Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 388 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 16
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Thu, Apr 2, 2020, 1:01am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: One

I liked this episode, but I had a hard time not feeling like they should have just taken the extra 11 months to go around the nebula.

My favorite scenes were the bookends of Seven asking the holodeck crewmembers blunt personal questions in rapidfire succession, and then connecting with them hesitatingly but more effectively in real life at the end, and showing some vulnerability. I hope this is character development that will not be erased by the dreaded Voyager Reset Button.

Of course the Doctor was great as always. I found it funny that no one ever commented on the irony of his lecturing Seven about tact. It’s true that at this point he does better at that than she does, but this is a low bar and he is not the ideal teacher.

I do not believe the alien was real, but I do think Tom actually crawled out of his pod at least once (the first time we saw — clearly the last couple were hallucinations). Otherwise you have to believe that Seven was hallucinating some of the Doctor’s lines as well, and that she told a falsehood at the end.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Thu, Apr 2, 2020, 12:32am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

You guys (including Jammer) are making me feel really lonely here! I thought the epilogue with Data was the worst part of the episode and one of the worst parts of the whole season. Dull, maudlin, implausible, and morally bankrupt. But then I was never a huge fan of Data’s character to begin with. Give me Spock, Tuvok, or even Isaac from the Orville any day.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Fri, Mar 27, 2020, 9:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Wait, are we sure Narissa is dead? On the SDMB, someone pointed out that she was shown throughout the season to have a personal transporter to get her out of jams. Seven/Annika should have used the disintegration method she employed earlier in the season!
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Thu, Mar 26, 2020, 7:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Which episodes were solely written by Chabon?
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Thu, Mar 26, 2020, 7:03am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

I did not like the epilogue. I really hate the trope about immortality being a bad thing.

But I thought the main part of the episode was well done in a middling classic Trek kind of way, and in fact all of it — good and bad — was very representative of the sort of median level of Trek over the years. Even if it didn’t approach the level of the best episodes or movies, it was also significantly better than the worst ones, and it just seemed much more recognizably *of* the franchise than virtually anything we have seen for the past decade or more.

2.5 stars, and I look forward to next season not quite eagerly but amiably.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Thu, Mar 26, 2020, 5:46am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

That was pretty intense.

It’s not entirely original, of course. We have seen variations of this in BSG, the Terminator movies, even “The Orville”. And for that matter, when Patrick Stewart is arguing with the leader of the synthetics, it’s highly reminiscent of his debates with Ian McKellen’s Magneto in a different universe with some parallels between synthetics and mutants.

But it was all very well done. And one thing I really liked about it, that others may feel betrays the spirit of Star Trek, is how we got various inversions of what had seemed good and bad, but it wasn’t just a random twist for twist’s sake. It all tracks logically with what we have seen. It’s pretty wild to think that Picard’s big noble quest is starting to look very questionable as to its actual nobility, and that in saving Soji he may have condemned billions or trillions of organics to death.

The other aspect of this twist is that the Romulan “bad guys” kind of seem like they had the right idea! And they did plant the seeds. I commented on the last episode that Rios kind of had a point when he noted that it was a little scary how Soji took over his ship.

I wrote the above before receiving any comments or the review. I see now that both are generally negative, which is too bad. I thought this episode was quite good, 3.5 stars and possibly the best of the season.

Now, on to the exciting conclusion!
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Mon, Mar 23, 2020, 8:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

I like the site fine the way it is, but if people want to volunteer to make it fancier that sounds cool too. I would chip in a couple bucks at Patreon if Jammer wants to do that.

I am pretty happy with this season overall, but I will defend the people who hate it but keep watching and commenting, as that has been pretty close to my experience with Discovery. If you are really interested in Star Trek, it’s just...interesting, to watch what they do with it—even if you don’t *like* what they are doing. And it’s also interesting to talk about it with other people.

Some questions I had:

How did Elnar get his hands out of the shackles?

Why did the Romulans think all the Borg had been killed if there were still enough to swarm Nerissa and her henchmen?

I agree with Rios: what if they’re right?
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Sun, Mar 22, 2020, 11:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

Great review of a great episode. I know we need to get on with things, but I could definitely handle more of the Soji & Kestra Show!
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Sun, Mar 22, 2020, 9:47am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

I can see how the gore could be jarring for fans of 1990s TNG. But I remember TNG being jarring to me as a teenager after being a fan of TOS reruns and the movies.

I don’t mind watching Trek that is more adult, although I do regret that it puts it more off-limits for kids.

I acknowledge some of the flaws in this episode, but I found it more enjoyable than most episodes of Discovery, so it’s still registering as a pleasant surprise so far.

My biggest disappointment in this episode is one PM mentions. I liked Agnes as kind of a lighthearted, funny audience surrogate character. So it’s really unfortunate to have her flip to the dark side.

(I was also confused for a while as to whether Bjeyzl was an amazingly well-preserved Troi, LOL.)
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Fri, Mar 20, 2020, 2:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Absolute Candor

The Rizzo stuff is definitely cheesy, but I actually enjoyed the Narek/Soji interaction, including the “Borg ritual”.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Fri, Mar 20, 2020, 12:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: The End Is the Beginning

@Kuja, don’t hold back, tell us what you really think!

I quite liked this one. A solid three stars. It could have been three and a half, if it weren’t for the cringey Rizzo/Narek stuff. But that was pretty brief, so it didn’t detract too much from my enjoyment of the episode.

I’m not sure why people are so surprised Raffi’s career got tanked. She was associated with a man and a general ideology (pro-synth, pro-Romulan) that was suddenly deeply out of favor, to put it mildly.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Thu, Mar 19, 2020, 10:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Demon

I didn’t think it was so bad. Definitely not great, but more in the 2 or 2.5 star range than 0.5.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Fri, Mar 13, 2020, 5:48am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Maps and Legends

I cosign almost every jot and tittle of Trent’s review. I definitely thought this was better than the pilot (which I liked OK but was not thrilled by); however, there were definitely some hokey villain moments. Overall I am pleased by the trend.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Tue, Mar 10, 2020, 12:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

Definitely not riveting. But not painful either. I paid for a month of CBSAA, so I will continue, although the weak ratings for most of the upcoming episodes are not reassuring. On the other hand there have been times where I have dramatically differed with Jammer (in both directions, disliking episodes he loved and really liking ones he panned) so we shall see.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Tue, Dec 17, 2019, 9:34am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Homeward

I definitely think jammer is too harsh on this one. I wish I could remember why I made a note to check this episode out, because I’m fairly certain it had to do with a discussion on some episode thread somewhere on this site.

Anyway, I thought this started very strong and lost a little steam toward the end, but I would still give it three stars overall.

BTW, Penny Johnson clearly has some anti-aging genes, because she does not look like she’s pushing 60 now on “The Orville”, and she did not look in her mid-thirties here, more like 25.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Sun, Jul 28, 2019, 2:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Living Witness

Agree 100% with Jammer’s review (the word “sociological” was particularly apt). This might be my favorite episode yet.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Mon, Jul 22, 2019, 1:59am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: The Road Not Taken

I think it's a smart move, similar to CBS and Trek. A small but very dedicated audience is much more valuable to a streaming service than to a broadcast network.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Mon, Jul 8, 2019, 5:31am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Retrospect

Did anyone notice that in the opening shot it is clearly Earth below them? Specifically Canada and the northern United States. At first I thought this meant we were getting a plot that occurred in the Alpha quadrant but no.

It’s a pity that the debates over these fraught topics occur almost entirely between groups that make themselves strawmen for the other side.

False accusations of rape are not vanishingly rare. They are more common than false reports of other kinds of crime. And my best friend in college had his reputation ruined and dropped out because of just such a false accusation. I know for a fact that it was false because he was 200 miles away with me the whole weekend in question. But if I had not been, I would have always wondered, and despite the narrative we so often hear, the young woman was believed rather than him. And the police went around talking to people but never went back to tell them he had an airtight alibi.

However, we do not live in a society where women actually have all the power and are constantly oppressing men. Nor are anything close to a majority of rape allegations false. The real number is somewhere around five or ten percent, but that is high enough that we have to stick with “innocent until proven guilty” and not just go by the woman’s word without corroborating evidence.

The conservative “red pill” types are terrible evangelists for this message because their rhetoric really does always seem to confirm the accusation from the other side that they are motivated by misogyny.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Thu, Jun 6, 2019, 3:54am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: The Road Not Taken

Thanks, @Dave! I searched for the episode and added it to the podcatcher on my phone.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Sat, May 11, 2019, 7:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: The Road Not Taken

Ja'loja!
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Fri, May 10, 2019, 3:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Threshold

Richard Splett rates this episode as tied for the third best of the season, lol:
https://www.splettnet.net/richard-spletts-guide-to-richard-spletts-top-five-favorite-episodes-of-star-trek-voyager-season-two/
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Sun, May 5, 2019, 8:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Hunters

I quite liked this episode, Hirogen and all. And I will join the defense of Tuvok's diplomacy, although the idea suggested by @Gary does make sense.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Fri, May 3, 2019, 6:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: The Road Not Taken

I agree that this show is very well suited to streaming.

@Artymiss: "I truly hated Kelly's wonderbra cleavage, was that really necessary?! Do your buttons up love."

Agreed. It was really distracting, and looked particularly bad because it highlighted her implants. What she normally wears makes it ambiguous as to whether they are real.

@Trent: Good catch on the parallels!
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Wed, May 1, 2019, 1:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: The Road Not Taken

From Jammer's review:
"Someone in the comments last week made the point: Just by going back in time before your birth and breathing the air, you are guaranteeing you won't be born."

That was me! Cool that he agrees. :-) And of course he's right that time travel stories generally have to ignore this, because it would in most cases destroy the fun. But I do think they should actually do something with this in, like, every thirtieth time travel plot, just for variety and to represent the idea.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Tue, Apr 30, 2019, 10:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: The Road Not Taken

Although I didn't love this episode, I will defend the black hole thing. As Dave noted, a FTL drive shouldn't be bound by the rules light must follow.

@OTDP: "Escaping the event horizon with Quantum Drive might be possible (anything may be possible with magic fictional tech) but it still doesn't explain why they could see the outside world from inside the event horizon"

Why would that be a problem? Light from that side is perfectly happy to come in their direction. So it should function like a one way mirror. All in all, I thought that sequence was cool.

As for your critiques of "Birthday Cake": Fair enough! I can't really argue with you on those, but the "cool factor" of the shootout and the solar sail were compensation enough for me, I guess.

@Galadriel: B5 is a series I keep hearing people rave about, but I have not yet watched it. I don't know if "so many" people like "Birthday Cake": when it first came out, I felt fairly strongly outnumbered by those who (like you) hated it.

@Quincy: "However The Orville craps all over its own CONTINUITY within a single season by having Kaylons not being aware some of them are being attacked by humans in the previous Kaylon two parter. Meanwhile, as others point out here in this episode, Kaylons are instantaneously aware that a disassembled unit is being downloaded and hacked, because all Kaylons everywhere are interlinked."

I thought of this issue as well, but I think there's an explanation that isn't too tortured. Nowhere that I recall did they say the interlink is continuous--rather, it sounds more like it requires conscious effort, like talking to someone (or typing a post in response to them). So if Isaac killed the other Kaylon fast enough, they wouldn't be able to warn the others, just like a redshirt on TOS can't warn Kirk, Spock, and McCoy about the monster if it eats him before he can use his communicator. But when LaMarr opened up the Kaylon, he wasn't just hacking into that particular individual. In fact, he had already done that at his leisure and found nothing useful. It was necessary to engage the communication system to download Isaac into that individual. At that moment, the tracking system was enggaged. This would also explain why the Kaylon didn't find them when they hid in the ice, even though Isaac was aboard.

Now, if you had asked why the Kaylon were so ineffectual when shooting at our plot-armored protagonists, I would have had nothing for you. ;-)

(BTW, although I certainly like this show better overall, I have rated some DISCO episodes positively and some ORV episodes negatively, so I hope I have some credibility as not operating from a double standard.)
Next ►Page 1 of 16
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.