Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 32 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
Shawn
Mon, Jan 14, 2019, 7:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Wrongs Darker Than Death or Night

I interpreted the event happening as actually happening. We have seen the Orb of Time used before (Trials and Tribble-ations) where Sisko and his crew had to prevent a Klingon from assassinating Kirk. Even agents from the Federation Department of Temporal Investigations had to come and investigate to see if the timestream had been altered, so yeah those events actually did happened in WDTDN. And as far as Dukat's age, we have seen aliens in other episodes and Trek shows that have been stated to be hundreds of year old yet look like they are in their 30s.
Set Bookmark
Shawn
Thu, Feb 8, 2018, 11:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Statistical Probabilities

I think that this is one of the reasons why I like Deep Space Nine over Voyager, considering the limitations of the latter. DS9 in its format, was allowed to explore the characters, and bring in guest stars that only enhanced that exploration. Whether it was exploring Kira's days during the Bajoran Resistance, or Worf's trying to stay connected to his Klingon's roots, or Bashir trying to help those who receive genetic enhancement, only for those people to go in a negative path, the show gave us rich characters that only added to the show. While I like Voyager, it was unfortunate that we did not see recurring guest stars. While it was fun seeing Q on the series the first time around, all subsequent appearances became pointless. Another poster made the comment about the episode not dealing with mental health. First, this show is less about mental health, and more about showing what if Bashir's genetic enhancement had gone in a completely different, negative path. I think DS9 has explored mental health far more than any of the other Trek shows ( or TV shows) in general. "Far Beyond the Stars" and "Its Only A Paper Moon" are just a few of the many episodes from Deep Space Nine that deals with the subject matter in a mature manner.
Set Bookmark
Shawn Davis
Sun, Jan 21, 2018, 9:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Vaulting Ambition

So far I'm enjoying the show inspite some obvious plot twists. I was with everyone who said that Ash Tyler and Voq are the same. I also was not surprised about AU version of Churchill making an appearance, although I was a bit surprised that she is the emperor in that universe. I thought that she be at least another captain but with an type of antihero attitude almost like Lorca.

Speaking about Lorca; I'll be honest with everyone as when he first mention about parallel universes to Stamets in episode 9, I didn't think about the fact of the possiblity that he was from the alternate universe. I only thought that the writers added this scientific curiosity only to develop his character that's all. So no I was not on the bandwagon of those who predicted correctly that Lorca is from this multiuniverse. To be honest, at the end of episode 9 when Stamets accidentally brought everone to this alternate universe, I thought that he was from that universe.

Boy I need to pay close attention to the details of the plot of this show :-(.
Set Bookmark
Shawn Davis
Tue, Nov 21, 2017, 12:22am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Through the Looking Glass

I’ve just watched this episode today (i’ve not seen any series of Star Trek in almost a decade). I’ve give this episode 3 stars instead of 3/12 stars. I agree with most of what jammer said about this episode. However, I’ve also agree with those who question the relationship between Sisko and mirror Dax and with those who stated that mirror Tuvok appearance is a waste of time since he is there only for show and I didn’t see him take part in any of the action scenes in the episodes.

Also, I’ve a minor issue with the first act of the episode. When Smiley (mirror universe of O’brien of course) took Captain Sisko hostage, Odo and Quark sure have gone to the turbo lift rather quickly after Smiley said he wanted to talk to Sisko alone prior to both Odo and Quark being there. Also while Smiley was configuring the transporter to bring him and Sisko to his universe, some of the ops officers had the opportunity to tackle the man to the ground or to use their own phasers to stun him. Sisko wouldn’t had to go to the alternate universe in the first place or not go there as a hostage.

Even though I didn’t like these flaws, the pros of this episode more than outweight the cons and it was a good episode overalll.
Set Bookmark
Shawn Davis
Mon, Aug 1, 2016, 3:37am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Nothing Human

I think that two stars is fair for this episode. I enjoy some of the moral dilemma (sp?) of this episode. For example, Seven tells the Doctor: "It is curious. The Borg are accused of assimilating information with no regard for life. This Cardassian did the same; and yet, his behavior is tolerated." I agree with Seven 100% on this.

Therefore, I agree with those who said that Janeway and the crew of Voyager are being hypocrites for using technology of the Borg, which is a species that assimilated many other species against their will (even though they do not kill the species), but some of the crew are questioning the use a hologram of a Cardassian which is a species who has history of torturing and sentencing bajorans and many other species to death without a trial and experimenting on other alien species without any though of morals and ethics.

I also agreed with some previous posters who said that Janeway made the right decision to allow the Doctor to continue to use the cardassian hologram to help Torres. Even though I believe that Torres should be the one who decides if she needs help from the holographic cardassian or not, I guess that Janeway made that decision because she can lose anymore of her crew and she needs the help of her chief engineer to keep the engines running at peak efficiency to Voyager and its crew can return home.

Everything else about this episode from the crew members arguing and fighting over a hologram to the hologram conveniently (almost a deux-ex-machina) doing things like recalibrating a tricorder to be incredibly ridiculous.
Set Bookmark
Shawn Davis
Fri, Apr 22, 2016, 11:17pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S1: Q-Less

I agree with Del_Duio about the writers bringing in guest stars who play recurring characters from TNG to DS9. Sometimes bringing in other characters from the other star trek shows work here on DS9. The Duras Sisters, Kor, Kang, Koloth, Thomas Riker (The duplicate version of Will Riker from the TNG episode Second Chances), and Lewis Zimmerman (the creator of holographic Doctor from ST: Voyager). However, some characters like Q, the Borg, and Lwaxana Troi didn't work for the show at all. I'm glad that Q only made one episode apperance thoughout the entire show. This show is okay, but Q and Vash didn't seem right at all. They probably should not have made an apperance period.
Set Bookmark
Shawn Davis
Wed, Apr 20, 2016, 1:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: The Jem'Hadar

I agree with everything that Jammer says about this episode. It is a great introduction to the Jem'hadar and the dominion. I like some of the scenes with Jake, Nog, Sisko, Quark and the Vorta Eris as well.

I'll ignore the minor problem with the fact that the Eris and the Jem'hadar do not notice or acknowledges Odo as a changling and founder of the Dominion as some people here have pointed out. Even though it is a bit of a mistake, I don't mind it as it would have probably made the 2 part "The Search" 3rd season opener weak if writes have done this. I've also didn't mind that they removed the Vorta's telekinetic powers after this episode or at least never have the Vorta do that again as it may be too much of a deux-ex machina for the alien species and it makes the Vorta look stupid if you as me.

The action scences of this episode as Jammer said was comic book like, but a good comic book like stuff and not cheesy in anyway. Of course the best part of the episode is the Jem'hadar ship doing a suicide run in the Odyssey which is probably the best action scene in star trek history. That right is what make alien species like the Jem'Hadar so unique and the best enemy in the history of star trek.

I also agree with Easter and William B about the arguments that Quark made to Sisko while they were in Jem'Hadar prison about the ferengi not being as violent as human beings. Although this part of the story probably should of had it's own episode so that we can explore this concept more if is written correctly.
Set Bookmark
Shawn Davis
Wed, Apr 20, 2016, 12:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: Crossover

I agree with Both Jammer and Luke about this episode. That is also what I like about Star Trek DS9 in general. TNG did some good work with making references to the original series. However, DS9 did a better job with following up to the TOS such as the Mirror Universe episodes, some of the characters from TOS such as Kor, Kang, and Koloth in the episode "Blood Oath", and some other episodes such as "Trials and Tribilations (sp?)" from the 5 season.

Anyway, I give this show either 4 stars or at least 3 1/2 stars also.
Set Bookmark
Shawn Davis
Wed, Apr 20, 2016, 11:14am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Descent, Part I

Hello fellow Star Trek fans. I actually agree with Jammer on this. This episode where the Borg suddenly has an almost Klingon-type attitude and where Data suddenly experience some emotions such as anger as a good thing until toward the end where the Borg Crosis uses some device on his arm to manipulate Data and then we find out that the Borg have an Klingon-type attitude because of Data's Brother Lore; therefore, making the whole story as a plot point to keep the story going as Jammer said.

I've would've preferred that both Data and the Borg spontaneously experience these emotions by themselves as a part of character development instead of what the writers did to both of them on this show.

The only thing that I disagree with Jammer is where most of the crew of the enterprise would beam down on the planet to search for Data. The crew of the Enterprise has put its life at risk all the time for one crew member. The crew rescued Picard who was Locutus from the Borg which is one person for example.
Set Bookmark
Shawn Watson
Fri, May 8, 2015, 11:41am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: The Motion Picture

As far from the restrictions of TV as it could possibly be.

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Oooh, a difficult one this. Very difficult indeed. Unless you are particularly patient, or are a hardcore Star Trek fan this is going to take some effort to stick with. It doesn't seem like a Trekkie movie. Nowhere near as much fun as Wrath Of Khan, or First Contact. Not as much humour as The Voyage Home. In fact, there is no humour at all. Something that cripples the film badly. Everything is very straight-faced and sincere. To introduce someone to Star Trek with this film would be a bad idea.

Being the first Trek product since the original series one might expect the familiar campy story lines and beaming down to "M-class" planets - a bit of desert 10-minutes drive from LA - but there's none to be had. Veteran director Robert Wise has crafted a film very much in the style of his original version of The Haunting. His w-i-d-e-s-c-r-e-e-n compositions are beautiful and he really manages to lift Trek from the small screen to the cinema screen. It was a hard undertaking, but he set the standard for nine sequels to date.

The plot has a giant alien force destroying three Klingon ships on its direct course with earth. If the Federation doesn't stop this thing, it will blow up the planet. Admiral Kirk leaves his sunny San Francisco home to assume command of the Enterprise from Captain Decker and stop the alien menace. But Decker has a chip on his shoulder. The new Enterprise is not finished yet and he doesn't appreciate Kirk moving in on his territory.

Very slowly the original crew return and are in command of their posts again and there is a weird new navigator, a bald-headed, celibate alien woman named Ilia. Decker seems to have a thing for her. For some reason.

Once they reach the mysterious alien mass, the crew learns its name is Vger. Ilia is kidnapped and replaced with an android. Spock is driven to tears as he finds TOTAL logic in Vger actions and motivations. This is all sub-subtext and the actual explanation behind Vger might not come as a surprise to most. Once they fly inside Vger's mass of clouds and orifices it takes a healthy hour for the damn thing to be fully revealed.

To criticise a film for its length may be an ignorant thing to do. Audiences today are too satisfied with any plot lasting less than 100 minutes. This is not a good sign. Films with the scope and, dare I say it, class of Star Trek: The Motion Picture need their full and proper running time. Coherent story lines can be sacrificed for fast paced, exhilarating storytelling, or a dull, seemingly endless narrative can be the result of a big story being fully fleshed out. It's difficult to achieve both length and pace. Sadly, this film doesn't. But it looks very good, is well directed and has the balls to bite off more than it can chew.
Set Bookmark
Shawn Davis
Sun, Jul 27, 2014, 8:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: Armageddon Game

I agree with Jammer's review. I also want to point out that it's a shame that the Defiant wasn't introduced until the beginning of season 3. Sisko and company looked ridiculous trying to battle the T'Lani ship, which is much more larger and powerful, with the small runabouts at the end of the episode (even though they were actually playing a trick on the T'Lani to escape them, but still......). With the Defiant they could had put the T'Lani in their place within minutes.
Set Bookmark
Shawn Davis
Mon, Apr 21, 2014, 4:25am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: To the Death

It was great from the begining where the Renegade Jem'hadar attacked the station, Sisko and the crew goes to the gamma quadrant to find these group, then then join forces with the Jem'hadar and the Vorta Weyoun to stop the other renegade Jem'Hadar forces. I agree with the review about them bringing back the Iconian gateway from way back in season 2 of ST:TNG and I like the attitudes of the both the Jem'hadar and the starfleet personnel (the way that they don't hide how they feel about each other, especially Worf and one Jem'hadar constantly getting into a physical attack with each other). Of course I agree with the review and everyone else here that the violence towards the ending was a bit rushed (why didn't starfleet and use the sensors on the Defiant to detect the field that is preventing them from using their phasers). I give this episode at least 3 stars.

Also even though I responding to someone's message from years ago. To Nic: Although I agree that it's bit strange for the upper pylon to be repaired quickly like that without any explanation in the next episode, I believe that the crew of DS9 are capable of repairing it like that because they are in the area where starfleet and cardassia are and they can use their materials and other resources to repair the upper pylon quickly.

The main reason that I don't think that it makes sense for Voyager to be repaired so quickly by the next episode like that when they sustain damage from an alien attack is because they are in the Delta Quadrant about 75000 light years from Starfleet and they can gain access to materials and other resorces that easily to repair Voyager. Sure they could get some help from friendly aliens like the Talaxians, but some resorces and materials from the aliens of the Delta Quadrant may not easily compatible with the Starship Voyager.
Set Bookmark
Shawn Davis
Sun, Apr 6, 2014, 5:30pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Distant Voices

I agree with AeC about them not mentioning or at least making a subtle reference to Dr. Bashir's genetic engineering. I aslo agree with Zack about the reference of the faux-Lethean and Garak in Bashir's mind.

What I do not agree with is how the episode uses the other characters as virtues of Dr. Bashir. For example, Kira representing anger or O'Brian representing cowardice or something like that (sorry that it's been a while since I've seen this episode). There is nothing wrong with that idea by itself. However, it is how they did it that made it seems totally ridiculous. I also did like the 1st and especially the 2nd act where Bashir found himself in a run down DS9 space station (which actually represents his mind being destroyed by the attack from the real Lethean at the end of the first act). After the 3rd act where Bashir and gang discovered they all exists in his mind, it went downhill from there). I agree with the 2 1/2 stars rating. I only recommend this episode if you are fans of Siddig El Faddil's character "Dr. Julian Bashir" and/or if you like to see one of my favorite characters "Garak" in action.
Set Bookmark
Shawn Davis
Mon, Oct 14, 2013, 5:30am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Hide and Q

This is not the best of the Q episodes, but it's not the worst either. This episode was interested at the start of the show when Q gave Riker the powers of the Q and during the middle of the show when Picard and Riker gets into a interesting philosophical argument about using the Q powers. However, the final act of the episode where he grants the crew some special gift to prove Picard's point about power corrupts was handled very poorly. I'd give this episode at least 2 1/2 stars not three. However, I do agree with one of the poster about this episode being better than any of Q's appearances on Voyager (and the one episode on DS9).
Set Bookmark
Shawn Davis
Sat, Oct 12, 2013, 8:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Conundrum

I just got through watching this episode. I agree with Jammer that 3 stars is an approprite rating for this episode. I agree that this episode got off to a rocky start with the alien disguised a MacDuffin wiping the memory of the crew but still need them to help him fight his enemies. In fact, the MacDuffin alien and the aliens like him probably could wipe out Starfleet, the Romulans, the Klingons, and the other alpha quadrant species in about 10 minutes using that mind wiping device that they used.

The rest of the episode is plausible to me. I especially liked how the crew acted after they had their memory wiped. Including Worf taking command and Picard acting like a regular crewman, and Riker being with Troi and Ro in doing their business. I also like how the crew at least think about their decision too before acting as Jammer said.
Set Bookmark
Shawn Davis
Tue, Aug 20, 2013, 3:11am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: The Quickening

Greetings. I just got through watching this episode. This is a great episode of ST:DS9. I especially had some respect for the character Julian Bashir in this one and how the actor Sid El Fadil played him so well in this, especially since previous episodes like last seasons "Distant Voices" while not a terrible episode didn't do a good job in developing Dr. Bashir very well.

I also agree with Joseph S on what he said about the ending of the episode not going the simple route of someone holding the cure of the disease for themselves or the plague being a Dominion plot. The ending where the doctor actually created a vaccine and not a medicine and where Sisko said that at least their children of that species will survive is perfect for this episode.
Set Bookmark
Shawn Davis
Tue, Jul 23, 2013, 7:20am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S1: Cathexis

I agree with everyone that said that Chakotay, while being out of his body in a different form, should have done something different to warn the crew about that nebula instead of just taking over someone's body and start messing around with the computers such as stopping the warp core and changing the ship's direction. Like someone said, he could have either speak through someone while possessing that person, or write it on a datapad or pen with paper. If he couldn't do that, someone like Janeway or Tuvok could of ask why he didn't do those and he could have gave some explanation regarless whether it make sense or not toward the end of the episode.
Set Bookmark
Shawn Davis
Tue, Apr 30, 2013, 4:08am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: For the Uniform

"He played me all right. And what is my excuse? Is he a Changeling? No. Is he a being with seven lifetimes of experience? No. Is he a wormhole alien? No. He's just a man, like me. And he beat me!" ~ Sisko.

I like this episode. I do agree with some the flaws in this episodes that many of you mention such as Avery Brooks overacting in some scenes when his character Sisko is venting his frustration over being fooled by Eddington and the fact that there is no episode that follows or at least mentions the consequences for Sisko's actions for poisoning the atmosphere of a planet only to catch Eddington.

However, the pros outweight the cons thankfully. Sisko was overacting, but it is understandable. I would be made if someone betrayed me for any reason too. The plot about Sisko becoming the villian to catch Eddington based on the story that Eddington send to him made perfect sense and is used perfectly in this episode. I give it 3 stars too. :-).
Set Bookmark
Shawn Davis
Mon, Mar 11, 2013, 6:59am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Preemptive Strike

I agree with what Patrick said about this episode doing more dramatically with the Maquis than ST: Voyager did in it's entire 7 year run.

The episode was awesome indeed. The only big letdown is that Michelle Forbes chose not to reprise her role as Ensign Ro for Star Trek DS9 because the actor didn't want to commit to being an actor on the T.V. series that long. Of course Nana Visitor's character "Major/Coronal (sp?) Kira Nerys replaced here.

I think that Kira is a much better character for DS9, but Ms. Forbes still could of at least starred as "Ensign Ro" in a least 1 episode of DS9 so make some stories about Bajor, the Maquis, and the Cardassion occupation interesting.
Set Bookmark
Shawn Davis
Mon, Mar 11, 2013, 2:23am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: Sons of Mogh

I agree with Jammer and most of everyone's comment about the ending of the episode. I don't see any difference between killing Kurn and wiping his mind except that one option involves kiling and the other involves being alive but his memory being wiped. One way or the other the destination is the same regardless of what different route that one takes.

However, I agree with Sam's comments about everyone being too hard on Sisko about chewing Worf out for doing the ritual that involves killing his brother due to his nihilism.

I'm all for the acceptance of different cultures, religions, traditions etc.; however, while it's okay it believe differently than everyone, to practice that believe sometimes may be a problem. There are some people around the world where they have religions, traditions, and cultural backgrounds that states that it's okay to sacrifices animals (even kidnapping your pet dog of cat from your front porch and killing them), hate other religions and kill others that are not in their religion (believe it of not some of this is in the christians bibles and muslims books like the quran and some christians and muslims have done this to follower that are not in their religion in the past), and hate and kill others that are not the same race as they are (the KKK for example). While it's their right to believe that, is it okay for them to practice it?

Otherwise the episode is great and I would give it 3 stars like Jammer also. Tony Todd performance as the Worf's brother Kurn is what made this episode worth watching.
Set Bookmark
Shawn Davis
Sun, Mar 10, 2013, 5:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: Sanctuary

I agree with Jammer and most of the comments here about this episode.

I understand with what they are trying to do here by doing the story about the "Skrreeans" and finding their home planet being similar to Jewish people trying to find Palestine. I don't have a problem with this, but it's the way that the story was written that made me feel little simpathy for the Skrreeans and their representative Haneek. As Jammer said, there is no specific reason stated on why Haneek thinks that Bajor is their home planet that they are looking for. I agree with what he said about the Bajorans being right not to allow the Skrreeans to live on their planet due to paranoia and xenophobia also.

I agree with Jammer and everyone else's comments about the translator problem during the first 10 minutes of the show. I actually glad that they brought up something like this to indicate that not all the gadgets in the world of Star Trek doesn't always work for some species and not convient or is some type of "Deux-ex Machina", but it is the way that part of the story was executed that made the translator thing look ridiculous.
Set Bookmark
Shawn Davis
Fri, Mar 8, 2013, 7:00am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: The Measure of a Man

Greetings to all. I love this episode. One of TNG's classic and features one of my favorite character, Data, in an most interesting position ever.

I have one question though, Riker as Data to bend a metal bar in an attempt to disprove that he is not sentient and Picard object to that by stating that there are many live alien species that are strong enough to do that, Capain Philipa disagreed with him and told Riker to continue with the demonstration. My question is why is Picard wrong? I though what he said about some aliens being strong enough to bend the metal bar along with robots and androids like Data was logical to me.

Thanks.
Set Bookmark
Shawn
Mon, Feb 25, 2013, 1:27am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Datalore

I agree with all Jammer said. I enjoy the fact that we got some background info on one of my favorite characters Data. Brent Spiner plays both Data and his brother Lore well. That alone to me is also worth 3 stars at least. I also agree with Jammer about the things that hurt this episode like none of the adult starfleet officers not seeing the more than painfully obvious of Lore impersonating Data and only boy genius Wesley is seeing it. That is probably why Wesley Crusher is one of the most hated characters probably in the history of star trek. I agree with some people on here too that said that Picard and his mother Beverly Crusher tells him to "Shut Up"! *L*.
Set Bookmark
Shawn Davis
Sat, Dec 29, 2012, 7:39pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Author, Author

I just got through watching this episode. I agree with most of what Jammer said about this episode speaking about whether the Doc being a hologram is sentient being or not. I like how the Doc's holonovel actually lead to him fighting to be presented as whether holograms have rights or not (irony indeed :-). However, I do consider this a almost carbon copy of TNG's Measure of a Man. I also can't help but think that an episode like this should have been brought up as far as season 4 at least. The topic of whether the Doctor is a sentient being or not and his creation of the holonovel should have been brought up right after the Voyager crew have discovered the communication array of the Hirogen which gave them the ability to communicate with starfleet from the Delta Quadrant. I just think that it's too late to bring an episode like this up so late in the series like this that's all. This episode is great, but not perfect. I give it at least 3 stars.
Set Bookmark
Shawn Davis
Mon, Dec 17, 2012, 4:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: The Ship

Greetings Jammer. I would give this episode at least 3 stars instead of 2 1/2 stars. While I agree that it is not perfect (I agree with you about Sisko worrying about things that was not within his control to begin with like the destruction of the runabout which resulted in the death of the 4 crewmembers aboard that runabout for example. I also agree that Kaitlin Hopkins character as the vorta Kilana needs work). However, I disagree with you on everything else .
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.