Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 133 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 6
Set Bookmark
Sid
Thu, Mar 12, 2020, 10:09am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

This show is written like a soap opera. Everyone getting drunk, self-hating. Crying. Throwing pity parties to grab attention. Talking down to the lead male protagonist at every turn. Talking about how Data loved (lol). Being scared of mustache-twirling villains and destroyers of the universe (LOL). Suicides left and right. Post traumatic dysphoria. Conspiracies. Giving way to fear. What exactly is "something far worse" than the Borg? The evolution of synthetic life? Give me a break. I'm looking for a moral lesson like the ones present in classic Star Trek. I suppose that moral lesson is: Entertainment writers in the 2020s are not very literate or imaginative and need to go back to AP English class for more schooling. They were probably tweeting instead of paying attention. And maybe I should stop wasting my time expecting to learn something valuable about my life, how others live life, and the human condition overall by watching this. Maybe I should also stop posting on fan forums to complain about it. Don't give into fear (LOLLLLLL). Synth lives matter. That's the half-baked message Patrick Stewart wanted to come back for? To top it off, it's ALL been done before-and more poignantly-in this franchise (Star Trek 6????). Give me my money back. Oh wait, CBS won. They already charged me. Vapid entertainment for a distracted, plastic culture.
Set Bookmark
Sid
Sun, Feb 23, 2020, 12:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

Jammer, can you just admit now that this show is more of the same nonsense we've been getting from the ST franchise since the 2009 film? Since Nemesis, even? Insurrection, even? Rote, derivative, vapid and uninspired storytelling. Edgy, violent and cynical to the point of being a cliche. There's ZERO allegory. There's ZERO characterization depth. Picard gets abused in every episode by every new character, but they join the cause anyway. LOL. No in-depth discussion on issues, save for the soap-opera level melodrama. No humor. No hope. It's a disgrace to the name "Star Trek" in the same way the worst episodes and movies of the franchise were. It honestly makes you want to cry. 50 years from now, Roddenberry Trek will continue to endure. This shit will not. Mark it down, nihilists. Your views on life make for SHIT art.
Set Bookmark
SIdney
Sun, Apr 7, 2019, 3:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Through the Valley of Shadows

Tyler - didn't someone gut him last week?

Fate - the future isn't written yet, but Pike seems destined to end up as an invalid - Contradiction? (heart wrenching scene btw)

Time Crystals - why aren't the Romulans or Section 31 invading Boreth to get these crystals?

Other Federation Starships, or any other Alpha Quadrant races for that matter - Isn't anyone else investigating these 7 signals?

The show isn't boring, and they've had some outstanding episodes this season, but damn if it makes any sense.
Set Bookmark
SIdney
Sun, Mar 17, 2019, 7:26am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

Clips from "The Cage" = fan service. Since I'm a fan and I like good service I'll take it.

Talosians are still just as powerful as we saw them in "The Menagerie" and this story is the sequel before the sequel - Continuity maintained.

The acting is fine. Some characters are more fleshed out than others and some performances do stand out but I'm not going to complain about who's better at their job.

Section 31 - I'm still not sold on this out-in-the-open and openly defiant group. Starfleet can't contain them or work with them it seems.

Story Arc - as a previous poster stated, we're in the age of shorter seasons and season long story arcs. DS9 was the closest thing to this and they produced some phenomenal stories from The Dominion war arc so this structure is fine with me too. I mean, it has to be big - end of life as we know it kinda thing.

I enjoyed this episode overall. Best they've done and a great episode overall.
Set Bookmark
Sid
Thu, Feb 14, 2019, 8:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: An Obol for Charon

I enjoyed this one. Sure, it's not super original in some respects, but after 50 plus years of Trek and a dozen other shows I'm looking for solid storytelling first and foremost. Overall, since they shoehorned Pike and Spock into this series, might as well give me 'fan service' in the form of Number One, that pad she was holding, and Pike's line "Don't spare the horses".

Solid 3.5/4 for me.
Set Bookmark
Sid
Fri, Oct 19, 2018, 4:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Silicon Avatar

I've always liked this episode, but one thing that holds it back is "Datalore". We already know that the Entity can be communicated with and that it isn't exactly friendly. If we didn't know this already, this episode would be a 3.5 easy. I do my best to ignore "Datalore" and some of Dr. Marr's references to Lore.
Set Bookmark
Sidney
Sat, Aug 4, 2018, 8:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: Assignment: Earth

Good idea for a series. Poor storytelling. If AE had been on the air and lasted into the early 70s it could have been really good. Oh well.
Set Bookmark
Sidney
Sun, Jul 22, 2018, 11:28am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

I stopped watching after "Despite Yourself" and finished the season by reading your reviews. This series is visually stunning, made some bold changes not only in look and style but tone. Gave us an interesting Captain (Lorca) and an intriguing central character (Burnham). But there were so many moments of inexplicable behavior and obvious reveals I didn't see the point. I hope season 2 fares better.

And if PU Lorca is out there, or maybe a Lorca from another universe who needs a change in scenery - get him!
Set Bookmark
Sidney
Fri, May 4, 2018, 1:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

I think I'm done with anything new in the Star Wars universe after seeing this film. TFA was a remake of episode 4. I get it. The filmmakers played it safe and it paid off. But this...??

The incompetency of the First Order yet again. Their ships either go slow or just not fast enough and their devastating weapons and massive-to-the-nth-degree numbers just can't put the rebels out once and for all. Snoke is.. what or who is Snoke and why should I care about him? The obvious attempt at pairing off couples: Finn and Rose (Finn and Rey - No?), Rey and Kylo and then later that glance Poe makes at Rey. Yet another cantina scene rehash. The spit shine polish of the First Order gear complete with automatic clothes pressers (ugh). Luke (and Yoda) sitting back and doing nothing for umpteen years seems ridiculous.

If Yoda and Annakin and Ben (who have disappeared into the ether I guess) are "alive" at the end of ROTJ then Luke could be too. But why bother coming back? I don't see the point.

It's times like these I wish they'd clone Kevin Feige.
Set Bookmark
Sidney
Fri, Apr 6, 2018, 7:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: The Omega Directive

Ambitious idea but flashing Omega symbol to the entire bridge crew shows a lack of nuance. If it's supposed to be a big secret, known only to Captains and above, the computer should have alerted Janeway only and then in a rather non-chalant way. She would have wrestled with the decision perhaps for the entire first act before breaking protocol and letting her crew in on the situation. I also think having millions of particles simply made the rarity of the particle moot, and therefore the suspense.
Set Bookmark
Consider the Following
Tue, Jan 30, 2018, 12:24am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

@Hank

I think it's fair to many people on the internet have delusions of grandeur when it comes to their internet comments.
Set Bookmark
Consider the Following
Tue, Jan 30, 2018, 12:02am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

@Brian

at a certain point verbose complaints over minute details simply become boring and people are expressing that. there's also the misconception that long winded complaining is constructive beyond simply nerd ranting - which it rarely is. there isn't much here that rises above a Cinemasins video.
Set Bookmark
Sid
Mon, Dec 25, 2017, 7:40am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Saw TLJ Saturday. I was underwhelmed.

TFA was the safe movie to make. Essentially ANH remade. TLJ has the spectacle but once again the First Order are about as competent as bag of wet noodles. You've got a few hundred people to wipe out and yet they can't get in range. They've got a massive army, high tech, cleanly pressed uniforms... yet still. These ships only have two speeds. Slow and light speed.

Snoke is just another villain who's ugly/scarred and uninteresting. The bad guys have to wear black, and have a scar at the very least. Okay.

The battle at the end looked great, but again... if the cannon beam can punch through a huge wall why in the hell would you fly a ship that's coming apart right into the beam? You wouldn't last a second. You'd just be wasting another ship. (Wait, isn't this planet supposed to be hidden and heavily armed? Hmm)

Are the producers flipping the romantic possibilities for the next film? Rose kisses Finn. Rey has to see Ren with his shirt off. Poe introduces himself to Rey at the end of the film.

Luke - the promise at the end of TFA was thrown out, literally, at the beginning of TLJ. I almost wish they had found him at the end of this film so that he could come back in Ep9 and kick everybody's ass once and for all. Oh well.

People will say this film is not without its share of problems. I think that's an excuse. Whether it's a 'comic book' movie or a franchise tentpole or a small independent feature, basic storytelling is always in play. I'm not looking for perfect, but I am looking for a solid story that makes sense and TLJ for the most part doesn't.
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Tue, Dec 12, 2017, 12:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

This episode was surprisingly tame for a Seth McFarlane piece dealing with religion. The head guy was portrayed as being dedicated to truth, even when it was unpleasant, and the people even claimed religion was a necessary part of their planet's evolution. Wow.

I'm pretty sick of seeing militant atheists circle jerk it in the comments of any episode of anything on this site that portrays religious people in a negative light. We get it, you hate people who have different beliefs than you. Shut up already. You're worse than the fundies. At least they're trying to do right by others in their own worldview. You're just spreading hate and bigotry and claiming those people are inferior animals or even suggesting genocide in some of the comments I've seen. I'm not sure what standards you're going by, but you are definitely not superior to anyone. Star Trek, mass media as a whole, is for EVERYONE, it's not some exclusive club that's militants only and everyone else needs to be constantly bashed because how dare they watch my precious sci fi when it's not for them those dirty animals. I know a lot of people who enjoy Trek, many of them religious, and their interpretations and opinions are not any less valid for it. Stop constantly derailing the conversation with your own bigotry.
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Mon, Dec 11, 2017, 7:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Firestorm

@Dougie
I just want to point out the "first year is the hardest" wasn't indicating a year had passed, it was Claire telling Bortus that the first year is the hardest for new parents.
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Mon, Dec 11, 2017, 6:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Cupid's Dagger

People are taking this episode way too seriously. And I'm not sure how blue guy is a rapist, considering he only seemed to figure out what was going on after Mercer fell for him and his species is so casual with sex it would actually be rude for him to have turned them down. If he was purposefully affecting them so he could get his way with them that would be one thing, but he wasn't doing that. Sure he just went with it when stuff happened but that's how his species is. And yes the thing with Yaphit and Clara was gross and demeaning to both characters. Maybe Seth thought it would've been funny like the redshirt guy and the tentacle monster in Galaxy Quest but it wasn't.
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Sun, Dec 10, 2017, 8:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Old Wounds

I didn't think it was that bad. Wasn't super impressed, but wasn't bored to tears either. I did hope it would decide whether it was a straight parody or an homage, right now it just feels like a Trek ripoff with dick jokes.
Set Bookmark
Sid
Wed, Oct 25, 2017, 1:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Meld

I re-watched this one twice in the last week. The premise is great and both Dourif and Russ give solid performances. I would have liked to see more of Suder prior and more of the rest of the crew in general since it is one lone Federation ship with a relatively sparse crew. The filler in this episode could have been scripted to feature another crew member we'd see later down the warp trail.

Oh, and imagine if Tuvok had assaulted the real Neelix? Or if Neelix had discovered Tuvok's desire to kill him?
Set Bookmark
Sidney
Tue, Oct 3, 2017, 10:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Context Is for Kings

Now we're getting somewhere. This could have been the pilot. The characters, like the overall plot, are interesting if not lighthearted and friendly. Even the dark interior gets an explanation (Lorca's eyes. They like zooming in on eyeballs don't they). Is it Trek? Should it look and sound like every other Trek before it? It would have been nice to have costumes that looked similar to those worn by Pike and co, but again, just because we didn't see it before doesn't mean it couldn't have been these blue and gold/silver outfits. I think the one major difference this show brings is that it's truly serialized and therefore there will be no fuzzy and warm wrap up at the end of each episode. There are some logic gaffes (one pilot for four prisoners? did the pilot die? No one even asked about her). But overall I don't know what's going to happen next, and that at least I find interesting.
Set Bookmark
Sidney
Mon, Oct 2, 2017, 8:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Twisted

Rewatching Trek a lot this past year. I'm still wondering what the rest of the crew was doing in the contorted parts of the ship - going insane perhaps? And all that data they received to my knowledge was never mentioned again.
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Sat, Jun 17, 2017, 3:27am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Emergence

That rainbow pipe thing the Enterprise created looks like an old Windows screensaver. Seeing the characters stare at it in amazement is hilarious.
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Sat, Jun 17, 2017, 3:14am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Bloodlines

The whole set up is pretty implausible. That Ferengi guy really went to the trouble of making a fake son for his enemy?

I thought Picard was sterile? Didn't he tell Wesley that having children wasn't possible for him or something along those lines? I guess not, given this episode, but that just makes some of his previous comments lose any weight they had. He does know men can have children up into the later years, making all his "that bridge is burned" statements false, right? He chose his career, but we've seen other captains with children.

As much of a cop-out as it was, I'm relieved the guy wasnt actually his son. I can't really see Picard truly having a secret love child out there. Sure, Kirk might have a handful, Riker dozens... But Picard? Nah, just doesn't seem like him.
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Sat, Jun 17, 2017, 2:48am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Journey's End

I understand not wanting to have your home taken away, especially if you have some sort of spiritual connection to it, but those people are pretty stupid if they think the Cardassians wouldn't turn them into Bajor 2.0 if they felt like it. I'd take wandering over being enslaved by one of the ugliest races seen so far in the Trekverse.

Wait, didn't Picard say these people were nomadic? They have buildings and stuff. So, not nomadic.

This was a pretty poor ending to Wes' story. We knew he was going to join the Traveler and "ascend to a higher plane" or whatever, but he acts so out of character throughout this, and the Traveler only shows up near the end. It's like his story was shoehorned into a completely unrelated plot.

It seems really weird how they call Native Americans "Indians". Locally yes they are still called that even today but Picard as a Briti- er, Frenchman should at least be calling them Native Americans or by their tribe(s). It seems preposterous that they'd be referred to that way on another planet in the future, they're not from India! (It would be only a little less weird to call them "Native Americans" on a planet so far removed from Earth but at least it'd be more accurate.)
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Sat, Jun 17, 2017, 1:58am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Genesis

Yet another episode where Data almost single-handedly saves the day. If this was a season one episode he probably would have "de-evolved" into a toaster or a commodore 64 or something. ;P

Star Trek is science fiction in that any "science" they portray is almost always fiction.
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Wed, Jun 14, 2017, 3:12am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Sub Rosa

Zero stars. Never expected to turn on Trek and be forced to watch multiple scenes of a middle-aged woman being molested/pleasured by and having invisi-sex with her grandmother's lover who is also a ghost. Grossssss. Did some office aid accidentally drop fan mail in the script pile? Who greenlit this? They should have been summarily sacked and blacklisted from being hired on all future franchise endeavors.

How can it pass down through the Howard women? They change their name when they marry, there would be no line of Howard women after the first one married, unless it hopped onto spinsters and passed down to nieces or something, but it sounded like it went down through mothers mostly. Odd.

Patrick Stewart did a good job of conveying how horribly uncomfortable some scenes are for Picard while simultaneously appearing disgusted to be acting in them. You can kind of tell some of the actors are embarrassed to be in this one, ha. Some of McFadden's acting was truly cringe-worthy, but this episode doesn't deserve better.

I don't see why aliens couldn't perform human religious ceremonies, so long as they were also members of said religion (or even if they weren't, depending on the religion). This being TNG I don't think the funeral shown was religious in nature so much as a generic "you died" ceremony so the guy presiding over it was probably just someone important to the community or whatever.

Since Beverly has no daughters, would Ronin go after Wes when she finally kicked the bucket?
Next ►Page 1 of 6
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.