Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 217 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 9
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Thu, Jan 17, 2019, 10:37pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Nothing Left on Earth Excepting Fishes

Karl, I’m confused by your comment. You didn’t catch that Ed had a gun on her when they were going to the escape pod?
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Thu, Jan 17, 2019, 9:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Nothing Left on Earth Excepting Fishes

Dave, great review—but I’m curious now to see what constitutes four stars for you!
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Thu, Jan 17, 2019, 9:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Nothing Left on Earth Excepting Fishes

GREAT episode. Best of the series thus far.

I was already leaning toward probably giving it four stars, but Seth really sealed the deal with the perfect use of “She’s Always a Woman” at the end. Wow.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Thu, Jan 17, 2019, 3:58am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Home

What OTDP said.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Tue, Jan 15, 2019, 10:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Home

@Dave: Ha, funny misdirect. That does seem to establish a precedent, a M.O., that could come into play here. Let’s hope!

@Dougie: You seriously think everyone annoyed by your threadshitting is really just one person with socks?

Now, I will admit that I have annoyed people on other forums by denigrating a movie they really loved. But I think that’s different, because just like them I went into it with hopes that I would enjoy it, but was disappointed and am expressing that disappointment. But to come back and trash episode after episode in such harsh terms is obnoxious IMO.

So you want me to stop reviewing your posts? Stop threadshitting.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Tue, Jan 15, 2019, 7:48pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Home

I didn’t know either! I will henceforth not bother with it. (I do hope Jammer is watching for people impersonating others, as well as for sock puppets.)

I hope this is true, that Alara is likely to be back soon.

What is a “Brian Griffin moment”? I have watched probably a couple dozen episodes of “Family Guy”, as well as the hilarious Star Wars parodies, but other than that none for quite a few years.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Tue, Jan 15, 2019, 1:13am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Home

Spencer, glad you decided to come out of lurk mode! I liked what you had to say.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Mon, Jan 14, 2019, 7:10am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Home

@Jammer, I generally liked and agreed with your review. A nitpick, only because I usually find your writing to be of very high quality, even when I disagree with what you are saying: You used the identical phrase “return home” three times in one sentence.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Sat, Jan 12, 2019, 7:18am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Home

I will stick up for Seth on this one.

I want to cosign the highlighting of the tonal shift around the ladle. Very well handled.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Fri, Jan 11, 2019, 6:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Home

I’m not quite seeing masterpiece here, and there were other episodes last year I liked better, but this is definitely the best of the season so far, and a good solid three star episode, verging on 3.5. I hope Jammer’s not going to just serve it up another 2 or 2.5 review.

I too liked Alara and I’m sad to see her go. Does anyone know if it was the actor’s decision* to leave? From the showrunners’ perspective, I’m not sure why they would want to write her out.

*TV contracts are usually for seven years, so “decision” is probably the wrong word. More like “did she ask to be written out?”. If she did, they are generally going to accommodate her unless her character is super important for a planned arc or something.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Fri, Jan 11, 2019, 6:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Primal Urges

@Booming: The characterization I was referring to was as “the removal of a basically unnecessary part of the penis“. Again, my blog post there, and the comments section, will illustrate why I disagree with that characterization. If you want to discuss it further, I would suggest messaging me on Twitter, where I am also @slackerinc.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Thu, Jan 10, 2019, 8:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Primal Urges

@Booming: It’s definitely not that I shrink from this debate in general. I just don’t think going into it here is appropriate.

If you want to see my thoughts in depth, see here: https://slackerinc.wordpress.com/2010/08/24/in-which-i-talk-about-my-penis/

I particularly recommend the comments section.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Tue, Jan 8, 2019, 11:15pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Primal Urges

Booming: I strongly believe your characterization of male circumcision is wrong. (Dave, we have something else in common besides both living in MN and digging this show!) But it's off topic for this board, so I won't get into specifics, and I think we should all drop it.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Sun, Jan 6, 2019, 9:38pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Primal Urges

@Darren: Thank you for making that point about what I would call MGM.

@Dave: Glad to hear there are mitigating circumstances around the show’s low overnight Nielsen numbers!

@brian: Very interesting point about the lack of polish being an asset. I hadn’t thought of it this way, but I think you might be right.

@Jammer: Nice pushback about comedy. But it strikes me that you cited two “Mt. Rushmore” TV shows there. Which means you certainly have good taste, and kudos for that; but it also seems like unfair competition. So what would for you be good examples of three-star-level success in comedic terms?
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Sat, Jan 5, 2019, 6:45pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Primal Urges

@wolfstar, good points.

@navamske: I did buy the season premiere from iTunes, but I can’t make a habit of it. The reason I don’t have cable, satellite, or Hulu is a very tight budget.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Sat, Jan 5, 2019, 3:34am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Primal Urges

@Dave: I doubt the apocalypse would last long enough to be very painful.

Did you judge the couple in “A Quiet Place” poorly as well? I can see the argument for doing so, but I’m just wondering.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Fri, Jan 4, 2019, 5:00pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Primal Urges

@wolfstar, I really enjoyed reading your insights! Thanks.

@Quibbles: I also enjoyed your contribution. I am okay with the amount of Bortus we have had so far, as long as they start giving other characters their turns in the limelight.

@Karl Zimmerman: The issue of whether to bring children into a dying or post-apocalyptic world has been raised in a lot of SF. A recent example is the 2018 movie “A Quiet Place”. Another one that was in a hidden gem that unfortunately very few people have seen, is the 1999 Don McKellar film (starring Sarah Polley and some other familiar faces) “Last Night”, in which the Sandra Oh character purposely gets pregnant “just to see if I could” even though she knows the world will end before her pregnancy reaches full term. She asks McKellar’s character if he thinks that was immoral of her.

Count me as one of the “sick fucks” who would do it. “Where there’s life, there’s hope”—right to the bitter end. And note that it paid off for them!

As for prepping two shuttles, I don’t see how they could have done so in time. I didn’t get the impression there were very many people on the ship who would have known how to do it.

@Trent: I agree that Bortus’s explanation of the sex drive, and its aftermath, was quite profound (again rebutting the claim that this show is anti-intellectual). I also appreciate your recommendations for TNG episodes. I have added them to my watch list, as I have seen all episodes of TOS, most of Voyager and DS9, all of Enterprise, and all of Discovery, but have only seen maybe ten percent of TNG (I was initially turned off by the first season and only revisited it relatively recently).
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Thu, Jan 3, 2019, 9:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Primal Urges

Thanks!
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Thu, Jan 3, 2019, 9:42pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Primal Urges

What did Kelly say in response to the “went to town” comment? My youngest son made me miss it, and I am stuck with the barbaric scenario as regards this show of having to watch it live on antenna with no recording available, since FOX does not make full episodes available any longer on its website for “cordcutters” like myself, and I don’t have cable or satellite for a signin, nor do I subscribe to Hulu.

Pretty good episode. I wonder what people who didn’t know it was from last season thought about Gordon suddenly having his sunburn again, or the new navigator character being nowhere to be seen.

The whole evacuation and lottery plot was a cool idea, but I think it could have benefited from being given more time rather than being squeezed in near the end of the episode.

Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Thu, Jan 3, 2019, 8:47pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Ja'loja

What did Kelly say in response to the “went to town” comment? My youngest son made me miss it, and I am stuck with the barbaric scenario as regards this show of having to watch it live on antenna with no recording available, since FOX does not make full episodes available any longer on its website for “cordcutters” like myself, and I don’t have cable or satellite for a signin, nor do I subscribe to Hulu.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Thu, Jan 3, 2019, 3:29am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Ja'loja

@John: “But the fundamental problem in this series for me is that SM writes/directs and has himself as the captain and resident casanova.. The sheer vanity of it is hard for me to put to one side.“

It’s indefensible, outrageous—but I love that about the whole thing actually. It mixes in a meta type element like what was explored in “Black Mirror”. But it’s real! To me, this is the good side of the evolution of celebrity (the bad side we see in politics).

I think it brings a certain swagger we’ve been missing since Shatner (still my fav captain).

I strongly disagree that this show is “anti-intellectual” at all. For a fresh example, take Alara’s critique (after being pushed) of the poem. Or many of the things Isaac says.
This show is slyly smart. A dumber show would also never have the awkward convo with the pretty new crewmember.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Wed, Jan 2, 2019, 1:20am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Ja'loja

Anybody else think Isaac is quietly MVP of this show? Or is that just me?
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Tue, Jan 1, 2019, 5:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Ja'loja

@John: Yes, in the pilot. The captain quipped that he had to get up to pee two or three times a night, and Bortus solemnly replied “That is most unfortunate.”

I found this episode to be subpar for this show. But that is less of a complaint than it sounds: I really like the show overall, so I’m still glad to have it back.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Sun, Apr 22, 2018, 3:34am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

I cosign the “Orville” recommendation.

As I said in my comment on the previous episode, I thought this finale was better than most of the season. I would consider the final two episodes of the season among only four or five episodes total that merited three stars (I don’t think there were any that merited more than that).

I did kind of think that blowing up the Klingon homeworld might have been the right play, but I guess maybe I’m just evil?

One thing I find amazing about the status quo as we find it at the end of the season is that there are (unless I’m totally blanking out on someone) no characters who are straight white males. Zero. By “characters” I mean people who occasionally say a line of dialogue, not people who walk by in the background. This radical state of affairs was effectively obscured for most of the season by the fact that the captain of the ship was a straight white male. But then he was revealed to be an evil Terran and stand-in for Trump, who died and was therefore absent for the final two episodes. All this on CBS, the most “red state” of networks! Stunning.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Fri, Apr 20, 2018, 6:05am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The War Without, The War Within

Contra Jammer, I found this one of the two or three best episodes of the season (that is, one of the only ones that was any good).

But shouldn’t Burnham go back to prison now that we know the guy who freed her was an evil Terran impostor?

Putting Georgiu back in the captain’s chair is risky for sure, but at least Saru and Burnham are on the bridge to keep an eye on her.
Next ►Page 1 of 9
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.