Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 135 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 6
Set Bookmark
Shannon
Tue, Jun 12, 2018, 10:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Nor the Battle to the Strong

I wouldn't be too harsh on this episode. It was well-written, well-directed, and told a Trek war story from a unique POV. Its one downside is the acting of Lofton, but I'm not going to let that detract from a good story, which is what Star Trek has always been about. Jake was never meant to be a main character carrying a story, however Lofton did an okay job in this episode (certainly better than Wheaton would have). Strong story, strong directing, mediocre acting from one character (the supporting roles were good)... I would give it 3.5 stars.
Set Bookmark
Shannon
Mon, May 21, 2018, 9:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Paradise

Pretty awful episode. Must have seemed better on paper than what actually occurred in front of the cameras. TNG’s Descent was a much better allegory for cult-like group think than this snoozer. Gail’s performance was way over the top, and too damn obvious.
Set Bookmark
Shannon
Sat, May 19, 2018, 9:25am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Rules of Acquisition

I've never watched DS9 in its entirety, so I'm now doing that via Hulu... This episode had so much potential that the writers/produces ended up squandering. Pel, and her quest for equality, could have been the focal point of a diplomatic crisis that puts the Federation at extreme odds with the Ferengi, and call into question how the Prime Directive fits into the whole narrative. Perhaps the Ferengi could have attempted, at Zek's behest, to arrest Pel. She could have asked for asylum, and voila, a major diplomatic fire erupts that Cisco has to navigate. This could have been an interesting two-parter, and right in the middle could have been Quark, caught between his love for Pel and his loyalty to Ferengi traditions... A total missed opportunity to put some real teeth in this story and make it relevant to issues we face today with gender equality.
Set Bookmark
Shannon
Tue, Jan 30, 2018, 12:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

@MadManMUC

Thanks for putting your low IQ on display with your f-bomb laden post. Gave me a good laugh.
Set Bookmark
Shannon
Mon, Jan 29, 2018, 10:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

@Henson

You're absolutely right, it's not worth the endless back and forth. They hate the show, and want to use this forum to express those feelings. Not much I can do about it, and pointing it out has proven pointless... You must be Vulcan, very logical, thanks.

That's a great question regarding Burnham. A few episodes ago she was theorizing that understanding how Klingons can work side-by-side with other species in the MU to fight Terrans might help Starfleet in her own universe to negotiate a peace. Seems like that was left out there as a clue as to her fate in the upcoming episodes. As for saving MU Phillipa, I think that was her emotions overcoming her logic, not wanting to see her die again, despite what she really is, which is treacherous. As for Phillipa's place in the PU, I can see her making a case, with Sarek's backing (we caught a glimpse of that in the preview), that Starfleet might have to pull an Archer and "bend the rules" to win the war. Having high ideals and moral character is certainly noble, but not when you are facing anhiliation... Plus, I like having Michelle Yeoh back, she's great!
Set Bookmark
Shannon
Mon, Jan 29, 2018, 9:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

@Pon Farr

Clearly you don't know how to read, because you're totally missing the point. There's a difference between critiquing a show and just whining about week-in and week-out with piss and vinegar in your posts... They can keep making negative opinions all they want, and I and others will feel free to respond. If you can't handle that, then that's your issue.
Set Bookmark
Shannon
Mon, Jan 29, 2018, 9:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

@PeterG

"It find it startling that you don't understand wolfstar's comment when he suggests that we each give our reviews and leave each other alone. Your reaction shows that you take negative reviews of the series personally, while failing to see that those who offer negative or mixed reviews aren't aiming them at those making positive reviews."

I read a lot of your posts, PeterG, and I get that you fancy yourself a wise philosopher with the volumes of material you write, and that is your right to do. But you are totally missing the point, so I will repeat it for you. I have NO problem with constructive criticism, and there are many who, like Jammer, point out what they see as flaws in a civil, thoughtful manner. I'm not talking about those posters. I'm talking about the folks who just seem flat out angry and enraged, as if someone stole their favorite bike right in front of them and they were helpless to do anything about it. As for "taking it personally", you have no clue what my motives are, which is why I'm laying it out there and trying to explain it to you. "This show has become ridiculous" and other similar comments are NOT critiques, they are flat out whining. So I stick with my original point, if you hate it that much, then stop watching it. Revisiting my analogy now, if you keep going back to a restaurant that you've visited 12 times but had a horrible experience each time, you're most likely going to keep hating it and being disappointed.
Set Bookmark
Shannon
Mon, Jan 29, 2018, 9:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

@Panagiotis Karatasios

"This show has become ridiculous"

THEN STOP WATCHING IT! You are precisely what I, and others, have been talking about. If you hate it that much, then stop watching it. If you have something constructive to say, then we're all ears... I'll go back to my earlier analogy. If you kept going back to the same restaurant, say 12 times (number of episodes through last week), and you hated the food, decor, and service every time, would you go back for a 13th time??? It's this constant vitriolic whining that is getting ridiculous.
Set Bookmark
Shannon
Mon, Jan 29, 2018, 8:27am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

@anthimos112

Thanks for your post, that is exactly the point I've been trying to make. I will repeat for the hundredth time, I have NO problem with constructive criticism, and engaging in a thoughtful debate as @wolfstar stated. But there are those on this blog that seem to endlessly whine about this series, constantly saying it's not Star Trek, ripping the writers with NOT constructive criticism, as Jammer does, but with vitriolic, negative bashing. So I agree, if you hate the series that much that it gives you no pleasure, then why are you still watching? That's like going to a restaurant 12 times and each time you hate it, the food is awful, the service is bad. Why would you keep going back?

@Booming

Great points regarding TNG! Thankfully that series didn't get the trashing that DIS is getting, or we never would have made it past Season 3. And as I've pointed out in previous posts, the first 2 seasons had some real stinkers in there. I enjoyed the show anyway, even though shows like Code of Honor, Justice, and When the Bough Breaks had me shaking my head... But Star Trek is like sex, even when it's bad, it's still pretty good! :)

@fortyseven

Good analysis on Old Trek vs. New Trek. That's why Moore left the franchise, he felt that Berman and Bragga kept way too much creative control and didn't allow the writers any freedom. What was the result? Moore went off and created the stellar Battlestar Galactica, which I've watched 5 times over now, and Enterprise withered away on the vine (it got better in seasons 3 and 4, but too little too late, they lost most of the 12 million viewers that tuned in for the pilot). I agree with Moore, Gene was a visionary, but his vision was that of a nearly perfect human race where everything is black and white (much of early TNG was like this). Well, like is not black and white, whether it's 2018 or 300 years from now. With that in mind, and having enjoyed BSG so much, I'm much more willing to give the producers more creative license with these stories. Is it perfect? No, nothing ever is. But it's still Star Trek, and I'm looking forward to how they go back and somehow resolve the war... The MU arc was great, and we finally understand now why Lorca was so anti-Trek. I thought Burnham's decision to save Phillipa was an interesting choice, as if her logic and emotions became very conflicted in that moment. Love that Michelle Yeoh is back, and I get the feeling she is going to provide the Federation a bit of a kick in the pants. Having high-minded ideals is great, but if you're facing annihilation, what good does it for you? Archer tackled that same question when facing the Xindi, which is why Damage was such a terrific episode. Sometimes bad things need to be done, and that's where all the gray comes in.
Set Bookmark
Shannon
Sun, Jan 28, 2018, 10:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

@Mertov, @Joseph B, @Mac

Glad you are enjoying this series and giving it a fair shake.

@TBonz

Anyone see the preview? Did the MU resistance cell get accidentally transported to the Prime Universe?"

Yes, I saw that on After Trek. On first take it does seem to be that way, but Admiral what's her name (wow, I can't even remember her) beams in with Sarek just afterwards. I don't think it's the MU rebels, but you never know.
Set Bookmark
Shannon
Sun, Jan 28, 2018, 10:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

@Dom, @AR

I have been rather mystified by the intense negative critiques of this series. We finally have Star Trek back, and it just seems that all some people want to do is complain. Would you rather it not be here since it doesn't live up to your standards? Actually, here's a better question. What would you have the show be? I would love for everyone on this blog who rips this show to shreds week in and week out to answer that one please. What would you do? What plots would you create? What story arcs, if any, would you employ? Perhaps they can all camp out on a strange planet and get high off of pollen and imagine seeing rock people.
No, wait, that was done already. Oh, right, perhaps Stamets could fool around with an alien male scientist from a new race they just meet and get pregnant! Oh, no, sorry, already did that one... Yes I'm being facetious, of course, but I'm just getting tired of the hammering this show is getting... Here's a thought, write a script and post it here for all of us to enjoy... and critique!!!
Set Bookmark
Shannon
Sun, Jan 28, 2018, 8:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

I loved this episode. It was action-packed, brought the MU story arc to a satisfying closure, and managed a few surprises at the end that leaves me wanting more. Michelle Yeoh is brilliant, and I love watching her interactions with PU Burnham. Great touch to have the senior members of the crew together working a solution to save the mycelial network, and thus the multi-universe, and Saru really stepped up as a leader in that scene, which was nice to see. There were also some nice, rising level of respect moments between Stamets and Tilly... IMO this is the series' first 4-star episode!
Set Bookmark
Shannon
Sun, Jan 28, 2018, 8:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Vaulting Ambition

Good review, Jammer... I'm hoping a lot of your questions were answered in tonight's episode, which was terrific. I'll post my thoughts over there.
Set Bookmark
Shannon
Thu, Jan 25, 2018, 12:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Vaulting Ambition

@Gee

Agreed, that ties into what I said earlier about Enterprise. Instead of writing quality stories in Seasons 1 and 2 about the early missions that led to the formation of the Federation 10 years later, Brannon and Braga wrote/produced bland scripts like Unexpected, Terra Nova, Breaking the Ice, Fortunate Son, Fusion, Rogue Planet, Oasis, Carbon Creek, A Night in Sickbay, Precious Cargo, The Crossing, and Bounty. All wasted time that could have been spent on more stories like the ones you cited. I think that's what many of us were hoping for in this series, stories that serve as the foundation for the forming of the Federation, the development of The Prime Directive (Cogenitor was an excellent episode on that front), and other canon we've come to know and love in Star Trek. If you look at the numbers, they lost over half their audience over the first two seasons.
Set Bookmark
Shannon
Thu, Jan 25, 2018, 9:51am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Vaulting Ambition

@BZ

"I don't think Archer was terrible, but he was definitely unevenly written..."

I couldn't agree more! The problem with Enterprise, now that we've all had 12 years to watch the show numerous times over on Netflix, is that Braga and Berman kept creative control very tight to the vest, and that showed in a lot of the bland stories those two produced. Scott Bakula is a good actor, and when he was given a meaty script, he shined like we would have expected. But more often than not he, and the rest of the cast, had to struggle their way through mediocre scripts. I saw him in an interview state that the reason he believes the show ended after 4 seasons was that the cast lacked on-screen chemistry. That may be so, but the writing plays a big part in that. The cast of Seinfeld and Friends did so well for so long because the writing was superb... Look at the trifecta of Azati Prime, Damage, and The Forgotten. Those were three outstanding episodes, and the actors all raised their game to the high quality level of the scripts, and voila, three great episodes that were thoroughly enjoyable to watch. I think Jammer rated all three highly if memory serves, and rightfully so.
Set Bookmark
Shannon
Wed, Jan 24, 2018, 11:14am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Vaulting Ambition

@Skabs

Thanks for proving my point.
Set Bookmark
Shannon
Tue, Jan 23, 2018, 11:29am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Vaulting Ambition

@Skabs

"Saying people who criticize some of the episodes (on a critic's website no less) should stop watching the show is a pretty juvenile attitude to take."

I'm not talking about reviewers like you that have been even-handed in your reviews (that's a compliment, by the way, and I won't call you a name which is a courtesy you did NOT bestow upon me). I have been referring to reviewers that week-in and week-out lambaste, not criticize, this series as not being Star Trek, as having consistently poor writing, as having uninteresting characters (yet in the same breath they ironically praise Enterprise). I have no problem with constructive criticism, or someone who simply didn't like an episode as a matter of taste, but the vitriolic trashing of this series seems to be getting made by posters who must have 5 Emmy Awards sitting on their shelves, because they sure as heck act like they are experts.

Star Trek is back, so let's enjoy it before we lose it. Doesn't mean we can't criticize it, because there certainly has been some mediocre episodes, but let's show a little civility in our remarks and continue to appreciate that we have our beloved Star Trek back on TV... Notice I still haven't called you a name. I will continue to bestow that courtesy on you.
Set Bookmark
Shannon
Mon, Jan 22, 2018, 10:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Vaulting Ambition

Wow, this series just can't please some people, can it. Perhaps those of you that have been consistently bashing this series should just stick to reruns of the other Star Trek series for which you seem to be longing. Or better yet, find some investors, write a script, and start your own series since you think you know so much better.

I loved this episode, and would easily give it 3.5 stars. So many things from earlier in the series are now starting to make sense, and I see that thread that is tying all these episodes together. We always knew there was something "not right" about Lorca, and now we know why. The whole notion of him needing Burnham to get to the Emperor was a well written surprise, didn't see that one coming.

Looking forward to Jammer's review.
Set Bookmark
Shannon
Tue, Jan 16, 2018, 1:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

@Yanks... Great point! I don't understand all the criticism of the spore drive as being fake science. No one ever had an issue with the transporter, which is probably the least plausible technology in all of Star Trek.
Set Bookmark
Shannon
Tue, Jan 16, 2018, 1:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

For those of you who are not liking the show but seem to be open-minded, give it some time. I remember when TNG first came out (I was 16), and there were many naysayers as well. Now mind you, there was no Internet, but I would pick up the sci-fi mags at my local book store and read the reviews, many of which were negative. They were upset because there was no Spock, Picard was too old and way too cautious, Riker was too much like Al Gore with a stick rammed up his ass (well, I kinda agreed with that one... he got better though!), Troi was Miss Butt-in-ski, the android was stupid, and Wesley needed thrown out an airlock (yeah, agreed with that one, and he NEVER got better). It didn't help that the writing was more often than not utterly atrocious. Remember Code of Honor, Justice, Angel One, Haven ("oh, you're the one who wants to be a starship captain"... ugh, made me puke), When the Bough Breaks, and Skin of Evil ("you have my pity"... ugh, if I were Armus I would have killed her right then and there)? Horrible writing to say the least. But there were bright spots here and there: The Last Outpost, The Battle, 11001001, and Heart of Glory... I'm the first to admit that Discovery got off to a shaky start, but they are finding their footing and telling better stories, all within a main story arc. These last 3 episodes have been solid... Try re-watching them together one night.
Set Bookmark
Shannon
Mon, Jan 15, 2018, 10:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

First off, all the haters on this blog seriously need to go find another show to watch. You just don't like it, you feel it's not really Star Trek. Fine, you are entitled to your opinion. But there are many more of us that are loving the direction the producers are taking this show... This episode was terrific, 4 stars all the way. Lisa Randolph wrote a very human script that explores how our characters are dealing with the beyond strenuous, dangerous situation in which they find themselves. One wrong move and death would be assured, so watching these characters navigating this proverbial mind field was very entertaining. And I love how they brought back Michelle Yeoh as the savage emperor. Looking forward to next week. As for Tyler/Voq, now that we know the secret (something we all suspected), I'm very curious where they take the character. Which personality will prevail, and why... Still not a fan of the Klingon look, but love what they did with the Andorians. Looks great!
Set Bookmark
Shannon
Fri, Jan 12, 2018, 11:52am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Despite Yourself

Excellent review, Jammer! And you are spot on, it's not about the Tyler/Voq reveal (we already had suspected that), it's about the aftermath of that knowledge. BSG did a fantastic job with the Boomer character. Even after learning she was a Cylon, she resisted it. It took several years of brainwashing from Cavil to convince her to see herself as a machine. Even then she turned on Cavil at the very end to save Herra... I digress... I'm looking forward to Tyler's journal as he learns more about who he truly is.
Set Bookmark
Shannon
Sun, Jan 7, 2018, 8:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Despite Yourself

Great episode, I would give it 3.5 stars. Yes, the Ash/Voq thing was kind of obvious, but there is still a mystery as to exactly what happened. Even the Klingon female seemed confused that he wasn't behaving as she thought he would. Perhaps something went wrong with whatever she did to him.

@Rahul, I don't see the mirror universe plot as a gimmick, not if the writers focus on our universe's characters and how they deal with the situation. That's what made the original series episode so good, and it would seem this show is going down that same route, except they are doing it as a multiple episode arc. I really liked it, and am looking forward to the upcoming episodes. I still think the captain may be somehow linked to what's happening, but who knows. That's what makes it fun to watch!
Set Bookmark
Shannon
Tue, Dec 12, 2017, 12:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

I think we are getting two concepts confused here, faith and religion. I felt the episode was more of an allegory on how the latter can be corrupted and perverted due to sinister motives, like power. No one can deny that throughout our history religion has been twisted by those seeking power in order to control the masses. In medieval times the Pope had more power than kings, because all he had to do was excommunicate an uncooperative king and that king all of the sudden found himself out of power, or worse yet dead. We see that same behavior today in Islam, whereby there are those perverting that religion to kill others in the name of Allah... There is nothing wrong with having faith in God and believing in the core tenets of Christianity, or whatever your faith may be. It's when humans with nefarious motives get involved that religion gets its bad reputation. MacFarlane shows that when the Kelly religion "priest" sees the errors of his people's ways and wants to tell the people, but is killed by a power-hungry surrogate who wants to continue using the religion to control people.
Set Bookmark
Shannon
Mon, Dec 4, 2017, 1:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: New Dimensions

Good episode, and nice to see the writers continue with the character development (in this case Ed and John) by telling a good story. The jokes and gags were kept to an appropriate minimum, allowing for the story regarding John's unknown high intelligence to be played out. The "sci-fi" part of the show dealing with 2-dimensional space was a bit odd, but I don't take that stuff seriously on this show. It was just a plot setup to get John in the Chief Engineer's chair... One of the better outings of the season, I'd give it 3.5 starts.
Next ►Page 1 of 6
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.