Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 16 (Showing 1-16)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Shrantastic
Sun, Jun 6, 2021, 1:08am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TOS S2: Wolf in the Fold

Yes, 3 stars--good Trek entertainment. I don't get the silly comments about sexism. But a few quibbles, like it seemed there was hardly enough time for Sybo to be killed when the flame went out. And you would think that after she was killed, her husband Jaris would appear to be emotionally affected, but he didn't appear that way. Other than that, the episode had a good sci-fi premise and some good "courtroom" drama. I liked the psychedelic 60s light show on the computer monitor when the entity gets into the ship's computer. And fun dialogue, like McCoy saying "I've got some stuff that would tranquilize an active volcano", and Sulu under the influence.
Set Bookmark
Shrantastic
Sun, May 30, 2021, 1:17am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TOS S2: Obsession

Some say Kirk should've stuck to the mission to rendezvous with the Yorktown, a fair point. But Spock later said evidence showed the creature was about to spawn and reproduce by the thousands, so that potential threat has to be taken into account.

A great story, script, great direction--I noticed the tight editing--and I enjoyed Kirk's acting and facial expressions, especially how intensely he watched as he gave the order to fire phasers and photon torpedoes at the creature. Lennie K. referred to that.

Spock's encounter with the cloud in Garrovick's quarters reminded me of Spock fixing the main reactor in Wrath of Khan, and then Kirk says, "Mister Spock, why aren't you dead?" similar to that film.
Set Bookmark
Shrantastic
Mon, May 17, 2021, 3:59am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S2: Precious Cargo

I'll give it say two stars. Someone wondered why it should be Trip who rescues Kaitaama and not say Malcolm or Travis. Who but Charles Tucker III could hunt down wild game on a swampy planet like he grew up doing, and cook it using the pod's thruster assembly to start a fire and boil some water. Skills! And why would anyone make a fuss about the two having sex? She said herself she hasn't had a date in four years! The girl had needs, and she's only human...or Kriosian anyway.

Also, on this viewing, one thing that caught my attention was how when Trip used the universal translator, Kaitaama's English doesn't come out of the translator, it comes directly from her. Seems to me it should come from the device, and I guess we're just supposed to accept that it doesn't, unless someone wants to set me straight on this.
Set Bookmark
Shrantastic
Tue, May 11, 2021, 3:30am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S2: Marauders

I agree it's not a 4 or even 3 star episode; I give it 2 1/2. But one thing I got out of watching this episode again, an episode I like, was when Archer told Tessic that when the Enterprise mission started, he planned to meet people like those in the mining colony, but after fighting the Suliban thought that wasn't what he signed up for, that he originally thought he'd be mapping star clusters or making first contact, but then realized he had to fight back.

Simply put, life changes, and we must adapt. And like Picard said in First Contact, thus far and no further....the line must be drawn here...you can't keep letting someone bully you. These things still needs portrayal, and think of the new Trek fans watching and realizing these things for the first time.
Set Bookmark
Shrantastic
Fri, May 7, 2021, 3:32am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S2: Minefield

About not being able to use the transporter to beam Malcolm in after his injury, I agree with what I think James Band suggested, that beaming would've triggered the device to detonate. Reed said, "My scans show detonation circuits inside the spikes", one of which went through his leg. However, I agree with others that a character should've said why they can't use the transporter. I noted what Brian said, that the line about the transporter room being destroyed in the explosion was left on the cutting room floor, but I can't find any proof of that on webpages. Right after the first explosion, Reed does say one breech happened on D deck, which is where the transporter room is located. And of course, Reed is the ship's expert on disarming mines, so they need him there.

It's true that the writers seemed to have been somewhat inconsistent regarding Reed's character through various episodes. At the beginning of this one, he seemed reserved around the captain, but out on the hull, Archer says, "Thought you might need a hand", and Reed replies, "Actually, I'd prefer a leg". Ar ar.
Set Bookmark
Shrantastic
Wed, May 5, 2021, 3:33am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S2: Shockwave, Part II

I think if Mr. Scott had reviewed Archer's logs and heard his baby gazelle story, he would've said, "Brought a tear to me eye".

Yes, some suspension of disbelief is needed during this episode, but good watchable Trek entertainment. I'd give it 3 stars.
Set Bookmark
Shrantastic
Sat, Apr 24, 2021, 3:15am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S1: Rogue Planet

All fantasy of course, but I was left wondering about the masking agent. How long would it last with the shapeshifters? Long enough for the Eska to lose interest in them? Or would the masking agent be like a vaccine, good for life? Would it transfer to the next generations? That's about as far as I'm willing to think about this episode, but I did watch it again because there was nothing else on TV and I like Enterprise, so I'll give it 2 stars, which might still be generous.
Set Bookmark
Shrantastic
Sat, Apr 17, 2021, 3:22am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S1: Silent Enemy

Yeah, I'd probably give it 2 1/2 stars. I'd seen it twice before, but this time some things bugged me. Archer was too friendly at the beginning with the alien ship, even the second time it came around, not even polarizing hull plating; I felt he should've been more cautious. It made me think of Wrath of Khan when Enterprise meets Reliant, which stays silent, and Saavik says they should take precautions. Then there's turning around to go to Jupiter Station. If it was The Next Generation, they would've had a longer briefing room scene to discuss the threat and whether they could build the phase cannons on their own without going back to Earth--I would've liked to have seen that scene longer, and it would've built more suspense around the threat and mystery of the aliens. Then Archer expresses remorse for launching early without all systems operative--I doubt if Kirk would've been that "down". So it's the writers, the script. About the "B" story, it was good but it should've been shorter. I also agree with Jammer about how the aliens' hit-and-run tactics were bizarre--they didn't really make sense. However, the episode is saved mainly by its second half and some great scenes.
Set Bookmark
Shrantastic
Mon, Apr 12, 2021, 3:45am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S1: The Andorian Incident

One of my favorite Enterprise episodes. One thing that's ironic is how it's the Vulcan initiate, firing wildly in the reliquary, who causes part of the cloth covering to fall, reveal the metal portal, and ultimately undo the Vulcans' deception.

Some of the posters ask why Archer would ignore the alliance with the Vulcans to let the Andorians have the info about the listening post. Can you imagine the actions the Andorians may've taken against the Enterprise landing party then and there, and in talks later, if he'd tried to prevent them from seeing through the portal and getting info on it. Archer's whole motive was to end the hostage situation and get his crew back safely, and the Vulcan monks didn't help much. Plus, the metal portal was very out of place in a reliquary.

And I think Archer directing some of his disgust or head-shaking toward T'Pol at the end wasn't really personal toward her, but his very human response to the Vulcans having held Earth back from space travel and how their scientists slowed his father's development of the first warp five engine and the Enterprise. So, understandable, I think.
Set Bookmark
Shrantastic
Sun, Dec 6, 2020, 11:44pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TOS S1: This Side of Paradise

I rate this at least 3 out of 4 stars. As others have said, I think the key to this is Kirk's drive, sense of purpose, duty, and loyalty to his and the ship's mission. Pleasure is natural and good but if that and "drifting" is the extent of a person's focus, I think they stagnate and their full potential goes unfulfilled.

It makes me think of the current debate about socialism (the colonists) versus capitalism (Kirk), group experience versus individualistic pioneering and achievement. Of course, in the real world there are aspects of each that naturally overlap. All those on the Enterprise had a group experience, though they were also part of the mission, with Kirk and others leading it. Some may feel more affinity for, or see logic in, the group experience, and that's good, because we're all part of that in some ways. Others (like myself) find themselves more motivated to focus on forward-moving action and vision, and personal achievement. That's how I see it anyway.

The final scene with Spock and Leila in the Transporter Room is very moving and one of Nimoy's best in TOS, in my opinion--Nimoy had just the right balance of emotion or softness, and control. I read on the Trek memory-alpha fandom site that, in the original draft, it was Sulu who was supposed to fall in love with Leila. But making it Spock and Leila obviously makes it more dramatic.
Set Bookmark
Shrantastic
Sat, Oct 31, 2020, 3:51am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S3: Chosen Realm

Many of you make a lot of good points. I enjoy the episode, but I think it does call for some suspension of disbelief.
--Is it really possible that an airborne agent like the one Phlox synthesized could actually render the subdermal explosives inert, given the small amount of agent released into the air, and Enterprise being so big? Seems like a stretch to me.
--Very lucky for Archer that one of the only heretics he came across was Yarrick, who was possibly the only one open-minded enough to go along with his plan to go to the Bridge and re-route the environmental controls to Sickbay.
--And is it really possible that the Triannons hadn't heard in the previous 8 months that the war had already ended on their planet? Is it possible that their Comm system had failed? Or were their coil emissions normal? :)

Another point...if this really happened, yeah the heretics might've been unhappy about the spheres disappearing, but on the bright side there wouldn't be any more spatial anomalies to wreak havoc in what had been the Expanse. All this said, the episode contains some good turns, I like its subterfuge, and the guy who plays D'Jamat is suitably acerbic. It was almost like he sucked on lemons before his scenes.
Set Bookmark
Shrantastic
Fri, Oct 9, 2020, 4:20am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S2: Judgment

I'll say 3 stars. I did not find it a total retread of the Undiscovered Country scenes, but a nice expansion of the courtroom action, and it went in a few different directions from the film. This episode delves into important issues, including rights: Archer's right to address the court after being told not to; the rights of the alien refugees to survive and avoid being charged with treason; and the archaic Klingon rights which Kolos claims in order to present further testimony. Rights always have relevance, as they currently do regarding racial issues--the rights of those on either side of the issue. Also, society must have laws and a justice system, but those who create and apply laws and dispense justice must be pure, so that victims and plaintiffs have a fair chance. Archer and his advocate challenge some of these things in this episode. I liked the episode's visuals, direction, editing, special effects, most of the script, set design and costumes. For fun, I looked online for the Klingon Judge's Gavel, and a prop of one that was apparently used in this episode was sold through Christie's for $24,000.
Set Bookmark
Shrantastic
Thu, Oct 8, 2020, 3:41am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S2: The Crossing

So far, Trip has gotten pregnant; got trapped in an alien's white web; he and Malcolm got robbed of their clothes and their shore leave by some shape-shifters; got stranded on a barren moon and nearly got fried in the heat; and here he got taken over by a bodiless alien. A guy who's dealt with that could probably use a holiday. Good thing he's already got the Hawaiian shirt.
Set Bookmark
Shrantastic
Tue, Oct 6, 2020, 3:29am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S2: Future Tense

Having seen it before, two things stood out to me this time. 1) Archer's always talking about how their mission is space exploration. Well, this is one of those episodes in which the exploration is less about space, and more about time, and elements associated with it. And this time, Archer does not get help from Daniels in person as before--just through Daniels' database from the future--so it's up to Archer to decide what to do. And 2) when T'Pol and Phlox are dining and she asks him if he believes in time travel, he replies, "Surprises, Sub-Commander. I believe in embracing surprises". That's what I think a lot of this episode was about--surprises and the unknown, questions without answers. Some of the previous commenters asked, about the ending when the ship disappears, "Is that it, is that all?" The Memory Alpha Star Trek site says, "The ending of the episode was not exactly what co-writer Mike Sussman had hoped for. In an earlier version, a time traveling character from the 31st century (similar to Crewman Daniels) appeared on the bridge at the end of the episode. He claimed the time ship and the body inside, revealing to the crew that the corpse was actually his. This unnamed character also gave Archer some additional clues about the Temporal Cold War and the Tholians' role in it before departing".
Set Bookmark
Shrantastic
Mon, Oct 5, 2020, 3:48am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S2: Cease Fire

Dba I'll follow up on something you said. I'm a big fan of Enterprise, much more than DS9 or Voyager, even more than many TNG episodes. I found this episode pretty well balanced, "comfortable" and engaging, though I agree with those who say the writers could've written it tighter, better, with more tension, more pointed. I like how it expands on the Vulcan-Andorian conflict. Moments I like: when Soval says "Vulcans don't drink"; Shran doing his squinting and occasional bellowing; the whole exchange between T'Pol and Soval while under fire; the visual of the planet when ships are flying toward it. Trip gets camera time in the center seat, and we see the other crew some too. And Archer gets more experience as the Earth captain helping other species resolve differences, through talk and action.
Set Bookmark
Shrantastic
Fri, Oct 2, 2020, 4:09am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S2: Dawn

Like others, I enjoyed the speech Trip gives on his life in space and his mostly wonderful sights and experiences. I hadn't caught it the first time I saw the episode. Reminds me of the speech Roy Batty gives near the end of Blade Runner, about attack ships on fire off Orion and C-beams glittering near the Tannhauser Gate. It can make a person reflect on how well they've lived their life so far; to boldly go, even here on Earth. About them being in the hot sun on the mountain, I'm guessing that was a convenient plot point, partly because it was an optimal location from which to contact Enterprise, given that the content of the nearby volcanic rocks interfered with the transmission, as opposed to staying someplace more sheltered. And being in the hot sun makes for more drama and better camera lighting! Plus like Rahul said, a nice moment when T'Pol tells Archer he improved relations with the Arkonians more quickly than the Vulcans could.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.