Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 371 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 15
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Mon, Jul 8, 2019, 5:31am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Retrospect

Did anyone notice that in the opening shot it is clearly Earth below them? Specifically Canada and the northern United States. At first I thought this meant we were getting a plot that occurred in the Alpha quadrant but no.

It’s a pity that the debates over these fraught topics occur almost entirely between groups that make themselves strawmen for the other side.

False accusations of rape are not vanishingly rare. They are more common than false reports of other kinds of crime. And my best friend in college had his reputation ruined and dropped out because of just such a false accusation. I know for a fact that it was false because he was 200 miles away with me the whole weekend in question. But if I had not been, I would have always wondered, and despite the narrative we so often hear, the young woman was believed rather than him. And the police went around talking to people but never went back to tell them he had an airtight alibi.

However, we do not live in a society where women actually have all the power and are constantly oppressing men. Nor are anything close to a majority of rape allegations false. The real number is somewhere around five or ten percent, but that is high enough that we have to stick with “innocent until proven guilty” and not just go by the woman’s word without corroborating evidence.

The conservative “red pill” types are terrible evangelists for this message because their rhetoric really does always seem to confirm the accusation from the other side that they are motivated by misogyny.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Thu, Jun 6, 2019, 3:54am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: The Road Not Taken

Thanks, @Dave! I searched for the episode and added it to the podcatcher on my phone.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Sat, May 11, 2019, 7:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: The Road Not Taken

Ja'loja!
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Fri, May 10, 2019, 3:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Threshold

Richard Splett rates this episode as tied for the third best of the season, lol:
https://www.splettnet.net/richard-spletts-guide-to-richard-spletts-top-five-favorite-episodes-of-star-trek-voyager-season-two/
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Sun, May 5, 2019, 8:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Hunters

I quite liked this episode, Hirogen and all. And I will join the defense of Tuvok's diplomacy, although the idea suggested by @Gary does make sense.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Fri, May 3, 2019, 6:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: The Road Not Taken

I agree that this show is very well suited to streaming.

@Artymiss: "I truly hated Kelly's wonderbra cleavage, was that really necessary?! Do your buttons up love."

Agreed. It was really distracting, and looked particularly bad because it highlighted her implants. What she normally wears makes it ambiguous as to whether they are real.

@Trent: Good catch on the parallels!
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Wed, May 1, 2019, 1:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: The Road Not Taken

From Jammer's review:
"Someone in the comments last week made the point: Just by going back in time before your birth and breathing the air, you are guaranteeing you won't be born."

That was me! Cool that he agrees. :-) And of course he's right that time travel stories generally have to ignore this, because it would in most cases destroy the fun. But I do think they should actually do something with this in, like, every thirtieth time travel plot, just for variety and to represent the idea.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Tue, Apr 30, 2019, 10:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: The Road Not Taken

Although I didn't love this episode, I will defend the black hole thing. As Dave noted, a FTL drive shouldn't be bound by the rules light must follow.

@OTDP: "Escaping the event horizon with Quantum Drive might be possible (anything may be possible with magic fictional tech) but it still doesn't explain why they could see the outside world from inside the event horizon"

Why would that be a problem? Light from that side is perfectly happy to come in their direction. So it should function like a one way mirror. All in all, I thought that sequence was cool.

As for your critiques of "Birthday Cake": Fair enough! I can't really argue with you on those, but the "cool factor" of the shootout and the solar sail were compensation enough for me, I guess.

@Galadriel: B5 is a series I keep hearing people rave about, but I have not yet watched it. I don't know if "so many" people like "Birthday Cake": when it first came out, I felt fairly strongly outnumbered by those who (like you) hated it.

@Quincy: "However The Orville craps all over its own CONTINUITY within a single season by having Kaylons not being aware some of them are being attacked by humans in the previous Kaylon two parter. Meanwhile, as others point out here in this episode, Kaylons are instantaneously aware that a disassembled unit is being downloaded and hacked, because all Kaylons everywhere are interlinked."

I thought of this issue as well, but I think there's an explanation that isn't too tortured. Nowhere that I recall did they say the interlink is continuous--rather, it sounds more like it requires conscious effort, like talking to someone (or typing a post in response to them). So if Isaac killed the other Kaylon fast enough, they wouldn't be able to warn the others, just like a redshirt on TOS can't warn Kirk, Spock, and McCoy about the monster if it eats him before he can use his communicator. But when LaMarr opened up the Kaylon, he wasn't just hacking into that particular individual. In fact, he had already done that at his leisure and found nothing useful. It was necessary to engage the communication system to download Isaac into that individual. At that moment, the tracking system was enggaged. This would also explain why the Kaylon didn't find them when they hid in the ice, even though Isaac was aboard.

Now, if you had asked why the Kaylon were so ineffectual when shooting at our plot-armored protagonists, I would have had nothing for you. ;-)

(BTW, although I certainly like this show better overall, I have rated some DISCO episodes positively and some ORV episodes negatively, so I hope I have some credibility as not operating from a double standard.)
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Mon, Apr 29, 2019, 9:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: The Road Not Taken

@Perry: Awesome! I thought I was the only one who loved that episode. It has taken a lot of fire here and elsewhere.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Mon, Apr 29, 2019, 7:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: The Road Not Taken

I agree with @5 that it's not tenable to imagine the whole Krill thing just "slipped her mind".

@Perry: "That puts an end to Mercer/Grayson bromance."

That's not what "bromance" means. Mercer and Malloy could be said to have a bromance (meaning a mutual admiration society between two heterosexual men). Not Mercer and Grayson.

I will try to join in on the ratings of various episodes, although my memory of those from the beginning of the season is a little hazy.

Jaloja 2.5
Primal Urges 3.0
Home 3.5
Nothing Left on Earth Excepting Fishes 3.5
All the World is Birthday Cake 4.0
A Happy Refrain 3.0
Deflectors 3.0
Identity Part I 3.5
Identity Part II 3.5
Blood of Patriots 1.5
Lasting Impressions 3.5
Sanctuary 3.5
Tomorrow x3 3.5
The Road not taken 2.5

Average: 3.1

"Tomorrow x 3" would have gotten a full four stars from me originally, but the subsequent episode has made it impossible in retrospect for me to rate it that high.

BTW, as I have steadfastly resisted single-timeline time travel; I was glad to see a recent high-profile movie also flat-out stated that those kinds of stories ("Back to the Future" etc.) are basically BS. :)
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Sat, Apr 27, 2019, 7:08am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

@Brian Lear: "Like, are there people out there choosing which discovery episodes to watch based on how many stars Jammer doles out? :)"

There is at least one. Not entirely based on that, but it was a major factor this season after I started to tire of the show a few weeks ago.

I have also used them to help me curate a VOY list to watch with my wife and daughter.

@Daya: ISWYDT :D
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Sat, Apr 27, 2019, 1:03am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: The Road Not Taken

@Trent: I'm not sure the romance was the linchpin (no "y" in that word, FYI) so much as the relationship Isaac had developed with Claire's sons, starting well before the romance.

As @S said, it's ridiculous that Kelly didn't warn anyone about the Kaylon invasion. I didn't even think about that while watching the show, but now I'm facepalming. If I'm going to complain about DISCO's plot holes and love of spectacle that doesn't add up to much, I've got to be consistent and do it here too, even though I like this show a lot more.

@Lynos: I cosign most of what you wrote. It's a shame that "Tomorrow3" only got one week to be my favorite episode, as it is now retroactively tainted by where they went with it this week.

I have declared my dislike for single-timeline time travel. Another problem with it that just occurred to me: why were they still okey-dokey while "young Kelly" was on the ship with them? Okay, she had not yet gone back and turned down the second date with Ed. But the impact of her disappearing altogether should have been the same...right?
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Thu, Apr 25, 2019, 9:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: The Road Not Taken

@Dave, I can't go with you on this one. It wasn't terrible, better than two or three of the episodes this season...but not that great and certainly not as good as last week's episode (which may actually now be a little diminished in my memory as a result).

I know it's standard for generic bad guys to be bad shots--but given how precise Isaac was when he took out the bridge crew, did they really have to be "can't hit the broad side of a barn" bad in the teaser?

I also thought all the "Empire Strikes Back" callbacks were a little silly.

I'm surprised they didn't give us a few seconds on the "prime timeline" Orville to show that all was well, that the timeline had been restored.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Thu, Apr 25, 2019, 7:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow

I don't agree with Jammer's review, obviously, as I said this might be my favorite episode of the show. But give him credit: in this case I wasn't out of step with other commenters, as it has gotten a great number of plaudits from them, but Jammer was nevertheless steadfast in keeping his own counsel--in contrast to recent accusations that he "reads the room" and then reviews an episode accordingly.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Wed, Apr 24, 2019, 12:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Why would the writers and showrunners openly admit this? That shouldn't be the only way you'd believe it. How about just looking at the plain evidence?

I don't think you understand that making this assumption (that they changed course and retconned) is actually a form of giving them the benefit of the doubt, at least to some degree. They could have done a better job with the retconning, but it's at least a better look for them as compared to their having planned for the Red Angel to be Burnham all along, yet being so sloppy in all the ways @Trent outlined (although a nitpick: he's right that the number of points on the map should not be seven--but it should be five, not three).
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Wed, Apr 24, 2019, 11:49am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Anyone excited for the "lawless teens" Trek series? https://www.indiewire.com/2019/04/star-trek-animated-series-teen-nickelodeon-cbs-1202127643/ I would actually be more curious to see this than the Section 31 spinoff.

@Alan Roi: that's not an answer to my question. I wasn't asking how you would operate as a showrunner. I'm asking if you believe the writers thought Burnham was in the suit when, for instance, the angel intervened in Kaminar.

Can't you just acknowledge that they obviously changed course, probably around the time they changed showrunners, and they did a bit of a botch in their retconning? Or are you really that invested in the narrative that this show is a finely tuned clockwork?
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Tue, Apr 23, 2019, 8:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

I agree with Jammer that it's apples and oranges to compare streaming and broadcast. I would be curious to know what the raw numbers are of viewers for each show. I suspect they are fairly similar.

@Booming: "The Orvillians should put their hopes on streaming. These companies suck up anything right now. I would be surprised if Amazon or Netflix don't bite if Fox doesn't renew it."

I agree.

@Hank: Your 4/23 4:40 p.m. comment is made of win.

@Alan Roi: Do you believe the writers intended Burnham to be the Red Angel from the beginning? Just curious.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Tue, Apr 23, 2019, 8:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow

@Tomalak: I don't know why you keep insisting on ascribing consciousness or intentionality to what I'm saying, when splitting the timeline as I'm talking about is no more about either than a prism "decides" to split light into different wavelengths. You by contrast were the one to describe the timeline as "blissful" when it presumably has no feelings at all.

Furthermore, the "any time travel in the past would not change the time line because it already happened that way" notion is one writers love because they can guide the story to work that way and it makes for a fun effect. But if you really think about it, it is so problematic. Let's say time travel did work that way. So you have a time machine, and you take it to the same location but one minute before you left. What happens? You certainly didn't notice a duplicate of yourself within that last minute before you left.

And I don't at all understand the question about why it would change anything if you went to thousands of years before you were born. The further back in time you go, the MORE it changes the present, as any changes multiply exponentially over time.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Mon, Apr 22, 2019, 9:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

You don't have to use autocorrect. I have had mine turned off for literally years.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Mon, Apr 22, 2019, 7:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

@Alan Roi: I would love it if DISCO showed "the slightest hint of emotion", rather than bolded, underlined, OTT melodramatic emotion.

Of the shows you mention, I've only seen two.

"Counterpart": Really good in the first season. Blah in the second.

"Homeland": Kind of cool for an episode or two. Then it turned ludicrous. (I stopped watching after five episodes or so.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Mon, Apr 22, 2019, 6:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

I guess "This is Us" must be cutting-edge new wave fiction as well. ;-)
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Mon, Apr 22, 2019, 5:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow

@Tomalak: To my way of thinking, it's single-timeline time travel that is nonsense, because of the paradoxes that would be instantly created even by "careful" travelers. If you go back to ancient Greece, even if you go to a deserted area and just disturb the air for a moment before returning to your own time, there is virtually no chance you will ever be born, meaning you can't have traveled back there.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Mon, Apr 22, 2019, 5:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

@Cody B: This white male thought "Ocean's 8" was dynamite.

@wolfstar: I think your timeline of when and how things were retconned with the new showrunner is likely about right. I think the instinct to change things was right, as those original plans were not very appealing. But he didn't do that well in making the show better, until the finale.

@Alan Roi: DISCO is New Wave SF? Ehhh...no. New Wave authors would not have approved of the space battles, the romance, the goopy love stories, the hagiography and tearful goodbyes. This take is just not even close, sorry.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Mon, Apr 22, 2019, 7:33am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow

@Booming: Oh yeah, I didn't mean to imply it had to be a conscious decision or an act involving intelligent life rather than unintelligent matter. Just that anything that ever could happen according to the laws of physics (kinown and unknown) has happened, and does happen in every moment. Branching off into an effectively infinite number of alternate universes. But "until" (in relative terms--here goes the time logic again) "young" Kelly was brought seven years into her future, not one of those infinite universes contained one where humans have this exact form of advance warning about the Kaylon (among other less significant developments).

I 100% agree with you BTW about the changes being at a very minute level at first and then rippling outward and magnifying exponentially (the old butterfly effect). So if we're really nitpicky, even memory wiping her while still sending her cells back with an extra few days of living on them changes the timeline. But I can forgive them for not getting that persnickety.

I did like the hard science fiction angle of testing her and finding on the cellular level a level of detail that would be inconceivable for even the Krill to fake. I found this plausible, not just technobabble. (I assume Q could fake even to that level, with the snap of his fingers?)
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Mon, Apr 22, 2019, 3:19am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow

Thanks, @Mertov. (You won't have to worry about it this week, lol.)

@Tomalak: Well, I certainly can't claim to give a clear-cut answer to a question about "wibbly-wobbly timey-wimey" time travel logic (which Ed humourosly noted can really make your brain hurt). But here's my best stab at it:

--There are indeed alternate universes created any time there are multiple roads one might go down. This is something many physicists actually believe, and is awesomely illustrated in the "Community" episode "Remedial Chaos Theory".

--Under that basic framework, you're right that Kelly simply not agreeing to the second date would just put her in a universe that existed anyway, because that's something that could have happened without time travel being involved.

--However, if the brain wipe didn't work and she actually remembers the future, this would create a brand new timeline that includes a Kelly Grayson who is aware of future developments like the Kaylon attempt to wipe out biologicals. That was not possible without a time travel element.

--Worth noting is that "young Kelly" (LOL) believed there was only one timeline, and that in fact the reason they are all still there is that the attempt to wipe her brain and put her back where she left was evidence that the brain wipe and return to seven years earlier worked perfectly and left everything as it was. This, it should be noted, is an answer to the question multiple people have posed as to why she didn't just choose to stay in the "future" instead of going back. She believed that she HAD to go back to keep everything from being screwed up.
Next ►Page 1 of 15
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.