Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 109 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 5
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sat, Jan 11, 2020, 11:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: The 37's

Oh, and Blue alert (!)
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Thu, Jan 9, 2020, 11:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: The 37's

Thank you Carmen, for putting down my thoughts in such and eloquent way.

Rewatched this yesterday and kept wondering why it had qualified to my list. Apparantly it was that end scene.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Thu, Jan 9, 2020, 12:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Repentance

I didn't want to comment on this episode as I find it somewhat mediocre; but instead I would like to comment on the comments, in particular those who support the death penalty.

1. Statistics prove that the death penalty does not deter people from committing violent crimes. This is a fact, nothing to argue about.

2. Innocent people have been, and are continuing to be, executed because of wrongful convictions. Fact.

3. Executions (in the USA at least) often cost more tax money than a life time in prison. Once again, fact, nothing to argue about.

4. How can you execute somebody without committing murder yourself?

5. We as humans decide how much a human life is worth. Why would you decide that a human life is fundamentally disposable? This is deliberately giving your own life less value. How can we as humankind hope to one day reach the stars if we do not first start seeing all life, not the least ourselves, as sacred?

Ultimately it's not political, but rather a philosophical question with some solid facts to boost.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Thu, Jan 9, 2020, 12:07am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: The Doomsday Machine

By the way, I'm watching TOS for the first time (yeah I know in 2020, sic!) and unfortunately the batch I have only feature the re-mastered versions with CGI. So far I've preferred the original version for every episode (I'm comparing with clips on YT), but "The Doomsday Machine" might very well be the first one which actually looks better with the new graphics. For one, the scale of the ships has been greatly improved.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Wed, Jan 8, 2020, 11:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: I, Mudd

Have to concur with all of you who liked this episode - it was 50 minutes of good entertainment!

The last 15 minutes is handsomely executed by the whole cast. And in general it was nice to see Uhura getting more screen time as well as hearing Chekov delivering yet another outrageous Mother Russia line, "This place is even better than Leningrad!" XD

Mudd is actually a somewhat likeable character thanks to Roger Carmel's pompous portrayal; and even though it was meant to be funny, I couldn't shake the feeling that it indeed was inhuman to leave him on the planet with 500 nagging wife androids. Uncharacteristically cruel punishment by Kirk & co.

II I/II of IV
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Tue, Jan 7, 2020, 2:13am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: The Doomsday Machine

A great one for sure. But where was Uhura? =[
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Tue, Jan 7, 2020, 2:03am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: The City on the Edge of Forever

It is, if you misunderstand it.

If you actually read through all my comments on this episode, my arguments are quite clear. However, I regret that there's nothing I can do to keep someone from falsely interpret them into being specifically about, for example, the H-Bomb.

Have a good one, Chrome =]
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sun, Jan 5, 2020, 1:05pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: The City on the Edge of Forever

@Chrome

I didn't say glorify, I said justify. There's a huge difference, and my point still stands; the main premise of the story is that a peace movement must not be allowed to happen, so that America can get involved in WW2 etc..

One can argue endlessly about Americas role in WW2, but no one can deny the absolute atrocity of detonating a nuclear bomb over a civilian city, not once, but twice.

P.S. There's no way to know if Kirk actually saved Edith from death the first time. Either he didn't, and the choice of saving her was more a feeling than anything else, or he did, which implies she would've died in an accident sooner or later anyway.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sun, Jan 5, 2020, 7:22am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Lineage

Most have already been said and for once I'm in complete agreement with Jammer who's review is exceptionally perceptive and well written.

Roxann Dawson is shining in an episode which, as some comments mention, must (partly) have just happened to tie everything together just perfectly, regarding Torres character. And thank God for that, because when I see this, I can't help but LOVE Voyager.

A masterful piece of not only VOY but Star Trek in general.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sat, Jan 4, 2020, 1:50am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S1: Eye of the Needle

A superb episode with no real weak points.

Beautiful and with absolutely splendid acting, especially from Mulgrew.

4 Stars, easy.


I actually re-watched this just before I watched S7 "Shattered", and I gotta say, they do an impressive job imitating their S1 renditions.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Fri, Jan 3, 2020, 10:21am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Flesh and Blood

Janeway has been prejudice against holograms throughout the whole series; as the Doc even points out in the episode "You wouldn't even be considering this if they were flesh and blood." - I ask you, is this not true?

This would explain the lack of punishment in the end; albeit, it would probably be upsetting to some of the other members of the crew.

Great, great writing though, and magnificently executed by actors, directors and camera men. I got the feeling the writers kind of went above their head in the end, having trouble tying it all together in an elegant fashion. Nevertheless, superb Trek.

Pretty darn close to 4 Stars.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Fri, Jan 3, 2020, 7:20am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: The City on the Edge of Forever

@Chrome

"The second is that peace is not the correct path towards freedom. "

Sure I get it, I just don't find the representation of the idea intellectually stimulating nor convincing. But then I also find the idea rather lackluster from a philosophical point of view.

Nowhere in the story, does one get the feeling that Kirk has a choice, because in the end, he is "forced" to do a sacrifice that has already been made. There's no real alternative to consider. Also the amount of time Kirk spends with Edith is too short for them to form a deep emotional bond with each other.

In short: I don't like time travel episodes, I don't care too much about the shallow premise and I don't find the relationship convincing; and the sacrifice the least bit surprising. Plus I'm not too fond of the aesthetics.

Therefore my II ouf of IV remains. Scratch your head if you want, I'm doing the same to all the top ratings out there.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Wed, Jan 1, 2020, 2:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Nightingale

I'm sad there weren't more episodes like this in VOY, because it really is a character development plot with highly convincing elements. A classic journey, driven by gut feeling and ideals; haunted by flaws that has to be overcome for the success of the mission.

Seeing Harry pulling himself together after some pretty serious incidents was believable and quite impressive. Have to admit that I got a tad disappointing not seeing any holodeck rock climbing (they teased about it 2 times!), which I feel would have added to the otherwise rather bleak b-story.

Anyway, seeing as I was quite amused through the whole episode - with it's exciting twists keeping the viewer guessing - it's in order to award it with some praise.

3 Solid ones
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Tue, Dec 31, 2019, 9:21am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: The Apple

I totally get the scorn this ep gets, but I have to say, I really, really enjoyed this one.

First of all: it is absolutely beautiful! The backgrounds, props (Vaal is sooo cool) and camera angles, make "The Apple" nothing less than an absolutely a treat to the eye.

Second: The dialogue and interplay with the actors is on point, at least when it comes to pure entertainment. The discussion between the Yeoman, Kirk, Bones and Spock, about sexual reproduction as they do their best to not actually mention sex, is just hilarious and brilliantly acted out. Kirk firing Scotty at first felt strange, but when the episode ends with Kirk quickly spurting out "Scotty you are rehired!" I couldn't help but laugh out loud - and there was small humorous elements like that in most of the dialogue throughout.

I also loved the scene when the landing party gets ambushed and the Yeoman kicks ass; plus the one where Akuta demonstrated for his fellow men how to crush somebodies skull with a "stick" - just great stuff. By the way, the red shirt death count sets a new record in this one I think.

The last scene where Kirk implies that Spock looks like the devil felt like an unnecessary cop out though. Spock is 100% right, Enterprise interfering with the Vaal society is one of the clearest breaches against the Prime Directive in Trek history.

Having watched through VOY and checked the comments for almost everyone of the episodes here on Jammers Reviews, it is unbelievable how much hate Janeway gets for "breaking the PD" when Kirk basically shatters the core of an alien society in every other episode.

3 Solid Stars for "The Apple"
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Fri, Dec 27, 2019, 11:00am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Inside Man

IMHO some of the best TNG episodes are those featuring Barclay. But everytime he shows up in VOY (his first appearance excluded), I get this uneasy feeling.

Because it's always the exact same thing: he gets obsessed, his boss loses his patience, Troi offers some psychoanalysis ... Not exactly the stuff of legends; albeit, always at the least watchable.

In "Inside man" they changed it up a bit, so that it at least didn't feel like a complete recycle. A part from making the mistake of choosing TNG Type Ferengi instead of the DS9 counterpart, they added enough to make it fresh and enjoyable. The imitations by the Barclay for example: that Janeway impersonation was spot on. Troi did not only had better lines, but seeing her on the beach was quite a welcome change of milieu, if I may say so.

I'm a bit disappointed however, that we still haven't seen the Doc play golf.

2,5 Stars.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Fri, Dec 27, 2019, 10:14am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Critical Care

"--The ep has a main theme though, that is not so political, about ethics and frustration and what's ok to do." -Springy

Well said.

Overall an enjoyable episode with a well thought out script. Still left me a bit unmoved, maybe because the story's main philosophical question was a bit over exposed and lacked certain refinement.

2-2,5 Stars I guess.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Fri, Dec 20, 2019, 6:23pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Repression

Of all the damn episode reviews on this homepage, VOY's "Repression" has the comment section turning into a myriad of communism vs. capitalism essays.

Makes as much sense as the episode.

1 Star.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Tue, Dec 17, 2019, 5:01am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Imperfection

"Whyyyy does Janeway never delegate her responsibilities?"by Kevin S.

Because, as you said, it's a show. If you watch the other Trek shows you see that every captain does that, especially Kirk - could you imagine if he always just delegated the responsibilities to others while doing paperwork behind a desk?

Regarding the episode, I have to say that my expectations were low when I knew it would be yet another Seven episode - not that I mind her that much, but she's just too overused in the last seasons.

Needless to say it was a pleasant surprise to watch what turned out to be a superbly written and acted piece of sci-fi. Janeway shining as always, Seven strong as well, and Icheb unexpectedly delivering lines with some serious weight to them. To my great delight Torres got some time in the spotlight as well - in my opinion she's been shamefully underused in particularly the second half of VOY.

The effects were also on point. Only thing that felt off was the action scene with the random aliens. However, it brought a big smile to my face when Janeway got hold of one them and immediately threatened him: "Put down your weapons and I'll consider not activating this laser scalpel." - Of all the captains I only see Kirk in the same situation.

3,5 Stars.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Mon, Dec 16, 2019, 5:44am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Operation--Annihilate!

A spectacular episode to end a fantastic first season.

The story is intriguing, and the way it unfolds with Kirk, Spock and Bones at peak level, leaves almost nothing left to wish for.

I liked that Scotty also had a albeit short, but still memorable scene. Have to agree with some of the comments though that Uhura was way too underused, not only in this episode but in the whole season. She's such a likable character (shame on Kirk for questioning her in the beginning!)

"The yeoman du jour was kind of intriguing." I agree with this as well.

It was very entertaining to see the aliens in action, like flying pancakes XD

4/4, one of the best season 1, and way better than the previous episode.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Fri, Dec 13, 2019, 12:52am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: The City on the Edge of Forever

Having seen TNG, DS9 and VOY and always heard references to "City on the Edge.." as being the all-time best Trek episode, I have to confess I'm severely disappointed. It's not bad, the acting is on point and the Guardian is really cool, I also like that Uhura was part of the away team. However, overall the story is predictable and the setting not very exciting. The fact that it justifies America's complete annihilation of two Japanese cities also leaves a bad after taste.

Off the top of my head I can count at least 5 if not 10 episodes from season 1 alone, that are better than this. Perhaps I'm too allergic to time travel episodes, because this simply didn't do it for me.

II / IV
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sat, Dec 7, 2019, 3:52am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: This Side of Paradise

Oh, and in classic Star Trek fashion the planet they visited looked astonishingly a lot like a typical american country side.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Fri, Dec 6, 2019, 11:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: This Side of Paradise

Trent (Tue, Oct 10, 2017)

Summarizes my feelings for this episode quite eloquently.

III of IV

P.S. Drugs are bad, mmkay.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Fri, Dec 6, 2019, 9:41pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: A Taste of Armageddon

It doesn't matter what the Prime directive says explicitly, it's its core message and how it is lived by, that ultimately defines it. To this definition one clearly must include the idea of souverenity; because there is no way Starfleet would tolerate outside-alien intermingling in earthly affairs.

With that said, "Taste of Armageddon" would be a lot less fun if Kirk would have just beamed away at first best chance. One of its highlights being Scotty in command of the bridge, "The best diplomat I know is a fully activated phaser bank!" =]

A real treat of an episode, one of the finest of season 1.
IV of IV
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Mon, Nov 25, 2019, 4:04pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Unimatrix Zero, Part II

And yeah, what the hell was Neelix doing on the bridge? Plus: Ensign Kim once again struggling with getting a lock, perhaps that's why.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Mon, Nov 25, 2019, 3:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Unimatrix Zero, Part II

"I don't compromise with the Borg."

Wasn't that exactly what Scorpion was about? Over all I really like VOY, but I get the feeling the writers stopped caring in the middle of season 6, and it's a damn shame. I've been very forgiving for a long time now; however the lack of love for the show from the production team is starting to get to me.

The Unimatrix Zero 2-parter gets 2 mild Stars from me.

I will hereby take a break and go watch some TOS I never got around to before I continue with season 7.
Next ►Page 1 of 5
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.