes of Trek are among the best entertainment the world has seen.

3 solid stars.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Thu, May 23, 2019, 12:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Squire of Gothos

Very enjoyable, mostly because of Campbell's extremely solid acting.

3 Stars.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Tue, May 21, 2019, 2:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Galileo Seven

Brian S. nailed what was going through my mind most of the episode.

Solid one, but nothing that will stick in my mind for particularly long, I bet.

2,5 Stars.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Wed, May 15, 2019, 11:56am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: The Thaw

Since they already knew that fear was an issue, they should've at least considered sending Tuvok to the clown.

Apart from that, this episode absolutely blew me away. Twisted and unique; it had me on the edge of my seat the whole time.

I tip my hat.

4 Stars
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Tue, May 14, 2019, 2:30am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Deadlock

@Sketchy
Thank you for that comprehensive list of technobabble terms. The Viidian take over was by far the highlight of this episode, but it only lasted for about 10 minutes. The rest was almost painfully boring - then again, I've never been a fan of the time shift/dimensional/parallell universe ep's.

1,5 Stars.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Mon, May 6, 2019, 4:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Investigations

Sloppy writing aside, this episode turned out to be quite entertaining. Neelix managed not to be irritating, Seska shined and the Doctor nearly stole the show! I also loved Janeway's impeccable delivery of the line "Fire at will" at the end. Unfortunately Paris still annoys me, and I would have liked to see Tuvok and Chakotay not being utterly useless. Jonas was a big waste of a character.

2,5 Stars.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Thu, May 2, 2019, 3:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Dreadnought

We get the same basic plot in DS9's "Civil Defense", only this time it isn't nearly as interesting.

2 Stars, but only barely.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Thu, May 2, 2019, 12:02am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Meld

There's something about dark and bad ass trek stories that always gets to me.

4 Stars. Easy.

PS. "I love the fact that Tuvok has a "Kill Neelix" hologram program, though I suspect it's part of the ship's general library for any crew member to use."
Great comment XD
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Wed, May 1, 2019, 1:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Threshold

4 things that were quite enjoyable in this episode.

-"I don't know how I'm going to enter this into the log."
"I look forward to reading it."

"Can you wake him? "
" Of course. WAKE UP, LIEUTENANT! "

"Here lies Thomas Eugene Paris, beloved mutant... Beloved radioactive mutant. "

"... Neelix's coffee."
" It's a wonder he's survived. "
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Thu, Apr 25, 2019, 12:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Prototype

Excellent episode. Sure, some dialog where somewhat lame/lazy, but the story was captivating and well directed. Stop nit picking', h8rs.

3 solid stars.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Tue, Apr 23, 2019, 10:37am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Resistance

A stellar story. Out of all the captains in the previous series I like Janeway the most, in this episode she is at her best. Very moving.

4 stars.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sat, Apr 20, 2019, 2:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Tattoo

Consider, if you will, that at the time this episode aired, the idea of ancient aliens wasn't as prevalent in pop culture as it is today.

Those who have actually looked into the myths of indigenous (american) cultures know that the they feature the basic story of this episode i.e. people coming down from the skies and interacting with them.

The fact that they mention the mainstream understanding of life as evolving from one single organism as a "pretty much proven fact", gives the story way more weight than just a simple analogy for imperialism as many here seem to view it.

Ingredients like symbology and destiny, not to mention the extremely entertaining b-story, makes this one a stellar episode and the first VOY that gets 4 stars from me.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Fri, Apr 12, 2019, 6:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Non Sequitur

The premise is good and actually has a lot more potential than was explored in this ep. What if he switched places with the Kim belonging to the alternative timeline? They should really have included one more character who'd been misplaced - at least Paris - but no.

Instead it falls rather flat. Harry Kim is annoyingly incompetent in adapting to the situation. Instead of playing along (and spend some quality time with his fiancée he hasn't seen for months) and ease his way out of the problem, he incomptetently messes everything up way more than necessary.

The fact that he completely lacks personality doesn't help. Luckily Paris has one drink too many and decides to give it all he got anyway.

1 Star.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sun, Mar 31, 2019, 9:26am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Elogium

Until now I haven't had too much of a problem with Neelix. Unfortunately he started to annoy me in S1"Jetrel"; and in this one it only gets worse. Too bad actually, because when he sticks to being somewhat in the background he more often than not gives the show some well needed comic relief.

For some reason Chakotay has been watered down in this and the last few episodes. Many times now I have thought to myself "he used to be a maquis leader - really?". I mean who was that guy punching another starfleet personel in the mess hall recently?

At least one can always count on Janeway.

Not much of interest in this episode. Won't return to it ever.

One star.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sat, Mar 30, 2019, 5:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Jetrel

Strong episode with a few issues holding it back.

I. The actor playing Jetrel did an overall great job but unfortunately blew it at two crucial occasions, one being "I have mreonia, I will be dead in a few days" and the moment he takes his last breath after Neelix forgives him. Both instances dampened the potential power of respective scene.

II. Albeit, some moments caused tears, it eventually got tiresome hearing Neelix mentioning Talax again and again.

Some people are provoked by Kes talk with Neelix about forgiveness. I find the scene brilliant. It goes in line with the harmonious (and boring) nature of Kes, as well as giving Neelix humbleness and intelligence by seeing and accepting the points Kes brings up - after all, she is right.

I don't like half stars so I'll give it a 3. And maybe it deserves it, after all, if it caused tears...
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Tue, Mar 19, 2019, 9:25am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Emanations

Janeway steals the show in the last 2 minutes of the episode. Just remarkable. The first tear jerker in VOY for me.

3 Stars!
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sun, Feb 24, 2019, 7:03am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Inter Arma Enim Silent Leges

@Chrome

Very well put, Sir!
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.