Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 55 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3
Set Bookmark
SamSimon
Tue, Nov 5, 2019, 4:39am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Infinite Regress

I actually sympathised a lot with the aliens... but is Borg genocide justified? According to Picard in I, Borg: no, it's not. But if you witness your quadrant slowly and relentlessly eaten out by the Borg... well, I thought about it a lot!
Set Bookmark
Simon Blake
Wed, Oct 9, 2019, 8:44am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Wars: The Empire Strikes Back

Here's my problem with Empire: tauntauns.

I love, love, LOVE tauntauns. The idea of having a domesticated furry tusked dinosaur to ride is fantastic. The problem is in the realisation. Normally, you'd expect a special effect to look good from a distance, and be a bit disappointing close up. But tauntauns are the opposite: close up, they are (to me) really convincing. When you see Luke and Han sitting astride the beasts, they look *real*. You can practically smell them. But then it cuts to a long shot, and what I guess is a stop-motion (go-motion?) model... which while it's nice enough, just looks like what it is - a little model. It's the least convincing bit of model work in the entire trilogy, and stands out a mile.

What's even more baffling is that in the special editions, they didn't seem to touch these shots at all. I was actually looking forward to them getting those sequences right after twenty years, finally making them look consistent with the close-ups using CGI... and what did we get instead? More Wampa, which nobody asked for.
Set Bookmark
Simon Blake
Wed, Oct 2, 2019, 10:03am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: These Are the Voyages...

"(if you have the time the editing skills, you can even do better: rearrange the scenes from "Terra Prime" so it ends with Archer's speech and fade from that to the "Space... the Final Frontier" of the 3 Enterprise Captains from "These Are the Voyages". That would be THE perfect way to end Enterprise)"

Even better: do NOT watch this as part of ENT at all. Work out which scenes come where in "The Pegasus", and splice in the ENT sequences to that episode of TNG.

I've been introducing my wife to Trek. We've done the good bits of TOS, most of TNG, all of DS9 apart from some of the rubbish ones in S1&2, the best couple of dozen of Voyager, and every episode of ENT, because I hadn't already seen those. Last night we watched "The Pegasus" again, immediately followed by "These are the voyages". She could see why I did it that way, and frankly it didn't jar that much for us that Frakes and Sirtis had aged a bit, even seeing the two episodes back to back. But goodness me it was rubbish, for all the reasons stated.

At least we've got a couple of seasons of "Discovery" to go at now, and don't have the massive downer you'd have had seeing this in 2005, with no new Trek on the horizon.
Set Bookmark
Simon Blake
Fri, Sep 27, 2019, 7:50am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Drone

Among my favourite episodes, mainly for two lines that REALLY stick in my memory even 20 years on:
First, when One volunteers to go over to the Borg ship, Seven warns "They will try to assimilate you." One makes the slightest of head movements which nevertheless CLEARLY conveys the sentiment "bitch, please", and simply says "They will fail." Brilliant.

And second when the "You are hurting me" line repetition pays off with "You will adapt." That is absolutely lovely and brings a tear to my eye as I'm typing this. Five stars just for getting to those two lines.
Set Bookmark
Simon Blake
Fri, Sep 6, 2019, 3:19am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: The Xindi

" largely because of how cathartic it is to see a competent combat team at work in the Star Trek universe"

This! I'm bingeing ST:ENT with my wife and we watched this last night. One thing we both noticed was how refreshing it is to see characters *and actors* who seem to know how to go into a room full of hostile armed people and deal with them efficiently. I've lost count of the times I've seen obviously entirely untrained actors enter a killing room skull-first with their weapon pointed at the floor and shouted "That's not how you clear a room!".
This time the MACOs dropped in, and pretty much took out the major threats where possible in a single well-aimed shot. No popping out from behind plastic barrels to wildly ping something in the vague direction of the target, like in every other Trek firefight.
Set Bookmark
SamSimon
Thu, Apr 25, 2019, 9:10am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: False Profits

I honestly expected zero stars for this mess. Ferengi episode = :--(
Set Bookmark
SamSimon
Fri, Mar 15, 2019, 3:07am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: The Corbomite Maneuver

I agree with Jammer on the fact that this episode drags a bit, but I still enjoyed it!

I also wrote a short review here, if you want to have a look:

https://vengonofuoridallefottutepareti.wordpress.com/2019/03/14/star-trek-tos-s01e10-the-corbomite-maneuver/
Set Bookmark
SamSimon
Tue, Feb 19, 2019, 3:28am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Charlie X

I think that Jammer is right in saying that the point of the episode lies not so much in its plot, but rather in the theme of adolescence which is actually treated well.

I wrote about it here!

https://vengonofuoridallefottutepareti.wordpress.com/2018/12/18/star-trek-tos-s01e02-charlie-x-english/
Set Bookmark
SamSimon
Tue, Feb 19, 2019, 3:26am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: The Man Trap

I agree with Jammer, not the best way to start the show... but hey, it's an entertaining episode after all!

I wrote about it here:

https://vengonofuoridallefottutepareti.wordpress.com/2018/12/13/star-trek-tos-s01e01-the-man-trap-english/
Set Bookmark
Simon
Thu, Nov 23, 2017, 5:21pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

@ Ed

"Most likely, this cloaking device isn't as advanced as the ones we see 100 years later. Discovery can pick up signs that there is a cloaked ship in the general area, but the information is useless for targeting it."

Yes, that seems like a reasonable explanation. I've thought of another one too: a cloaked ship moving at warp is (to a degree) detectable through its warp signature.
Set Bookmark
Simon Humphreys
Wed, Nov 22, 2017, 2:07am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

I thoroughly enjoyed this episode. I'm now fully convinced that Tyler is Voq. I'm also just as certain that Lorca is responsible for the misjump. Can't wait for the next few episodes.

Some nitpicks, however, which I think expose sloppy writing:

How can the Discovery can detect a cloaked ship entering the system?

What on earth was the Phavan's plan? They made the effort to get the Klingons there, what further intervention were they intending (answer: none, as this was just a plot contrivance to move the action along).

How do the Klingons know that the Phavan's possess the technology (that could possibly be used) to detect cloaked ships? Also, how do the Klingon's know the Phavan's are helping the Federation (answer: all this knowledge is just assumed in order to drive the plot).

It's frustrating that the setup was just completely discarded in order to move the plot along. That said, it was a cracking episode so I guess I can forgive it all!
Set Bookmark
Simon Humphreys
Sat, Nov 4, 2017, 6:15am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry

For the record I liked this episode, but the saucer spinning was a step to far for me really lol
Set Bookmark
Simon Humphreys
Sat, Nov 4, 2017, 5:03am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

Hmm I'm in two minds about this. I found the acting to be quite wooden and the script clunky as hell, but I still enjoyed it all the same. As for issues with continuity and the redesign of the Klingons, I say to hell with it: let this show be a reboot rather than a slavish side story inserted into the larger Trek cannon.
Set Bookmark
Simon
Wed, Aug 2, 2017, 1:47pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Dreadnought

Aside from the issue of just happening upon the weapon (which I can forgive the writers for), the warhead is portrayed as having almost unlimited power.

It took Voyager's shields down to 40% with just a few 'plasma waves' and could clearly have destroyed it with little effort, given the total ineffectiveness of Voyager's own weapons. Presumably just one of these could take have taken out all gamma quadrant races and probably the Q Continuum at the same time.

It's an incredibly stupid oversight which ruins all the other good aspects of the episode including Roxann Dawson's performance and the potential of the premise itself. 1 star.
Set Bookmark
SamSimon
Tue, Feb 21, 2017, 4:34am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: The Sound of Her Voice

One other thing: she can hardly breath, but she never, NEVER stops talking. The Defiant crew has to take shifts to listen to her! I found that hilarious.
Set Bookmark
SamSimon
Tue, Jan 31, 2017, 2:15am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Who Mourns for Morn?

I expected half a star for this episode... I usually don't enjoy the Ferengi episodes, and this is no exception. On the other hand, the previous one (the magnificent ferengi) was, so I cannot complain too much, I guess!
Set Bookmark
SamSimon
Mon, Sep 26, 2016, 10:33am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Empok Nor

I like this episode a lot! Just rewatched it yesterday and it still works for me. Yes, there are clich├ęs, as Jammer wrote, but it's well directed and well acted.

Plus the terrible "Ferengi love songs" still burns my memory... so this is gold!!!
Set Bookmark
SamSimon
Wed, Sep 14, 2016, 6:19am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Soldiers of the Empire

After Ferengi love songs, this episode felt like the perfect one!!! I liked it a lot, I guess I'm not yet bored by the Klingon episodes!
Set Bookmark
Simon
Wed, Aug 31, 2016, 3:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Miri

I quite liked this episode, but the oldest male "child" looked about 30!
Set Bookmark
SamSimon
Sun, Apr 10, 2016, 9:38am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

This episode is pure perfection. Tears and shivers.
Set Bookmark
SamSimon
Tue, Jul 21, 2015, 1:27pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: Tribunal

I like this episode, but not only the Cardassians were able to effectively kidnap O'Brien from outside Cardassian space, for a crime that ostensibly took place on a Bajoran space station, but also they teleported in the runabout when the shields were up...
Set Bookmark
SamSimon
Thu, Jul 16, 2015, 1:00pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: The Collaborator

Amazing episode. I didn't remember it (or maybe I had never seen it before), and I just finished watching it. It is tense, unpredictable, and with amazing characters' development. I don't understand why so much hate in the comments, I really loved the episode (and I expected even more than 3 stars from Jammer, actually!).
Set Bookmark
SamSimon
Thu, Jul 9, 2015, 2:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: The Maquis, Part II

Great episodes! I loved them!

The story is solid, all characters are used well, special effects are great (the final battle is really well done). Only one thing didn't work well for me: as soon as part I started, it was super easy to understand that Hudson was with the Maquis. Apart from that, really solid episodes.
Set Bookmark
SamSimon
Sun, May 10, 2015, 12:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: Shadowplay

Agree 100% with your analysis, Jammer. I enjoy this episode, although I clearly see its flaws and its "mildness" (not to be read negatively: it's simply a very light episode).
Set Bookmark
SamSimon
Mon, Apr 20, 2015, 2:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: Whispers

I totally agree with Jammer on this. Brilliant episode.

As for one of the comments above, they couldn't simply lock the false O'Brien, because they had to wait for his rescue first. Locking him too early could have meant the death of the true O'Brien held captive somewhere!
Next ►Page 1 of 3
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.