Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 37 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
Skater777
Wed, Jul 21, 2021, 10:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Once Upon a Time

Recycled plot of the shuttle crash coupled with a horrible B plot featuring the worst characters (Neelix, idiotic holodeck characters, and any kid).

Shuttles are the Voyager equivalent of red shirts. The minute you see anyone in one, there's a 75% chance the shuttle is going down. I have avoided getting emotionally attached to any of them for this reason.

Ethan Phillips did a great job here in a dramatic role instead of his court jester role. I don't fault him because the writers turned him into an annoying buffoon. Tuvok showed minor character development when comforting his injured crewmates. Paris also showed a more humble, human side.

It pains me to think how much was spent on costumes and effects for those holodeck characters.
Set Bookmark
Skater777
Wed, Jul 21, 2021, 10:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: In the Flesh

I agree with Jammer.

It's good to see Chakotay as the focus, and that they gave him a real issue to solve instead of the one dimensional Native American theme he gets shoehorned into all too often. He reminded me of Kirk or Riker with his romantic diplomacy skills.

I understand the criticism that a great enemy was neutralized and agree that it needed to be done more gradually. Other enemies in the Trek universe took great efforts to find peace with the Federation over many years, as opposed to Chakotay breaking down barriers on a single date.

It begs the question: does Star Trek need to have black and white "bad guys"? Was this species pure evil? After all, it attacked the Borg, which was a terrible threat to many species. I liked that we got to hear their side of the story, and that common ground was found with a seemingly irrational enemy. I love battles just as much as anyone else (I loved DS9), but battles can also be fought at the negotiation table.
Set Bookmark
skater777
Sat, Jun 19, 2021, 12:46am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Future's End, Part II

Two fun episodes and cool that they chose the 90s, which is when I grew up. It's good to have episodes like this once in a while.

I know it's science fiction, but I find it incomprehensible that even a very smart guy from the 20th century would be able to reverse engineer 29th century technology. Ed Begley being able to hack into Voyager? Come on.

And apparently even in the 29th century the security of starship consoles is just as strong as it was on Enterprise D, DS9, and every other Federation vessel in history. Begley is able to simply sit in the chair and talk, and he has complete access to the ship. If I leave my work computer for 10 minutes, the screen locks and my password must be entered.
Set Bookmark
Skater777
Fri, Jun 18, 2021, 12:14am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Basics, Part II

While DS9 mastered the art of developing guest stars into great secondary characters, Voyager excelled at killing them. It seems like Voyager loves to kill off its crewmen like the good old redshirts of TOS. Brad Dourif did a wonderful job as Suder, and to see his character arc continue as he redeemed himself and perhaps even rejoined the crew one day would have been rewarding. Hogan was a likeable character...similar to O'Brien...and killing him off was just dumb.

Also, does any Federation ship ever win a battle? It seems that they let other ships pound the living shit out of them, consoles blow up (fuses weren't invented until the 27th century), engines are always disabled, and their weapons have no effect.
Set Bookmark
Skater777
Wed, Jun 16, 2021, 11:49am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

I liked this episode, and it is good for Star Trek to have an imperfect ending. We expected to see Tuvix be noble and willingly sacrifice himself, but instead Janeway had to do what leaders do...make a difficult decision. Kate Mulgrew really nailed it.

Now if only they had lost Neelix's pattern during the separation process...that would have been a perfect ending. I despise how annoying they made his character...even the cast was annoyed! It's too bad because there are episodes when he is cunning and brave. He should have been written more like a Quark or Garak, as a sharp, somewhat shady character who knows the ins and outs of the Delta Quadrant.
Set Bookmark
Skater777
Thu, May 27, 2021, 10:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Badda-Bing, Badda-Bang

Fluff episode, but lots of fun. Not every Trek episode has to be serious. Vic grew on me in this episode and I loved the finale with Sisko singing.
Set Bookmark
Skater777
Thu, May 27, 2021, 9:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Chimera

Good character episode that was sorely needed after some filler episodes. I like how the DS9 characters really are gray and break the rules as needed.

The best part is that we didn't have to see idiotic Rom, Jake, or Ezri.
Set Bookmark
Skater777
Thu, May 27, 2021, 8:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Field of Fire

An OK episode for an earlier season. But wasted in Season 7. Nicole DeBoer played her best Ezri so far, but it is waste to give a new character so much screentime that doesnt advance the series plot.
Set Bookmark
Skater777
Thu, May 27, 2021, 7:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: The Emperor's New Cloak

I hate Ferengi episodes but this wasn't as bad as others. I'll take this over a Lwaxana Troi episode any day.
Set Bookmark
Skater777
Wed, May 26, 2021, 3:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Covenant

I hate the Dukat character arc in this series. His character was gray with flashes of good, but then they turned him into a cult leader. They replaced Dukat with Damar, and while Casey Biggs did a wonderful job, Dukat should have followed that character arc.

The whole religious aspect of DS9 was annoying, especially knowing that the "gods" were merely different life forms like Q. And these "gods" have evil counterparts? Ugh.

DS9 was good enough not to need the prophets and paghwraiths. The Dominion wars, Maquis, and other storylines were plenty.
Set Bookmark
skater777
Tue, May 25, 2021, 7:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Once More Unto the Breach

2/4 stars.

The storyline that Kor was an entitled, snobby rich kid does not fit with the way his character has been portrayed to date, so I found it hard to believe that he would have blocked Martok because he came from humble roots. The fact that Martok--who has been portrayed as honorable--would ridicule an old man is also not believeable. He acted like Geordi did towards Scotty, although to be fair, Geordi always acted like a jerk.
Set Bookmark
skater777
Tue, May 25, 2021, 7:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Treachery, Faith, and the Great River

Jeffrey Combs is truly magnificent, and is such a perfect example of how the "guest" actors really made DS9 such a great show. His soft-spoken portrayal of Weyoun is so effective, and he only needs to make a slight adjustment to contrast between good Weyoun and evil Weyoun. His interactions with Casey Biggs as the always excellent Damar were wonderful. Biggs is quietly hilarious in his comments about Weyoun 5, whom we know he basically had killed.

I found it striking that I was able to sympathize with the good Weyoun in a matter of minutes (who is a "new" character for all intents and purposes), but still cannot make a connection with Ezri, Rom, and Leeta after seeing them countless times. It pains me to see how the DS9 writers wasted so much airtime on Ferengi episodes, Lwaxani Troi, and ineffective main cast members when they could have devoted more time to Weyoun, Damar, Garak, Dukat, etc.
Set Bookmark
Skater777
Mon, May 24, 2021, 9:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Afterimage

Nothing against Nicole DeBoer (who is very cute!), but Ezri Dax was a huge mistake. You don't introduce a new character in the last season, let alone an uninteresting one. It was a huge distraction from the main plot of the series and took screen time away from the main cast and the talented recurring cast.

Jadzia Dax never found a place on the series. She was the science officer who never made a single discovery, and paled in comparison to Data and Spock. An unconvincing ship's counselor is even worse. She added nothing to the show.
Set Bookmark
skater777
Sun, May 2, 2021, 11:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Trials and Tribble-ations

3.5 stars? Come on! This was one of the best episodes in Trek history!

They did an amazing job meshing the new material with the old footage. The set, costumes, makeup, props, mannerisms of the actors, and even the film resolution (seems like they "downgraded" the normal quality) were absolutely perfect.

The humor here was so clever. They poked fun at how Klingons looked in TOS vs. now, and Worf got a chance to punch yet another Kilingon from another century. The fight scene was great, and I love how O'Brien is the one questioned by Kirk in the lineup. The fish-out-of-water scenes such as in the turbolift and O'Brien trying to "fix" the panel.

This was Dax's best episode. As someone who lived during that period, she believably drums up the nostalgia the audience is feeling. I loved how she was so giddy at anything from the old school tricorder to Spock's eyes.

I agree that it was a little too Kirk-centric, but whatever.

Definitely the most fun episode in Trek history.
Set Bookmark
Skater777
Wed, Apr 28, 2021, 12:41am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Muse

DS9 was famous for its strong cast of recurring guest actors. You really can't do better than Marc Alaimo and Andrew Robinson.

But the Lwaxana Troi character should have never seen this much airtime. While her character can be warm, caring, and quite funny, the old schtick of the man-crazy cougar had been so overdone that it's charcoal, and it never really worked in the first place. It should never be the plot of an episode. Lwaxana episodes are instant skips for me, as they do not advance the key DS9 story arcs and tell me not to take the episode seriously. Hated them on TNG and I hate them on DS9.

It really is a tragedy that episodes like this were made when we could have seen more of Dukat or Garak.
Set Bookmark
Skater777
Tue, Apr 27, 2021, 9:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Hard Time

Brilliant acting performances and intriguing story. I was troubled that there are never consequences for people who screw with Starfleet. O'Brien was mentally assaulted and his tormentors get off scot free?
Set Bookmark
Skater777
Sun, Apr 11, 2021, 9:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Fascination

Oh brother...Troi and Resting Bitch Face Keiko in the same episode.

I understand that Barrett is the wife of the boss, but her character is uninteresting, annoying, and so one-dimensional as the cougar on the prowl.

O'Brien should dump Resting Bitch Face and start hitting on every skirt on the station. You knew that he was infected because he didn't jump for joy when she told him she'd be gone for 3 more months.

This is also a rerun of the TNG episode although without the humor of Data's fully-functionalness.
Set Bookmark
Skater777
Sat, Apr 10, 2021, 11:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: The Abandoned

I could actually buy that a baby could become a full grown man in 3 days. What I couldn't believe is that Jake has enough game to land a girl 4 years his senior with dual photon torpedoes. She has the pick of dozens of able bodied men at the station and still goes for the dorky high school kid.
Set Bookmark
Skater777
Sat, Apr 10, 2021, 10:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Second Skin

This was the episode where I started liking Kira. Her angry Cardassian hater persona melted when she gripped her "father's" hand at the end. It was touching.

Garak is brilliant as always. "Just something I overheard when hemming someone's trousers...." Perfect writing and perfect acting.
Set Bookmark
Skater777
Sat, Apr 10, 2021, 1:27am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: The House of Quark

Mary Kay Adams is absolutely brilliant here with Armin Shimmerman. I rarely enjoy Ferengi episodes, but this was a lot of fun. I loved her lines about taking his hand off her leg, and the divorce scene is comic gold. Quark shines in the climax.

I really hope Keiko is really good in bed for O'Brien to endure 7 years of Resting Bitch Face. I thought I saw Colm Meaney crack a real smile when he told her about the 6-month trip.
Set Bookmark
Skater777
Fri, Apr 9, 2021, 12:27am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Tribunal

Odo and O'Brien were wonderful in this episode, and the Cardassians were delightful in their portrayal of a sham legal system. It was comical how they were surprised by the human reaction to the pre-determined outcome of the process.

But, in what seems to be the modus operandi of Season 2, where are the consequences? O'Brien was basically kidnapped and a spy was caught, which must be treat violations if not acts of war. Where are the Federation diplomats banging their fists on the table? Where is the cloaked Klingon ship with a rescue team? Starfleet is portrayed as a bunch of wimps all too often.
Set Bookmark
Skater777
Thu, Apr 8, 2021, 6:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: The Wire

Garak is one of the best Trek characters ever, and DS9 arguably has the best "guest" actors of any Trek show. Andrew Robinson is truly brilliant in this episode and it still puzzles me why he wasn't considered a full-time cast member like Quark.

"Especially the lies." Hands down, one of the greatest lines of DS9.
Set Bookmark
Skater777
Thu, Apr 8, 2021, 6:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Profit and Loss

Jammer hit the nail on the head.

Odo suddenly has the power to defy the Bajoran government and releases the prisoners? What about the prisoner exchange?

Zero consequences for the prisoners escaping and a missing captain? The episode needed another 60 seconds to tie up this loose end such as Sisko telling the Cardassians that there was a firefight and the gul was killed along with the prisoners.
Set Bookmark
Skater777
Mon, Apr 5, 2021, 12:38am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Sanctuary

The episode addresses an issue that you don't always think about in a sci fi setting, although it got annoying very fast.

I had some sympathy for the Skrreeans at first, but lost it when they became entitled and antagonistic. Bajor had every right to deny them settlement and their morality is not damaged by this decision. I found the Bajoran minister's delivery of this message to be kind and thoughtful. Ironically, the Bajorans just dealt with the Cardassians who felt entitled to a planet that wasn't theirs, and now they get the same mindset from the Skrreeans.

I applaud DS9 for taking a realistic approach to this issue and acknowledging that dealing with refugees is not an easy issue that must be decided with the head, not the heart.
Set Bookmark
Skater777
Mon, Mar 29, 2021, 6:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Duet

Great episode, although the plot is quite far fetched. Security gets an "F" as it did with TNG. Parade the equivalent of Hitler on the promenade with barely any security.
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.