Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 46 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
Simon
Thu, Nov 23, 2017, 5:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

@ Ed

"Most likely, this cloaking device isn't as advanced as the ones we see 100 years later. Discovery can pick up signs that there is a cloaked ship in the general area, but the information is useless for targeting it."

Yes, that seems like a reasonable explanation. I've thought of another one too: a cloaked ship moving at warp is (to a degree) detectable through its warp signature.
Set Bookmark
Simon Humphreys
Wed, Nov 22, 2017, 2:07am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

I thoroughly enjoyed this episode. I'm now fully convinced that Tyler is Voq. I'm also just as certain that Lorca is responsible for the misjump. Can't wait for the next few episodes.

Some nitpicks, however, which I think expose sloppy writing:

How can the Discovery can detect a cloaked ship entering the system?

What on earth was the Phavan's plan? They made the effort to get the Klingons there, what further intervention were they intending (answer: none, as this was just a plot contrivance to move the action along).

How do the Klingons know that the Phavan's possess the technology (that could possibly be used) to detect cloaked ships? Also, how do the Klingon's know the Phavan's are helping the Federation (answer: all this knowledge is just assumed in order to drive the plot).

It's frustrating that the setup was just completely discarded in order to move the plot along. That said, it was a cracking episode so I guess I can forgive it all!
Set Bookmark
Simon Humphreys
Sat, Nov 4, 2017, 6:15am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry

For the record I liked this episode, but the saucer spinning was a step to far for me really lol
Set Bookmark
Simon Humphreys
Sat, Nov 4, 2017, 5:03am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

Hmm I'm in two minds about this. I found the acting to be quite wooden and the script clunky as hell, but I still enjoyed it all the same. As for issues with continuity and the redesign of the Klingons, I say to hell with it: let this show be a reboot rather than a slavish side story inserted into the larger Trek cannon.
Set Bookmark
Simon
Wed, Aug 2, 2017, 1:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Dreadnought

Aside from the issue of just happening upon the weapon (which I can forgive the writers for), the warhead is portrayed as having almost unlimited power.

It took Voyager's shields down to 40% with just a few 'plasma waves' and could clearly have destroyed it with little effort, given the total ineffectiveness of Voyager's own weapons. Presumably just one of these could take have taken out all gamma quadrant races and probably the Q Continuum at the same time.

It's an incredibly stupid oversight which ruins all the other good aspects of the episode including Roxann Dawson's performance and the potential of the premise itself. 1 star.
Set Bookmark
SamSimon
Tue, Feb 21, 2017, 4:34am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: The Sound of Her Voice

One other thing: she can hardly breath, but she never, NEVER stops talking. The Defiant crew has to take shifts to listen to her! I found that hilarious.
Set Bookmark
SamSimon
Tue, Jan 31, 2017, 2:15am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Who Mourns for Morn?

I expected half a star for this episode... I usually don't enjoy the Ferengi episodes, and this is no exception. On the other hand, the previous one (the magnificent ferengi) was, so I cannot complain too much, I guess!
Set Bookmark
SamSimon
Mon, Sep 26, 2016, 10:33am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Empok Nor

I like this episode a lot! Just rewatched it yesterday and it still works for me. Yes, there are clich├ęs, as Jammer wrote, but it's well directed and well acted.

Plus the terrible "Ferengi love songs" still burns my memory... so this is gold!!!
Set Bookmark
SamSimon
Wed, Sep 14, 2016, 6:19am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Soldiers of the Empire

After Ferengi love songs, this episode felt like the perfect one!!! I liked it a lot, I guess I'm not yet bored by the Klingon episodes!
Set Bookmark
Simon
Wed, Aug 31, 2016, 3:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Miri

I quite liked this episode, but the oldest male "child" looked about 30!
Set Bookmark
SamSimon
Sun, Apr 10, 2016, 9:38am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

This episode is pure perfection. Tears and shivers.
Set Bookmark
SamSimon
Tue, Jul 21, 2015, 1:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Tribunal

I like this episode, but not only the Cardassians were able to effectively kidnap O'Brien from outside Cardassian space, for a crime that ostensibly took place on a Bajoran space station, but also they teleported in the runabout when the shields were up...
Set Bookmark
SamSimon
Thu, Jul 16, 2015, 1:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: The Collaborator

Amazing episode. I didn't remember it (or maybe I had never seen it before), and I just finished watching it. It is tense, unpredictable, and with amazing characters' development. I don't understand why so much hate in the comments, I really loved the episode (and I expected even more than 3 stars from Jammer, actually!).
Set Bookmark
SamSimon
Thu, Jul 9, 2015, 2:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: The Maquis, Part II

Great episodes! I loved them!

The story is solid, all characters are used well, special effects are great (the final battle is really well done). Only one thing didn't work well for me: as soon as part I started, it was super easy to understand that Hudson was with the Maquis. Apart from that, really solid episodes.
Set Bookmark
SamSimon
Sun, May 10, 2015, 12:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Shadowplay

Agree 100% with your analysis, Jammer. I enjoy this episode, although I clearly see its flaws and its "mildness" (not to be read negatively: it's simply a very light episode).
Set Bookmark
SamSimon
Mon, Apr 20, 2015, 2:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Whispers

I totally agree with Jammer on this. Brilliant episode.

As for one of the comments above, they couldn't simply lock the false O'Brien, because they had to wait for his rescue first. Locking him too early could have meant the death of the true O'Brien held captive somewhere!
Set Bookmark
SamSimon
Wed, Apr 15, 2015, 2:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Armageddon Game

I liked the episode a lot, but... it took Bashir less than an hour to neutralize the terrible weapon that had to be destroyed and all the people who knew about it with it. :--/
Set Bookmark
SamSimon
Sat, Mar 14, 2015, 3:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Cardassians

This is one of the many episodes that prove that Garak is possibly the best character in the DS9 universe.

Simply amazing. Great episode, great themes, great characters.
Set Bookmark
SamSimon
Sun, Feb 22, 2015, 1:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: The Siege

Also surprised to see so few comments... I rewatched the trilogy today and found it amazing. So much quality. Of course it's not perfect (Quark in the third episode, the death of Li Nalas...), but it's high quality Star Trek. I agree with Jammer on this (as usual), and I look forward to seeing the rest of the season!
Set Bookmark
SamSimon
Wed, Jan 21, 2015, 7:18am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Dax

I liked the episode, but I do agree with RD GEEK on this:

"So, wouldn't the legal question of culpability of Trills and their hosts have been long settled by Trill society? Instead of having the back and forth of the extradition hearing, couldn't they just cite (or even the Trill minister just cite) the relevant legal standard? Why didn't the prosecutor just ask him how it worked on the Trill home world?"

After all, Trills have been known for decades now, so I think that they should know how to deal with such questions at this stage!
Set Bookmark
SamSimon
Wed, Jan 21, 2015, 7:15am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Vortex

I agree with Jammer on this review. I think that the episode is really solid. I like how DS9 can deal with violations of the prime directive (Odo clearly violated it, and it didn't bother him so much) in a more credible way than TNG.

Then, it may have been a more compelling episode without having Croden's people believing in a very strange idea of justice (killing your family to punish you!), and without having Croden so 100% innocent (although we only find out about that at the end of the episode). Nevertheless, I enjoyed the episode.

Also, they should certainly exile Quark, he appears to be at the centre of every single mess that happens on DS9, doesn't he? :--)
Set Bookmark
SamSimon
Wed, Jul 23, 2014, 2:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Force of Nature

While I do agree with Jammer on all the weaknesses of this episode (basically, the fact that there are a couple of subplots just to fill the hour), I do believe that the final message alone deserves a couple of stars on its own. Simply great. And 20 years later, we are still destroying the only Planet that we have using fossil fuels, and we are not going to do anything at all to stop this in the foreseeable future...
Set Bookmark
SamSimon
Wed, Jul 2, 2014, 2:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Frame of Mind

4 stars, I totally agree.

Jammer, why do you think that this episode would have been perfect for Miles O'Brien?
Set Bookmark
SamSimon
Tue, Jun 10, 2014, 2:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Aquiel

Ok, I'm the absolute minority here. I just watched the episode and as usual I came here to check Jammer's score (and the discussion) expecting a 2, 2.5. I honestly don't understand why all this hate (and I went through all your reasons), I thought this was a good episode for Geordi and could have become something more should they have decided to keep Aquiel on the Enterprise...
Set Bookmark
SamSimon
Sun, Jun 1, 2014, 1:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Chain of Command, Part II

These two episodes are truly masterpieces. To me, they are perfect in each and every detail. And so ahead of their time as well!
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.