Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 117 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 5
Set Bookmark
Sigh2000
Tue, Jun 22, 2021, 4:50am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Non Sequitur

@Amber "people NEED activity"....truer words were never spoken. I, like you, was somewhat captivated by the economics brush war that erupted in the thread 10 years ago. I also agree that with your view that the episode 'went about things the wrong way' and that Harry and Kes would have worked.

Pause for historical interlude:

Captain's Log- Stardate 49011
"Four comments into the thread on Tuesday, October 27, 2009, a respectable lifeform named Mal mentioned Cosimo's restaurant (and Joseph Sisko's) in the context of money-use within the Federation."

"70 days later, on Jan. 5, 2010 Eduardo (comment #5) mentioned the word "passion" (rather than money) as a basis for happiness/success and all hell broke loose.

"The Great Laissez-faire Passion Fruit War of 2010-2012 had begun"

"On and on it raged until July 26, 2012, when a Milica gave the episode a 3 star rating."

(Cue music, crackling of vinyl, Vera Lynn 'There'll be bluebirds over, the white cliffs of Dover....'

4256 Days later,
A few points about the episode: I think that it suffered mostly in the writing and directing departments.

Here is just one set of examples drawn from the beginning of the episode: ... Harry, having just irritated his fiancee, Libby (aka "I'm-done-with-this-conversation Libby") who clearly loathes him, says to himself: "What is going on?" (excuse me, Does anyone actually say such a line to oneself out loud?) Then he goes down to the SF street (Presumably it's the street he had been living on 8 months before, but, em excuse me, he seems a bit dazed, much like George Bailey bewildered by the pawn shops and gin joints of Pottersville in 'It's A Wonderful Life').

He then is called out to by Cosimo, who he shouldn't know, but, em excuse me, he never says "Do I know you?" Which is generally what people say when they don't know somebody.

Finally, no sooner did he manage to survive the whole "I'm getting married? It's news to me" thing with Cosimo, then Lt. Lasca comes out of a handy niche-like doorway. Like a magnet to iron he picks Harry out from about 60 meters away, as if they were to meet at Cosimo's in the first place. Em excuse me, it's all too convenient...even for Voyager.

Simplistic, lacklustre direction, drags things down. Lasca may be a jerk-in-waiting, but the actor did a decent job. Libby's character suffers most from the lines she is given to say, not from poor delivery. She did teach me one thing though: One should never let the following sentence pass one's lips:

"We both have a long day ahead of us. Can we play this little game another time please?"
Set Bookmark
Sigh2000
Sun, Jun 20, 2021, 10:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Elogium

I just finished watching Elogium for the first time. While better than a 1.5, it was rough going at several points. What can I say?

I'll lay off Neelix as he's been laid waste by so many others. However, the undeserving Kes, so frequenty holding the tiller of sanity when the others onboard are climbing the walls, has, I'm sorry to say, been severely tarnished by the insidious writers. Not content to have her munching on beetles, they drag her through a Mondo-pastiche which makes Rosemary's Baby appear like a Sunday picnic.

Why not simply have her go loup garou already and be done with it? I can see it now, Wolf-Kes of the steppes howling at the full moon!

Happy Summer Solstice 2021!
Set Bookmark
Sigh2000
Sun, Jun 20, 2021, 9:35am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: In the Pale Moonlight

Sad to say, that's a pretty good estimate! : )
Set Bookmark
Sigh2000
Sun, Jun 20, 2021, 7:20am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: In the Pale Moonlight

It's possible that the fall of Betazed is all the more shocking, both to characters and audience, because everyone implicitly accepts that prescient & mind-reading Betazoids should have seen the attack coming, but were by the millions, unable to sense that the Dominion was anywhere near the place.

Added shock factors include that the planet is a particularly idyllic locale, which is never shown having a standing army, i.e., the Tibet of the galaxy, like Alderaan in SW.
Set Bookmark
Sigh2000
Sun, Jun 20, 2021, 6:34am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Initiations

Writing mainly to up the number of comments on this rather decent episode. Aron Eisenberg generally delivers a quality performance, and here, as Kar, he doesn't disappoint. He's great with "Angry Young Man" material, as often seen in his early Nog renderings in DS9, but his "Kar" adds a dash of menace which I thought rang true.

Chakotay came off a bit flat, but I liked what the writers wanted to say through him. Peace between whole peoples is worth the individual's self-sacrifice.

All that being said, the sacrifice of the shuttle craft to allow peace and quiet for a compact ceremony that could have been conducted in a Jefferies tube was criminally stupid. I will be counting the remaining shuttles with care.

A pleasing little episode to me. 3.0 stars.
Set Bookmark
Sigh2000
Mon, Jun 14, 2021, 7:08am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Faces

Lots of great reviews on this one with @Marcus (October 28, 2017) standing out as making great sense.

Roxanne Dawson's performance elevates the episode greatly, but, with respect, it was a difficult watch...another torture-yarn set in a dark cavern.

(1) The Vidiian sodality can split Torres' genotype and create 2 viable individuals with perfect precision, (and do it overnight no less) but they are at a complete loss to cure themselves of the Phage over 2000 years.

(2) How much space territory does this group of very sick people control, for Voyager to keep bumping into them? It would have to be a vast amount I figure, Either that, or Voyager is flying in a circle, or least in an area no larger than the airspace between Detroit and Cleveland.... Logically, we must conclude that the Phage is simply a pain-free excess latex disorder, and not a debilitating disease. Do they ever have a bad headache that slows them down? What about Vidiian dispepsia, does that ever occur?

1 star.
Set Bookmark
Sigh2000
Wed, Jun 9, 2021, 11:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Emanations

"Emanations" was a frustrating episode. Here's a list of a few problems: (1) After the macabre opening, we get an all-in demonstration of Harry's sub-novice-level understanding of the Prime Directive. At some points it even reached a consummate 'Rosebud-is-the-sled level' of incompetent divulgence.

Hatil: "You saw dead people there?"
Harry: "Oh did I say dead people? I meant lead people....lead people". "You know, the kind that go with a model railroad".
Hatil: "Uh oh, I think I have doubts about my whole belief system". (sniffle).
Harry: "Please don't cry. Besides, It's not my place to criticize your vapid world view." ..."Oops, I mean your rapid world view....your rapid world view, You know the really quick kind of world view some people have. Especially if they're nice people, who like sleds...."

(2) Although I really tried, I failed to make sense of Hatil's line about the shroud being in his family for 5 generations. How does the d____ed thing get recycled once you're locked into the pod? And what is it like to receive it? "Thanks family member, it's just what I wanted." Of course it's probably handed to you by the family attorney, since everybody else is already on the asteroid mummified in saran wrap. "Here you go sonny, you're next. By the way, that'll be $400.00."

(3) While I never fully warmed up to the Patera character, what's up with her sudden accidental death by transporter? It was just awful, with Kes left there despondent. She had just shared tea and cinnamon sticks with the poor woman a few moments before. Now it's 'beam her out to the asteroid and make it snappy!' Such sensitivity! Excuse me, when's the next train to Cardassia?' I know that it's their belief system and all, but I think the writers missed an opportunity there. At the very least, Kes could have said "Captain, I can I say an Ocampan prayer for her first?"

Seriously though, for all its problems, the episode held my interest and did have some better moments, even actually, some superlative ones, like Janeway's excellent and touching speech to the contemplative Harry, after his return. Let's savor what's extraordinary for once! Or so I take it to mean. Way to go Janeway!
2.0 stars.
Set Bookmark
Sigh2000
Tue, Jun 8, 2021, 10:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Ex Post Facto

As far as the Mrs. Renn and Paris shenanigans are concerned, the basic idea is much older than film noir...."Potiphar's Wife" comes to mind; as for the canine memory ploy which unmasks the true culprit, I think I remember Philo Vance in The Kennel Murder Case having that element in it way back in the 1930's. Of course, we all know that the tribbles did much the same thing to the Klingon sleeper agent Darvin. Of course it has all been done before, but it was still an enjoyable story. I'm also willing to concede that dogs may have originated in the Delta quadrant in the first place!
Set Bookmark
Sigh2000
Sat, Jun 5, 2021, 4:03am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: In the Pale Moonlight

Given his basic personality, Sisko was doomed from the beginning to feel guilt concerning his actions in ITPM. The episode is bound to resonate among persons, who like Sisko, have a developed conscience.

Since such persons do not like to deceive others, a line of work outside the military would be more suitable. Garak has a conscience which is comfortable with deception, duplicity even. Sisko has no stomach for one if the essential tenets of warfare (at least according to Sun Tzu ).

However, what amazes me about the episode, is the Romulan's reaction to the intelligence he receives from Sisko, screaming "It's a fake!!!" or something to that effect. It is certainly powerfully acted; but is it true to a self-respecting Romulan, I wonder? ....IMO, a Romulan, schooled in some general staff college on Romulus, would have assumed that it was fake as a matter of principle. Therefore: (1) It is a stretch that he even made the trip to DS9. But since the writers force that one upon us, (2) Having viewed the record, he should have uttered the word, "fascinating" with a raised eyebrow, and simply departed, but opting to leave specially prepared cylinder behind. If for no other reason he, as a trainee in the operational art of war, would wish to convey at the very least, that one report would never be enough to trigger war. "Is this the best you've got?" comes to mind as his riposte.

Still, it was a thought-provoking episode which is among the series' most watchable stories.
Set Bookmark
Sigh2000
Thu, Jun 3, 2021, 10:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Phage

I enjoyed the episode, particularly Janeway's ripping the Vidiians a new one, but I must admit that it was somewhat dark. Aliens that resemble the Elephant Man? Organ theft as a way of life? Good g---d, what were the writers smoking back then to want to create such a culture? Normalization of deviance to the max!

I have to say that it seemed particularly inconsistent to make the Vidiians abject and needy, but to also give them superior medical skill to what was available in the Federation. Two millennia of not getting anywhere with the Phage, but once they start working on Neelix, anything was possible! What is this? It suggests the following script insert:

VIDIIAN DOCTOR (use creepy Vidiian voice derived from Boris Karloff ) "Now that I've done the lung segmentation and transplant on Neelux and Kes ( in less than 12 seconds I might add), would you like me to do anything else? Might I suggest a tattoo removal Mr. Chakotay? Or how's about a ridge reduction Ms. Torres?"

To conclude: Neelix might be a bit annoying, but nobody deserves to have their lungs torn out.

The ending few lines between Neelix and Janeway about tomorrow's breakfast were really very touching, and redeemed it for me. A good outing: 2.5 stars.
Set Bookmark
Sigh2000
Wed, Jun 2, 2021, 8:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Time and Again

Ok ...so it wasn't a masterpiece, I still enjoyed it. I also happen to like reset buttons.

One thing stood out....in the outdoor scene when Janeway, Paris and the little boy are being marched toward the power plant, a huge egret or maybe even a pelican or stork lands in the the forested background. We don't have egrets, pelicans or storks in my region so that was a real treat. I also liked Janeway in the little orange dress. 2.0 stars and better than I could have done back in '95.
Set Bookmark
Sigh2000
Tue, Jun 1, 2021, 8:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Caretaker

Not a rewatch for me, but basically a first viewing, although I had seen one episode when it first ran. My attitude in '95 was that I would just have to miss it. Finally back to it and I must say that Caretaker was a pretty strong opener.

Of course it was full of established Trek elements, which seemed cobbled together from TOS episodes like Spock's Brain, For the World is Hollow and I have Touched the Sky, and TNG's Justice, the one with the Edo who went around half naked, wanted to execute Wesley, and had that weird space station thing with the really deep voice, which thought of itself as a god.

The Kazon are a real problem. They live at a primitive level with a water source consisting of maybe just a rusty canteen full of spit, but somehow they manage to appear with a vessel the size of a Romulan Warbird, to match a Starship toe-to-toe. Can't happen, not even in DS9's alternate universe.

Nevertheless, I enjoyed the show, Janeway and Tuvok especially, and will boldly go where many have said not to go! 3 Stars considering that it's an opener.
Set Bookmark
Sigh2000
Mon, May 31, 2021, 4:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

She can't cook a decent meal....and I can't spell.
Set Bookmark
Sigh2000
Mon, May 31, 2021, 4:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

The writers invented all of this stuff, why do we have to do all the work?

I enjoyed WYLB despite its problems, which have been described, discussed and debated so ably elsewhere, by many respectable minds. Glad that you did the heavy lifting.

@Peter G. (Feb. 27 2019 ): You're dead on right about the writers being at a loss on what to with Jake. He was always best inside his own family, but time and time again they chose "character sabotage".

That the writers didn't give 22 seconds of script to allow Jake and Nog to sort out their friendship, once so important to the two characters, was almost as big a miss as the whole Jadzia non-appearance. And what about Joseph? Where's the healing gumbo scene where he teaches Kasidy how to cook a descent meal? That might have worked, given that the writers already established that she couldn't boil water, and worst than that, she completely wrecked Sisko's 3-month homegrown peppers.

I didn't mind the last shot being of Kira and Jake, since Kira played that same supportive role once before after Ben Sisko's disappearance. It worked well, I thought, but perhaps it could have followed the gumbo preparation scene I just laid out.

So many things to say, so little time. I'll leave it there for now, apart from saying that DS9 was a great viewing experience. It's a series I am sure I will revisit.
Set Bookmark
Sigh2000
Fri, May 28, 2021, 12:34am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Extreme Measures

"Extreme Measures" at several points resembled to my mind TNG's episode "Emergence" --the one where the Enterprise D develops its own consciousness. It took the form of a locomotive.

Here we have Sloan, in place of a starship or a locomotive, in the final 43 minutes of what I interpret to be his neuron circuit parting fire-off, sharing his essence with a decidedly cruel Dr. Frankenstein Bashir and the doctor's solicitous assistant Igor O'Brien.

Any treatment of consciousness, particularly one which explores it through a human encounter with 'the beyond' ( or better, 'the pre-beyond') is bound to come off as a bit absurd. At the same time, the episode skirts the boundaries of poignancy, as the dying adversary grapples with himself to show his humanity to the people who have maneuvered him into a situation where he felt compelled to take his own life.

It is an ambitious undertaking to be sure, and unfortunately, not always handled so expertly. Like "Emergence" consciousness (or rather spent consciousness) plays itself out through abstractions (Bashir even uses that term) like the turbolift jerking around spasmodically. This, sad to say, made me think that Sloan just belched or something like that. I felt embarassed while watching because I had broken faith with the noble intent of the writers.

At the same time, the insertion of lines like "Thanks, Muffin" spoken by "friendly Sloan" to his long suffering wife, as she hands him the tablet with the anti-virus that will cure Odo, showed that the writers were capable of breaking faith with themselves. "Friendly Sloan" is phasered by "unfriendly Sect. 31 Sloan" a split second later. I knew at this point that things were not going to be pretty. And the pseudo wake-up section, engineered by the consciousness of the dying brain-scrambled Sloan was a travesty.

Non-sequitor comment: The wounded buddy heart-to-heart scene reminded me alot of the next to last scene of Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid an ancient film about the Ancient West. Speaking of Westerns:

A good friend of mine always tells me how he hates director John Ford, because he inserts what he thinks is humor at some point in super-serious movies like The Searchers, where the humor is inappropriate and the scene as written is downright lame anyway. "Extreme Measures" suffers from this same problem at some junctures, as the writers occasionally seemed to be channeling "Weekend at Bernie's" or something of that kind, when they originally led us to expect that they were interested in the last moments of an individual's existence (parallel to Odo's) with its moments of sadness, fear, regret, and attempts to demonstrate that life had not been wasted.

Clearly it's no time to joke around, although the dropping of the normal brain and its replacement with the brain of Abby Normal might have occurred to the writers. If so, I'm glad that they exercised restraint.

I thought that Sadler played Sloan extremely well, but that he was let down by the confused mission of the writing staff. Essentially I find myself with Jammer on this one, but a notch above his rating. Mine being at 2.5 stars.
Set Bookmark
Sigh2000
Wed, May 26, 2021, 4:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Afterimage

@Skater777: I agree with your reasoning. It was a drain on the last season of the show to try to develop a new character...just think of what might have filled those hours with the existing cast. Once done, nothing was the same.

@Tomalak...I have also wondered what the Trill contributed to the show. ... Possibly not too much. Thanks for referring to 'My third host Milhouse' It made my day!
Set Bookmark
Sigh2000
Wed, May 26, 2021, 11:48am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Tacking into the Wind

@Jamie Mann
Good thought on Sisko's Henry II hint to Worf concerning increasingly Beckety Gowron. Sad how far the once astute Gowron has fallen. In fact, sad how far so many of the characters have fallen.
(Spoilers)
Lots of meddlesome priests in DS9 at this point. Kai Winn actually took out one herself, and with her descent into mental illness rejoices at the sad predicament of a Dukat now blinded, by sending him into the streets to beg like some late 24th century Belisarius.

Shades of Star Wars with the enter-the-control-room-with-Wookie-as-fake-prisoner-ploy, but at least it develops in an interesting way with Odo posing as the (spoiler) Founder, successfully, until overcome with shapeshifter psoriasis. Kira, always a treat, does a decent impersonation of the Vorta Luaran.

I never would have thought that Damar would look heroic, but his actions have actually helped our valiant band survive against the odds. I completely agree with those who view him as a breath of consistency in a time of fragmentation. He helps the story along in pleasing ways. 3.5 Stars for sure.
Set Bookmark
Sigh2000
Wed, May 26, 2021, 4:32am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Prodigal Daughter

"Prodigal Daughter" starts out with a very long opening in which there is a succession of interesting scenes.
(1) The Gagh discussion (mixed with Alamo, and Bashir's worry about Miles being missing). As a whole it was pretty funny I thought.
Ezri: "Misha-gagh jumps... Bithool- gagh has feet...(gag). Flush it out (of) the airlock. All of it!"
Odo: (shaking head no) "Environmental regulations".
Kira: "Why don't you just give it to Martok?"
Ezri: (with comic irony) "He'd insist on sharing it with me as a point of honor."

Good delivery. Ezri eventually leaves the scene due to nausea. Bashir says "I have to go too." Faint indication of his attraction to Ezri. The scene is then concluded by Odo: "Give my regards to Santa Anna."

(2) Bashir waits to see if Miles' gets off the Federation shuttle. He doesn't, but we do see what seems to be a Jem'Hadar with a red shoulder bag being escorted by a Star Fleet officer. What's up with that?

(3) An entertaining scene of Sisko attempting to contain himself while Bashir tells him that Miles is missing. I like a good Sisko-being-annoyed-by-Bashir (S-BABB) once in a while, and this one was particularly strong. 'I want your report within the hour', almost demanded that 'and no Alamo BS this time' be tacked on.

(4) Good Sisko-Ezri scene to enlist the mother's help in finding Miles. By making Pergium the family's mining specialty, the writers injected good remote continuity with TOS Devil in the Dark (Horta episode). I also liked Ezri's line "No, yes, i don't know."

(5) Bashir's scene with Ezri, at the shuttle prior to departure has an important element, that comes down to: we both come from messed up families. "I sympathize."

I know that nobody who wants to be cool is supposed to like Ezri, but while "Prodigal" eventually bogs down into a strange Perry Mason-esque 'downtrodden son becomes murderer to gain mother's approval' thing, it started out well. It isn't a happy story, but wasn't a waste. On its own a 2.75 star outing, maybe a 3.0.
Set Bookmark
Sigh2000
Tue, May 18, 2021, 12:05am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Badda-Bing, Badda-Bang

Have appreciated many of the age-old comments on this thread. @Peter G. made a lot of sense through much of the on-going tug-of-war.

An enjoyable episode in my view. Never expected it to be so. Neither did I mind in the slightest that Sisko voiced discomfort with what the 1962-era casino (and much of the rest of America) represented to his people. Good....for once memory of old injustices entered the show. This is not un-Trekian.

In TOS, the major characters generally referred to their backgrounds, centuries posed no problem. Kirk's ancestors settled the western frontier; McCoy occasionally channeled his southern heritage, and Spock would sometimes revert to the barbarity of his proto-Vulcan forebearers. TNG was similar. What is so awful about a line and a half where Sisko refers to a past where his ancestors were institutionally segregated and excluded? He has a right to acknowledge the pain of what happened, and to have feelings about it. Anger is never a happy thing, but Kasidy's attitude put his nose back into joint. It was a good scene I thought. He reconsidered his own pain, saw that it would lead nowhere, and he came along. He grew.

The past is an important referent. It sort of makes each of us who we are. But like anything else, if taken to extremes, it becomes a barrier to our development. The episode explored that idea rather well.
Set Bookmark
Sigh2000
Mon, May 17, 2021, 6:20am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Chimera

In reviewing the pivotal scene where Laas kills the assisting Klingon officer, I noticed that the directors, intentionally or unintentionally, produced what I term a visual "sleight of hand". This sleight creates impossible ambiguity in determining whether the assisting Klingon was reaching for a disruptor or a dagger.

When the 2 Klingons approach Laas, the assisting Klingon (who is killed) has his disruptor frontally arranged in his belt with the handle pressing his lower right rib cage. What I interpret as his dagger seems to be farther back. By the time Laas stabs him, however, the hilt of the dagger has changed position so that it is up front against the right rib cage and pretty far up. I confess that I am not an expert in all of this gear, but unless Klingon officers carry swagger sticks, this hilt represents his dagger (the D'k Tahg type). He is not reaching for it, that's for dang sure, but since we are not shown his right hand we cannot know what he intended. Besides, Laas dispatches him so rapidly, that the poor assisting Klingon clearly never had a chance.

The whole presentation confuses the viewer, so that we question ourselves as witnesses. That's the sleight of hand.

Jammer's treatment is painfully succinct and all but put in the passive voice.
"...one of the Klingons has died at Laas' hand". This grates, particularly since we are being persuaded to see Laas as a victim of injustice.

It is difficult for me to see Laas as a victim of much injustice here. He baited the Klingons, safe in the knowledge, gained over 200 years, that he had nothing to fear. His facial expressions were completely serene since his knew he was superior physically. I also note, that the Klingon actually seemed to be asking for mercy from Laas post-stabbing (probably something like 'please Mr. Shapeshifter' don't pull out the thing, it's functioning like a cork') but none was shown, as Laas quickly grasping the cork idea, deliberately pulls out his sword from the wound, the precise opposite of what most would recommend doing in that situation. Bashir looked on in horror.

Chimera troubles me. While I generally like Odo, he can sometimes be painfully weak. He initially reacts to the fog incident, saying to Laas, as follows: "Congratulations. You've managed to disrupt the entire promenade". But later, with Sisko and Worf, he cops an attitude: "Is it a crime to shapeshift on the promenade?"

To which Sisko replies:
"It's not a crime, but it's obviously not a good idea".

The episode, as far as Laas' role in it was concerned, was really about assimilation to norms, and seemed to emphasize the need for individuals wishing to live in peace in a society not of their own making, to restrain their quest to indulge in total freedom.

It's one thing to make yourself into a little fog patch, say 39.3701 inches in diameter. Ok, I'll grant the guy 393.701 inches diameter if he absolutely has to relax like that at this moment. But good G____! Laas covered most of Concourse A to the height of 4 feet.

Take yourself off, fog and relax in private. That's what privacy is all about.
Set Bookmark
Sigh2000
Sun, May 16, 2021, 3:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: It's Only a Paper Moon

No one does sullen better than Nog. But then again, no one does "Yes sir, right away, can do" better than Nog either. He has been a favorite character of mine for a long time. Once he put on a uniform and got away from Jake, he improved enormously. Essence of pluck.

Loved the episode. Seen as a hero by friends and family, Nog retreats into the lounge to work through his fear of having to return to an unsafe universe. His lingering guilt over Larkin's death is downplayed (a single flashback) but the viewer knows that that's in there too. "I'm not a hero".

The striking out at Jake was pretty realistic, I thought. Jake represented the attitude that 'normal ol' fun-and-games must return'. .. a pretty spoiled idea during a war. Nog's been patched up, true, but look man, he's lost a leg.

The whole casino augmentation thing was great. I will always carry the image of Nog with those blueprints in Vic's bachelor pad in active memory! Music was great, no cultural divide interferred as I have been doing a steady diet of Sinatra for several years already. I get it!

"Welcome to Las Vegas" . Solid 4 stars Pallie!
Set Bookmark
Sigh2000
Sun, May 16, 2021, 5:03am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: The Emperor's New Cloak

@Peter G.
"I think that a more charitable interpretation of the strange series of random episodes mid-S7 is that it was the price that had to be paid for what came later".

Nicely encapsulized. I agree that it must have been a crazy environment for the DS9 writers in S7 particularly. I know almost nothing of the backstory, so I find your comments educational. I am glad that the issue of "audience expectation" was part of that whole.

The term "shell game" was uncharitable to be sure, and not the best word choice. What I hope came through in my earlier post is that I have liked a lot of the standalone episodes. That is to say, I often like what the writers give me, even when I started out wanting something different. I think DS9 somehow tests one's internal preference/tolerance system on a show-by-show basis. The scenario is as follows: you are itching for an installment of The Main Arc, you sit down with your favorite ice cream and it's "uh oh--Ferengi" or even worse "uh oh--the Nagus". However, I have found that if I get through the first scene, I'm generally satisfied. If someone asked me to write down what general 'DS9 resonant frequency' I am, I would say "Sisko-serious, and battle-oriented" . That being said however, I have grown to actually like many of the less Armageddon-esque shows. Nog and Vic were great together, and light Ferengi shenanigans sometimes hit the spot after a long day. One does not live by Jem'Hadar alone, and I respect what the writers managed to create in the whirlwind of the show's last season. Thanks!
Set Bookmark
Sigh2000
Sat, May 15, 2021, 9:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: The Emperor's New Cloak

Summing up my views about "Emperor's New Cloak" as follows: Can't defend it, but can't hate it. I almost skipped it based on Jammer's 1-star review, but I must confess that I am happy I chose to watch it, for it made me smile at many points. Quark's prayer was memorable and the sacred idol piggy bank was not only a cute touch, it captured the whole votive mind-set rather eloquently, expressing the quaint human notion that if 'I contribute just one more time, I might get what I want'.

At this point in the series, I have completely given up on the writers advancing the Dominion War plotlines, and accept that DS9 has become a shell game. For example, The audience wants to see Weyoun 7 reopen the wormhole so the War can resume in earnest, but what it gets is the Intendant kissing alternate Ezri.

So I sit back and enjoy the succession of disconnected episodes, several of which have actually be darned good.

"Emperor's" was, in many spots, thoroughly enjoyable. The Klingon hitting the floor was great (well-timed at least) and Quark's visual reactions to some of Rom's conjectures were fun to watch. Brunt's gratuitous death went entirely too far, but while Vic's death clearly jumped-the-shark, it was so iconoclastic and unexpected that I can't completely condemn the writers for that one. I like Vic a great deal, in all his appearances, but I can understand the deep animus many may harbour toward lounge lizards and grant them their need to see one 86'd once in a while.
Solid 2 stars to me, and I would watch it again.
Set Bookmark
Sigh2000
Tue, May 11, 2021, 4:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Take Me Out to the Holosuite

Just a pleasant outing. Nothing heavy... except a negative perspective on Vulcans. Spock was never that bad. Remembering "Keeps dialins Oxmix" rather fondly, so why the writers cast the opposing team as Vulcans in the first place, I can't quite get my head around. Should have been the Breen, or better yet, the Nausicaans.

The whole episode activates the nostalgia system in a good way. Liked seeing the cast in baseball uniforms and agree with long past poster that Quark should have been selling hotdogs.

I must say that Odo makes a good showing...I liked watching him practicing the Ump's moves inside that office of his.

However, there was a missed opportunity in the argument scene at home plate...believe that it should have been Kira who got whipped up at Odo and then gers thrown out. Sisko, should have stayed in the game and had an at-bat, at least, if not a homer guided by the prophets.

Just think, in his imaginings, he could have knocked it out of the park and beaned a pagh-wraith behind the scoreboard.

To paraphrase Sean Bean as Boromir: 'One does not simply bean the pagh-wraith, one beans him with one's cosmic baseball'.
Set Bookmark
Sigh2000
Mon, May 10, 2021, 5:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Afterimage

Have to agree with Jammer on this one. The episode was strangely watchable but somehow lacked the proper nutrition.

Garak's meanness toward Ezri was a tour-de-force to be sure and should be made 'required reading at the academy' should one wish to clean somebody's clock in the future. Now I for one, don't think Ezri was the best target for this geyser of vitriol. I would much rather unleash Garak on my local car dealer dude. You know the kind, the ones with framed pictures of their fake wives and fake children on their desks who smile while adding up the cost of your lease infractions.

I like Ezri. I really do. No problems with the character and I like the portrayal. Moreover, she shouldn't be blamed for Jadzia's death. Nor should Nicole De Boer (good Dutch name BTW) be harassed for the fact that she came in late. Just one of those 'Season 7 additions' set up to fail. What choice did she have? Let her make a living. Reminds me of how we hated the substitute teacher we got back in 3rd grade. But hey, somebody has to do it!

The real gem of the episode was Odo being told he gets to be Santa Anna in the Alamo holosuite program...he hasn't got a clue! 3 stars for that alone.
Next ►Page 1 of 5
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.