Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 71 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sun, Oct 13, 2019, 4:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Equinox, Part II

The first part was pretty good, the second part, however, is magnificent.

Mostly thanks to Mulgrew, who is absolutely ravishing as dark Janeway. The interplay between her and Chakotay also added an interesting dynamic to the duo (although I can't for the life me understand why anyone would disobey Janeway).

Also, Savage does an excellent job as Equinox's Captain. I thoroughly enjoyed the Doctor without the ethical subroutine as well, reminded me of the great movie "The Dentist".

4 Stars, thanks to the Janeway factor.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Fri, Oct 11, 2019, 3:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Warhead

I have to admit I'm somewhat perplexed over the negative opinions that many seem to have about "Warhead".

I thought it was an interesting story, beautifully filmed and with strong performances by all - except Picardo. He was too similar to the Doctor, should've switched it up a bit more. I loved the sounds the warhead made to communicate btw.

3 very solid stars.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Tue, Oct 8, 2019, 2:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: 11:59

If Henry Janeway would only have been played by a more suitable actor this would've been a total slam dunk. With that said, this is a super cozy VOY episode and a welcome breath of fresh air (just like the previous episode).

After half a dozen more or less forgettable episodes in the middle of season 5, I'm really glad things are shaping up just as we are nearing the end.

Things I liked about 11:59:
-Mulgrew once again giving a grandiose performance. She really is the pillar of Voyager.
-"Ferengi talk about Wall Street as if it were Holy Ground."
-That out of focus "Fish Tales" pinball machine in the background at the pub.
-Harry Kim's family story.
-Neelix theorizing about 7of9.5
-The NYE feeling.

Things I didn't like:
-Neelix and Paris battle of useless earth trivia.
-Paris being a human encyclopedia of Mars projects from the 1970's 'til current Star date. (really? wtf)

3 Solid stars.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Mon, Oct 7, 2019, 10:04am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Juggernaut

I really like B'Elanna. Too bad the story is just an extremely lame version of Alien.

1 Star.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sat, Oct 5, 2019, 12:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: The Fight

I liked it. So shoot me.

It was quite enjoyable to see Beltran flipping out again and again, a fresh take on the ordinary, often sleepy Chakotay. A big plus for the evil Doctor =]

3 Stars.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sun, Sep 29, 2019, 9:30am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Gravity

The idea of seeing Tuvok dealing with emotions both historically and present is not bad. However, the premise, writing and casting are just way off in this one. Tim Russ excellent performance is the only thing keeping this episode from belonging in the trash.

1 Star, barely.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sun, Sep 29, 2019, 9:24am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Bride of Chaotica!

Extremely well done episode, which balanced comedy, ingenuity and action drama in a quite remarkable way.

Would've loved to see the Delaney Sisters as well as more of Tuvok and the Doctor. But that's the only things holding it back.

3 solid stars.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sat, Sep 21, 2019, 9:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Latent Image

I wholly enjoyed the first third of it. It had an aura of thriller to it, which later turns to a character drama with some intriguing philosophical dialogues. It's all very good, but I can't help wishing that the episode would've been of a more sinister kind.

3 Stars
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sun, Sep 15, 2019, 11:39am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Counterpoint

That kiss is one of the most beautiful moments in Trek history. And that last shot ...

4 Stars. A perfect episode.

PS. The end did NOT feature Tuvok on the bridge.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Tue, Sep 10, 2019, 3:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Living Witness

Beltran as Evil Chakotay is worth the watch alone.

4 Stars.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Tue, Sep 10, 2019, 3:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Infinite Regress

Jeri Ryan did a wonderful job with all the fragmentary characters; the Ferengi impersonation was my favorite. The alien of the week a.k.a species 6339 was a bit of fresh air as well. Their suites were very cool - I hope we get to see them again.

The rest was moderately entertaining. OK episode, but would probably skip during a re-watch.

2 Stars.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Tue, Sep 10, 2019, 1:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Timeless

What the f*ck were you smoking Jammer?
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Tue, Sep 10, 2019, 12:06am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Timeless

Criminally overrated episode. Couldn't wait for it to be over.

0,5 Star. Would never re-watch.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sun, Sep 8, 2019, 4:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Once Upon a Time

Sure, there were some good moments and beautiful shots, but in the end it felt like two B/C plots stitched together. Janeway was seen from one of her best sides all while Neelix got some further depth. Most felt like filler though.

1,5 Stars.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sun, Sep 8, 2019, 7:24am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Extreme Risk

Very strong episode with a top notch performance by Roxann Dawson. When I started watching VOY I would never have guessed that B'Elanna would become one of my favorite characters, but just as Kira grew on me in DS9, the chief engineer is impressing me more and more for every season.

People have been on and on in the comments about the lack of follow up in VOY. Janeway's irrational sides, the failed response from B'Elanna and Chakotay about the maquis extinction etc.. In the last three episodes we get excellent angles dealing with those issues. To some, however, it's not enough...
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sat, Sep 7, 2019, 11:22am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Drone

Great episode! Although I like the precious "Night" better, this one certainly had a lot of entertaining elements including a great guest star, amazing make up and effects, and a thrilling story which had you (kind of) guessing 'til the end.

What I find curious is the sudden appearance of a Borg SPHERE. Did I miss something or have the collective suddenly developed a new model of ships? As the crew seem astonishingly blasé about it when it appears, I am leaning to the former.

On another note, I've noticed that the better VOY gets, the more bitter the comments. H8rs gonna h8, I guess....
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Tue, Sep 3, 2019, 12:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: One

Just like "Demon", it is, in its entirety, wholly uninteresting.

Half a star for both.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Mon, Aug 26, 2019, 4:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: The Killing Game

Oh, and when Tom asked Harry "If Betty Grable came around that corner, what part of her would you be staring at?"

It would have been absolutely brilliant if he would've answered "I'm gay."
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Mon, Aug 26, 2019, 12:13am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: The Killing Game

@Trek fan: Thank you, you nailed it.

It's funny how some call this 'too unrealistic' when an episode where Kes aged backwards in random short leaps in an alternative time line gets high praise.

3 Stars.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Fri, Aug 23, 2019, 10:41am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Message in a Bottle

"But when did the Doctor have sex?"

Well he did have a romantic relationship in an earlier season. Plus, he has access to the holodeck just like every body else. But I would imagine that he mostly tried it out to see what it was like, in general he seems very asexual.

Regarding the episode: it was entertaining and had a fair share of interesting ingredients, but in the end left me somewhat underwhelmed. Kudos to Andy Dick though, I was afraid it was going to get cringe-y, but he pulled it off satisfactory. I look forward to more Hirogen action; from the little we saw they look like a very promising villain.

2 Stars.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Tue, Aug 20, 2019, 11:55am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Waking Moments

This one combines elements from two classic TNG episodes: "Schisms" and "Frame of Mind", and to that adds it's own spice in form of a Peak Performance Voyager crew. Needless to say it's a slam dunk.

There's not much to complain about really, the story is super solid and keeps on unfolding most elegantly 'til the very end. Mixing in comic relief and action perfectly in what otherwise is a dark and sinister plot. I for one don't think it's very important to have the aliens motive spelled out for the audience - in "Schisms" nobody cared, albeit it was a more mysterious tone to those aliens, but still.

David Bell's music does sound extremely alike his DS9 arrangements, but if it works, it works. I would also like to point out one of the main highlights of this episode, namely the absolutely BEAUTIFUL photography. There were so many gorgeous frames in "Waking Moments" that I lost count half-way in. Even if you don't like this episode it is certainly worth a re-watch just for the shots.

When I watch this I fall in love with Voyager. No way this gets less than 4 shining stars.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sat, Aug 17, 2019, 7:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Concerning Flight

Silly, but all things considered not too bad. Two things stood out enough to make it a bearable one:

i. Tuvok claiming to be from Scandinavia.

ii. Janeways parable of a small bird and its relation to human intellect.

2 Stars.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Mon, Aug 12, 2019, 1:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Year of Hell, Part II

The story is pure BS. The rest is smashing. Kurtwood Smith is a treat, Tuvok too and Mulgrew ... WOW!!!

3,5 Stars.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sun, Aug 11, 2019, 1:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Year of Hell, Part I

I've said it before and I'll say it again: time distortion/alternative timeline-stories annoys the cr*p out of me. In this episode we get a shining example of how messed up it easily gets.

On the positive side everything else is really good in "A Year of Hell Part 1". Mulgrew is on such a level that she alone makes it worth the watch. Bravo!
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sun, Aug 11, 2019, 9:42am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Revulsion

The premise has plenty of potential, but unfortunately we end up with a result that could've been more.

As some have already pointed out, the story and the distressed hologram should've been written/played with more subtleness - I believe it could've been up there with the best, was it more a psychological thriller instead of a classic slasher.

I also agree that the over-eager Doctor in the beginning didn't fit well with the no-f^cks-given Doc in the second half.

A part from that it's a very solid episode with no real weak spots. The B'Elanna/Tom relationship is being handled very satisfactory, both actors with terrific performances that add nuance to respective character.

3 Stars, so far season 4 is killing it.
Next ►Page 1 of 3
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.