Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 555 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 23
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Thu, Jul 15, 2021, 6:52am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S6: Lessons

[I started this episode in January, then saved it to watch with my piano-playing daughter and only got back to it just now, which is why I have the short comment about the beginning just upthread and a much longer comment now.]

I absolutely loved this episode. I approached it with trepidation, because I had loved "Inner Light" so much and was worried this wouldn't be able to stand in its shadow--or worse, might even tarnish the earlier episode in retrospect. So I was actually shocked by how great this is. I don't know if I can say it's actually as good as "Inner Light", but it's one of the very few episodes of Trek that comes close.

4 stars.

@grumpy otter: "I really thought they were going to kill her off--so was on the edge of my seat during the action parts."

Me too! Incredibly tense. And a really nice way to put a scientist in believable peril that involved risking a smaller number of crewmembers to save a larger number of colonists, without there being any kind of evil alien monsters or anything like that.

@Joseph S.: I was shocked to hear that Wendy Hughes had died in 2014. Much too young!

@CPUFP: "What is up with Jonathan Frakes in this episode? His facial expression and posture is slightly off in all his scenes. Had me thinking he might have been drunk on set."

I obviously wondered about that too. It was strange for sure. But I didn't think it was in all of his scenes. In the ones where he kind of butted heads with Daren over ship's resources, and when he went to talk to the captain, he was fine. But he definitely had a few scenes where he had a really goofy look about him.

@Trent: "What I like best, though, is how the episode sketches the Enterprise as a mundane but bustling workplace; we see stellar cartography, finally get to see some blue shirts doing work, hang out at Ten Forward, watch Riker juggle department heads, watch different departments bureaucratically fight for ship's resources, and get to explore the ship's catacombs and Jefferies tubes."

Yes! This was a really cool aspect of the episode for sure. Good call.

@Maq: "It is a high quality non action episode. I like these."

There was no combat, and I like that as well, but I found the struggle to survive against the firestorm to qualify as action--and very tense action at that!

@Bobbington McBob: "I really wish people would put frickin spoiler warnings here if they are going to reference episodes after the one in question. I've had parts of the season finale ruined twice now. Just because its an old series, doesn't mean everyone has seen it."

Cosigned. Actually, the older a series is, the more likely people *haven't* seen it and maybe weren't even alive when it aired! If they are going through it now, they should be able to go along with comment sections without seeing un-warned spoilers for later episodes.

@Justin: "it seems a bit preposterous to crow about spoilers for an episode that is TWENTY-FIVE freaking years old, no?"

Again, not at all! I am showing my kids these series and none of them were alive when it aired. It's weird that people think the older a show or movie is, the less spoiler alerts are needed. I heard a podcast host mock the idea of giving a spoiler alert for "a 70-year-old movie". Like some 25 or 30 year old listening is automatically going to have seen it? Or even someone of any age? (It wasn't a famous movie--in fact I'd never heard of it.)

I would say that although you should always give spoiler warnings, the time when it is least needed is within a year or so after something that's really a huge, blockbuster-famous type movie or show has come out. Everyone has had a chance to see it, they should definitely know about it, and it hasn't been so long that they were too young to catch it when it came out.

You and I do agree on the rating for this wonderful episode though. :-)

@The_Man: "You're entitled to your opinion even when it is wrong. Dr. Crusher is definitely better looking."

To me, it's you who is wrong and Nella is clearly more attractive. De gustibus.

@MidshipmanNorris: "possibly the most heart-felt and believable romance story I have ever seen in a single episode of a television series"

In a single episode? You might be right!
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Mon, May 3, 2021, 9:36am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S1: Hide and Q

Meh. Nothing here good or bad enough to inspire me to have much of anything to say. Two stars.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Fri, Feb 19, 2021, 4:17am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Still looking forward to the general discussion thread...
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Thu, Feb 11, 2021, 3:56pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@The Chronek: I don't think you have to worry about spoilers for this episode--as you say, what would one expect? What other commenters are talking about is spoiling different shows (THE EXPANSE, BUFFY, etc.). Jammer said he's going to put up a general discussion thread of some kind (I don't see it yet, unless I'm missing something), which should alleviate that issue to a fair degree except when people are directly comparing something to the episode being reviewed.

(Although it doesn't apply in this case, spoiling a later episode in a season should also involve warnings, since people are working their way through series at their own pace.)
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Tue, Feb 9, 2021, 11:33am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: Star Trek: Nemesis

"First Contact", really? That was the TNG outing I liked.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Tue, Feb 9, 2021, 10:09am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: Star Trek: Nemesis

I just finally saw this, and I agree with many of the criticisms: the dune buggy sequence was risible, the film overall is slow moving and often boring, the fight between Riker and the Viceroy was dumb.

But I also agree with Jammer that there were good elements here. Is it enough to rise to 2.5 stars? It's between that and 2.0 stars for me: say 2.25 stars. Definitely not the 0 or 1 stars some are saying.

One thing I strongly disagree with that, skimming the comments, at least two people said: that Hardy did not look enough like a young Picard. WHAT?!? I thought that was one of the film's strongest points! Frankly, I didn't recognize Hardy and didn't know it was him until the closing credits. I thought "who is this guy they found who not only is a dead ringer for how I'd picture a young Jean-Luc, but also has such good acting chops?"

One thing I wondered: how did Janeway get to be admiral before Picard? Isn't he older and more experienced than she is?

Also: the ramming scene was cool, but I call BS on the idea that when Shinzen throws it into reverse, his huge ship would rip itself violently free of the Enterprise. Why wouldn't he just pull the smaller ship along with him?

Kind of weird that Senator Tal'Aura is treated as a hero at the end, coming in to try to save the Enterprise, dispatching shuttles and medical supplies, etc. But she conspired in a military coup at the beginning of the movie, horrifically slaughtering the entire Romulan Senate! I get that she had a change of heart, but can we really so easily forget what an evil conspiracy she participated in?

Looking at the reviews on Rotten Tomatoes, I discover with some satisfaction that the Guardian's Peter Bradshaw is the only person I've ever seen specifically call out the character of Data in a way I agree with:

"The subplot concerns Lt Cmdr Data (Brent Spiner), one of the least funny or interesting characters in the history of screen entertainment"

Yes! The way he is so widely beloved has always been puzzling and frustrating to me. I've always thought he sucked nearly as badly as Troi.

@Mark B: "BTW and FWIW,

The 2nd & 3rd Matrix movies were seriously awful."

Yeah, that was a weird little element of Jammer's review. In fairness, I walked out of the second film about 20-30 minutes in, and never went back to it--nor did I watch the third film. But I had seen enough to know they had gone seriously off target. Of course, the original Matrix film had a perfectly good closed ending, and those later entries were only made because of the studio's imperative to get a cash grab on a hot property.

P.S. I just "bought Jammer a coffee" and I encourage everyone else to do so!
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Wed, Feb 3, 2021, 9:53pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

A general chat thread? Cool!
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Sun, Jan 31, 2021, 1:53am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@MidshipmanNorris: "I say, put the tip jar up in a prominent spot where no one's bound to miss it, make it unobtrusive"

Next, you'll be asking him to make water that isn't wet! LOL
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Fri, Jan 29, 2021, 10:32pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

I agree, comment threads would be cool.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Fri, Jan 29, 2021, 12:35pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

I can't afford to do a monthly thing, but I would definitely chip in a few bucks as a one-time token of appreciation (then maybe again in a couple years).
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Sat, Jan 23, 2021, 8:06am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S6: Lessons

What’s with the weird expression on Riker’s face in his first scene, right after the credits? I thought that was going to pay off but it didn’t.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Sat, Jan 23, 2021, 2:59am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

I saw someone on Twitter make a point I haven't seen addressed here. Namely: what happened to the SOCIAL science fiction we always used to associate with Star Trek? That is, you fly around and investigate "strange new worlds" where civilizations are oriented around some bizarre principle we wouldn't expect. Then you play out the logical implications of that. I miss that kind of thing, and I can't think of any episode of DISCO that explores anything like that.

@Ramon: "Breaking bad however allowed everything to happen organically and it felt 'right.' Hence the complete lack of controversy regarding the ending of breaking bad."

[vague spoilers follow]BB is my #1 favorite show of all time (although BETTER CALL SAUL might be just as good--we'll see how they stick the landing), but even Vince Gilligan screwed up in this regard at least once IMO (the berries). He also found it very frustrating to have to write his way out of the box he put himself in with the machine gun in the trunk, although I think he did pretty well with that one.

And there is actually controversy about the ending of BB. Quite a number of people thought Walt got off too easy, and have even proposed that everything after he got in the car in New Hampshire was a dream. (I personally liked the way it concluded, but there were in a sense three different endings to the story, four if you count EL CAMINO.)

@Dom: "BSG is still my favorite"

I STRONGLY advise anyone who hasn't seen that series (and we're presumably talking about the early-21st century version here, not the original and obviously not the Sam Esmail BSG series coming soon on Peacock) to watch the two-part miniseries and then exactly 25 episodes of the series proper, culminating in "Resurrection Ship, Part II". There's a nice end point there, and if you do that you will have seen a cohesive 27-episode series that ranks as one of the greatest achievements in television.

If you disregard this advice, you will first of all get the widely acknowledged worst episode of the series two episodes later, but even the episode before that you will get a lame and hackneyed deus ex machina we've seen a billion times before. And as you continue, you'll get heaps of ludicrous and incoherent retcons, various reversals that don't make any sense, and reversals of those reversals, plus plenty of woo-woo mystical mumbo-jumbo. And then in the final episode you will get the most ludicrous and disappointing conclusion of any series ever, even worse than LOST and GAME OF THRONES.

You were warned!
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Fri, Jan 22, 2021, 3:04am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

I have watched three episodes of LOWER DECKS, and I find it passably entertaining. It certainly doesn't contain content that irritates to the extent DISCOVERY or even sometimes PICARD does. I just don't find it enjoyable enough to justify watching it over the nearly countless number of other, better shows I'm behind on (for instance, I am still on season 5 of MAD MEN).

@The Queen: I will definitely have to check out more of STAR TREK CONTINUES. Thanks.

@Dave in MN: "Remember when 15% of all Americans tuned into TNG every week?"

I'm gonna need a cite on that. For the time, that would be, what, 40 million people?

"Getting beat by The Witcher, Hamilton and Coco is pathetic."

Hamilton, seriously? That was a massive cultural sensation!

"Could it be the Discovery's turbolift shafts are inside a warp bubble inside the ship?"

That is some blackbelt level fanwanking, but I'd ask the simple question: why? Why do something like that to begin with? And if you did do it, why make them so big? Just because you can?

@Nick: "After the games, Michael can be found in the corner sobbing uncontrollability over her guilt at being so much better at the game than everyone else."

LOL, this is perfect!
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Sun, Jan 17, 2021, 4:20pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

I have only seen one episode of Star Trek Continues, but it featured an actor reprising his role from TOS (I think there was supposed to be some kind of temporal anomaly that made him age really quickly?), and it was excellent other than one or two actors that didn't quite seem up to professional par.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Fri, Jan 15, 2021, 6:40pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Correct, that is, about the maximum time a president can possibly serve (and only if they started as vice president, taking over from a president who dies, resigns, or is incapacitated). I *don't* believe he is correct that Harris is plotting to use the 25th Amendment. I think she intends to do it the standard way, running in the Democratic primaries in 2024 (assuming Biden announces he won't seek reelection, which I think is likely).
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Fri, Jan 15, 2021, 6:37pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Dave is correct.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Fri, Jan 15, 2021, 3:34am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Hang on, my bad: Sara Lynn Michener did actually have two criticisms of the season! (I had not finished the podcast when I posted.)

She thinks Kira should have talked about her pronouns earlier; and she is very disappointed that they did not include a scene of “Saru admitting that Michael is the better leader” (verbatim quote!) followed by Michael reassuring him not to worry, he tried his best. (eyeroll, gag)
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Fri, Jan 15, 2021, 12:12am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Has anyone listened to the season 3 review on Wired's Geek's Guide to the Galaxy podcast? I was disappointed that the kinds of criticisms we have levelled at the show were generally not represented among any of the four panelists. Maybe I should say three panelists, because one of them, Sara Lynn Michener, is an uber-woke fangirl who has never been able to see the slightest flaw in anything the show does. Which is not just wrongheaded but boring, unless maybe you set up a drinking game to chug every time she answers "I loved it" when asked about any specific character or plot point (just watch out for alcohol poisoning, lol).

But the host, David Barr Kirtley, is a talented science fiction writer who has been willing in the past to excoriate SF that doesn't ring true for him (the recent Star Wars movies for example). He has a few criticisms, but they are mostly muted and complaining about things I don't think any of us minded (like Detmer's brutal haiku at the dinner table).

@Nick: "Season 3 really crashed and burned at the end IMO. The writing got worse and more lazy as the season went on. By the finale it felt like they didn't even care anymore."

The finale was terrible, but the penultimate episode was IMO easily the best of the series. It was retrospectively tarnished by the conclusion being so botched, but as a weekly episode of TV it was shockingly great. And although it didn't get as rapturous a reception from others here, if you go back and look at the comments there was a lot of "that was surprisingly not that bad".
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Wed, Jan 13, 2021, 11:07pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

I have said I'm out after this season finale (unless I see a bunch of good Jammer star ratings by the time next season ends), but I actually don't know if this season was really any worse than the others. It was very disappointing as a whole, but it also contained the two or three best individual episodes of the series. (shrug)

@Patrick: The Orville went back into production over a month ago: https://trekmovie.com/2020/12/04/the-orville-restarts-production-on-season-3/

As for the link you posted, here's a quote from it: "The Orville and 15 other shows like This Is Us, Black-ish, and Last Man Standing will remain on holiday hiatus instead of their previous production start dates of Monday, January 11th. The current plan is for these shows to be back in production the following week of January 18th, so the delay isn't much longer than planned."

A week's delay, after they already filmed some episodes in December, does not line up with your repeated claim that they "haven’t started production".
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Tue, Jan 12, 2021, 9:51pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Jammer, great review, and I especially want to vigorously cosign this part:

"I don't usually nitpick the technical details, but this scene cries out for attention because it's so ridiculous. Based on the looks of this, 80 percent of Discovery must be a hollow, uncrewed space in order to make room for these elevator canyons (which perhaps double as the ship's indoor football arena). It takes you right out of the show, because you're aware of the writers and VFX wizards going out of their way to jettison any sense of plausibility in order to give us some Kewl Graphx."

This OTOH was a depressing thought:

"My wife liked this episode, and thought it did all the necessary things, which made me think that maybe this show is better for newer Trek audience members versus the fuddy-duddies in the audience like me who bring all their baggage and feel a need to compare it to the glory days."

@Nick: "I can't comment on the TOS points, I'm ashamed to admit I haven't watched most of those episodes. But the points seem pretty accurate for all the other series. I would personally but VOY ahead of ENT but they are similar in points which I think is fair. As a high level gauge it makes sense with TNG and DS9 in the top tier, VOY and ENT in the second tier, and DIS significantly below."

No need to be ashamed: I myself as of a year or two ago had probably not watched more than a half dozen TNG episodes (just in the past few months I have increased that number to three or four times as many, but I still have not seen the vast majority of the series). But I would definitely recommend watching it! Still my favorite Trek series.

Don't forget BTW that those points only compare the third season of each series, and TOS is known for having taken a dip (not sure if it's that much though).

@TJ: "So ‘the burn’ was caused by an orphaned kid on a dilithium-rich planet who sees his dead mother and screams?"

When you put it that way, it sounds kind of dumb!

Does anyone think they had this explanation figured out when they introduced the Burn? I don't. They had to come up with something and they apparently couldn't think of anything good.

@Booming: "At least on imdb season 3 is by far the weakest with an average of 6.6"

Which is actually even more damning than it appears. Typically ratings go up on a series, at least for a while, as viewers who don't like it drop out and stop rating episodes. This can sometimes change after many seasons as longtime, diehard fans become disappointed by a drop in quality; but S3 is a bit early for that.

For me, this season had two or three of the best episodes of the series (and they were later in the season than many people like Jammer are saying). But it also had some awful ones and a very disappointing throughline (like the other seasons, but possibly worse).

@Bob: "Lorca: 'If things are going so great with one kid in a cellar just imagine how awesome things would get with TEN kids a cellar.'"

LOL, well observed.

I agree BTW with @MidshipmanNorris that it's pretty hard to see any parallels between this season and the LeGuin story.

@RedD: "I have a potty mouth in real life so I'm not averse to swearing in general but I don't expect to hear people effing and blinding on Star Trek."

Personally, this is not one of my issues with the show. It brought us one of the best moments, when the admiral talks about how the food is made from shit.

@Peter G: "Fringe turned out to be no different, at first a hardcore X-Files type show, actually migrating itself more toward straight-out sci-fi, and finally settling on being more like Narnia and idolizing its female lead and making her the center of the world (ring a bell?)."

I'd agree except that the shark-jump for me was when it (spoiler alert) made the fates of two universes dependent on which version of his girlfriend the main *male* lead lurved the most. Blech.

Good analysis of the three-pronged fatal flaws of Discovery though.

@John Harmon: "It feels like we all keep saying this every season. Like, maybe next season will be better and more developed. But it never happens. At some point it’s our own fault."

Yeah, it's supposed to be "Fool me twice, shame on me." I've been fooled three times now, and I'm determined not to make it a fourth (like someone else said, if I see a whole season of mostly 3+ star reviews from Jammer, I will go back and check it out). I feel the same about Westworld BTW, although I still think the first season of that show was pretty good.

BTW, with all the criticism I should give credit where it is due. I was ready to say it's impossible to hold your breath for ten minutes. But a little Googling taught me that it is not! Fair enough, TIL something.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Sun, Jan 10, 2021, 1:53am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Jammer, glad to learn you didn't actually churn out reviews over a weekend! I had assumed when I read that, that you had maybe done a paragraph on each episode, going from memory and not actually rewatching.

Acknowledging that you have cautioned about the inadvisability of comparing ratings across different series, but also acknowledging that you have invited the comparison by using the same rating scale across series, here's what I came up with using my formula and comparing the third seasons of each Trek series that has gone that far.

(NB: I failed to reckon with the existence of 0.5 star episodes. I will subtract 2.5 points for those, to be consistent with the methodology.)

1. TNG (25 points)

2. DS9 (22 points)

3. ENT (16 points)

4. VOY (12 points)

5. DSC (2 points)

6. TOS (-2 points, ouch)
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Sat, Jan 9, 2021, 11:38pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@Gunslinger: "Poor analogy. Country Crock isn’t permitted to call it’s margarine butter"

But the company that makes vegan "Just Mayo" was sued by Unilever because it's not actually mayonnaise (given that it doesn't have eggs in it), and Unilever ultimately lost. I still think they should have won: if it's not mayonnaise, you shouldn't be able to call it "mayo".

@Booming: "Define Star Trek: A name that belongs to a company.
Nice."

Yeah, it reminds me of Deadspin. For those not familiar, Deadspin was a site with a devoted following that had a uniquely snarky tone/POV, and a clear left wing bent. Some rich suit bought it and started sending around memos telling the staff to stop expressing their political views. So the ENTIRE staff of writers and editors quit, en masse, in the same week. The rich guy kept the URL active and kept writing content himself (or maybe hired new writers after a bit, it's not clear), although he disabled commenting which had been a hallmark of the site's culture. So technically, it's still Deadspin. But is it really? Think about if this site got bought out by a new owner who had a very different sensibility than the Jammer we know. Would it really still be "Jammer's Reviews" just because it can be found at jammersreviews.com?


@Yanks: "My Median was 2.5 so using this guidance 'If M > 2.5, award five bonus points. If M < 2.5, subtract three points.', I gave DS9 four points here."

No, my intention there is that if the median is exactly 2.5 (which I think is going to be pretty common), you don't add OR subtract anything. So I guess you could say it's zero points. So I guess DS9's S3 would be only 14 points. Sounds like you didn't like it too well! I assume Jammer has it higher. (Maybe if we're just comparing S3's, I'll give it a whirl here in a bit.)
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Sat, Jan 9, 2021, 3:20am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

On space.com, the reviewer pointed out that although the idea of a quarantine force field in sickbay is clever, it makes no sense that the doorway would be accessible from inside the field! D'oh.

@theBgt: "She is woman and she is black and she is a superhero.
And everyone who doesn't like the lead must be a chauvinistic racist sexist pig."

The most pernicious problem, in my view (and this played out with the Star Wars movies as well), is that there really are some "deplorable" "bad fans" who have some very ugly attitudes which quickly become apparent in the toxic language they use. This implicitly tarnishes everyone else who complains about Michael on this show, or Rose in Star Wars--when in fact there are IMO perfectly valid, non-sexist and non-racist critiques to make about those characters. But the presence of the "bad fans" makes it much easier for the writers to simply brush off ALL the criticisms as coming from that toxic, bad faith place. It's frustrating all around.

@Chrome: "Right, but that's ultimately your opinion. I'm not sure how many 2 - 1.5 star episodes of Voyager I put up with before I quit the show. Maybe if on average the show were higher quality, I would've stuck with it."

I have been slowly going through VOY with my wife and daughters, but in a curated form, only watching about half the episodes. Because of our ability to do this with content now (not just watching week to week, seeing what we get), and the ability to find lists online rating the best episodes, I think it shifts the balance to what @Matthew described, making it more important to judge a series based on the best episodes rather than its consistency. (@Bob also makes valid points about how this is trickier for a serialized show.)

Here's my proposal for evaluating seasons (with the caveat that Jammer is not only subjective but has cautioned against comparing seasons), just spitballing:

Make set H of the top five highest rated episodes.

Make set L of the lowest five rated episodes.

Find median rated episode M.

For every four star episode in set H, award five points. For every 3.5 star episode, two points.

For every zero star episode in set L, subtract three points. for every one star episode, subtract two points. For every 1.5 star episode, subtract one point.

If M > 2.5, award five bonus points. If M < 2.5, subtract three points.

This seems intuitively right to me and would probably give you a pretty good ranking of all Trek seasons if anyone wants to try it.

@Dreubarik: "She ejects the warp core unnecessarily before doing an untested spore jump, thus putting all of her crew at risk for no reason other than murdering a bunch of people on the enemy ship (sure, Emerald Chain people, but still people)."

Yeah, several people have pointed this out and it didn't jump out at me while watching but I do have trouble seeing what the purpose of that was (or, as others have pointed out, blowing up the nacelle).

@Paul G: "The writers came up with the burn for shock value, so that the federation is crippled and vulcan and earth have left the srarfeet, who is now a legend. No one knows if it exists anymore. Ten minutes later, the federation is still a great power in the galaxy, everyone rejoins, back to square one."

Yeah, this bugs me too. I really have to wonder if the people writing those early season episodes when it was a murky, distant legend really intended on it becoming this great power in the back half of the season.

Also, Paul, my recommendations for recent high quality sci fi (stuff that aired new episodes in the last year) are:

TALES FROM THE LOOP
DEVS
NEXT
UPLOAD
THE BOYS

The last two are the best if you're looking for humor.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Fri, Jan 8, 2021, 8:39am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@Nick: “And the most powerful ... pesticides (but only if you target a ship's ‘intakes’“

OMG, that’s right! I just let that pass but it makes no sense. What are they taking in from the vacuum of space?

@Austin: “These shows are not worth the subscription, and nothing else one CBSAA is remotely entertaining.”

THE GOOD FIGHT is actually great.

@MossBoss: “The Discovery survived ALL the ships firing on it and escaped the bubble unscathed! “

Right? Starfleet has major problems if their entire fleet cannot take out a single thousand year old ship.

“Also, why are all the other turbolifts moving around? Who is using them?”

Another great question! I mean, I myself roll my eyes a bit if someone objects that the sickbay is actually on deck 23 rather than deck 24 or whatever. But this kind of nonsense goes 1,000,000 light years beyond that sort of nitpickery.

@water, hot take! I do feel that ENT is much better than people give it credit for. But I can’t agree with you about much else that you wrote.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Fri, Jan 8, 2021, 8:03am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

“Known for their gelato” (made of shit)

Going into this episode, I had hopes for it to be at least pretty decent after how much I loved the previous one. But then when the “previously on...” started, I was reminded that we would have to revisit the stupid plot about the Kelpien who caused the Burn, ugh. (I don’t know why that hadn’t occurred to me before.)

Unfortunately, the plot back on Discovery also got stupider. That’s true in a number of ways, and the inevitable rise of Michael to command was annoying. But what bothered me most, what might even be the most irksome thing they have ever had on this show, is that ridiculous vast space inside the turbolift, which appears even larger now. Maybe the VFX people took some basic directions and ran wild with them, without really understanding or caring about what kind of space they were working with, but ultimately the people running the show should have nipped that in the bud as soon as they saw how it was being rendered. I can suspend disbelief fairly far, but this goes way beyond that. And although I would be really annoyed by this regardless, it seems especially contemptuous of the Trek audience that has always been into schematics and such (although I personally have never bothered with any of that).

Sadly, all of this retroactively taints the episode preceding it. So in the end I had about five glorious days of actually being wowed by a DISCOVERY episode, but now I’m completely disgusted and not planning to continue with the show. I’m out on PICARD and LOWER DECKS as well, and not interested in a Section 31 show, so maybe we’ll see if the Captain Pike show is any good (the Short Treks seemed promising, so fingers crossed).
Next ►Page 1 of 23
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.