Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 151 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 7
Set Bookmark
Shannon
Sat, Aug 10, 2019, 5:03pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The Perfect Mate

Yanks, it makes me think the writers were more clever about writing this one than I first suspected.
Set Bookmark
Shannon
Thu, Apr 25, 2019, 12:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Great review, Jammer! Completely agree, this episode, and the season in general, had some plot flaws and silly moments, but as a whole it was an entertaining ride that ended with an acceptable bang. I would give this finale 3.5 stars, but let's not pick nits... Looking forward to next year, and as you said, hopefully they expand the POV and move away from centering everything around Burnham... Caio.
Set Bookmark
Shannon
Wed, Mar 13, 2019, 11:03pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

Great review, Jammer! Completely agree with the 4 stars, which is what I gave it in my comment last Thursday... I'm also glad that you are willing to rate this show based on its own merits and ability to tell a good story, as opposed to tethering it to past versions of Star Trek. Canon certainly has its place, but the writers do need to have some freedom to entertain us with good story-telling. I think Discovery has finally found that balance.
Set Bookmark
Shannon
Thu, Mar 7, 2019, 10:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

Excellent episode! Covered a lot of ground and moved the overall plot forward very nicely over the course its 54 minutes. I liked the payoff of wondering all these episodes what happened between Michael and Spock to cause their falling out; had a very real emotional underpinning to it. We also learn what many of us have suspected, that Georgiou is playing everyone like a fiddle... but to what end? As for the Fx, amazing as always. Loved the little touches, like the sounds the plants make on Talos IV (nice tip of the hat to Trekkies)... As yet another bridge to get us towards solving the mystery of the Red Angel, this episode was heads and tails above last week's, which wasn't bad, but certainly didn't have the overall strength of this chapter... Still not a fan of the Culber storyline, but it's growing on me. I'm glad to see the writers are willing to take it to a dark place and not push the infamous Voyager reset button; after all, what happened to him has to have consequences.

Very well written, very well acted, and the direction was much better than recent episodes... 4.0 stars!
Set Bookmark
Shannon
Thu, Mar 7, 2019, 5:48pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Light and Shadows

@Mac

I think the Prime Directive applies to all species, not just pre-warp. It's certainly more applicable to pre-warp, which is why the Federation waits until a society has achieved warp technology before making first contact. However, In essence, it states that we will not interfere in the natural development of other societies.
Set Bookmark
Shannon
Thu, Mar 7, 2019, 10:00am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Light and Shadows

Two quick follow-up comments before Jammer posts his review.

To all the prime directive hawks on this site, I don't disagree that Pike's actions certainly violated General Order One, or at the very least bent that rule a bit. But let's not forget that this isn't the NG/DS9/VOY era. Even Captain Janeway acknowledged that Kirk's era was a different time where starship captains couldn't be a walking rule book. Even Picard stretched the PD on a few occasions, like when he wouldn't allow Wesley to be executed (ah, would twere that it were).

As for the red angel being from the future... Why? Just because he/she has superior technology doesn't necessarily mean they are a time traveler. I'm not saying that isn't a possibility, but the evidence to date just points to a technologically superior being. We'll see.
Set Bookmark
Shannon
Fri, Mar 1, 2019, 1:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Light and Shadows

@Chrome, @MadManMUC

Totally agree they need to find a way to keep Anson Mount on the show!
Set Bookmark
Shannon
Thu, Feb 28, 2019, 9:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Light and Shadows

Difficult to grade this episode since it was all about advancing the Red Angel / 7 Signals / Spock story line that is driving Season 2. On that basis, I thought it was good. Nice to finally bring Spock into the fold. Very good family moments between Sarek, Amanda, and Michael, and nice to see that Amanda has some fortitude. Still not sure what to think of Section 31's role in this whole thing, but time will tell.

A good middle chapter that moved the plot forward, with some nice emotional touches. I'll give it 3 stars.
Set Bookmark
Shannon
Thu, Feb 21, 2019, 9:50pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

Fantastic!!! The best episode in the series thus far! I've always found Saru and the mystery of his species intriguing, and here's an episode that put both center stage and delivered an amazing story in the true spirit of what Star Trek has always been about. Well written, well acted, well directed, amazing effects, and just downright fun to watch. I like how it stayed connected to the overriding mystery of the red angel and the seven signals, and yet also works on all levels as an outstanding standalone episode. Kind of brings a whole new meaning to the old cliche "and the truth shall set you free". On the one had we have the Kelpians learning that the Great Balance is a great big lie, but also learning that it was devised by the Ba'ul to fight back against their species, as they were once the viscous predator that almost drove the Ba'ul to extinction. That was a very pleasant surprise, and adds a layer of context that makes you really care about how all of this is going to play out.

Kudos to the writers and producers for finally delivering a true winner. A solid 4 stars from me!
Set Bookmark
Shannon
Thu, Feb 14, 2019, 11:41pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Saints of Imperfection

Ugh... I didn't mind the spore network plot at first, but the whole "bringing Hugh back from the dead" thing was way over the top for me. I mean, really??? The only thing that saved this episode was the last 5 minutes where Section 31 is now converging with Discovery to solve the mysterious signals mystery... Looks like next week's episode tackles Saru's epiphany that the "great balance"on his planet is nothing but a great lie, so I'm looking forward to that. He's a far more interesting character, and the plight of his species is a far more classic Trek story line.

2.0 stars for this latest episode.
Set Bookmark
Shannon
Fri, Feb 8, 2019, 7:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: An Obol for Charon

Big improvement over last week, as this show was more aligned with the first two episodes, and does very well as a stand-alone story. I live the mystery surrounding the alien structure, and how Saru was able to determine that it was trying to communicate (Classic Trek). Speaking of Saru, I thought his storyline was fascinating, as we learned something new about his race. With his fear gone, and knowing that his race has been living a lie, there is so much potential for future Saru stories.

Didn't like Pike as much in this one, as I thought his desire to not lose Spock's signal trumped his Starfleet ethics as he seemed eager to "pull the trigger" until Saru talked him off the ledge. But then again, his emotions got in his way, and he is human after all... Definitely Martin-Green's best performance to date, as this was the most human I've seen her throughout the series. Still not sure what to make of the whole Tilly thing. Time will tell.

One minor nitpicky thing: I know the writers are trying to get the ancillary characters more involved, but that conference room "briefing" was pointless, especially since Pike wasn't there. It was as if the writers said "we need to give these guys some lines".

Anyway, I would give it 3.5 out of 4.0 stars.
Set Bookmark
Shannon
Thu, Jan 31, 2019, 10:05pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Point of Light

I have mixed feelings about this one, after two solid episodes to open up the second season. While I enjoyed the continuation of the 7 red signals plot line and the continuing mystery around Spock's involvement, I can't say I'm overjoyed to be revisiting the Klingons. I do like the idea of bringing Emperor/Captain Georgiou back as a member of the secretive Section 31, and perhaps this was a plot device to get Voq/Tyler back into the fold. Since the entire season is one long 14-episode arc, time will tell... I'm going to give this one 2.5 out of 4.0 stars and look forward to the continuation of the main plot.
Set Bookmark
Shannon
Sat, Jan 26, 2019, 9:33am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Nothing Left on Earth Excepting Fishes

Good episode, probably one of the best of the series thus far. It had a plot I actually cared about, great visuals, well directed, and well acted. I could have done without the mindless subplot of Gordon taking the command test so he can pick up women (the humor doesn't have to be that overt). Looking forward to seeing if this "relationship" between Mercer and Teleya gets revisited, as that could end up being the bridge that gets peace talks moving forward between the Union and the Krill... Overall I would give it 3.5 out of 4 stars.
Set Bookmark
Shannon
Thu, Jan 24, 2019, 9:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: New Eden

Another good outing for STD Season 2, so I'm hoping we have a nice trend happening here. Very intriguing story regarding this human colony in the beta quadrant. I love how the writers tied this colony, and the strange signals, and Spock's disappearance, to "something" that happened during WW III (just one small bone to pick, Michael states that 600 million died in that war, but that breaks with established canon of 30 million)... Both of these stories are more aligned with what has made Star Trek so great over the past 50 years, tell a good story, and I'm looking forward to seeing more... I give this episode another solid 3 out of 4.
Set Bookmark
Shannon
Thu, Jan 17, 2019, 9:22pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Brother

Good start to Season 2, as it feels like the series is getting back to Star Trek's "exploring the unknown" roots. Anson Mount did a great job portraying Pike, the visuals were stunning (as usual), and the show was more character driven. I like the flashback's to Michael's first moments in the Sarek household. I hope this is a good sign... I'd give it a solid 3 out of 4 stars.
Set Bookmark
Shannon
Fri, Dec 14, 2018, 11:29am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: General Discussion

OmicronThetaDeltaPhi wrote:

"Oh, well... at least we still have the obvious shills to amuse us. I just love it when people who never posted here before, drop by to post a single comment that basically says "stop moaning. I'm a longtime fan of Star Trek and I find Discovery fantastic. Besides, it's just a TV show". Yeah, a longtime Trekkie saying that it's just a TV show... really believable ;-)"

Oh you mean like yourself and The Orville which you seem to bring up every other day? Please get off your high horse and engage us here in the Star Trek discussion as equals.
Set Bookmark
Shannon
Tue, Jun 12, 2018, 10:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Nor the Battle to the Strong

I wouldn't be too harsh on this episode. It was well-written, well-directed, and told a Trek war story from a unique POV. Its one downside is the acting of Lofton, but I'm not going to let that detract from a good story, which is what Star Trek has always been about. Jake was never meant to be a main character carrying a story, however Lofton did an okay job in this episode (certainly better than Wheaton would have). Strong story, strong directing, mediocre acting from one character (the supporting roles were good)... I would give it 3.5 stars.
Set Bookmark
Shannon
Mon, May 21, 2018, 9:23pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: Paradise

Pretty awful episode. Must have seemed better on paper than what actually occurred in front of the cameras. TNG’s Descent was a much better allegory for cult-like group think than this snoozer. Gail’s performance was way over the top, and too damn obvious.
Set Bookmark
Shannon
Sat, May 19, 2018, 9:25am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: Rules of Acquisition

I've never watched DS9 in its entirety, so I'm now doing that via Hulu... This episode had so much potential that the writers/produces ended up squandering. Pel, and her quest for equality, could have been the focal point of a diplomatic crisis that puts the Federation at extreme odds with the Ferengi, and call into question how the Prime Directive fits into the whole narrative. Perhaps the Ferengi could have attempted, at Zek's behest, to arrest Pel. She could have asked for asylum, and voila, a major diplomatic fire erupts that Cisco has to navigate. This could have been an interesting two-parter, and right in the middle could have been Quark, caught between his love for Pel and his loyalty to Ferengi traditions... A total missed opportunity to put some real teeth in this story and make it relevant to issues we face today with gender equality.
Set Bookmark
Shannon
Tue, Jan 30, 2018, 12:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

@MadManMUC

Thanks for putting your low IQ on display with your f-bomb laden post. Gave me a good laugh.
Set Bookmark
Shannon
Mon, Jan 29, 2018, 10:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

@Henson

You're absolutely right, it's not worth the endless back and forth. They hate the show, and want to use this forum to express those feelings. Not much I can do about it, and pointing it out has proven pointless... You must be Vulcan, very logical, thanks.

That's a great question regarding Burnham. A few episodes ago she was theorizing that understanding how Klingons can work side-by-side with other species in the MU to fight Terrans might help Starfleet in her own universe to negotiate a peace. Seems like that was left out there as a clue as to her fate in the upcoming episodes. As for saving MU Phillipa, I think that was her emotions overcoming her logic, not wanting to see her die again, despite what she really is, which is treacherous. As for Phillipa's place in the PU, I can see her making a case, with Sarek's backing (we caught a glimpse of that in the preview), that Starfleet might have to pull an Archer and "bend the rules" to win the war. Having high ideals and moral character is certainly noble, but not when you are facing anhiliation... Plus, I like having Michelle Yeoh back, she's great!
Set Bookmark
Shannon
Mon, Jan 29, 2018, 9:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

@Pon Farr

Clearly you don't know how to read, because you're totally missing the point. There's a difference between critiquing a show and just whining about week-in and week-out with piss and vinegar in your posts... They can keep making negative opinions all they want, and I and others will feel free to respond. If you can't handle that, then that's your issue.
Set Bookmark
Shannon
Mon, Jan 29, 2018, 9:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

@PeterG

"It find it startling that you don't understand wolfstar's comment when he suggests that we each give our reviews and leave each other alone. Your reaction shows that you take negative reviews of the series personally, while failing to see that those who offer negative or mixed reviews aren't aiming them at those making positive reviews."

I read a lot of your posts, PeterG, and I get that you fancy yourself a wise philosopher with the volumes of material you write, and that is your right to do. But you are totally missing the point, so I will repeat it for you. I have NO problem with constructive criticism, and there are many who, like Jammer, point out what they see as flaws in a civil, thoughtful manner. I'm not talking about those posters. I'm talking about the folks who just seem flat out angry and enraged, as if someone stole their favorite bike right in front of them and they were helpless to do anything about it. As for "taking it personally", you have no clue what my motives are, which is why I'm laying it out there and trying to explain it to you. "This show has become ridiculous" and other similar comments are NOT critiques, they are flat out whining. So I stick with my original point, if you hate it that much, then stop watching it. Revisiting my analogy now, if you keep going back to a restaurant that you've visited 12 times but had a horrible experience each time, you're most likely going to keep hating it and being disappointed.
Set Bookmark
Shannon
Mon, Jan 29, 2018, 9:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

@Panagiotis Karatasios

"This show has become ridiculous"

THEN STOP WATCHING IT! You are precisely what I, and others, have been talking about. If you hate it that much, then stop watching it. If you have something constructive to say, then we're all ears... I'll go back to my earlier analogy. If you kept going back to the same restaurant, say 12 times (number of episodes through last week), and you hated the food, decor, and service every time, would you go back for a 13th time??? It's this constant vitriolic whining that is getting ridiculous.
Set Bookmark
Shannon
Mon, Jan 29, 2018, 8:27am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

@anthimos112

Thanks for your post, that is exactly the point I've been trying to make. I will repeat for the hundredth time, I have NO problem with constructive criticism, and engaging in a thoughtful debate as @wolfstar stated. But there are those on this blog that seem to endlessly whine about this series, constantly saying it's not Star Trek, ripping the writers with NOT constructive criticism, as Jammer does, but with vitriolic, negative bashing. So I agree, if you hate the series that much that it gives you no pleasure, then why are you still watching? That's like going to a restaurant 12 times and each time you hate it, the food is awful, the service is bad. Why would you keep going back?

@Booming

Great points regarding TNG! Thankfully that series didn't get the trashing that DIS is getting, or we never would have made it past Season 3. And as I've pointed out in previous posts, the first 2 seasons had some real stinkers in there. I enjoyed the show anyway, even though shows like Code of Honor, Justice, and When the Bough Breaks had me shaking my head... But Star Trek is like sex, even when it's bad, it's still pretty good! :)

@fortyseven

Good analysis on Old Trek vs. New Trek. That's why Moore left the franchise, he felt that Berman and Bragga kept way too much creative control and didn't allow the writers any freedom. What was the result? Moore went off and created the stellar Battlestar Galactica, which I've watched 5 times over now, and Enterprise withered away on the vine (it got better in seasons 3 and 4, but too little too late, they lost most of the 12 million viewers that tuned in for the pilot). I agree with Moore, Gene was a visionary, but his vision was that of a nearly perfect human race where everything is black and white (much of early TNG was like this). Well, like is not black and white, whether it's 2018 or 300 years from now. With that in mind, and having enjoyed BSG so much, I'm much more willing to give the producers more creative license with these stories. Is it perfect? No, nothing ever is. But it's still Star Trek, and I'm looking forward to how they go back and somehow resolve the war... The MU arc was great, and we finally understand now why Lorca was so anti-Trek. I thought Burnham's decision to save Phillipa was an interesting choice, as if her logic and emotions became very conflicted in that moment. Love that Michelle Yeoh is back, and I get the feeling she is going to provide the Federation a bit of a kick in the pants. Having high-minded ideals is great, but if you're facing annihilation, what good does it for you? Archer tackled that same question when facing the Xindi, which is why Damage was such a terrific episode. Sometimes bad things need to be done, and that's where all the gray comes in.
Next ►Page 1 of 7
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.