Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 362 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 15
Set Bookmark
Silly
Mon, Jun 21, 2021, 9:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Extreme Measures

For some reason, I find it hilarious that Sloan's first name is "Luther". Maybe because "Sloan" is a pretty cool name, and "Luther" not so much.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Mon, Jun 21, 2021, 4:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Statistical Probabilities

It is pretty comical to think Starfleet gave top secret information to a bunch of people from an insane asylum.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Mon, Jun 21, 2021, 4:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Strange Bedfellows

The Ezri/Worf stuff was just terrible.

The ridiculous amount of focus on Ezri, especially how boring it was, pretty much turned Ezri into Scrappy Doo. Worse, the Worf/Ezri/Bashir relationship thing was just monumentally boring.

It definitely was a huge waste of space, particularly in the end episodes of a series spanning arc.


And I agree with the above, that the Worf on DS9 is a joyless fuddy dudd. They basically took the worst aspects of his character and endlessly wallowed in them. And they omitted most **if not all** of his TNG fun side.

A forever mopey Klingon. It takes skill to write that.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Sun, Jun 20, 2021, 6:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: The Void

And while the show was very limited in long story arcs, they SHOULD have had the ship gradually breaking down at least. They were so anal about that reset button, I'm surprised they ever allowed Mulgrew to change her hair.


Though actually, since practically every show now is arc based soap opera, it's one of nice that Voyager is episodic. You can jump in here or there.

I'm quite hesitant to even watching shows now because I don't want such a commitment.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Sun, Jun 20, 2021, 6:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: The Void

Well, Voyager did start with story arcs for the first couple of seasons. But it didn't really work.

Partly because the Kazon were so ridiculous. Partly because they were trying to borrow DS9 elements. The lead Kazon was meant to be like Dukat and Seska seemed to borrow a lot of Kai Winn. The actress even looked and sounded like a younger version.

But there problems with this. Seska's character ark was ridiculous, and the Kazon were such a silly "threat".

But the biggest problem was they shouldn't have seen these Kazon for more than a few episodes, tops.


There should have been very few recurring characters, and they needed to be non-corporeal like Q and (in effect) the Borg Queen. Or, they were hitching a ride got some reason like Neelix.

They could have cheated and somehow ended up with a rag tag fleet of Alpha Quadrant ships to protect. That could have been interesting...



Anyway, as others have pointed out, this is actually pretty much a remake of an Animated Series episode "The Time Trap".

Maybe Jammer will review the Animated Series at some point. They're much better than people assume. They have most of TOS voice actors and the stories are of the same level as TOS. It's not kid-ified at all. The animation is painfully cheap and the music is even more over the top than the original show, but still, it's like the final two years of the five year mission.

Plus, they are able to show things they never could on the live action show.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Sun, Jun 20, 2021, 2:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Timeless

Bob, that's a good point, B'Elanna would have been a far better choice for this than Chuckles. Far more believable motivation for wanting to undo things, and the actual chief engineer working with Harry on the drive would have been more believable too.


Chuckles' motivations are weak. He's not really to blame, and he has a lover. And she is happy to go along with it too?
Set Bookmark
Silly
Sun, Jun 20, 2021, 2:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

It is kind of hard to believe Admiral Janeway would have done this 10 years after Voyager got back. Have there been no children born in that time, and for that matter, the 16 additional years Voyager was lost?

And Barclay was ok with it too? And, ultimately, Harry?


I mean, this all does suggest the Janeway/Seven ho-yay was true. Kind of like in Timeless, where the similarly un-paired Harry arguably altered time to save TOM.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Sun, Jun 20, 2021, 2:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

Actually, while Admiral Paris and his son didn't really interact at the end, the Admiral kept looking down from the view screen at Tom and smiling. Very nice touch.

The ending was kind of abrupt, but we got the gist of most of their futures from the false future. Not bad really.


I could have done without the idea that Doctor Joe was able to squeeze Barclay for Janeway's full plan, then Harry swooping out to try to stop her. Worse, if they were going to do that, there SHOULD have been a mention of the events of Timeless. That was a different Harry, but they pretty well know what he did, and it's essentially identical.

Seven and Chuckles? So random and silly and not believable.


The timey wimey stuff is as wacky as usual, but at least the Queen referenced that these events would never happen because of the changes, though for the wrong reason.


Acting was pretty good, especially with Schultz and Mulgrew.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Sat, Jun 19, 2021, 10:03am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Extreme Measures

Sigh2000, you're right, this is strangely parallel to "Emergence".



This was definitely mostly tired retread off cliches.

I could have done without the the tired faux peril "if we don't make it out of his head before he dies, we die too!" Really?


This one just screams budget, including the lengthy Julian/Miles corridor scene. There are not cuts, and the dialogue was trying to reuse the hilarious scene from an earlier episode where O'Brien got stuck saying "Julian, people either love you or hate you. When I first met you, I hated you. And now...."


The pitch sounds good.

* We need a cheap bottle episode because of the other very lavish episodes we are doing

* Bring back the popular Sloan

* Another Julian/Miles romp

* Get the Odo cure
Set Bookmark
Silly
Sat, Jun 19, 2021, 12:30am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

Pretty decent series finale. Minor complaints:

* I firmly believe Garak would have shot Odo before allowing him to link with the Founder.

* O'Brien's mentioning he would be leaving DS9 once the war is over just seemed weird. As viewers, we know the Feds will win and that most likely O'Brien would survive, but a character in the story indirectly suggesting that just seemed wrong.

* Intercutting the space battles, the events on Cardassia, and the end of the war scene on DS9 with Winn and Dukat's story made it seem like they must have been in the caverns for weeks.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Fri, Jun 18, 2021, 10:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Tacking into the Wind

I meant Rosot, not Vornar.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Fri, Jun 18, 2021, 10:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Tacking into the Wind

Absolutely spectacular.

The fivesome of Kira, Odo, Garak, Damar and Vornar is fantastic. And a semi-Mexican stand-off to boot.

It does strain credibility that this team could expect to go unrecognized under cover, but gratefully, Damar is indeed recognized.

And the character Damar has a very believable arc that you never would have expected in his early appearances. He's had to grow up very quickly. He has to eat quite a lot of s*** from Kira (even though she's mostly not doing it intentionally).


My only complaints are regarding the Gowron/Worf parts. The Gowron problems aren't new, he's been pretty poorly written throughout DS9. He's a pale version of his TNG self, but at least he still has the eye thing.

Second complaint is that Worf should have accepted being chancellor. The only reason he didn't is I'm sure due to executives wanting him to remain available for TNG movies.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Fri, Jun 18, 2021, 5:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: The Changing Face of Evil

Dukat's story went rather loony, but to some degree it's worth it because we get the rise of Damar, a very mundane functional officer. He's clearly no ego-maniac and the dry delivery of his speech makes it seem more real and believable. I doubt a Dukat type could have made a more convincing speech.

I'm also kind of happy that Dukat didn't get redeemed.


Also, it's perhaps Damar's dull demeanor that caused Weyoun to completely miss what was happening with Damar, right under his nose. Weyoun never seemed to consider for a moment that Damar could become a threat.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Fri, Jun 18, 2021, 5:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: The Changing Face of Evil

Santa Anna allowed some non-combatants to escape to spread the word, but executed any survivors of the Alamo and ordered the slaughter of hundreds of POWs soon after at Goliad. Santa Anna believed this would be demoralizing but this did not work, it created anger.

Whatever the Founder's reasoning, it was probably wise not to destroy the life pods. Creating martyrs is risky business, plus if people believe they will die no matter what, they tend to go all out and become vicious.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Thu, Jun 17, 2021, 11:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Way of the Warrior

Oh and I'm also willing to dispense disbelief to some degree in that the humans are doing fancy 23rd+ century fighting techniques but that the show can't adequately depict this. That's what some of the novelizations suggest. For example, Kirk didn't defeat Space Seed Khan merely by hitting him with a plastic pipe.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Thu, Jun 17, 2021, 11:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Way of the Warrior

Trek has struggled with fight scenes, which is kind of weird. At least this isn't as bad as early TNG, like Heart of Glory, where security officers jumped their whole bodies in the line of fire.

That said, I don't think this particular hand to hand was staged poorly. Parts of it might have been.

But Sisko being able to defeat Klingons with a batleth is crazy. I can buy Dax doing it because of her history.

To me, the Klingons fight so incredibly poorly that if I were Sisko, I would believe it was intentional.


Rewatching this, I get the feeling Avery Brooks was not at all pleased with Michael Dorm joining the cast. Sisko seems incredibly blah and subdued in the relevant Sisko/Worf scenes. It's quite possible Brooks perceived Dorn's arrival as a threat.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Wed, Jun 16, 2021, 12:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Sons of Mogh

Doing a memory wipe and pawning Kurn off to another family can't possibly conform to Klingon life and honor whatsoever. This was just crazy.


Worf probably sounded like a perfect fit for the series but his sourpuss emo tendencies were just amplified and very little fun happened.

Going back to Way of the Warrior, I wish they hadn't even used the "I'm going to resign" "no please please stay" angle, which was already tied for Worf himself, let alone already being a clichéd trope.

Couldn't he have just been assigned to DS9, like normal? No problem him mentioning his issues some, but skip the tired melodrama. And would he really be so chatty with everybody with his personal issues? O'Brien MAYBE, especially considering the destruction of the Enterprise.

It really does seem they were mostly jettisoning Worf's backstory. I don't see why, wrt Kurn.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Wed, Jun 16, 2021, 9:03am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Way of the Warrior

A bit epic, but almost everybody in Operations being better at hand to hand combat-- and batleth combat!!! -- than Klingons was very very silly. Talk about serious villain decay.

Also, IMHO, Worf was a very dour and dreary addition to the show. Watching Worf whinge and people whinge about Worf for four years was not much fun.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Tue, Jun 1, 2021, 6:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Time Squared

Dave: maybe, but that O'Brien was considered to be some sort of replicant.

Luke: the DS9 clone murder took place on the station, which is Bajoran territory. Could be Bajor considers killing one's clone a murder, but the Feds don't.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Tue, Jun 1, 2021, 1:16am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: To the Death

I despise the very tired “we are extremely honorable” hoity toity speechifying crap.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Sun, May 30, 2021, 2:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

I do kind of think there's a flaw in that nobody on the bridge came to Tuvix's defense when he was running around begging. So, for once, everybody agrees? They didn't have the discussions we're having?

To me, that whole scene is rather chilling, worse than what Janeway actually does.

The Doctor was the only one to offer support, and even his was more about Hippocratic technicality. (His programming may have literally prevented him acting.)

Also, Tuvix was far more likable than Neelix and Tuvok put together (heh) and had made lots of friends. While that shouldn't technically affect the decision, it probably would.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Fri, May 28, 2021, 2:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Galileo Seven

The biggest annoyance here is that “logic” doesn’t mean what the writer thinks it does.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Fri, May 28, 2021, 1:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Balance of Terror

More specifically, if the racist guy’s story had been done better. Without some explanation, it’s hard to see how he got his rank and position with that much attitude on his sleeve. Racism or xenophobia would be an extreme problem for a ship seeing out new life, and all that.

His backstory is fairly well drawn though.

But the real annoyance is him becoming a trumpeting convert because Spock saved his life. Cheesy and silly. Most likely the guy would quickly rationalize away what happened and revert to his previous behavior.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Fri, May 28, 2021, 1:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Balance of Terror

This isn’t just like a submarine story, it’s practically plagiarized.

However, this episode is brilliant, and depicts something closer to what space battles would really be like.

It could have done without the super racist guy, and especially without the very tired cliché even at the time dead groomsman.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Fri, May 28, 2021, 1:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Way to Eden

Hah, Tidd, it never occurred to me the “acid” of the plants might have been a dig at LSD.


Or maybe this planet is the true origin of the Xenomorphs?
Next ►Page 1 of 15
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.