Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 8 (Showing 1-8)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Skweeky
Tue, Dec 26, 2017, 5:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

And he had little hair. :D
Set Bookmark
Skweeky
Sun, Dec 24, 2017, 3:04am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

Lol. Hair.

That made me lol for real.
Set Bookmark
Skweeky
Mon, Dec 18, 2017, 4:16am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

@SlackerInc

'I'm glad you reminded me of Lamar's hottie though. Is that the closest to nudity we've seen on a Trek show? Or are they pushing it further on DSC?'

There are Klingon boobs on DIS. :D Complete nipplage.

I don't like that in a Star Trek show, but that's what they did.
Set Bookmark
Skweeky
Mon, Dec 11, 2017, 9:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

@peter g.

'Something cannot be a satire of something (like Catholicism) unless it actually understands that thing. I assure you that Seth doesn't, and further, that he couldn't care less to understand it.'

I see. You know Seth well do you? Best friends are you?

Maybe you should watch the episode before assuming what MacFarlane was trying to say about religion, or what he does or doesn't understand, or care to understand. You sould like the one who doesn't understand, or care to. Your initials aren't OTDP are they?

I never got a sense of this episode being anti-religious, and it certainly didn't say anything about anyone being psychotic for being religious.

It was far more about how they inadvertently affected this culture and how they can try to undo the effect to avoid contamination. But, in fact, at the end the people on the planet say that they would have turned out the same anyway. And that religion was virtually a necessitiy.

'We've been waiting for the phasing to occur again so we could meet you.
Our society has become a spacefaring culture with ships spread out across the galaxy.
In our home universe, that is.
But we wouldn't have gotten where we are without growing pains.
Our planet worshipped you as a deity for many centuries.
But had it not been you, the mythology would have found another face.
It's a part of every culture's evolution.
It's one of the stages of learning.
And eventually, it brought us here.'

I don't see how the message of this episode is anti-religious in any way. It's very nearly the opposite.

Try watching it before assuming things based on what you think some person you don't know would write.

And by the way, this isn't Star Trek, so the attitude towards religion in that is irrelevant as far as The Orville goes.
Set Bookmark
Skweeky
Sat, Dec 9, 2017, 4:10am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

@Matt

'I'm sure they've used the cloaking technology before with the shuttle.'

Now that you mention it again, it seems like maybe they did, but did they? A reference would help. From anyone who remembers. I don't.
Set Bookmark
Skweeky
Sat, Dec 9, 2017, 4:07am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

It's 'now' instead of 'know'. I do know how to spell words, I swear.

And now(know) I'll give my overall ratings for the season so far. Because I know(now) everyone was waiting with bated breath.

from best to worst.

Krill - 3.5
Mad Idolatry - 3.5
Majority Rule - 3.0
New Dimensions - 3.0
About a Girl - 2.5
If the Stars... - 2.5
Into the Fold - 2.5
Firestorm - 2.5
Old Wounds - 2.0
Command Performance - 2.0
Pria - 2.0
Cupid's Dagger - 1.5

That is an average of 2.54. Which for me, compared to the Star Trek shows is quite good. :D I did give The Orville a little bit more leeway as far as tech/science stuff went, but they didn't really disappoint me in that regard. At least not as much as Voyager did.
Set Bookmark
Skweeky
Sat, Dec 9, 2017, 3:39am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

First of all. It's mediocre. :) How I spelled that word in my last post. Not the episode. The episode was great.

And I forgot to mention what navamske mentioned.

@navamske
All of a sudden they have cloaking technology?

I noticed that immediately, and that annoyed me. They could have used that a few times already if they had it. So to introduce it know so offhandedly sort of pissed me off.
Set Bookmark
Skweeky
Sat, Dec 9, 2017, 3:32am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

Best episode yet.

I don't see the comparison to Voyager's 'Blink of an eye', which I thought was medoicre. A planet going through rapid evolution. That is the only similarity with that episode, and that's a pretty thin comparison.

I think it is much closer to what other's have said. 'Who Watches the Watchers' since that dealt with the crew being treated as gods. Which is the main thrust of this episode.

I thought they handled it well. With a few caveats. I don't really see how Kelly healing one person would create a religion, but who knows. Scientology is based on less. And I didn't like that sending Isaac had no effect. That should have been a major factor in their refutation of their religion. After all, that's why they sent him.

But a very good episode even with it's faults.

3 1/2 stars.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.