Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 10 (Showing 1-10)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
William Shakespeare
Sat, Feb 9, 2019, 11:44am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: An Obol for Charon

@Dougie

Your comment cuts me to the quick, sir. Are such accusations leveled against Stephen King, hyper-prolific author of the 20-21st centuries? ;)
Set Bookmark
Shakki
Sat, Oct 28, 2017, 7:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

To Chrome:
"show’s take on technologies true to the era such as com badges, phasers, and force fields."

What is it about that so praising? They chose that era, and believe or not these things are only there because they need some symbols which could be easily recognizable from the past Trek even for non-trek fans. Without them, show could be easly to name only Discovery, show that could be similar to BSG, The Expanse, but they would earn less.

Mostly what I read on internet about "defenders DIS", that is different, and is a good thing because other TV Trek shows has change in time and change and new things are not bad things and this provide survival Star trek franchise to next decades, and if someone will be b*tch a about new Trek things, that there will be no Star trek in future - for not only me they are ready to sacrifice essence of Star trek only because they want see more Trek things and they found any apology for mistakes which creators did. For me is pretty good TV show, but is not a Star trek. They can put there lot of easter eggs about Trek, they can put together the Discovery to the continuity, which could explain most change, but in the end, running only in circle. They did not invent something new, only messing the past Trek things. In fact they doing same mistakes as rest of hollywood these days - For exmaple last Star Wars, Terminator and other brand.
Set Bookmark
Shakki
Fri, Oct 27, 2017, 4:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

@Nic
"And I, for one, DO have a problem with the Holodeck existing in this century. In “Encounter at Farpoint,” it’s fairly clear that the Holodeck is a fairly new technology and most of the characters are amazed at how realistic it is."

But there is also mention in TNG laters years that in other and older starships is nothing like holodeck. I was I think case of Lt. Lt. Barclay, there is mention that on previous assignment there wasn´t no holodeck on USS Zhukov. Zhukov according Memory Alpha is Ambassador-class ship, much older than Galaxy-class ship. So could be explanation for this. Also in last episode of STD was mention that Discovery is the most modern starship in starfleet. So Constitution-class could be older technology than Crossfield-class.

But there is but. All that technology in STD is absurd that should be only 10 years before Kirk time. USS Shenzhou was mention that is old ship - still technology looks so much better than on Constitution starship. According Memory Alpha, Walker starship was using between 2240 to 2250. 2245 is dating of start using Constitution class, so they should have simillar technology - Holography comunication, holo mirror, holo screen. So something could be explain, something not. Overall I see only one reason why they done this. They want "same" fans from Star trek movies since 2009 came to new TV show, to have same feeling. But could be done much better, with writers who have some experience from Star trek past. There are lot of writers, who are sucessful after Trek shows, who can do it show in modern way and still have feeling of ST. But they think probably that they are not needed and they could do it "in own way".

I also have feeling that Disovery is "half-baked" project, done at last minute. It´s possible that Discovery should be about something else, that they do it this because of ST: Axnar - so there is question if Axnar creators steal Discovery idea, or Discovery creators have nothing at they mind than to steal Axnar idea, because they can do it - and Axnar can´t. If the second thought true is mostly "childish thinking" of CBS.

The result. What is done is done, for mine point of view, second season probably will be much better, there is reason why they want a year gap between season 1 and 2. In season one done much mistakes so far, but creators have still time for "redemption" in season two. I remember that Stargate Universe have same problem at season 1, season 2 was much better. If writers have some vision, plan for season 2, it would be preform in much better way. I still hope, maybe nothing to do with Star trek at all, but it still could be a good sci-fi show, something what Star trek needed. Discovery still could be like BSG in 2005, which was done it differently than series from 70s and 80s.
Set Bookmark
Shakaree
Tue, Nov 29, 2016, 11:17am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Lineage

Am I the only one who feels B'elanna should've been thrown in the brig or punished for tampering with the doctor? I thought that would result in some kind of reprimand, but I guess she was given the psycho hormonal mommy pass.
Set Bookmark
Shakaama Live
Tue, Jun 24, 2014, 5:44am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: United

In the 50's I could excuse the writers of saying such and so culture had honor slayings or honor fights to the death. But in 2,000, there's no excuse for it. It is impossible that you have a society that has warp technology, a single dominant species on the planet, and yet have 3rd century earth social systems.

This is supposed to be sci-fi, as in "futuristic". We're not so dumb anymore to willingly accept everything that comes across the screen as "good entertainment". And what's more, the writers are not trying to be campy. They seriously are trying to write a sci-fi drama. Bless their hearts.
Set Bookmark
Shakaama Live
Sun, Jun 22, 2014, 12:38am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Daedalus

The IDEA of the premise was ok: first person to test the transporter got scooped up and lost in the machine, I've learned more now, and I can get him out.

That's plausible.

But the Archer actor's acting is just so awful that when he learns of the truth, he orders Trip and T'Pol to assist and the entire scene is created on this false tension build, that Trip and T'Pol are actually saying no.

The scene would have been much more believable had it been set to the doctor, who is in charge of the entire crew's health and well being or even a subordinate 3 levels done, or someone close to the ensign that died, resisting assisting the creator of the transporter.

It's just bad writing.

In fact a crewman that was close to the dead ensign would have really created some tension, because we'd sympathize more with the crewman. Trip and T'Pol show no sympathy and simply are just sounding boards for Archer to have a fake conflict with.
Set Bookmark
Shakaama Live
Fri, Jun 20, 2014, 5:45am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: E2

I hate this episode, and the ending was a swift kick in the unmentionable male parts. I cannot say enough about this episode. Every scene is worse than the last.
Set Bookmark
Shakaama Live
Thu, Jun 19, 2014, 4:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Proving Ground

Sorry, I cannot even begin to understand how you could give this episode anything more than 1 star. Besides the horrible acting, which you have to constantly address, you have the storyline:

- the Andorians have a military mission
- the captain of the Andorians actually likes Archer and their relationship is constantly growing
- the Andorians are at all out war with the Vulcans, who have superior firepower and technology
- Archer hasn't made clear what his overall plan of action is to settle the threat of the Xindi
- finding the prototype weapon is all by chance
- the Andorians have a real plan of action
- the Andorian technology is well ahead of human technology

Given that, we are supposed to side with Archer and the humans because they didn't get the weapon? They couldn't even get the weapon. Also, the humans are the aggressors in this.

The entire episode could have gone FAR better if the Andorian captain had said, "well I see no reason not to give you all of our analysis of the weapon. Please tag along while we analyze the weapon, but we have a mission too, it's not all about you, Archer."

But, in a fit of infantile rage, Archer starts the weapon, and blows it up a la, "if I can't have it, neither can you."

So Archer is the aggressor, juvenile, and obviously not a captain of a starship, and explorer since he so bad at diplomacy.

The writers of this entire series have no inkling of what the word diplomacy even.

As the heir of a diplomat, myself, it makes me rage when writing like this happens, that's supposed to be about diplomacy. The Andorians owe nothing to the humans.
Set Bookmark
Shak
Sat, Apr 13, 2013, 10:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Conundrum

Am i the only one who noticed the the starbase/ship that they were going to attack looked A LOT like the ship in episode where Ensign Crusher is sentenced to death for breaking some rules on a primitive planet in season 1?
Set Bookmark
BoomShakaLuka
Sun, Aug 14, 2011, 10:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Lineage

Lineage is different, but there's a lot here that's unsettling...

I think B'Elanna went way too far by altering the Doctor's program for the genetic procedure. I do agree that what she did was relationship damaging.

I also felt like much of the episode was family sitcom fluff.

Suffice it to say, it gives you an intriguing idea to ponder but ultimately it's not something I'll watch again and again.

Oh, and when Icheb mistakes B'Elanna being pregnant for a parasite I couldn't help but laugh out loud.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.