Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 23 (Showing 1-23)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Shaen
Sun, Jun 26, 2016, 11:32am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Flesh and Blood

My biggest gripe about this episode is how they reused the prop for the artificial life form from "Think Tank" as the photonic field generator.
Set Bookmark
Shaen
Sat, May 28, 2016, 5:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Timeless

My favorite part of this episode was the Doctor nonchalantly holding a piece of Seven's dead skull while holding a conversation with Harry. A little disturbing.
Set Bookmark
Shaen
Thu, May 5, 2016, 12:47am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Coda

Blech. So many cliches crammed into one episode. Chakotay plays the Janeway resuscitation scene like he just took a TV tropes acting class. Banging on her chest yelling "breathe, damn you!" and "don't you die on me!". That stuff was silly even back in the 90s.
Set Bookmark
Shaen
Tue, Mar 29, 2016, 9:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Emergence

Ugh. I really wanted this episode to be good. The premise was excellent. The execution was... not. Everyone else has already mentioned most of the problems, but two scenes really bugged me because it once again showed the Trek writers' rather limited view of space in a show about space.

The scene where they arrived at the white dwarf star and the Enterprise used a modified tractor beam to siphon ALL the vertion particles from it in about 15 seconds was just silly. Nevermind that vertion particles were just made up for this one episode, but I can't imagine a single starship being capable of siphoning an entire supply of anything from a star, let alone doing it that quickly. Also, if the viewscreen showing the star was any indication of how close they were, I imagine they had to have been at least several million miles away. Assuming the tractor beam moved at the speed of light AND could be shot that far anyway, you see the problem.

The other scene was when they arrived at the nebula. Nebulas are also huge, but Star Trek has a history of showing them as just pockets of gas floating in space, waiting to be used as a hiding place or whatever the plot called for that day. And again, the viewscreen showed the ENTIRE nebula, yet a photon torpedo traveled there in like a second and was shown to create a shockwave across the whole thing. Lazy lazy lazy.
Set Bookmark
Shaen
Sun, Mar 13, 2016, 12:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Chain of Command, Part I

This episode gave me hope that maybe the Trek writers were finally seeing how ridiculous it was to be so obvious with the fanserivce by having one female crew member in a sexy cat suit instead of a uniform, but of course it didn't last. I mean, DS9 mostly avoided it, and I suppose technically Seven of Nine and T'Pol weren't members of Starfleet. I guess that's some amount of progress?
Set Bookmark
Shaen
Thu, Mar 10, 2016, 12:16am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Power Play

Re: classic shaky set shuttle crash. This type of awful effect bothered me even back in the 90s. It's so bad it almost looks like it's being done as a joke to make fun of old sci-fi movies. As dramatically as they were shaking that poor shuttle, I couldn't help but picture in my mind how ridiculous it must have looked had someone been watching it from the outside.
Set Bookmark
Shaen
Fri, Dec 26, 2014, 2:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Night Terrors

My favorite part of this episode is the idea that Worf has a suicide table all set up and ready to go at all times.
Set Bookmark
Shaen
Fri, Dec 26, 2014, 1:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Clues

Maybe, but none of the actual dialogue at the end indicated that. When they wake up the second time, it's mentioned that they were only out for 30 seconds and the only real change from the first time they tried to cover it up is that they don't go back to the planet. Nothing further is said about any sort of time shift. I dunno, minor complaint I suppose. It's just hard to believe they managed to account for every possible clue the second time around, especially given that one of them was a fairly noticeable time difference.
Set Bookmark
Shaen
Thu, Dec 25, 2014, 6:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Clues

I really liked this episode the first time, but upon a second viewing there are just too many things you have to ignore to make it plausible.

The biggest of those to me is how they plan on dealing with what was, by the end of the 2nd ship-wide memory wipe, a 2+ day time discrepancy. That would fly to assuage any curiosity at the time, but surely they'd discover fairly easily later on that their super-advanced starship's computers are a couple days behind actual time.
Set Bookmark
Shaen
Mon, Nov 10, 2014, 8:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: The Council

I love the fact that the Xindi studied the spheres for "decades", but were never able to find a way in. Meanwhile, Enterprise crew got into two of them within minutes of their arrival: one by just shooting at a very obvious door and the other by simply scanning a little bit for a camouflaged hole.
Set Bookmark
Shaen
Thu, Oct 2, 2014, 1:15pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Sleeping Dogs

"I cannot believe a race as obstinate, belligerent and primitive as the Klingons would ever have invented the wheel, never mind done anything useful with it. For them to be a warp-capable civilization is incredible. But anyway..."

Yeah, ST writers sure did love plots that revolved around cartoonishly stubborn alien species.
Set Bookmark
Shaen
Sat, Sep 20, 2014, 1:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Q2

Besides the fact that the Voyager writers didn't seem to get what made Q a great character in TNG, Keegan de Lancie's terrible acting didn't do this episode any favors. And ha ha, sexual assault played as a joke? Classy stuff.
Set Bookmark
Shaen
Fri, Sep 19, 2014, 2:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Workforce

I don't get why the Voyager writers were so amused with the stupid "Janeway burns replicated meals" bit they used about a dozen times throughout the series. Not only is it not even funny to begin with, it's based on something that doesn't even make sense.
Set Bookmark
Shaen
Sun, Sep 14, 2014, 2:12pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: The Haunting of Deck Twelve

This episode really drives home the fact that nearly every Star Trek writer had no idea what nebulas actually are.
Set Bookmark
Shaen
Sat, Sep 13, 2014, 12:54pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Live Fast and Prosper

Ugh, Voyager really liked plots that revolved around unrealistically stupid and unreasonable people.
Set Bookmark
Shaen
Fri, Sep 12, 2014, 12:38am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Spirit Folk

I really hate the "just turn your brain off!" comments from the people who actually like episodes like this. I'm not saying they're wrong for enjoying them, but using that phrase is just admitting that the writing is dumb and in order to enjoy it you have to also emulate a dummy for 42 minutes. It might work for a standalone movie that you expect to be less than cerebral, but not for a series that already has established lore/characters/tech/etc. When all those things suddenly fall prey to sloppy writing that ignores or outright contradicts events and established character behavior, it's pretty difficult to look past it. Endangering crew members in order to save a town of "sentient" beings that have only existed for a short time is just absurd even for Voyager.
Set Bookmark
Shaen
Tue, Sep 9, 2014, 5:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: The Voyager Conspiracy

Yikes, this one was pretty bad. And did anyone else catch Janeway at the end of the heartwarming moment with Seven on the Delta Flyer telling Voyager "Two to beam up"? Um, so they just left the shuttle?
Set Bookmark
Shaen
Sun, Aug 31, 2014, 1:22pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Course: Oblivion

This was a weird one. The episode itself was pretty well done, but the plot holes and required leaps of logic it takes to follow it are just too huge to ignore. For me, anyway. If you can ignore all that, I can see why you'd enjoy it.
Set Bookmark
Shaen
Fri, Aug 29, 2014, 4:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Thirty Days

The main reason I didn't enjoy this one was because it seemed to be such an arbitrary story to try to develop Tom's character. As others have said, there have been plenty of instances in previous episodes where a crew member disobeyed orders and struck out on their own, yet each time it just led to a conversation between Janeway and Chakotay that included "What am I supposed to do, confine them to quarters? Throw them in the brig?". But somehow this time it was different. The Voyager writers had a lot of flaws, but the biggest one by far was their inconsistency.
Set Bookmark
Shaen
Thu, Aug 28, 2014, 2:32pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Timeless

"Can you eject the core?"

"No, emergency systems are offline."

Man, how crappy are all the safety functions in Trek's version of the future? You've got what amounts to antimatter warheads zipping about the galaxy getting into precarious situations with no reliable way to avoid catastrophic failure.
Set Bookmark
Shaen
Sat, Aug 23, 2014, 12:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Hunters

Ugh. This one was mostly okay, but besides introducing the ridiculously cliche Hirogen, Neelix is back in full-on Jar Jar Binks mode. I don't know why the writers were so obnoxiously insistent on pushing the theme of him trying to prod Tuvok into displaying more emotion. The single best Neelix scene in Voyager remains the one in "Meld" where Tuvok had the vision of strangling him to death.
Set Bookmark
Shaen
Thu, Aug 21, 2014, 3:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Year of Hell, Part II

Well, the tricky part with any story involving time travel is that you have to give the author a little leeway simply because there is no "correct" way to depict it since (so far as we know) it doesn't exist. You also have to consider what makes an interesting story, so sometimes it may be necessary to sacrifice whatever type of "realistic" time travel you have settled on. That said, I still expect at least some degree of consistency with how time travel is treated and Voyager was just not very good at it.

It was obvious in this one at the first moment of a significant change to the crew that by the end everything would be reset by the end, which is disappointing. Imagine if they would've ended this episode by destroying the weapon ship and just carried on with all the damage that had been done, both to the ship and to the crew. Tuvok having to deal with being blind, the Doc's opinion of Janeway's judgement marred, most of the crew scattered about in escape pods and shuttles, the ship just barely functional.
Set Bookmark
Shaen
Fri, Aug 15, 2014, 12:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Darkling

I liked this episode simply because of Picardo's performance, but like most Voyager episodes, they didn't know how to write an ending. Doc attempts to murder a member of a new species they just met and burns another in a fireplace, he more or less tortures B'Elanna and holds her captive, he abducts Kes and then attempts to murder her. And despite all this, at the end everyone's just sort of "Welp, glad that's over with" and everyone moves on. What?
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.