Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 394 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 16
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Tue, Jul 14, 2020, 12:32am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: First Contact

I really liked this episode too. I should give Jammer all the credit for leading me to it. I have been watching Voyager with my wife and daughters for several years now, along with a little bit of TOS (we recently watched “the one with the whales”) but never TNG. Just the other day we watched the Voyager episode that had the imposter Boothby, and I commented that he was from TNG. That got my youngest daughter curious about this show, so I decided to find an episode for us to watch together.

But I have probably only seen a couple dozen TNG episodes myself, and the ones that came to mind were either too atypical (“Measure of a Man”, “Inner Light”), or too scary (Borg), or both. The same problem came up when I googled “best TNG episodes”.

So I decided to just scroll through the listings here and look for four-star episodes that sounded like they would be a good introduction to the show. There are probably others that would be better to illustrate how things actually work on the ship (and my daughter still wants to see the “real Boothby”), but I was very happy with how this turned out.

I found Riker having sex with the alien woman amusing and didn’t think much more of it than that. But reading the discussion here I can see that it is a legitimate perspective to see it as a kind of rape, coming from coercion. I would thread the needle and say that instead, Riker basically temped as a sex worker. If the woman had held a gun on him when he was walking down the street and taken him prisoner and told him he could not leave unless he had sex with her, that would be rape. But she was not really the agent in charge of his custody, and she was willing to offer him something of value at risk to her own status in exchange for the sex, so it was really a kind of barter.

Jason R. wrote:

————
If you were an astrophysicist and we were discussing, say, neutron stars, that would be one thing. That is such a discrete arcane discipline that most people wouldn’t dream of challenging a bona fide expert.

But unfortunately, sociology is a discipline that overlaps with a lot of everyday topics like politics, philosophy, anthropology, that everyday laypeople must be entitled to an opinion on and can't just agree to defer to "experts" on without effectively surrendering their inherent human right to participate in the public square.
————

Both my mother and wife are sociologists, and I agree with Jason about this (sometimes to their chagrin, LOL).

@spmsmith: Great point about the doctor.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Tue, Jul 7, 2020, 7:10am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: In the Flesh

LOL, Spock's Ears, fair point. I enjoyed the episode, but you guys have convinced me of its many flaws.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Mon, May 18, 2020, 11:31am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Trent, glad I am not the only one who found the stuff at the end (with Picard “dying” and Data dying) really weak.

@OTDP, I agree with you that AI is still sentient if it is complex enough—that it doesn’t have to be formed from the same physical components as our brains.

Relatedly, two recent science fiction series I have really enjoyed are Devs on Hulu and Upload on Amazon.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Mon, May 18, 2020, 5:32am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Drone

8,000 cubic kilometers per hour, lol. Hard to imagine they would need to bother moving the ship. The edge of the nebula is almost certainly approaching them slower than an old man using a walker. Probably slower than a snail.

But I did really like this episode, and the ending really “gave me all the feels” in a way that rarely happens with Trek (“Inner Light” and “City on the Edge of Forever” come to mind, not that this episode is necessarily quite in that stratospheric company).

I did initially see it the way @Nick did, though: “Janeway should have aborted the drone fetus in a heart beat”. But my feelings about it evolved along with Seven’s, and I was tearing up right with her when One died.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Sun, Apr 26, 2020, 9:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Night

I enjoyed this quite a bit. But I knew someone was going to comment on this:

“Why did the holodeck have a blackout too? LOL.”

That’s definitely a bit silly, but I was willing to just go with it.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Tue, Apr 21, 2020, 8:48am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Hope and Fear

Harsh review! I liked this one a lot. 3.5 stars.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Thu, Apr 2, 2020, 1:01am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: One

I liked this episode, but I had a hard time not feeling like they should have just taken the extra 11 months to go around the nebula.

My favorite scenes were the bookends of Seven asking the holodeck crewmembers blunt personal questions in rapidfire succession, and then connecting with them hesitatingly but more effectively in real life at the end, and showing some vulnerability. I hope this is character development that will not be erased by the dreaded Voyager Reset Button.

Of course the Doctor was great as always. I found it funny that no one ever commented on the irony of his lecturing Seven about tact. It’s true that at this point he does better at that than she does, but this is a low bar and he is not the ideal teacher.

I do not believe the alien was real, but I do think Tom actually crawled out of his pod at least once (the first time we saw — clearly the last couple were hallucinations). Otherwise you have to believe that Seven was hallucinating some of the Doctor’s lines as well, and that she told a falsehood at the end.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Thu, Apr 2, 2020, 12:32am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

You guys (including Jammer) are making me feel really lonely here! I thought the epilogue with Data was the worst part of the episode and one of the worst parts of the whole season. Dull, maudlin, implausible, and morally bankrupt. But then I was never a huge fan of Data’s character to begin with. Give me Spock, Tuvok, or even Isaac from the Orville any day.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Fri, Mar 27, 2020, 9:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Wait, are we sure Narissa is dead? On the SDMB, someone pointed out that she was shown throughout the season to have a personal transporter to get her out of jams. Seven/Annika should have used the disintegration method she employed earlier in the season!
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Thu, Mar 26, 2020, 7:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Which episodes were solely written by Chabon?
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Thu, Mar 26, 2020, 7:03am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

I did not like the epilogue. I really hate the trope about immortality being a bad thing.

But I thought the main part of the episode was well done in a middling classic Trek kind of way, and in fact all of it — good and bad — was very representative of the sort of median level of Trek over the years. Even if it didn’t approach the level of the best episodes or movies, it was also significantly better than the worst ones, and it just seemed much more recognizably *of* the franchise than virtually anything we have seen for the past decade or more.

2.5 stars, and I look forward to next season not quite eagerly but amiably.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Thu, Mar 26, 2020, 5:46am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

That was pretty intense.

It’s not entirely original, of course. We have seen variations of this in BSG, the Terminator movies, even “The Orville”. And for that matter, when Patrick Stewart is arguing with the leader of the synthetics, it’s highly reminiscent of his debates with Ian McKellen’s Magneto in a different universe with some parallels between synthetics and mutants.

But it was all very well done. And one thing I really liked about it, that others may feel betrays the spirit of Star Trek, is how we got various inversions of what had seemed good and bad, but it wasn’t just a random twist for twist’s sake. It all tracks logically with what we have seen. It’s pretty wild to think that Picard’s big noble quest is starting to look very questionable as to its actual nobility, and that in saving Soji he may have condemned billions or trillions of organics to death.

The other aspect of this twist is that the Romulan “bad guys” kind of seem like they had the right idea! And they did plant the seeds. I commented on the last episode that Rios kind of had a point when he noted that it was a little scary how Soji took over his ship.

I wrote the above before receiving any comments or the review. I see now that both are generally negative, which is too bad. I thought this episode was quite good, 3.5 stars and possibly the best of the season.

Now, on to the exciting conclusion!
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Mon, Mar 23, 2020, 8:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

I like the site fine the way it is, but if people want to volunteer to make it fancier that sounds cool too. I would chip in a couple bucks at Patreon if Jammer wants to do that.

I am pretty happy with this season overall, but I will defend the people who hate it but keep watching and commenting, as that has been pretty close to my experience with Discovery. If you are really interested in Star Trek, it’s just...interesting, to watch what they do with it—even if you don’t *like* what they are doing. And it’s also interesting to talk about it with other people.

Some questions I had:

How did Elnar get his hands out of the shackles?

Why did the Romulans think all the Borg had been killed if there were still enough to swarm Nerissa and her henchmen?

I agree with Rios: what if they’re right?
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Sun, Mar 22, 2020, 11:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

Great review of a great episode. I know we need to get on with things, but I could definitely handle more of the Soji & Kestra Show!
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Sun, Mar 22, 2020, 9:47am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

I can see how the gore could be jarring for fans of 1990s TNG. But I remember TNG being jarring to me as a teenager after being a fan of TOS reruns and the movies.

I don’t mind watching Trek that is more adult, although I do regret that it puts it more off-limits for kids.

I acknowledge some of the flaws in this episode, but I found it more enjoyable than most episodes of Discovery, so it’s still registering as a pleasant surprise so far.

My biggest disappointment in this episode is one PM mentions. I liked Agnes as kind of a lighthearted, funny audience surrogate character. So it’s really unfortunate to have her flip to the dark side.

(I was also confused for a while as to whether Bjeyzl was an amazingly well-preserved Troi, LOL.)
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Fri, Mar 20, 2020, 2:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Absolute Candor

The Rizzo stuff is definitely cheesy, but I actually enjoyed the Narek/Soji interaction, including the “Borg ritual”.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Fri, Mar 20, 2020, 12:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: The End Is the Beginning

@Kuja, don’t hold back, tell us what you really think!

I quite liked this one. A solid three stars. It could have been three and a half, if it weren’t for the cringey Rizzo/Narek stuff. But that was pretty brief, so it didn’t detract too much from my enjoyment of the episode.

I’m not sure why people are so surprised Raffi’s career got tanked. She was associated with a man and a general ideology (pro-synth, pro-Romulan) that was suddenly deeply out of favor, to put it mildly.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Thu, Mar 19, 2020, 10:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Demon

I didn’t think it was so bad. Definitely not great, but more in the 2 or 2.5 star range than 0.5.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Fri, Mar 13, 2020, 5:48am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Maps and Legends

I cosign almost every jot and tittle of Trent’s review. I definitely thought this was better than the pilot (which I liked OK but was not thrilled by); however, there were definitely some hokey villain moments. Overall I am pleased by the trend.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Tue, Mar 10, 2020, 12:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

Definitely not riveting. But not painful either. I paid for a month of CBSAA, so I will continue, although the weak ratings for most of the upcoming episodes are not reassuring. On the other hand there have been times where I have dramatically differed with Jammer (in both directions, disliking episodes he loved and really liking ones he panned) so we shall see.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Tue, Dec 17, 2019, 9:34am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Homeward

I definitely think jammer is too harsh on this one. I wish I could remember why I made a note to check this episode out, because I’m fairly certain it had to do with a discussion on some episode thread somewhere on this site.

Anyway, I thought this started very strong and lost a little steam toward the end, but I would still give it three stars overall.

BTW, Penny Johnson clearly has some anti-aging genes, because she does not look like she’s pushing 60 now on “The Orville”, and she did not look in her mid-thirties here, more like 25.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Sun, Jul 28, 2019, 2:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Living Witness

Agree 100% with Jammer’s review (the word “sociological” was particularly apt). This might be my favorite episode yet.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Mon, Jul 22, 2019, 1:59am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: The Road Not Taken

I think it's a smart move, similar to CBS and Trek. A small but very dedicated audience is much more valuable to a streaming service than to a broadcast network.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Mon, Jul 8, 2019, 5:31am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Retrospect

Did anyone notice that in the opening shot it is clearly Earth below them? Specifically Canada and the northern United States. At first I thought this meant we were getting a plot that occurred in the Alpha quadrant but no.

It’s a pity that the debates over these fraught topics occur almost entirely between groups that make themselves strawmen for the other side.

False accusations of rape are not vanishingly rare. They are more common than false reports of other kinds of crime. And my best friend in college had his reputation ruined and dropped out because of just such a false accusation. I know for a fact that it was false because he was 200 miles away with me the whole weekend in question. But if I had not been, I would have always wondered, and despite the narrative we so often hear, the young woman was believed rather than him. And the police went around talking to people but never went back to tell them he had an airtight alibi.

However, we do not live in a society where women actually have all the power and are constantly oppressing men. Nor are anything close to a majority of rape allegations false. The real number is somewhere around five or ten percent, but that is high enough that we have to stick with “innocent until proven guilty” and not just go by the woman’s word without corroborating evidence.

The conservative “red pill” types are terrible evangelists for this message because their rhetoric really does always seem to confirm the accusation from the other side that they are motivated by misogyny.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Thu, Jun 6, 2019, 3:54am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: The Road Not Taken

Thanks, @Dave! I searched for the episode and added it to the podcatcher on my phone.
Next ►Page 1 of 16
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.